Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Frank Conroy Manuscripts

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1967-1993
Creator: Conroy, Frank (-1936)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0535
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Holograph manuscripts of two of Frank Conroy's published books, Stop-time (1967) and Body & Soul (1993).

Alternate Extent Statement: Undated

Access: The holograph manuscripts are on deposit with the University Libraries, and Conroy retains ownership as well as all publication rights. He has, however, made them available for consultation by readers in the Special Collections reading room.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Frank Conroy put these materials on deposit in University of Iowa Libraries in December 2001.

Preferred Citation: Frank Conroy Manuscripts, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Frank Conroy was born in 1936. He graduated from Haverford College in 1958. He taught at Geroge Mason University, M.I.T., and Brandeis University before becoming director of the Writers' Workshop. In addition to the two works inventoried here, he has also published a collection of stories, Midair (1985) and his work has appeared in the New Yorker, Esquire, GQ, Harper's, Partisan Review, and elsewhere.

Frank Conroy, director of the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop, has placed on deposit the holograph manuscripts of two of his books, Stop-time (1967) and Body & Soul (1993). Some pages from the Stop-time manuscript have been digitized and can be viewed at http://www.uiowa.edu/~iww/conroy.htm. Conroy has also pointed out the remarkable similarity between the two versions (draft 1 and draft 2) of the second chapter of Body & Soul that are present here: the first six pages of his first draft went missing and he was forced to rewrite them from memory. The pages were recovered much later and exhibit both overall similarity and interesting differences.

Also available in the collection is a photocopy typescript of a short story, "My Harlem".

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: 2008 ADDENDUM

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Sub-Series: Clippings
  • Box 1:
  • 4 items including obituary
  • Sub-Series: Stop-time (New York: Viking Press, 1967) - 1967
  • Box 1:
  • Chapter 2 (incomplete)
    Holograph draft of portions of this memoir, on various papers and in various inks (folders 2-15)
  • Chapter 3 (probably)
  • Chapter 6 (single page)
  • Chapter 10 (probably; incomplete)
  • Chapter 11 (incomplete)
  • Chapter 12
  • Chapter 13
  • Chapter 14
  • Chapter 15
  • Chapter 16
  • Chapter 17 (incomplete)
  • Chapter 18
  • Chapter 19
  • Chapter 20
  • Sub-Series: Body & Soul (Boston: Houghton Mifflin/Seymour Lawrence, 1993) - 1993
  • Box 1:
  • Notes, plus three loose pages of mss.
    Holograph draft of portions of this novel, on various papers and in various inks, foldered following FC's labels (folders 16-36)
  • Chapter 1
  • Chapter 2, 1st draft of six pages, misplaced after writing and later recovered
  • Chapter 2, later draft, entire chapter, rewritten from memory
  • Chapter 3
  • Chapter 4
  • Chapter 5
  • Chapter 6
  • Chapter 7
  • Chapter 8
  • Chapter 9
  • Chapter 10
  • Chapter 11
  • Chapter 12
  • Chapter 13
  • Chapter 14
  • Chapter 15
  • Chapter 16
  • Chapter 17
  • Chapter 18
  • Chapter 19
  • Sub-Series: "My Harlem"
  • Box 1:
  • Short story, TMs
    12 pages, photocopy
  • Series 2: 2008 ADDENDUM
  • Box 1:
  • Two letters to author Jay Neugeboren.
  • In the first letter (ca. 1970s), Conroy thanks Neugeboren for sending his book Sam's Legacy and comments, "You were a damn good writer to begin with, and its exciting to watch you get better and better." He also invited him to Nantucket. - 1970-1979
  • In the second letter (ca. 1980s), Conroy first comments on his own health and a recent hospital stay, and then comments on D.M. Thomas's The White Hotel. "Yes its odd how many people were fooled by the clever surface of White Hotel. I guess it shows how eager we all are for good stuff, stuff that seems fresh and daring. We all wanted it to be good, so much so that we didn't really see what it was. A scam!" He then adds a sarcastic comment on Thomas's handling of the publicity. - 1980-1989

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Conroy, Frank, 1936-2005

Corporate Names:
University of Iowa

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Authors, American

Occupations:
Civil servants

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Archives
Archives
Clippings (Information artifacts)
Holographs (Autographs)
Photocopies
Typescripts