Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Yugoslavian Videotapes Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1955-1989
Creator:
Extent: 3.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0532
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: 16 films made in Yugoslavia between 1955-1989. Most are subtitled in English. The tapes in this collection are in PAL format and do not circulate. VHS copies have been made, however, and circulate, for academic purposes only, from the Media Collection.

Access: This collection does not circulate. Duplicate VHS copies are held by Media Services and may be checked out from there.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These videotapes were jointly acquired by University of Iowa Libraries and the Institute for Cinema and Culture in 2001.

Preferred Citation: Yugoslavian Videotapes Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

This collection of videotapes, 1955-1989, from the former Yugoslavia were acquired by Sasa Milic for the Proseminar in Cinema and Culture he taught in Spring 2001 and purchased with the joint support of the Libraries and the Institute for Cinema and Culture. The original tapes, listed here, are in PAL format. They were acquired from the Yugoslav Cinematheque, with permission for educational use only. This was understood to include the right to copy them to VHS format, and those copies have been placed in the Libraries' Media Collection. The Media Collection call number appears as the last element in each description. The original tapes, held in Special Collections, are not permitted to circulate.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Alone (Sam), dir: Vladimir Pogacic, Yugoslavia/Serbia - 1959
    85 min., Serbocroatian/English subtitles. Video record 10682 VHS
  • The Ambush (Zaseda), dir: Zivorad (Zika) Pavlovic, Yugoslavia/Serbia - 1969
    80 min., Serbocroatian/English subtitles. Video record 1010688 VHS
  • The Awakening of the Rats aka The Rats Wake Up (Budenje pacova), dir: Zivorad (Zika) Pavlovic, Yugoslavia/Serbia - 1967
    79 min., Serbocroatian/English subtitles. Video record 10677 VHS
  • The Beauty of Sin (Lepota poroka), dir: Zivko Nikolic, Yugoslavia/Serbia - 1986
    112 min., Serbocroatian/English subtitles. Video record 10691 VHS
  • Cursed Money aka Evil Money (Zle pare), dir: Velimir Stojanovic, Yugoslavia/Montenegro - 1956
    100 min., Serbocroatian/English subtitles. Video record 10680 VHS
  • Early Works (Rani radovi), dir: Zelimir Zilnik, Yugoslavia/Serbia - 1969
    75 min., Serbocroatian/English subtitles. Video record 10678 VHS
  • Echelon of Doctor M. (Egalon doktora M.), dir: Zivorad (Zika) Mitrovic, Yugoslavia/Serbia - 1955
    85 min., Serbocroatian/English subtitles. Video record 10679 VHS
  • I Even Met Happy Gypsies (Skupljaci perja), dir: Aleksandar Petrovic, Yugoslavia/Serbia - 1967
    80 min., Roma, Serbocroatian, Slovak etc./English subtitles. Video record 10686 VHS
  • The Maiden's Bridge (Devojacki most), dir: Miomir Stamenkovic, Yugoslavia/Serbia - 1976
    93 min., Serbocroatian/English subtitles. Video record 10689
  • March on the Drina (Mars na Drinu), dir: Zivorad (Zika) Mitrovik, Yugoslavia/Serbia - 1964
    102 min., Serbocroatian/English subtitles. Video record 10683 VHS
  • The Meeting Place aka The Collecting Point (Sabirni centar), dir: Goran Markovic, Yugoslavia/Serbia - 1989
    94 min., Serbocroatian/English subtitles. Video record 10692 VHS
  • National Class up to 785 CCM (Nacionalha klasa do 785 ccm), dir: Goran Markovik, Yugoslavia/Serbia - 1979
    105 min., Serbocroatian/English subtitles. Video record 10690 VHS
  • On Saturday Evening aka Saturday Night (Subotom uvece), dir: Vladimir Pogacic, Yugoslavia/Serbia - 1957
    81 min., Serbocroatian/English subtitles. Video record 10681 VHS
  • Three (Tri), dir: Aleksandar Petrovic, Yugoslavia/Serbia - 1965
    75 min., Serbocroatian/English subtitles. Video record 10684 VHS
  • The Toughs aka The Tough Men (Delije), dir: Mica Popovic, Yugoslavia/Serbia - 1968
    85 min., Serbocroatian/English subtitles. Video record 10685 VHS
  • When I am Dead and Pale aka When I am Dead and White (Kad budem artav i beo), dir: Zivorad (Zika) Pavlovic, Yugoslavia/Serbia - 1967
    80 min., Serbocroatian/English subtitles. Video record 10687

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Topics:
World War, 1914-1918

Geographic Names:
Serbia
Yugoslavia

Genre/Form of Materials:
War films