Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Henry B. Bailey Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1932-1946
Creator: Bailey, Henry B.
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0530
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Papers relating to the organization of the Young Republican League of Iowa in the First Congressional District, 1932-1935; records of Bailey's campaign for the office of Washington County attorney in 1932 and 1934; folder of letters dated 1945-1946 from Alfred E. Baldrige, Bailey's law partner, and his wife, Charlotte, during Baldrige's military service during World War II in Germany.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The Henry B. Bailey Papers were the gift of Mr. Bailey's son, Bruce, in July 2001.

Preferred Citation: Henry B. Bailey Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

In the mid-1930s Henry B. Bailey of Washington, Iowa, helped organize the Young Republican League of Iowa in the First Congressional District. This collection of his papers contains correspondence, petitions, and nomination papers related to that organizing effort as well as a folder of material containing records of Bailey's campaigns for the office of Washington County attorney in 1932 and 1934. There is also a folder of letters dated 1945-1946 from Alfred E. Baldrige, Bailey's law partner, and his wife, Charlotte, during Baldrige's military service. Baldrige seems to have varied assignments, including work on returning German airfields to crop production and work on land reform law in Germany.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Young Republican League of Iowa organizing papers - 1934-1936
  • Bailey campaigns for Washington County Attorney - 1932, 1934, 1940
    with related correspondence (mostly concerned with appointment of judges and other officials)
  • Alfred and Charlotte Baldrige letters and telegrams to Bailey, with details of Baldrige's military assignments - 1945-1946
    with a few carbon copies of Bailey's letters to them

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Bailey, Henry B.
Baldridge, Alfred E.

Corporate Names:
Young Republican League of Iowa

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Local government

Occupations:
Government employees

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Washington County

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Correspondence
Personal papers
Petitions
Sources