Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Paul Conlon United Nations Sanctions Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1991-1995
Creator: Conlon, Paul (1944-)
Extent: 6.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0529
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Documents supporting Dr. Conlon's United Nations Sanctions Management: A Case Study of the Iraq Sanctions Committee 1990-1994 (Ardsley, NY: Transnational Publishers, Inc., 2001; ISBN 1-57105-059-0). Most relate to UN sanctions against Iraqfrom 1990 through the spring of 1995 with extensive materials dealing with UN sanctions against Yugoslaviain the same period plus items dealing with UN sanctions against Angola, Haitiand South Africa and relating to certain peacekeeping activities of the time.

Access: This collection is open for research. Dr. Conlon has deposited the collection in order that use can be made of it. He has not in any way restricted copies of either the paper or the digital files.Electronic material: 24 3.5 inch DOS disks, Box 12

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Paul Conlon in 2001.

Preferred Citation: Paul Conlon United Nations Sanctions Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Paul Conlon, b. 1944, Ph.Cand., Ph.D., University of Lund, 1974, was originally a lecturer and researcher at various Swedish and German universities and later an analyst and consultant in the oil industry. From 1988 to 1995 he worked for the United Nations, originally for the Centre against Apartheid, later for the sanctions branch of the Security Council. Since 1995 he has operated a legal translation and information agency, Transjuris e.K., in Munich.

The Conlon United Nations Sanctions Papers support Dr. Conlon's United Nations Sanctions Management: A Case Study of the Iraq Sanctions Committee 1990 -- 1994 (Ardsley, NY: Transnational Publishers, Inc., 2001; ISBN 1-57105-059-0) a volume in the Procedural Aspects of International Law Monograph Series edited by Burns H. Weston, Professor Emeritus of Law and Director, The University of Iowa Center for Human Rights (UICHR).

The archive contains all "on file" documents cited in Conlon's book. They are organized in in two series. The first consists of United Nations Documents, some annotated or accompanied with notes by Conlon. The second consists of 24 computer disks whose contents are listed below. There is some overlap in that some hard-copy materials are also available in electronic form on the diskettes. The database of documents on disk is estimated to equal some 5000 to 6000 pages.

The bulk of the materials relate to UN sanctions against Iraq from 1990 through the spring of 1995 and form a coherent and complete whole for the subject and period covered. There are also extensive materials dealing with UN sanctions against Yugoslavia in the same period, though less consistent and complete. The collection additionally contains stray materials dealing with UN sanctions against Angola, Haiti, and South Africa and relating to certain peacekeeping activities of the time.

The book, by a former by a former Security Council official with experience in several UN sanctions exercises, scrutinises the rationale and enforcement of continuing United Nations sanctions in Iraq -- a program widely criticized for imposing misery on an entire population in a fruitless attempt to humble a cynical tyrant. It is the first full-length study ever undertaken of the functioning of a Security Council sanctions committee. It analyses in detail substantive UN sanctions law, the operation of mandatory Chapter VII sanctions, and their practical enforcement strategies. Conlon offers recommendations, both legislative and organizational, for improving the effectiveness of multilateral sanctions measures in the future.

Conlon provides a description of United Nations practices which provide a useful context for the archived papers, a "Note on Citation of U.N. Documents", and documentation on the AskSam software used to access the electronic files.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PAPER DOCUMENTS IN FILE FOLDERS LABELED AS NOTED
Series 2: SOFTWARE

  • Series 1: PAPER DOCUMENTS IN FILE FOLDERS LABELED AS NOTED
  • Box 1:
  • 12 MTG
  • 13 MTG
  • 14 MTG
  • 661 SR/ 1-10
  • 661 SR/ 11-20
  • 687 Timetables
  • 687 TF/WP
  • 687 TF/SR MTG Doc
  • 706/712 Guidelines
  • 724 SAMCOMM Materials
  • Arms provisions for 661
  • Arms registry
  • Art 50
  • Bangladesh
  • Botswana
  • Bulgaria
  • Bulletin board
  • BVerG Urteil 2
  • Cairo
  • China
  • CIDS
  • Collective Measures Committee
  • COMTRADE
  • Consultations Govts
  • Consultations DB / Bali
  • Cost studies
  • Cotecna (706, 712)
  • Cum statistics
  • Czechoslovakia
  • Darmoo
  • Dept LAN - News-server
  • Dialog
  • DIESA trade statistics
  • Djibouti
  • DPA / Goulding / RB
  • Box 2:
  • E-Link Corp
  • EC customs form
  • EC weapons list
  • EDP-based system
  • FAO
  • FAZ
  • FAZ articles Iraq
  • FAZ article / materials
  • Flights
  • Flowchart 687
  • Focal point group
  • Foodstuff statistics
  • Foreign assets law
  • France Agro
  • Germany debate
  • HQ databases
  • I Pulido
  • ICC
  • IGG Model law + memos
  • India
  • Iraq trade
  • Iraq trade + Rev (orig)
  • Iraqi trade - 1993
  • Box 3:
  • Jan Falk
  • Jordan
  • Jordan authenticity confirmations
  • Jordan - Ngobi
  • Jordan trade stat
  • Kapellen
  • Lebanon
  • Legal questions
  • Lexis private database
  • Libya
  • Mannheim
  • Mannheim clippings
  • Marc Rich
  • MAS
  • MAS study
  • Mauritania
  • MEES
  • Memos August - 1992
  • Miscellaneous 1
  • Mississauga
  • MTG 18
  • MTG 19
  • MTG 20
  • MTG 21
  • MTG 22
  • Box 4:
  • MTG 23
  • MTG 24
  • MTG 25
  • MTG 26
  • MTG 27
  • MTG 28
  • MTG 29
  • MTG 30
  • MTG 31
  • MTG 32
  • MTG 33
  • MTG 34
  • MTG 35
  • MTG 36
  • MTG 37
  • MTG 38
  • MTG 39
  • MTG 40
  • MTG 41
  • MTG 42
  • MTG 43
  • MTG 44
  • MTG 45
  • MTG 46
  • MTG 47
  • MTG 48
  • MTG 49
  • MTG 50
  • MTG 51
  • MTG 52
  • MTG 53
  • MTG 54
  • MTG 55
  • MTG 56
  • MTG 57
  • MTG 58
  • MTG 59
  • MTG 60
  • MTG 61
  • MTG 62
  • MTG 63
  • MTG 64
  • MTG 65
  • Box 5:
  • MTG 66
  • MTG 67
  • MTG 68
  • MTG 69
  • MTG 70
  • MTG 71
  • MTG 72
  • MTG 73
  • MTG 74
  • MTG 75
  • MTG 76
  • MTG 77
  • MTG 78
  • MTG 79
  • MTG 80
  • MTG 81
  • MTG 82
  • MTG 83
  • MTG 84
  • MTG 85
  • MTG 86
  • MTG 87
  • MTG 88
  • MTG 89
  • MTG 90
  • MTG 91
  • MTG 92
  • MTG 93
  • MTG 94
  • MTG 95
  • Box 6:
  • MTG 96
  • MTG 97
  • MTG 98
  • MTG 99
  • MTG 100
  • MTG 101
  • MTG 102
  • MTG 103
  • MTG 104
  • MTG 105
  • MTG 106
  • MTG 107
  • MTG 108
  • MTG 109
  • MTG 110
  • MTG 111
  • MTG 112
  • MTG 113
  • MTG 114
  • MTG 115
  • Box 7:
  • MTG 116
  • MTG 117
  • MTG 118
  • MTG 121
  • N.V. SCPC 17/91, July 3 - 1991
  • Nexis
  • NP originals
  • OED reports (MTG 55)
  • Oil
  • Box 8:
  • Ongoing verification
  • Oversikter
  • P Vacchina
  • Pakistan
  • Palestine
  • Para 21 reviews / P 28 + R 700
  • Philippines
  • PIW
  • Poland
  • Post proposals
  • Procedures
  • Questionnaire
  • Reports on military act
  • Rhodesia
  • Romania
  • SA experience / 421, IGG
  • SAMCOMM
  • Sanctions M
  • Sanctions committees
  • Secretariat computerization
  • Security
  • Seychelles
  • SG reports for 687, 700
  • Special Comm
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Sudan meat
  • Sugar - 1995
  • Suspicious cases
  • Syria
  • Telephone numbers
  • Telephone bills
  • Box 9:
  • Thornburgh
  • Togethernet
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey trade
  • Um-Qasr question
  • UNDRO flights (UNICEF)
  • UNHCR
  • UNIKOM
  • Uruguay
  • US Hum Ship List
  • US law
  • Viet Nam
  • Wan's Jordan CRP
  • Wan's report
  • Weekend duty
  • WHO
  • Wimco-Erica case
  • Work organization
  • Working Group
  • Yemen
  • Yugoslavia
  • UNIKOM
  • UNSCOM
  • Box 10:
  • MISC 1994-95
  • O (Other matters) - 1995
  • 724 MTG 121
  • Correspondence, September - 1992
  • Waivers, April - 1995
  • 748 MTG 50
  • UNIKOM - 1992
  • Box 11:
  • MOU - 1992
  • Manual for United Nations Compensation Commission Claim Form "A" Data Capture System
  • Corr Dec 94 - Mar 95 - 1994-1995
  • 724 MTG
  • Open-ended WG (SC reform)
  • DPA Significant Developments
  • Box 12:
  • HUM/COMM
  • DIESA Report
  • SAMCOMM Report no 24
    2 folders
  • Series 2: SOFTWARE
  • Sub-Series: CD-ROM
  • Box 12:
  • CD-ROM of all 24 disks
    2003 Note: The contents of all 24 disks were transferred to a single CD which can be copied on request. The content of each disk was placed in its own file on the CD, so it should be possible to replicate the structure of the database on a variety of desktops; The University of Iowa Libraries cannot, however, provide technical assistance if you encounter problems in configuring the program and files.
  • Sub-Series: DOS-format 3.5" computer disks in two disk holders
  • Box 12:
  • 1: 2 directories
  • 1:\HIST\: Historical notes (fragments not used in the published book) (directory)
  • 1:\SEL\: WordPerfect files of memos, tables, and other documents (directory)
    the file SELLIST.KON in this directory contains a listing of all files with explanations of their contents
  • 2. AskSam file COMSR.ASK (in zipped form); full-text searchable database of summary records of the first 117 meetings of the Iraq Sanctions Committee + 14 meetings of its working group; the zip-unzip software used is on the diskette.
    For documentation on the AskSam program, click here.
  • 3. AskSam files: 1991CORR(espondence), 91 NEEDS (=waiver actions), 92NEEDS, ANGOLA (=meetings of the Angola sanctions committee), COMREC (= contents of 1:\SEL\ in Asksam format, searchable), FOOD (=foodstuff clearances) and GOVCOUN (meetings of the Governing Council of the United Nations Compensation Commission, UNCC). - 1991
  • 4. AskSam system files for the version used to create the databases in this collection.
  • 5. AskSam files: HAITI (meetings of the Haiti sanctions committee), JORDAN, JORDOIL, JORFOOD, NEEDS, OVERVAKN (relating to an employee), QUEST (responses to a questionnaire on implementation of sanctions sent out by the Iraq sanctions committee in 1991), RESOLUT (full text, English and French, of all SC resolutions on Iraq). - 1991
  • 6. AskSam file of early Security Council proceedings on Iraq as taken from the verbatim records (in zipped) form, + zip-unzip software used.
  • 7. Meetings 1 -- 50 of the Iraq sanctions committee in WordPerfect format (taken from COMSR.ASK).
  • 8. Meetings 51 -- 93 of the Iraq sanctions committee in WordPerfect format (taken from COMSR.ASK).
  • 9. Meetings 94 -- 117, plus 119, 120 of the Iraq sanctions committee in WordPerfect format (taken from COMSR.ASK).
  • 10. Iraq sanctions committee correspondence logs - 1992
    see Page 187 note
  • 11. Iraq sanctions committee correspondence logs - 1993
  • 12. Iraq sanctions committee correspondence logs - 1992
  • 13. Iraq sanctions committee correspondence logs - 1990, 1991
  • 14. Original typing pool summary records of meetings of the Yugoslavia sanctions committee in the range of meetings 111 through 118 (not complete).
  • 15. Original typing pool summary records of meetings of the Yugoslavia sanctions committee in the range of meetings 73 through 100 (not complete).
  • 16. Original typing pool summary records of meetings of the Yugoslavia sanctions committee in the range of meetings 1 through 72 (not complete).
  • 17. Status lists for meetings 115 -- 118, 120, 121 of the Iraq sanctions committee
    see Page 188 note
  • 18. Status lists of first twelve meetings of the Iraq sanctions committee where status lists were issued.
  • 19. 5 directories:
  • 19:\CONTENTS\: WordPerfect files for pages in this looseleaf binder.
  • 19:\ANGOLA\ typing pool summary records of several meetings of the Angola sanctions committee.
  • 19\ FILES\ WordPerfect files of correspondence, memos, etc., largely from - 1994-1995
    some possible overlap with 1:\SEL\
  • 19\HAITI\ typing pool summary records of several meetings of the Haiti sanctions committee.
  • 19\HPN\ file for a flowchart survey of resolution 687 progress (Harvard Project Management software).
  • 20. Paradox files: 92COMMS, 93COMMS, 94COMMS, 95COMMS, plus a telephone log
    see Page 188 note
  • 21. Files from the UN Centre against Apartheid, many of them deal with the intergovernmental group (IGG) to monitor the oil embargo against South Africa and are recognisable by the file extension .igg - 1988-1990
  • 22. Files from the UN Centre against Apartheid, many of them deal with the intergovernmental group (IGG) to monitor the oil embargo against South Africa and are recognisable by the file extension .igg - 1988-1990
  • 23. WordPerfect files for UN Peacekeeping Department's Field Manual, version dating from September - 1992
  • 24. Original typing pool WordPerfect files for Iraq sanctions committee meetings 106 -- 117, 119, 120 (original official format; contents overlaps with diskette 9 above).