Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Carl Klaus Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1990-2000
Creator: Klaus, Carl
Extent: 1.00 linear foot.
Collection Number: MSC0523
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: University of Iowa professor and writer on writing and the teaching of writing, as well as essayist. This collection consists of manuscripts and related materials for three of his books: My Vegetable Love, Weathering Winter, and Taking Retirement.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Carl Klaus in the late 1990s. Guide posted to Internet: November 2005.

Preferred Citation: Carl Klaus Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Carl H. Klaus, a retired Professor of English at the University of Iowa, is the founder and former director of Iowa's Nonfiction Writing Program and the NEH/Iowa Institute on Writing. A widely published essayist on style, voice, and the personal essay, Klaus is the author or editor of several textbooks on writing and books about the teaching of writing. His most recent books include three works of literary non-fiction: My Vegetable Love: A Journal of a Growing Season (Houghton Mifflin, 1996), Weathering Winter: A Gardener's Daybook (University of Iowa Press, 1997), and Taking Retirement: A Beginner's Diary (Beacon Press, 1999). His next work, now in progress, is The Chameleon I: Versions and Evocations of Self in Personal Essays.

The Carl Klaus papers consist of three boxes of manuscripts relating to three books by Professor Klaus. These include drafts, proofs, and other material relating to the publication process.
My Vegetable Love Main Library SB103 K58 M9 2000; University Archives SB103 K56 2000; Special Collections Iowa Author Collection.

Taking Retirement Main Library HQ1064 U6 I6487 1999; Special Collections Englander Collection HQ1064 U6 I6487 1999; Special Collections Iowa Author Collection

Weathering Winter Main Library SC320.7 I8 K586 1997; Special Collections University Archives SC320.7 I8 K586 1997; Special Collections Englander Collection SC320.7 I8 K586 1997; Special Collections Iowa Author Collection

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Sub-Series: My Vegetable Love
  • Box 1:
  • El Nino Timeline - 1994-1995
  • Six drafts
  • Printer's copy
  • Page proofs
  • Box 2:
  • Uncorrected proof
  • Dust jacket proof
  • Postcards
  • Page proofs, marked set
  • Published version, hardback
  • Sub-Series: Taking Retirement
  • Box 2:
  • First draft
  • Prospectus and first two months
  • Prospectus and journal up to April 30
  • Draft up to June 3
  • Revised draft
  • Fifth draft
  • Original typescript
  • Edited typescript
  • Copy edited typescript
  • Printing copy
  • Master page proofs
  • Computer disk
  • Postcards
  • Sub-Series: Weathering Winter
  • Box 3:
  • Source manuscript
  • Five drafts
  • Changes suggested by Paul Diehl
  • Editorial suggestions form Charlie Drumm
  • Suggestions from Dan Rock
  • Draft sent to University of Iowa Press
  • Copy edited typescript
  • Post cards
  • University of Iowa Press catalog

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.