Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the H. Daniel Smith Papers: Sanskrit Texts from the H. Daniel Smith Agama Collection, Selected by Claude Setzer

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1960-1979
Creator: Smith, H. Daniel
Extent: 1.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0522
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Photocopies of Sanskrit texts having to do with Pancaratra studies collected by H. Daniel Smith and now located at the Cleveland Public Library. The photocopies in the present collection were obtained by University of Iowa ;Professor Claude Setzer.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collections was donated by Professor Setzer to the University of Iowa Libraries.

Preferred Citation: H. Daniel Smith: Sanskrit Texts from the H. Daniel Smith Agama Collection, Selected by Claude Setzer, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The H. Daniel Smith Agama Collection consists of copies of Sanskrit books and manuscripts relating to Pancaratra studies which now forms part of the the John G. White Collection of Orientalia at the Cleveland Public Library. Smith described his collection, mostly excerpts from original books and manuscripts in Indian libraries and research centers transcribed under his direction during the 1960s and 1970s, in his The Smith Agama Collection: Sanskrit Books and Manuscripts Relating to Panacarata Studies, A Descriptive Catalog (Syracuse University Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs: Foreign and Comparative Studies / South Asian Special Publication 2, 1978). Smith's introduction to the catalog sets forth details of the intent, extent, and creation of his collection; a copy of the book is located in the Libraries' general collections (Z7835.B8S623).

University of Iowa Professor Claude Setzer selected certain items described in section I of the Smith catalog as "primary texts of the Panacaratragama," primarily transcriptions made from printed books, and obtained photocopies of these texts from the Cleveland Public Library. These photocopies comprise the present collection.

The photocopies are arranged in the order in which they are described (in detail) in the Smith catalog. Three pieces of information have been taken from Smith's table of contents: title of the text; description of the original format; and the page number on which Smith's full description begins.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Table of Contents and Introduction to Smith's Catalog. Annotated (by Setzer?)
    photocopy
  • "Introduction"
    A collection of notes (Smith's?) headed "Introduction" and concerned with the practice of Pratistha (photocopy)
  • H. Daniel Smith, "Pancaratra Literature in Perspective," Journal of Ancient Indian History XII - 1978-1979
    photocopy
  • Agastya-Samhita
    page 2 (ms. fragments)
  • Aniruddha-Samhita
    page 5 (printed book)
  • Isvara-Samhita
    page 11 (printed book)
  • Kapinjala-Samhita
    page 18 (printed book)
  • Gautama-Samhita
    page 27 (ms. fragment)
  • Citrasikhandi-Samhita
    page 28 (ms. fragments)
  • Jayakhya-Samhita
    page 30 (printed book)
  • Jayottara-Samhita
    page 33 (ms. fragments)
  • Nalakubara-Samhita
    page 38 (ms. fragments)
  • Naradiya-Samhita
    page 40 (printed book)
  • Narayana-Samhita
    page 44 (printed book)
  • Pancaprasna-Samhita
    page 50 (ms. transcription)
  • Parama-Samhita
    page 52 (printed book)
  • Paramapurusa-Samhita
    page 54 (printed book)
  • Parasara-Samhita
    page 60 (printed book)
  • Padma-Samhita
    page 66 (printed book)
  • Paramesvara-Samhita
    page 72 (printed book)
  • Purusottama-Samhita
    page 74 (printed book)
  • Pauskara-Samhita
    page 77 (printed book)
  • Bharadvaja-Samhita
    page 87 (ms. transcription)
  • Bhargava-Tantra
    page 91 (ms. transcription)
  • Box 2:
  • Mayavaibhava-Samhita
    page 96 (ms. fragment)
  • Markandeya-Samhita
    page 96 (printed book)
  • Laksmi Tantra
    page 99 (printed book)
  • Varaha-Samhita
    page 104 (ms. fragment)
  • Vasistha-Samhita
    page 106 (ms. transcription)
  • Visva-Samhita
    page 111 (ms. transcription)
  • Visvamitra-Samhita
    page 112 (printed book)
  • Visnutattva-Samhita
    page 116 (ms. transcription)
  • Visnu Tantra
    page 119 (ms. transcription)
  • Folder 10: ----
  • Visnu-Samhita
    page 129 (printed book)
  • Visvaksena-Samhita
    page 133 (printed book)
  • Vihagendra-Samhita
    page 135 (ms. transcription)
  • Vrddha-Padma-Samhita
    page 137 (ms. fragments)
  • Sriprasna-Samhita
    page 148 (printed book)
  • Sanatkumara-Samhita
    page 152 (printed book)
  • Sattvata-Samhita
    page 165 (printed book)
  • Hayasirsa-Samhita
    page 165 (printed book)

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.