Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the James H. Windsor Collection of Railroadiana

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1874-1989
Creator: Windsor, James H.
Extent: 43.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0521
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Railroadiana mostly related to the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific (CRIP) Railroad, with some materials on the Union Pacific Railroad.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Boxes 25, 26; Slides: Box 28

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The collection was donated by James H. Windsor.

Preferred Citation: James H. Windsor Collection of Railroadiana, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The James H. Windsor collection of railroadiana consists of 43 linear feet , includes publications, newspaper clippings, photographs, manuals, correspondence, train registers, time books, forms, tickets, and other similar material collected by James H. Windsor of Des Moines, Iowa. Almost all of the collection concerns the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railroad, but there is also material relating to the Union Pacific Railroad.

J. Roethler and B. McCown. August 2001.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: MAY 2006 ADDENDUM
Series 3: 2009 ADDENDUM
Series 4: 2010 ADDENDUM
Series 5: OVERSIZED

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Rock Island Railroad publications
  • Newspaper articles
  • Photos
  • Box 2:
  • Rock Island Railroad manuals
  • Box 3:
  • Rock Island special bulletins and annual reports
  • Charlie Grimm scrapbook
  • W.M. Gibbons file
  • Rock Island Railroad correspodence with Senate and Congress
  • Box 4:
  • Rock Island publications
  • Newspaper articles
  • Photos
  • Memoirs of Oswald W. Schindler
  • Box 5:
  • Rock Island Railroad train registers
  • Box 6:
  • Time books and trip reports of Fred B. Hoffman and possibly others
  • Box 7:
  • Rock Island Railroad forms
  • Tickets
  • Stamps
  • Envelopes
  • Employee Information
  • Box 8:
  • Newspaper articles
  • Rock Island Railroad publications
  • Internal documents
  • Publicity materials
  • Old railroad pictures
  • Rock Island-Union Pacific Railroad merger papers
  • Burlington, Cedar Rapids, and Northern Railroad time table, including employee timetables
  • Union Pacific time tables, including employee timetables
  • Train photo album
  • Box 9:
  • Rock Island Railroad financial and daily train records
  • Box 10:
  • Rock Island Railroad publications
  • Newspaper articles
  • Photos
  • Freight agency manuals
  • Blueprints
  • Correspondence of James H. Windsor
  • Box 11:
  • Rock Island Railroad internal paper
  • Newspaper articles
  • Photos, correspondence
  • Car specifications
  • Box 12:
  • Rock Island Railroad manuals and time tables, including employee timetables
  • Box 13:
  • Photos
  • Postcards, Newspaper articles
  • Rock Island Railroad daily balance records
  • Internal and external publications
  • Box 14:
  • Rock Island Railroad trustee's progress reports
  • Office of the superintendent papers
  • Standard plans
  • Box 15:
  • Rock Island equipment standards
  • Instruction manuals
  • Examination books
  • Diagrams of cars and equipment
  • American Railway Association telegraph and telephone section
  • Box 16:
  • Transtopics Iowa Department of Transportation newsletter issues
  • Rock Island Railroad employee newsletter issues
  • Chicago and Northwestern news
  • Other DOT items
  • Newspaper articles
  • Box 17:
  • Railroad atlas
  • James H. Windsor correspondence
  • Railway books
  • Chicago and Northwestern Railroad manuals
  • The Switching issues
  • Rock Island Railroad telephone directory
  • Yearbook of railroad facts
  • Many miscellaneous items
  • Box 18:
  • Rock Island publications
  • Newspaper articles
  • Burlington, Cedar Rapids and Northern Railroad documents
  • Union Pacific-Rock Island Railroad merger information
  • Box 19:
  • Newspaper and magazine articles
  • DOT Inside magazine issues
  • Transtopics issues
  • State government railway manuals
  • Railroad crisis information
  • Box 20:
  • Amtrak and Union Pacific publications
  • Time and cash books
  • Box 21:
  • Rock Island Railroad fares and tariffs
  • Pullman car listing
  • Box 22: Shelved in Oversized
  • Old time tables, including employee timetables
  • Posters
  • Brake blueprint (all oversized)
  • Box 23:
  • Rock Island Railroad time tables, including employee timetables
  • Maps
  • Brochures
  • Box 24:
  • Rock Island Railroad reports
  • Various subjects
  • Series 2: MAY 2006 ADDENDUM
  • Box 25:
  • Agreements between The Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific Railroad Company and Employees Represented by the Order of Railroad Telegraphers
  • Agreements concerning Hours of Service and Working Conditions Between The Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific Railroad Company, The Chicago, Rock Island and Gulf Railway Company and Joint Protective Board, CRIP Ry System Division, Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employees
  • Employees time book - 1978
  • Employees time book - 1979
  • Employees time book - 1980-1983
  • Operators Manual, Gallery Type Suburban Card. Regional Transportation Authority. The Budd Company, Railway Division. April  - 1978
  • Pegler, Alan, Cecil J. Allen, and Trevor Bailey. Flying Scotsman. London: Ian Allen - 1968
  • Photograph. Train 222 Peoria Depot. Summer 1935. Engineer: Art Wortz. Included in photo: Fred Knight.
  • Rules and Rates of Pay, Rock Island, Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific, and Chicago Rock Island and Gulf Railroads
  • For conductors, March 1 - 1929
  • For conductors, March 1, 1929 Reprint, October - 1949
  • For conductors, March 1, 1929 Reprinted to include interpretations and special agreements to June, 1 - 1957
  • For conductors and brakemen, March 1 - 1929
  • For conductors and brakemen, March 1, 1929 Reprinted to include interpretations and special agreements to July - 1969
  • For conductors and brakemen, March 1, 1929, Reprinted to include interpretations and special agreements to June - 1974
  • For switchmen, March 1 - 1929
  • For trainmen, March 1 - 1929
  • Rules and Regulations
  • Consolidated Code of Operating Rules. Rules for nineteen different railroads
  • For Train Handling and Operation of Air Brakes, Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific Railroad Company, July - 1974
  • Operating Department, The Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railway Company, The Chicago, Rock Island & Gulf Railway Company, December 15 - 1930
  • Train Air Brake and Communication Signal Rules, Rock Island Railway - 1961
  • Telegraph Brevity Code
  • Time Return and Delay Report of Passenger Conductors and Trainmen, Chicago and Northwestern Railroad, Chicago Rock Island Sbn. April to June - 1980
  • Series 3: 2009 ADDENDUM
    This addendum also included issues of Rock Island Employee's Magazine, Rock Island Magazine, Rock Island Employee's Newsletter, The Rocket, The Rock, Midwestern Rails, American Rails, The Rock Island Digest, and The Rock Island News Digest which were added to the x collection in Special Collections.
  • Box 26:
  • Chicago Rock Island and Pacific Railroad Former Employees. 3rd, 4th, 6th, 7th, 8th, 9th, and 11th revisions
  • Clippings. 2 folders
    See also oversized boxes
  • Correspondence
  • Ephemera, including post cards, trading cards, menus, brochures, tickets, telegram forms, pencils, and pins
  • Iowa Operation Lifesaver. Speakers Guide
  • Manuals, lists, codes, rosters, etc. 2 folders
  • Maps
    Iowa and other
  • Miscellaneous including blueprints, a poem, schematic drawings, train orders, and other miscellany.
    See oversized boxes
  • Miscellaneous publications regarding railroads
    Including Plan for Reorganizing Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific Railway Company from the US District Court, dated December 28, 1979; The Federal Railroad Safety Program; Railroad Abandonment: What Happens: What Can an Individual Do? prepared by the Railroad Division of the Iowa Department of Transportation; How You will Benefit From the Proposed Union Pacific-Rock Island Railroad Merger and Sale of Rock Island's Southern Properties to Southern Pacific; This Is the Rock Island; "A New Start for Transit and Rail" by Hank Dittmar from Surface Transportation Policy Project Progress July/August 1997; An Economic Analysis of Upgrading Rail Branch Lines: A Study of 71 Lines in Iowa by the Iowa Department of Transportation; a brochure for the Wilson Railway Corporation of Des Moines; and single issues of Rock Island Magazine, Trains, Trains and Travel, Modern Railroads, and Fortune. (These last two are in the oversized boxes)
  • Photographs
  • Photographs: The Inter-Urban Railway between Des Moines, Colfax, Mitchellville, Altoona, Perry, Woodward, and Granger
  • The Rock Telephone Directory
  • Rock Island: Annual Report to the Stockholders - 1949, 1950, 1952, 1953
  • Rock Island: The Road of Planned Progress. Manual of Information For Use of Guests on Investor's Special, Chicago-Dallas and Return, March 16, 17, and 18 - 1955
  • Rock Island Technical Society Calendars
    2002 Calendar in oversized box
  • Box 27:
  • Rock Island Technical Society: Company store inventory
  • Rock Island Technical Society: data sheets
  • Rock Island Technical Society: membership directory - 1997-2000
  • Rock Island Technical Society: Miscellaneous mailings
  • Status Report on Railroad Abandonments in Iowa - 1980-1990, 1990-1991
  • Timetables
     See oversized boxes for Burlington Cedar Rapids and Northern and Chicago Rock Island and Pacific timetables
  • Atchison, Topeka, and Santa Fe
  • Burlington Northern
  • Cedar Rapids and Iowa City Railway
  • Chicago and Great Northwestern Railway Company
  • Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul and Pacific Railroad Company
  • Chicago and Northwestern Railway
  • Chicago Rock Island and Pacific
  • Davenport Rock Island & North Western Railway Company
  • Illinois Central Railroad
  • Minneapolis & St. Louis Railroad
  • Iowa Interstate Railroad
  • Newton and Northwestern Railroad Company
  • Soo Line Railroad Company
  • Union Pacific Railroad Company
  • Series 4: 2010 ADDENDUM
  • Box 28: Slides with indexes
  • Series 5: OVERSIZED
  • Box 29:
  • Miscellaneous oversized materials
    See also Box 22

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.