Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Lloyd Dunn Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1980-1990
Creator: Dunn, Lloyd (1957-)
Extent: 12.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0520
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Publisher of Retrofuturist and PhotoStatic magazines and member of collage music groups the Tape-beatles and Public Works. The collection includes audio cassettes as well as two boxes of videotapes and a number of small art works which incorporate audio cassettes.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated by Lloyd Dunn in May 2000.

Preferred Citation: Papers of Lloyd Dunn, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Lloyd John Dunn was born in Harlan, Iowa on November 10, 1957. He received a B.A. in Linguistics in 1981 and an M.F.A. in Film, Photography, and Intermedia in 1987, both from the University of Iowa. He began publishing Photo Static Magazine in Iowa City in 1983. Other publications that Dunn was involved with include Retrofuturist, YAWN, The Bulletin of the Copyright Violation Squad, The Expatriot, PSRF, and The Photostatic Magazine Retrograde Archive. In 1986 he began making audio art and, with Ralph Johnson and John Heck, he formed the group the Tape-beatles.

As of May 2001 Dunn had moved to Prague, Czech Republic, and maintains a website at http://pwp.detritus.net.

At the time of the gift, Dunn wrote, "I . . .amassed [during the 1980s] a significant collection of audio cassettes from the 'Home Taper' underground movement. These are tapes made by committed amateur musicians and sound artists that were self-published and self-distributed in editions numbering anywhere from 1 to perhaps a few hundred copies." The collection includes two boxes of videotapes and a number of small art works which incorporate audio cassettes.

Boxes 1-14 contain audio cassettes,Viedo boxes 1 and 2 contain video tapes and document Boxes 1-3 contain paper based materials.

The collection is arranged by format, since housing the different formats made this desirable. Series I, the largest series, contains audio cassettes. Tape supplements to PhotoStatic entitled Phonostatic are also available in the collection. A tape series entitled Radiostatic is also in the collection. These are radio shows that Dunn produced that contain works from artists whose tapes are included in the collection. A collection of CDs makes up Series II. Series III is comprised of Mixed Media, including paper and 45 vinyl recordings. Miscellaneous items make up Series IV. Dunn's PhotoStatic magazine is also available in this collection and makes up Series V. Series VII contains periodicals and zines that relate to the cassette culture, including independent music magazines. This is a series that also explores the photocopier as a means of expression and includes the work of other artists that Dunn worked with. Artists that are strongly represented include Jean-Francoise Robic, a photocopier artist from France whose series C'est la Faute aux Copies is included in the collection. Several of John Oswald's Mystery Tapes Laboratory are also included in the collection.
Public Works Productions, there are several interviews with Dunn at this site: http://pwp.detritus.net/

Browse by Series:
Series 1: AUDIO CASSETTES
Series 2: COMPACT DISCS
Series 3: MIXED MEDIA
Series 4: MISCELLANEOUS
Series 5: PHOTOSTATIC MAGAZINE
Series 6: VIDEOCASSETTES
Series 7: ZINES AND PERIODICALS
Series 8: OVERSIZED BOX

  • Series 1: AUDIO CASSETTES
  • Box 1:
  • Ordure~Fresh A In the Hour of Chaos
  • 360 Degrees Bulbnoid Strainer
  • 61 Z
  • 65 N
  • 68 V
  • Achim Wollscheid
  • Acid Reign Music Presents Rosemary's Car and Other Works
  • agog~magnetic phenomena of all kinds
  • Agog
  • Agriculture USA/Consumer Time; Agri-Tape-Farm Report/News Feature Five
  • Alan Bakev
  • Alienfarm~Owl
  • Allegory Chapel Ltd.
  • Amk
  • AND ALL of a sudden (THERE Was) Dead AiR
  • The Ann Arbor Edge
  • Anomaly
  • Anomaly 2
  • Anomaly 3
  • Anywhere But Now
  • AO~Turns the Table On
  • Aqua Velveeta
  • Aquatics Ever Tarnish~Worn
  • AR280
  • Art Radio Internacional 1
  • Art Radio Internacional 2
  • art STRIKE/buy Lbd
  • Artstrike discuss w/Mickel, Malok and "YO" (?) frm Swampfest
  • Arte Brazelgica~Another Midnight Temple Music
  • Artifact
  • Artifact~Collective Audio
  • Assortment of Julia sets~from "Chaos" by James Gleick
  • At Home with Milton Burial
  • The Attic
  • Audio Anthology
  • Auriform~Festival of Something
  • Box 2:
  • BIG CITY OPXHESTPA~No NOISE PEDUTION-Oversize box 1
  • backyard mechanics
  • Bang Zoom
  • Barry Edgar Pilcher
  • Barry Edgar Pilcher
  • Batang Frisco
  • battery operated
  • Ben Allen~Negativland/Plagiarism
  • Bern Porter~Williamson Street Blues
  • Big City Orchestra
  • Big City Orchestra~Animal Religion
  • Big City Orchestra~Beatles Hell
  • Big City Orchestra~Headache
  • Big City Orchestra~Laydreams of Night
  • Big City Orchestra~Muth Makers
  • Big City Orchestra~Parade of Idiots
  • Big City Orchestra~Phonostatic Submissions0
  • Big City Orchestra~Trinite
  • "Bikini Hour"
  • Bill Jones Show~Real life submission Family Album
  • The Bill Jones Show~Where's Ghoulardi?
  • Billy Dim~Songs for the Tribulation
  • Bits for Radio
  • Bob Black~Live at Club Lower Links
  • Bob Drake~Luigi
  • Bob Gregory
  • Brain Rot Radio
  • Brain Rot Radio
  • Brazen '90
  • Bruce Andrews~Every All Which is Not Us!
  • Bruxist~Temorage- Document Box 1
  • Burned Productions~AMK/OX TWO SITESEEING GUYS
  • Burning Topplers~Play Loud
  • Busyditch~Bigger Noise #7
  • The Call of Madonna Luisa Ciccone
  • Camerata~Vol 1
  • Car vs. Human Deathmasks
  • Cephalic Index
  • Box 3:
  • Chainmail Cassette
  • Chris Burke~Oil War
  • Cinta
  • Close Enough~30.6.93
  • CLPS=Enough/"The Soft Sell"
  • CM James Audio
  • CNF I
  • CNF~Your Sins Killed Him
  • Concentration/Combination~David Prescott
  • Concrete-Mixing
  • Concrete~Vol 3
  • Concrete~Vol 4
  • Consummation of Empire
  • Cooper's Health Food Shop Kitchen
  • Copy Write Kills~MUSIC
  • Crackerjack Kid~Art Strike Mantra~Mai Ling Monk Mix
  • Crackerjack Kid~Art Strike Mantra~Project Invitation~Mail Art Martra Chants
  • Crash Worship~This
  • Crawling with Tarts
  • Crawling with Tarts~Candy Tooth Ceylon
  • Croiners~midi ditties
  • A Crutch or Reel or Water-Plant
  • A Cry for Broken Power
  • d'Zoid~Swirl
  • Dad's New Slacks~fur collectors only
  • Dad's New Slacks/Peace on Drugs
  • Dan Ashwander~Old Friend and Me
  • Dan Fioretti~Losing Your Mind? Don't Worry! Girl Is Not Only Her Alone
  • dan fioretti~muzick for huge cow fans
  • Dan Goldstein~radio earphonics
  • Danse Industrial 2~(experi)Mental Improv Mix RSVP Tapecrew
  • Dave Prescott
  • David Wright~from "The Play Accidentally Threw Me In" (1975)
  • Dead Air~You May Not Want to Listen
  • Death of Vinyl
  • Box 4:
  • Deathranch~No risk brain tape?
  • Deathranch~Onanathra
  • defears II~The Secon Coming
  • Diaspora: Jake Berry
  • Didier Mouliner~Sic
  • Didier Moulinier~Appelez-Moi Un Docteur!
  • Dirty Crows
  • Doug Roberson
  • Dougzig
  • Dougzig~Screaming Yellow!
  • Doze Were Da Daze
  • Dr. Ama~Kool Ages
  • DSMNTLR
  • Duane Isaacson~Impressions
  • Due Process~RRRadio
  • Dumpster Times-#7~Audio Anarchy
  • Dust that Collects~Black Water Delirium
  • Dust that Collects~dust never sleeps
  • Ear Nerve Ear Ache
  • Ears Under Siege~Signal to Noise
  • Ea$t-Coa$t Underground~le Foie, la Rate et le Gesier
  • Ego~Wakest Solos
  • Electro Convulvsive Therapy
  • Emil Beaulieau~Anti-Performance- Document Box 1
  • Ensemble Vide~le Mercredi et Vagh
  • Eric Dinyer~All Evil Must be Judged by God
  • Erik Belgum~Dick Tracy/Small Room
  • Eulipian #3~Heetseekers
  • EUY~Semantics Could Vanish
  • Excerpt: Houston Talk Show/BG and JA etc.
  • Face in the Crowd~the family that blows up buildings
  • Fagagaga
  • Fantome Audio #1~Not for Sale
  • Fembot
  • Box 5:
  • Fergus Kelly~Extracts for "Retrofuturists Real Life"
  • Festival of the Swamps~Epic Cuts from Deep Swamps
  • Fetic Porn
  • Fina~Culturecide
  • Fire Wall of Flesh
  • floating concrete octopus~polynoise
  • floating concrete orchestra
  • Flower Chakra
  • Foist Compilation
  • Foist Sampler
  • Folk Songs of Middle America
  • Found~Chicago
  • Fragment~Zan Hoffman/Agog- Document Box 1
  • Fragmented~Ek Passion Drone.
  • Fragments from the End of Time
  • francisco lopez~uaiscm 1
  • francisco lopez~uaiscm 3
  • Free Association
  • free sound
  • Front 242~05:22:09:12 OFF
  • Frutt Bat Savvy
  • Fusebox~Life in the Circus
  • Gaestebud
  • Gaga #4~Frankenstein unbound
  • Gen Ken~Beatmusik
  • GEN KEN~Drilling Holes in the Wall
  • Gen Ken~Montgomery
  • genKen~Symphony for New York City and a Cheap Life
  • Gibbs/Gregory~Most Swampfest Stuff
  • GIBBS/RLA
  • God's Feedback Choir~All our Wurst/Loop Deville and Gieger Family Singers~"What Time is It?"/Mechanical Chicken Experiment
  • Going Gaga~the Poison is in the Dosage- Document Box 1
  • Golden Cage of Radio #1
  • grae.com~Media Sickness
  • Gramma Called
  • Gregorian Chance
  • Gretchen, Britt and Kristen Ban Tepper
  • GRUDGEFUCK~real life contribution
  • Box 6:
  • The Haints
  • Happy Tape Compilation- Document Box 1
  • Harry Polkinhorn
  • Haters
  • The Haters
  • Hear the ROAR of Mountains Volume 2
  • Hernia Retraction Accordion~Choking on the Fumes
  • Hernia Retraction Accordion~infectious damage
  • Hernia Retraction Accordion~into the lodge
  • Hidden Places
  • The History of the Jams AKA Timelords/The KLF~The White Room
  • Horny Genius
  • Hour of Slack #159
  • Hour of Slack #161
  • Hovancsek~eyeless women
  • Hybryds~Mythical Music from the 21th Century- Document Box 1
  • A Hypercritical Duophony
  • I. M. I.
  • I Need a Weenie Break/Viewpoint of a Different Vindictive Turn
  • Icebergdeadahead
  • Identification
  • If You Can't Sin, Let's Make a Deal
  • Improvisations~Volume 1
  • Inch Eggs
  • Infant Mortality Rate~big secrets
  • Interference, a radio landscape by MIKE EWANUS
  • Interview with Charles Manson & Manson Cut Up by Chris P.
  • Inverse Guitar
  • Iowa Hardcore~You Can't Get There from Here
  • Ithaca Music
  • Izabella
  • J. Kozel~Savage Inequalities Pt I/Pt II/ JW~Stand/Channel Open
  • J.M. Bonn and H. Shakahuch~"Flowers" and "the Only(?) Question?"
  • J.P. Bobillot~Sound Works
  • Jack Bosarge~The Wear Down
  • Jack Foley/Mike Miskowski/Jake Berry~3 Talkers
  • Jacksonian March~An Anthology of Invisible Local(e)s
  • Jake Berry~Chants
  • Box 7:
  • Jake Berry~Deep Nature
  • Janet Janet~3 min. of silence
  • Jason Gibbs and Bob Gregory
  • Jason Gibbs/Robert Gregory~Go, Song of Mine.
  • Jim Steele~Deerheaded Facts
  • Joe Shmoe~I Gotta Go
  • John Bartles~Orange Album
  • John Held Jr~Soundrack from the
  • John M. Bennett~Versions
  • A Joyful Noise (2 cop)
  • Juxtsuppose
  • K7F: The Second Meeting of the Cobbley World Fellowship
  • K7J: The Official
  • K7N: Norman Yeh
  • K7Z~the Official August 23rd, 1991 E.V. Bughouse Apex Roto-Zither
  • Auxillary
  • Kenneth Patchen Festival
  • Klaus Maecke from the film "Decoder"
  • KLF Presents the Jams~1987 What the Fuck is Going On!
  • The Kopyright Liberation Front AKA Justified Ancients of MuMu
  • Kostelanetz
  • Kurt Schwitters~Ursonata
  • Kwashiorkor~We are Numberless
  • L'arv Tran Cette
  • L. Cain~Couple of Various Work
  • La Lune~Et L'Autre
  • Lapse from Virtue
  • Laurie, Crag and Abbie
  • Le Foie, la Rate et le Gesier~Special
  • Lemon Kittens
  • Level 10~Comp
  • Level 11~Dead Things (2 Copies)
  • Level 13~The Devil
  • Little City in Space
  • Box 8:
  • Little City in Space
  • Little Sparky's Last Mistake
  • LL Estimate~Malok
  • A' Loving Oven~Whoa Baby, Stop!
  • M. Jankowski~The Retrofuturists Real Life Audio Comp#15
  • Macuingun~Fire
  • The Magic Shop
  • Mail/Audio Compilation
  • MaLLife 10
  • MaLLife 15
  • MaLLife#18 audio
  • MaLLife 20/21- Document Box 1
  • Malok
  • Malok & Aquatics Ever Tarnish
  • Malok~Dec. 1988
  • Manifest Ecstasy
  • Mannschaft Posse~Clad in Gleaming Skin
  • Mark S. Bloch~TenZenMen
  • Materia Con...Creta
  • Matthew Burnett~Title of Tape
  • McStinkk
  • Mechanical Sterility~Living with "That" Sound
  • Michael Shores~Hellsapoppin'!!
  • Michael Winkler
  • Migkowski
  • Mike Dyer interviews~the tape-Beatles
  • Mike Tetrault~Warm Blade
  • The Mind Plays Strange Tricks
  • Minoy Music
  • The Miracle~Dingsters at the Break of Dong/Jammus Interuptus
  • Miriam Sagan~Spilling Marmalade
  • Mittens: Senility having firmly taken hold
  • Mix by Ben Allen
  • Mix from National World Information Order
  • Momentumless identity
  • Mormonite Talk Show
  • Mr. Suburbia 2~Life is a Slow Sax Solo
  • Box 9:
  • Music for a Small World
  • Musicworks 42
  • Musicworks 43
  • Musk of Kites
  • my first REAL LIFE
  • Mystery Hearsay
  • Mystery Iguana
  • ND Fragment #1
  • ND7
  • NEE~Real Life
  • Network~Patchen
  • Newstrack
  • Nick Goodman~Rainforest Piece
  • nick~Magick Television
  • nick~Uninvited Guests
  • Nmatapes
  • Nmatapes
  • No Idea
  • Nomuzic & McGee~Goonz
  • nonlocal variable~not from around here
  • NSHR (PAK) Radio (4 cassettes)- Document Box 1
  • Oblong
  • Ojo Con La Radio
  • Organic Mortality Intensified
  • Our Television World
  • Outpatients
  • PAIN CLINIC~my dog's name is spot
  • Palocsay~Artifact
  • Palocsay~de Dance
  • Palocsay~Hyper Thrust
  • Palocsay~Yankee Doodle had a bomb!
  • Pandora's Lunchbox
  • Paragate by Tim Risher
  • Patio Amnesty- Document Box 2
  • Patrick McKinnon~reads from his book Cherry Ferris Wheels
  • Patrick T
  • Box 10:
  • Paul Dickinson~Let's Talk Sleep, February 1987
  • Paul Harvey Oswald
  • Penny Peepshow Meets Nick
  • Pete and Ray
  • Pete Best's Revenge
  • Peter on Melbourne Radio
  • Peter Stenshoel~Codex from the Trickster
  • Peter Stenshoel~Meant for Mentors
  • Peter Stenshoel~Strangely Colored Map (2 Cassettes)- Document Box 2
  • Petrisko~Lampshade
  • Phillipe Bill‚
  • Phinney Jackson McGee~Ditch
  • Phinney/McGee~Skull
  • Phonon
  • Phouda-Ghauda~Genes
  • Planet of Love
  • Plastic Eye Miracle
  • Plastic Eye Miracle~Robot Beatnick
  • Platzangst
  • Platzangst and Negativland
  • Platzangst~Buttfinger
  • PlatzAngst~How to Write Songs
  • Platzangst~moreevul pleez
  • Platzangst~Nowhere to Go
  • PMS: How to Cope
  • Poets.Painters.Composers.No.4
  • Polkinhorn~Blues for Cecilia
  • Polkinhorn~Ergo Sonex Sum
  • Power in the House
  • Pregnant with Boyd Rice's Baby
  • Propagation disturbace prop
  • Propagation dusturbance propa
  • Proper Yearning
  • Prose in Cannes~a bold calm embalming
  • Psychoacoustics
  • Qwa Digs Never parish~Discratch-Temporary Itch
  • Box 11:
  • Radio Static or Phono Static~Tim Risher
  • Radio~Your Host
  • Ran of Nar
  • Randy Leago~reckless life at home
  • A Ratio of Autographs
  • Rea Nikonova~Locomotive; Poems for France; Poems for the world; for Japan, Italy, Russia, Germany, America
  • REAL LIFE~Lark Lane, Liverpool
  • REAL-LIFE~Michael Horwood@amusement parks
  • Reed Altremus
  • Relentless~Uninhibited
  • The Relic Series #1
  • RETROFUTURIST'S Real Life Entries
  • Rik Rue~Bend an Ear
  • Risher
  • Roadkill~Guitar Vomit
  • Roadkill~Real Life
  • Rocket Roll
  • ROIR~Trouser Press Presents the Best of America Underground
  • Ron Lessard~Messages from Maggie
  • the rotting cadaver~Exciting Love/How to Love
  • RWA: No Master
  • RWA: Woman
  • Rudolv Eb.Er (C-46/C-0)- Document Box 2
  • Sample Malok
  • Scorched Ear Policy
  • Scott Burland~Retrofuturist's Real Life
  • Scrap(e)
  • Scrape 2
  • Screamin Popeyes~Ah, Squid
  • The Sedition Commission
  • sensuelle
  • Severed Heads~Saturday Night/John Cage~Cartridge Music/Son Hassell and Brian Eno~Chemistry
  • Shannon Frach
  • Shove~John Eberly
  • Shrinkwrap~A Test in Patience
  • Shrinkwrap~Propaganda
  • The Siberian Tigers~Stereo Sculpture for 2 Tape players- Document Box 2
  • Box 12:
  • Silent Tongues~Deep Ends
  • Smithin Fry~R.Real Life
  • Social Interiors
  • Son of Spam
  • Sonique Suisse
  • SOSDADA~Electric Dada
  • Soundimage UK
  • Spagyric
  • Spho58~Crawling with Tarts/New Caldonia- Document Box 2
  • "The Stationary Diesel and the Memory Card Writer...Together Again!"
  • Stephen Buchanan~Improvisations for Classical Guitar
  • Stuttering~First Thi Space
  • Submission~Berndt
  • Submission~Jake Berry
  • Sumotuwe
  • Suzanna Mast~a misty night in northern Indiana
  • SWA-Suburban Wilderness Aural
  • Swamp Worm
  • Taproot
  • Taproot
  • Technostics~cued up to 1st piece
  • Teen Lesbians and Animals~Super-Infections
  • Tellus, The Audio Cassette Magazine #21
  • Tellus~The Audio Cassette Magazine #20
  • Tentatively a Convenience
  • Tentatively a Convenience
  • Teraco Opera 3
  • Text/Sound Collaborations
  • that chemical plant~video vic!
  • They Call Me Bwana~If, Bwana
  • Toys Makes Noise~All of a Sudden, Boom! No More Animals!
  • Transmission~Impossible
  • Transylvania
  • Tray Full of Lab Mice and Melissa and Matt Jasper
  • Box 13:
  • trondant shaman~doppelgänger
  • TRYST 5- Document Box 2
  • UB Radid Netwerk with Dr. Welward Hazer
  • Uh Oh, Dad's Home
  • Ulterior Lux~In the Middle of Intersections
  • Uncle Fester's Feast of Treason
  • Under Current
  • Undercurrent
  • UnReady Made
  • The Unseen Collection~Variant Audio Tape
  • Upside Down Well
  • Usward~Doorway of the Deep
  • Utilities
  • Van Den Broucke
  • Viall
  • Vinnie and the Stardusters~The Baroque Wind Session
  • Violence and the Sacred~no be many maybe
  • The Violins
  • Vircomm Sampler Tape- Document Box 2
  • The Vivisection~Live at Nightbreak
  • Voices
  • Voices New and Old (2 cop)
  • Void of Course
  • Weather Nouveau~The Celebrated Return of Kathy Boudin
  • Weather Nouveau~The Celebrated Return of Kathy Boudin
  • Which Way to What
  • Who's Margaret Freeman
  • The Wild Ones and Fluxus
  • A Wifflefist Compilation- Document Box 2
  • Winkler
  • Winklers Stuff
  • The Wisconsin Conservatory of Noise~Laughter
  • wondolowski/berndt/eliot~readings from nether lips
  • Work by Satre Stuelke
  • Wuwa~Little Plastic Box #1
  • Wuwa~Little Plastic Box #2
  • Wuwa~Little Plastic Box #3
  • XTSW~Tunnel
  • XY Zedd~ABC
  • Box 14:
  • XYZEDD~Art
  • XY Zedd~Big Noise89
  • XY Zedd~Deaf and Dumb
  • XY Zedd~a loud noise is not music
  • XY Zedd~Nineteen-Ninety
  • XYZedd~Rush Job 1991
  • XY Zedd~Sound Studies
  • XYZ (Edd)~Tape Experiments
  • XY Zedd~Third of a Trilogy
  • XY Zedd~a loud noise is not music
  • XY Zedd~X-Men/Wallpaper Music
  • XY Zedd~XYZXYXZYXZY(EP for EP)
  • XY Zedd2~What is the use…
  • Ybrigor Moss
  • Yummy Yummy~From an interview with J.Oswald
  • Zano
  • Zoom Black Magic Radio-- David Perkins (?)
  • ZXQ~Studios
  • Jack Foley: Poems Read at Larry Blake's/Jack Foley: Poetry (n.d.)
  • Meet Lieutenant Murnau
  • Box 15:
  • PhonoStatic #22 "World News Cassette" (March 1987
  • PhonoStatic Re-Issue #7 "Audio Anxiety" (October 1987)
  • PhonoStatic #8 "Concatenations" (June 1988)
  • PhonoStatic #9 "Concurrencies" (December 1988)
  • PhonoStatic #10 "Audio Collage" (July 1989)
  • PhonoStatic Magazine Addendum
  • PhonoStatic Re-Issue #1-3 (Re-issue, June 1987)
  • PhonoStatic #6 (June 1984)
  • PhonoStatic #9 "Audio Verite" (January 1985)
  • PhonoStatic #12 "Glossolalia" (August 1985)
  • PhonoStatic #16 "The Persistence of Hearing" (March 1986)
  • PhonoStatic #19 "Listener's Fatigue" (September 1986)
  • Box 16:
  • A View From Somewhere A collection of Alternative Works by Independent Toronto Area Musicians
  • Art Strike or UnPop Lloyd Dunn
  • Bericat, Pedro Musica Camara Para 100 Transistores
  • Bericat, Pedro Movimiento A - Dante
  • Cinema for the Ear Pacific Film Archive Audio Art by Film and Video Artists Sound Culture 96
  • Claeric Red F Nobody to Blame but Themselves
  • Crosby Bendix Copyright Musings
  • Escape Mechanism Box of Blue Paperclips
  • Escape Mechanism Box Elf Song
  • Electricity Compilation
  • Escupemetralla Burros de Dios Asses of God 
  • Escupemetralla Multimierda
  • Escupemetralla Sublimado Corrosivo 
  • Escupemetralla Vida Y Color 
  • Everybody Love the Cello Collision Cassettes
  • Fixed Fragments Collision Cassettes
  • Fleeing Villagers Run from Themselves Collision Cassettes
  • Gaburo, Kenneth Enough! Not Enough
  • Hise, Steev Detritus
  • Hise, Steev This is an Attempt to Collect a Debt
  • Human Switchboard Coffee Break
  • Illusion of Safety Its a Dead Dog
  • Ieximal Jelimite Tratamientos Termicos
  • Ieximal Jelimite Newkage
  • Lonberg Holm, Fredrick 
  • Lonberg Holm, Fredrick 
  • Lonberg Holm, Fredrick Duets The First 12 days of 1989
  • Lonberg Holm, Fredrick Cello 
  • Musicworks 44 bpNICHOL and Bulgarian Music 
  • Oracular Editions 1 Spoken Word
  • People Like Us Lowest Common Dominator
  • Pierre Perret Gaia La Terre
  • Plagiarist Record Collection
  • Put Down your Pencil Hallwalls Audio Compilation
  • Box 17:
  • Racionamiento Colecion de Cupones
  • Sanctions Adopted
  • Somewhere in Europe Dark Days
  • Somewhere in Europe Know Your Enemy
  • Somewhere in Europe Liturgy of Anguish
  • Warning Electronic Music
  • Wet Gate The All Projector Orchestra
  • Wobbly Media Joke
  • Wobbly Strain
  • Yearwood, Kathleen In Much Wisdom is Much Grief 
  • Yearwood, Kathleen Dirty Little War
  • Yearwood, Kathleen Songs and Other Stories for the Semi Circular Canal
  • Series of Mystery Tapes and Labratory Collection by John Oswald:
  • Alto Sax
  • Dab
  • Dubin, Larry 
  • Guitars
  • Kissing Jesus in the Dark
  • LX Version 2
  • Plunderphonic Plexure
  • Sampler
  • Salmonose
  • Spoors
  • Test Tape
  • Mystery Lab Submissions
  • MX Version 1.3
  • X1 Version 2
  • X5 Version 3.1
  • Pierre Pieret Terra
  • Box 18:
  • Lloyd Dunn's Radio Static Tape Series Masters and Documents of Tape Contents:
  • Numbers 1-6, 8-106.
  • Note 1: These tapes were on the original list but could not be located when sorted and ordered
  • - Bambix~about little green dogs and big brown bears
  • - Crag Hill~Poem for the Art Strike
  • - Hybrids~Mythical Music from the 20th Century
  • - Weather Nouveau~The Celebrated Return of Cathy Boudin
  • - Zan Hoffman~Agog
  • Note 2: These tapes were not on the original list but were with the rest of the cassettes
  • - Dream Machine
  • - Mark Dery - In Mute Nostril Agony
  • Series 2: COMPACT DISCS
  • Box 1:
  • 1,000 Licks Naked Rabbit
  • The Apes of God Solitaire You Own the World
  • Belief System Possible Music for Television
  • Big Cetea Ork s Tra Sound Effects Library Volume 3 
  • The Bran Flakes Hey, Won't Somebody Come and Play?
  • The Bran Flakes I don't have a Friend
  • Cassiber A Face We All Know
  • Music from the Ivory Tower and Elsewhere
  • Costes Les Oxyures
  • Crawling with Tarts Mayen's Throw
  • Crawling with Tarts I am Telephoning a Star
  • Crawling with Tarts Operas 3 and 4
  • Din Fantastic PLanet
  • The Droplift Project
  • Drum Drum
  • Electro-Acoustic Music (Musique Concrete)
  • Escape Mechanism
  • l'espair Erre Que Err
  • Evolution Control Committee Double the Phat and Still Tasteless
  • Five Jerks with a Tape Deck Unsafe at Any Speed
  • Grav PGR Merzbow Asmus Tietchens
  • Gillis, Ann Rementact
  • Godess Deconstructed
  • Hise, Steev Original
  • Home, Stewart Cyber Sadism Live
  • Home, Stewart Dolphins Live
  • Incursions in Illbient
  • Kluster Klopfzeichen
  • Interferer Echanger Modifier Das Synthetische Mischgewebe
  • Lieutenant Caramel Et Sonner Les Coucous
  • Box 2:
  • Lieutenant Murnau Le Forbici di Manita Play and Remix
  • Manifestation V 
  • Manifestation Volume VI Compilation
  • Moebius Roedelius Appopos Cluster
  • Music Works Compilation
  • Muslim Lauze Narcotic 
  • Negativland Crosley Bendix Radio Reviews Over the Edge Volume 5
  • Negativland These Guys are from England
  • Negativland Time Zones Exchange Project Over the Edge Volume 7 Two Disc Set
  • Producers For Bob Bob's Media Ecology 2
  • Part Like it's Only 19.99 Evolution Controlled Creations
  • People Like Us Beware the Whim Reaper
  • People Like Us I hate People Like You
  • People Like Us Meet the Jet Black Hair People in Concert
  • People Like Us Thermos explorer
  • S.A.R. 7 Tracks
  • SCW God Family Country
  • Shore, Susan Book of Days
  • Sonic Circuits IV
  • Sound Unseen An Underground Film and Music Festival
  • Steinski and Mass Media It's Up to You
  • Technological Retreat Radio Mixes Vol 2 rimes of the Ancient Mix-Master
  • Tereault-Lussier-Cote Des Pas et des Mois
  • Theory of Motion Fredrick Lonberg-Holm
  • Video Games of the Twelfth Century Compilation
  • What Balcony Radio Broadcasts 1985 1991
  • Wilen, Barney Moshi
  • Wobbly Media Joke v.6
  • Wobbly Greetings General Injectables and Signal, Inc.
  • Toy War Lullabies
  • Series 3: MIXED MEDIA
  • Box 1:
  • BIG CITY OPXHESTPA~No NOISE PEDUTION
  • Bruxist~Temorage
  • Emil Beaulieau~Anti-Performance
  • Fragment~Zan Hoffman/Agog
  • Going Gaga~the Poison is in the Dosage
  • Happy Tape Compilation
  • Hybryds~Mythical Music from the 21th Century
  • MaLLife 20/21
  • NSHR (PAK) Radio (4 cassettes)
  • The New Testament in Today's English Version of the Word (Revised) - John Heck (February 1987)
  • Box 2:
  • Patio Amnesty
  • Peter Stenshoel~Strangely Colored Map (2 Cassettes)
  • PhotoStatic Broadsides #1, #7- 15
  • PhotoStatic Images, various
  • PhotoStatic Postcards (series of 13) 
  • Rudolv Eb.Er (C-46/C-0)
  • The Siberian Tigers~Stereo Sculpture for 2 Tape players
  • Singing Horse Press
  • 66I99: Iconographics by Lloyd Dunn [Bomb Shelter, Temple, AZ] (1987) 
  • Spho58~Crawling with Tarts/New Caldonia
  • TRYST 5
  • Tuyau (Quotidien) "Aura" [2 copies - 1 blue, 1 yellow]   (February 1987)
  • Vircomm Sampler Tape
  • A Wifflefist Compilation
  • Box 3:
  • Pamphlets (All in Mixed Media Box 3)
  • Artware: Kata 4, Sommer 1989
  • Jacksonian March: An Anthology of Invisible Local(e)s
  • Kwashiorkor: We are Numberless
  • Level 13: The Devil Himself
  • Official Business
  • Power in the House: A Music/Visual Arts Compilation (cassette missing)
  • Vinyl recordings: (All in Mixed Media Box 3)
  • (Unnamed, Untitled 45)
  • Babyland: Mask/Logan's Run/Motor.Too.Appliance./Mindfuck
  • Beequeen: Nouen
  • Crayon: matchbox/another king of the world/green stamp
  • Crayon: moominland e.p.
  • High Risk Group: Daddy Rolex
  • little one: barmaid ofearthly delights/pickup
  • Mecca Normal: Orange
  • Octahedron: Mythical Music from the 21th Century
  • P. Children: P.CH2-A45
  • Pop Smear: Angel Talk/GottaGo
  • Psyclones: Electric Tone/Like You
  • Scarlet Drops: dogma-self
  • Scarlet Drops: Sweet Happiness/I See You
  • Sudden Infant
  • The Depo-Provera EP
  • The Magnetic Fields: 100,000 Fireflies/Old Orchard Beach
  • The New Wind: Truth?
  • Vehikel & Gef„ss (&Ventilator)
  • Wimp Factor 14: Train Song/I'll Send You a Postcard
  • Evolution Control Committee the Whipped Cream Mixes
  • Sound of Lamination Egnekn
  • 5 x 5 floppy disk
  • Evolution Control Committee. Quick Before its Banned
  • At the end of Mixed Media Box 3 is a stapled list of "Submissions to "Retrofuturism Real Life Cassette Compilation" Project, 9/27/91". Many of the tapes found in the collection are listed.
  • Series 4: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 1: Items by Jean Francois Robic
  • Boulevard Maritimes 
  • C'est la Faute Aux Copies Parutions 1993 (Publication Index)
  • C'est la Faute Aux Copies Catalogue 1986-2000
  • C'est la Faute Aux Copies Number 59 Dremmwelmetradur
  • C'est la Faute Aux Copies Number 83 Supplement au Voyage en Egypte
  • C'est la Faute Aux Copies Number 113 Brouilla
  • Des Pelles et des Seaux
  • Esthetique 4 Cosmetique
  • Esthetique 5 Mythologique
  • Esthetique 6 La Verite
  • La S(r)aloperie. (In Oversized Box 1)
  • Les Guides Noirs Pour un Tourisme Radical Number Tas Numero Didier Guth
  • Les Guides Noirs Pour un Tourisme Radical Number 1. Konzentrationlager Natzweiler-Struthof
  • Les Guides Noirs Pour un Tourisme Radical Number 2. Crash Airbus A320 Mt. Ste-Odile
  • Les Guides Noirs Pour un Tourisme Radical Number 6. Strassburg Universistatsfeier 1942
  • Les Guides Noirs Pour un Tourisme Radical Number 5. Le Voyage de Monsiuer Xiaodong
  • Les Guides Noirs Pour un Tourisme Radical Number 7. Les Bancs de Richmond Hill
  • Les Guides Noirs Pour un Tourisme Radical Number 8. Les Rues de Londres
  • Les Guides Noirs Pour un Tourisme Radical Number 9. Grusse aus Dresden
  • Les Guides Noirs Pour un Tourisme Radical Number 10. Charleville, mais heir
  • Les Guides Noirs Pour un Tourisme Radical Number 12. Champ-de-foire-aux Boissons
  • Les Guides Noirs Pour un Tourisme Radical Number 13. Ostende: Ensor, les Oiseaux
  • Les Guides Noirs Pour un Tourisme Radical Number 14. Reliquaires en Crete
  • Les Guides Noirs Pour un Tourisme Radical Number 15. Rouen, aux Charbons, presqu'ile Rollet
  • L'une la Projection Constitue l'oeuvre
  • Nil et ses Chiens
  • Sounding Off! Music as Subversion Resistance Revolution. Edited by Ron Sakolsky and Fred Wie-Han Ho. (With CD)
  • Series 5: PHOTOSTATIC MAGAZINE
  • Box 1:
  • Folder 1 - Reissues Number 1 through 9:
  • More Possibilities Number 1.7
  • Dyslexic Anniversary Revisited Number 2.10
  • ReCircular Seeing Number 3.14
  • Random reIssue Number 4.17 
  • Degeneration Revisted Number 5 and 6
  • The Pencil of Nature Number 7 and 8
  • Reissue of Number 9
  • Folder 2 - Numbers 10 through 19.5:
  • Experimental Texts Number 10
  • The Hum of Modern Civilization in Action Number 11
  • Psychoanalysis Issue Number 12
  • Number 13
  • Persistence of Vision Number 14
  • Persistence of Vision Number 14.5
  • Persistence of Memory Number 15
  • Persistence of the Persistence of Vision Number 16
  • Enlarged to Show Text Number 17
  • The Procedure by Bob Gregory Number 17-1
  • Compartmentalized Number 18
  • The Work of Art in the Age of Mechanical Reproduction Number 19
  • 1913 Number 19.5
  • Folder 3 - Numbers 20 through 26:
  • Number 20
  • The Dan Rather Issue Number 21
  • The Talking Cure by Steve Harp Number 21.1
  • She had to Kill him she Wanted to Love Him! Number 21.2
  • DisEase Disease Number 22
  • Atollments by Guy R. Beining Number 22.1
  • Disinformation Number 23
  • Urbanality Number 24
  • Notice Networking Number 25 and 26
  • Folder 4 - Numbers 27 through 38:
  • Compensation Portraits Number 27
  • Test Patterns for the Human Mind Number 28
  • 10,000 Dreams by Bob Gregory Number 28.1
  • The Personality Painters Apprentice by Jesse Lee Kercheval 29.1
  • Retro Futurism Number 29
  • Unfinished Symphonies Number 30
  • Caderno Diario Disciplina A Visit to Portugal by Steve Harp Number 30.1
  • Plagiarism Number 31
  • Existentialism and the Illusion of Choice Number 32
  • Cultural Property Number 33
  • Wakest Aims? Kind Law and Zeal Floating Concrete Octopus 34.2
  • Warning Parts of this issue may be detourned Number 34
  • Repetition Breeds Number 35
  • Brief Eternities by Tom Hibbard Number 35.2
  • Add the Will to the Strength and it Equals Conviction Number 36
  • Number 37
  • Recycle It Smile Number 38
  • Series 6: VIDEOCASSETTES
  • Box 1:
  • 6 Selections for Videostatic from Tentatively a Convenience
  • The Antenna Project
  • Aquatics Ever Tarnish: the new york wedding and museum
  • The Artwork in the Age of its Mechanical Reproducibility by Walter Benjamin as told to Keith Sanborn
  • Bilboko Aste Nagusia 91: Beltzak
  • Condemek: Watch your Head
  • Destroy All Retinas by defective reality tube
  • Emaiezu Gogor: Ure Herria/Sure Herria
  • Emergency Broadcast Network: "Commercial Entertainment Product"
  • Gencon Productions: "On their Way"
  • Giungla D'Asfalto: Ruggero Maggi/"Urban Jungle"
  • London Electronic Arts: New British Video
  • Mail Art/Networking/Patchen
  • Majestic Turd Video
  • Box 2:
  • Majestic Turd Video
  • Making Pharaoh's Red Flag Video, Headshot, Maxell
  • ND11 Video Issue
  • "Portfolio" with Heidi Noriko and Guest Mel Andrinea at CSPS
  • The Revenge of Culture Drop and Culture Drop by Joe Schwind Who's He?
  • Selected Shorts by David Hynds
  • Show N'Tell Vol.1
  • Slow Burn
  • Snard Bombast
  • Things Constantly Moving Against Electric Current; Endemic Battle Collage; the mist/CLEAVE
  • Trang Tran; Godzilla March
  • Series 7: ZINES AND PERIODICALS
  • Box 1:
  • 2nd Bienal Internacional Electrografia y Copy Art Octubre 1988 Valencia (Two Copies, One in Colour)
  • A is for Me
  • Asemic 2 1 
  • Art Police Vol. 20 No. 3 
  • Art Police Vol. 19 No. 3 
  • Art Police Trading Cards
  • AR/280
  • artefakt#4
  • Beun Ment 
  • The Brain of the Nail Translations of Rene Char
  • Black Chip A Critical Journal of New Technology Issue 1
  • Blazin Auralities An Irregular Review of Spoken Word Recordings
  • Boing Boing The Brain Mutator for Higher Primates
  • Brazen Auralities Issue 3
  • Bypass Issue 2
  • Cactus Network Envelope contains Cactus Brief Issue 17, other associated material
  • Celluloid All Number 5 
  • Chaos: The Broadsheets of Ontological Anrchism
  • Comics Collages Patterns Grahphics by Ben Allen
  • Craphound Issue 3 A Picture Book for Discussion and Activity
  • Crisis of Representation Stephen-Paul Martin
  • Deep in Vague 22 Media SIckness More Contagious Than Aids
  • Der Heidenlarmer
  • Digital Artifact The Sound Manifesto for Knob-Rock and DJ Culture
  • Dreamtime Talkingmail Number Two 
  • Dreamtime Talkingmail Number Three
  • Dreamtime Talkingmail Number Four
  • Dreamtime Talkingmail Number Five
  • Dreamtime Talkingmail Number Six
  • Dreamtime Talkingmail Number Seven
  • EAR Magazine of New Music Volume 16, Number 1
  • Electric Shock Treatment Number 3
  • Enchanted Streets T. Hibbard
  • Exploding Mummy, why don't you make films for the cinema cafe
  • Extraphile Quarterly Journal of the 1st Extranational Georgetown Dining Guide
  • Extraphile Quarterly Journal of the 1st Extranational Chiefly feasts
  • Factsheet 5 Number 52
  • Factsheet 5 Number 53
  • Fatuous Times Issue 2
  • Fatuous Times Issue 3
  • Flyposter Frenzy
  • Fragments Number 1 Disintegration
  • Fragments Number 2 Power
  • Freedom of Expression Issue Number Four Crakpots, Kooks, and Weirdos
  • Girl Frenzy Issue 2
  • Girl Frenzy Issue 3
  • Here and Now Issue 12 Managerialism
  • ICA Naploja Number 27
  • Iron Feather Journal
  • Kaspahraster Eleven
  • Japan Travel Diary
  • JQ Smalls New Clock
  • Kapotte Muziek
  • KGB November/December 1994
  • Luther Blisset Numero Zero
  • Luther Blisset Uno and Due Lire 4000
  • Luther Blisset Rivista Mondiale Di Guerra Pschica Numerotre Inverno 85/96
  • Material Issue 4 Death Rattle Issue
  • Mouth Snake
  • MSRRT Newsletter Library Alternatives Volume 9 Number 4 5 
  • MSRRT Newsletter Library Alternatives Volume 11 Number 1
  • Muse 10th 10 Absolute Certainties of Form
  • Murder Can Be Fun Number 17
  • Musicworks 34 The Canadian Journal of Sound Exploration
  • Musicworks 60 The Journal of Sound Exploration
  • Negativland Fanboy Number 2 
  • Negativland Fanboy Number 3
  • Negativland Fanboy Number 4
  • Noospapers Seizing the Media Immediast Underground
  • Not Bored Appendix 
  • Not Bored Number 13 Volume 2
  • Not Bored Number 17
  • Not Bored Number 19
  • Not Bored Number 25
  • Not Bored Number 26
  • Not Bored Number 27
  • Numero 04
  • Numero 03
  • Obscure Publications Number 17
  • Obscure Publications Number 20
  • Obscure Publications Number 21
  • Obscure Publications Number 26
  • Open Magazine Pamphlet Series LA Was just the Beginning
  • Open Magazine Pamphlet Series Beyond Blade Runner Urban Control The Ecology of Fear
  • Open Magazine Pamphlet Series Culture Jamming
  • Open Magazine Pamphlet Series Media Control The Spectacular Achievements of Propaganda
  • Palimpsest 
  • Peak Listening Period
  • Principa Discordia or Catterpillar's Praise to the Butterfly Fifth Edition 00027
  • Promotional Copy
  • Proper Gander Issue 10
  • Proper Gander Issue 11
  • Punchline Static Elect Trickery Issue Number Thirteen
  • R
  • Read Number 5
  • Real Life Magazine 21 22
  • Reign of Toads Volume 2 Number 1
  • Reign of Toads Volume 3 Number 1
  • Reign of Toads Issue 4
  • Revue Corrigee Number 15
  • Skinny Magazine
  • Sound Choice for the Independent Minded Number 11
  • Sound Choice the Music Netoworking Magazine Number 14
  • Sound Unseen
  • Spiral
  • St. Johns Valley Times
  • Synergy Number 4
  • Box 2:
  • Tab to Block Bicuspid Volume 2 Number 2
  • Time Bomb Number 4
  • Theoryslut Number One
  • Twisted Times Magazine No. 15
  • UNI A4 Defile Elettrostatico 1 Trax 0785
  • UNI A4 13 Trax 1285
  • UNI A4 Daniele Sasson Trax 0786
  • UNI A4 Vittore Baroni Trax 0886
  • UNI A4 Glauco Di Sacco Trax 0986
  • UNI A4 Ricordando Man Ray Trax 1186
  • V2 Archive
  • Version 90 The Dub the Mix the Version
  • Version 90 Number 2 Death Static and Interference
  • Version 90 Number 3 NTangier to the Wounds of Christ
  • Vital Index for Issues 1 to 20
  • Vital US Number 3 
  • Vital Numbers 16-32 and Supplement to Issue 25
  • Underground Number 1 through 3
  • WEVL FM90 Program Guide
  • X Magazine Humor and or Music Number 9
  • X Magazine Humor and or Music Number 12
  • X Magazine Junk Culture Magpies Number 13
  • The Zen of Henry Number 2
  • Series 8: OVERSIZED BOX
  • Box 1:
  • Fenici
  • Geza, Perniczky. A Halo
  • Mail Art Manifest. April 1987

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Twentieth Century Avant-Garde Art
Alternative Traditions in the Contemporary Arts (ATCA)