Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the A. M. Fine Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1960-1991
Creator: Fine, A. M. (1932-1987)
Extent: 16.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0518
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Fluxus artist, composer, and poet. Artworks, personal items, poetry, essays, and music scores.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Boxes 13, 14; Film/Video in Box 10; Audio material in Boxes 6 and 10.

Access: This collection is open for research. Note: Donor has retained the copyright and the exclusive rights of reproduction, adaptation and distribution of the musical scores in Box 15.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The core of the A. M. Fine Collection was donated to the University of Iowa by Ida Fine in 1995. Two smaller donations were made by John Broderickin 1995 and William Rand in 1996.

Preferred Citation: A. M. Fine Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Albert M. Fine (1932 -- 1987) was born in Boston , Massachusetts. He graduated from Revere High School in 1949. In 1958 he earned a B.A. from the Julliard School of Music, and in 1960 he received his M.A. from the Julliard in orchestral conducting. In addition to being a composer, Fine was an artist and poet, whose compositions ranged from instrumental works to incidental music to off-Broadway theatre. Although perhaps most widely known within contemporary discourse for his Fluxus works and as a leading exponent of the Mail-art movement (in collaboration with the late Ray Johnson), Fine's cross-disciplinary activities also overlapped with the creative productions of his friends and colleagues Phillip Glass, John Cage, George Maciunas , and Allen Ginsberg. Alternative Traditions in the Contemporary Arts (a program of the Libraries in association with the Museum of Art and the School of Art & Art History) was chosen as the official repository for the artist's works and papers by the A. M. Fine estate.

The A. M. Fine Collection consists of 16 linear feet, one map case drawer, and two oversize boxes of original art works by Fine as well as Robert Janz and Ray Johnson, some of Fine's correspondence, personal items, poetry, essays, and twenty-six of his original music scores. This material's approximate datesrange from 1960 -- 1985.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Note books #1 -- 4 and #5 -- 8
  • B/W art works vol. 1 and 2
  • Box 2:
  • Poetry #1 and #2
  • Correspondence from Ray Johnson and Robert Janz
  • Box 3:
  • Math Theory
  • Binder 7
  • Box 4:
  • Complete music scores
  • Fine's color artwork
  • Box 5:
  • Ray Johnson correspondence
  • Miscellaneous printed matter owned by Fine
  • Box 6:
  • Music related materials
  • Record with Fine on clarinet
  • Box 7:
  • Fine's correspondence
  • Rubber stamps
  • Box 8:
  • Math Theory
  • Envelopes with assorted items
  • Box 9:
  • Correspondence from assorted artists, writers, composers, etc.
  • Box 10:
  • Cosmic Notices
  • Audio and visual recordings
  • Fine works
  • Master photocopies of Fine's correspondence and artworks
  • Box 11:
  • Poetry and writing
  • Box 12:
  • Personal effects
  • Box 13:
  • Personal effects
  • Box 14: Jewelry
  • 1 necklace (brown twine & lead weight) ( Broderick donation)
  • 2 clip-ons ( jewelry ) ( Broderick donation)
  • 2 wall hangings ( Broderick donation)
  • one with blue crayon
  • one with dark blue shoelaces and light brown spool with black interlaced laces
  • 2 clip-ons (alligator clip-on), 1970's
  • 2 bead necklaces
  • 1 necklace (doorstop), 1970's
  • Box 15: Original Music Scores by A. M. Fine (oversize)
  • "Billy the Kid" - n.d., 9 pages
  • "Dance Piece No. 2 for James Waring" - 1965, 46 pages
  • "Dance "Cadenza' for James Waring" - 1964, 22 pages
  • "Fantasia Fur Klavier" - 1966, 7 pages
  • "Fear no Forks" - 1965, 6 pages
  • "Hommage to the late Mr. I. Stravinsky" - n.d., 1 page (missing)
  • "Peblum" - 1965, 6 pages
  • "Piece for Deedee R." - n.d., 2 pages
  • "Play-Piece" (2 duplicate pages) - 1964, 2 pages
  • "Proceed and variety" - 1965, 12 pages
  • "Seconds" - 1964, 2 pages
  • "Simple Song for Eric" - 1965, 2 pages
  • "Solo For" - 1965, 7 pages
  • "Sonatinima" - 1964, 14 pages
  • "Song for Christopher" - 1965, 2 pages
  • "Song for George Brecht" - 1965, 2 pages
  • "Song for My Lover" - n.d., 8 pages
  • "Song for Ray J." - 1965, 4 pages
  • "Symphonic Sketch for Piano No. 1" - 1965, 3 pages
  • "Tango" - n.d., 6 pages
  • "The Name of this Piece is" - 1964, 3 pages
  • "Three Movements for Piano" - 1965, 7 pages
  • "tune and chorale" - 4 pages
  • Composition notebook, "Notes towards the integration of the Harmonic and Twelve tone 'systems.'" Dec. 3 -- 5, 1980
  • Two composition notebooks, "Happening A Symphonies," Books I & II, Longy School of Music, Cambridge , Massachusetts , 1965
  • Box 16: William Rand Donation (oversize)
  • 7 geometric drawings (Note: these pencil sketches have more purpose than apparent to the casual eye). Albert's insistence on fundamental practices regarding geometric division begin a deconstructive poetic narrative demonstrating a profound wit and sophistication.
  • 200 photocopies (Visual Poem) from the collection of Albert M. Fine Instructions: Albert would frame pages in those simple black frames from Woolworth's and an assortment of these pages can thus be hung on the wall in a grid, as many as you like.
  • One copy "Doorknobs" poem
  • 11 original visual poems
  • 23 photographs and contact sheet of A.M. Fine by Rand circa 1978
  • Artist statement by W. Rand and 1 flier for a Fine poetry reading and the following 4 photocopies of writings:
  • "The Tides of Spring" - 1985
  • "Confusion" - 1985
  • "Delirithisthique Vingtiarde" - 1984
  • The following works on the same sheet:
  • "Dimensional Diridactics" - 1985
  • "Exupery's Piscine" - 1985
  • "Her" - 1985
  • 9 additional envelopes with parts for #1 and #2
  • 1 drawing labeled "up, down, I can understand, but what is a volcanic plug"
  • Box 17: Works by A. M. Fine (Offsite Oversized ATCA Location)
  • Geodesic Globe (on steel branch installed on marble plinth) (This is Fine's last sculpture) The base was chosen by William Rand according to the artist's instructions. (Rand donation)
  • Rubber base to rod (Rand donation) (see Box 18)
  • Cymbal stand
  • Black Mountain era scroll, 1950's
  • Box 18: Works by A. M. Fine (Offsite Oversized ATCA Location)
  • Rod (made to lean on wall, probably designed for shadow studies) (Rand donation) (base in Box 17)
  • Movie theatre tickets glued onto blackboard, framed 10 x 10, 1965
  • 2 untitled works, no date
  • Sub-Series: Map Case
  • Mixed media collage-feminine imagery, 19"x 12", 1960's (this is very uncharacteristic of Fine's work. It is signed by Ida Fine as documentation)
  • 2 Poetry Reading posters, 8 1/2" x 11," 1966
  • Page One A Book About Life - no date
  • Untitled Drawing on poster board, no date, precursor to Page One A Book About Life
  • Page Two A Book About Life - no date
  • Page Two Page Three A Book About Life - 1966
  • An Unparallel Event - 1966
  • Tito's Day - no date
  • A Song for Everyday - 1964
  • Color drawing of traced objects, no date
  • Service spoon drawing, no date
  • Spoon Drawing, no date
  • Postcard Flower, no date
  • Ink drawing postcard, addressed to Miss E.R. Rosen, 1975
  • Ink drawing postcard, addressed to Mrs. I.R. Fine, 1978
  • Ink drawing on notecard, 1976
  • Cactus collage postcard, addressed to I.R. Fine, 1983
  • Skunk in hotel pool collage postcard, addressed to I.R. Fine, 1969

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Twentieth Century Avant-Garde Art
Alternative Traditions in the Contemporary Arts (ATCA)