Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the John Towner Frederick Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1908-1975
Creator: Frederick, John Towner (1893-1975)
Extent: 27.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0513
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: English professor, Iowa author, and founder and editor of The Midland. Correspondence, subject files, business records for The Midland, lectures, and preliminary drafts of writings, etc.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 34.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by his son, James O. Frederick, in March 1988.

Preferred Citation: John Towner Frederick Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

John Towner Frederick (1893-1975) was born in Corning, Iowa. He graduated from the University of Iowa in 1915 and received his M.A. two years later. Frederick was the founder and editor of The Midland, a magazine devoted to regional literature. Published from 1915-1933 it was highly respected. H.L. Mencken once called The Midland the most important literary magazine in America.

In 1921, Frederick joined the faculty in the department of English at Iowa. He stayed there until 1930, with the exception of one year spent teaching at the University of Pittsburgh. Frederick then began dividing his time between Northwestern University and the University of Notre Dame. In addition to teaching at these two institutions, from 1937-1940 he was the regional director of the WPA Writers' Project. In 1945, he left Northwestern to become a full-time faculty member at Notre Dame. He was appointed chairman of the English department and held this post until his retirement in 1962. After retiring Frederick returned to the University of Iowa as a visiting professor, where in 1973 he was named a Distinguished Alumni.

John T. Frederick authored novels, including Druida (1923) and Green Bush (1925), four college textbooks and numerous poems, articles, and short stories and criticism. Yet, he will always best be remembered for The Midland.

The John T. Frederick papers consist of fifty-four boxes of documents dating from 1908 -- 1975. Arranged chronologically within an alphabetical sequence are subject files containing such material as diaries, research notes, lectures, speeches, articles, etc. There are numerous boxes of correspondence which include letters from: H.L. Mencken, Thomas Mann, Edward J. O'Brien, Ruth Suckow, Marquis W. Childs, James Hearst, Wallace Stegner, Robert Nathan, Arna Bontemps, Paul Corey, Leo R. Ward, Savoie Lottinville, William J. Petersen, John C. Gerber, Leedice Kissane, Mildred Wedel, Howard R. Bowen, Julie McDonald, Dow Mossman, Sargent Bush, O. M. Brack, Iduna Bertel Field, and others. Manuscript material, such as early drafts and galley proofs from many of his books, including Druida, Green Bush, and A Handbook for Short Story Writing, helps document his writing career. There is also a nearly complete run of The Midland.

Series 25 and 26 are indicies to the collection. Series 26, specifically the index to the correspondence in the papers of John Towner Frederick, uses the following key: box numbers = 1, number of folder = (1).
The Milton Monroe Reigelman papers on the Midland: MsC0329

See also the papers of William and Karlton Kelm for correspondence: MsC0637

Browse by Series:
Series 1: LETTER A
Series 2: LETTER B
Series 3: LETTER C
Series 4: LETTER D
Series 5: LETTER E
Series 6: LETTER F
Series 7: LETTER G
Series 8: LETTER H
Series 9: LETTER I
Series 10: LETTER J
Series 11: LETTER K
Series 12: LETTER L
Series 13: LETTER M
Series 14: LETTER N
Series 15: LETTER O
Series 16: LETTER P
Series 17: LETTER Q
Series 18: LETTER R
Series 19: LETTER S
Series 20: LETTER T
Series 21: LETTER U
Series 22: LETTER V
Series 23: LETTER W
Series 24: THE MIDLAND
Series 25: INDEX TO THE GENERAL CORRESPONDENCE FOLDERS
Series 26: INDEX OF CORRESPONDENTS IN THE PAPERS OF JOHN TOWNER FREDERICK

  • Series 1: LETTER A
  • Box 1:
  • Adams County Union-Republican newspaper clippings. Poultry Department, by J.T. Frederick (June 24-September 9) - 1908
  • Advanced course in literature [Assignment: 3, n.p.] (n.d.)
  • Advanced short story writing. Transcribed lecture notes, March-May [Northwestern University] - 1937
  • Adventures in Fiction
  • Early typescript carbon with corrections [Originally titled: Enjoyment of Fiction]
  • Typescript with correspondence
  • Partial typescript with corrections and revisions [Titled: Intoduction to Reading of Fiction]
  • Miscellaneous typescript pages with corrections and revisions
  • Alcona, Michigan Schools [Printed materials, clippings, etc.] - 1954-1957
  • Alfred A. Knopf, Inc. Correspondence, including letters from Alfred A. Knopf - 1922-1937
  • Alumni honors at the State University of Iowa - 1947
  • American Authors. Notes (n.d.)
  • American Culture. Notes (n.d.)
  • American history novels. Recommended list (n.d.)
  • American Literary Nationalism: A Process of Definition [typescripts and notes of an article] - 1825-1850
  • American Literature, an Anthology and Critical Survey, correspondence
  • Box 2:
  • American Literature, an Anthology and Critical Survey. Correspondence, including letters from Frank Luther Mott - 1944
  • American Literature, an Anthology and Critical Survey. Correspondence, including letters from Frank Luther Mott - 1945
  • American Literature, an Anthology and Critical Survey. Correspondence, including letters from Frank Luther Mott - 1946
  • American Literature, an Anthology and Critical Survey. Correspondence, including letters from Frank Luther Mott - 1947
  • American Literature, an Anthology and Critical Survey. Correspondence, including letters from Frank Luther Mott - 1948
  • American Literature, an Anthology and Critical Survey. Correspondence, including letters from Frank Luther Mott, n.d.
  • American Literature, an Anthology and Critical Survey. Correspondence regarding permission to publish works
  • American Literature, an Anthology and Critical Survey. Correspondence, including letters from Edgar Lee Masters, John Dos Passos, and George Ade - 1941-1945
  • American Literature, an Anthology and Critical Survey. Correspondence, including letters from Sinclair Lewis and John Hersey - 1946-1948
  • Box 3:
  • American Literature, an Anthology and Critical Survey. Notes, outlines, contents pages, etc.
  • American Literature, an Anthology and Critical Survey. Contract with Scribners - 1944
  • American Literature, an Anthology and Critical Survey [publicity]
  • American literature courses taught at the University of Iowa [book lists, lecture notes, grade reports] - 1966-1967
  • American Testament. Incomplete early typescript
  • American Testament. Incomplete typescript draft [1 of 2]
  • American Testament. Incomplete typescript draft [2 of 2]
  • American Testament. Miscellaneous typescript pages with corrections and revisions
  • Anderson, Sherwood. Correspondence and notes relating to a proposed project involving Anderson, A New Testament - 1967
  • Andrews, Clarence A. Man of the Midland [article in The Iowan] - 1971
  • Ansley, C. F. Correspondence - 1914-1933
  • Anticipation and Achievement in Faulkner Soldier Pay. Typescripts of an article, with corrections
  • April Night. Typescript of a play, with corrections and revisions
  • Series 2: LETTER B
  • Box 3:
  • Back Pay. Typescript of a short story, including a letter from H. L. Mencken
  • Box 4:
  • Biographical material about J. T. Frederick, including obituaries
  • Black River. Synopsis of a novel
  • The Blind Man. Two typescripts of a short story with corrections and additions
  • The Blue Bull. Holograph outline and notes for a novel
  • Bluff Street and Bessemer. Holograph outline and notes for a novel
  • Biographical outlines of German authors (n.d.)
  • Book publicity for various publications by Frederick
  • Book purchases [Including correspondence, receipts] - 1957-1964
  • Books sold or donated to various libraries (n.d.)
  • Brooks, Paul. Correspondence - 1943
  • Bryson, Lyman. Correspondence, including a letter from Thomas Mann - 1940-1944
  • Series 3: LETTER C
  • Box 4:
  • Cather, Willa. Notes by Frederick (n.d.)
  • The Catholic Book Reporter [Correspondence with and an article by John T. Frederick] - 1961
  • Class assignments done by Frederick as a student at the State University of Iowa (n.d.)
  • Class evaluations done by Frederick students - 1968
  • Cline, Leonard. Three Poems for Mad Jacob [typescript]
  • Clippings and programs from speaking events, some not dated - 1916-1956
  • Cohn, Carl. Poetry
  • Collection of orations, themes, essays, and addresses by Frederick - 1911
  • Collection of poems To Mother by Frederick (May 20) - 1910
  • Comparative Zoology. Frederick class notes from the State University of Iowa (n.d.)
  • Composition survey compiled by Frederick (n.d.)
  • Box 5:
  • Contemporary Thought. Lectures given by Frederick - 1936-1937
  • Contracts between Frederick and various employers, publishers - 1923-1974
  • Contracts between The Midland and various writers, including Raymond Weeks, Walter J. Muilenburg, Frank Luther Mott, and Ruth Suckow - 1923
  • Cooper, Hoyt
  • Correspondence - 1911-1918
  • Poetry [holograph and typescript drafts]
  • Cooper, James Fenimore. Material relating to Cooper
  • Notes on Cooper [1 of 2]
  • Notes on Cooper [2 of 2]
  • Cooper and Native American Indians [Miscellaneous notes]
  • Cooper Eloquent Indians
  • Typescripts, notes and rough drafts of an article
  • Correspondence regarding the article - 1954-1956
  • Cooper Humor. Typescripts of an article with corrections
  • Copperhead material from Joe Skidmore [Photocopies]
  • Copyright registrations and renewals - 1946; 1961-1974
  • Box 6:
  • Correspondence, including letters from: C.F. Ansley, Edward J. O'Brien, Harriet Monroe, Frank Harris, Herbert Croly, Mahlon Leonard Fisher, Grace Partridge Smith, Alfred A. Knopf, Percival Hunt, Johnson Brigham, Hardin Craig, George F. Kay, Walter A. Jessup, Charles J. Finger, and Jay G. Sigmund - 1908-1924
  • Correspondence, including letters from: George Stout, Walter A. Jessup, W.C. Muilenburg, Bird T. Baldwin, Jay G. Sigmund, Ruth Suckow, Charles J. Finger, Carl E. Seashore, C.H. Weller, Hardin Craig, Vincent Starrett, Johnson Brigham, Edward J. O'Brien, and Edwin F. Piper - 1925-1926
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Percival Hunt, Marquis W. Childs, Clarence S. Darrow, Jay G. Sigmund, Baldwin Maxwell, Henry S. Canby, and Robert Morss Lovett - 1927-1929
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Percival Hunt, Howard M. Jones, Forrest B. Spaulding, T. Henry Foster, Thomas Mann, Harriet Monroe, Edward J. O'Brien, Glen Ward Dresbach, James T. Farrell, Marquis W. Childs, Harry Hansen, Norman Foerster, Clarence Darrow, and Roland White - 1930-1934
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Rudyard Kipling, Josephine Johnson, Edward J. O'Brien, and Wilbur L. Schramm - 1935-1936
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Wilbur L. Schramm, Donald Davidson, Carroll D. Coleman, Frank Luther Mott, C.F. Ansley, John Crowe Ransom, and John E. Briggs - 1937-1939
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Marquis W. Childs, August Derleth, H.L. Mencken, Frank Luther Mott, Donald Davidson, Wilbur L. Schramm, Ethel Blythe Penningroth, and Mary Ellen Chase - 1940-1941
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Norman Corwin, James T. Farrell, James Hearst, Ellen Glasgow, Wallace Stegner, Erskine Caldwell, Henry Miller, and Raymond Weeks - 1942
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Bennett A. Cerf, James Hearst, Robert Nathan, Ruth Suckow, Maxwell Perkins, Frank Luther Mott, and Harnett T. Kane - 1943
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Maxwell Perkins, John Selby, Arna Bontemps, J. Hyatt Downing, Paul Corey, Frank Luther Mott, and W. Stanley Hoole (January-June) - 1944
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Paul Corey, Arna Bontemps, Hudson Strode, Carl E. Seashore, Marquis W. Childs, Leo R. Ward, Jeannette Eyerly, Harnett T. Kane, and Frank Luther Mott (July-December) - 1944
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Paul Corey, Virgil M. Hancher, James Hearst, Savoie Lottinville, and Maxwell Struthers Burt (January-July) - 1945
  • Correspondence, including letters from: John Selby, W. Stanley Hoole, and Maxwell Struthers Burt (August-December) - 1945
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Forrest B. Spaulding, Stanley Pargellis, Arna Bontemps, Era Bell Thompson, Owen Dodson, Leo R. Ward, Frank Luther Mott, Lloyd Lewis, Jack Conroy, Clyde Tull, John Selby, Savoie Lottinville, and George T.W. Patrick (1946-1947) - 1946-1947
  • Box 8:
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Ross Santee, Owen Dodson, Frank Luther Mott, Philip D. Adler, Joseph Wood Krutch, and James Hearst - 1948-1949
  • Correspondence, including letters from Frank Luther Mott and Robert Fitzgerald - 1950-1953
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Frank Luther Mott, Hartzell Spence, Thomas B. Costain, Savoie Lottinville, Dorothy M. Johnson, Walter Muilenburg, and James Hearst - 1954-1955
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Frank Luther Mott, Savoie Lottinville, William J. Petersen, Hartzell Spence, Phil Stong, and Walter Muilenburg - 1956-1958
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Marshall A. Best, Savoie Lottinville, Theodore Hesburgh, and Leo R. Ward - 1959-1961
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Will J. Hayek, J. Frank Dobie, Harlan Hatcher, Theodore Hesburgh, and Leo R. Ward (January-August) - 1962
  • Box 9:
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Frank Luther Mott, John C. Gerber, Leedice Kissane, Carroll Coleman, and James Hearst (September-December) - 1962
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Frank Luther Mott, John C. Gerber, James Hearst, Virgil M. Hancher, Carroll Coleman, Leo R. Ward, Leedice Kissane, and Ferner Nuhn (January-May) - 1963
  • Correspondence, including a letter from Theodore M. Hesburgh (June-September) - 1963
  • Correspondence, including letters from Frank Luther Mott and Theodore M. Hesburgh (October-December) - 1963
  • Correspondence, including letters from James Hearst (January-March) - 1964
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Leon Edel, Frank Luther Mott, and Leedice Kissane (April-August) - 1964
  • Correspondence, including letters from: John C. Gerber, Mildred Wendel, Leedice Kissane, William J. Petersen, Leo R. Ward and James Hearst (September-December) - 1964
  • Box 10:
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Howard R. Bowen, Julie McDonald, James Hearst, Leo R. Ward, Carroll Coleman, Leedice Kissane, and John C. Gerber (January-June) - 1965
  • Correspondence, including letters from: James Hearst, Julie McDonald, John C. Gerber, Roy W. Meyer, Howard R. Bowen, William J. Petersen, and Dow Mossman (July-December) - 1965
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Julie McDonald, Howard R. Bowen, and William J. Petersen (January-May) - 1966
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Mildred Wedel, James Hearst, John C. Gerber, and Howard R. Bowen (June-December) - 1966
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Mildred Wedel, Donald R. Murphy, Henry Rago, Julie McDonald, and Philip G. Hubbard (January-June) - 1967
  • Correspondence, including letters from: John C. Gerber, Julie McDonald, and Lois Muehl (July-December) - 1967
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Louis B. Wright, John C. Gerber, Mildred Wedel, Julie McDonald, Loren C. Eiseley, Howard R. Bowen, and Sargent Bush (January-July) - 1968
  • Box 11:
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Sargent Bush, James Hearst, Julie McDonald, Mildred Wedel, and Lois Muehl (August-December) - 1968
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Evelyn Glick, John C. Gerber, William T. Stafford, Jerre Mangione, James Hearst, Sargent Bush, Julie McDonald, and Mildred Wedel (January-June) - 1969
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Julie McDonald, Sargent Bush, James Hearst, Dow Mossman, and Mildred Wedel (July-December) - 1969
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Marquis W. Childs, Julie McDonald, Loren Eiseley, O M Brack, Lois Muehl, William T. Stafford, James Hearst, Ferner Nuhn, and John C. Gerber (January-May) - 1970
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Clarence A. Andrews, Julie McDonald, Sargent Bush, and Dow Mossman (June-October) - 1970
  • Correspondence, including letters from: O M Brack, Lois Muehl, James Hearst, Sargent Bush, and Iduna Bertel Field (November-December) - 1970
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Julie McDonald, O M Brack, and Sargent Bush (January-March) - 1971
  • Box 12:
  • Correspondence, including letters from: O M Brack, Sargent Bush, Mildred Wedel, Julie McDonald, James Hearst, and Willard L. Boyd (April-June) - 1971
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Clarence A. Andrews, Loren Eiseley, Mildred Wedel, Norman Cousins, Sargent Bush, and Julie McDonald (July-September) - 1971
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Willard Archie, Philip Adler, Iduna Bertel Field, and Dow Mossman (October-December) - 1971
  • Correspondence, including letters from: John C. Gerber, Willard Archie, Dow Mossman, Leo R. Ward, James Hearst, Julie McDonald, and Iduna Bertel Field - 1972
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Jerre Mangione, Willard L. Boyd, James Hearst, Will J. Hayek, and William Lee Burton. - 1973-1974
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Iduna Bertel Field, James Hearst, Mildred Wedel, Julie McDonald (January-February 9) - 1975
  • Correspondence, including letters from: Iduna Bertel Field, Sargent Bush, Willard L. Boyd, Leo R. Ward, Delight Ansley, and Dow Mossman (February 10-December) - 1975
  • Box 13:
  • Undated correspondence A-L, including letters from: Clarence A. Andrews, O M Brack, Clarence Darrow, Jeannette Eyerly, John C. Gerber, James Hearst, Haniel Long, and Charles Finger
  • Undated correspondence M-Z, including letters from: Julie McDonald, H.L. Mencken, Henry Miller, Mary Britton Miller, Dow Mossman, Frank Luther Mott, Robert Nathan, Edward J. O'Brien, Ethel Blythe Penningroth, Ross Santee, Leo R. Ward, and Mildred Wedel
  • Correspondence, incomplete names [1 of 2]
  • Correspondence, incomplete names [2 of 2]
  • A Country Practive. Correspondence regarding publication - 1950-1951
  • A Country Practice. Early typescript with corrections and revisions
  • A Country Practice. Typescript carbon with corrections
  • Box 14:
  • A Country Practice. Typescript with corrections [1 of 2]
  • A Country Practice. Typescript with corrrections [2 of 2]
  • Typescript [1 of 2]
  • Typescript [2 of 2]
  • Miscellaneous typescript pages with corrections and revisions
  • Crawford, Sister Luke, S. P. James' Use of Distance in The Beast in the Jungle [Typescript]
  • Creative Writing Division of the Curriculum Commission - 1933
  • Criticism of literature, Frederick lecture notes - 1968
  • Series 4: LETTER D
  • Box 14:
  • The Darkened Sky. Miscellaneous holograph notes and outlines
  • The Darkened Sky. Early typescript draft with corrections and revisions
  • Box 15:
  • The Darkened Sky. Early typescript draft with corrections and revisions
  • The Darkened Sky. Incomplete draft with notes and revisions
  • The Darkened Sky. Typescript with editor revisions and printer notes [1 of 3]
  • The Darkened Sky. Typescript with editor revisions and printer notes [2 of 3]
  • The Darkened Sky. Typescript with editor revisions and printer notes [3 of 3]
  • The Darkened Sky. Typescripts of the introduction and chapter about Cooper along with reviews of the book - 1969-1970
  • The Darkened Sky. Correspondence, some undated - 1964-1969
  • Box 16:
  • The Darkened Sky. Correspondence and book reviews - 1969-1970
  • Deferred. Various typescripts of a short story along with correspondence
  • Diary/record book - 1971-1972
  • Dictionary of literary terms [carbon]
  • Dramatic Publishing Company. Study guides, including correspondence, contract, notes, and typescripts - 1968-1969
  • Druida. Correspondence, including a letter from Laurence C. Jones - 1921-1924
  • Druida. Holograph notes and incomplete typescript
  • Druida. Holograph of first draft
  • Druida. First typescript with revisions
  • Druida. Second typescript with corrections
  • Box 17:
  • Druida. Galley proofs with revisions
  • Druida. Newspaper clippings [1 of 2]
  • Druida. Newspaper clippings [2 of 2]
  • Druida.
  • Series 5: LETTER E
  • Box 17:
  • Early American Literature course taught by Frederick
  • Book list, syllabus, handouts
  • Notes [1 of 2]
  • Notes [2 of 2]
  • Early English Literature course taught by Frederick. Book list, syllabus, tests
  • Early Twentieth Century Authors, 1900-1930. Notes from course taught by Frederick
  • Box 18:
  • The Encantadas. Typescript of an article with corrections
  • English Ballads. Class notes taken by Frederick - 1914-1915
  • End of the Iron Age. Notes and outlines
  • End of the Iron Age. Detailed synopsis
  • End of the Iron Age. Incomplete early holograph drafts
  • End of the Iron Age. Incomplete early typescript draft with corrections and revisions
  • End of the Iron Age. Miscellaneous holograph and typescript pages, some with revisions
  • End of the Iron Age. Early typescript draft [originally titled: Millenium]
  • End of the Iron Age. Typescript with corrections and revisions
  • Box 19:
  • End of the Iron Age. Typescript carbon
  • Final typescript [1 of 2]
  • Final typescript [2 of 2]
  • Correspondence and comments - 1928-1929; 1970
  • English composition. Frederick notes and assignments done as a student at the State University of Iowa - 1912
  • English drama to Shakespeare. Frederick class notes taken as a student - 1914
  • English literature seminar. Frederick notes and class materials as a student
  • English Newsletter (May) - 1957
  • Eschatology of the Book of Job. Notes (n.d.)
  • Exams and assignments given by Frederick - 1934-1969
  • Expository Writing course notes
  • Series 6: LETTER F
  • Box 19:
  • Fairy Stories. Typescript with pen and watercolor illustrations
  • Faulkner, William. Notes and lecture material
  • Box 20:
  • Fellowships - 1962-1963
  • Fenimore Cooper and Catholicism. Correspondence, research, typescripts - 1965
  • The Fiction of W.H. Hudson. Incomplete typescript of an article
  • Fischer, Edward. The Attainments of a Country Gentleman. Notre Dame Magazine v. 13, n. 4 - 1984
  • Footnotes, a publication of the Notre Dame English department - 1959-1962
  • Forster, E. M. Notes and lecture outlines
  • Frattoni, Oreste. Cooper The Crater: Influences and Fortune
  • Frederick, John T. Patterns of Imagery in Chapter XLII of Henry James The Portrait of a Lady. Arizona Quarterly v.25, n. 2 - 1969
  • From the Plains and Other Poems. Typescript - 1919
  • Funeral visitation record, register from Frederick funeral - 1975
  • Series 7: LETTER G
  • Box 20:
  • The Gandercoop Pants. Typescript of a short story with notes
  • General literature course assignments, Numbers 5, 10, 11 and 13 [1 of 4]
  • General literature course assignments, Numbers 5, 10, 11 and 13 [2 of 4]
  • General literature course assignments, Numbers 5, 10, 11 and 13 [3 of 4]
  • General literature course assignments, Numbers 5, 10, 11 and 13 [4 of 4]
  • General study of birds
  • German research. Notes and readings done by Frederick as a student - 1914
  • The Golden Page. Radio broadcasts, including correspondence and program transcripts - 1942
  • Grades from a literature class taught by Frederick
  • The Greatest Problems of English Departments Today [speech]. Typescript and published version - 1962
  • Green Bush. Notes
  • Green Bush. Early holograph outline
  • Box 21:
  • Green Bush. Holograph draft with working outline [1 of 2]
  • Green Bush. Holograph draft with working outline [2 of 2]
  • Green Bush. Second draft with revisions [1 of 3]
  • Green Bush. Second draft with revisions [1 of 3]
  • Green Bush. Second draft with revisions [1 of 3]
  • Green Bush. Typescript draft with corrections and revisions [1 of 2]
  • Box 22:
  • Green Bush. Typescript draft with corrections and revisions [2 of 2]
  • Green Bush. Typescript draft with corrections [1 of 2]
  • Green Bush. Typescript draft with corrections [2 of 2]
  • Green Bush. Typescript draft with corrections for the English edition [1 of 2]
  • Green Bush. Typescript draft with corrections for the English edition [2 of 2]
  • Green Bush. Galley proofs with editor revisions
  • Green Bush. Page proofs with editor revisions
  • Box 23:
  • Green Bush. Page proofs [1 of 2]
  • Green Bush. Page proofs [2 of 2]
  • Green Bush. Correspondence regarding publication, including letters from Alfred A. Knopf and Haniel Long - 1924-1925
  • Green Bush. Correspondence praising the book, including a letter from Walter Jessup - 1925
  • Green Bush. Newspaper clippings
  • Series 8: LETTER H
  • Box 23:
  • A Handbook of Short Story Writing
  • Notes
  • First typescript draft with additions
  • Typescript draft with corrections and revisions
  • Typescript draft with additions and corrections [carbon]
  • Typescript draft
  • Galley proofs with revisions
  • Page proofs
  • Harcourt, Brace and World, Inc. Correspondence - 1961-1962
  • Box 24:
  • Harcourt, Brace and World, Inc. Correspondence (August-April) - 1962-1963
  • Harcourt, Brace and World, Inc. Correspondence - 1963-1967
  • Harcourt, Brace and World, Inc. Miscellaneous
  • Hawthorne, Nathaniel. Material relating to Hawthorne
  • Hawthorne, Nathaniel. Ideas for articles
  • Hawthorne, Nathaniel. Notes [1 of 2]
  • Hawthorne, Nathaniel. Notes [2 of 2]
  • Hawthorne and the Workhouse Baby, various typescripts of an article with miscellaneous pages
  • Hawthorne Scribbling Women, typescript of an article with correspondence - 1975
  • Hearst, James. Correspondence (some undated) - 1925-1962
  • High school American literature anthology material [1 of 2]
  • Box 25:
  • High school American literature anthology material [2 of 2]
  • History of English literature. Frederick own class notes and criticisms taken as a student at the State University of Iowa - 1914-1915
  • Hornback, Bert, correspondence - 1966-1968
  • Hometown Girl, typescript [1 of 2]
  • Hometown Girl, typescript [2 of 2]
  • Howells, William Dean. Notes [1 of 2]
  • Howells, William Dean. Notes [2 of 2]
  • Box 26:
  • Howells, William Dean. Notes
  • Howells, William Dean. Notes and draft of an article
  • Hunter Dream, incomplete typescript of a short story
  • Series 9: LETTER I
  • Box 26:
  • Ideas for articles
  • Improving reading ability. Outline, notes, and typescript draft for a proposed book
  • In Colors of Flame. Drafts of a short story.
  • Integral Society. Two lectures given for the department of contemporary thought at Northwestern University - 1937
  • Invitation to Learning [CBS broadcast] - 1944
  • Iowa author list
  • Iowa in Autobiography. Typescript of an article with notes
  • Itinerary for various trips
  • I've Been Reading
  • Clippings from the Chicago Sun Book Week - 1942-1944
  • Clippings from the Chicago Sun Book Week - 1945-1946
  • Clippings from the Chicago Sun Book Week, some undated - 1946-1947
  • Typescripts for articles
  • Series 10: LETTER J
  • Box 26:
  • James, Henry [material relating to James]
  • Notes
  • Seminar - 1964
  • Jeffers and Others. Typescript of an article
  • John T. Frederick `Studio Course' Modern Life and Letters. Details about a course taught at Northwestern University - 1940
  • Journalism 56: Modern Culture II. Frederick course at Notre Dame - 1947
  • Series 11: LETTER K
  • Box 27:
  • Kraus Reprint Corporation. Correspondence and invoices - 1965-1967
  • Series 12: LETTER L
  • Box 27:
  • Lakeside Monthly, bibliography
  • Lecture notes on Evanston reading conference - 1949
  • Lecture notes on various topics
  • Lectures and questions on Chaucer prologue. Notes from a course Frederick took at the State University of Iowa - 1914
  • Lectures on the teaching of writing. Holograph and typescript drafts of lectures Frederick gave at Great Falls College - 1966
  • Lectures on Tennyson Guinevere. Notes from a course Frederick took at the State University of Iowa - 1914
  • Lectures on Thomas Carlyle. Class notes taken by Frederick while a student at the State University of Iowa - 1914
  • Lectures on Wordsworth. Class notes taken by Frederick while a student at the State University of Iowa - 1914
  • Lesson plans and diary. From Frederick teaching at Moorhead, Minnesota - 1915
  • Lincoln, Abraham [notes]
  • The Life of William Morris [holograph draft]
  • Literary Art in Thomas Hooker The Poor Doubting Christian. Typescripts of an article with corrections
  • Literary Art in Thomas Shepard The Parable of Ten Virgins. Typescripts of an article
  • Literary criticism, British and American [notes]
  • The Little Review, typescript carbon of an article with notes
  • Long, Haniel. Correspondence and poetry - 1924-1930
  • Series 13: LETTER M
  • Box 27:
  • Material for a seminar in literature - 1966
  • McDonald, Julie. Correspondence - 1966-1967
  • The Meaning of Literature in America Today, typescripts of an article with corrections and miscellaneous pages
  • Box 28:
  • Melville, Herman [material relating to Melville]
  • Notes [1 of 4]
  • Notes [2 of 4]
  • Notes [3 of 4]
  • Notes [4 of 4]
  • Notes and incomplete drafts of articles
  • Melville seminar. Lectures, notes, book lists
  • Melville Early Acquaintance with Bayle. Typescript of an article with corrections
  • Melville Last Long Novel: Clarel. Typescripts of an article
  • Melville Only Heroine: The Chola Widow. Typescripts of an article with corrections
  • Memorial tributes to John T. Frederick - 1975
  • Mencken, H. L. Correspondence [some undated], including a letter from George Jean Nathan - 1918-1924; 1942
  • The Midland. Account book - 1931-1932
  • The Midland. Clippings - 1922-1937
  • The Midland. Correspondence regarding reprinting - 1966
  • Box 29:
  • The Midland. List of subscribers
  • Miscellaneous printed material (some undated) - 1914-1930
  • Miscellaneous articles by Frederick. Typescripts both complete and incomplete
  • Miscellaneous class notes taken by Frederick as a student
  • Miscellaneous essays written by Frederick
  • Miscellaneous lecture notes and materials for courses taught by Frederick [1 of 3]
  • Miscellaneous lecture notes and materials for courses taught by Frederick [2 of 3]
  • Miscellaneous lecture notes and materials for courses taught by Frederick [3 of 3]
  • Miscellaneous lecture notes and syllabi for American literature courses taught by Frederick
  • Miscellaneous lecture notes for courses taught by Frederick at Notre Dame
  • Miscellaneous notes taken by Frederick on a variety of subjects
  • Box 30:
  • Miscellaneous notes on American authors taken by Frederick
  • Miscellaneous notes on American and English authors taken by Frederick [1 of 2]
  • Miscellaneous notes on American and English authors taken by Frederick [2 of 2]
  • Miscellaneous notes on Faulkner, James, Hemingway and Dreiser taken by Frederick
  • Miscellaneous pages of incomplete typescripts by Frederick
  • Miscellaneous writing scraps by Frederick
  • Modern fiction. Course materials for class taught at Northwestern University
  • Modern life and letters. Course taught at Northwesteern University
  • Incomplete transcribed lecture notes (March-May) - 1937
  • Notes
  • Mood sketches written by Frederick students.
  • Box 31:
  • Mott, Frank Luther
  • Correspondence, some undated - 1924-1962
  • Correspondence about Mott and memorial tributes to him - 1964-1966
  • Miscellaneous published articles - 1942
  • Newspaper clippings - 1961-1964
  • Muilenburg, Walter J.
  • Correspondence - 1922-1958
  • Notes kept by Muilenburg
  • Murphy, Donald R. Correspondence, some undated - 1925-1929; 1954
  • My Brother Florio, typescripts with revisions, including a letter from George Jean Nathan
  • Newspaper clippings about Frederick, some undated - 1914-1972
  • Newspaper clippings of book reviews, some undated - 1914; 1924-1925
  • Newspaper clippings regarding The Midland - 1924-1925; 1963
  • Newspaper clippings of speaking engagements, some undated - 1924-1927
  • Series 14: LETTER N
  • Box 31:
  • New Leaves, typescript of a short story, including a letter from H.L. Mencken
  • Nineteenth Century American Novelists, lectures delivered at Loras College
  • Ninety-Five Theses Against Democracy. Various drafts of an article
  • Notebooks and ledgers kept by Frederick on a variety of subjects
  • Notes on Current Poetry. Typescript draft of an article
  • Notes on midwestern anthology
  • Notre Dame University commencement - 1962
  • Notre Dame University Library council, including correspondence, minutes - 1965-1966
  • Series 15: LETTER O
  • Box 31:
  • Of Men and Books. Correspondence, including letters from: Archibald MacLeish, Henry S. Canby, Carl Sandburg, H.L. Mencken, Pearl S. Buck, Phil Stong, Jonathan Daniels, Thomas Mann, Louis Adamic, Marquis W. Childs, August W. Derleth, Harry Hansen, and Paul Corey. - 1939-1940
  • Of Men and Books. Correspondence, including letters from: Paul Engle, Arna Bontemps, Irvin S. Cobb, Archibald MacLeish, Thomas Mann, William March, George Dillon, Langston Hughes, Paul Corey, Carl Glick, John Selby, Edna Ferber, Bellamy Partridge, E.B. White, Ruth Suckow, Della T. Lutes, Mark Van Doren, Leo R. Ward, Henry Miller, and Robert Nathan. - 1941
  • Box 32:
  • Of Men and Books. Correspondence, including letters from: William Cuppy, Ruth Suckow, Sigrid Undset, John A. Lomax, Norman Corwin, Lion Feuchtwanger, Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings, Granville Hicks, James T. Farrell, Langston Hughes, Henry S. Canby, Franz Werfel, MacKinlay Kantor, Gilbert Seldes, Della T. Lutes, Muriel Rukeyser, Carl Carmer, Robert Nathan, Paul Corey, Hartzell Spence, Pearl S. Buck, and Wallace Stegner - 1942
  • Of Men and Books. Correspondence, including letters from: William Cuppy, Max Lerner, Bernard DeVoto, Carl Van Doren, Hartzell Spence, J. Frank Dobie, Robert P. Tristram Coffin, John Dos Passos, Pearl S. Buck, Arthur Meeker, Langston Hughes, Owen Dodson, Wendell L. Willkie, Carl Glick, Wallace Stegner, Thomas Mann, John Mason Brown, W.S. Maugham, Willa Cather, W. Earl Hall, Robert Nathan, and Arna Bontemps - 1943-1944
  • Of Men and Books. Undated correspondence, including letters from: William Cuppy, Paul Engle, Esther Forbes, Alice Tisdale Hobart, Robert Nathan, and John Scott
  • Of Men and Books. Printed booklets of broadcast scripts Vol. 1, nos. 1-52 (September 30-September 26) - 1941-1942
  • Of Men and Books. Printed booklets of broadcast scripts Vol. 2, nos. 1-52 (September 30-October 2) - 1942-1943
  • Of Men and Books. Printed booklets of broadcast scripts Vol. 3, nos. 1-34 (October 9-June 3) - 1943-1944
  • Of Men and Books. Printed transcripts. Northwestern University Information - 1940
  • Of Men and Books. Publicity
  • Of Men and Books. Reader manual for the studio course in contemporary literature, with prelimary manual - 1940
  • Of Men and Books. Summer reading list - 1940
  • Of Men and Books. Transcripts. Scripts 1-34 (October-July) - 1939-1940
  • Box 33:
  • Of Men and Books. Transcripts. Scripts 1-33 (October-May) - 1940-1941
  • Of Men and Books. Transcripts - 1939-1940
  • Organology of Vertebrates and animal microbiology. Notes and drawings from Frederick student days at the State University of Iowa - 1913
  • Out of the Midwest. Correspondence (July-October) Including letters from: James Hearst, Ruth Suckow, Wallace Stegner, Edgar Lee Masters, Leo R. Ward, Paul Corey, Frank Luther Mott, Phil Stong, Arna Bontemps, August Derleth, Alfred Knopf, Bennett A. Cerf, Paul Engle, and James Thurber - 1943
  • Out of the Midwest. Correspondence (November-March) and undated. Including letters from: Bennett A. Cerf, August Derleth, George Ade, Arna Bontemps, Wallace Stegner, Margaret Anderson, Leo R. Ward, Edgar Lee Masters, and Edna Ferber - 1943-1944
  • Out of the Midwest. Notes, research, permission fees
  • Out of the Midwest. Incomplete typescript draft
  • Out of the Midwest. Reviews
  • Over the Wall. Early typescript draft with corrections and revisions.
  • Box 34:
  • Over the Wall. Typescript draft with corrections, insertions and revisions
  • Over the Wall. Incomplete typescript carbon with corrections
  • Over the Wall. Typescript draft
  • Over the Wall. Final typescript draft
  • Over the Wall. Miscellaneous page revisions
  • Over the Wall. Outline of the story as a play
  • Series 16: LETTER P
  • Box 34:
  • Patterns of Imagery in Chapter XIII of Henry James The Portrait of a Lady, typescript of an article
  • Petersen, William J.
  • Correspondence - 1956
  • Correspondence and manuscript material concerning Palimpsest articles - 1953-1956
  • Philosophy essay by Frederick
  • Photographs
  • Play outlines and fragments
  • Poems and Plays. Typescript with revisions
  • Poems by John Towner Frederick. Photocopy of a book
  • Poems to My Mother. Typescript
  • Box 35:
  • Poetry
  • Based on Teton Sioux music
  • Lecture notes - 1966
  • Typescripts, titled, some with corrections and revisions
  • Typescripts, untitled and incomplete [1 of 2]
  • Typescripts, untitled and incomplete [2 of 2]
  • Poole, William. Correspondence - 1943-1944
  • Problems in Contemporary Thought: Social Backgrounds of America (September-December). Book lists, lecture notes, for a course taught by Frederick at Northwestern University - 1936
  • Programs from various functions - 1915-1969
  • Proposal for a history of the Writers' Workshop
  • The Prose of Loren Eiseley. Incomplete typescript of an article with corrections
  • Published articles, some undated - 1917-1972
  • Series 17: LETTER Q
  • Box 36:
  • The Quarry
  • Notes and information
  • Story synopsis [originally titled: Stone Valley]
  • Early incomplete holograph draft
  • Holograph draft with corrections and revisions [1 of 3]
  • Holograph draft with corrections and revisions [2 of 3]
  • Holograph draft with corrections and revisions [3 of 3]
  • Miscellaneous holograph page revisions
  • Typescript draft [1 of 2]
  • Typescript draft [2 of 2]
  • The Quiet Day, typescript of a short story
  • Series 18: LETTER R
  • Box 37:
  • Reading for Writing
  • Typescripts of additions, suggestions for study, table of contents
  • Typescript of introduction and promotional ad
  • Regionalism, course notes
  • Rejection slips - 1917-1923
  • Religious Elements in the Works of Melville: A Preliminary and Tentative Survey, typescript for an article with notes
  • Reviews by Frederick
  • Roger Williams: Sociologist, typescripts of an article
  • The Romance of Helen Trent, typescript of a radio play - 1942
  • The Rotarian
  • Correspondence - 1943-1960
  • Correspondence - 1961-1964
  • Royalty statements - 1923-1974
  • Russell and Volkening, Inc. Literary Agents and Rinehart and Company, Inc.
  • Publishers correspondence, including letters from Maxwell Perkins and John Selby - 1944-1947
  • Russian Fiction, Frederick lecture notes
  • Series 19: LETTER S
  • Box 37:
  • Sandeen, Ernest. Correspondence - 1947-1961
  • Sandoz, Paul. Druida: Girl of a Continent, typescript of a poem
  • The Scaffold and the Forest: Structure and Symbol in The Scarlet Letter, typescript of an article with notes
  • Senior colloquium on American authors [notes]
  • Sergel, Clark F. Correspondence regarding participation texts - 1967-1969
  • Box 38:
  • Sergel, Clark and Virginia. Correspondence - 1961-1967
  • Sergel, Roger L. Correspondence, some undated - 1918-1955
  • Sermons A -- C (some undated) - 1914-1915
  • Sermons E -- N (n.d.)
  • Sermons O -- W and untitled (n.d.)
  • Short stories. Miscellaneous fragments
  • Short story writing. Lecture notes, for a class taught by Frederick at Northwestern University - 1935
  • Six Songs in Darkness, typescript of a poem
  • Slater, John R. Who was Haniel Long? Article and correspondence - 1965
  • Box 39:
  • Social background of American literature [notes]
  • Social background of the United States [notes]
  • The Social Element in the Poetry of Sidney Lanier [holograph draft of an essay]
  • Some of Cooper Clergymen, typescript of an article
  • Some Farewells. Poetic tribute to Frederick when he left the Chicago Park District Recreation Unit [three copies] - 1940
  • Speak to the Earth, typescript carbon with revisions [1 of 3]
  • Speak to the Earth, typescript carbon with revisions [2 of 3]
  • Speak to the Earth, typescript carbon with revisions [3 of 3]
  • Box 40:
  • Speak to the Earth, typescript draft with corrections [1 of 3]
  • Speak to the Earth, typescript draft with corrections [2 of 3]
  • Speak to the Earth, typescript draft with corrections [3 of 3]
  • Miscellaneous typescript pages with revisions
  • Revision notes and cuts
  • Special Assignment, North Dakota [drafts of two articles]
  • Speaking of Books [column in The Rotarian] - 1944-1951
  • Speaking of Books [column in The Rotarian] - 1952-1962
  • Spectorsky, A.C. Correspondence - 1942-1944
  • Speculative zoology. Class notes taken by Frederick while a student at the State University of Iowa - 1914-1915
  • Box 41:
  • Speeches: Kappa Tau Alpha initiation - 1964
  • Speeches: Bachelor tax [affirmative debate of Philomathean Literary Society] - 1911
  • Speeches: Books and Men - 1957
  • Speeches: Can Style Be Synthetically Acquired? - 1933
  • Speeches: Catholic College for Girls (n.d.)
  • Speeches: Class Day address - 1919
  • Speeches: Club lecture on poetry (n.d.)
  • Speeches: Commencement (n.d.)
  • Speeches: Commencement at Alcona High School - 1961
  • Speeches: Introduction and transitional material at Loras College (n.d.)
  • Speeches: Iowa Day - 1916
  • Speeches: Iowa Contribution to Middle Western Literature (n.d.)
  • Speeches: Last Lines: Addressed to a Graduate Class (n.d.)
  • Speeches: Literature in a Time of Crisis - 1941
  • Speeches: Literature of the Midwest (n.d.)
  • Speeches: Mary Manse College (n.d.)
  • Speeches: Memorial Day - 1913
  • Speeches: Miscellaneous (n.d.)
  • Speeches: A Person and a Book - 1960
  • Speeches: Rotary Club (n.d.)
  • Speeches: The Shared Life (n.d.)
  • Speeches: Some Factors in Public Relations - 1952
  • Speeches: Some Religious Problems in Nineteenth Century American Fiction - 1965
  • Speeches: Teachers and Artists (n.d.)
  • Speeches: The University Library (n.d.)
  • Speeches: What Shall the Farmers Read? (n.d.)
  • Speeches: Yourself and Reading (n.d.)
  • Speeches: Spiritual or external action. Holograph outline fragment
  • Speeches: Spiritualism in the nineteenth century [notes]
  • Speeches: Sprinkler Lake Science Camp. Correspondence, including from Fred Schwnegel; notes, clippings
  • Speeches: State Normal School, Moorhead, Minnesota. Correspondence - 1917-1919
  • Stockade, notes and outlines
  • Box 42:
  • Stockade, first typescript draft with corrections and additions, originally titled: Sandusky [1 of 2]
  • Stockade, first typescript draft with corrections and additions, originally titled: Sandusky [2 of 2]
  • Typescript carbon with corrections [1 of 2]
  • Typescript carbon with corrections [2 of 2]
  • Stories from The Midland [reviews] - 1924
  • Story ideas, notes and fragments
  • Sullivan, Richard. Correspondence - 1941-1963
  • Sullivan, Richard. Correspondence - 1964-1968
  • Symbol and Theme in Melville Israel Potter, typescript of an article
  • Series 20: LETTER T
  • Box 42:
  • Taylor, Davidson. Correspondence - 1941-1943
  • Taylor, Edward. Typescript of poems
  • Thirty-Four Present Day Stories
  • Correspondence regarding permission to publish - 1940-1941
  • Correspondence with Thomas J.B. Walsh - 1940-1944
  • Box 43:
  • Travel expenses - 1963-1964
  • Trowbridge, W. D. Typescript of poems
  • Twain/Hancock research materials
  • Twain, Mark [material relating to Twain]
  • Notes [1 of 2]
  • Notes [2 of 2]
  • Series 21: LETTER U
  • Box 43:
  • Untitled article, drafts
  • The Undiscovered Country, typescripts of an article
  • Untitled short stories [1 of 2]
  • Untitled short stories [2 of 2]
  • Series 22: LETTER V
  • Box 43:
  • Vertebrate morphology. Class notes taken by Frederick as a student at the State University of Iowa - 1914
  • Series 23: LETTER W
  • Box 43:
  • W. H. Hudson, miscellaneous notes and pages
  • Box 44:
  • W. H. Hudson, incomplete early typescript with corrections and revisions
  • W. H. Hudson, incomplete typescript with corrections and revisions
  • W. H. Hudson, incomplete typescript with corrections
  • W. H. Hudson, typescript with corrections
  • W. H. Hudson, miscellaneous typescript pages with corrections and revisions
  • W. H. Hudson, correspondence regarding publication, including a letter from Lewis Mumford - 1962
  • Index [carbon]
  • Wack, Tom. Correspondence - 1963-1967
  • Wallace Stevens: A Classroom Approach, typescript carbon of an article
  • Box 45:
  • Ward, Leo L.
  • Ward, Leo L., Catholicism and the Writer.
  • Ward, Leo L. Correspondence (some undated) - 1926-1951
  • A Week in the Mill. The Lowell Offering, October 1845 [Old South Leaflets, #157]
  • Weeks, Raymond. Correspondence - 1921-1940
  • Works Projects Administration, Federal Writers' Project. Correspondence (some undated) - 1937-1940
  • Zoology course taught at Prescott High School [outline]
  • Box 46:
  • Wallaces' Farmer [oversized] - 1927-1928
  • Series 24: THE MIDLAND
  • Box 47:
  • The Midland - 1915; 1917
  • Box 48:
  • The Midland - 1918-1919
  • Box 49:
  • The Midland - 1920-1921
  • Box 50:
  • The Midland - 1922-1923
  • Box 51:
  • The Midland - 1924-1925
  • Box 52:
  • The Midland - 1926-1927
  • Box 53:
  • The Midland - 1928-1929
  • Box 54:
  • The Midland - 1930-1931
  • Series 25: INDEX TO THE GENERAL CORRESPONDENCE FOLDERS
  • Sub-Series: A
  • Adler, Philip D., 12-28-48; 10-2-71
  • Andrews, Clarence A., 9-21-33; 6-20-70; 4-2-71; 7-1-71; 1 undated
  • Ansley, C.F., 11-11-14; 4-20-37
  • Ansley, Delight, 4-15-75
  • Archie, Willard, 5-5-71; 5-12-71; 10-1-71; 1-31-72
  • Sub-Series: B
  • Baldwin, Bird T., 9-12-25
  • Best, Marshall, 5-11-59
  • Bontemps, Arna, 5-3-44; 6-1-44; 7-18-44; 8-12-44
  • Boyd, Willard, 6-7-71; 4-3-73; 2-18-73; 2-25-73
  • Brack, OM, 2-6-70; 11-10-70; 11-23-70; 1-19-71; 1-25-71; 3-16-71; 4-13-71; 5-12-71; 1 undated
  • Briggs, John E., 6-28-37
  • Brigham, Johnson, 2-12-21;8-20-26; 8-26-26; 9-13-26
  • Bryson, Lyman, 4-4-44
  • Burt, Struthers, 5-2-45; 10-8-45
  • Burton, William Lee, 2-27-74
  • Bush, Sargent, 7-16-68; 10-15-68; 3-10-69; 9-7-69; 8-7-70; 9-24-70; 10-13-70; 12-20-70; 2-5-71; 4-26-71; 9-10-71; 2-15-75
  • Sub-Series: C
  • Caldwell, Erskine, 12-15-42
  • Canby, Henry S., 11-7-29
  • Cerf, Bennett A., 1-18-43; 4-1-43; 7-19-43
  • Chase, Mary Ellen, 11-19-41
  • Childs, Marquis W., 5-3-27; 7-6-32; 1-9-39; 9-21-44; 1-7-10
  • Coleman, Carroll, 11-26-29; 3-29-37; 4-9-37; 7-2-37;12-4-62; 4-7-65
  • Conroy, Jack, 4-12-47
  • Cooper, Hoyt, 8-10-15
  • Corey, Paul, 5-12-44; 6-7-44; 7-8-44; 11-27-44; 12-2-44; 1-6-45
  • Corwin, Norman, 1-27-42
  • Costain, Thomas, 4-12-54
  • Cousins, Norman, 8-30-71
  • Craig, Hardin, 5-2-21; 5-25-21; 1-5-23; 1-19-23; 2-22-23; 3-6-23; 3-20-23; 3-26-23; 4-6-23; 4-18-23; 5-23-23; 6-10-26
  • Croly, Herbert, 1-17-18; 2-6-18; 5-2-18; 3-28-19
  • Cuppy, William, 12-24-46
  • Sub-Series: D
  • Darrow, Clarence S., 1-16-28, 2-17-28; 7-4-28; 8-29-28; 11-10-28; 5-15-33; 2 undated
  • Davidson, Donald, 2-21-37; 3-20-37; 4-6-37; 4-19-37; 7-6-37; 11-26-38; 2-17-40; 3-26-40
  • DeJong, David, 1 undated
  • Derleth, August, 1-9-39
  • Dobie, J. Frank, 4-22-62; 7-9-62; 7-19-62
  • Dodson, Owen, 3-20-46; 5-8-46; 6-28-46; 9-26-46; 2-18-47; 1-16-48
  • Downing, J. Hyatt, 5-3-44
  • Dresbach, Glen Ward, 7-20-31; 1-1-32
  • Sub-Series: E
  • Eiseley, Loren C., 5-10-68; 1-11-70; 1-30-70; 7-12-71
  • Eyerly, Jeannette, 10-18-44; 2 undated
  • Sub-Series: F
  • Fadiman, Clifton, 2-19-32
  • Farrell, James T., 4-6-42
  • Field, Iduna Bertel, 12-25-69; 9-10-70; 10-70; 12-25-70; 10-2-71; 9-15-72; 1-29-75; 2-23-75
  • Finger, Charles J., 5-5-24; 11-17-25; 2 undated
  • Fitzgerald, Robert, 6-53
  • Foerster, Norman, 5-8-32; 5-26-33
  • Foster, T. Henry, 9-20-26; 11-8-29; 3-31-30
  • Sub-Series: G
  • Gerber, John, 9-26-62; 10-4-62; 10-16-62; 12-18-62; 10-8-64; 5-28-65; 8-16-65; 10-27-65; 11-4-65; 8-3-66; 10-24-66; 7-17-67; 10-5-67; 1-27-69; 6-6-69; 5-28-70; 1-3-72; 2-17-72; 4 undated
  • Glasgow, Ellen, 9-9-42
  • Sub-Series: H
  • Hancher, Virgil M., 1-16-45
  • Hansen, Harry, 11-17-32
  • Harris, Frank, 1-15-18
  • Harter, Evelyn Glick, 1-16-69; 2-12-69; 6-30-69; 12-20-71; 2-3-75; 5-15-75
  • Hatcher, Harlan, 6-8-62
  • Hayek, Will J., 5-12-62; 6-18-73
  • Hearst, James, 8-42; 9-42; 12-17-42; 6-11-43; 8-20-43; 2-26-45; 12-16-49; 11-17-55; 12-4-55; 12-9-62; 12-9-64; 3-13-65; 3-22-65; 4-11-65; 4-25-65; 5-25-65; 7-25-65; 11-21-65; 6-20-66; 9-21-66; 11-2-68; 2-5-69; 10-5-69; 4-5-70; 12-7-70; 6-6-71; 8-6-72; 4-29-73; 6-13-73; 2-3-75; 34 undated
  • Hoole, W. Stanley, 6-22-44; 8-21-45
  • Hubbard, Philip G., 5-17-67
  • Hunt, Percival, 3-17-19; 10-4-23; 3-12-27; 3-14-27; 3-18-27; 3-24-27; 3-29-27; 8-15-29; 8-16-29; 1-15-30
  • Sub-Series: J
  • Jessup, Walter A., 7-30-23; 7-6-25
  • Johnson, Dorothy M., 11-26-54
  • Johnson, Josephine, 6-7-35
  • Jones, Howard M., 1-18-30; 4-12-30
  • Sub-Series: K
  • Kane, Harnett T., 1943; 10-25-44
  • Kay, George F., 7-17-22
  • Kipling, Rudyard, 1-19-35
  • Kissane, Leedice, 9-26-62; 10-22-62; 11-15-62; 10-16-64; 10-18-64; 4-10-65
  • Knopf, Alfred A., 1-20-19; 1-27-19; 5-26-20; 12-24-21; 1-3-22; 1-14-22; 1-23-22; 7-27-23; 8-24-23
  • Krutch, Joseph Wood, 3-23-49
  • Sub-Series: L
  • Lewis, Lloyd, 3-27-47
  • Long, Haniel, 12-18-24; 10-10-26; 2-7-28; 5 undated
  • Lottinville, Savoie, 4-4-45; 6-21-47; 10-26-54; 8-9-56; 6-24-59; 8-4-59; 2-8-60
  • Lovett, Robert Morss, 11-16-29
  • Sub-Series: M
  • Mangione, Jerre, 2-3-69; 2-15-73
  • Mann, Thomas, 4-4-30
  • March, William, 4-8-30; 4-23-30; 6-3-32
  • Maxwell, Baldwin, 7-27-29
  • McDonald, Julie Jensen, 1-10-65; 3-23-65; 3-29-65; 4-9-65; 6-27-65; 8-12-65; 9-9-65; 10-12-65; 1-23-66; 2-26-67; 4-16-67; 10-24-67; 3-30-68; 7-7-68; 11-22-68; 4-20-69; 4-30-69; 5-24-69; 5-1-71; 7-13-69; 8-2-69; 10-5-69; 10-19-69; 11-9-69; 1-9-70; 4-10-70; 7-19-70; 1-5-71; 2-8-71; 2-28-71; 3-18-71; 5-2-71; 5-30-71; 9-19-71; 8-6-72; 2-6-75; 2 undated
  • Mencken, H.L., 2-8-40; 3 undated
  • Meyer, Roy W., 9-2-65
  • Miller, Henry, 12-22-42; 1 undated
  • Monroe, Harriet, 8-29-17; 4-6-18; 11-1-18; 11-20-18; 7-2-19; 8-26-20; 4-30-30
  • Mossman, Dow, 1965; 11-69; 12-4-69; 10-70; 10-71; 1-72; 4-29-75; 3 undated
  • Mott, Frank Luther, 4-7-37; 2-14-40; 11-4-43; 6-14-44; 12-23-44; 7-18-45; 3-24-47; 9-21-48; 10-21-48; 11-9-48; 12-6-48; 1-24-49; 4-14-50; 1-23-52; 10-1-53; 3-1-54; 3-23-54; 12-1-55; 3-19-56; 6-28-57; 12-3-57; 9-7-62; 9-25-62; 4 undated
  • Muehl, Lois, 10-25-67; 12-17-68; 2-9-70; 11-70
  • Muilenburg, Walter. C., 9-8-25; 5-28-54; 6-4-54; 6-9-54; 6-20-54; 7-17-55; 9-23-55; 11-21-55; 7-29-57
  • Murphy, Donald R., 1-31-67
  • Sub-Series: N
  • Nathan, Robert, 9-4-43; 3 undated
  • Nuhn, Ferner, 4-11-70; 4-30-70; 12-21-70; 12-25-70
  • Sub-Series: O
  • O'Brien, Edward J., 12-9-15; 2-3-16;3-14-16; 12-3-17; 1-24-19; 10-1-20; 9-12-24; 11-8-24;9-3-26; 5-21-30; 6-20-30; 9-9-30; 12-19-30; 4-13-31; 6-10-31; 6-12-31; 7-1-31; 4-5-32; 10-9-35; 10-26-35; 1 undated
  • Sub-Series: P
  • Pargellis, Stanley, 6-17-46; 1-21-47; 2-18-47
  • Patrick, George Thomas White, 7-22-47
  • Penningroth, Ethel Blythe, 3-23-41; 1 undated
  • Perkins, Maxwell, 10-4-43; 3-22-44
  • Petersen, William J., 10-22-56; 11-16-56; 12-5-56; 12-11-56; 1-11-57; 2-12-57; 2-19-57; 10-6-58; 10-27-64; 11-29-65; 2-17-66
  • Piper, Edwin F., 11-12-26
  • Poole, William, 12-9-43; 12-10-43; 12-15-43 (2); 12-22-43; 12-30-43
  • Sub-Series: R
  • Rago, Henry, 2-22-67
  • Ransom, John Crowe, 4-20-37
  • Sub-Series: S
  • Sandeen, Ernest, 7-11-65; 8-6-65; 2-16-75; 5 undated
  • Santee, Ross, 1-5-48; 4 undated
  • Schramm, Wilber L., 12-15-36; 1-16-37; 9-18-39
  • Seashore, Carl E., 1-26-26; 8-25-44
  • Selby, John, 4-14-44; 8-3-45; 8-23-45; 6-4-47; 6-26-47; 12-5-47
  • Sergel, Clark F., 11-8-68; 6-5-69; 7-31-69; 11-26-69; 2-17-70; 3-20-70; 5-13-70; 10-27-70; 1-29-73; 2 undated
  • Sigmund, Jay, 9-22-24; 10-23-24; 9-16-25; 9-14-26;4-25-29
  • Smith, Grace Partridge, 12-14-18-; 3-20-19
  • Spaulding, Forrest B., 4-19-46
  • Spectorsky, A.C., 11-1-44; 11-13-44; 12-18-44
  • Spence, Hartzell, 4-9-54; 11-21-56
  • Stafford, William T., 2-1-69
  • Starrett, Vincent, 7-11-26
  • Stegner, Wallace, 12-8-42
  • Stong, Phil, 12-5-56
  • Stout, George, 2-13-25; 4-22-25; 8-3-25; 9-27-25
  • Strode, Hudson, 8-21-44
  • Suckow, Ruth, 9-29-25; 9-21-43
  • Sub-Series: T
  • Thompson, Era Bell, 5-6-46
  • Tull, Clyde, 4-17-47
  • Sub-Series: W
  • Ward, Leo R., 12-3-30; 7-25-35; 5-2-37; 5-8-43; 4-30-44; 5-9-44; 9-30-44; 12-20-44; 1-13-45; 5-18-45; 6-24-45; 7-12-45; 7-18-45; 8-9-45; 8-22-45; 8-24-45; 8-25-45; 8-27-45 (2); 8-29-45; 9-1-45; 9-9-45; 9-11-45; 9-27-45; 10-2-45; 10-4-45; 10-22-45; 10-23-45; 10-26-45; 10-28-45 (2); 11-1-45; 11-2-45; 11-7-45; 11-9-45; 11-12-45; 11-13-45; 3-11-47; 3-19-47; 6-5-47; 8-27-48; 12-2-48; 12-17-48; 6-25-49; 5-27-62; 11-11-64; 3-16-65; 4-7-65; 6-9-65; 5-21-72; 2-24-75; 13 undated
  • Wedel, Mildred, 10-12-64; 6-15-66; 7-6-66; 10-18-66; 11-30-66; 1-7-67; 3-28-67; 4-27-67; 5-10-67; 3-9-68; 12-8-68; 5-1-69; 8-28-71; 2-5-75; 3 undated
  • Weeks, Raymond, 12-25-42
  • White, Roland A., 5-23-30
  • Wright, Louis B., 1-3-68
  • Series 26: INDEX OF CORRESPONDENTS IN THE PAPERS OF JOHN TOWNER FREDERICK
    KEY: 1 = Box Number (1) = Number of Folders
  • Sub-Series: A
  • Adamic, Louis, 31 (1)
  • Ade, George, 2 (1); 33 (1)
  • Adler, Phililp D., 8 (1); 12 (1)
  • Anderson, Margaret, 33 (1)
  • Anderson, Sherwood, 3 (1)
  • Andrews, Clarence A., 11 (1); 12(1); 13 (1)
  • Ansley, C.F., 3 (1); 6 (2)
  • Ansley, Delight, 12 (1)
  • Archie, Willard, 12 (2)
  • Sub-Series: B
  • Baldwin, Bird T., 6 (1)
  • Best, Marshall A., 8 (1)
  • Bontemps, Arna, 7 (3); 31 (1); 32 (1); 33 (2)
  • Bowen, Howard R., 10 (5)
  • Boyd, Willard L., 12 (3)
  • Brack, O M, 11 (3); 12 (1); 13 (1)
  • Briggs, John E., 6 (1)
  • Brigham, Johnson, 6 (2)
  • Brooks, Paul, 4 (1)
  • Brown, John Mason, 32 (1)
  • Bryson, Lyman, 4 (1)
  • Buck, Pearl S., 31 (1); 32 (2)
  • Burt, Maxwell Struthers, 7 (1)
  • Burton, William Lee, 12 (1)
  • Bush, Sargent, 10 (1); 11 (6); 12 (3)
  • Sub-Series: C
  • Caldwell, Erskine, 7 (1)
  • Canby, Henry S., 6 (1); 31 (1); 32 (1)
  • Carmer, Carl, 32 (1)
  • Cather, Willa, 32 (1)
  • Cerf, Bennett A., 7 (1); 33 (2)
  • Chase, Mary Ellen, 6 (1)
  • Childs, Marquis W., 6 (3); 7 (1); 11 (1); 31 (1)
  • Cobb, Irvin S., 31 (1)
  • Coffin, Robert P. Tristram, 32 (1)
  • Coleman, Carroll D., 6 (1); 9 (2); 10 (1)
  • Conroy, Jack, 7 (1)
  • Cooper, Hoyt, 5 (1)
  • Corey, Paul, 7 (3); 31 (2); 32 (1); 33 (1)
  • Corwin, Norman, 7 (1); 32 (1)
  • Costain, Thomas B., 8 (1)
  • Cousins, Norman, 12 (1)
  • Craig, Hardin, 6 (2)
  • Croly, Herbert, 6 (1)
  • Cuppy, William, 32 (3)
  • Sub-Series: D
  • Daniels, Jonathan, 31 (1)
  • Darrow, Clarence S., 6 (2); 13 (1)
  • Davidson, Donald, 6 (2)
  • Derleth, August, 6 (1); 31 (1); 33 (2)
  • DeVoto, Bernard, 32 (1)
  • Dillon, George, 31 (1)
  • Dobie, J. Frank, 8 (1); 32 (1)
  • Dodson, Owen, 7 (1); 8 (1); 32 (1)
  • Dos Passos, John, 2 (1); 32 (1)
  • Downing, J. Hyatt, 7 (1)
  • Dresbach, Glen Ward, 6 (1)
  • Sub-Series: E
  • Edel, Leon, 9 (1)
  • Eiseley, Loren C., 10 (1); 11 (1); 12 (1)
  • Engle, Paul, 31 (1); 32 (1); 33 (1)
  • Eyerly, Jeannette, 7 (1); 13 (1)
  • Sub-Series: F
  • Farrell, James T., 6 (1); 7 (1); 32 (1)
  • Ferber, Edna, 31 (1); 33 (1)
  • Feuchtwanger, Lion, 32 (1)
  • Field, Iduna Bertel, 11 (1); 12 (4)
  • Finger, Charles J., 6 (2); 13 (1)
  • Fisher, Mahlon Leonard, 6 (1)
  • Fitzgerald, Robert, 8 (1)
  • Foerster, Norman, 6 (1)
  • Forbes, Esther, 32 (1)
  • Foster, T. Henry, 6 (1)
  • Sub-Series: G
  • Gerber, John C., 9 (3); 10 (5); 11 (2); 12 (1); 13 (1)
  • Glasgow, Ellen, 7 (1)
  • Glick, Carl, 31 (1); 32 (1)
  • Glick, Evelyn, 11 (1)
  • Sub-Series: H
  • Hall, W. Earl, 32 (1)
  • Hancher, Virgil M., 7 (1); 9 (1)
  • Hansen, Harry, 6 (1); 31 (1)
  • Harris, Frank, 6 (1)
  • Hatcher, Harlan, 8 (1)
  • Hayek, Will J., 8 (1); 12 (1)
  • Hearst, James, 7 (3); 8 (2); 9 (4); 10 (3); 11 (5); 12 (4); 13 (1); 24 (1); 33 (1)
  • Hersey, John, 2 (1)
  • Hesburgh, Theodore, 8 (2); 9(2)
  • Hicks, Granville, 32 (1)
  • Hobart, Alice Tisdale, 32 (1)
  • Hoole, W. Stanley, 7 (2)
  • Hornback, Bert, 25 (1)
  • Hubbard, Philip G., 10 (1)
  • Hughes, Langston, 31 (1); 32 (2)
  • Hunt, Percival, 6 (3)
  • Sub-Series: J
  • Jessup, Walter A., 6 (2)
  • Johnon, Dorothy M., 8 (1)
  • Johnson, Josephine, 6 (1)
  • Jones, Howard M., 6 (1)
  • Jones, Laurence C., 16 (1)
  • Sub-Series: K
  • Kane, Harnett T., 7 (2)
  • Kantor, MacKinlay, 32 (1)
  • Kay, George F., 6 (1)
  • Kipling, Rudyard, 6 (1)
  • Kissane, Leedice, 9 (4); 10 (1)
  • Knopf, Alfred A., 1 (1); 6 (1); 23 (1); 33 (1)
  • Krutch, Joseph Wood, 8 (1)
  • Sub-Series: L
  • Lerner, Max, 32 (1)
  • Lewis, Lloyd, 7 (1)
  • Lewis, Sinclair, 2 (1)
  • Lomax, John A., 32 (1)
  • Long, Haniel, 13 (1); 23 (1)
  • Lottinville, Savoie, 7 (2); 8 (3)
  • Lovett, Robert Morss, 6 (1)
  • Lutes, Della T., 31 (1); 32 (1)
  • Sub-Series: M
  • MacLeish, Archibald, 31 (2)
  • Mangione, Jerre, 11 (1); 12 (1)
  • Mann, Thomas, 4 (1); 6 (1); 31 (2);32 (1)
  • March, William, 31 (1)
  • Masters, Edgar Lee, 2 (1); 33 (2)
  • Maugham, W.S., 32 (1)
  • Maxwell, Baldwin, 6 (1)
  • McDonald, Julie, 10 (6); 11 (6); 12 (4); 13 (1); 27 (1)
  • Meeker, Arthur, 32 (1)
  • Mencken, H.L., 3 (1); 6 (1); 13 (1); 28 (1); 31 (2)
  • Meyer, Roy W., 10 (1)
  • Miller, Henry, 7 (1); 13 (1); 31 (1)
  • Miller, Mary Britton, 13 (1)
  • Monroe, Harriet, 6 (2)
  • Mossman, Dow, 10 (1); 11 (2); 12 (3); 13 (1)
  • Mott, Frank Luther, 2 (6); 6 (2); 7 (4); 8 (4); 9 (4); 13 (1); 31 (1); 33 (1)
  • Muehl, Lois, 10 (1); 11 (3)
  • Muilenburg, W.C., 6 (1); 8 (2); 31 (1)
  • Mumford, Lewis, 44 (1)
  • Murphy, Donald R., 10 (1); 31 (1)
  • Sub-Series: N
  • Nathan, George Jean, 25 (1); 31 (1)
  • Nathan, Robert, 7 (1); 13 (1); 31 (1); 32 (3)
  • Nuhn, Ferner, 9 (1); 11 (1)
  • Sub-Series: O
  • O'Brien, Edward J., 6 (4); 13 (1)
  • Sub-Series: P
  • Pargellis, Stanley, 7 (1)
  • Partridge, Bellamy, 31 (1)
  • Patrick, George T.W., 7 (1)
  • Penningroth, Ethel Blythe, 6 (1); 13 (1)
  • Perkins, Maxwell, 7 (2)
  • Petersen, William J., 8 (1); 9 (1); 10 (2); 34 (1)
  • Piper, Edwin Ford, 6 (1)
  • Poole, William, 35 (1)
  • Sub-Series: R
  • Rago, Henry, 10 (1)
  • Ransom, John Crowe, 6 (1)
  • Rawlings, Marjorie Kinnan, 32 (1)
  • Rukeyser, Muriel, 32 (1)
  • Sub-Series: S
  • Sandburg, Carl, 31 (1)
  • Sandeen, Ernest, 37 (1)
  • Santee, Ross, 8 (1); 13 (1)
  • Schramm, Wilbur L., 6 (3)
  • Scott, John, 32 (1)
  • Seashore, Carl E., 6 (1); 7 (1)
  • Selby, John, 7 (3); 31 (1)
  • Seldes, Gilbert, 32 (1)
  • Sergel, Clark F., 37 (1); 38 (1)
  • Sergel, Roger L., 38 (1)
  • Sigmund, Jay G., 6 (3)
  • Smith, Grace Partridge, 6 (1)
  • Spaulding, Forrest B., 6 (1); 7 (1)
  • Spectorsky, A.C., 40 (1)
  • Spence, Hartzell, 8 (2); 32 (2)
  • Stafford, William T., 11 (2)
  • Starrett, Vincent, 6 (1)
  • Stegner, Wallace, 7 (1); 32 (2); 33 (2)
  • Stong, Phil, 8 (1); 31 (1); 33 (1)
  • Stout, George, 6 (1)
  • Strode, Hudson, 7 (1)
  • Suckow, Ruth, 6 (1); 7 (1); 31 (1); 32 (1); 33 (1)
  • Sullivan, Richard, 42 (2)
  • Sub-Series: T
  • Taylor, Davidson, 42 (1)
  • Thompson, Era Bell, 7 (1)
  • Thurber, James, 33 (1)
  • Tull, Clyde, 7 (1)
  • Sub-Series: U
  • Undset, Sigrid, 32 (1)
  • Sub-Series: V
  • Van Doren, Carl, 32 (1)
  • Van Doren, Mark, 31 (1)
  • Sub-Series: W
  • Wack, Tom, 44 (1)
  • Ward, Leo, 7 (2); 8 (2); 9 (3); 10 (1); 12 (2); 13 (1); 31 (1); 33 (2); 45 (1)
  • Wedel, Mildred, 9 (1); 10 (3); 11 (3); 12 (3); 13 (1)
  • Weeks, Raymond, 7 (1); 45 (1)
  • Weller, C.H., 6 (1)
  • Werfel, Franz, 32 (1)
  • White, E.B., 31 (1)
  • White, Roland, 6 (1)
  • Willkie, Wendell L., 32 (1)
  • Wright, Louis B.