Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Marion Meade Buster Keaton Research Files

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1895-1997
Creator: Meade, Marion
Extent: 10.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0512
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Research material compiled by Meade while writing the biography Buster Keaton Cut to the Case.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 15; Film/Video: Box 21; Audio Material: Boxes 19, 20; CDs: Box 20

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Marion Meade.

Preferred Citation: Marion Meade Buster Keaton Research Files, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Marion Meade's previous biography subjects include Eleanor of Acquitane, Madame Blavatsky, Victoria Woodhull, Dorothy Parker, and Buster Keaton. (The Special Collections Department also has the research files for Buster Keaton: Cut to the Chase.) Meade studied at Northwestern University and holds a Master's degree from the Columbia Graduate School of Journalism. She has contributed articles to The New York Times and The Village Voice, in addition to writing two novels. She lives in New York City.

Biographer Marion Meade undertook to write a biography of Joseph Frank "Buster" Keaton for publication timed to coincide with the centenary of the film star's birth in 1895. Meade researched the book for four years, interviewing some 200 people who had known or worked with Keaton, gathered published and unpublished photographs, and worked with Keaton collector Jack Dragga to compile a definitive filmography. The result of her work, Buster Keaton: Cut to the Chase, was published by Harper Collins Publishers in 1995. It is an excellent introduction to the present collection, which consists of Meade's research files. They have been organized as follows:

Series 1: Subject files, Child abuse to Research sources, files on individuals. Folders include photocopies, clippings, correspondence, notes, fragments of transcribed interviews. Boxes 1 -- 6.

Series 2: Materials relating to persons interviewed. Boxes 7 -- 8. B. Keaton friends and family interviewed. Box 8. C. Miscellaneous. Box 8 .

Series 3: Correspondence with Keaton researchers/writers. Box 9. B. Correspondence with others who knew or met Keaton. Box 10.

Series 4: Chronological log notebook [of Keaton's life], 1895 to Posthumous; Files 1895 to 1966 [with notes and references]. Boxes 10 -- 14.

Series 5: Publication materials for Cut to the Chase: correspondence: photo selections; book production files; reviews; letters received following publication. Box 15.

Series 6: Meade's original typescript, pages [4] + 1 -- 702, 710 -- 795 (Box 16), and a later version with editorial marks indicating revisions and deletions (Box 17); Meade estimates that 40% if the manuscript was cut before publication. An uncorrected proof and copies of the US, UK and trade paperback editions have been cataloged to the "x" collection.
Also typescripts from Kevin Brownlow, Joel Goss, Alan Hoffman, and Jason Scott. Boxes 17 -- 18.

Series 7: Tape recordings of Meade's interviews. Boxes 19 -- 20.

Series 8: Books about Keaton; Keaton videos. Box 21.

The folder titles in this inventory are in nearly all cases taken directly from Meade's folder labels.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: SUBJECT FILES (NON-PEOPLE), CHILD ABUSE TO RESEARCH SOURCES
Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE FILES, A-Z; KEATON RESEARCHERS/WRITERS
Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 4: CHRONOLOGICAL LOGS OUTLINING KEATON'S LIFE
Series 5: CUT TO THE CHASE PRODUCTION MATERIALS; PHOTO SELECTIONS, SAMPLE PAGE PROOFS, ETC.
Series 6: MANUSCRIPTS
Series 7: INTERVIEW TAPES
Series 8: BOOKS ABOUT KEATON; VIDEO OF KEATON FILMS; MEADE'S BOOK IN VARIOUS EDITIONS

  • Series 1: SUBJECT FILES (NON-PEOPLE), CHILD ABUSE TO RESEARCH SOURCES
  • Box 1:
  • Marion Meade Research Notebooks
  • Addresses, Keaton's - 1919-1966
  • Chronologies, Miscellaneous
  • Research Sources, Meade's
  • Research, Meade's
  • Child Abuse
  • NY Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children
  • NYSPCC - Microfilm - Keaton Case
  • NYSPCC
  • Keaton's Favorite Recipes
  • "Italian Villa," Keaton Hollywood home
  • Black-Foxe Academy, Keaton sons' school
  • Early Hollywood
  • Box 2:
  • MGM - 1920-1939
  • MGM, Keaton - Employment report - 1955
  • Vandeville, Medicine Shows
  • Keaton Retrospectives (film showings)
  • "Ten Girls Ago," uncompleted film - 1962
  • Libraries and Book Stores
  • Keaton - TV Career
  • Keaton - Published Interviews
  • Keaton - Interview - Columbia Oral History - 1958
  • Articles About Keaton (I)
  • Articles About Keaton (II)
  • Keaton/Cutler History, Nebraska
  • Keaton/Cutler History, Iowa
  • Box 3:
  • Keaton/Cutler History, Michigan
  • Writings About Keaton
  • Keaton Fan Club (Damfinos) - 1993-1996
    Including newsletter, The Keaton Chronicle
  • Keaton Geneology; Quakers - North Carolina
  • Keaton Geneology Indiana
  • Keaton Geneology Oklahoma
  • Keaton History - Kansas
  • Death Certificate Joseph Z. Keaton (Grandfather)
  • Marriage Certificate Keaton/Mae Scriven Hawley
  • Death Certificate Natalie Talmadge
  • Buster Keaton Will
  • Keaton "FBI" FOIA file
  • Buster Keaton Death Certificate
  • Myra Keaton Death Certificate
  • Joseph H. Keaton Death Certificate
  • Buster Keaton Military Records
  • Birth Certificate
  • Divorce papers - Mae Keaton
  • Divorce papers - Natalie Talmadge
  • Box 4:
  • Virginia Fox Zanuck Scrapbook
  • Samual Beckett Production of Film - 1964
  • Houdini, Harry
  • Sebastian, Dorothy
  • Mack, Marion
  • Durante, Jimmy
  • Schneck, Joseph
  • Schneck, Nicholas
  • US vs. Schneck
  • Jessel, George
  • Talmadges - Historical Societies
  • Talmadge Sisters Film Careers (Norma, Constance, Natalie)
  • Talmadge, Norma
  • Talmadge, Jimmy & Bobby (Keaton sons)
  • Talmadge, Jim (Keaton grandson)
  • Cox, Melissa Talmadge (Keaton granddaughter)
  • Talmadge Family History
  • Box 5:
  • Talmade Family Genealogy
  • Arbuckle, Roscoe career
  • Arbuckle, Roscoe, Murder Trials
  • Arbuckle: David Yallop's The Day the Laughter Stopped - 1976
    Photocopy
  • Keaton, Eleanor
  • Keaton, Mae - post-Buster
  • Keaton, Mae - Medical
  • Keaton, Mae - Legal
  • Keaton, Mae - U.S. Copyright Office
  • Keaton, Mae
  • Box 6:
  • Rohauer, Raymond - Legal
  • Rohauer, Raymond
  • Rohauer Transcript - Uncut for TV Doc. "A Hard Act to Follow" Interview - 1986
  • Rohauer Collection Catalog
  • Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE FILES, A-Z; KEATON RESEARCHERS/WRITERS
  • Sub-Series: A. Correspondence with persons interviewed - folders contain notes, clippings, notes, correspondence, some transcripts; letters from person name are indicated as ALS or TLS
  • Box 7:
  • Interview Log
  • Abbot, Jayne, ALS
  • Adrian, Iris
  • Asher, William
  • Austin, Lawrence
  • Avery, Sid
  • Bakewell, William
  • Barnes, Gene Woodword
  • Basquette, Linda
  • Baylis, John
  • Beck, Billy, 2 ALS
  • Behlmer, Rudy
  • Bernds, Edward, ALS
  • Biro, Frank, TLS
  • Bogert, Frank
  • Brakhage, Stan
  • Breslow, Larry
  • Bricher, Joe, ALS, PCS
  • Brown, Jr., Harry Joe
  • Burkett, Bartine [Zane]
  • Buxton, Frank
  • Carson, Johnny
  • Carter, Jack, ALS
  • Coca, Imogene
  • Coffey, Joe, ALS
  • Cohn, Joseph J.
  • Conway, Gary, ALS
  • Cosby, Bill
  • Coyle, John
  • Cress, Eddie, 6 ALS
  • Dahl, Arlene
  • Dardis, Tom
  • Day, Francisco (Chico), ALS
  • DiMucci, Dion
  • Dragga, Jack
  • Dugas, Frank
  • Dumbrille, Erwin
  • Fairbanks, Douglas, Jr.
  • Fennell, Kieth, ALS
  • Fiebelkorn, Kenneth & Helen, Fax
  • Fiedler, John
  • Foy, Eddie, 3rd
  • Franklin, Joe
  • Friedman, Arthur
  • Gabourie, Jr., Fred
  • Gilford, Madeline [Mrs. Jack]
  • Gill, Brendan
  • Gilliatt, Penelope
  • Ginsky, Marvin
  • Goldwyn, Samuel, Jr.
  • Goodman, Dody
  • Harper, Alan
  • Hodes, Roberta
  • Hunt, William E., PCS
  • Hutson, Edward, TLS, 3 ALS
  • Jacobs, Seaman
  • Jacobson, Arthur
  • Jennings, John, ALS
  • Josephson, Arthur, ALS
  • Kanter, Hal, TLS
  • Kaufman, Sheila, ALS, & Taylor, Sid
  • Kelly, Gene
  • Kerr, Walter
  • Kirk, Tom, ALS
  • Kramer, Stanley
  • Lamont, Charles
  • Lampart, Diane, ANS
  • Lester, Richard, TLS
  • Levy, Ralph
  • Lyons, John
  • Mason, Pamela, TLS
  • Marx, Sam, TLS
  • Mekas, Jonas
  • Miller, Patsy Ruth
  • Miner, Jan
  • Moore, Garry
  • Myers, Edna [Mrs. Sidney]
  • Nealis, Andy
  • Box 8:
  • Page, Anita
  • Pearson, Jean [Mrs. Ben], TLS
  • Perkins, Gil, ALS
  • Perrin, Nat
  • Pineda, Darrylin [Zarnick]
  • Potterton, Gerald, ALS
  • Rapf, Maurice
  • Randall, Julie
  • Randall, Tony
  • Riesner, Dean, TLS
  • Ronald, Gilbert
  • Rufman, Rose
  • Sanford, Linda
  • Saunders, Betty [Goulding], ALS
  • Schneider, Jean
  • Schoenfield, Berni, ALS
  • Sebert, John, ALS
  • Sedgwick, Eileen
  • Selznick, Irene [Mayer]
  • Sheldon, Sidney
  • Sheldon, Willard
  • Spotton, John, TLS
  • St. Johns, Elaine
  • Switkes, Willy, ALS
  • Sydow, Jack
  • Tegge, Shirley, ALS
  • Terry, Harold
  • Thomas, Richard Lyle
  • Tovar, Lupita [Kohner]
  • Tsu, Irene
  • Walton, Dorothy, 2 ALS
  • Walston, Ray
  • White, Sam, 3 ANS
  • Wilder, Billy
  • Wilk, Max
  • Wilson, John
  • Sub-Series: B. Records relating to family and friends of Keaton interviewed
  • Box 8:
  • Burr, Fritzi
  • Cowlan, Bert, TLS
  • Cox, Melissa Talmadge, ACS
  • DeLuis Carol [Arthur], 2 ALS
  • Dulo, Jane
  • Hoffman, Alan
  • Humble, Janet/Douglas, ALS
  • Karen, James, APC
  • Keaton, Eleanor [Widow]
  • Kelly, Jane [Norris]
  • Maizal, Trudi [Cowlan]
  • Moore, Harry, ALS, Fax
  • Reed, Susan [Karen]
  • Santos, Linda
  • Silva, Ruth
  • Talmadge, Jim [Grandson]
  • Talmadge, James (Joseph Taldmadge Keaton)
  • Sub-Series: C. Miscellaneous
  • Box 8:
  • Keaton party Tapes & Wason Transcripts
  • Letters Requesting Interviews - no response
  • Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Sub-Series: A. Correspondence with Keaton Researchers/Writers and Others; all folders contain letters from person named
  • Box 9:
  • Bengtson, John D., with copy of his booklet, Silent Echoes: 101 Locations from Buster Keaton's Classic Comedies - 1997
  • Borgen, Bob
  • Browlow, Kevin
  • Carmen, Chris
  • Carey, Gary
  • Dragga, Jack
  • Eyman, Scott
  • Fussell, Betty
  • Goss, Joel
  • Hoffman, Alan
  • Kramer, Peter
  • Kline, Jim, with a copy of The Complete Films of Buster Keaton - 1993
  • MacLeod, David
  • Paris, Barry
  • Rapf, Joanne
  • Skretvedt, Randy
  • Scott, Jason
  • Slide, Anthony
  • Stenn, David
  • Wolfe, Charles
  • Film Biographers & Miscellaneous contacts
  • Gimenez, Lance & Cynthia Clarke Keaton
  • Sub-Series: B. Correspondence with others who knew or [may have] met Keaton. The number of TLS and ALS from person named is noted; in some cases secretaries or others replied to Meade's letter, in others Meade has made notes for return phone calls
  • Box 10:
  • Allen, Steve, TLS
  • Arkoff, Samuel Z.
  • Barry, Gene, ALS
  • Berman, Pandro, TNS
  • Boardman, Eleanor
  • Brown, Heywood H., ALS
  • Capra, Frank R.
  • Cooper, Jackie
  • de Cordova, Fred, TLS
  • Deutsch, Helen
  • Dillon, Mick, ALS
  • Downs, Hugh
  • Edwards, Ann [Alice Faye]
  • Epstein, Jerry, TLS
  • Everson, William K., TLS
  • Fleming, Rhonda
  • Francis, Arlene, ANS
  • Franklin, Joan
  • Fountain, Leatrice [Gilbert], ALS
  • Funt, Allen, TLS
  • Giannini, George, ALS
  • Ginsberg, Allen
  • Gish, Lillian
  • Goodson, Mark, TLS
  • Hackett, Albert, ANS
  • Hart, Kitty Carlisle
  • Hawes, Lois Laure, TLSI
  • Hodges, Eddie, TL
  • Humble, Janet, TN
  • Hume, Kenneth, TLS
  • Hutton, Betty
  • Koch, Kenneth, ALS
  • Lamour, Dorothy
  • Lloyd, Norman, TLS
  • Lucas, Loyal T.
  • Mackenzie, Gisele, ANS
  • MacLaine, Shirley
  • Mastrangelo, Bob, 2 TLS
  • Matheson, Richard, TLS
  • McDowall, Roddy, TLS
  • Miller, Alice, Fax
  • ONeill, Charles,TLS
  • Riefenstahl, Leni, TLS, TNS
  • Romero, Cesar, ANS
  • Rooney, Mickey
  • Rosset, Barney, TLS
  • Schaefer, Natalie
  • Schickel, Richard, TLS
  • Schulberg, Budd
  • Shefler, Oscar, TLS
  • Sheldon, Addie O. [Mrs. Roscoe Arbuckle], ALS
  • Shengold, Dr. Leonard, TLS
  • Skelton, Red
  • Stack, Robert, TLS
  • Stecy, Charles, ALS
  • Turner Broadcasting, TLS
  • Vanderknuff, Rick, ALS
  • Vincent, Romo, [ALS from his widow]
  • Walley, Deborah, ALS
  • Series 4: CHRONOLOGICAL LOGS OUTLINING KEATON'S LIFE
  • Box 10:
  • Chronological Log - 1895
    These folders contain photocopies and notes
  • Chronological Log - 1896
  • Chronological Log - 1897
  • Chronological Log - 1898
  • Chronological Log - 1899
  • Chronological Log - 1900
  • Chronological Log - 1901
  • Chronological Log - 1902
  • Chronological Log - 1903
  • Box 11:
  • Chronological Log - 1904
  • Chronological Log - 1905
  • Chronological Log - 1906
  • Chronological Log - 1907
  • Chronological Log - 1908
  • Chronological Log - 1909
  • Chronological Log - 1910
  • Chronological Log - 1911
  • Chronological Log - 1912
  • Chronological Log - 1913
  • Chronological Log - 1914
  • Chronological Log - 1915
  • Chronological Log - 1916
  • Chronological Log - 1917
  • Chronological Log - 1918
  • Chronological Log - 1919
  • Chronological Log - 1920
  • Chronological Log - 1921
  • Chronological Log - 1922
  • Chronological Log - 1923
  • Chronological Log - 1924
  • Chronological Log - 1925
  • Box 12:
  • Chronological Log - 1926
  • Chronological Log - 1927
  • Chronological Log - 1928
  • Chronological Log - 1929
  • Chronological Log - 1930
  • Chronological Log - 1931
  • Chronological Log - 1932
  • Chronological Log - 1933
  • Chronological Log - 1934
  • Box 13:
  • Chronological Log - 1935
  • Chronological Log - 1936
  • Chronological Log - 1937
  • Chronological Log - 1938
  • Chronological Log - 1939
  • Chronological Log - 1940
  • Chronological Log - 1941
  • Chronological Log - 1942
  • Chronological Log - 1943
  • Chronological Log - 1944
  • Chronological Log - 1945
  • Chronological Log - 1946
  • Chronological Log - 1947
  • Chronological Log - 1948
  • Chronological Log - 1949
  • Chronological Log - 1950
  • Chronological Log - 1951
  • Chronological Log - 1952
  • Box 14:
  • Chronological Log - 1953
  • Chronological Log - 1954
  • Chronological Log - 1955
  • Chronological Log - 1956
  • Chronological Log - 1957
  • Chronological Log - 1958
  • Chronological Log - 1959
  • Chronological Log - 1960
  • Chronological Log - 1961
  • Chronological Log - 1962
  • Chronological Log - 1963
  • Chronological Log - 1964
  • Chronological Log - 1965
  • Chronological Log - 1966
  • Series 5: CUT TO THE CHASE PRODUCTION MATERIALS; PHOTO SELECTIONS, SAMPLE PAGE PROOFS, ETC.
  • Box 15:
  • Photo research
  • Photo sources
  • Miscellaneous photos
  • Jack Dragga photos
  • Joel Goss photos
  • Mary Davis photos
  • Cox, Melissa - Meade, Marion, [photos and slides of]
  • The General
  • Natalie Talmadge images
  • Sam White photos
  • Photofest xeroxes
  • Eleanor Keaton Loans
  • Houdini, Harry with Keaton, Arbuckle, and others (photocopy)
  • Miscellaneous sources
    2 folders
  • Portrait - line drawing of Keaton for (rejected) dustjacket
  • Cut to the Chase photo-insert; photocopies and draft captions
  • Harper Collins - sample page proofs, publicity materials, clippings of Keaton festival - 1995
  • Introduction and acknowledgements
  • Rejected jackets
  • Index pages in proof with notes on errors
  • London Sun Times Review
  • U.S. reviews
  • Letters received after publication from readers
  • De Capo Paper Edition, publicity materials for
  • Series 6: MANUSCRIPTS
  • Box 16:
  • Marion Meade, The Cameraman: A Life of Buster Keaton
    Original typescript of Cut to the Chase, pages [1-4], 1-702, 710-795
  • Box 17:
  • Marion Meade, The Cameraman: A Life of Buster Keaton
    A later version of the typescript, 705 pages, heavily marked with editiorial revisions
  • Print editions of Buster Keaton: Cut to the Chase catalogued for the "x" collection
  • New York: Harper Collins - 1995
    Advance prrofs
  • New York: Harper Collins - 1995
  • London: Bloomsbury - 1996
  • New York: Da Capo - 1997
    Trade paperback
  • Kevin Brownlow, "The Search for Buster Keaton"
    Unpublished mss. in 324 typescript pages
  • Box 18:
  • Joel Goss, "The Making of The General" - 1978
    Photocopy typescript, 15 pages
  • Alan Hoffman, "Buster"
    Photocopy typescript of 332 pages. 2 folders
  • Scott, Jason, "The Sellng of the Stone Face: Studio Marketing Practices & Keaton's The General" - 1989
    Typescript, 20 pages
  • Series 7: INTERVIEW TAPES
  • Sub-Series: Keaton's immediate family
  • Box 19:
  • Third wife/widow, Eleanor Norris Keaton
    Note: the description of these interviews is taken from Meade's inventory. The 87 cassettes are well-labeled but have not been placed in the boxes in the order indicated by this list
  • Son, James Talmadge
  • Granddaughter, Melissa Talmadge Cox
  • Grandson, Jim Talmadge
  • Sister-in-law, Jane Norris Kelly
  • Sub-Series: Keaton's friends
  • Box 19:
  • Actors James Karen, Carol Arthur DeLuise, Ruth Silva, Jane Dulo, and Fritzi Burr
  • Bert Cowlan
  • Trudi Cowlan Maizel
  • Folksinger, Susan Reed
  • Janet Humble and son Douglas
  • Friends of Keaton's widow
  • Sister Louise
  • Bob Borgen
  • Animator Alan Hoffman
  • John Jennings (classmate of Keaton's sons at Black Foxe School)
  • Linda Santos
  • Sub-Series: Vaudeville (1900-1917)
  • Box 19:
  • Dorothy Dana Walton (possibly only living person to have seen Keaton perform in vaudeville) - 1905
    Tape and letter
  • Eddie Foy 3rd
    Also on CD
  • Actress Eileen Sedgwick
  • Edward Hutson (son of Eileen Sedgwick and nephew of director Edward Sedgwick) The Cameraman - 1928
  • Sub-Series: Silent shorts and features (1918-1929)
  • Box 19:
  • Actors Douglas Fairbanks Jr., Gilbert Roland, Lina Basquette, Bartine Burkett Zane, Julie Randall, and Patsy Ruth Miller
  • Sheila Kaufman (niece of Viola Dana, silent star and Keaton girlfriend)
  • Darrylin Zanuck Pineda (daughter of Keaton leading lady Virginia Fox and Darryl Zanuck)
  • Fred Gabourie Jr. (son of Keaton technical director Fred Gabourie)
  • Elaine St. Johns (daughter of Hearst columnist Adela Rogers St. John)
  • Cameraman Frank Dugas - The Cameraman - 1928
  • Dean Reisner (aka silent child star Dinky Dean and son of comedy director Charles Reisner) Steamhoat Bill Jr. - 1928
  • John Coyne (son of Keaton studio carpenter Jack Coyne)
    Also on CD
  • Larry Breslow and Rose Rufman, son and sister of Marion Byron, leading lady in Steamboat Bill, Jr.
  • Betty Goulding Saunders, widow of silent director Alf Goulding.
  • Sub-Series: Individuals who worked on The General (1926)
  • Box 19:
  • Gene Woodward Barnes, Joe Bricher, Kieth Fennell, Harold Terry
  • Sub-Series: Sound shorts and feature films (1929-1965)
  • Box 20:
  • Directors Billy Wilder, William Asher, Sam Goldwyn, Jr., Stanley Kramer, Richard Lester, Jack Sydow, Gerald Potterton, Sam White, and Charles Lamont
  • Assistant directors Francisco "Chico" Day (and brother of actor Gilbert Roland), Andy Nealis, and Willard Sheldon
  • Actors Gene Kelly, Dody Goodman, Imogene Coca, Willy Switkes, John Baylis, Jan Miner, Tom Kirk, Arlene Dahl, Irene Tsu, Anita Page, Iris Adrian
    Jan Miner and Irene Tsu also on CD
  • Lupita Tovar Kohner (Keaton leading lady in An Old Spanish Custom) - 1935
  • William Bakewell
    Also on CD
  • Columbia sound editor Edward Bernds
  • MGM story editor Sam Marx
  • Screenwriters Maurice Rapf (son of MGM producer Harry Rapf) and Nat Perrin
    Maurice Rapf also on CD. 2 interviews
  • Stuntman Gil Perkins
  • MGM production manager J.J. (Joseph) Cohn
  • Harry Joe Brown, Jr., son of Sally Eilers (leading lady in Doughhoys and Parlor, Bedroom, and Bath) - 1930, 1931
  • Novelist Sidney Sheldon (director The Buster Keaton Story) - 1957
  • Pop singer Dion DiMucci
    Also on CD
  • Madeline Lee Gilford ( actress & widow of actor Jack Gilford)
  • Cameraman Joe Coffey (Samuel Beckett's Film) - 1965
  • Lyricist Diane Lampert
    Also on CD
  • Jean Schneider (widow of stage director Alan Schneider Film) - 1965
  • Edna Meyers (widow of film editor Sidney Meyers)
  • Documentarian John Spotton (Buster Keaton Rides Again) - 1965
  • Script supervisor Roberta Hodes (Film) - 1965
  • Stunt double Mick Dillon
  • Sub-Series: Television, commercials, and stage career (1949-1965)
  • Box 20:
  • TV host Garry Moore, TV director Ralph Levy, TV commercial directors Rudy Behlmer and John Lyons, summer theater director William E. Hunt; writers Seaman Jacobs, Hal Kanter, and Max Wilk; actors Ray Walston, Shirley Tegge, Jayne DuFrayne Abbott, Frank Buxton, Gary Conway, Frank Biro, and John Fiedler
  • TV producer Alan Harper, comedian/TV host
    Also on CD
  • Jack Carter, industrial film director John Sebert, photographer Sid Avery
    John Sebert also on CD
  • Sub-Series: Interviewees acquainted with Raymond Rohauer, film distributor, producer, & Keaton's business partner
  • Box 20:
  • Associates Jack Dragga and Joel Goss
  • Independent filmmakers Stan Brakhage and Jonas Mekas
  • Larry Austin (owner Silent Movie Theater in Los Angeles)
  • Richard Gordon
  • Kenneth and Helen Fiebelkorn (Rohauer's brother and sister-in-law)
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous personalities
  • Box 20:
  • Bill Cosby
  • Irene Mayer Selznick (daughter of Louis B. Mayer and wife of David O. Selznick)
  • Pamela Mason (actress, ex-wife James Mason, owner of Keaton's "Italian Villa" mansion)
  • New Yorker film critic Penelope Gilliatt and New York Times critic Walter Kerr
  • Clown Billy Beek
  • Actors Tony Randall and Arlene Dahl
  • Jean Pearson (talent agent & wife of Keaton's agent Ben Pearson)
    Also on CD
  • Glenn Massoth (descendent of the Haen family in whose Piqua, Kansas home Keaton was accidentally born)
  • Radio host Joe Franklin
  • New Yorker writer Brendan Gill
  • Film historian Anthony Slide
  • Frank Bogert (one-time mayor of Palm Springs)
  • Documentary filmmaker Kevin Brownlow
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous tapes
  • Box 20:
  • "Buster Keaton Party Tape" (Keaton singing ribald vaudeville ditties & accompanying himself on ukelele, made at Fifties social gathering) - 1950-1959
  • Taped session of Keaton discussing potential script for Wagon Train TV series with writer Bill Cox - 1952
  • Keaton taped interview with Prof Herbert Feinstein
    Audiocassette and CD
  • San Francisco State University - 1963
  • Transcript of taped interview with actress Marion Mack (The General) by Rick Vanderknyff - 1987
    Includes CDs made from the audiocassettes
  • Series 8: BOOKS ABOUT KEATON; VIDEO OF KEATON FILMS; MEADE'S BOOK IN VARIOUS EDITIONS
  • Sub-Series: Books about Keaton, all more or less heavily marked and annotated by Meade
  • Box 21:
  • Richard J.Anobile, editor. The Best of Buster: The Classic Comedy Scenes Direct from the Films of Buster Keaton. New York: Crown - 1976
    Introduction by Raymond Rohauer
  • Rudi Blesh. Keaton. New York: Macmillan - 1966
  • David N. Bruskin, interviewer. The White Brothers: Jack, Jules, & Sam White. Metuchen: The Directors Guild of America and the Scarecrow Press - 1990
  • Tom Dardis. Keaton: The Man Who Wouldn't Lie Down. New York: Limelight Editions - 1988
  • Andy Edmonds. New York: William Morrow - 1991
    Note: this book has been cataloged for the "x" collection as the library held no other copies
  • Buster Keaton with Charles Samuels. My Wonderful World of Slapstick. New York: Da Capo - 1987
    Paperback. New introduction by Dwight MacDonald
  • Daniel Moews. Keaton: The Silent Features Close Up. Berkeley: University of California - 1977
  • Charles Wead and George Lellis. The Film Career of Buster Keaton. Pleasantville, New York: Redgrave Publishing - 1977
  • Alice Miller. The Untouched Key: Tracing Childhood Trauma in Creativity and Destructiveness. New York: Doubleday - 1990
  • Sub-Series: Commerical videotapes of Keaton films
  • Box 21:
  • Buster on the Ed Sullivan Show and for "Simon Pure Beer." Video Images "Yesteryear" recording
  • Steamboat Bill Jr. Video Dimensions Classic Collectibles
  • The Boat, Electric House, and The Frozen North. Video Dimensions Classic Collectibles Volume 2
  • Dubarry. Foothill Video. ["Public Doman Specialists"]
  • Three Ages, The Goat, and My Wife's Relations. Kino Video
  • The General. Encore Video
  • Sub-Series: Tapes apparently copied or taped from broadcast
  • Box 21:
  • This is your life
  • Hollywood Cavalcade
  • San Diego I Love You
  • Sherlock Jr.
  • Free and Easy and Sidewalks of New York
  • The Three Ages, The Love Nest, Our Hospitality, The Baloonatic, Film, and Buster Keaton. AMC Festival - 1995
  • Seven Chances, Go West, and Battling Butler
  • The Paleface, Hard Luck, Electric House, The Blacksmith, Cops, and Wife's Relations
  • Buster Keaton biography. A&E, December 13 - 1995
  • Stuntmen, College, and Parlor
  • One Week, Scarecrow, The Saphead, Convict 13, Neighbors, The Goat, and The Boat
  • The Buster Keaton Story - 1957
  • Hollywood Comedy - Serious Business and Beach Blanket Bingo
  • "Bartine Zane aka Bartine Burkette"