Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the David Elderkin Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1966-2001
Creator: Elderkin, David (1913-2012)
Extent: 8.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: MSC0511
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Lawyer. Photocopies of correspondence, editorials, photographs, and speeches.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 1.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Mr. Elderkin in 1999-2000.

Preferred Citation: David Elderkin Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

David MacDuff Elderkin was born in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, on November 5, 1913, the son of Amos A. Elderkin and Elizabeth MacDuff. He graduated from Cedar Rapids High School in 1930 and the University of Iowa in 1935. In 1937, he received a law degree from the University and was admitted to the bar. During World War II, he served as a Captain in the U.S. Marine Corps in the Pacific area. From 1945 to 1950 he was an assistant county attorney in Linn County. Thereafter, he was a trial lawyer in private practice in Cedar Rapids. In 1966 -- 1967 he was president of the Iowa State Bar Association and in 1989 he was named Dean of the Iowa Academy of Trial Lawyers. He was the attorney for Roy J. Carver, the Muscatine, Iowa, industrialist, and he was also on the board of Copley Newspapers.

The Papers of David M. Elderkin, 1966 -- 1999, consist of two boxes (eight linear inches) of photocopies of correspondence, editorials, photographs, speeches, and other material of a distinguished Iowa lawyer. Original materials were retained by Mr. Elderkin. There is a considerable amount of correspondence with James S. Flansburg of The Des Moines Register. Mr. Elderkin wrote a number of editorials for The Cedar Rapids Gazette, and gave many talks at Iowa State Bar Association gatherings on current legal matters. Many of his editorials had to do with narcotics and crime. The collection contains photographs of Roy J. Carver, Alan B. Shepard, Richard M. Nixon, Archibald Cox, Dan Quayle, Jack Kemp, and Ronald Reagan.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: SPEECHES AND OPINION PIECES

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical material
  • Correspondence - 1966-1999
    Mostly letters to David M. Elderkin from lawyers
  • Correspondence with James Flansburg - 1978-1999
  • Editorials in The Cedar Rapids Gazette - 1978-2000
  • Editorials in The Des Moines Register and other publications - 1966-1999
  • Photographs
    Including pictures of Roy J. Carver, Alan B. Shepard, Richard M. Nixon, Archibald Cox, Dan Quayle, Jack Kemp, and Ronald Reagan
  • Series 2: SPEECHES AND OPINION PIECES
  • Box 1:
  • Bar Admission Ceremony - 1966
  • Bar Association Remarks, July 15 - 1993
  • Bench-Bar Conference, May - 1990
  • Cameras in Our Courtrooms
  • Carl Bowen Eulogy, April - 1998
  • Cedar Rapids Education Association, November - 1968
  • Cedar Rapids Rotary, October 4 - 1971
  • Citizens Conference on Iowa Courts, Keynote Address, September 16 - 1970
  • A Cold Winter
  • Confronting Racism
  • Copley Newspapers Board Meeting Dinner Remarks, December 15 - 1989
  • Critique, Iowa State Bar Asssociation, May 23 - 1968
  • Dr. Campbell Watts Founders Award Dinner, St. Luke's Health Care Foundation, October 23 - 1985
  • Drug Wars, July - 1991
  • Eagle Scout Award Remarks - 1980
  • From Ragsdale to Wisdom, undated
  • "Gleanings from Poor Elderkin's Almanac" and other writings
  • How Americans Respond to War: Agreeing to "Peace at Any Price" is Not the Answer. The Des Moines Register, Thursday, November 15 - 2001
  • In Defense of the Contingent Fee Contract, Iowa Academy of Trial Lawyers Seminar, January - 1980
  • Inflation - 1978
  • Iowa Defense Counsel Association Seminar, April 19 - 1974
  • Box 2:
  • Iowa State Bar Association Annual Speech - 1967
  • Iowa State Bar Association Annual Speech - 1972
  • Iowa State Bar Association Bulletin, January - 1968
  • The Irrelevance of Guilt - 1984
  • John J. Locher, Jr., Memorial Service, November 19 - 1970
  • Joseph Kinney Funeral, August 2 - 1990
  • Judge Harold Vietor, December 13 - 1996
  • Knock It Off, John, undated
  • The Law and Century III, Copley Conference, February - 1976
  • Law Day, U.S.A., Speech, May 1 - 1969
  • Loss of Service and Support of Husband and Father or Wife and Mother, Iowa Academy of Trial Lawyers Seminar - 1975
  • Medical Malpractice, Testimony before the Iowa Legislative Study Committee, September 9 - 1975
  • Medical Seminar, Iowa Academy of Trial Lawyers - 1975
  • Memorandum, July 6 - 1982
  • Michael W. O'Rieley, Linn County Bar Association - 1980
  • Minority Report, Ethics Committee, Iowa State Legislature - 1973
  • Naturalization Proceedings, Northern District of Iowa, Remarks, October 25 - 1988
  • News 'Sting' Leaves Uneasy Feeling, September 30 - 2000
  • Outbreak of Sanity': Make drugs legal. The Des Moines Register, Tuesday, July 31 - 2001
  • Protests and Elian [Gonzalez], undated
  • Public Forum on Living Wells, June 7 - 1990
  • Red Mass, Dyersville, Speech, September 11 - 1966
  • Reflections on the Trial Practice and Predictions for the New Millenium, March 5 - 1999
  • Remarks at Funeral of Edward H. Jones - 1986
  • Remarks at Retirement Ceremony for Judge Edward McManus, January 30 - 1985
  • Remarks at the Dinner of the Board of Governors of the Iowa State Bar Association, June 12 - 1984
  • Remarks at the Iowa Supreme Court Retirement Ceremony for Chief Justice Ward Reynoldson, September 15 - 1987
  • Remarks at the William Crissman Funeral
  • Remarks to the Washington Debate Society Banquet, May 15 - 1984
  • Remember the O. J. Simpson Trial. The Gazette, June 14 - 2001
  • Republican Judicial Convention Speech, Des Moines - 1950
  • The Role of the Law, The Iowa LS Profile, Winter - 1969-1970
  • St. Luke's Foundation Honoring Dr. W.J. Robb, Remarks, July - 1989
  • Sister Mary Lawrence Hallagan, A Eulogy, November 10 - 1999
  • Slick Willy, October 26 - 1998
  • So Sue Me - 1982
  • State of Iowa vs. Robert Cunningham Rutledge - 1949
    Elderkin's Argument to the Jury
  • The Trials of a President of a University - 1967
  • "Truth," Philosophy Class, University of Iowa - 1934
  • Verne Lawyer Remarks, February 17 - 1994
  • William Meardon Funeral Remarks
  • Who Writes of the Goodness of Mankind
  • Why's Why in Cedar Rapids - 1950
  • Words and Phrases Worth of the Dignity of Rational Men Born with a Heavy Determination to be a Sovereign State - 1981
  • Yrenro Grievance Committee vs. Max Putnam

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Carver, Roy James, 1909-1981

Corporate Names:
Copley Newspapers
Iowa State Bar Association

Topics:
Drug abuse and crime

Occupations:
Lawyers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Cedar Rapids
United States -- Iowa