Guide to the Byron Farwell Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1955-1989
Creator: Farwell, Byron (1921-1993)
Extent: 15.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0502
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Author and military historian. Primarily manuscripts including various drafts, galleys, and proofs for eleven of his books. Also contains draftof book reviews, short stories, and articles along with some subject files.

Administrative Information

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 7; Film/Video in Box 3; Floppy disks in Box 4.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Byron Farwell began giving his papers to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1981 and continued adding to the collection over the years.

Preferred Citation: Byron Farwell Papers,  The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Biographical Note

Byron E. Farwell was born on June 20, 1921, in Manchester, Iowa. He attended Ohio State University and the University of Chicago. In 1968 he earned his M.A. from the University of Chicago. Farwell served in the military for seven years and saw action in both World War II and Korea. After the service, he worked as the director of public relations and later director of administration for Chrysler International from 1959 -- 1971. Byron Farwell was the mayor of Hillsboro, Virginia from 1977 -- 1981. He was a member of both the Royal Geographical Society and the Royal Society of Literature.
 
A respected military historian, Farwell was the author of several books on 19th and early 20th century British military colonialism including Eminent Victorian Soldiers, Prisoners of the Mahdi, Queen Victoria's Little Wars, and Mr. Kipling's Army. He published biographies of Stonewall Jackson, Henry M. Stanley, and Sir Richard Francis Burton. His numerous articles and reviews appeared in the New York Times, Washington Post, American Heritage, Harper's, Horizon, Smithsonian Magazine, and many other periodicals. Byron Farwell was also a contributing editor to Military History and World War II as well as a contributor to Collier's Encyclopedia.
 
Farwell died August 3, 1993.


Content Description

The papers of Byron Farwell measure fifteen linear feet and date from 1955 -- 1989. Arranged alphabetically by subject, this collection consists primarily of his literary manuscripts. Eleven of Farwell's books are represented in great detail, from their conception right through the various drafts and galleys to the final page proofs. Some of the books included are: Armies of the Raj, The Man Who Presumed, Prisoners of the Mahdi, and Queen Victoria's Little Wars. Farwell's other writings such as his book reviews, short stories, and articles are also included. Subject files containing biographical information, a bibliography of his work, correspondence, literary receipts, and real estate information make up the rest of his papers.

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Dates:
20th century

Topics:
American Civil War, 1861-1865
Authors, American
Military history

Occupations:
Military historians

Geographic Names:
Great Britain
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Drafts (Documents)

Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Prose Writers