Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Byron Farwell Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1955-1989
Creator: Farwell, Byron (1921-1993)
Extent: 15.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0502
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Author and military historian. Primarily manuscripts including various drafts, galleys, and proofs for eleven of his books. Also contains draftof book reviews, short stories, and articles along with some subject files.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 7; Film/Video in Box 3; Floppy disks in Box 4.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Byron Farwell began giving his papers to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1981 and continued adding to the collection over the years.

Preferred Citation: Byron Farwell Papers,  The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Byron E. Farwell was born on June 20, 1921, in Manchester, Iowa. He attended Ohio State University and the University of Chicago. In 1968 he earned his M.A. from the University of Chicago. Farwell served in the military for seven years and saw action in both World War II and Korea. After the service, he worked as the director of public relations and later director of administration for Chrysler International from 1959 -- 1971. Byron Farwell was the mayor of Hillsboro, Virginia from 1977 -- 1981. He was a member of both the Royal Geographical Society and the Royal Society of Literature.
 
A respected military historian, Farwell was the author of several books on 19th and early 20th century British military colonialism including Eminent Victorian Soldiers, Prisoners of the Mahdi, Queen Victoria's Little Wars, and Mr. Kipling's Army. He published biographies of Stonewall Jackson, Henry M. Stanley, and Sir Richard Francis Burton. His numerous articles and reviews appeared in the New York Times, Washington Post, American Heritage, Harper's, Horizon, Smithsonian Magazine, and many other periodicals. Byron Farwell was also a contributing editor to Military History and World War II as well as a contributor to Collier's Encyclopedia.
 
Farwell died August 3, 1993.

The papers of Byron Farwell measure fifteen linear feet and date from 1955 -- 1989. Arranged alphabetically by subject, this collection consists primarily of his literary manuscripts. Eleven of Farwell's books are represented in great detail, from their conception right through the various drafts and galleys to the final page proofs. Some of the books included are: Armies of the Raj, The Man Who Presumed, Prisoners of the Mahdi, and Queen Victoria's Little Wars. Farwell's other writings such as his book reviews, short stories, and articles are also included. Subject files containing biographical information, a bibliography of his work, correspondence, literary receipts, and real estate information make up the rest of his papers.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Sub-Series: "Ad Ills"
  • Box 1:
  • Typescript draft
  • Sub-Series: Armies of the Raj
  • Box 1:
  • Holograph and typescript drafts of book idea
  • Holograph notes
  • Typescript draft
    4 folders
  • Corrections
  • Illustrative material with corresponding galley proofs
  • Additional material to be added to the galley
  • Printer's proofs with printer's marks
    3 folders
  • Typescript of index with printer's marks
  • Page proofs with with printer's marks
  • Blue-line proofs with printer's notess
  • Paste-up of page proofs
    3 folders
  • Uncorrected proofs
    2 folders
  • Box 2:
  • Uncorrected page proofs
  • Sub-Series: Ball's Bluff
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence - 1975-1976
  • Research notes
  • Holograph and typescript drafts of book idea
  • Holograph draft
    2 folders
  • Miscellaneous pages of holograph draft
  • Typescript draft with corrections
    3 folders
  • Incomplete typescript draft with revisions
    2 folders
  • Incomplete typescript draft with corrections and revisions
  • Sub-Series: Writings: Bi -- Br and biographical material
  • Box 2:
  • Bibliography of Byron Farwell's writing
  • Biographical material
  • Bodeen, DeWitt. Typescript of the screen adaptation of Mark Twain's The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn for Climax - 1955
  • "Brass and Scrambled Eggs"
    Typescript draft
  • "The British Concentration Camps: Women and Children in the Boer War"
    Typescript draft
  • Sub-Series: Burton
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence - 1957-1959
  • Correspondence - 1960-1978
  • Research notes
  • Bibliography - 1958
  • Chronologies
  • Typescript draft with corrections and revisions
    2 folders
  • Box 3:
  • Typescript draft with corrections and revisions
    2 folders
  • Miscellaneous pages of typescript draft
  • Correspondence relating to the Holt, Reinhart & Winston conflict - 1972-1972
  • Sub-Series: Writings: C -- El, clippings and correspondence
  • Box 3:
  • De Camoens, Luis. "The Lusaids"
  • "Can Hillsboro Help New York?"
    Incomplete typescript draft
  • Clippings - 1987-1989
  • Correspondence - 1957-1964
  • Correspondence - 1965-1969
  • Correspondence - 1970-1979
  • Correspondence - 1980-1989
  • "Diary of a Small Town Mayor"
    Typescript draft
  • "Diary of Mr. O. Jacobs"
    16 mm film
  • "The Dinner Partner"
    Typescript draft
  • "The Dogs of Hillsboro"
    Holograph draft
  • "Elections in Hillsboro"
    Typescript draft
  • Sub-Series: Eminent Victorian Soldiers
  • Box 3:
  • Incomplete holograph draft
  • Holograph draft
  • Typescript draft with corrections and revisions
    3 folders
  • Miscellaneous pages of typescript draft with corrections and revisions
  • Typescript draft
    2 folders
  • Box 4:
  • Typescript draft
  • Edited typescript with printer's marks
    2 folders
  • Printer's typescript
  • Printer's typescript
  • Galley proofs (photocopy)
  • Page proofs (photocopy)
  • Sub-Series: Writings: Ex -- Gr
  • Box 4:
  • "Exurbia: The Den and Its Denizens"
    Typescript draft
  • Floppy disks for various manuscripts
    2 folders
  • "The Gay Gordon: The Story of a Highland Regiment"
    Holograph and typescript draft of book idea
  • "The Great American Bus Ride"
    Typescript draft
  • The Great Anglo - Boer War Correspondence - 1976-1978
  • "The Great Indian Mutiny"
    Holograph and typescript drafts
  • "The Great Pennsylvania Tiger Hunt"
    Typescript draft
  • Sub-Series: The Great War in Africa
  • Box 4:
  • Research notes
  • Holograph draft with corrections and revisions
    2 folders
  • Incomplete holograph draft
  • Incomplete typescript draft
    2 folders
  • Box 5:
  • Incomplete typescript draft
    3 folders
  • Miscellaneous pages of typescript draft
  • Author's copy of the index
  • Printer's typescript
    3 folders
  • Galley proofs
  • Page proofs
  • Sub-Series: "Growth in Loudoun County"
  • Box 5:
  • Various typescript drafts
  • Sub-Series: The Gurkhas
  • Box 5:
  • Typescript carbon of book idea
  • Typescript draft
    3 folders
  • Miscellaneous pages of typescript draft, holograph corrections, and references
  • Sub-Series: Writings: H -- L, correspondence, and literary receipts
  • Box 5:
  • "The H.S. Newspaper as Literature"
    Holograph draft
  • "The Lady with the Lamp"
    Holograph and typescript draft
  • "Learning to Count"
    Typescript draft
  • "Let the Punishment Fit the Society"
    Typescript draft
  • "Life of General Grant" - 1976-1978
    Typescript draft of book idea and correspondence
  • Literary receipts - 1971-1978
  • "Lovely Loudoun" - 1986
    Typescript draft with correspondence
  • Sub-Series: The Man Who Presumed
  • Box 5:
  • Correspondence - 1955-1959, 1971
  • Research notes
  • Outline
    Carbon typescript
  • Box 6:
  • Notes for the typist
  • Tentative table of contents and outlines
  • Tentative table of contents and early typescript pages
  • Original typescript draft
    3 folders
  • Typescript drafts with corrections and revisions
    5 folders
  • Typescript carbon
    3 folders
  • Typescript carbon of assorted chapters
  • Typescript draft with editor's marks
    3 folders
  • Galley proofs
  • Galley proofs - master set
  • Page proofs
  • Title page layouts
  • Sub-Series: Writings: M
  • Box 7:
  • "A Matter of Growing Old"
    Various typescript drafts
  • Miscellaneous holograph research notes
  • Miscellaneous pages of typescript draft from various works
  • Sub-Series: Mr. Kipling's Army
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence - 1976-1981
  • Holograph draft with notes
    3 folders
  • Printer's typescript with corrections and revisions
    4 folders
  • Galley proof with corrections
  • Page and galley proofs of index with corrections
  • Page proofs with corrections
  • Blue-line proofs
    2 folders
  • Sub-Series: Writings: O -- P and photographs
  • Box 7:
  • "Our Inarticulate Soldiers"
    Typescript draft
  • "Our 'Tac Nukes': A Hair Trigger on Nuclear War"
    Holograph and typescript drafts
  • "The Phantom Confederate Officer"
    Holograph and typescript drafts
  • "A Photograph from Brian O'Neil"
    Typescript drafts of a poem
  • Photographs rejected from various works
  • Sub-Series: Prisoners of the Mahdi
  • Box 7:
  • Research notes and correspondence - 1962-1978
  • Holograph draft of book idea
  • Typescript drafts
    3 folders
  • Box 8:
  • Typescript drafts
  • Miscellaneous holograph notes from the editor
  • Galley proofs
  • Galley proofs
  • Page proofs
    2 folders
  • Sub-Series: Queen Victoria's Little Wars
  • Box 8:
  • Correspondence - 1964-1968
  • Research notes
  • Typescript draft of book idea and introduction
  • Typescript draft
    3 folders
  • Printer's typescript draft with corrections and revisions
    5 folders
  • Illustrations and selected bibliography
    Photocopy
  • Galley proofs
  • Galley proofs
  • Box 9:
  • Galley proofs of index
  • Incomplete page proofs
  • Incomplete page proofs with illustrations
  • Dust jacket
  • Sub-Series: "Readiness"
  • Box 9:
  • Typescript draft
  • Sub-Series: Real estate
  • Box 9:
  • Real estate - 1955-1962
  • Sub-Series: Reviews by Byron Farwell
  • Box 9:
  • A -- D
  • E -- G
  • H -- M
  • N -- P
  • Q -- S
  • T -- Z
  • Sub-Series: Writings: S -- So
  • Box 9:
  • "A Second Blast of the Trumpet Against the Monstrous Regiment of Women; or Right On John Knox"
    Typescript draft
  • "1776 and All That"
    Typescript drafts
  • "The Singapore Mutiny"
    Typescript drafts
  • "Small Town People and Their Ways"
    Holograph draft
  • Speech: "Military History - Pre-20th Century"
    Holograph and typescript drafts
  • "Soldiers of the Raj"
    Incomplete typescript
  • Sub-Series: Stonewall
  • Box 9:
  • Typescript draft of book idea
  • Research notes
  • Editor's typescript with corrections and revisions
    6 folders
  • Page proofs with corrections and revisions (Master set, 1st pass)
    2 folders
  • Box 10:
  • Page proofs with corrections and revisions (Master set, 1st pass)
    2 folders
  • Page proofs with printer's marks (Master set, 2nd pass)
    3 folders
  • Page proofs (Master set, 3rd pass)
    3 folders
  • Page proofs (Master set, Confirmation)
    3 folders
  • Typescript of index with printer's notes
  • Sub-Series: Writings: St -- W
  • Box 10:
  • "'Stonewall' Jackson: An Appreciation Speech" - 1989
  • "A Summing Up"
    Typescript draft
  • "The Supply Officer"
    Typescript draft
  • "Thornton Wilder"
    Typescript draft
  • "Uncle Ed's Great Parade," A guest column by Byron Farwell, New York Times Mirror - 1981
  • "The Unique, Inexplicable You"
    Holograph draft
  • Untitled book
    Holograph and typescript drafts, research notes, etc. 2 folders
  • "Upheaval in Hillsboro"
    Holograph and typescript drafts
  • "A Use for History"
    Typescript drafts
  • "VPI Talk"
    Holograph draft
  • "Views from the Ridge"
    Typescripts of Farwell's columns
  • "War Comes to East Africa"
    Typescript draft
  • "Who's Responsible?"
    Typescript drafts
  • "Women Warriors"
    Typescript draft