Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Roy E. Bazire Florida Environmental Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1955-1997
Creator: Bazire, Roy E. (1917-1998)
Extent: 10.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0493
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Environmental activist in Florida. Subject files, correspondence, minutes, newsletters, by-laws, published articles, etc., relating to conservation efforts and organizations in Southwest Florida . Much of the collection relates to the Environmental Confederation of South West Florida (ECOSWF) and the Sanibel-Captiva Conservation Federation (SCCF).

Alternate Extent Statement: Photograph Box 9, CD Box 9

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The Florida environmental records of Roy E. Bazire were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Mr. Bazire in 1996 and 1998.

Preferred Citation: Roy E. Bazire Florida Environmental Records , The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Roy E. Bazire (1917-1998) is a 1939 graduate of the University of Iowa. His conservation work began in 1959 when he became president of the Sanibel-Captiva Audubon Society. He helped direct the effort to create a wildlife sanctuary that was later incorporated into the Jay N. "Ding" Darling Wildlife Refuge. He was a founding director and officer of the Sanibel-Captiva Conservation Foundation, serving as chairman of the board and later executive director. He served for at least fifteen years on the board of the Florida Nature Conservancy, and was vice-president for southwestern Florida. Along with Joel Kuperberg, he initiated the Environmental Confederation of South West Florida (ECOSWF) and was its first President. Roy E. Bazire was actively involved in numerous other environmental groups in Florida. Roy Bazire died in Iowa City, Iowa in November, 1998.

The Florida environmental records of Roy E. Bazire consist of ten and one half linear feet of manuscripts that date from 1955 to 1997. They are arranged in four separate series: 1) Sanibel, Florida; 2) Environmental Confederation of South West Florida; 3) Conservation Organizations; and 4) Documents. The divisions and folder titles are basically those used by Roy Bazire as he collected and organized these records. Material relating to certain subjects and organizations (such as Sanibel Island, the Sanibel-Captiva Conservation Foundation, the National Audubon Society, etc.) appear in more than one series, as per the donor's original arrangement.

The first series relates more or less directly to the conservation efforts on Sanibel Island. The Sanibel-Captiva Conservation Foundation, Inc., was a grassroots organization that set out to preserve the islands and control development. It was the direct successor of the J.N. "Ding" Darling Memorial Committee that worked with the Sanibel-Captiva Audubon Society as well as the Florida Audubon Society to create the J.N. "Ding" Darling Wildlife Refuge in the 1960s. The activities of these organizations are well documented with committee minutes and reports, correspondence from such notable people as Marjory Stoneman Douglas, land acquisition records, maps, etc. Roy Bazire's personal papers relating to Sanibel are also included here.

The next section concerns the Environmental Confederation of South West Florida (ECOSWF). ECOSWF was organized in 1969 as a five-county coalition to protect the conservation interests in South West Florida. This section makes up the bulk of the collection and traces the coalition's history from the first planning conference, through annual records, by-laws, finances, and membership rolls. Projects, research, and workshops sponsored by ECOSWF are included as well.

The third series documents an amazing number of Conservation organizations that formed in Florida during the 1960s and 1970s. Most were citizen environmental groups, ranging from Florida Defenders of the Environment to the Junior Museum & Planetarium of Lee County.

The materials gathered in the final section under the title "Documents" consist primarily of published articles, papers, reports, newsletters, etc., documenting the Florida environmental scene. There are also preliminary reports, conference papers, and legislative statements filed in this series. An addendum was added in 1998, which includes a cross section of materials.
Marjory StonemanDouglas web site

Environmental Confederationof South West Florida (ECOSWF)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: SANIBEL, FLORIDA
Series 2: ENVIRONMENTAL CONFEDERATION OF SOUTH WEST FLORIDA (ECOSWF)
Series 3: CONSERVATION ORGANIZATIONS
Series 4: DOCUMENTS
Series 5: 1998 ADDENDUM
Series 6: 2005 ADDENDUM

  • Series 1: SANIBEL, FLORIDA
  • Sub-Series: Roy Bazire: Personal Files
  • Box 1:
  • Conservation award, including a letter from Willard L. Boyd - 1975
  • Correspondence - 1956-1997
  • Jay Norwood "Darling" Captiva home - 1976-1979
  • Hunter Moss correspondence - 1968-1972
  • Lee County schools award - 1987-1988
  • Marjory Stoneman Douglas correspondence - 1969-1994
  • Sub-Series: Jay N. "Ding" Darling National Wildlife Refuge
  • Box 1:
  • Pre-Darling committee sanctuary efforts. Sanibel-Captiva Audubon Society and Florida Audubon Society - 1959-1984
  • Committee - 1962-1969
  • Concept plan - 1967
  • Dedication - 1977-1978
  • Establishment - 1970-1976
  • Proposed history project - 1984
  • Sub-Series: Sanibel-Captiva Conservation Foundation (SCCF)
  • Box 1:
  • Annual conservation conference; planning - 1970
  • Basic projects - 1969-1972
  • Bazire contract and resignation from the Board of Directors - 1970-1973
  • Bazire/National Audubon Society - 1970
  • Board meetings, agendas, etc. - 1972
  • Brochures, by-laws, articles, etc. - 1972-1992
  • Conference (2 folders). January - 1972, 1971-1972
  • Early planning - 1958-1960
  • Trailer park issue - 1967
  • University of Iowa aid; including a letter from Howard Bowen - 1958-1982
  • Finances - 1968-1973
  • Membership reports - 1970-1972
  • Planning Board, Including a letter from Howard Bowen (3 folders) - 1958-1982
  • Finances - 1968-1973
  • Membership reports - 1970-1972
  • Planning Board, Inc. (3 folders) - 1970-1974
  • Planning Board, Inc.: Bridge committee - 1970-1971
  • Planning Board, Inc.: Planning Committee - 1968-1970
  • Planning Board, Inc.: Sign committee - 1970-1973
  • Sub-Series: Sanibel Wetlands
  • Box 1:
  • Sanibel Wetlands: Land Acquisitions
  • Overall proposals - 1969-1973
  • Box 2:
  • "Appraisal Report of Certain Lands in the Sanibel Wetlands Recreation Area" by Ronald F. Tansill. July - 1972
  • Sub-Series: Bureau of Outdoor Recreation (BOR)
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence - 1969-1974
  • Assistant Secretary for Fish and Wildlife in Parks - 1971-1973
  • Bailey land acquisition - 1970-1973
  • Bureau of Sport Fisheries and Wildlife - 1970-1972
  • Dewitt land acquisition - 1970-1973
  • Federal and Florida agencies - 1972-1973
  • Florida Board of Parks and State of Florida Department of Natural Resources - 1969-1972
  • Grimes/Goebel land acquisition - 1970-1973
  • Harper/Bostick/Taylor: Mariner Properties Inc. land acquisitions - 1970-1974
  • Lands omitted from U.S. surveys - 1970-1973
  • Lee County Board of County Commissioners - 1970
  • Legal issues - 1971
  • McClure land acquisition (2 folders) - 1967-1973
  • National Audubon Society - 1970-1972
  • Nature Conservancy (3 folders) - 1970-1971
  • Newman land acquisition - 1968-1973
  • Parrish/Sawbridge land acquisition - 1970-1973
  • Private land acquisitions: approached/no action - 1968-1975
  • Roberts land acquisition - 1969-1973
  • Sanibel Gardens Development land acquisition (2 folders) - 1968-1973
  • Sanibel Properties Inc. land acquisition - 1970-1972
  • Sub-Series: Maps and Plats
  • Box 2:
  • Maps of wetlands area with proposed and actual purchases - 1972-1978
  • Survey plats of individual tracts of land on Sanibel Island - 1962-1973
  • Series 2: ENVIRONMENTAL CONFEDERATION OF SOUTH WEST FLORIDA (ECOSWF)
  • Sub-Series: History
  • Box 2:
  • History of the organization - 1970-1995
  • Sub-Series: Records
  • Box 2:
  • Annual records (2 folders) - 1971
  • Box 3:
  • Annual records (3 folders) - 1972
  • Annual records (2 folders) - 1973
  • Annual records (2 folders) - 1974
  • Annual records: newspaper clippings - 1972-1974
  • Annual records (2 folders) - 1975
  • Annual records (2 folders) - 1976
  • Annual records (3 folders) - 1977
  • Annual records (3 folders) - 1978
  • Box 4:
  • Annual records (2 folders) - 1979
  • Annual records - 1980
  • Annual records - 1981
  • Annual records - 1982-1996
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous
  • Box 4:
  • Bazire: conflict of interest - 1975
  • By-laws - 1972-1986
  • Communications proposal - 1977
  • Finances: Grants and correspondence - 1975-1979
  • Receipts and correspondence - 1974
  • Receipts and correspondence - 1975
  • Receipts and correspondence - 1976
  • Receipts and correspondence - 1977
  • Receipts and correspondence - 1978
  • Receipts and correspondence - 1979
  • Receipts and correspondence - 1980
  • Membership correspondence (3 folders) - 1974-1979
  • Membership rolls - 1971-1981
  • Sub-Series: Projects
  • Box 4:
  • Charlotte Harbor seaport - 1974-1976
  • Coastal zone management - 1974-1977
  • Critical area nomination (2 folders) - 1975-1976
  • Box 5:
  • Critical area nomination: Charlotte Harbor resource: Planning and management committee - 1978-1981
  • Charlotte Harbor resource: Cruise - 1977
  • Charlotte Harbor resource: ENFO Newsletter and Planning progress through citizen action document - 1978
  • Charlotte Harbor resource: Summary of status to October - 1977
  • Developments of regional interest: Estuaries, Lee County - 1975-1977
  • Developments: Marco Island - 1975
  • Developments: Myakka estates - 1975
  • Developments: Punta Gordo Isles - 1975-1976
  • Developments: South Gulf Cove - 1975-1977
  • Environmental inventory: Five county packet - 1969-1978
  • Environmental inventory: Revision - 1975
  • Environmental inventory: Sarasota revision - 1975
  • Land protection: Barefoot Beach, Matanzas Pass, Six Mile Cypress, and Flatford Swamp - 1975-1978
  • Land protection: Cayo Costa Island plan - 1974-1978
  • Land protection: Environmentally endangered lands program - 1975
  • Land protection: Myakka River - 1975-1980
  • Marine protection programs: Aquatic preserves - 1979
  • Marine protection programs: Marine sanctuaries - 1975
  • Marine protection programs: Wild and scenic rivers - 1978
  • Regional planning conference: Agenda, panels, reservations, etc. November - 1974
  • Regional planning conference: Art Marshall's paper
  • Regional planning conference: Panels and panelists
  • Conference: Post-conference analysis
  • Regional planning conference: Transcript
  • Research: J.N. "Ding" Darling environmental research fund - 1978-1980
  • Research: New College (Sarasota, Florida) - 1975-1977
  • Research: University of Florida-boat - 1972
  • Special workshops: Barrier Islands - 1976
  • Special workshops: Energy systems - 1975
  • Special workshops: Environmental fair - 1977-1978
  • Special Workshops: Private property - 1976
  • Special workshops: Regional airport - 1977
  • Series 3: CONSERVATION ORGANIZATIONS
  • Box 5:
  • Florida Audubon Society - 1975-1978
  • Florida Conservation Foundation. Environmental information center - 1976-1979
  • Florida Defenders of the Environment - 1978
  • Florida Nature Conservancy - 1976-1982
  • Junior Museum and Planetarium of Lee County (2 folders) - 1973-1978
  • Box 6:
  • Miscellaneous organizations - 1968-1979
  • Pioneer Education Foundation and Koreshan University - 1973-1981
  • Sanibel-Captiva Audubon Society - 1960-1975
  • Sanibel-Captiva Chamber of Commerce - 1967-1968
  • Sanibel Island Land Investment Corporation - 1968-1969
  • Sanibel Rocks. Property owners association - 1962
  • Sanibel "Think Tank" - 1969-1970
  • Series 4: DOCUMENTS
  • Box 6:
  • About the state comprehensive plan - 1976
  • The American Eagle for the Wise Use of Natural Resources (8 folders) - 1970-1981
  • Aquatic preserve. Proposed and existing legislation - 1975
  • Atlas of environmental jurisdictions in Florida - 1976-1977
  • Barrier Islands: an endangered resource - 1977
  • "Beach processes and inlet dynamics in a barrier island chain" by Judson Harvey - 1979
  • "Botanical, geological, and sociological factors affecting the management of the Barrier Islands adjacent to Stump Pass" by William Reynolds - 1976
  • Charlotte Harbor: a Florida resource
  • Charlotte Harbor aquatic preserve - 1979
  • "The climate of Florida's deep water ports" by Shepley Cleaves - 1975
  • Coastal zone management in Florida - 1971
  • Development of regional impact assessment for "The Estuaries" - 1976
  • "The effects of natural forces on the development and maintenance of the Everglades" by Frank Craighead - 1973
  • Energy analysis as a common basis for optimally combining man's activities and nature - 1974
  • ENFO Newsletter - 1973-1978
  • "An environmental assessment of North Captiva Island" by Sandy Morrill and Judson Harvey - 1980
  • "The environmental control jungle" by F.A. Eidsness - 1971
  • Environmental studies program. New College of the University of Southern Florida - 1977-1978
  • Everglades wilderness study - 1974
  • Florida aquatic preserve rules - 1979
  • The Florida coastal management program workshop - 1977
  • Florida energy policy statement
  • Florida environmentally endangered lands plan
  • Florida Keys area of critical state concern - 1974-1975
  • Florida resources - 1972
  • Box 7:
  • Fourth annual conference on the restoration of coastal vegetation in Florida
    1977
  • General energy systems basis theories and concepts - 1974
  • Governor Graham's legislative program: transportation - 1980
  • Guide to written and graphic information of the Charlotte Harbor estuarine region - 1975
  • "An introduction to the natural systems: Coastal Southwest Florida" by Bob Mack - 1978
  • Jan N. "Ding" Darling; articles about Darling - 1972-1974
  • Lee County comprehensive plan - 1979
  • Management of the national wildlife refuge system - 1978
  • Native plants of Sanibel and Captiva Islands - 1960
  • "Native trees and shrubs for Sanibel-Captiva landscaping" by Mada M. Harrison - 1973
  • "Natural areas of necessary components of man's total environment" by Odum and Odum
  • The natural history of Cayo-Costa Island by Stanley Herwitz - 1977
  • Newspaper clippings - 1970-1988
  • Optimum land use for individuals and communities through general energy systems concepts - 1975
  • "Patterns of succession on Spoil Islands" by Paul Carlson - 1972
  • Proposal for declaration of Sanibel-Captiva as critical state area
  • A proposal for the study of tidal creeks of Southwest Florida - 1976
  • A proposed system of aquatic preserves - 1968
  • Recreation in the coastal zone - 12975
  • Review of major Barrier Islands of the United States - 1977
  • Rules of the Florida department of pollution control - 1972
  • Six Mile Cypress Swamp
  • Statement for management of the Big Cypress National Preserve - 1976
  • A statement to Reubin O'Donovan Askew - 1973
  • Suggested state policy and criteria for coastal management in Florida - 1976
  • "A survey of the sphingidae of Sanibel Island, Florida" by C. Hugh Brown - 1976
  • Thoughts on energy , energetics, and energize - 1974
  • Undeveloped coastal barriers: definitions and delineation criteria - 1982
  • "The vegetation of Sanibel Island, Lee County, Florida" by George R. Cooley - 1955
  • Series 5: 1998 ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: Documents and Papers
  • Box 8:
  • Sanibel-Captiva Conservation Foundation, Inc. initial program and basic goals - 1968-1978
  • Sanibel land acquisition program - 1969-1977
  • Sanibel planning - 1958-1975
  • Douglas, Marjory Stoneman. Correspondence, including the obituary of Mrs. Douglas - 1972-1993
  • Environmental Confederation of South West Florida (ECOSWF). Annual records (5 folders) - 1970-1980
  • Biscayne Bay Aquatic Preserve - 1979-1980
  • "Cape Coral water quality investigation"; preliminary draft
  • ENFO Newsletter - 1972-1980
  • "Epiphytic lichens as biological indicators of atmospheric pollution." Research proposal by Carol Ann Sirko
  • Florida Coastal Coordinating Council. Coastal Zone Management in Florida - 1971
  • Sub-Series: Florida Power & Light Company
  • Box 8:
  • Atlas of Environmental Jurisdictions in Florida
  • Ten Year Power Plant Site Plan - 1979-1988
  • J.N. "Ding" Darling National Wildlife Refuge. A prospectus
  • The J.N. "Ding" Darling Foundation, Inc. A Report on Activities
  • The National Heritage Policy Act
  • "The regulatory needs of Florida's aquatic preserves"
  • Sanibel-Captiva Conservation Foundation, Inc.: Animal drawings by Ann Winterbotham
  • Sanibel-Captiva Conservation Foundation, Inc.: Reports, bylaws, etc.
  • Sanibel Island property development plan. Vines & Associates, Inc.
  • Sasaki, Dawson, DeMay Associates, Inc.: brochures
  • Sub-Series: Florida Conservation Organizations
  • Box 8:
  • Caretta research - 1974-1975
  • Environmental Information Center - 1973-1975
  • Florida Audubon Society - 1974-1979
  • Florida Defenders of the Environment - 1980-1981
  • Florida Nature Conservancy bylaws, brochures, etc. - 1976-1980
  • Florida Nature Conservancy Correspondence (3 folders) - 1973-1981
  • Florida Nature Conservancy: Land preservation projects: Big Smokehouse Key - 1977-1978
  • Florida Nature Conservancy: Land preservation projects: Cayo Costa Eagles Nest - 1978
  • Florida Nature Conservancy: Land preservation projects: Estuaries - 1977
  • Florida Nature Conservancy: Land preservation projects: MacArthur-Sarasota - 1978
  • Florida Nature Conservancy: Land preservation projects: Matanzas Pass - 1974-1982
  • Florida Nature Conservancy: Land preservation projects: Osborne tract - 1979
  • Florida Nature Conservancy: Land preservation projects: Perico Island - 1972-1978
  • Florida Nature Conservancy: Land preservation projects: Six Mile Cypress - 1975-1979
  • Junior Museum and Planetarium of Lee County: Bylaws, site evaluation, etc. - 1971-1977
  • Junior Museum and Planetarium of Lee County: Correspondence (2 folders) - 1975-1980
  • Obituary for Roy E. Bazire - 1998
  • Series 6: 2005 ADDENDUM
  • Box 9:
  • Account book
  • Correspondence: October - December - 1935-1936
  • Correspondence - 1937-1944
  • Color photograph of Bazire on CD in jpg and tiff format. Taken by Philip Fantasia; August 15 - 2005