Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Iowa Library Association Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1890-2007
Creator: Iowa Library Association
Extent: 48.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0491
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: ILA was founded in Des Moines, IA in 1890 to make library service readily available to all Iowans. These records document the organization's history and current activities with reports, minutes, correspondence, photographs, district meeting files, ledgers, and membership lists.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Boxes 4, 53-72, 75, 86, Oversized Box; Audio Materials in Box 37.

Access: All records less than ten years old may be viewed only upon the authorization of the Iowa Library Association, its Executive Board, or any other person or persons designated by the Association or its Board. The remainder of the collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Iowa Library Association Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The Iowa Library Association was founded in Des Moines, Iowa, in 1890. Known as the Iowa Library Society until 1897, its original organizers included Ada North, Mary Miller, T. S. Parvin, Clara M. Smith, and Clara C. Dwight. Its primary goal was to make library service available to all Iowans. This goal has not changed in over a century. Other views have changed dramatically, especially stands on censorship. When the association was founded in the 19th century, censorship in the service of high ideals was not simply tolerated ... it was an important philosophical principle of librarianship. Now the emphasis is on intellectual freedom. Beginning in the 1950s efforts to increase cooperation between libraries became a major theme. The Open Access program is one example of the trend toward multitype cooperation, bringing public, school, academic, and special librarians together to more effectively and efficiently use their combined resources to meet the needs of their patrons. Improving library service in the state remains the primary focus of the Iowa Library Association.

The records of the Iowa Library Association measure 38.5 linear feet (77 boxes) and date from 1890 through 1996, with new materials being added every few years. Arranged chronologically within an alphabetical sequence, each new addition is organized as a group unto itself maintaining the basic chronological/alphabetical order. The records document the history and activities of the ILA with subject files, publications, photographs, and correspondence. Conferences, district meetings, various board and committee minutes, reports, financial statements, etc. all contribute to the overall organizational picture. Some of the better documented committees and activities are the Association of College and Research Libraries, the Centennial Library History Project, the Intellectual Freedom Committee, the Special Libraries Roundtables, and the Governmental Affairs Committee.

Correspondence and photographs are found throughout the collection. The 1996 Addendum contains ten boxes of photographs. The various correspondence files include letters from Paul H. Cunningham, H.R. Gross, Leo A. Hoegh, Bourke B. Hickenlooper, Ben F. Jensen, W. Earl Hall, Kenneth MacDonald, Thomas E. Martin, Fred Schwengel, and William W. Waymack. Copies of the publication the Catalyst are also included.

Notes on the 2009 Addendum: If you cannot locate materials alphabetically under group title check Miscellaneous Information folders. Over time group titles change or incorporate additional groups for example: Annual Reports often include Committee Reports and Triennial Reports, Government Documents Round Table includes the Government Documents Section, and District Meetings are also called Spring Meetings. Undated material is found at the front of each folder. Conference and event folders may contain prior correspondence leading up to the year of the event. Conference speaker folders are organized by grouping individual speaker information.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: APRIL 1985 ADDITION
Series 3: 1989 ADDENDUM
Series 4: OCTOBER 1989 ADDITION
Series 5: OCTOBER 1990 ADDITION
Series 6: 1993 ADDENDUM
Series 7: 1996 ADDENDUM
Series 8: 1997 ADDENDUM
Series 9: 2009 ADDENDUM
Series 10: OVERSIZED MATERIAL
Series 11: 2011 ADDENDUM
Series 12: 2012 ADDENDUM

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Collection List
  • Conferences - 1890-1906
    17 folders
  • District Meetings - 1906
  • Minutes of conferences - 1890-1904
  • Minutes - 1890-1906
  • Commission Minutes - 1900-1906
  • Membership - 1900-1908
  • Library Commission - 1901-1908
  • Miscellaneous - 1904-1908
  • Conference - 1907
  • District Meetings - 1907
  • Executive Board - 1907
  • Conference - 1908
  • District Meetings - 1908
  • Executive Board - 1908
  • Box 2:
  • Conference - 1909
  • District Meetings - 1909
  • Conference - 1910
  • District Meetings - 1910
  • Executive Board - 1910
  • Conference - 1911
  • Constitution and By-laws - 1911
  • District Meetings - 1911
  • Conference - 1912
  • District Meetings - 1912
  • Conference - 1913
  • District Meetings - 1913
  • Commission Minutes - 1907-1913
  • Conference - 1914
  • District Meetings - 1914
  • Conference - 1915
  • District Meetings - 1915
  • Conference - 1916
  • District Meetings - 1916
  • Conference - 1917
  • District Meetings - 1917-1918
    2 folders
  • Conference - 1919
  • District Meetings - 1919
  • Conference - 1920
  • District Meetings - 1920
  • Conference - 1921
  • District Meetings - 1921
  • Conference - 1922
  • District Meetings - 1922
  • Conference - 1923
  • District Meeting - 1923
  • Conference - 1924
  • District Meetings - 1924
  • Conference - 1925
  • District Meetings - 1925
  • Conference - 1926
  • District Meetings - 1926
  • Conference - 1927
  • District Meetings - 1927
  • Conference - 1928
  • District Meetings - 1928
  • Conference - 1929
  • Constitution and By-laws - 1929
  • District Meetings - 1929
  • Conference - 1930
  • District Meetings - 1930
  • Financial ledger - 1928-1930
  • Box 3:
  • Conference - 1931
  • District Meetings - 1931
  • Five State Regional Conference - 1932
    6 folders
  • District Meetings - 1932
  • Conference - 1933
  • District Meetings - 1933
  • Conference - 1934
  • District Meetings - 1934
  • Conference - 1935
  • District Meetings - 1935
  • Conference - 1936
  • District Meetings - 1936
  • District Meeting attendance history - 1907-1936
  • Minutes - 1933-1936
  • Conference - 1937
  • District Meetings - 1937
  • Conference - 1938
  • District Meetings - 1938
  • Spicer, Thelma. "A Study of Iowa Libraries" - 1938
  • Box 4:
  • Conference - 1939
  • District Meetings - 1939
  • Financial ledger - 1931-1939
  • Receipts ledger - 1939
  • State Library Reorganization - 1939
  • The Catalyst,Correspondence - 1940
  • Conference - 1940
  • Scrapbook - Conferences - 1938-1940
  • Scrapbook - Conference - 1940
  • Constitution and By-laws - 1940
  • District Meetings - 1940
  • Executive Board - 1940
  • Framed photograph of Fiftieth Annual Conference - 1939
    Loose on shelf
  • Box 5:
  • Conference - 1941
    1 folder, 1 scrapbook
  • District Meetings - 1941
    1 folder, 1 scrapbook
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1941
  • Suggestions for Code book for ILA Conventions - 1941
  • Library Legislation - 1937-1941
  • Lucas County Rural Library Project - 1939-1941
  • Publicity Committee Report - 1940-1941
  • Rural Library Service in Iowa - 1940-1941
  • Board on Action - 1940-1942
  • District Meetings - 1942
  • Box 6:
  • District Meetings Scrapbook - 1942
  • Executive Board Minutes - 1942
  • Iowa Council for Better Education - 1942
  • Newsflash - 1942
  • War Institutes - 1942
  • District Meetings - 1943
  • Newsflash - 1943
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1943
  • Conference Newspaper - 1944
  • Correspondence - 1944
  • District Meetings - 1944
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1944
  • Newsflash - 1944
  • Financial ledger - 1939-1944
  • Membership Record ledger - 1941-1944
  • Committee on Cooperation Between School and Public Libraries - 1941-1945
  • Conference Magazine - 1945
  • Executive Board - 1945
  • District Meetings - 1945
    1 folder, 1 scrapbook
  • Newsflash - 1945
  • Conference - 1946
  • Box 7:
  • Conference Scrapbook - 1946
  • District Meetings - 1946
    1 folder, 1 scrapbook
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1946
  • Newsflash - 1946
  • Conference - 1947
  • District Meetings - 1947
    1 folder, 1 scrapbook
  • Executive Board - 1947
  • Newsflash - 1947
  • Conference - 1948
    1 folder, 1 scrapbook
  • Constitution and By-laws - 1948
  • District Meetings - 1948
    1 folder, 1 scrapbook
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1948
  • Treasurer's Report - 1948
  • Committees - 1949
  • Membership ledger - 1944-1947
    Shrink wrapped and lying on shelf
  • Membership ledger - 1947-1949
    Shrink wrapped and lying on shelf
  • Financial ledger - 1944-1949
    Shrink wrapped and lying on shelf
  • Conference Scrapbook - 1949
    Shrink wrapped and lying on shelf
  • Membership ledger - 1949-1951
    Shrink wrapped and lying on shelf
  • Box 8:
  • Conference - 1949
    1 folder, 1 scrapbook
  • Constitution and By-laws - 1949
  • District Meetings - 1949
    1 folder, 1 scrapbook
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1949
  • Legislative Committee - 1949
  • Newsflash - 1949
  • Treasurer's Report - 1949
  • Committees - 1950
  • Conference - 1950
    1 folder, 1 scrapbook
  • County Libraries for Iowa - 1950
  • District Meetings - 1950
    1 folder, 1 scrapbook
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1950
  • Treasurer's Report - 1950
  • Committees - 1951
  • Conference - 1951
    1 folder, 1 scrapbook
  • District Meetings - 1951
  • Box 9:
  • District Meetings Scrapbook - 1951
  • Duties of officers and committees - 1951
    3 copies
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1951
  • Treasurer's Report - 1951
  • Conference - 1952
    1 folder, 1 scrapbook
  • Correspondence - 1952
  • District Meetings - 1952
    1 folder, 1 scrapbook
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1952
  • Projects - 1952
  • Treasurer's Report - 1952
  • Financial ledger - 1950-1952
  • Committees - 1953
  • Box 10:
  • Conference - 1953
    1 folder, 1 scrapbook
  • Correspondence - 1953
  • District Meetings - 1953
    1 folder, 1 scrapbook
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1953
  • Exhibitors - 1953
  • Treasurer's Report - 1953
  • Committees - 1954
  • Conference - 1954
    1 folder, 1 scrapbook
  • Constitution and By-laws - 1954
  • Correspondence - 1954
  • District Meetings - 1954
    1 folder, 1 scrapbook
  • Box 11:
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1954
  • Exhibit - 1954
  • Iowa Council for Better Education - 1954
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1954
  • Membership - 1954
  • Treasurer's Report - 1954
  • Trustee's Manual - 1954
  • White House Conference on Education and Prelude to Governor's Conference on Education - 1954
  • Bill Creating Trustee Board for State Traveling Library - 1955
  • The Catalyst, correspondence - 1955
  • Committees - 1955
  • Conference - 1955
    1 folder, 1 scrapbook
  • Correspondence - 1955
    3 folders
  • District Meetings - 1955
  • Box 12:
  • District Meetings Scrapbook - 1955
  • Executive Board - 1955
  • Exhibits - 1955
  • Iowa Conference on Individual Freedoms - 1955
  • Iowa Council for Better Education - 1955
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1955
  • Legislative Committee - 1955
  • Library Services Bill - 1955
  • Treasurer's Report - 1955
  • The Catalyst, correspondence - 1956
  • Committees - 1956
  • Conference - 1956
  • Correspondence - 1956
    2 folders
  • District Meetings - 1956
    1 folder, 1 scrapbook
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1956
  • Exhibits - 1956
  • Iowa Council for Better Education - 1956
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1956
  • Legislative Committee - 1956
  • Treasurer's Report - 1956
  • State Traveling Library Board - 1954-1956
  • Box 13:
  • ALA Correspondence - 1957
  • The Catalyst, correspondence - 1957
  • Committees - 1957
  • Conference - 1957
  • Correspondence - 1957
    2 folders
  • District Meetings Booklist - 1957
  • Box 14:
  • District Meetings - 1957
    2 folders, 1 scrapbook
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1957
    2 folders
  • Exhibits - 1957
  • Iowa Council for Better Education - 1957
  • List of Officers - 1890-1957
  • National Library Week - 1957
  • Treasurer's Report - 1957
  • Publicity on a Shoestring - 1957
    4 copies
  • The Catalyst, correspondence - 1958
  • Committees - 1958
  • Box 15:
  • Conference - 1958
  • Correspondence - 1958
    2 folders
  • District Meetings - 1958
    2 folders
  • Box 16:
  • District Meetings Scrapbook - 1958
  • Executive Board Minutes - 1958
  • Exhibitors - 1958
  • Iowa Council for Better Education - 1958
  • Iowa's Future: A Citizen's View - 1958
  • Membership Committee - 1958
  • National Library Week - 1958
  • Recruitment Committee - 1958
  • State Traveling Library, Code of Iowa - 1958
  • Treasurer's Report - 1958
  • Trustees - 1958
  • ALA Congressional Luncheon - 1959
  • ALA Membership Committee - 1959
  • Advisory Committee on Publications - 1959
  • Auditing Committee - 1959
  • The Catalyst, correspondence - 1959
  • College and University Libraries Section - 1959
  • Committees - 1959
  • Box 17:
  • Conference - 1959
  • Conference photographs - 1959
  • Constitution and By-laws Revision Committee - 1959
  • Correspondence - 1959
  • District Meetings - 1959
    4 folders, 1 scrapbook
  • Box 18:
  • District Meetings - 1959
    3 folders
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1959
  • ILA Manual Committee - 1959
  • Intellectual Freedom Committee - 1959
  • Legislation Committee - 1959
  • Membership Committee - 1959
  • Nomination Committee - 1959
  • Publicity Committee - 1959
  • Recruitment Committee - 1959
  • Treasurer's Report - 1959
  • Trustees Section - 1959
  • American Library Association - 1960
  • ALA Federal Relations Coordinator - 1960-1961
  • Advisory Committee on Publications - 1960
  • Adult Services Section - 1960
  • Auditing Committee - 1960
  • The Catalyst, correspondence - 1960
  • Children and Young People's Section - 1960
  • Citizen's Committee for a Constitutional Convention - 1960
  • College Libraries Section - 1960
  • Committees - 1960
  • Box 19:
  • Conference - 1960
    3 folders
  • Constitution and By-laws Committee - 1960
  • Correspondence - 1960
  • District Meetings - 1960
    5 folders
  • Box 20:
  • District Meetings - 1960
    6 folders
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1960
  • Elections - 1960
  • Extension Section - 1960
  • Manual Committee - 1960
  • History, Conferences, District Meetings - 1890-1960
  • Intellectual Freedom Committee - 1960
  • Iowa Commission for Senior Citizens - 1960
  • Iowa Council for Better Education - 1960
  • Iowa State Traveling Library - 1960
  • Legislative Committee - 1960
  • Library Services Extension Act - 1960
  • Membership Committee - 1960
  • National Library Week - 1960
  • Nominating Committee - 1960
  • Plaque Committee - 1960
  • Publicity Committee - 1960
  • Recruitment Committee - 1960
  • Resources and Technical Services Section - 1960
  • Scholarship Fund - 1960
  • Sheraton Hotels - 1960
  • Treasurer's Report - 1960
  • Trustees - 1960
  • United Nations Committee - 1960
  • Box 21:
  • American Library Association - 1961
  • Catalyst, correspondence - 1961
  • Children and Young People's Section - 1961
  • College Section - 1961
  • Committee on School Library Standards - 1961
  • Committees - 1961
  • Conference - 1961
    2 folders
  • Convention Liaison Manual - 1961
  • Correspondence - 1961
  • Box 22:
  • District Meetings, 1961 (10 folders) - 1961
    10 folders
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1961
  • Extension Section - 1961
  • Intellectual Freedom Committee - 1961
  • Iowa Council for Better Education - 1961
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1961
  • Legislative Committee - 1961
  • Membership Committee - 1961
  • National Library Week - 1961
  • Nominating Committee - 1961
  • Publicity Committee - 1961
  • Recruitment Committee - 1961
  • Resources and Technical Processes Section - 1961
  • Segregation in Iowa Libraries - 1961
  • Treasurer's report - 1961
  • Trustees section - 1961
  • Box 23:
  • Catalyst, correspondence - 1962
  • Committees - 1962
  • Conference - 1962
  • Constitution and By-laws - 1962
  • Correspondence - 1962
  • District Meetings - 1962
    11 folders
  • Box 24:
  • Executive Board - 1962
  • Goals Committee - 1962
  • Iowa Council for Community Improvement - 1962
  • Educational grant - 1962
  • Employees Retirement System - 1962
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1962
  • Legislative Committee - 1962
  • Membership Committee - 1962
  • National Library Week - 1962
  • Nomination Committee - 1962
  • Officers - 1962
  • Recruitment Committee - 1962
  • School Librarians - 1962
  • Treasurer's Report - 1962
  • Tri State Meeting - 1962
  • World Book Awards - 1962
  • Budget - 1962
  • Bus trips - 1963
  • Catalyst, correspondence - 1963
  • Community Health Education Workshop - 1963
  • Conference - 1963
  • Constitution and By-laws - 1963
  • Correspondence - 1963
  • District Meetings - 1963
    4 folders
  • Financial ledger - 1952-1963
  • Box 25:
  • District Meeting - 1963
    6 folders
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1963
  • Exhibitions - 1963
  • Intellectual Freedom Committee - 1963
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1963
  • League of Iowa Municipalities - 1963
  • Legislative Committee - 1963
  • Membership Committee - 1963
  • National Library Week - 1963
  • Officers - 1963
  • Organizational Manual - 1963
  • Recruitment Committee - 1963
  • State Traveling Library Board - 1963
  • Survey of Membership Committee of State Library Associations - 1963
  • Treasurer's Report - 1963
  • Tri-State Regional Library Conference - 1963
  • United Nations Week - 1963
  • Catalyst, correspondence - 1964
  • Committees - 1964
  • Conference - 1964
  • Correspondence - 1964
  • District Meetings
    8 folders
  • Box 26:
  • District Meetings - 1964
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1964
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1964
  • Membership Committee - 1964
  • Treasurer's Report - 1964
  • Catalyst, correspondence - 1965
  • Conference - 1965
  • District Meetings - 1965
    9 folders
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1965
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1965
  • Membership Committee - 1965
  • Treasurer's Report - 1965
  • Catalyst, correspondence - 1966
  • Conference - 1966
  • District Meetings - 1966
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1966
  • ILA Scholarship Committee - 1966
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1966
  • Membership Committee - 1966
  • Treasurer's Report - 1966
  • Trustee Award - 1966
  • Catalyst, correspondence - 1967
  • Conference - 1967
  • District Meetings - 1967
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1967
  • Box 27:
  • ILA Scholarship Committee - 1967
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1967
  • Membership Committee - 1967
  • Treasurer's Report - 1967
  • Catalyst, correspondence - 1968
  • Committees - 1968
  • Conference - 1968
  • District Meetings - 1968
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1968
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1968
  • Membership Committee - 1968
  • Scholarship Committee - 1968
  • Treasurer's Report - 1968
  • Trustees - 1968
  • Catalyst, correspondence - 1969
  • Censorship - 1969
  • Conference - 1969
  • Correspondence - 1969
  • District Meetings - 1969
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1969
  • Membership Committee - 1969
  • Treasurer's Report - 1969
  • School Librarians - 1969-1970
  • Catalyst, correspondence - 1970
  • Committees - 1970
  • Financial ledger - 1964-1969
  • Box 28:
  • Conference - 1970
  • Correspondence - 1970
  • District Meeting - 1970
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1970
  • Iowa Public Employees Retirement System - 1970
  • Membership Committee - 1970
  • Midwest Regional Library Conference - 1970
  • National Library Week - 1970
  • Treasurer's Report - 1970
  • Catalyst, correspondence - 1971
  • Conference - 1971
  • Correspondence, January-May - 1971
  • Box 29:
  • Correspondence, June-December - 1971
  • Iowa Libraries - 1969-1971
  • District Meetings - 1971
  • Editorial Committee - 1971
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1971
  • Governor's Conference on Libraries - 1971
  • Hair-Berkeley Barb Controversy - 1971
  • History - 1971
  • Iowa Public Employees Retirement System - 1971
  • Legislative Committee - 1971
  • Long range plan for development of library service in Iowa, first draft - 1971
  • Membership Committee - 1971
  • Treasurer's Report - 1971
  • Trustees - 1971
  • American Library Association - 1972
  • Catalyst, correspondence - 1972
  • Conference - 1972
  • Correspondence - 1972
  • District Meetings - 1972
  • Editorial Committee - 1972
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1972
  • ILA Records to University - 1972
  • Intellectual Freedom Committee - 1972
  • Legislative Committee - 1972
  • LILA, Membership Award to libraries with 100% membership in ILA - 1972
  • Box 30:
  • Membership Committee - 1972
  • Regional Public Library Systems for Iowa, draft - 1972
  • Treasurer's Report - 1972
  • Trustees - 1972
  • American Library Association - 1973
  • Catalyst, correspondence - 1973
  • Committee on Service to the Unserved - 1973
  • Committees - 1973
  • Conference - 1973
  • Correspondence - 1973
    2 folders
  • District Meetings - 1973
  • Editorial Committee - 1973
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1973
  • Exhibitors - 1973
  • Federal Relations Coordinator - 1973
  • Government Documents Section - 1973
  • Intellectual Freedom Committee - 1973
  • Legislative Committee - 1973
  • LILA, Membership Award - 1973
  • Box 31:
  • Membership Committee - 1973
  • National Library Week - 1973
  • Organization Manual - 1973
  • Professional Rights and Responsibilities Guidelines - 1973
  • Proposal: Regional Library System - 1972-1973
  • Treasurer's Report - 1973
  • Trustees - 1973
  • Committee on Service to the Unserved - 1974
  • Committees - 1974
  • Conference - 1974
  • Correspondence - 1974
  • District Meetings - 1974
  • Dues Schedule - 1974
  • Executive Board Meetings - 1974
  • Federal Relations Coordinator - 1974
  • Intellectual Freedom Committee - 1974
  • Iowa City - 1974
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1974
  • Legislative Committee - 1974
    2 folders
  • LILA, Membership Award - 1974
  • Box 32:
  • Membership Committee - 1974
  • Midwest Federation of Library Associations - 1974
  • Proposed Depository System for Official State Documents - 1974
  • Student Library Club - 1973-1974
  • Treasurer's Report - 1974
  • Trustees - 1974
  • Constitution and By-laws - 1975
  • Executive Board Minutes - 1975
  • Financial information - 1975
  • Legislative Committee - 1975
  • LILA, Membership Award - 1975
  • Long range plan for development of Library Service in Iowa - 1975
  • Membership Committee - 1975
  • National Library Week - 1975
  • Conference - 1976
  • District Meetings - 1976
  • Conference - 1977
  • District Meetings - 1977
  • Conference - 1978
  • Conference - 1979
  • District Meetings - 1979
  • Miscellaneous and newspaper clippings
    3 folders
  • Membership Committee - 1980
  • Series 2: APRIL 1985 ADDITION
  • Sub-Series: Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL)
  • Box 33:
  • Board of Directors - Annual meeting - 1981
  • Conference - 1981
  • Conference Surveys - 1981
  • Continuing Education: a working paper
  • Correspondence - 1979-1981
    2 folders
  • Guide to Procedures and Policies - 1980-1981
    2 folders
  • Meeting minutes - 1980-1981
  • Membership lists - 1981
  • Organization manual
  • Speakers Bureau
  • Spring Workshop - 1978-1982
    4 folders
  • Sub-Series: Iowa Library Association (ILA)
  • Box 33:
  • Bibliographic Instruction Workshop - 1976
  • Executive Board meeting - 1980
  • Organization Manual - 1979
  • Box 34:
  • Annual Conferences - 1951-1984
    Missing 1952, 1963, 1967, 1975, 1980. 3 folders
  • Annual Reports - 1952-1966
    Missing 1958. 2 folders
  • Committee Reports - 1981-1983
  • Directory - 1955
  • Sub-Series: The Catalyst,
  • Box 33a:
  • The Catalyst, v. 1-20 - 1940-1966
    Note: Box A is at the beginning of the collection, before Box 1
  • Box 33b:
  • The Catalyst, v. 21-34 - 1969-1980
    Note: Box B is at the beginning of the collection, before Box 1
  • Series 3: 1989 ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL)
  • Box 35:
  • By-laws - 1983-1986
  • Brochures - 1982-1984
  • Chapter Topics - 1980-1984
  • Charters Council - 1982-1984
  • Correspondence - 1980-1986
    6 folders
  • Box 36:
  • Guide to Policies and Procedures - 1984
  • Meetings and conferences - 1984-1986
  • Newsletters - 1983-1984
  • Planning committee - 1982
  • President's report - 1982-1984
  • Program committee. Conference material - 1982-1984
  • Review committee - 1982-1983
  • Scholarship committee - 1986
  • Sub-Series: Iowa Library Association (ILA)
  • Box 36:
  • A-V Feasibility Committee - 1977
  • Ad-Hoc Committee for Books Behind Bars: Background materials - 1971-1978
    2 folders
  • Ad-Hoc Committee for Books Behind Bars: Correspondence - 1975-1979
  • Box 37:
  • Ad-Hoc Committee for Books Behind Bars: Correspondence, undated
  • Aichele dismissal - 1976
  • American Library Association - 1970-1971
  • Annual reports - 1960-1966
  • Articles of reincorporation - 1971
  • Audio tape - 1981
  • Audits - 1968-1980
  • Budget materials - 1973-1982
  • Business meeting - 1982
  • Catalyst: Article on Commanche Library - 1971-1977
  • Catalyst: Correspondence - 1965-1969, 1980
  • Censorship and Book Selection Policy - 1975
  • Committee appointments - 1974-1977
  • Committee correspondence - 1965-1970
  • Box 38:
  • Committee report - 1980-1982
  • Committee to Study Monetary Policy of ILA - 1976
  • Constitutions and By-Laws - 1962-1971
  • Convention - 1940-1941, 1957-1960, 1964-1977
    6 folders
  • Box 39:
  • Convention - 1978-1986
    3 folders
  • Correspondence - 1967-1972
  • Correspondence - 1973-1974
  • Correspondence - 1975
    Including letters from Tom Harkin and Berkley Bedell
  • Correspondence - 1976-1977
  • Correspondence - 1978-1979
  • Box 40:
  • Correspondence - 1980
    Including letters from Tom Tauke, Neal Smith and Charles Grassley
  • Correspondence: January-August - 1981
  • Correspondence: September-December - 1981
    Including a letter from Charles Grassley
  • Correspondence: January-April - 1982
  • Correspondence: May-August - 1982
  • Correspondence: September-December - 1982
  • Correspondence - 1983-1985
  • Correspondence, undated
  • Box 41:
  • District meetings - 1960-1981
    10 folders
  • Box 42:
  • Document Section - 1974-1975
  • Editorial Committee - 1975-1977
  • Employer/Employee Rights and Responsibilities Committee - 1974-1977
    2 folders
  • Executive Assistant - 1975-1976
  • Executive Assistants Relations Committee - 1975-1976
  • Executive Board - 1961-1977, 1981-1983
    5 folders
  • Federal Documents Section - 1973
  • Box 43:
  • Federal Relations Coordinator - 1970-1977
  • Financial and Statistical Records - 1965-1974
  • Foundation, undated
  • Governor's Conference on Libraries - 1970-1971, 1978-1981
    2 folders
  • Health Sciences Section - 1975-1977
  • Hertzberg Resolution Memorial - 1970
  • Honorary Awards Committee - 1976-1977
  • Honorary Membership Committee - 1976
  • Human Resources Committee - 1980-1981
  • I-Lite Systems, undated
  • Intellectual Freedom Committee - 1952-1957, 1974-1977
    2 folders
  • Intellectual Freedom and Censorship - 1967-1969
  • Interim Study Committee on Libraries - 1975
  • Iowa Association of Community and Junior College Librarians - 1971-1972
  • Iowa Author's Bibliography Committee - 1967-1968
  • Iowa Civil Liberties Union - 1975
  • Iowa Educational Media Association - 1976
  • Iowa Freedom of Information Council - 1976
  • Iowa Junior Members Round Table - 1975
  • Iowa Libraries Trustees Association - 1975-1977
  • Iowa Newspaper Bibliography Project - 1976
  • Iowa Public Employees Retirement System (IPERS) - 1973-1980
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1976-1977
  • Box 44:
  • Learning Resources for Non-English Speaking People Available to Iowa Libraries. Draft, final copy, graphics and layouts - 1980
    2 folders
  • Lease materials - 1974-1978
  • Legislative committee - 1968-1971, 1974-1975
    Including letters from Dick Clark, Charles Grassley, Tom Harkin, Ed Mezvinsky, John Culver, Neal Smith, and Berkley Bedell
  • Legislative committee - 1976-1978
  • Legislative controversy - 1982
  • Legislative Day - 1986
  • Librarians Association of Iowa (LAI) - 1977
  • Library Laws Study Committee - 1976-1977
  • Library Outreach Cooperative - 1977-1978
  • Long Range Plan for the Development of Service for the Citizens of Iowa, Advisory Council for Library Service, May - 1972
  • Membership brochure - 1982
  • Membership committee - 1971-1976, 1980-1983
    2 folders
  • Membership statistics - 1982
  • Midwest Federation of Library Associations - 1974-1977
  • National Library Week - 1965-1970, 1976-1977
    2 folders
  • Nominating committee - 1974-1977
  • Box 45:
  • Non-User Committee: Correspondence - 1972-1976, 1979-1983
    4 folders
  • Non-User Committee: Printed material, undated
  • Non-User Committee: Research material - 1980-1981
  • Non-User Committee: Survey - 1974, 1980
    2 folders
  • North Central Library Conference - 1964-1967
    Including a letter from Harold Hughes
  • OCLC in Iowa - 1976
  • Organizational manual - 1971, 1973, 1977
  • Planning conference - 1981-1983
  • Public relations - 1975-1976
  • Recruitment Committee: Career guidance counselors at Iowa's colleges and universities - 1970
  • Box 46:
  • Recruitment Committee: Correspondence - 1968-1970
  • Recruitment Committee: Expenses - 1969-1970
  • Recruitment Committee: Films - 1969
  • Recruitment Committee: Iowa Student Library Association - 1970-1971
  • Recruitment Committee: Notes - 1970
  • Recruitment Committee: Publicity - 1970
  • Recruitment Committee: Recruitment checklist - 1969
  • Recruitment Committee: University of Iowa information - 1969-1970
  • Recruitment Committee: "Who is What" College and University Section. ILA Newsletter #1, undated
  • Recruitment Committee: Wisconsin example - 1966
  • Refugee survival skills. Mt. Pleasant Public Library, undated
  • Regional Library Systems - 1973-1975
  • Reorganization Committee - 1981-1982
  • Resources and Technical Division - 1981-1982
  • Section correspondence - 1966-1971
  • "The Speaker." ALA Conference - 1977
  • Speakers - 1976-1981
  • Springbrook meetings - 1977, 1981-1982
    3 folders
  • State Depository Law Legislation - 1974-1977
  • Tri-State Regional Conference - 1961-1962
  • White House Conference - 1975-1977
  • Series 4: OCTOBER 1989 ADDITION
  • Box 47:
  • Committee - 1962-1963
  • Convention Site Selection - 1974-1975
  • District Meetings - 1956-1961
  • Honorary Memberships - 1976
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1983-1986
  • Legislation Committee - 1956-1957
  • Luncheons - 1972-1973
  • Nominating Committee - 1976-1986
  • Organizational Manuals - 1979-1982
    3 folders
  • Recruitment Committee - 1954-1958
  • Series 5: OCTOBER 1990 ADDITION
  • Box 48:
  • Cochran, William M. "A Century of Iowa Libraries in Association. A History of the Iowa Library Association 1890-1990" - 1990
  • Iowa Library Association: Annual Reports - 1990
  • Iowa Library Association: Awards - 1990
  • The Iowa Library History Project. A Preliminary Report, undated
  • "100 Years of Libraries in Association"
  • ILA Convention - 1990
  • Series 6: 1993 ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: General Files
  • Box 49:
  • Action Reports
  • ALA Library Displays and Exhibit Policies and Ideas - 1955, 1960
  • Board Meetings, Notes and Budgets - 1972-1974, 1986
  • Brief of Amicae Curiae (re: U.S. Supreme Court Case, Island Trees Board of Education vs. Pico) - 1981
  • Catalyst - 1989
  • Cedar Rapids. Kenwood Library Project - 1978-1979
  • "Censorship or Selection: Choosing Books for Public Schools." Video transcript
  • Challenged Materials. List - 1983
  • Executive Board. Reports - 1980
  • Iowa Academic Libraries - 1971
  • Iowa Library Directory - 1990
  • Iowa's Depository Libraries - 1977
  • Membership Directory - 1989-1990
  • Miscellaneous - 1971-1973
  • Muscatine. Musser Public Library, Confidentiality of Library Records - 1979
  • Organization Manual - 1989
  • Planning Conference Meeting - 1982
  • Public Libraries. Selection Policies and Procedures - 1970-1981
  • Reports - 1985-1989
  • Box 50:
  • School Libraries. Selection Policies and Procedures - 1963-1977
  • "The Speaker." A Selected Bibliography by Dorothy M. Haith - 1978
  • "We the People" Constitutional Bicentennial Celebration - 1987
  • Sub-Series: Association of College and Research Libraries
  • Box 50:
  • Annual Reports - 1981-1990
  • Brochures
  • Bylaws - 1982-1987
  • Bylaws: Revision Correspondence - 1991-1992
  • Bylaws: Revisions - 1986-1991
  • Bylaws: Revisions - 1991-1992
  • Chapter Surveys: Drafts - 1985
  • Chapter Surveys: Four Year Colleges - 1985
  • Chapter Surveys: Junior/Community Colleges - 1985
  • Chapter Surveys: Results - 1985
  • Chapter Surveys: Special Libraries - 1985
  • Box 51:
  • Chapter Surveys: Universities - 1985
  • Committees: Communications - 1987-1991
  • Committees: Community College - 1988-1990
  • Committees: Cooperation Coordinating - 1990
  • Committees: Directory - 1981-1984
  • Committees: Leadership Retreat Coordinating - 1985-1990
  • Committees: Legislation - 1989
  • Committees: Membership - 1983-1985
  • Committees: Membership - 1986
  • Committees: Membership - 1987-1989
  • Committees: Membership - 1990-1992
  • Committees: Membership, undated
  • Committees: Nominating - 1982-1987
  • Box 52:
  • Committees: Nominating - 1988
  • Committees: Nominating - 1989-1991
  • Committees: Program - 1989-1990
  • Committees: Scholarship - 1987-1990
  • Committees: Scholarship - 1991
  • Committees: Strategic Planning, Ad Hoc - 1989-1991
  • Conferences and Meetings: Fall and Spring - 1972-1980
  • Conferences and Meetings: Spring - 1981
  • Conferences and Meetings: Spring and Fall - 1982
  • Conferences and Meetings: Spring and Fall - 1983
  • Conferences and Meetings: Spring and Fall - 1984
  • Conferences and Meetings: Spring and Fall - 1985
  • Conferences and Meetings: Spring and Fall - 1986
  • Conferences and Meetings: Spring and Fall - 1987
  • Box 53:
  • Conferences and Meetings: Spring - 1988
  • Conferences and Meetings: Spring. Final Report - 1988
  • Conferences and Meetings: Fall - 1988
  • Conferences and Meetings: Spring - 1989
  • Conferences and Meetings: Fall - 1989
  • Conferences and Meetings: Spring - 1990
  • Conferences and Meetings: Spring. Evaluations - 1990
  • Conferences and Meetings: Spring. Negatives - 1990
  • Conferences and Meetings: Spring. Photographs - 1990
  • Conferences and Meetings: Fall - 1990
  • Conferences and Meetings: Spring and Fall - 1991
  • Conferences and Meetings: Spring and Fall - 1992
  • Conferences and Meetings, undated
  • Box 54:
  • Correspondence - 1975-1980
  • Correspondence - 1981-1982
  • Correspondence - 1983
  • Correspondence - 1984
  • Correspondence - 1985
  • Correspondence: January-May - 1986
  • Correspondence: June-December - 1986
  • Correspondence - 1987
  • Correspondence - 1988-1990
  • Correspondence, undated
  • Directory. Academic and Research Library - 1983-1989
  • Directory. Academic and Research Library - 1989-1992
  • Box 55:
  • Finances - 1982-1983
  • Finances - 1985-1988
  • Finances - 1989
  • Finances - 1990
  • Finances, undated
  • History of Formation - 1975-1991
  • Iowa Private Academic Librarians (IPALS) Workshop - 1988
  • Money Receipts - 1984, 1987
  • Newsletter - 1991
  • Treasurer's Reports - 1979-1990
  • Triennial Reports - 1985-1988
  • Sub-Series: Centennial Library History Project
  • Box 55:
  • Correspondence and Notes - 1988-1990
  • Library History Resources - 1890-1903
  • Library History Resources - 1925-1990
    Including a portion of Strong-Minded Women: The Emergence of the Woman-Suffrage Movement in Iowa by Louise R. Noun
  • Recognition Letters - 1991
  • Surveys: Academic Libraries - 1990
  • Box 56:
  • Surveys: Public Libraries: A-B - 1990
  • Surveys: Public Libraries: C-D - 1990
  • Surveys: Public Libraries: E-G - 1990
  • Surveys: Public Libraries: H-I - 1990
  • Surveys: Public Libraries: J-K - 1990
  • Surveys: Public Libraries: L - 1990
  • Surveys: Public Libraries: M - 1990
  • Surveys: Public Libraries: N-Q - 1990
  • Box 57:
  • Surveys: Public Libraries: R-S - 1990
  • Surveys: Public Libraries: T-W - 1990
  • Surveys: Special and State Supported Libraries: A-I - 1990
  • Surveys: Special and State Supported Libraries: I-W - 1990
  • Sub-Series: Intellectual Freedom Committee
  • Box 57:
  • Intellectual Freedom Committee - 1980-1981
  • Intellectual Freedom Committee - 1982
  • Box 58:
  • American Library Association - 1981-1982
  • Censorship - 1953-1983
  • Censorship Newspaper Clippings - 1980-1982
  • Confidentiality of Library Records - 1980
  • Correspondence - 1966-1969
  • Correspondence - 1970-1971
    Including a letter from Louise Noun
  • Correspondence - 1972
  • Correspondence - 1973
  • Correspondence - 1974
  • Correspondence - 1976-1978
  • Box 59:
  • Correspondence - 1983
  • Correspondence - 1984-1986
  • Correspondence - 1987
  • Correspondence, undated
  • Creationism/Evolution Controversy - 1982
  • Des Moines Public Library Case - 1979
  • Fall Conference - 1984
  • Grant Information and Handbooks - 1977, 1982-1983
  • Handbook Drafts - 1977
  • Intellectual Freedom Do-Line - 1973
  • Iowa Cases - 1982
  • John Phillip Immroth Memorial Award for Intellectual Freedom. Brochure - 1986
  • Legislation - 1966-1973
  • Media Coalition - 1981-1986
  • Osage Public Library Videocassette Controversy. Newspaper Clippings and Notes - 1985-1986
  • Policies and Procedures - 1966-1986
  • Box 60:
  • Roundtable "Roll Call of the States" Reports - 1984
  • State Intellectual Freedom Manuals - 1967-1983
  • Sub-Series: Office of Intellectual Freedom
  • Box 60:
  • Academic Freedom Group - Workshop Resource - 1981
  • Memoranda - 1970-1973, 1978-1979
  • Memoranda - 1980-1982
  • Memoranda - 1983-1985
  • Newsletter on Intellectual Freedom: September-May - 1985-1986
  • Sub-Series: Special Libraries Roundtable
  • Box 60:
  • Special Libraries Roundtable - 1984-1985
  • Mailing List Cards - 1985
  • Special Libraries Roundtable - 1986
  • Box 61:
  • Special Libraries Roundtable - 1987
  • Special Libraries Roundtable - 1988
  • Special Libraries Roundtable - 1989
  • Special Libraries Roundtable - 1990
  • Special Libraries Roundtable - 1991-1992
  • Special Libraries Roundtable, undated
  • Series 7: 1996 ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: ILA Photographs [NOTE: Detailed inventory for photographs in boxes 62-72 is housed with the collection inventory]
  • Box 62:
  • ILA Photographs: 1-21
  • ILA Photographs: 22-43
  • ILA Photographs: 44-67
  • ILA Photographs: 68-90
  • ILA Photographs: 91-115
  • ILA Photographs: 116-126
  • Box 63:
  • ILA Photographs: 127-149
  • ILA Photographs: 150-173
  • ILA Photographs: 174-197
  • ILA Photographs: 198-220
  • ILA Photographs: 221-245
  • Box 64:
  • ILA Photographs: 246-268
  • ILA Photographs: 269-292
  • ILA Photographs: 293-316
  • ILA Photographs: 317-340
  • ILA Photographs: 341-365
  • ILA Photographs: 366-376
  • Box 65:
  • ILA Photographs: 377-400
  • ILA Photographs: 401-424
  • ILA Photographs: 425-447
  • ILA Photographs: 448-470
  • ILA Photographs: 471-493
  • ILA Photographs: 494-504
  • Box 66:
  • ILA Photographs: 505-527
  • ILA Photographs: 528-550
  • ILA Photographs: 551-573
  • ILA Photographs: 574-596
  • ILA Photographs: 597-619
  • Box 67:
  • ILA Photographs: 620-642
  • ILA Photographs: 643-665
  • ILA Photographs: 666-688
  • ILA Photographs: 689-711
  • ILA Photographs: 712-734
  • ILA Photographs: 735-745
  • Box 68:
  • ILA Photographs: 746-766
  • ILA Photographs: 767-789
  • ILA Photographs: 790-812
  • ILA Photographs: 813-835
  • ILA Photographs: 836-858
  • ILA Photographs: 859-870
  • Box 69:
  • ILA Photographs: 899-921
  • ILA Photographs: 922-944
  • ILA Photographs: 945-967
  • ILA Photographs: 968-990
  • ILA Photographs: 991-1004
  • Box 70:
  • Incomplete set of duplicates for photographs 1-392
  • Box 71:
  • Incomplete set of duplicates for photographs 393-770
  • Box 72:
  • Incomplete set of duplicates for photographs 771-1003
  • Sub-Series: ILA/ACRL
  • Box 73:
  • Ad-hoc Committees on Presentation Guidelines - 1992
  • Budget - 1991-1993
    Includes correspondence
  • Bylaw revision - 1983-1992
  • Chapter minutes
    Includes correspondence
  • Directory committee - 1991-1992, 1995, 1996
    Includes membership directories
  • Fall program - 1991-1993
    Includes correspondence and speaker information
  • Membership Committee - 1991-1992
    Includes correspondence
  • Miscellaneous - 1991-1992, 1993
    Includes correspondence, guidelines for ILA publications and schedule of meetings
  • Newsletter committee - 1990-1992
    Includes correspondence, ILA/ACRL Newsletters
  • Nominations committee - 1990-1992
    Includes correspondence
  • Papers and correspondence - 1992
  • Scholarship committee - 1991-1993
    Includes applications
  • Scholarship committee - 1991-1992
    Includes applications
  • Spring conference - 1989-1992
    Includes correspondence and program information
  • Strategic plan - 1991-1993
    Includes correspondence
  • Box 74:
  • Annual Conference: January-September - 1992
  • Annual Reports - 1992
  • Budget/Financial Reports - 1991-1994
  • Chapter Meetings, October-May - 1992-1994
  • Communication Committee - 1990-1992
  • Cooperation Coordinating Committee - 1990-1992
  • Correspondence - 1989-1993
  • Directory - 1991-1992
  • Directory - 1995
  • Directory - 1996
  • Executive Board Minutes, July-June - 1992-1993
  • Fall Program (Planning Conference), November-November - 1984-1993
  • Grant Historical Resource Development Program, March-January - 1993-1995
  • Box 75:
  • Leadership Planning Retreat, November-April - 1988-1990
  • Membership, September-July - 1991-1992
  • Membership Directory - 1994
  • Newsletter, March-March - 1992-1995
  • Organization Manual - 1992
  • Preservation Committee, November-November - 1989-1992
  • Program Committee Notebook and Annual Report - 1993
  • Scholarship Committee - 1992-1993
  • Special Libraries Round Tables (SLRT) April-June - 1985-1991
  • Spring Conference, November-March - 1986-1993
  • Oversize item: Photograph - ILA meeting, Cedar Rapids - 1922
  • Series 8: 1997 ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: Academic and Research Libraries
  • Box 76:
  • Directories - 1996-1997
  • Newsletter, March-November - 1996
  • Sub-Series: Committees
  • Box 76:
  • Committees - 1991-1993
  • Sub-Series: Governmental Affairs Committee
  • Box 76:
  • Governmental Affairs Committee - 1991-1993
  • Agendas, meeting minutes, etc. - 1991
  • Correspondence and clippings - 1991-1992
  • Ethics - 1992-1993
  • Fisher Commission Study - 1991
    Includes correspondence
  • Hoth Study - 1991
  • League of Iowa Municipalities - 1992-1993
  • Legislative Agenda - 1991-1994
  • Legislative Day - 1992
  • Legislation: Clippings - 1992-1993
  • Legislation: House and Senate files - 1992
  • Box 77:
  • Legislation: House and Senate files - 1993
  • Legislation: House and Senate files - 1994
  • Legislation: Lobbyist - 1988-1991
  • Legislation: Lobbyist Reports: 1992 Session - 1992
  • Legislation: Lobbyist Reports: 1993 Session - 1992-1993
  • Legislation: Lobbyist Reports: 1994 Session - 1994
  • Legislation: Stanley Study - 1993-1994
  • Sub-Series: Receipts and disbursements
  • Box 77:
  • Receipts and disbursements - 1991-1993
  • Sub-Series: State Historical Society of Iowa
  • Box 77:
  • State Historical Society of Iowa - 1989-1994
  • Sub-Series: State Library
  • Box 77:
  • Regional budget requests - 1992-1994
  • Report and background information - 1991-1993
  • Series 9: 2009 ADDENDUM
  • Box 78:
  • Addendum notes
    If you cannot locate materials alphabetically under group title check Miscellaneous Information folders. Over time group titles change or incorporate additional groups for example: Annual Reports often include Committee Reports and Triennial Reports, Government Documents Round Table includes the Government Documents Section, and District Meetings are also called Spring Meetings. Undated material is found at the front of each folder. Conference and event folders may contain prior correspondence leading up to the year of the event
  • Report - 1909
  • Catalyst, vol.2: no.3 - 1949
  • Newspaper Article - 1949
  • Catalyst, vol.10: no.5 - 1956
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1960
  • Conference - 1961
  • Constitution and By-Laws - 1962
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1962
  • Constitution and By-Laws - 1963
  • Catalyst, vol.20: no.1 - 1966
  • ALA Brochures - 1967
  • ALA Brochures - 1968
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1968
  • ALA Brochures - 1969
  • Conference - 1969
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1969
  • Honorary Memberships and Awards - 1970
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1970
  • Nominating Committee - 1970
  • Catalyst, vol.25: no.2 - 1971
  • Constitution and By-Laws - 1971
  • Honorary Memberships and Awards - 1971
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1971
  • Nominating Committee - 1971
  • Non-User Committee - 1971
  • Honorary Memberships and Awards - 1972
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1972
  • Nominating Committee - 1972
  • Non-User Committee - 1972
  • Catalyst, vol.27: no.5 - 1973
  • Government Documents Round Table - 1973
  • Honorary Memberships and Awards - 1973
  • ILA/Iowa Educational Media Association - 1973
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1973
  • Nominating Committee - 1973
  • Non-User Committee - 1973
  • Organization Manual - 1973
  • State Document Distribution Committee - 1973
  • Audit Report - 1974
  • Government Documents Round Table - 1974
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1974
  • Miscellaneous Information - 1974
  • Miscellaneous Information: Committee listing and conference information - 1974
  • Nominating Committee - 1974
  • Organization Manual - 1974
  • State Documents Distribution Committee - 1974
  • Audit Report - 1975
  • Catalyst, vol.29: no. 4 & 5 - 1975
  • Conference - 1975
  • Constitution and By-Laws - 1975
  • District Meetings - 1975
  • Editorial Committee - 1975
  • Executive Assistants Committee and Correspondence - 1975
  • Government Documents Round Table - 1975
  • ILA/Iowa Educational Media Association - 1975
  • Nominating Committee - 1975
  • Audit Report - 1976
  • Catalyst, vol.30: no.4 - 1976
  • Conference - 1976
  • District Meetings - 1976
  • Editorial Committee - 1976
  • Financial Survey - 1976
  • Government Documents Round Table - 1976
  • Intellectual Freedom Committee - 1976
  • ILA/Iowa Educational Media Association - 1976
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1976
  • Membership Committee - 1976
  • Nominating Committee - 1976
  • Non-User Committee - 1976
  • Audiovisual Committee - 1977
  • Catalyst, vol.31: no.4 - 1977
  • Conference - 1977
  • Constitution and By-Laws - 1977
  • District Meetings - 1977
  • Editorial Committee - 1977
  • Government Documents Round Table - 1977
  • Intellectual Freedom Committee - 1977
  • ILA/Iowa Educational Media Association - 1977
  • Iowa's Depository Libraries - 1977
  • Iowa's Depository Libraries: Bound and unbound editions - 1977
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1977
  • Membership Committee - 1977
  • Miscellaneous Information - 1977
  • Nominating Committee - 1977
  • Non-User Committee - 1977
  • State Document Depository Bill - 1977
  • Audiovisual Committee - 1978
  • Audit Report - 1978
  • Catalyst, vol.32: no.5 - 1978
  • Conference - 1978
  • District Meetings - 1978
  • Editorial Committee - 1978
  • Executive Assistants Committee and Correspondence - 1978
  • Government Documents Round Table - 1978
  • Honorary Memberships and Awards - 1978
  • Intellectual Freedom Committee - 1978
  • ILA/Iowa Educational Media Association - 1978
  • Membership Committee - 1978
  • Miscellaneous Information - 1978
  • Nominating Committee - 1978
  • Non-User Committee - 1978
  • State Document Depository Bill - 1978
  • Catalyst, vol.33: no.5 & 6 - 1979
  • Committee Correspondence - 1979
  • Conference - 1979
  • Conference Speakers - 1979
  • District Meetings - 1979
  • Box 79:
  • Editorial Committee - 1979
  • Government Documents Round Table - 1979
  • Intellectual Freedom Committee - 1979
  • ILA/Iowa Educational Media Association - 1979
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1979
  • Local Documents Committee, associated with Government Documents Round Table - 1979
  • Membership Committee - 1979
  • Nominating Committee - 1979
  • Non-User Committee - 1979
  • Organization Manual - 1979
  • Audiovisual Committee - 1980
  • Audit Report - 1980
  • Catalyst, vol.34: no.4 & 5 - 1980
  • Conference - 1980
  • Conference Speakers - 1980
  • Committee Correspondence - 1980
  • District Meetings - 1980
  • Government Documents Round Table - 1980
  • Intellectual Freedom Committee - 1980
  • ILA/Iowa Educational Media Association - 1980
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1980
  • Membership Committee - 1980
  • Nominating Committee - 1980
  • Non-User Committee - 1980
  • Organization Manual - 1980
  • Audit Report - 1981
  • Catalyst, vol.35: no.1-6 - 1981
  • Committee Correspondence - 1981
  • Common Concerns Committee - 1981
  • Conference - 1981
  • Conference Speakers - 1981
  • District Meetings - 1981
  • Government Documents Round Table - 1981
  • Intellectual Freedom Committee - 1981
  • Membership Committee - 1981
  • Nominating Committee - 1981
  • Audit Report - 1982
  • Catalyst, vol.36: no.1-6 - 1982
  • Committee Reports - 1982
  • Common Concerns Committee - 1982
  • Conference - 1982
  • Conference Speakers - 1982
  • Constitution and By-Laws - 1982
  • District Meetings - 1982
  • Editorial Committee - 1982
  • Government Documents Round Table - 1982
  • Intellectual Freedom Committee - 1982
  • Johnson Brigham Plaque Committee - 1982
  • Membership Committee - 1982
  • Nominating Committee - 1982
  • Audiovisual Committee - 1983
  • Audit Report - 1983
  • Catalyst, vol.37: no.1-6 - 1983
  • Committee Reports - 1983
  • Common Concerns Committee - 1983
  • Conference - 1983
  • Conference Speakers - 1983
  • Constitution and By-Laws - 1983
  • District Meetings - 1983
  • Editorial Committee - 1983
  • Government Documents Round Table - 1983
  • Intellectual Freedom Committee - 1983
  • Membership Committee - 1983
  • Nominating Committee - 1983
  • Audiovisual Committee - 1984
  • Audit Report - 1984
  • Catalyst, vol.38: no.1-6 - 1984
  • Committee Reports - 1984
  • Common Concerns Committee - 1984
  • Conference - 1984
  • Conference Speakers - 1984
  • Constitution and By-Laws - 1984
  • District Meetings - 1984
  • Editorial Committee - 1984
  • Government Documents Round Table - 1984
  • Iowa Library Trustee Association Workshop - 1984
  • Membership Committee - 1984
  • Nominating Committee - 1984
  • ACRL Iowa Directory - 1985
  • Audit Report - 1985
  • Catalyst, vol.39: no.1-6 - 1985
  • Conference - 1985
  • Conference Speakers - 1985
  • District Meetings - 1985
  • Box 80:
  • Editorial Committee - 1985
  • Executive Assistant Committee and Correspondence - 1985
  • Government Documents Round Table - 1985
  • Honorary Memberships and Awards - 1985
  • Membership Committee - 1985
  • Miscellaneous Information - 1985
  • Miscellaneous Information: Committee Reports - 1985
  • Miscellaneous Information: Triennial Reports - 1985
  • Nominating Committee - 1985
  • Organization Manual - 1985
  • ACRL Iowa Directory - 1986
  • Audit Report - 1986
  • Catalyst, vol.40: no.1-6 - 1986
  • Committee Reports - 1986
  • Conference - 1986
  • Conference Speakers - 1986
  • District Meetings - 1986
  • Editorial Committee - 1986
  • Government Documents Round Table - 1986
  • Honorary Memberships and Awards - 1986
  • Intellectual Freedom Committee - 1986
  • Nominating Committee - 1986
  • ACRL Iowa Directory - 1987
  • Audit Report - 1987
  • Catalyst, vol.41: no.1-6 - 1987
  • Committee Reports - 1987
  • Conference - 1987
  • Conference Speakers - 1987
  • District Meetings - 1987
  • Editorial Committee - 1987
  • Executive Assistant Committee and Correspondence - 1987
  • Government Documents Round Table - 1987
  • Honorary Memberships and Awards - 1987
  • Intellectual Freedom Committee - 1987
  • Nominating Committee - 1987
  • ACRL - 1988
  • ACRL: Iowa Directory - 1988
  • ACRL: Triennial Reports - 1988
  • Audit Report - 1988
  • Catalyst, vol.42: no.1-6 - 1988
  • Conference - 1988
  • Conference Speakers - 1988
  • District Meetings - 1988
  • Editorial Committee - 1988
  • Government Documents Round Table - 1988
  • Honorary Memberships and Awards - 1988
  • Intellectual Freedom Committee - 1988
  • Iowa's Depository Libraries Directory - 1988
    2 folders
  • Membership Committee - 1988
  • Miscellaneous Information - 1988
  • Miscellaneous information: Committee Reports - 1988
  • Miscellaneous information: Membership Directory - 1988
  • Nominating Committee - 1988
  • ACRL - 1989
  • Audit Report - 1989
  • Catalyst, vol.42: no.1-6 - 1989
  • Box 81:
  • Conference - 1989
  • Conference Speakers - 1989
  • District Meetings - 1989
  • Editorial Committee - 1989
  • Government Documents Round Table - 1989
  • Honorary Memberships and Awards - 1989
  • Intellectual Freedom Committee - 1989
  • Membership Committee - 1989
  • Miscellaneous Information - 1989
  • Miscellaneous information: Committee Reports - 1989
  • Miscellaneous information: Membership Directory - 1989
  • Organization Manual - 1989
  • ACRL - 1990
  • Annual Reports - 1990
  • Audit Report - 1990
  • Catalyst, vol.44: no.1-6 - 1990
  • Conference - 1990
  • Conference Planning Committee - 1990
  • Conference Speakers - 1990
  • District Meetings - 1990
  • Editorial Committee - 1990
  • Government Documents Round Table - 1990
  • History of ILA - 1990
  • Honorary Memberships and Awards - 1990
  • Miscellaneous Information - 1990
  • Miscellaneous information: Membership Committee - 1990
  • Miscellaneous information: Personnel Committee - 1990
  • Nominating Committee - 1990
  • ACRL - 1991
  • Annual and Triennial Reports - 1991
  • Conference - 1991
  • Conference Speakers - 1991
  • Editorial Committee - 1991
  • Government Documents Round Table - 1991
  • Honorary Memberships and Awards - 1991
  • Intellectual Freedom Committee - 1991
  • Membership Committee - 1991
  • Nominating Committee - 1991
  • ACRL - 1992
  • ACRL Organization Manual - 1992
  • Annual Reports - 1992
  • Audit Report - 1992
  • Catalyst, vol.46: no.1-6 - 1992
  • Box 82:
  • Conference - 1992
  • Conference Speakers - 1992
  • Government Documents Round Table - 1992
  • Intellectual Freedom Committee - 1992
  • Miscellaneous Information - 1992
  • Miscellaneous information: Membership Committee - 1992
  • Miscellaneous information: Governmental Affairs Committee - 1992
  • Nominating Committee - 1992
  • ACRL - 1993
  • Catalyst, vol.47: no.1-6 - 1993
  • Conference - 1993
  • Conference Speakers - 1993
  • Constitution and By-Laws - 1993
  • Directory 1993-94 - 1993
  • Editorial Committee - 1993
  • Governmental Affairs Committee - 1993
  • Government Documents Round Table - 1993
  • Government Documents Round Table: Fall Conference and General Information - 1993
    Folder 1
  • Government Documents Round Table: Workshop on June 4 - 1993
    Folder 2
  • Government Documents Round Table: Workshop Handouts on June 4 - 1993
    Folder 3
  • Honorary Memberships and Awards - 1993
  • Miscellaneous Information - 1993
  • Miscellaneous Information: Membership Committee - 1993
  • Miscellaneous Information: Intellectual Freedom Committee - 1993
  • Strategic Plan - 1993
  • ACRL - 1994
  • Annual Reports - 1994
  • Catalyst, vol.48: no.1-6 - 1994
  • Conference - 1994
  • Conference Speakers - 1994
  • Constitution and By-Laws - 1994
  • Governmental Affairs Committee - 1994
  • Miscellaneous Information - 1994
  • Miscellaneous Information: Intellectual Freedom Committee - 1994
  • Miscellaneous Information: Editorial Committee - 1994
  • Miscellaneous Information: Nominating Committee - 1994
  • ACRL - 1995
  • ACRL: Directory Disk - 1995
  • ACRL Organization Manual - 1995
  • ACRL Scholarship Committee - 1995
  • Annual Reports and Organization Manual - 1995
  • Catalyst, vol.49: no.1-6 - 1995
  • Conference - 1995
  • Conference Speakers - 1995
  • Box 83:
  • Editorial Committee - 1995
  • Governmental Affairs Committee - 1995
  • Presidential Memories - 1995
  • Strategic Planning Survey - 1995
  • ACRL - 1996
  • ACRL Communications Committee - 1996
  • ACRL Newsletter and Correspondence - 1996
  • ACRL Newsletter and Correspondence: vol.6: no.1 March - 1996
  • ACRL Newsletter and Correspondence: vol.6: no.2 July - 1996
  • ACRL Newsletter and Correspondence: vol.6 no.3 November - 1996
  • Annual Reports and Miscellaneous Information - 1996
  • Catalyst, vol.50: no.1-6; - 1996
  • Conference - 1996
  • Conference Speakers - 1996
  • Governmental Affairs Committee - 1996
  • ACRL - 1997
    2 folders
  • ACRL Communications Committee, Organization Manual Changes, Disk - 1997
  • ACRL Newsletters - 1997
  • Catalyst, vol.51: no.1-6 - 1997
  • Directory and Miscellaneous Information - 1997
  • Governmental Affairs Committee - 1997
  • ACRL - 1998
  • ACRL Library Directory, Disk - 1998
  • Catalyst, vol.52: no.1-6 - 1998
  • Governmental Affairs Committee - 1998
  • Miscellaneous Information - 1998
  • Box 84:
  • ACRL - 1999
  • Catalyst, vol.53: no.1-6 - 1999
  • Governmental Affairs Committee - 1999
  • Miscellaneous Information - 1999
  • Miscellaneous Information: Strategic Plan - 1999
  • Public Relations Committee - 1999
  • ACRL - 2000
  • Catalyst, vol.54: no.2 - 2000
  • Conference - 2000
  • Photographs from the ILA/ACRL Spring Conference - 2000
  • Photographs from the ILA/ACRL Spring Conference: Thursday, May 11 - 2000
    Dinner photos, Reiman Gardens, Iowa State University. CD
  • Photographs from the ILA/ACRL Spring Conference: Friday, May 12 - 2000
    Program photos, Memorial Union, Iowa State University. CD
  • Membership Committee - 2000
  • Miscellaneous Information - 2000
  • Miscellaneous Information: Governments Documents Round Table - 2000
  • Miscellaneous Information: Calendar, Officers, Committee Appointments, and Mission Statement - 2000
  • ACRL - 2001
  • Conference - 2001
  • Government Documents Round Table - 2001
  • Membership Committee - 2001
  • Miscellaneous Information - 2001
  • Miscellaneous Information: Calendar and Committee Appointments - 2001
  • ACRL - 2002
  • Membership Committee - 2002
  • ACRL - 2003
  • Directory - 2003
  • Box 85:
  • Membership Committee - 2003
  • Miscellaneous Information - 2003
  • Miscellaneous Information: Planning Retreat - 2003
  • ACRL - 2004
  • ACRL Organization Manual - 2004
  • Public Relations Committee - 2004
  • Public Relations Committee - 2005
  • Public Relations Committee - 2006
  • Public Relations Committee - 2007
  • ACRL, undated
  • Awards, undated
  • Miscellaneous Information, undated
  • Photo Index: No.1-2045
  • Photo Index: No.2096-2245
  • Box 86:
  • Photos: No. 1004-2245 - Note: Photo negatives are stored in front of individual photos
  • Photos: Conference - 1990
  • Photos: Digital Photos on CD; no.28 and no.624
  • Photos: Undated Photos
  • Photos: Photo Negatives
  • Memorabilia: Conference Button - 1990
  • Memorabilia: Conference - 1993
  • Memorabilia: Conference Button - 1993
  • Memorabilia: Conference Mug - 1993
  • Memorabilia: Conference T-shirt - 1993
  • Series 10: OVERSIZED MATERIAL
  • Box 87:
  • ILA Ledgers - 1925-1963
  • ILA Ledgers - 1964-1969
  • Summer Reading Program Award Winners - 1984-1995
    Two Plaques
  • Series 11: 2011 ADDENDUM
  • Box 88:
  • Government Documents Round Table: Newsletter: No. 87, April - 2011
  • Government Documents Round Table: Newsletter: No. 89, December - 2011
  • Summer Workshop Program. GOdort for Sustainable Living, July 8 - 2011
  • Series 12: 2012 ADDENDUM
  • Box 88:
  • Cochran, William M. A Century of Libraries in Association: A History of the Iowa Library Association, 1890-1990