Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the E.F.J. Payne Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1905-1983
Creator: Payne, E.F.J. (1895-1983)
Extent: 10.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0488
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Philosopher, writer, and translator. Writings by Payne on Buddhism philosophy and his translations of works by Arthur Schopenhauer, as well as correspondence.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Boxes 1 and 3.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The papers of E. F. J. Payne were given to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1996 by Christophe Egret.

Preferred Citation: E.F.J. Payne Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Eric F. J. Payne was born in February, 1895. He was educated at the Royal Military Academy at Woolwich and at Cambridge University. He served as an officer in the Royal Engineers, 1917 to 1948 in India. He later lived in Crowborough, Sussex, England, with his wife, Eileen Lucy Payne, and their daughter until his death in 1983.

The manuscripts which make up the papers of E. F. J. Payne date from 1905 to 1983 and consist mainly of Payne's own philosophy on writing, translations of the writings of others, and correspondence regarding his work. The majority of his work concerns the 19th century German philosopher, Arthur Schopenhauer. Other points of interest include Buddhism and the work of Payne's contemporaries, including Hans Margolius, Arthur Hubscher, and K.J. Tarachard.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 3: WRITINGS
Series 4: WRITINGS OF E.F.J. PAYNE
Series 5: SCHOPENHAUER'S WORKS

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Assorted street addresses
    Perhaps members of the Schopenhauer Society
  • An Analysis of the Pali Canon, reprint, October - 1928
    From the magazine, Buddhism in England
  • Publications - The Author; Society of Authors; Translators Association, Summer - 1961
    Includes correspondence regarding the Society
  • Book Reviews
  • British Museum - Papers for Action - 1964
    Includes correspondence with Susil Gupta and Arthur Hubscher. Includes British Museum Reading Room Regulations and ticket
  • Buddhist Vihara Society in England - 1953
    Notes
  • Centenary of the Death of Arthur Schopenhauer, September 21 - 1960
    Includes correspondence, publications, and photographs
  • Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence A-K
  • Correspondence L-Z
  • Correspondence, unsigned or illegible
  • Falcons Wing Press, Colorado - 1953-1962
  • Emil F. Fernes - 1953-1960
  • Eugene Freeman - San Jose State College and Open Court Publishing Company, LaSalle, Illinois - 1965-1974
  • August Hofmann - 1955-1970
    Includes 3 photographs; paper, Die Lehre von der Wiedergeburt im Pali-Buddhismus
  • Maya Keller - Grimm - 1961-1973
  • Friedrich Kormann - 1963-1970
  • William Peiris - 1968-1973
  • Hugh A. Robertson - 1957-1963
  • K.J. Tarachand - 1947-1961
  • Richard Taylor - Columbia University - 1963-1978
  • Series 3: WRITINGS
  • Box 1:
  • Dahlke, Paul. Newspaper articles
  • Deussens Sixty Upanishads
    Prefaces and introduction translated by E.F.J. Payne
  • Dust Jackets for Esthetique de Schopenhauer and Schopenhauer-Jahrbuch
  • Ein Ostergruss - Aus der Heimat - 1947
    Typed document of German poetry by various authors. Compiled on Easter Sunday
  • Introduction by Dr. Julius Frauenstadt to his edition of the 1876 works of Schopenhauer; translated by E.F.J. Payne - 1944
  • Helmuth K. Glasenapp. Immortality and Salvation in Indian Religions; translated by E.F.J. Payne, November - 1946
  • Publication by professor D.H. Hackman. Der Ursprung des Buddhismus und die Geschichte seiner Ausbreitung - 1917
  • Publication by Dr. Hellmuth Hecker. Die Lehre Des Buddha und Karl Eugen Neumann - 1955
  • Manuscript by Robert Heifler. Arthur Schopenhauer: A Critical Biography - 1966-1967
  • Box 2:
  • Georg Grimm, by Max Hoppe, 39 pages in the German language - 1973
  • Correspondence in the German language. Arthur and Angelika Hubscher - 1938-1951
    2 folders
  • Correspondence in the German language. Arthur and Angelika Hubscher - 1952-1979
    2 folders
  • Arthur Hubscher. Arthur Schopenhauer: A Biographical Sketch; translated by E.F.J. Payne
  • Arthur Hubscher. Various works - 1949
    Including The Dance in Antiquity and The Imitation of Hegel; The Hunt for the Ancestor [in the German language]
  • On the Will in Nature, by Schopenhauer. Indexes in English
  • Dr. Wolfgang Jaeger. Heilige als Nothelfer bei Augenkrankheiten, December - 1957
  • Dr. Friedrich Kormann. Observations on Schopenhauers Significance for History and Civilization
    Includes a translation by E.F.J. Payne
  • Dr. Friedrich Kormann. Schopenhauer und Mainlander - 1914
  • Dr. Arnold Kowalewski. Moltke als Philossoph - 1905
    Published in Bonn, Germany
  • Hartwig Kuhlenbeck. Further Remarks on the Brain and Consciousness; The Meaning of Postulational PsychoPhysical Parallelism; Heinrich von Eggeling - 1954-1959
  • Hans Margolius. Correspondence and articles - 1964-1966
  • Hans Margolius. Life and Thought - Aphorists and Aphorisms - 1958
    Reprint inscribed to Lieut. Col. E F J Payne
  • Hans Margolius. Motive and Action - The Good and the Right, May - 1960
  • Hans Margolius. Nature, Man, Philosophy (The Good and the Right). Hartwick Review, n.d.
  • Hans Margolius. Notizen zur Geschichte der Ethik - 1963
    Reprint
  • Hans Margolius. Wachstum der Liebe - 1962-1963
    Includes correspondence with E.F.J. Payne
  • Modern Languages for the Services. No. 2. German from scratch: Bill und Jock in Deutschland, 4th edition - 1942
    Published in Great Britain
  • The National Translation Center - 1967
    Thirteen-page typed description
  • English newspaper clippings regarding Schopenhauer - 1884-1953
  • German newspaper clippings regarding Schopenhauer - 1914-1978
  • One of the Many Objections Brought Against Schopenhauers Philosophy. Author unknown
  • Series 4: WRITINGS OF E.F.J. PAYNE
  • Box 2:
  • Arthur Hubscher's Eighty Years. Holograph and typescript drafts
  • Arthur Schopenhauer. Philosopher of Pessimism and Compassion. Several drafts.Includes correspondence - 1967
  • Articles, incomplete
  • Concerning R.J. Hollingdales Introduction to Schopenhauers Essay and Aphorisms, criticism of the introduction - 1981
  • Evolution of the Modes
    Typed paper and sheet music
  • Excerpts from Philosophical Works
  • The Gist of Kelly on: Kants Philosophy as Rectified by Schopenhauer [typed paper]
  • On the Essential Physical Differences Between the Structure of Animals and Human Beings [handwritten translation] - 1958
  • Schopenhauer and Art
    Typed essay in the German language
  • Schopenhauer bibliography notes by E F J Payne - 1955
    Includes British Museum library call slip forms
  • Schopenhauer in English. A Critical Survey of Existing Translations
    Reprint
  • Schopenhauers Philosophy and Modern Problems
    Typed manuscript
  • Speeches and lectures
  • Translations list
  • World as Will and Idea. Haldane and Kemp. Errata
  • World as Will and Representation, translators introduction
  • World as Will and Representation, notes by Payne
  • Francis Payne [father of E.F.J. Payne]. Correspondence, notes, work, his book plate
  • Perception. Author unknown
  • Box 3:
  • Publications on philosophical writing - 1948-1972
  • Photographs. Including photos of Hinrich Burghard Abegg, Caroline Louise Abegg, and grave of Schopenhauer
  • Poetry
    Various authors
  • Schopenhauer research note cards
  • Research notes. Includes quotes and proverbs
  • Paper by Walter Rontz, Eine noch nichte verjahrte Steitfrage
  • P.J. Saher. Alleged plagiarism of Payne - 1966; 1970
  • Series 5: SCHOPENHAUER'S WORKS
  • Box 3:
  • Prize Essay on the Basis of Morality, by Schopenhauer; translated by Payne
  • New Paralipomena, by Schopenhauer; translated by Payne - 1936
  • Prize Essay on the Freedom of the Will, by Schopenhauer in 1839, translated by Payne
    Original typed manuscript
  • Prize Essay on the Freedom of the Will, by Schopenhauer in 1839, translated by Payne
    Photocopy
  • On the Basis of Morality, by Schopenhauer, translated by Payne, June - 1965
    Printer's proof
  • On the Fourfold Root of the Principle of Sufficient Reason, by Schopenhauer, translated by Payne - 1960
    Includes correspondence with Falcon's Wing Press
  • On the Fourfold Root of the Principle of Sufficient Reason, by Schopenhauer, translated by Payne
    Proofs; 2 folders
  • On the Fourfold Root of the Principle of Sufficient Reason, by Schopenhauer, translated by Payne
    Proofs; 2 folders
  • On the Fourfold Root of the Principle of Sufficient Reason, by Schopenhauer, translated by Payne
    Typescript with handwritten notes in the Greek language
  • On the Interesting Eristic Dialects. Two Posthumous Works by Arthur Schopenhauer, translated by E.F.J. Payne
  • On the Mutilation of the German Language That Has Been Methodically Carried on For Several Years, 1856-1860. Translated by E.F.J. Payne - 1944
  • On the Will in Nature, by Schopenhauer. Handwritten draft translation by E.F.J. Payne
  • On the Will in Nature, by Schopenhauer, translated by Payne
    Typescript early draft
  • On the Will in Nature, by Schopenhauer, translated by Payne
    Typescript later draft
  • Box 4:
  • New Paralipomena. Translation by E.F.J. Payne
    Typed
  • Parerga and Paralipomena. Translation by E.F.J. Payne. Handwritten Vol. I
    2 folders
  • Parerga and Paralipomena. Translation by E.F.J. Payne. Handwritten Vol. I
    2 folders
  • Parerga and Paralipomena. Translation by E.F.J. Payne. Handwritten Vol. II
    2 folders
  • Parerga and Paralipomena. Translation by E.F.J. Payne. Handwritten Vol. II
    2 folders
  • Parerga and Paralipomena. Translation by E.F.J. Payne. Typed early draft. Vol. I
  • Parerga and Paralipomena. Translation by E.F.J. Payne. Typed later draft
    3 folders
  • Parerga and Paralipomena. Translation by E.F.J. Payne. Typed later draft
    3 folders
  • Parerga and Paralipomena. Translation by E.F.J. Payne. Typed later draft
    3 folders
  • Box 5:
  • Parerga and Paralipomena. Typescript of a later draft. Vol. I
  • Parerga and Paralipomena. Typescript draft. Vol. I
    2 folders
  • Parerga and Paralipomena. Typescript draft. Vol. I
    2 folders
  • Parerga and Paralipomena. Typescript draft. Vol. II
    2 folders
  • Parerga and Paralipomena. Typescript draft. Vol. II
    2 folders
  • Parerga and Paralipomena. Typescript draft with Greek notes, Vol. I
  • Parerga and Paralipomena. Typescript draft with Greek notes, Vol. II
    2 folders
  • Parerga and Paralipomena. Typescript draft with Greek notes, Vol. II
    2 folders
  • Parerga and Paralipomena. Index. Translation by E.F.J. Payne. Holograph
  • Parerga and Paralipomena. Short philosophical essays. Translation by E.F.J. Payne
  • Philosophical Lectures. First half
    Includes correspondence from Francis Payne; 2 folders
  • Philosophical Lectures. First half
    Includes correspondence from Francis Payne; 2 folders
  • Box 6:
  • Philosophical Lectures. Second half
    Includes correspondence from Francis Payne
  • Schopenhauer on Kant. Translation by E.F.J. Payne
    3 folders
  • Schopenhauer on Kant. Translation by E.F.J. Payne
    3 folders
  • Schopenhauer on Kant. Translation by E.F.J. Payne
    3 folders
  • Theoria Colorum Physiologica. Translated by Hugh A. Robertson
  • The Two Fundamental Problems of Ethics. Translated by E.F.J. Payne. Handwritten manuscript
  • The Two Fundamental Problems of Ethics. Translated by E.F.J. Payne. Typed manuscript
  • Typescript with Greek notes
  • The World as Will and Representation. Translated by E.F.J. Payne, Vol. I
    2 folders
  • The World as Will and Representation. Translated by E.F.J. Payne, Vol. I
    2 folders
  • The World as Will and Representation. Translated by E.F.J. Payne, Vol. II
    2 folders
  • The World as Will and Representation. Translated by E.F.J. Payne, Vol. II
    2 folders
  • The World as Will and Representation. Translated by E.F.J. Payne. Proof
    3 folders
  • Box 7:
  • The World as Will and Representation. Translated by E.F.J. Payne. Proof
    3 folders
  • The World as Will and Representation. Translated by E.F.J. Payne. Proof
    3 folders
  • The World as Will and Representation. Translated by E.F.J. Payne. Index, holograph
  • The World as Will and Representation. Translated by E.F.J. Payne. Published version
  • The World as Will and Representation. Translated by E.F.J. Payne. Publicity
  • Schopenhauer Gesellschaft. Correspondence, attendance, financial status
  • Schopenhauer Lesen - 1981
  • Arthur Schopenhauer, manuscript by E. F. J. Payne
  • Schopenhauer Society. Arthur Schopenhauer. Philosopher of Pessimism and Compassion
  • Schopenhauer Society. Arthur Schopenhauer. Commemoration of Arthur Schopenhauer
  • Schopenhauer Society. Arthur Schopenhauer. Paul Deussen, Sage and Savant
  • Visiting card of Schopenhauer
  • Rolf Siebke. Arthur Schopenhauer und Matthias Claudius
  • Hermann Schroder. Includes correspondence regarding plagiarism of work by Payne
  • Bhikkhu Silacara. A Great Philosopher
  • Sonderbruck aus dem 64. Schopenhauer Jahrbuch fur das Jahr 1983
    Pamphlet
  • Hans Staglich. A.M. Gottesacker - 1956
    Booklet of poetry
  • Goeffrey Stewart-Smith. The Need For a New War-Winning Nuclear Strategy
  • Swadesa Mitraya
  • Tano-Kalewa Road material
  • K.J. Tarachand. An Iranians Epistles to an Englishman. Edited by E.F.J. Payne. Holograph version
  • K.J. Tarachand. An Iranians Epistles to an Englishman. Edited by E.F.J. Payne. Typescript version
  • K.J. Tarachand. Aus dem Tagebuch eines Philosopher 1-5
  • Richard Taylor-Schopenhauer
  • The Vegetarian and Humanitarian World Forum, October-December - 1970
  • The World of Transience and Suffering. Author unknown
  • Newspapers

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Schopenhauer, Arthur, 1788-1860

Topics:
Philosophy