Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Yellow Barn Press Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1950-1990
Creator: Yellow Barn Press
Extent: 10.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0487
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Private press in Council Bluffs, Iowa. Subject files, correspondence, mock-ups, etc.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Boxes 1, 3-8 and Oversized Box 4.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Neil Shaver in 1994 and 2006.

Preferred Citation: Yellow Barn Press Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Growing up in Long Beach, California, Neil Shaver developed an interest in printing. He took a printing class in junior high from R. V. Stutsman, whom Shaver names among the three printers who had the most influence upon him. (The other two are Harry Duncan and John Anderson.) After serving in the Merchant Marine during World War II, Shaver moved to Omaha, where the family owned a chain of grocery stores called Shavers. In 1957, he returned to printing as a hobby. His output in the 1960s and 1970s was mostly job work for the grocery stores done on off set presses, but it was during this period that he acquired an antique Washington hand press, which he did not know how to operate. In 1964 he made contact with an Iowa City fine press printer, Kim Merker of the Windhover Press, who showed him how to use the Washington press. He started his career in fine printing by taking a class from Harry Duncan in 1978 at the University of Nebraska at Omaha, for whose class he produced Metonia, a book of poetry.

Most of his first books were poetry, because this is form adaptable for hand presses. But Shaver was uncomfortable with poetry. As he says in the Introduction to The Yellow Barn Press: A History and Bibliography, I was uncomforable with poetry simply because I did not feel qualified to accept or reject material. (p. xii) So when he came across a copy of The Old Printing Office by Frank Luther Mott, he was in more familiar territory, and in 1985, he brought out his fine press edition of this book. Quoting again from The Yellow Barn Press: A History and Bibliography: I made an interesting discovery with The Old Printing Office. It sold out almost at once. What I found out was that books about printing and books about books had a good market. From that time forward I have tried to stay with titles from that category. I have used other subjects a number of times, but I am always pleased when I find a title in the field of printing or books.

In 1966, Shaver and his wife Fran moved to rural Iowa, outside of Council Bluffs. On the property was a barn, which Shaver and Fran cleaned up and turned into his printing studio. Fran is credited with coming with the name Yellow Barn Press. In 1980, Shaver sold his grocery business and retired, turning his printing avocation into his vocation. He printed about two books a year. The first books were on the Washington pess, but after his sixth book, he began printing his books on a Vandercook, which is easier for one person to operate.

In 1983, he took a course from John Anderson at Fairleigh Dickinson Univeristy in New Jersey, and he and Anderson communicated from that point on until Anderson died in 1997. One of Shaver's books about printing is about Anderson's Pickering Press. Also during this trip, he met the engraver John DePol and they started a collaboration that lasted until DePol died in 2004.

Due to failing eyesight, Shaver closed the press in 2005, having brought out over thirty books.

The records are organized (generally alphabetically) within each of the following seven series: I. General Files, II. Correspondence, III. John DePol, IV. Private Presses, V. Yellow Barn Press Publications, VI. Broadsides and VII. Finances.

The general (subject) and correspondence files relate in bulk to John DePol, wood engraving, fine printing, and broadsides. Major correspondents discussing their work are John Anderson, Carroll Coleman, John DePol, Alexander Lawson, Willie Morris, Michael Peich, William S. Peterson, Neil Shaver, Walter Shrewing, and Julian Symons. The private press file include folders for publishers such as, among many others, the Prairie Press, the Red Ozier Press, and the Stone House Press.

The bulk of the records concern books published by the Yellow Barn Press; files for each title typically include art work by John DePol or Paul Otero, galley and page proofs, correspondence, and publicity materials, and they are are organized to reflect the progressive stages that each manuscript went through to become a book. This series is arranged alphabetically by title of book.
John DePol paperer at the University of Delaware

The John DePol Collection of American Wood Engravings and Related Material (Rutgers University)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL SUBJECT FILES
Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 3: JOHN DEPOL
Series 4: PRIVATE PRESSES
Series 5: YELLOW BARN PRESS PUBLICATIONS
Series 6: OVERSIZED BOXES
Series 7: BROADSIDES
Series 8: FINANCES

  • Series 1: GENERAL SUBJECT FILES
  • Box 1:
  • Advertising
    2 folders, one in oversized box 3
  • Announcements, invitations, exhibitions, seminars
    In oversized box 3
  • Articles about Yellow Barn Press
    In oversized box 6
  • Award of merit from the Third Annual Book Arts Seminar, Fairleigh Dickinson University Library
  • Book Arts Institute - 1992
    Art and technique of wood engraving workshop
  • Book arts programs - 1983-1992
  • Book catalogs, A-F
  • Book catalogs, G
  • Book catalogs, H-N
  • Book catalogs, O
    3 folders
  • Book catalogs, P-Z
  • The Bookbinder in Eighteenth-Century Williamsburg
  • Williamsburg Craft Series
  • Bornstein, Dean
  • Bruckner, D.J.R. "With Art and Craftmanship, Books Regain Former Glory." The New York Times Magazine, October 28 - 1984
    In oversized box 6
  • Campane Unmasked by Harold Segal
  • Center for Book Arts. New York City - 1988-1989
    In oversized box 3
  • Clippings
  • The Devil's Artisan: A Journal of the Printing Arts, no. 25 - 1989
  • Dreyfus, John. Address - 1988
  • Duncan, Harry
    2 folders
  • Inventory of equipment from Shaver's shop
    This equipment was sold in 2005.
  • Fine Print, vol. 13, no. 3, pt. 3
  • Fine printing-miscellaneous samples
  • Franklin Keepsakes - 1957-1983
    In oversized box 3
  • Goudy Society - 1978; 1990
  • Guild of Book Workers Journal, vol. 24, no. 1 Fall - 1985
  • "Harold Berliner Printer and Typefounder Nevada City, California." Article
  • Internet searches
  • Materials on William Morris
  • Miscellaneous
  • Morris, Charles Vernon. Memorial Service Program - 1984
  • OCLC printout
  • Page printed on Gutenberg Press at Pierpont Moran Library by Neil Shaver and John DePol, April 27 - 1994
    In oversized box 6
  • Photographs
  • Printers' Supply Book. The Kelsey Company
  • Reviews
  • The Rowfant Club
  • The Roxburghe Club. Keepsake - 1988
  • Shaver's library. A list of books
    Some of these were sold in 2004
  • Box 2:
  • Type-90. Conference - 1990
  • Typocrafters - 1989-1990
  • The Typophiles - 1983-1994
  • Vicksburg Daily Citizen, July 2 - 1863
    Facsimile printed on wallpaper
  • Yellow Barn Press Logo
  • Drawing
  • Sorts. 6 wood blocks, four of the barn and the initials YB, NS of varying sizes; one of a shingle saying Yellow Barn Press; and one of a printing press with the initials YB and NS
    In oversized box 4
  • Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence - 1950-1972
  • Correspondence - 1980-1985
    Including letters from John DePol and Neil Shaver
  • Correspondence - 1986
    Including letters from John DePol and Neil Shaver
  • January-June - 1987
    Including letters from John DePol and Neil Shaver
  • July-December - 1987
    Including letters from John DePol and Neil Shaver
  • January-June - 1988
    Including letters from John DePol and Neil Shaver
  • July-December - 1988
    Including letters from John DePol
  • Correspondence - 1989
    Including letters from John DePol and Neil Shaver
  • Correspondence - 1990
    Including letters from John DePol and Neil Shaver
  • Correspondence - 1991
    Including letters from John DePol and Neil Shaver
  • Correspondence - 1992
    Including letters from John DePol and Neil Shaver
  • Correspondence - 1993
    Including letters from John DePol
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence - 1994
    Including letters from John DePol and Neil Shaver
  • Correspondence - 1995
  • Correspondence - 1996
  • Correspondence - 1997
  • Correspondence - 1998
  • Correspondence - 1999
  • Correspondence - 2000
  • Correspondence - 2001
  • Correspondence - 2002
  • Correspondence - 2003
  • Correspondence - 2004
  • Correspondence - 2005
  • Correspondence - 2006
  • Correspondence, n.d.
    Including letters from John DePol and Neil Shaver; 2 folders
  • Correspondence - 1984-1989
    Between Neil Shaver and John Anderson
  • Correspondence - 1995-1997
    Between Neil Shaver and John Anderson
  • Leake, Chauncey
    This folder was separated out by Shaver. There are also letters from Leake scattered throughout other folders.
  • Walter Shrewing, some n.d. - 1987-1990
  • Julian Symons - 1987-1989
  • Walsdorf, Jack - 1989-1990
    Regarding Blackwell's first edition of William Morris: Master Printer
  • Correspondence - 1994
    Regarding the DePol Festschrift
  • Series 3: JOHN DEPOL
  • Box 3:
  • APHA Newsletter, Number 156, Summer - 2005
    Contains announcement of their conference in conjunction with a DePol exhibit.
  • Biographical material with clippings - 1949-1993
    In oversized box 3
  • Christmas Cards engraved by John DePol
  • Exhibit catalogs
  • Five Decades of the Burin: The Wood Engravings of John DePol
  • John DePol: A Catalogue Raisonne of his Graphic Work, 1935-1998
    In oversized box 3
  • John DePol and the Typophiles
  • Matrix, No. 6, Winter - 1986
    DePol papers beginning at page 130
  • Miscellaneous DePol materials
    3 folders
  • News Letter of the University of Delaware Library Associates, April - 2000
    Contains a profile of JDP
  • Photographs of John and Thelma DePol
  • Small Press, Vol 4:No. 5, June - 1987
    Cover illustration by John DePol
  • Box 4:
  • Wood Engravings by John DePol for individuals
  • Jim Coleman - 1984
  • Aileen Fisher - 1959
  • Bob Leslie - 1985-1986
  • James Linden - 1992
  • Steve Miller - 1992
  • Gabriel Rammonds - 1983
  • Jeffrey Rigby - 1984
  • Barnard Taylor - 1964; 1983
  • Veatchs - 1992
  • Wood engravings by John DePol for businesses and organizations
  • Astra Pharmaceutical Products
  • Bowne and Co. Stationers, South Seaport Museum - 1950; 1983-1994
  • Bucknell University - 1984-1989
  • Church of Saint Luke in the Fields, New York City - 1981
  • Connecticut College
  • Connecticut Gazette - 1956-1957
  • Fairleigh Dickinson University - 1985-1987
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library - 1985
  • Harvard Medical School - 1965, 1986
  • Horizon - 1960
  • Javelin House, Saint John's, Newfoundland
  • Johann Gutenberg's Printing Press
  • Juniata College
  • Lycoming College
  • Mills College - 1989
  • The Quill - 1962
  • Saint Thomas Church, New York City
  • Security-Columbian Banknote Company
  • Susquehanna University
  • Williams College
  • Wood Engravings by John DePol. Miscellaneous Subjects - 1952-1993
    2 folders
  • Wood Engravings by John DePol. Various Portraits - 1983-1985
  • Wood Engraving. Lectures and Articles
  • Wood Engravings. Posters and broadsides
    In oversized box 6
  • Wood Engraving Workshop-University of Nebraska at Omaha - 1985
    Including correspondence, clippings, articles, ads
  • Wood Block Engraving Plates
    In oversized boxes 1 and 2
  • Series 4: PRIVATE PRESSES
  • Box 4:
  • Adagio Press
  • The Allen Press - 1986-1992
    Wood engravings by John DePol
  • The Ancient Press - 1984-1988
  • The Aralia Press - 1983-1990
    Wood engravings by John DePol
  • Ardentia Veritas Press - 1990-1993
  • Arif Press - 1993
    Wood engraving by John DePol
  • Barbarian Press - 1985-1988
  • The Basilisk Press - 1987
  • The Bieler Press - 1990
  • Bird and Bull Press - 1988
  • Book Club of California - 1994
    Wood engravings and letter from John DePol
  • The Bullnettle Press - 1989
  • The Buttonmaker Press - 1985-1987
  • Chama Press - 1991
    Wood engravings by John DePol
  • The Comet Press - 1957
    Wood engravings by John DePol
  • Cummington Press - 1985-1989
    Wood engraving by John DePol
  • The Delos Press - 1990
  • The Dolphin Press - 1986
    Wood engraving by John DePol
  • The Eagle Press - 1990
  • Endgrain Press - 1975
  • The Fleece Press - 1988-1990
  • The Foolproof Press - 1988-1994
  • The Glad Hand Press - 1989-1993
  • The Golden Hind Press
  • Green Library Press - 1984
  • Harold Berlinger's Typefoundry
  • The Haywood Press
    Wood engraving by John DePol
  • Herity Press
    Wood engraving by John DePol
  • The Hermetic Press - 1979-1986
  • Hillside Press - 1990-1991
  • The Honeybee Press - 1992
  • Kelly / Winterton Press
  • Kennedy Typographers
  • The Knoepfler's - 1983-1986
    Wood engravings by John DePol
  • Legacy Graphics - 1990
  • Lunation Press - 1990
  • Married Mettle Press - 1989
  • The Merrion Press
  • Michigan State University Press - 1993
    Wood engravings and a letter from John DePol
  • Midnight Paper Sales Press
  • Ninja Press - 1988
  • Pandick Press - 1976-1978
    Wood engravings by John DePol
  • Pentagram Press - 1989-1994
    Wood engravings by John DePol
  • The Perishable Press
  • The Petrarch Press - 1989
  • Pickering Press - 1982-1990
    Wood engravings by John DePol
  • The Prairie Press - 1951-1993
    Wood engravings by John DePol and correspondence between Carroll Coleman and John DePol
  • Press at High Loft - 1988
    Wood engraving by John DePol
  • Press in Tuscany Alley - 1985
  • Press of Appletree Alley - 1988
  • Press of the Gathering - 1983
    Wood engraving by John DePol
  • The Printery Kirkwood - 1989
  • The Privateer Press - 1993
    Wood engravings by John DePol
  • Red Ozier Press - 1983-1993
    Wood engravings by John DePol
  • The Rocket Press - 1989-1990
  • St. Albert's Press
  • The Stinehour Press - 1979-1991
  • Box 5:
  • Stone House Press - 1983-1994
    Wood engravings by John DePol
  • The Thistle Press - 1955
    Wood engravings by John DePol
  • The Tideline Press - 1986
    Wood engravings by John DePol
  • Typographic Laboratory, University of Iowa
  • Unknown presses
  • Village Press
    Wood engraving by John DePol
  • W. Thomas Taylor - 1989
  • Warwick Press
  • Wayzgoose - 1989
  • The Whittington Press - 1986-1988
  • The Windhover Press
  • Der Zauberbere Press - 1977-1989
    Wood engravings by John DePol
  • Series 5: YELLOW BARN PRESS PUBLICATIONS
  • Sub-Series: Checklist - 1979-1994
  • Sub-Series: American Iron Hand Presses by Stephen O. Saxe
    Wood engravings by John DePol
  • Box 5:
  • Correspondence, contracts, and notes - 1990-1993
  • Manuscript from Stephen O. Saxe
  • Second proof
  • Third proof
  • Illustrations
  • Indices and appendices
  • Miscellaneous pages and notes
    2 folders
  • Page proofs
    5 folders; One folder in oversized box 3, one in oversized box 5
  • Trade edition-Oak Knoll Books
  • Correspondence and proofs - 1994
    In oversized box 3
  • Page proofs and binding - 1992
  • Dust jacket and reservation form
  • Oak Knoll edition
  • Publicity
  • Sub-Series: Beachcombing by Mary McChesney
  • Box 5:
  • Typescript drafts
  • Layouts / Mock-ups
  • Galley proofs
  • Page proofs
    2 folders, one in oversized box 5
  • Sub-Series: Ben Franklin on Lead Hazards
    Wood engravings by John DePol
  • Box 5:
  • Layouts / Mock-ups
  • Galley proofs
  • Page proofs
  • Sub-Series: Biographer's Notes by William Wallis
    Drawings by Paul Otero
  • Box 5:
  • Typescript drafts
  • Page proofs
  • Artwork
  • Dummy, Impositions
    In oversized box 6
  • Page proofs
    In oversized box 5 and oversized box 6
  • Publication announcements
  • Sub-Series: Le Bonheur by Christoph Plantin (Broadside)
  • Sub-Series: A Boyhood in Iowa by Herbert Hoover
    Forward by Will Irwin and wood engravings by John DePol
  • Box 5:
  • Photocopy of text with research - 1986
  • Art work and paste papers
  • Layouts, mock-ups, blue line proofs
  • Galley proofs
    In oversized box 3
  • Page proofs
    2 folders, one in oversized box 5
  • Publication announcement
  • Sub-Series: Did Sherlock Holmes Meet Hercule Poirot? by Julian Symons
    Wood engravings by John DePol
  • Box 5:
  • Correspondence, research notes, photographs - 1986-1987
    Including letters from John DePol
  • Typescript drafts
  • Artwork
  • Layouts / Mock-ups
  • Page proofs
  • Publicity - 1988
  • Sub-Series: Does Literature Exist? by Julian Symons
  • Box 5:
  • Typescript drafts
  • Galley proofs
    In oversized box 3
  • Page proofs
    In oversized box 3
  • Bound mock-up
  • Publicity
  • Sub-Series: Dress: An Essay by Eric Gill
    Wood engravings by John DePol and line engravings by Eric Gill
  • Box 5:
  • Art work
  • Mock-ups
  • End paper samples
  • Galley proofs
    In oversized box 3
  • Page proofs
    In oversized box 3
  • Page proofs
    2 folders
  • Publicity
  • Sub-Series: Elbert Hubbard, William Morris's Greatest Imitator
  • Box 5:
  • Manuscript
    3 folders
  • Manuscript and dummies
    In oversized box 3
  • Sub-Series: Ending the Fast by Frederick Zydeck
  • Box 5:
  • Typescript draft
  • Art work
    2 folders in oversized box 3
  • Layouts / mock-ups
    In oversized box 3
  • Galley proofs
    In oversized box 3
  • Page proofs
    3 folders; one in oversized box 3; one in in oversized box 5
  • Publicity
  • Sub-Series: The First One Hundred Years 1892-1992. A Keepsake Volume for the Centenary of the Rowfant Club. Edited and with an introduction by David Alan Novak
    Wood engravings by John DePol
  • Box 5:
  • Page proofs
    2 folders in oversized box 3
  • Paste paper samples
    In oversized box 6
  • Sub-Series: The Garden Section by Kathleene West
  • Box 5:
  • Galley proofs
    In oversized box 3
  • Page proofs
    2 folders, one in oversized box 5
  • Sub-Series: A Goudy Memoir: Essays By and About America's Great Type Designer, Frederick W. Goudy.
    With contributions by Alexander S. Lawson, et. al. Wood engravings by John DePol
  • Box 5:
  • Correspondence - 1986-1989
    Including letters from John Anderson, John DePol, Alexander Lawson, and Neil Shaver
  • Notes, research, drafts
    In oversized box 3
  • Box 6:
  • Artwork and mock-ups
  • Wood engravings
  • Goudy ornament
  • Photographs
  • Galley proofs
    In oversized box 3
  • Page proofs, small
  • Pages proofs, large
    In oversized box 3
  • Page proofs, large
    In oversized box 5
  • Transparencies
  • Book cover design
  • Publicity - 1987
  • Sub-Series: I Love My Little Horner. Keepsake
  • Sub-Series: John Anderson and the Pickering Press
  • Box 6:
  • Research
  • Correspondence
    2 folders
  • Manuscript
    4 folders
  • Editing notes
  • Greg Walters' comments
  • Retyped pages
  • Layout
  • First proof
    2 folders
  • First proof
    Table of contents with correspondence
  • First proof
    Comments from Jim Fraser
  • Bibliography
  • Pickering Press checklist with comments from various people
  • Plates
  • Items printed by John Anderson?
  • Sub-Series: John DePol: A Celebration of His Work by Many Hands
    Edited by James H. Fraser
  • Box 6:
  • Correspondence - 1992-1994
    Including letters from John DePol and Neil Shaver
  • Research and contributor lists
  • Introduction with research
  • Allen Press section
  • John DePol and John Anderson section
  • Saxe, Rowfant, and Glad Hand sections
    In oversized box 3
  • Yellow Barn, Aralia, and Golden Hind sections
  • Layouts / mock-ups
  • Incomplete galley proofs
    [photocopy]
  • Galley proofs at various stages
    In oversized box 3
  • Page proof with art work
  • Publicity - 1994
  • Sub-Series: Julian Symons Remembered
  • Box 6:
  • Contributor letters
  • Contributors
  • Typescript
  • First proof
  • Layout
  • Galley proof
    In oversized box 3
  • Sub-Series: The Kelmscott Press Golden Legend
    Edited by William S. Peterson; wood engravings by John DePol
  • Box 6:
  • Correspondence - 1985-1990
    Including letters from William S. Peterson and Neil Shaver
  • Research material
  • Typescript drafts
    2 folders
  • Art work
  • Layouts / mock-ups and sample pages
  • Galley proofs
  • Page proofs
  • Page proofs
    In oversized box 5
  • Publicity - 1990
  • Sub-Series: Late Verses and Earlier by Walter Shrewing
    Wood engravings by John DePol
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence - 1988
    Including letters from Neil Shaver and Walter Shrewing
  • Holograph and typescript drafts
  • Art work and research - 1988
  • Layouts / mock-ups
  • Page proofs, small
  • Page proofs, large
    In oversized box 3
  • Page proofs, large
    In oversized box 5
  • Bound mock-up
  • Sub-Series: The Liberty Bell on the Kelmscott Press
  • Box 7:
  • Research and correspondence
    Includes two printing plates
  • Galley proof
    [photocopy]
  • Publicity
  • Galley proofs
    In oversized box 3
  • Sub-Series: Metanoia by Clark Olmstead
  • Box 7:
  • Layouts / mock-ups
  • Page proofs
  • Sub-Series: My Two Oxfords by Willie Morris
    Wood engravings by John DePol
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence - 1991-1993
    Including letters from Neil Shaver, Willie Morris, and John DePol
  • Background and research material
    Including photographs
  • Layout / mock-ups, notes
  • Articles by and about Willie Morris
  • Artwork - 1991
  • Galley proofs with corrections
    2 folders
  • Page proofs
    One folder in oversized box 5
  • Publicity
  • Sub-Series: Not Barn Again
  • Box 7:
  • From folder: "This is a lot of material for a project that never came off. For details see Yellow Barn Press Bibliography."
  • Sub-Series: The Old Printing Office by Frank Luther Mott
    Wood engravings by John DePol and introduction by Donald W. Knoepfler
  • Box 7:
  • Layouts / mock-ups, transparencies, and art work
  • Page proof
  • Bound mock-up
  • Cover art
    In oversized box 5
  • Sub-Series: Oscar Wilde: A Problem in Biography by Julian Symons
    Wood engravings by John DePol
  • Box 7:
  • Typescript drafts
  • Artwork
  • Galley proofs
  • Page proofs, small
  • Page proofs, large
    In oversized box 3
  • Page proofs, large
    In oversized box 5
  • Paste paper samples
  • Published copy of the book
  • Publicity - 1989
  • Sub-Series: Our Debt to Monkish Men by Eugene Field
    Wood engravings by John DePol
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence - 1986
    Including letters from John DePol and Neil Shaver
  • Notes, research
  • Art work
  • Layouts / mock-ups
  • Transparency
  • Galley proofs
  • Page proofs
  • End paper samples
  • Publicity
  • Sub-Series: The Parson Printer of Lustleigh
  • Box 7:
  • Galley proofs
  • Miscellaneous
    Including correspondence, artwork, photocopies
  • Sub-Series: Patterns: Drawn and Engraved on Wood by John DePol
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence, notes - 1984-1985
    Including letters from John DePol
  • Typescript drafts
  • Art work
    In oversized boxes 4 and 5
  • Layouts/mock-ups
  • Layouts / mock-ups
    In oversized box 4
  • Galley proofs
    In oversized box 4
  • Page proofs, small
  • Page proofs, large
    In oversized box 4
  • Page proofs, large
    In oversized box 5
  • Wood engravings and paste and end paper samples
  • Bound mock-up
  • Publicity
  • Sub-Series: The Red Ozier: A Literary Fine Press History and Bibliography 1976-1989 by Michael Peich
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence - 1992-1994
    Including letters from Michael Peich and Neil Shaver
  • Background and research material - 1987-1992
  • Various drafts of text - 1992
    Includes letters from Michael Peich
  • Box 8:
  • Art work and related correspondence - 1992
  • Galley proofs, small
  • Galley proofs, large
    In oversized box 4
  • First proof
    [photocopy]
  • Galley proofs, with corrections
  • Page proofs
    3 folders
  • Publicity - 1993
  • Sub-Series: The Return of a Private
  • Box 8:
  • First and second proofs
  • Artwork
  • Galley proof
    In oversized box 4
  • Sub-Series: Sandy MacPherson: Book Collector
  • Box 8:
  • Correspondence, artwork, manuscripts, layouts, bound mock-ups
  • Galley proof
  • Signatures
    In oversized box 4
  • Sub-Series: Shocks by Gordon Lester-Massman
    Drawings by Paul Otero
  • Box 8:
  • Typescript draft - 1983
  • Art work
    2 folders, one in oversized box 6
  • Layouts / mock-ups
  • Galley proofs
  • Page proofs
  • Page proofs, large
    In oversized box 5
  • Sub-Series: Travels With Pat
  • Box 8:
  • Photocopied galley, artwork, correspondence
  • Unidentified galleys
    In oversized box 4
  • Sub-Series: William Morris: Master Printer by Frank Colebrook
    Wood engravings by John DePol and new introduction by William S. Peterson
  • Box 8:
  • Correspondence - 1986-1988
    Including letters from William S. Peterson, Neil Shaver, and John DePol
  • Notes and research
  • Typescript draft
  • Art work
  • Layouts / mock-ups
  • Galley proofs
    In oversized box 4
  • Page proofs, small
  • Page proofs, large
    In oversized box 4
  • Page proofs, large
    In oversized box 5
  • Publicity - 1989
  • Sub-Series: A Year at the Sorbonne
  • Box 8:
  • Correspondence and photographs
  • Elmo Shaver's passport, with small photograph of him which was considered for inclusion in the text
  • Photocopied manuscript
    2 folders
  • First proof
  • Dummies
    In oversized box 4
  • Sub-Series: Yellow Barn Press: A History and Bibliography
  • Box 8:
  • Manuscript
    4 folders
  • Box 9:
  • Part B: Ephemera
  • Index
  • Reader's copy: Greg [Walters?]
  • Reader's copy Jack [Walsdorf?]
    2 folders
  • Dummy
  • First proof
  • Galley proof
    2 folders, one in oversized box 6
  • First proof pasted up in dummies
    In oversized box 4
  • Offprints From Yellow Barn Press
    In oversized box 4; includes photographs
  • Paste papers
    In oversized box 6
  • Publicity
  • Sub-Series: Yellow Barn Press Memorabilia
    In oversized box 4
  • Series 6: OVERSIZED BOXES
  • Box 1: Oversized Box 1
  • John DePol engraving blocks
  • Box 2: Oversized Box 2
  • John DePol engraving blocks
  • Box 3: Oversized Box 3
  • Galley Proofs and other large matter
  • Advertising
  • Announcements, invitation, exhibition - 1982-1989
  • Center for the Book Arts, New York City - 1988-1989
  • Franklin Keepsakes - 1957-1983
  • John DePol, biographical materials
  • John DePol : A Catalogue Raisonne of his Graphic Work - 1935-1998
  • American Iron Hand Presses
  • Page proofs
  • Correspondence about the trade edition
  • A Boyhood In Iowa
  • Galley proofs
  • Does Literature Exist?
  • Galley proofs
  • Page proofs
  • Dress
  • Galley proofs
  • Page proofs
  • Elbert Hubbard
  • Dummies
  • Ending the Fast
  • Artwork
  • Layouts and mock-ups
  • Galley proofs
  • Page proofs
    2 folders
  • The First One Hundred Years
  • Page proofs
    2 folders
  • The Garden Section
  • Galley proofs
  • A Goudy Memoir
  • Notes, research, and drafts
  • Galley proofs
  • Page proofs
  • John DePol: A Celebration of His Work
  • Saxe, Rowfant, and Glad Hand Sections
  • Galley proofs
  • Julian Symons
  • Galley proofs
  • Late Verses and Earlier
  • Page proofs
  • The Liberty Bell on the Kelmscott Press
  • Galley proofs
  • Oscar Wilde: A Problem in Biography
  • Page proofs
  • Box 4: Oversized Box 4
  • Patterns: Drawn and Engraved on Wood
  • Art Work
  • Layouts and mock-ups
  • Galley proofs
  • Red Ozier: A Literary and Fine Press
  • Galley Proofs
  • Return of a Private
  • Galley proofs
  • Sandy MacPherson: Book Collector
  • Signatures
  • Unidentified galleys
  • William Morris: Master Printer
  • Galley proofs
  • Page proofs
  • A Year at the Sorbonne
  • Dummies
  • The Yellow Barn Press: A History and Bibliography
  • Dummies
  • Offprints from the Yellow Barn Press
    Includes photographs
  • Box 5: Oversized Box 5
  • Page proofs and other extra large matter
  • American Iron Hand Press
  • Beachcombing
  • Biographer's Notes. Page proofs and publicity
  • A Boyhood in Iowa
  • Ending the Fast. Page proofs and publicity
  • The Garden Section
  • A Goudy Memoir: Essays By and About America's Great Type Designer, Frederick W. Goudy
  • The Kelmscott Press Golden Legend
  • Late Verses and Earlier
  • My Two Oxfords
  • The Old Printing Office. Cover design sample
  • Oscar Wilde: A Problem in Biography
  • Patterns: Drawn and Engraved in Wood
    Press run for colors and page proofs
  • Shocks
  • William Morris: Master Printer
  • Box 6: Oversized Box 6
  • Extra large matter
  • Articles about Yellow Barn Press
  • "With Art and Craftsmanship. . ."
  • Page printed on Guttenberg press
  • John DePol posters and broadsides
  • Biographer's Notes
  • Dummies and impositions
  • Page proofs
  • The First One Hundred Years. Paste paper
  • Shocks. Artwork
  • Yellow Barn Press: A Bibliography.
  • Galley proof
  • Paste papers
  • Series 7: BROADSIDES
  • Box 7:
  • "Advertisement to Authors." Lowell Bodger, Typographer - 1988
  • "Creation Reaction..."
  • John DePol
  • "The Art and Artistry..." - 1992
  • "The Institute for the Book Arts" - 1989
  • Benjamin Franklin, "The Art of Making Money Plenty in Every Man's Pocket"
  • "Gleeson Library Associates" - 1990
  • "Jas. A. Jackson." The Buttonmaker Press - 1974
  • N.M. Kennedy. "a Shadow i seek"
  • "Oak Knoll Fest." Yellow Barn Press - 1994
  • "Phillips Exeter Academy Music Ensembles"
  • "The Russian proverb says:..."
  • Daniel Berkeley Updike. "In Every Period..."
  • Series 8: FINANCES
  • Sub-Series: Invoices
  • Box 8:
  • American Hand Presses
  • Elbert Hubbard: William Morris's Greatest Imitator
  • Golden Legend
  • John Anderson and the Pickering Press
  • John DePol: A Celebration
  • Julian Symons Remembered
  • The Liberty Bell on the Kelmscott Press
  • Miscellaneous
    3 folders
  • Red Ozier: A Literary Fine Press
  • The Return of a Private
  • Sandy MacPherson: Book Collector
  • William Morris: Master Printer
  • A Year at the Sorbonne
  • The Yellow Barn Press: A History and Bibliography
  • Sub-Series: Sales records
  • Box 8:
  • Miscellaneous