Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Buel Griffith Beems Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1934-1975
Creator: Beems, Buel Griffith (1902-1978)
Extent: 3.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0486
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Lawyer and author. Correspondence, research, editor's questionnaires, and preliminary drafts of his writings.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The papers of Buel Griffith Beems were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1994 by Edna Erickson Beems.

Preferred Citation: Buel Griffith Beems Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Buel Griffith Beems (1902-1978) was born in Anamosa, Iowa. He attended the University of Iowa, where he became a member of Phi Beta Kappa, and the Harvard Law School. From 1927 to 1937, Beems practiced law in New York City. While in New York he published his first short stories in Harper's, Harper's Bazaar, The Midland, and Blast. He received the O. Henry Memorial Award in 1931 for his short story Leaf Unfolding and again in 1944 for The Stagecoach. Beems returned to Iowa in 1938 to become president and general manager of the Metropolitan Supply Company in Cedar Rapids from 1945 to 1973. On November 14, 1950, he married Edna Erickson in Cedar Rapids. Beems continued to write and publish short stories in Mademoiselle, American Mercury, and Southern Review, receiving many awards for his writing. He died on December 24, 1978.

Arranged alphabetically by title, these papers consist of 3 linear feet of biographical information and correspondence together with drafts of his short stories, three unpublished novels, and a play synopsis. There are also questionnaires about the short stories completed by editors, newspaper clippings pertaining to the stories, and notes.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: PARTIAL BIBLIOGRAPHY OF WORKS PUBLISHED BY BEEMS

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical information
  • Correspondence - 1934-1944
    Including letters from Cleanth Brooks, Charles Angoff, William Maxwell, Phyllis Crawford, and John Crowe Ransom.
  • Correspondence - 1945-1975
  • "An American Genius"
    Various typescript drafts in stages of revision.
  • "The Barn"
    Various typescript drafts in stages of revision; some fragments; editor questionnaire.
  • "Bread and Stones"
    Typescript draft and fragment.
  • "The Brute" - 1943?
    Various typescript drafts in stages of revision; some fragments.
  • The Child
    Typescript drafts [A] and [B]
  • Box 2:
  • The Child
    Typescript drafts [C] and [D]
  • "Come, And Trip It" - 1944
    Various typescript drafts in stages of revision.
  • The Cuckoos Egg
    Fragments of early drafts; typescript draft [A]
  • Box 3:
  • The Cuckoos Egg
    Typescript drafts [B], [C], and [D]
  • "Donna Zizzola" - 1943
    Various typescript drafts in stages of revision; editor questionnaires; author's notes.
  • Box 4:
  • "The Dying Pigeon" - 1942
    Various typescript drafts in stages of revision; some fragments; editor questionnaires.
  • "Education with Swastika" - 1937
    Various typescript drafts in stages of revision; some fragments.
  • "Eyewitness" - 1934?
    Typescript draft and carbon copy.
  • "Guerrilla Operation" - 1944
    Various typescript drafts in stages of revision; some fragments; editor questionnaires.
  • Humpty-Dumpty Princess
    Typescript draft of play synopsis.
  • "I'm Objective"
    Typescript draft and copy.
  • "The Male Ascendency" - 1943
    Various typescript drafts in stages of revision; some fragments; editor questionnaire; article.
  • "Miracle at Cholula"
    Typescript draft.
  • Money for the Moon
    Typescript fragments of early drafts.
  • Box 5:
  • Money for the Moon
    Typescript drafts [A] and [B]
  • "Muriel"
    Typescript draft and fragments.
  • "A New Lover" - 1944
    Various typescript drafts in stages of revision; some fragments; editor questionnaire.
  • "Neighbors" - 1975
    Typescript drafts.
  • Box 6:
  • "Premonition" - 1975
    Typescript draft.
  • "The Proposal"
    Fragment of typescript draft.
  • "A Quiet Boy" - 1969
    Various typescript drafts in stages of revision; some fragments.
  • "The Spotted Kitten" - 1943
    Various typescript drafts in stages of revision; notes on illustrations.
  • "The Stage Coach"
    Typescript draft.
  • "A Strain on Friendship" - 1934
    Typescript drafts and author's biography.
  • "The Toby Jugs" - 1946
    Typescript draft and copy.
  • "The Unicorn" - 1945
    Various typescript drafts in stages of revision.
  • Untitled
    Typescript draft.
  • "Values" - 1944
    Various typescript drafts in stages of revision; some fragments; editor questionnaires; newspaper clipping.
  • "The WAC" - 1944
    Various typescript drafts in stages of revision; some fragments; author's notes; editor questionnaire; newspaper articles.
  • "Walnuts"
    Fragments of typescript draft.
  • "The Whistle" - 1943
    Various typescript drafts in stages of revision; some fragments; author's notes; editor questionnaire.
  • "Young American Couple"
    Typescript draft.
  • Series 2: PARTIAL BIBLIOGRAPHY OF WORKS PUBLISHED BY BEEMS
  • Box 6:
  • "Christmas at the Everleigh Arms" Virginia Quarterly Review, Winter - 1974
  • "Leaf Unfolding" O. Henry Memorial Award Prize Stories - 1931
  • "Love and James K. Polk" Understanding Fiction, Cleanth Brooks, ed. NY: F.S. Crofts & Co. - 1943
  • "The Stagecoach" O. Henry Prize - 1944

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.