Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Clarence Updegraff Labor Arbitration Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1922-1975
Creator: Updegraff, Clarence (1893-1978)
Extent: 36.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0484
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Professional papers and academic records.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Boxes 3-5, 12, and 16.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Gift of Clarence Updegraff, Sr. in 1968. This was supplemented in 1994 by a gift from Ms. Updegraff Hardt.

Preferred Citation: Clarence Updegraff Labor Arbitration Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Clarence Milton Updegraff was born June 10, 1893 in Dallas Center, Iowa, son of Milton and Ada Adams Updegraff. He graduated from the University of Iowa College of Law in 1916. In 1918 he became a professor of law at George Washington University. In that same year he married Erna Busse. In 1924 he became a teaching fellow at Harvard University where, in 1925, he obtained his S.J.D. degree. In 1926 he returned to Iowa City to teach law at the University. He served as Vice-President and assistant to the President of the UI from 1934 -- 1938. He served as assistant attorney general of the state of Iowa from 1933 -- 1937.
 
Erna died in 1963. In 1964, Updegraff moved to California to teach law at the University of California - Hastings College of Law. He married Helen Hart Weber in 1971 and retired from teaching in 1972.
 
Updegraff wrote Regulation of Public Utilities in Iowa and co-authored the first edition of Arbitration of Labor Disputes. He is the sole author of the second and third editions of this book.
 
Updegraff died in 1978.

This collection consists of Updegraff's professional papers which encompasses such things as his correspondence, speeches, exams, court briefs, materials for practice courts, etc.
Records of the Labor Center

Papers of John C. Pryor

Labor History Resources in the University of Iowa Libraries, The State Historical Society of Iowa/Iowa City and the Herbert Hoover Presidential Library

Faculty Vertical File, Archives, Special Collections

Records of the College of Law

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PROFESSIONAL MATERIALS

  • Series 1: PROFESSIONAL MATERIALS
  • Sub-Series: General
  • Box 1:
  • 1.0 Obituary for Clarence Updegraff
  • 1.1 Correspondence (largely professional) - 1927, 1928
  • 1.2 Correspondence (largely personal) - 1926, 1927, 1930
  • 1.3 Correspondence (Cornell Law School) - 1931
  • 1.4 Correspondence (professional) - 1927, 1928, 1929
  • 1.5 Correspondence, newspaper clippings, ephemera (fraternities and clubs) - 1926, 1927, 1928
  • 1.6 Correspondence (Commerce Clearing House) - 1928, 1929, 1930
  • 1.7 Correspondence (professional, Association of American Law Schools) - 1931
    Also includes a list of judges
  • 1.8 Documents and correspondence (Iowa Child Welfare Research Station) - 1930
  • 1.9 Correspondence, miscellaneous
  • 1.10 Correspondence and documents (Collier & Son) - 1931
  • 1.11 Correspondence, miscellaneous and professional - 1929, 1930, 1931
  • 1.12 Correspondence (Yale University) - 1923
  • 1.13 Checkbook and register (personal) - 1925, 1926
  • 1.14 Missouri Bar Association Address, assorted materials - 1961
  • 1.15 Pillsbury Company Speech assorted materials - 1961
  • 1.16 Commencement Speeches assorted materials - 1935, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1962
  • 1.17 Correspondence, miscellaneous - 1932, 1933
  • 1.18 Kiwanis International Committee on Under-Privileged Child materials - 1928, 1929, 1930
  • 1.19 Expense Account documents - 1932
  • 1.20 University memos - 1926
  • 1.21 Correspondence, miscellaneous - 1930, 1931, 1933
  • 1.22 Personal documents (life insurance, will and testament)
  • 1.23 Correspondence, miscellaneous - 1930, 1931, 1932, 1933
  • 1.24 Correspondence (University of Richmond) - 1927, 1928
  • 1.25 Committee on Student Living Conditions materials - 1929, 1930
  • 1.26 Correspondence, miscellaneous - 1930, 1931, 1932, 1933, 1935
  • 1.27 Correspondence (concerning the appointment to SUI) - 1926
  • Box 2:
  • 2.1 Exam copies (Public Utilities) - 1953
  • 2.2 Exam copies (Torts) - 1956, 1959
  • 2.3 Correspondence (Association of American Law Schools) - 1946, 1947
  • 2.4 Roll Book - 1949-1960
  • 2.5 Class Lists, exam copies, student papers, correspondence
  • 2.6 Correspondence (National Association of Purchasing Agents)
  • 2.7 Correspondence and documents (Bar Association questions) - 1954
  • 2.8 University of Iowa Freshman Handbook; Iowa road map, undated; letter - 1928-1929,1963
  • 2.9 Correspondence and documents (The Hoerner Corporation) - 1946, 1947
  • 2.10 Assorted speech and address materials - 1936
  • 2.11 Correspondence and documents (W. H. Hartman Co.) - 1946
  • 2.12 State appropriations correspondence and news clippings - 1937
  • 2.13 Correspondence (Association of American Law Schools) - 1936
  • 2.14 Exam copies (Taxation) - 1943, 1945, 1949, 1950
  • 2.15 Exam copies
  • Insurance - 1934, 1937, 1939, 1940, 1941, 1942
  • Trade Regulations - 1943
  • Legal History - 1939
  • Legal Ethics - 1949, 1951
  • Miscellaneous grade information
  • 2.16 Exam copies and blue books
  • Public Utilities - 1959, 1961
  • Labor Law - 1961
  • Torts - 1961
  • Patent Law - 1961
  • 2.17 Correspondence (W.R. Boyd) - 1933, 1934, 1936, 1937
  • 2.18 Bond refunding correspondence and documents - 1936
  • 2.19 Bond refunding correspondence and documents - 1929-1936
  • 2.20 Miscellaneous "C" file (University Club of Chicago, Cook Co. Publishers, Congregational Church, "C" correspondence) - 1935, 1936, 1937
  • 2.21 Articles of incorporation, correspondence (Iowa City Chamber of Commerce) - 1936, 1937
  • 2.22 Correspondence (Paul Clovis, 20th Century Press) - 1936, 1937
  • Box 3:
  • 3.1 Exam copies (Public Utilities) - 1936-1960
  • 3.2 Exam copies (Torts) - 1936-1961
  • 3.3 Publications - 1940, 1949, 1952
  • 3.4 Letters of Condolences, memorial materials for Mrs. Updegraff - 1963
  • 3.5 Miscellaneous ephemera
  • 3.6 Checkbook and miscellaneous personal papers - 1944, 1945
  • 3.7 Escalator clause correspondence and documents - 1941
  • 3.8 Labor Law Reports - 1964, 1965
  • 3.9 Correspondence and documents (ABA Railway Labor Act) - 1951
  • 3.10 Papers (American Industry; Anti-Trust Acts; Labor Law) - 1941, 1942
  • 3.11 Checkbook, miscellaneous personal papers, photographs, and correspondence - 1944-1956
  • 3.12 SUI Legal Institute mock trials (?) - 1956
  • 3.13 Correspondence, miscellaneous - 1930-1933
  • 3.14 Correspondence about banking and insurance - 1930-1937
  • 3.15 Correspondence, miscellaneous ephemera
  • 3.16 Correspondence with Merton Ferson - 1926-1931
  • 3.17 Post cards, business cards - 1922
  • 3.18 Correspondence (L. R. Darr) - 1925-1934
  • 3.19 Correspondence (Decker & Sons) - 1922-1928
  • 3.20 Correspondence (Committee on the Revision of the Laws) - 1926
  • 3.21 University of Iowa Handbook; General Motors Corporation Agreement; Management Engineering Guide - 1926-1927, 1946, 1963
  • Sub-Series: Documents in these folders appear to have been prepared by and/or for Arthur O. Leff
  • Box 4:
  • 4.1 Court briefs (Iowa Hotel Assoc. vs. State Board of Regents) - 1960
  • 4.2 Court briefs (estate settlements) - 1954, 1955
  • 4.3 Course abstracts (Title Standards) - 1948, 1949, 1950
    with Daily Iowan
  • 4.4 Practice Court - 1967
  • 4.5 Practice Court - 1965
  • 4.6 Practice Court - 1964
  • 4.7 Court case materials (SUI Alumni Assoc.) - 1947, 1949, 1950
    Includes correspondence with President Hancher
  • 4.8 Jury Selection forms and charts, undated
  • 4.9 Practice Court - 1966
  • 4.10 University Attorney papers and addresses - 1961
  • 4.11 Court briefs (Iowa Hotel Assoc. vs. State Board of Regents) - 1960
  • 4.12 Hospitalization of the Mentally Ill Bill - 1957
  • 4.13 Medical Service Plan - 1948, 1949
  • 4.14 Supreme Court Day - 1965
  • 4.15 Jury selection lists - 1965
  • 4.16 Miscellaneous correspondence and documents
    Includes correspondence with President Hancher and last will and testament of Bertha Shambaugh
  • 4.17 Kiwanis Club materials - 1931, 1932
  • 4.18 Law Reform Committee of State Bar Association materials - 1929, 1930, 1931
  • 4.19 Law School Matters
  • 4.20 Law School Matters
  • 4.21 Correspondence (David E. Lillienthal) - 1931
  • 4.22 Miscellaneous "M" correspondence - 1929-1931
  • 4.23 Miscellaneous - 1926
    Includes 20 photos of UI campus in 1926 and one photo of Updegraff's infant son [?]
  • 4.24 Moving and storage documents - 1926
  • 4.25 Song books, jokes, couplets, plays, newspaper clippings, photograph of SUI football team - 1921
  • 4.26 Song books, jokes, etc. continued
  • 4.27 Supreme Court Day abstracts and briefs (belonging to A. O. Leff) - 1942
  • 4.28 "Foundation Guidebook to Accompany Cases on Evidence" (belonging to A. O. Leff) - 1943
  • 4.29 Court transcription - 1948
  • 4.30 Court briefs
  • 4.31 Correspondence, several court reports (originally)
  • Box 5:
  • 5.1 Residence Appeal Committee correspondence and documents - 1956
  • 5.2 Junior Law Club Arguments - 1948
  • 5.3 Junior Law Club Arguments - 1947
  • 5.4 Supreme Court Day Arguments - 1952
  • 5.5 Junior Arguments - 1953
  • 5.6 Junior Arguments - 1951-1952
  • 5.7 Junior Arguments - 1950-1951
  • 5.8 Junior Arguments - 1949
  • 5.9 Junior Arguments - 1954
  • 5.10 Supreme Court Day Arguments - 1955
  • 5.11 Supreme Court Day Arguments - 1957
  • 5.12 Supreme Court Day Arguments - 1958
  • 5.13 Supreme Court Day Arguments - 1951
  • 5.14 Practice Court - 1969
  • 5.15 Practice Court - 1968
  • 5.16 Practice Court - 1962
  • 5.17 Practice Court - 1960
  • 5.18 Practice Court - 1959
  • 5.19 Practice Court - 1958
  • 5.20 Trial Practice - 1975
  • 5.21 Supreme Court Day - 1966
  • 5.22 Supreme Court Day - 1962
  • 5.23 Supreme Court Day - 1961, 1962
  • 5.24 Supreme Court Day (Drake University) - 1968
  • 5.25 Practice Court - 1973
  • 5.26 Practice Court - 1973
  • 5.27 Evidence photographs - 1961
  • 5.28 Jury selection forms and charts, blank, undated
  • 5.29 Practice Court - 1972
  • 5.30 Practice Court - 1970
  • 5.31 Practice Court document files, blank, unfoldered
  • 5.32 Practice Court - 1973
  • 5.33 Practice Court - 1973
  • One unfoldered letter on top
  • Box 6:
  • 6.1 Iowa Advocate, Iowa Law Students Assoc., v. 1: no. 2
  • 6.2 Biographical data for Updegraff - 1957
  • 6.3 Court briefs and materials for labor union cases - 1945, 1946, 1947, 1956
  • 6.4 Correspondence regarding scholarship money - 1936
  • 6.5 American Transit Association correspondence and documents - 1947, 1951
  • 6.6 Escalator clauses, correspondence and documents - 1937-1942
  • 6.7 History and genealogy of the Updegraff family
  • 6.8 Checkbook - 1940-1944
  • 6.9 Miscellaneous
  • 6.10 Court brief - 1955
  • 6.11 Informal Hearing and Meeting Notes - 1943
  • 6.12 Court petition - 1952
  • 6.13 Articles about Labor Unions, Report of the Education Department, miscellaneous maps, ephemera
  • 6.14 Management Arbitration Problems Seminar - 1963
  • 6.15 National Association of Foreman materials - 1940
  • 6.16 National Youth Association correspondence - 1939, 1949
  • 6.17 Case materials, Employee Sales to Employees - 1941
  • 6.18 Student grades, enrollment
  • 6.19 Wage and Hour and Public Contracts Division materials - 1943
  • 6.20 Wage and Hour and Public Contracts Division materials - 1943
  • Box 7:
  • 7.1 Goodyear Awards and Decisions - 1964
  • 7.2 National Foundry Association - 1952
  • 7.3 Correspondence regarding Updegraff's possible presidency at the University of Wyoming - 1941
  • 7.4 Photo reproductions (12) of a portrait of Updegraff - 19952
  • 7.5 Labor Disputes speech data - 1941
  • 7.6 Correspondence ("Recommendation Material") - 1927-1944
  • 7.7 Loyola Seminar materials - 1962, 1963
  • 7.8 Car air conditioner promotional materials - 1961
  • 7.9 Several copies of The Gods of the Copybook Headings by Rudyard Kipling
  • 7.10 Goodyear Tire case materials - 1964
  • 7.11 Miscellaneous
  • 7.12 General "I" correspondence - 1935-1937
  • 7.13 Personal papers, insurance, etc. - 1936, 1937
  • 7.14 Correspondence regarding claims and spending vouchers from Iowa State - 1936
  • 7.15 Personal papers, banking - 1936, 1937
  • 7.16 Tennis Court contract - 1935
  • 7.17 Iowa Bar Association Unauthorized Practice of Law materials - 1936, 1937
  • 7.18 Iowa Bar Association Committee on Legal Publications - 1937
  • 7.19 National Academy of Arbitrators framed certificate - 1947
    Unfoldered
  • 7.20 Correspondence with W. H. Gemmill - 1937
  • 7.21 Correspondence with W. H. Gemmill - 1933-1936
  • 7.22 Correspondence with John M. Grimm - 1936, 1937
  • 7.23 Correspondence with John L. Griffith - 1935-1937
  • 7.24 General "H" correspondence - 1936, 1937
  • 7.25 General "P" correspondence - 1924, 1936, 1937
  • 7.25 Johnson County Republican Club materials, undated
  • 7.27 General "K" correspondence - 1936, 1937
  • 7.28 Kiwanis Club materials - 1933
  • 7.29 Patent document (?) - 1935
  • Box 8:
  • 8.1 Agricultural Law Matters, correspondence - 1961, 1962
  • 8.2 Economy Advertising Co. case materials, correspondence - 1962
  • 8.3 Miscellaneous correspondence, court documents, personal papers - 1962, 1963
  • 8.4 Uniform Nuclear Facilities Liability Act materials, correspondence - 1961, 1962
  • 8.5 Miscellaneous correspondence, law journals, personal papers, court documents, Time magazines - 1963
  • 8.6 Bar Exam question materials - 1963
  • 8.7 Bar Exam question materials - 1963
  • 8.8 Bar Exam question materials - 1963
  • 8.9 Bar Exam question materials - 1963
  • 8.10 Bar Exam question materials - 1963
  • 8.11 Bar Exam question materials, correspondence - 1963
  • 8.12 Bar Exam question materials - 1963
  • 8.13 Bar Exam question materials - 1963
  • 8.14 Bar Exam question materials, rules - 1963
  • Box 9:
  • 9.1 Miscellaneous faculty meeting notes, trial practice materials - 1943, 1963, 1964
  • 9.2 Trial practice exams - 1963
  • 9.3 Pad of blank land measure map sheets, undated
  • 9.4 Pad of blank land measure map sheets, undated
  • 9.5 Pad of blank land measure map sheets, compass, and ruler, undated
  • 9.6 Property Titles exam and exam materials - 1954-1966
  • 9.7 Abstracts of Title exam copies - 1962
  • 9.8 Class enrollment lists, Real Property Titles exam copies - 1964-1966
  • 9.9 Supreme Court Day - 1941, 1942
  • 9.10 Miscellaneous faculty meeting notes, faculty memos, correspondence, court documents - 1961, 1962
  • 9.11 Court documents - 1962
  • 9.12 Trial Practice exam copies - 1962
  • 9.13 National Conference of University Attorneys materials - 1961
  • 9.14 Appeal for Resident Classification documents - 1957
  • 9.15 Appeal for Resident Classification documents - 1957
  • 9.16 Miscellaneous papers for Arthur Leff - 1957
  • 9.17 Carson vs. State of Iowa documents, news clippings - 1948
  • 9.18 State of Iowa vs. Johann documents - 1957
  • 9.19 State of Iowa vs. Johann and Town of Wahpeton documents - 1959
  • 9.20 Evidence photos, Ossian, Iowa - 1965
  • 9.21 Briefs and arguments, two cases - 1961, 1962
  • 9.22 National Conference of University Attorneys Abstracts of Short Talks - 1961
  • 9.23 National Conference of University Attorneys materials, correspondence with Arthur Leff - 1961
  • 9.24 Supreme Court Day correspondence from Arthur Leff, case brief and record - 1963
  • 9.25 National Conference of University Attorneys program, correspondence with Arthur Leff - 1960, 1961
  • 9.26 Miscellaneous correspondence, faculty meeting notes, memos, National Conference of University Attorneys addresses - 1961-1963
  • 9.27 Evidence photos - 1937, 1965
  • 9.28 Appeal for Resident Classification documents - 1964
  • Box 10:
  • 10.1 Public Utility study materials - 1949-1950
  • 10.2 Commerce Clearing House, Inc., correspondence - 1950
  • 10.3 Miscellaneous class materials, correspondence, labor articles - 1948-1950
  • 10.4 Admiralty materials, correspondence - 1949
  • 10.5 Public Utilities Bill copies - 1951
  • 10.6 Public Utilities Division reports, correspondence - 1946, 1951
  • 10.7 Miscellaneous public utility correspondence, news clippings - 1930, 1931
  • 10.8 Public Utility research materials, undated
  • 10.9 Iowa State Bar Association Annual Meeting, workshop outlines - 1958
  • 10.10 RotoGravure Co., court documents - 1955
  • 10.11 Letter to L. J. Farnsworth - 1937
  • 10.12 Athletics publicity - 1937
  • 10.13 Public Utilities Round Table of the Association of American Law Schools, correspondence, documents - 1934, 1935
  • 10.14 Miscellaneous news clippings, correspondence, "Politics" - 1936
  • 10.15 Congratulatory letters from Updegraff, news clippings - 1935, 1936
  • Box 11:
  • 11.1 Correspondence with landlords - 1923-1926
  • 11.2 News clippings featuring Updegraff - 1926, 1928
  • 11.3 Letters of reference, introduction - 1929-1932
  • 11.4 Correspondence with colleagues of New Jersey Law School - 1925-1927
  • 11.5 General "M" correspondence; general "T" correspondence - 1930-1935
  • 11.6 Themes prepared for undergrad courses - 1922
  • 11.7 Correspondence with colleagues of Tulane Law School - 1926, 1927
  • 11.8 Correspondence with colleagues; contained in checkbook - 1923, 1924
  • 11.9 General "R" correspondence - 1930-1933
  • 11.10 Personal records, receipts
  • 11.11 General "O" correspondence - 1927, 1932, 1933
  • 11.12 Correspondence of fraternal organizations - 1922
  • 11.13 Miscellaneous ephemera - 1922, 1923, 1939
  • 11.14 General "P" correspondence - 1929-1933
  • 11.15 Correspondence with colleagues of University of Pittsburgh School of Law - 1926
  • 11.16 Public Utilities correspondence - 1928
  • 11.17 Copies of addresses regarding Labor Laws, miscellaneous ephemera - 1963
  • 11.18 Bar Exam question materials, procedure and grading - 1963
  • 11.19 Minnesota Bar Association Committee on Legal Education - 1962-1964
  • 11.20 Bar Exam question materials, questionnaire - 1964
  • 11.21 Bar Exam question materials, correspondence - 1963
  • 11.22 Bar Exam question materials - 1963, 1964
  • 11.23 Miscellaneous journal articles, correspondence, ephemera
  • Box 12:
  • 12.1 General "M" correspondence - 1936, 1937
  • 12.2 Chauffeurs, Teamsters and Helpers Union, correspondence and court documents - 1948-1950
  • 12.3 North Central Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools, faculty record - 1935
  • 12.4 News clippings regarding Updegraff as Assistant to the President, Who's Who blurb - 1932-1933, 1934
  • 12.5 News clippings - 1933, 1934
  • 12.6 General "O" correspondence - 1935, 1936
  • 12.7 Correspondence with Carl Kuehnle - 1936
  • 12.8 Correspondence, Intercollegiate Conference of Athletics - 1933-1935
  • 12.9 Miscellaneous correspondence and ephemera regarding labor arbitration - 1957, 1958, 1961
    Includes several photographs
  • 12.10 Miscellaneous
    Includes several photographs
  • 12.11 Arbitration literature - 1962, 1963
  • 12.12 General "J' correspondence - 1936, 1937
  • 12.13 Correspondence with President Jessup - 1934-1937
  • 12.14 Expense Accounts - 1934-1936
  • 12.15 General "G" correspondence - 1921-1937
  • 12.16 General "F" correspondence - 1935-1937
  • 12.17 Letters to Updegraff's mother and brother - 1937
  • 12.18 First Capital Bank stockholders information - 1936
  • 12.19 Federal Savings and Loan Association information - 1935-1937
  • 12.20 Masters for forms
  • 12.21 Correspondence with Judge Earl Hall - 1935-1937
  • 12.22 Correspondence with E. R. Hiklin - 1933-1937
  • 12.23 Better Housing Committee materials - 1935
  • 12.24 Correspondence with Thomas Humphrey - 1929-1937
  • 12.25 General "L" correspondence - 1936, 1937
  • 12.26 Correspondence with James Landis - 1936
  • 12.27 Correspondence with D. M. Lierle - 1936, 1937
  • 12.28 Legislation reviews - 1937
  • 12.29 General "M" and "Mc" correspondence - 1936, 1937
  • 12.30 Iowa State Patent Board of Trustees - 1935-1937
  • 12.31 Permanent Endowment Fund correspondence and report - 1935, 1936
  • 12.32 Expense accounts - 1937
  • 12.33 General "D" correspondence - 1935-1937
  • 12.34 Expense accounts for travel, School for the Deaf - 1935
  • 12.35 Correspondence with Walter Davis - 1933-1940
  • 12.36 Memo, "Concerning use of the term 'Dormitories'" - 1945
  • 12.37 General "E" correspondence - 1935-1937
  • 12.38 Correspondence regarding employment of students - 1936, 1937
  • 12.39 Correspondence with Frank Comfort - 1937
  • 12.40 Correspondence, Iowa Society for Crippled Children and the Disabled - 1939-1943
  • 12.41 Society for Crippled Children of Johnson County meeting notes, correspondence, materials - 1941, 1942
  • 12.42 Miscellaneous
  • Box 13:
  • 13.1 Miscellaneous materials and correspondence, contained in three-ring source book - 1954, 1963
  • 13.2 Personal expense records, contained in checkbook - 1959, 1969
  • 13.3 Miscellaneous pamphlets, journals, newsletters - 1964
  • 13.4 Miscellaneous Labor and Management Law materials - 1958-1966
  • 13.5 Miscellaneous
  • 13.6 Sioux City Waterworks case materials and correspondence - 1951, 1952
  • 13.7 Miscellaneous conference materials, notes, outlines, correspondence - 1963, 1964
  • Box 14:
  • 14.1 Code of By-Laws of Pel-Kote Products, Inc., correspondence, Articles of Incorporation, Board meeting notes - 1952-1955
  • 14.2 Miscellaneous ephemera
  • 14.3 Materials regarding labor arbitration - 1959-1964
  • 14.4 Faculty meeting notes - 1965
  • 14.5 Materials regarding U.S. Patent Application - 1955, 1956
  • 14.6 Practice collective bargaining panel materials - 1954
  • 14.7 Collective bargaining materials - 1954
  • 14.8 Correspondence regarding address to Industrial Relations Association of Chicago - 1953
  • 14.9 Recent Developments in Labor Arbitration panel discussion materials - 1954
  • 14.10 Labor Law Revision panel discussion materials - 1954
  • 14.11 United Airlines Arbitration Panel materials - 1952
  • 14.12 Materials for arbitration presentations at Notre Dame and Tulsa - 1954
  • 14.13 Kansas City Law School program materials - 1954
  • 14.14 University of Michigan program materials - 1950
  • 14.15 Correspondence with Institute of Economic Policy - 1952-1954
  • 14.16 Correspondence with National Mediation Board - 1953
  • 14.17 Correspondence with Iowa Manufacturer's Association - 1950
  • 14.18 Illinois Institute of Technology speech materials - 1954
  • 14.19 Materials and correspondence regarding "fee-splitting" - 1952-1954
  • 14.20 Materials regarding Peoria Manufacturer's Association program - 1952
  • 14.21 National Foundry Association speech materials - 1955
  • 14.22 Court documents and materials regarding Sioux City Waterworks - 1952, 1953
  • 14.23 Labor and Union Arbitration materials, miscellaneous - 1953, 1954
  • 14.24 Materials regarding Labor-Management Relations Conference - 1954
  • 14.25 Labor Law Council materials and correspondence - 1953
  • Box 15:
  • 15.1 Blank forms and reports, undated
  • 15.2 Blank forms and reports, undated, unfoldered
  • 15.3 Practice Court documents - 1971
  • 15.4 Trial Courts Annual Report, Massachusetts Law Quarterly, unfoldered - 1963, 1964
  • 15.5 Practice Court materials - 1971
  • 15.6 Practice Court documents - 1971
  • 15.7 Practice Court documents - 1971
  • 15.8 Practice Court documents - 1971
  • 15.9 Practice Court documents - 1971
  • 15.10 Court case depositions, 2 bound volumes - 1961
  • 15.11 Lawyers Record System blank forms - 1960
  • 15.12 Supreme Court Day materials - 1953
  • 15.13 Junior Law Club practice court documents - 1952, 1953
  • 15.14 Facts used in Senior Trial Cases - 1932, 1933
  • 15.15 Junior Law Club arguments - 1937-1939
  • Sub-Series: Documents in these folders appear to have been prepared by and/or for Arthur O. Leff and Mason Ladd
  • Box 16:
  • 16.1 Correspondence regarding workmen's compensation - 1931-1936
  • 16.2 Case materials regarding personal case involving Updegraff - 1926-1928
  • 16.3 "The Benchers Society" correspondence and by-laws - 1923
  • 16.4 Photographs of road, gas station, cars, in Avoca, Iowa - 1925
  • 16.5 Correspondence regarding trust fund account - 1928, 1929
  • 16.6 Bulletin board notices for Law Review - 1926-1928
  • 16.7 Sioux City Waterworks appeal documents - 1952
  • 16.8 Course evaluation questions and responses - 1930
  • 16.9 Miscellaneous ephemera, includes photographs - 1952, 1963
  • 16.10 Labor Law course materials, miscellaneous - 1953-1962
  • 16.11 Management program materials and notes - 1960
  • 16.12 Iowa Supreme Court Rules of Procedure, blank court forms - 1941, 1943
  • 16.13 Probate Practice and Peace Officer Course documents - 1938-1943
  • 16.14 Miscellaneous correspondence, publications, ephemera - 1929, 1930-1941
  • 16.15 Iowa Traffic League materials and correspondence - 1928, 1929
  • 16.16 Correspondence regarding insurance (personal) - 1930, 1931
  • 16.17 Invitations - 1921
  • 16.18 General "I" correspondence - 1930-1933
  • 16.19 Correspondence with George Washington University - 1926-1930
  • 16.20 General "G" correspondence - 1929-1931
  • 16.21 Correspondence with Harold Gallagher - 1926
  • Envelope on top of the files in this box contains bullets apparently entered as evidence in a trial (?)
  • Box 17:
  • 17.1 Grade book, Torts - 1961-1962
  • 17.2 Correspondence, National Association of Purchasing Agents - 1939-1949
  • 17.3 National Association of Purchasing Agents, finished articles - 1939-1941
  • 17.4 Comparative research of taxes, questionnaires and responses - 1941
  • 17.5 Correspondence and materials regarding escalator clauses - 1942
  • 17.6 Miscellaneous personal and professional correspondence, publications, labor law materials - 1961-1964
  • 17.7 Miscellaneous personal and professional correspondence, essays, speeches - 1938, 1962
  • 17.8 Miscellaneous publications - 1937-1964
  • 17.9 Correspondence with Lloyd Starr - 1953
  • Box 18:
  • 18.1 Correspondence and documents regarding Iowa Farm Mutual Insurance case - 1956
  • 18.2 Correspondence and materials regarding workman's compensation - 1939-1946
  • 18.3 Correspondence and materials regarding psychopathic hospital - 1945-1950
  • 18.4 Documents used for trial practice assignments - 1941-1952
  • 18.5 Correspondence between Arthur Leff and Presidents Hancher and Gilmore - 1938-1950
    Includes Iowa City Press-Citizen dated November 9, 1938
  • 18.6 Practice Court materials - 1952
  • 18.7 Practice Court materials - 1950
  • 18.8 Supreme Court Day materials - 1942-1943
  • 18.9 Correspondence and materials regarding a bill concerning the use of cadavers for scientific purposes - 1953-1954
  • 18.10 Practice Court materials - 1956
  • 18.11 Practice Court materials - 1954
  • 18.12 Practice Court materials - 1953
  • 18.13 Correspondence between Arthur Leff and University departments - 1938-1952
    Includes correspondence with President Hancher
  • 18.14 Documents and correspondence regarding property titles - 1941
  • 18.15 Meeting notes regarding the purchase of Finkbine Field by the University - 1923
  • 18.16 Materials regarding civil aeronautics - 1939-1940
  • 18.17 Correspondence and materials regarding termination of a lease by SUI Physics - Engineering - 1945-1946
  • 18.18 Property Title exams - 1966
  • 18.19 Court documents regarding SUI property case - 1941
  • 18.20 Court documents regarding SUI property case - 1948
  • 18.21 Correspondence and documents regarding eye donation - 1947, 1949
  • 18.22 Sewage disposal contract - 1950
  • 18.23 Abstracts of title documents
  • 18.24 Junior Law Club case - 1949
  • 18.25 Correspondence and materials regarding a bill concerning the use of cadavers for scientific purposes - 1955
  • 18.26 Correspondence and documents regarding sale of property to SUI - 1955
  • 18.27 Blueprints showing plans for expansion of the Iowa Memorial Union and University property on Clinton Street (dorms), undated
  • Box 19:
  • 19.1 Poster with 1934 democratic officers - 1934
  • 19.2 Correspondence regarding Public Utilities Regulation in Iowa - 1937
  • 19.3 Public Utilities Section of American Bar Association - 1933-1935
  • 19.4 Letters of request - 1936, 1937
  • 19.5 Correspondence with Henry J. Roelofs - 1937
  • 19.6 Letters of introduction - 1936
  • 19.7 Correspondence with LeRoy Rader - 1936-1937
  • 19.8 Correspondence with LeRoy Rader - 1937
  • 19.9 General "R" correspondence - 1936-1937
  • 19.10 Correspondence and documents regarding Charles Swindler - 1937
  • 19.11 Materials regarding Supreme Court Issue - 1937
  • 19.12 General "T" correspondence - 1935-1937
  • 19.13 Tickets and invitations - 1936, 1937
  • 19.14 Correspondence with and regarding Lehan Ryan - 1936-1937
  • 19.15 Correspondence with Wiley Rutledge - 1936
  • 19.16 Western Conference notes and correspondence - 1935-1936
  • 19.17 General "S" correspondence - 1935-1937
  • 19.18 Triangle Club Clubhouse Committee, correspondence and notes - 1935-1937
  • 19.19 Correspondence regarding Sears Roebuck stock - 1937
  • 19.20 Correspondence, Securities and Exchange Commission - 1936-1937
  • 19.21 Correspondence and materials regarding Social Security Act - 1936
  • 19.22 Documents regarding a Last Will and Testament - 1941-1947
  • 19.23 Daily journals of activities, January 2-December 24 - 1935-1937
  • 19.24 Triangle Club materials - 1934-1937
  • 19.25 Daily journals of activities, June 5-December 22 - 1934-1935
  • 19.26 Correspondence with Octavia and Robert Tullis - 1934
  • 19.27 General "U" correspondence - 1937
  • 19.28 Newspaper clipping photo featuring C. M. Updegraff, Jr. - 1937
  • 19.29 General "V" correspondence - 1937
  • 19.30 General "W" correspondence - 1936-1937
  • 19.31 Western Conference meeting materials - 1937
  • Box 20:
  • 20.1 Correspondence and documents regarding Iowa Alumni of Chicago scholarships - 1936-1937
  • 20.2 Correspondence with University of California at Los Angeles - 1946-1957
  • 20.3 Editorials written by Updegraff and correspondence with Mason City Globe-Gazette editor, Earl Hall - 1938-1941
  • 20.4 Correspondence with FBI - 1940-1942
    Includes several letters signed by J. Edgar Hoover and a blank FBI application for employment
  • 20.5 Correspondence with S. Jack Galvin, president Sheffield Brick and Tile Company - 1939-1947
  • 20.6 Correspondence with John Gall, National Association of Manufacturers - 1937
  • 20.7 Correspondence with John Gall - 1938-1942
  • 20.8 Correspondence with Harold J. Gallagher, president American Bar Association - 1937-1950
  • 20.9 Correspondence with George Gallup, VP Young & Rubicam Advertising - 1938-1939
  • 20.10 Correspondence with Major John L. Griffith - 1937-1938
  • 20.11 Legal memos, brief correspondence with President Hancher - 1946
  • 20.12 Correspondence with Senator Clyde Herring - 1938-1939
  • Box 21:
  • 21.1 Miscellaneous correspondence, National Association of Manufacturers - 1938-1940
  • 21.2 Autobiographical information, correspondence regarding resignation as Assistant to the President (Gilmore) - 1937
  • 21.3 Correspondence with Walter B. Weisenburger, National Association of Manufacturers - 1938-1940
  • 21.4 Miscellaneous correspondence with SUI - 1937-1939
  • 21.5 Correspondence and documents regarding bequeathing of Shambaugh House to SUI - 1945-1946
  • 21.6 Correspondence with organizations and people regarding possible presidency of University of Kansas - 1939
  • 21.7 Correspondence regarding possible position at Butler University, correspondence with President Jessup - 1938, 1939
  • 21.8 Correspondence regarding possible position at University of Colorado - 1939
  • 21.9 Correspondence regarding a possible deanship at University of Texas Law School - 1939, 1940
  • 21.10 Correspondence regarding possible deanship at Ohio State University Law School - 1939
  • Box 22:
  • 22.1 Correspondence regarding possible appointments to Interstate Commerce Commission and Federal Communications Commission, letters from Senator Guy Gillette and Secretary to President Roosevelt - 1939
  • 22.2 Correspondence with President of Sheffield Brick & Tile Co. - 1939
  • 22.3 Correspondence with Supreme Court Justice Wiley Rutledge - 1943
  • 22.4 Correspondence and documents concerning SUI Law students, events - 1938-1945
  • 22.5 Correspondence with Arthur Steindler - 1938-1940
  • 22.6 Correspondence regarding the new appointment of a football coach, Irl Tubbs - 1939-1942
  • 22.7 Miscellaneous correspondence - 1938-1947
  • 22.8 Miscellaneous correspondence - 1938-1945
  • 22.9 Miscellaneous correspondence - 1937-1947
  • Box 23:
  • 23.1 Miscellaneous correspondence - 1939-1945
    Includes correspondence with President Jessup
  • 23.2 Miscellaneous correspondence - 1938-1944
  • 23.3 Miscellaneous correspondence - 1934-1946
  • 23.4 Miscellaneous correspondence and documents - 1934-1949

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Updegraff, Clarence M. (Clarence Milton), 1893-1978

Occupations:
Attorneys general
Law teachers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Speeches
Archives
Briefs (Legal documents)
Examinations (Documents)
Professional papers
Correspondence