Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Hugh C. MacDougall collection of Progressive Party Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1946-1950
Creator: MacDougall, Hugh C.
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0482
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: MacDougall was a collector of materials from the Henry A. Wallace's presidential campaign on the Progressive Party ticket. Includes broadsides, correspondence, and speeches, as well as Progressive Party statements, meetings, and brochures.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Hugh C. MacDougall donated these papers to the University of Iowa in 1993.

Preferred Citation: Hugh C. MacDougall Collection of Progressive Party Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Founded in 1948, the Progressive Party's first presidential candidate was Henry A. Wallace. The party (which continued until 1954) opposed the bipartisan Cold War policy, advocated civil rights, and wanted an extension of New Deal policies. Hugh MacDougall was a student when the Progressive Party was formed. He collected these materials at that time.

The Hugh MacDougall Collection of Progressive Party Papers primarily documents the Henry A. Wallace presidential campaign of 1948. The papers are largely comprised of documents published by the Progressive Party such as broadsides, campaign brochures, party statements, and pamphlets. A correspondence file, speeches, and clippings make up the remainder of this collection.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Sub-Series: Speech
  • Box 1:
  • Address by Henry A. Wallace. National Wallace for President Committee, May 11 - 1948
  • Sub-Series: Newsletter
  • Box 1:
  • BOUMA'S Newsletter, May 12 - 1948
  • Sub-Series: Broadsides and Brochures
  • Box 1:
  • Independent Progressive Party of California
  • National Businessmen for Wallace Committee
  • National Council of American -- Soviet Friendship
  • National Council of the Arts, Sciences, and Professions
  • National Labor Committee of the Progressive Party
  • National Railroad Labor Committee of the Progressive Party
  • National Wallace for President Committee
  • National Youth for Wallace Committee
  • Progressive Party
  • Progressive Party of Illinois
  • Progressive Party of Massachusetts
  • Progressive Party of Michigan
  • United Electrical, Radio, and Machine Workers of America (UE-CIO)
  • Veterans for Wallace
  • Women for Wallace
  • World Congress for Peace - 1949
  • Young Progressives of America
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous
  • Box 1:
  • "Canned" Speeches. National Wallace for President Committee
  • Correspondence - 1948-1949
  • Editorials - 1948
  • Facts for Farmers, Vol. 8, #3
  • Facts on the Wallace Campaign. A Newsletter for Editors and Commentators
  • Frantz, Laurent B. and Norman Redlich. "Does Silence Mean Guilty" The Nation, reprint
  • "Henry Wallace Charts the Path to Peace," New Republic, reprint
  • "McCarthy, Hunt, and Facts Forum," The Reporter February 16 - 1954
  • National Council Meeting - 1948
  • Progressive Party. Newspaper Clippings - 1946-1950
  • "Peace -- Freedom and Abundance." Progressive Party Platform, July 23-25 - 1948
  • Posters
  • Progressive Party of Vermont. State Convention and Recommended Platform - 1948
  • Radio Address by Henry A. Wallace. NBC, October 4 - 1948
  • Script for Sound-Truck Street Show
  • "Songs for a New Party" - 1948
  • Teachers Union. Statement on Education - 1948
  • Statement of Bruce Waybur, United Electrical, Radio and Machine Workers of America, CIO before Senate Subcommittee on Agricultural Appropriations, July 26 - 1947
  • Wallace Campaign Material
  • We Can Have Homes. Progressive Party Housing Program
  • Young Progressives of America - 1948

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Wallace, Henry Agard, 1888-1965

Corporate Names:
Progressive Party (U.S. : 1948)

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Political campaigns