Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Harvey W. Wertz Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1917-1963
Creator: Wertz, Harvey W. (1899-1989)
Extent: 1.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0479
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: American journalist.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 2; Audiotapes: Box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The Harvey W. Wertz Papers were donated to the University Libraries in March 1991 by Alta Wertz, second wife of Harvey.

Preferred Citation: Harvey W. Wertz Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Harvey W. Wertz was born in Grand Junction, Iowa, on August 4, 1899. During World War I he served in the Machine Gun Company of the 168th Regiment, 3rd Iowa Infantry, part of the Rainbow Division, which was involved in much of the heaviest combat in France. Wertz was wounded in a German gas attack. In 1918, he was promoted to the rank of Sergeant.

After the war, Wertz attended the University of Missouri at Columbia where he graduated with a B.A. in journalism in 1924. The following four or five years found him working as a reporter on the following newspapers: St. Louis Star Times, Chicago Tribune (Paris bureau), N.Y. Graphic, N.Y. Evening Post, and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch. In 1929, Harvey Wertz married Scerita Osborne. He subsequently returned to graduate school at the University of Missouri. Upon receiving his M.A., Wertz went to work for the Newspapers Enterprise Association and then the federal government as the information officer of the Office of Price Administration.

Moving to California he purchased a weekly newspaper, the Sherman Oaks Sun. He later sold the paper in order to pursue other career options. Wertz served as a consultant and information director to the Office of Rent Stabilization and was then a field campaign manager for Estes Kefauver's presidential bid. He was also the campaign manager and assistant to Councilman Everett Burkhalter of Los Angeles and State Senator James Corman. On top of all of this Wertz did public relations work over the years for many organizations, was sought after as a popular speaker, and remained active in the Army Reserves. Harvey W. Wertz died in 1989.

These papers are arranged chronologically within an alphabetical order. Included in the collection are correspondence files--including letters written by Wertz during World War I, copies of articles written by him, certificates and plaques, photographs, travel diaries, campaign materials and more.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Articles by Harvey Wertz - 1926-1937
    Incomplete typescripts
  • Audiotapes - 1979
    Two [biographical?] tapes
  • Biographical material - 1957-1966
    Including academic records, awards, biographical sketches, certifications, etc.
  • Board Talk. Office of Rent Stabilization, Washington, D.C., June-August - 1952
  • Burkhalter-Hiestand debate - 1962
  • Civic Center Speakers Club - Arthur M. Morris Award - 1960, 1962
    Plaque and program
  • Correspondence - 1917
  • Correspondence - 1918-1919
  • Correspondence - 1932-1988
  • Kefauver, Estes - 1952-1957, 1963
    Including correspondence, campaign materials, clippings, etc.
  • Box 2:
  • Machinists Non-Partisan Political League - 1963
    Seminar
  • Medaille de la Marne - 1914-1918
    Certificate
  • Newspaper clippings - 1918-1939
  • Notebook
    Notes, drafts of speeches, diary, etc.
  • "An Outline of P.R.'s History" The Independent Journal of Columbia University, vol. 5, no. 8: March 18 - 1938
    Article by Harvey Wertz on public relations.
  • Photographs mostly of Harvey Wertz.
    3 folders
  • Political Aspects in Support of a Municipal Income Tax for School Purposes - 1957
    Essay by Harvey Wertz.
  • Taxpayer Education, or the Care and Feeding of Taxpayers, in TwentyChapters - 1958
    Two chapters of a paper by Harvey Wertz.
  • Travel Diary, to Europe - 1983
    Typescript
  • Wilkinson, Robert M. - 1975-1978
    Campaign and speech material prepared by Harvey Wertz, also includes correspondence.
  • Wolf, Walter B. History of the 42nd the Rainbow Division - 1919
    Booklet
  • Box 3:
  • History of the Missouri National Guard - 1934
    Book
  • Lawrence, Joseph Douglas. Fighting Soldier the AEF in 1918 - 1985
    Book
  • Roster of the Rainbow Division (42nd) - 1917
    Book