Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Lement Harris Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1920-1990
Creator: Harris, Lement (1904-2002)
Extent: 3.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0475
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Agricultural writer and activist. Subject files, pamphlets, correspondence, and clippings, primarily related to communism and agriculture.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Harris in August 1990.

Preferred Citation: Lement Harris Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Lement Harris was born in 1904 to Gertrude Upham and John Francis Harris. John Harris was the co-founder of Texaco and the Wall Street brokerage firm of Harris, Winthrop, and Co. Lement was educated in exclusive eastern prep schools and graduated from Harvard in 1926. Not having decided upon a career, he went to work on a farm in Pennsylvania where he was to remain for three years. While working as a farm laborer he read and was influenced by the works of Gandhi and Tolstoi. He was also exposed to a fellow worker who had been a member of a trade union delegation to the Soviet Union. Harris decided that he too must go there to see how the new society was working. He was introduced to Harold Ware, a communist and IWW organizer, who was running a farm in the North Caucasus area. Ware promised him employment when he came to the Soviet Union. His time in Russia was life-altering and he returned to the United States convinced that the Soviet system was in all ways superior to the West. Back home, he and Ware conducted a nine month survey of life in rural America. They published their results in The American Farmer. It was after this tour that Harris officially joined the Communist Party, of which he was a member until his death in September of 2002.

The Lement Harris Papers consist of 3 linear feet and document his farm activism in the 1930s and beyond. Arranged chronologically within an alphabetical sequence, this collection includes correspondence files with letters from Harold Ware, Milo Reno, Ella Reeve Bloor, and Gus Hall; pamphlets; subject files relating to farm issues and organizations such as Farmers' Holiday and Farmers Union and radical politics.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: 1996 ADDENDUM

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Agrarian Department. Central Committee -- Communist Party of the U.S.A. - 1930-1933
  • Agrarian Periodicals in the United States - 1920-1960
  • "Agrarian Radicals: The United Farmers League of South Dakota," by Allan Mathews. South Dakota History
  • AAA--The New Farm Act. A Short Summary of the Provisions of the Agricultural Adjustment Act of - 1938
  • Agricultural Adjustment Administration. Supreme Court Decision - 1935
  • Agricultural Areas and Farm Populations.
  • Agriculture in the South. Untitled article.
  • Agriculture, Rural Development and Related Agencies Appropriation Bill - 1980
  • Alabama - 1932-1933
    Miscellaneous material relating to agricultural problems and programs in Alabama. Including a letter from Milo Reno.
  • The American Farmer by George Anstrom - 1932
    Pamphlet
  • The American Farmer by Harold Ware
    Typescript carbon
  • American Fund for Public Service, Inc. - 1936-1941
  • The American Guardian. Newspaper (Oklahoma City, Oklahoma), February 3 - 1933
  • "The American Tractor Comes to Soviet Agriculture: The Transfer of a Technology," by Dana G. Dalrymple - 1963
    Article
  • Annual report of a collective farm - 1967
    In Russian
  • Anti-Labor Propaganda Campaign Unloosed in Farm Belt.
    Article
  • Arizona, undated
    Miscellaneous printed material relating to agricultural problems and programs in Arizona.
  • Arkansas - 1929-1932
    Miscellaneous material relating to agricultural problems and programs in Arkansas.
  • As One Farmer to Another by Fred Briehl. Undated
    Pamphlet
  • Associated Farmers of Minnesota. Newspaper (Northfield, Minnesota), vol. 1, #1: July - 1938
  • Atomic Blessing or Atomic Blasting? by Fred Stover - 1950
    Pamphlet
  • Biographical Sketch of Fred Stover - 1985
  • Bills and Resolutions - 1933
  • Birth of the Soviet Combined Harvester and Reaper - 1931
    In Russian
  • Bloor, Mother Ella Reeve.
  • Bonus March. Newspaper clipping, New York Times - 1932
  • Brannan Farm Program - 1949
  • California - 1930-1937
    Miscellaneous material relating to agricultural problems and programs in California.
  • Cannery and Agricultural Workers Industrial Union - 1931-1934
    Reports, clippings, union membership books, etc.
  • China - 1943-1950
    Printed material and clippings
  • Box 2:
  • Cochran, Nile - 1933
    Newspaper clippings
  • "Class Composition of the Farmers Second National Conference," Chicago, by George Anstrom - 1933
    Article
  • Colorado, undated
    Typescript relating to agricultural problems and programs in Colorado.
  • Committee for Cooperation with the New South - 1950
    Correspondence, brochures, financial statements, etc.
  • The Communist Party Addresses These Lines to the Working People on the Southern Farms
    Typescript
  • "The Communist Party and the Midwest Farm Crisis of 1933," by John L. Shover. Reprinted from The Journal of American History, September 2 - 1964
  • The Communist Position on the Farmers' Movement - 1933
    Pamphlet
  • The C.I.O. and the Farmers. July 10 - 1937
    Pamphlet
  • The Contest Between the People and the Plunderers by Fred Stover - 1951
    Pamphlet
  • Correspondence - 1923-1935, 1975-1976
    Including letters from: Harold Ware, Milo Reno, Ella Reeve Bloor, and Gus Hall.
  • Coughlin Lemke and the Union Party by Dale Kramer - 1936
    Pamphlet
  • Cuba - 1947
    Farm problems
  • The Daily Worker. Newspaper (New York City, New York), March 11 - 1933
  • Dairy Issues - 1933-1939
    Pamphlets, printed material, clippings, etc.
  • Delaware - 1933
    Miscellaneous printed material relating to agricultural problems and programs in Delaware.
  • The Devil and Jimmy Byrnes by Frederick L. Schuman - 1948
    Pamphlet
  • Discussion on the Program of the United Farmers League. Typescript of a speech by Kolarov, February 18 - 1931
  • Events Leading to the Establishment of the National Endowment for Democracy - 1984
  • "The Evolution of Action"
    Typescript of an article
  • The Evolution of the American Farmer. Peasantry--Capitalism's 'Solution' of the Farm Problem
    Typescript carbon
  • Facts Explode the Myth of Stassen-Ball-Thye 'Liberalism'
    Pamphlet
  • Facts for Farmers - 1935, 1941
  • "Farm Cooperatives and the Trusts," by Lem Harris and Robert Digby. Political Affairs, January - 1948
  • The Farm Crisis - 1955
    Pamphlet
  • Farm Holiday News. Newspaper (St. Paul, Minnesota), vol. 1, #1: February 20 - 1933
  • Farm Labor News. Newspaper (Washington, D.C.), January - 1949
  • Farm News Letter. Newspaper (Washington, D.C.), vol. 1, #1-11 - 1932-1933
  • Farm Notes
    Typescript notes
  • Farm Organizations - 1932
    Printed lists
  • Box 3:
  • Farm Problems in the South - 1939-1950
    Typescripts, holograph notes, printed material, clippings, etc.
  • A Farm School on Wheels is Needed.
    Typescript
  • Farm Survey - 1931
    Interview and notes
  • Farmer-Labor Party.
    Pamphlet
  • Farmer-Labor-Teamwork. - 1954
    Pamphlet
  • Farmers and Radicals: The 1930's by Richard Henry Lee German - 1973
    Typescript carbon
  • Farmers and the War by Jasper Haaland.
    Pamphlet
  • Farmers and the War by Anna Rochester. - 1943
    Pamphlet
  • Farmers' Committee of Southwest. Proposed Platform, undated
  • Farmers' Demands.
    Typescript
  • Farmers in 1944 by Charles J. Coe - 1944
    Pamphlet
  • The Farmers Make Their Own Program. First Farmers National Relief Conference - 1932
    Pamphlet
  • Farmers' National Committee for Action - 1933
  • Farmers National Relief Conference - 1932-1933
    Miscellaneous printed materials, questionnaires, brochures, notes, clippings, etc.
  • Farmers National Relief Conference: Photocopies of the proceedings - 1932
    2 folders
  • Farmers' Relief Conference of Michigan - 1933
    Minutes, correspondence, clippings, etc.
  • The Farmers' Score Board.
    Typescript
  • Farmers Unite Their Fight by Lem Harris. Report of the Farmers Second National Conference, November - 1933
    Pamphlet
  • The Farmers' Way Out. - 1932
    Pamphlet
  • Federated Farmer-Labor Party. Statement of Principles.
  • First National Convention of Wage Workers in Agricultural Industry. Budget and Plan of Work.
  • Florida - 1934
    Miscellaneous material relating to agricultural problems and programs in Florida.
  • Food, Tobacco, Agricultural and Allied Workers Union of America-CIO. Campbell Soup Conspiracy - 1946
  • For How Long...Does the Farmer Feed Them All by Archie Wright.
    Pamphlet.
  • Georgia - 1934
    Miscellaneous material relating to agricultural problems and programs in Georgia.
  • Harold M. Ware (1890 -- 1935) Agricultural Pioneer, U.S.A. and U.S.S.R. by Lement Harris.
  • "How Will the Farmers Vote in 1948?" Article by Lem Harris.
  • Idaho, undated
    Miscellaneous material relating to agricultural problems and programs in Idaho.
  • Illinois - 1938-1947
    Miscellaneous material relating to agricultural problems and programs in Illinois.
  • Illinois Central Railroad Company. Land Commissioner's Advertisement. - 1861
  • International Chamber of Commerce, "Agriculture, the Touchstone of World Depression and Prosperity." - 1931
  • Box 4:
  • Iowa - 1933-1953, 1980-1983
    Miscellaneous material relating to agricultural problems and programs in Iowa.
  • Is the Depression Here? Midwest Farmer-Labor Alliance.
  • Is This 'Home' Too Much?
    Brochure
  • Kansas - 1932
    Miscellaneous material relating to agricultural problems and programs in Kansas.
  • The Labor Herald, Official Organ of the Trade Union Educational League.Vol. 2, #1: March - 1923
  • Labor's Relations with the Farmers.
    Typescript
  • Landon, Alf - 1936
  • A Legislative Program for Agricultural Labor.
    Pamphlet
  • "The Loup City Riot of 1934: Main Street vs. the 'Far-Out' Left," by William D. Rowley. Nebraska History, September - 1966
  • Lynching Northern Style.
    Pamphlet
  • "Making Hay," by Lem Harris. Column in The Worker - 1948-1950
  • "Marx and Engles on America," Clarity, vol. 1, #13: November - 1944
  • Massachusetts - 1932
    Miscellaneous material relating to agricultural problems and programs in Massachusetts.
  • Meat. A National Scandal by Lem Harris - 1946
    Pamphlet
  • Medical Survey. Typescript of a report about medical services in the Soviet Union.
  • Memo on Rural Work. November 1 - 1945
    Typescript carbon
  • Michigan, undated
    Miscellaneous printed material relating to agricultural problems and programs in Michigan.
  • A Militant Program for American Farmers. Draft Program of the United Farmers League.
    Pamphlet
  • Minnesota - 1933-1948
    Miscellaneous printed material relating to agricultural problems and programs in Minnesota.
  • Miscellaneous printed material - 1934-1935
  • Mississippi, undated
    Miscellaneous material relating to agricultural problems and programs in Mississippi.
  • Missouri - 1932
    Miscellaneous material relating to agricultural problems and programs in Missouri.
  • Montana - 1930, 1949
    Miscellaneous printed material relating to agricultural problems and programs in Montana.
  • "Muddled Millions. Capitalist Angels of Left-Wing Propaganda," by Benjamin Stolberg. Saturday Evening Post, February 15 - 1941
  • My Country, 'tis of thee--- Report on the farm survey done by Ware and Harris.
  • My Tale of Two Worlds by Lement Harris. New York: International Publishers - 1986
  • National Farmers' Holiday Association - 1933-1936
    Including carbon typescripts, clippings, etc.
  • National Farmers' Holiday Association. Correspondence - 1932-1933
  • The National Farmers Union and the Cold War by William C. Pratt - 1980
    Typescript
  • Nebraska - 1932-1933
    Miscellaneous material regarding agricultural problems and programs in Nebraska.
  • New Evidence in the Rosenburg Case.
    Pamphlet
  • New Jersey - 1934
    Miscellaneous printed material regarding agricultural problems in New Jersey.
  • New York - 1933-1939
    Miscellaneous material regarding agricultural problems and programs in New York.
  • Box 5:
  • Newspaper Clippings - 1933-1949
  • Nonpartisan League Party. Platform Argument and State Ticket of South Dakota - 1919
  • North Carolina - 1932, 1950
    Miscellaneous material regarding agricultural problems and programs in North Carolina.
  • North Dakota - 1932-1933
    Miscellaneous material regarding agricultural problems and programs in North Dakota.
  • Notes [probably taken by Lem Harris].
  • Notes of the Road.
    Holograph draft
  • Notes about Southern towns by Lem Harris - 1961-1967
    Including some correspondence
  • Ohio - 1929
    Miscellaneous material regarding agricultural problems and programs in Ohio.
  • Oklahoma, undated
    Miscellaneous printed material regarding agricultural problems and programs in Oklahoma.
  • On the Position of Rev. Chas. E. Coughlin by Michael J. Gallagher, D.D. - 1935
    Talk
  • Oregon - 1927
    Miscellaneous printed material regarding agricultural problems and programs in Oregon.
  • The Organized Farmer. Organ of the Pennsylvania Farmers Protective Association. - 1932-1936
  • Outline of American Agricultural Situation with Russian Contrasts. October - 1931
    Typescript
  • Pennsylvania - 1932
    Miscellaneous material regarding agricultural problems and programs in Pennsylvania.
  • Pineland and Delta Plantation. Interview.
  • Pity the Poor Politician.
    Typescript carbon
  • A Plea to Farmers--We Want to Pay You More Money.
    Pamphlet
  • Poverty on the Land. Report on the Public Hearings of the National Advisory Committee on Farm Labor - 1965
    Pamphlet
  • Prairiefire. The American Farm Crisis Project - 1985-1986
  • Preliminary Report on the Agricultural Wage Workers of the U.S.A. by Elinor Henderson.
    Typescript of a report done for the Agrarian Department of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of the U.S.A.
  • The Producers News. Official Organ of the United Farmers League (Plentywood, MT). June 2 and November 17 - 1933
    Newspaper
  • A Program for Agriculture by Lem Harris. Reprinted from Political Affairs, October - 1947
  • Prospects for Soviet Agriculture in the 1980s by D. Gale Johnson and Karen M. Brooks. Review by Lem Harris - 1983
  • "Quality of Life on Soviet Farms," by Lem Harris. New World Review, vol. 45, no. 6: November-December - 1977
    Pages 45-48
  • Radical Farm Organizations and Periodicals in America, 1920-1960 by Lowell K. Dyson. Offprint from Agricultural History - 1971
  • "The Red Peasant International in America," by Lowell K. Dyson. Reprinted from The Journal of American History, March - 1972
  • Rents.
    Typescript
  • Report of Agricultural Sector Technicians' Conference on the Workers' Plan for America.
  • Rhode Island - 1932
    Miscellaneous material relating to agricultural problems and programs in Rhode Island.
  • Rolling Up Mass Power.
    Typescript carbon
  • The Rosenburg Case by D.N. Pritt.
    Pamphlet
  • The Rural Observer - 1938
  • Russian Reconstruction Farms. Material from a scrapbook kept by Jessica Smith (Mrs. Harold Ware).
    Photocopies
  • Russian Reconstruction Farms. Original material from a scrapbook kept by Jessica Smith (Mrs. Harold Ware).
  • The Scooper, Issued by the Agricultural Workers Union. - 1931
  • "The Second Chronic Crisis in Agriculture," by Robert Digby. Reprinted from Political Affairs, January - 1947
  • Selina State Farm. Report of equipment, production statistics, workers, costs, and profits - 1950-1954, 1964
    In Russian
  • Social Justice and the Distribution of Wealth by Rev. Chas. E. Coughlin - 1935
    Pamphlet
  • Solidarity and Social Justice by Rev. Chas. E. Coughlin - 1935
    Pamphlet
  • Some of Uncle Sam's Poor Relations. The Real Producers of Cotton.
    Typescript carbon
  • South Dakota - 1932-1933
    Miscellaneous material relating to agricultural problems and programs in South Dakota.
  • Southern Tenant Farmers' Union - 1935-1939, 1965
    Including bulletins, constitutions, proceedings, union cards, etc.
  • "Soviet Agriculture Today," by Lem Harris. New World Review, November-December - 1976
    Pages 23-25
  • Box 6:
  • Speech by Lem Harris.
  • Speech at the First All-Union Congress of Collective Farm Shock Brigade Workers by Josef Stalin - 1933
    Pamphlet
  • The Struggle for Civil Liberty on the Land.
    Pamphlet
  • The Sunday News. Newspaper (Seattle, WA), vol. 4, #3, June 4 - 1938
  • Taxpayers League Has Saved Citizens More Than $5,000,000 by Frank L. Ferguson.
    Article
  • Trade Unionism in North Carolina: The Strike Against Reynolds Tobacco by Akosua Barthwell - 1947
  • The 20s: A Helping Hand from the U.S. by Isai Belenkin. Published by Soviet press.
  • Two Babes in the Wood.
    Typescript carbon
  • The Unionist. Newspaper (Austin, MN), vol. 3, #42, August 5 - 1938
  • United Electrical, Radio and Machine Workers of America (U.E.) - 1953-1954
    Pamphlets
  • United Farm Equipment and Metal Workers of America (C.I.O.)
    Brochures, press releases, reports, etc.
  • United Farmers' League.
    By-laws, union cards, broadsides, etc.
  • United Packinghouse Workers of America (C.I.O.)
    Brochures
  • United States Agriculture - 1935
    Untitled typescript
  • Unmasking the New Deal in the Cotton Patch by Donald MacDougal.
    Typescript carbon
  • Vermont, undated
    Miscellaneous material relating to agricultural problems and programs in Vermont.
  • Virginia, undated
    Miscellaneous printed material relating to agricultural problems and programs in Virginia.
  • Wallace, Henry - 1946-1948
    Memos, brochures, pamphlets, clippings, etc.
  • Ware, Harold M. - 1923-1935, 1979
    Correspondence, articles, clippings, etc.
  • "Was Agricultural Distress in the 1930's a Result of Land Speculation During World War I? The Case of Iowa," by Lowell K. Dyson. Annals of Iowa, Spring - 1971
  • The Way Out for Milk Producers by Leif Dahl.
    Pamphlet
  • What is the Chief Cause of the Farm Depression?
    Pamphlet
  • "What Outlook for Co-ops?" by Lem Harris. November 16 - 1947
    Article
  • What Price Milk? by Caroline Whitney - 1939
    Pamphlet
  • What the Government Does to the Farmer.
    Typescript
  • Wheat Belt.
    Typescript
  • Why Farmers Should Be Concerned. Farm Commission of the Communist Party.
  • Why I Joined the United Farmers League by A Wisconsin Farmer.
    Pamphlet
  • Wisconsin - 1932-1933, 1950
    Miscellaneous material relating to agricultural problems and programs in Wisconsin.
  • "The Workers' Party and the Farmers," by Harold M. Ware. The Toiler, vol. 4, #205, January 14 - 1922
  • Workers School. Series of Marxism-Leninism-Elements of Political Economy. IV. Agriculture.
  • "The World Agrarian Crisis and the Peasant Movement," by V. Kolarov. The Communist International, Vol. 8, #9, May 15 - 1931
  • Series 2: 1996 ADDENDUM
  • Box 7:
  • Agriculture School.
    Incomplete typescript and galley proof
  • The Alabama Share Croppers Union by Dale Rosen - 1969
    Essay
  • American Agriculture Movement - 1978-1985
    Includes correspondence, reports, interviews, etc.
  • "American Family Farmers: An Endangered Species," by Lem Harris. World Marxist Review, July - 1989
  • Anti-Semitism and the Radical Right in the Farm Crisis - 1986
    Articles
  • Billions Erased but Problems Remain by Lem Harris.
  • Book Review by Lem Harris of Dynamic Stability: the Soviet Economy Today by Victor and Ellen Perlo - 1980
  • Breadlines Knee-deep in Wheat by Janet Poppendieck.
    Photocopy of Chapters 1-2
  • Caulfield, Sargent. Transcription of an oral history interview conducted by Lem Harris.
  • Columns written by Lem Harris - 1978-1990
  • "Communist returns to Iowa," by Thomas Knudson. The Des Moines Register, December 13 - 1979
  • Correspondence - 1965-1985
  • "A Deeper Look at U.S. Agriculture," by Lem Harris. Political Affairs, June - 1989
  • Dukakis, Michael. Farm policy packet of campaign clippings - 1987
  • Editorials and Letters to the Editor by Lem Harris and others - 1986-1989
  • Family Farm - 1978-1988
    Booklets, clippings, articles, etc.
  • Family Farm, Vital Producer of Food and Fibre by Lem Harris.
  • Farmers' Legal Action Report - 1986-1987
  • Farmers' Outlook in Two Worlds by Lem Harris.
  • "Farmers' Role in an Antimonopoly Coalition," by Lem Harris. Political Affairs, vol. 57, #12: December - 1978
    Pages 28-32
  • "How the Giant Food Chains Dictate Farm Prices," by J.H. Jackson. Independent Banker, December - 1966
  • Interfaith Action for Economic Justice - 1988
  • Krebs, A.V. - 1988-1990
    Various articles regarding agribusiness
  • The Loss of Our Family Farms by Mark Ritchie.
    Special AAM Edition Pamphlet
  • Murphy, Al. Transcription of an oral history interview conducted by Lem Harris, January - 1978
  • Obituary
  • One Man with Courage.... A documentary of the Ristine grain action February 16 - 1981
    Pamphlet
  • Political History of U.S. Farm Policy by Mark Ritchie and Kevin Ristau. League of Rural Voters.
  • Box 8:
  • Program for American Farmers.
  • Rossiter, Vince E. - 1980
    Congressional testimony and clippings
  • "Rural Radicalism on the Northern Plains, 1912-1950," by William C. Pratt. Montana the Magazine of Western History, vol 42: Winter - 1992
    Pages 43-55, Photocopy
  • Special Conference on the Rural Crisis. Statement by Lem Harris - 1985
  • Transcriptions of oral history interviews conducted by Lem Harris - 1979
  • The United Farmer and Rancher Congress sponsored by Farm Aid - 1986
  • Ware, Harold M.
    Articles and reports

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Harris, Lement, 1904-2002

Corporate Names:
Communist Party of America

Topics:
Agriculture
Communism and agriculture
Journalism, Agricultural
Radicalism

Occupations:
Journalists

Genre/Form of Materials:
Clippings (Information artifacts)