Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Ruth Lechlitner Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1919-1988
Creator: Lechlitner, Ruth (-1989)
Extent: 9.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0474
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Poet and teacher. Correspondence, subject files, and preliminary drafts of her writings.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs Boxes 9, 20

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Ruth Lechlitner donated the manuscripts of her three poetry books to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1972. However, the bulk of her papers were given by her husband, Paul Corey, in 1990, following her death the previous November.

Preferred Citation: Papers of Ruth Lechlitner, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Ruth Lechlitner was born near and grew up in Mishawaka, Indiana. After she graduated from high school, her parents moved to Lansing, Michigan. She received her A.B. from the University of Michigan in 1923. For the next two years she taught high school English in New Mexico. Lechlitner was offered a scholarship to the University of Iowa, based upon the several poems she had written and had published in such respected journals as Poetry. While at Iowa she worked as the assistant editor of The Midland (edited by John T. Frederick and Frank Luther Mott). The Midland published several more of Lechlitner's poems. She received her M.A. in 1926.

Moving to New York City, she became an editorial assistant at The Nation. In 1928, Lechlitner married the author, Paul Corey, whom she had met at Iowa. After a year of traveling abroad, they settled in Cold Spring-on-Hudson, New York. There they built their own home and weathered the Great Depression as free-lance writers and chicken farmers. Their only child, Anne, was born in 1941. In 1947, they moved to Sonoma, California, again building their own home. Ruth Lechlitner continued to write and publish poetry while supplementing their income by working as a substitute teacher.

She published three books of poetry: Tomorrow's Phoenix, 1937; Only the Years, 1944; and The Shadow of the Hour, 1956. (Copies of these books may be found in the Special Collections Department of the University of Iowa Libraries). She also had two radio dramas produced in addition to her poems which appeared in such respected journals as Poetry, The New Yorker, The Saturday Review, Harper's Bazaar, and The Nation. She was working on another collection of poetry, tentatively titled Through the Glass Darkly, when she became ill. Ruth Lechlitner died on November 9, 1989, after a long illness.

The papers of Ruth Lechlitner consist of 9.5 linear feet of records, dating from 1919 to 1988. They are arranged chronologically within an alphabetical sequence. Lechlitner corresponded with many important people in literary and publishing circles, especially in the 1930s and 1940s. There are almost six boxes of correspondence, including letters from: George Abbe, Millen Brand, Witter Bynner, John Ciardi, Carroll Coleman, Paul Corey, Howard M. Corning, Norman Corwin, David DeJong, George Dillon, Erling Larsen, Jay Latimer, James Laughlin, Willard Maas, Archibald MacLeish, Jerre Mangione, Marianne Moore, Howard Moss, Lewis Mumford, Frederic Prokosch, Kenneth Rexroth, Norman Rosten, Isidor Schneider, Winfield T. Scott, Irita Van Doren, and Hendrik Willem Van Loon.

Ruth Lechlitner's poetry is well represented. Her three published volumes are documented with drafts, proofs, correspondence, and reviews. There are also examples of books that were never published or completed. Most of her individual poems appear in either draft or published form.

However, the papers of Ruth Lechlitner are more than literary correspondence and poetry. There are also glimpses of her life as a young high school girl, college student, teacher, wife, and mother; illustrated with high school scrapbooks, college recollections, teaching files, and family letters.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL A-C
Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 3: GENERAL C-P
Series 4: POETRY
Series 5: GENERAL P-T
Series 6: THROUGH A GLASS DARKLY: STATE HOSPITAL FOR THE MENTALLY RETARDED (ALTERNATELY TITLED: ZERO TO NINETY), BY RUTH LECHLITNER
Series 7: GENERAL P-W
Series 8: OVERSIZED MATERIALS
Series 9: JANUARY 2004 ADDENDUM
Series 10: INDEX OF CORRESPONDENCE

  • Series 1: GENERAL A-C
  • Box 1:
  • Address books
    Two folders
  • "The Appliances" A satiric play by Ruth Lechlitner
  • Beyond War Foundation - 1985
  • Biographical Materials - 1927-1973
  • "Biography of G.B. Shaw for Teen-age" An essay by Ruth Lechlitner
  • "Blithe Spirit", an incomplete typescript of a play
  • Book Reviews - Excerpts of book reviews of Lechlitner's works
  • Book Reviews - Written by Ruth Lechlitner
  • Brandon Press Correspondence - 1972-1974
  • Brandon Press Correspondence - 1976-1980
  • Brandon Press Mailing Addresses
  • Calendars of poetry submissions - 1968, 1981
  • Cat sketches
  • "Cats are Lucky" Typescript draft of a short story
  • A Changing Season Typescript draft
  • Box 2:
  • A Changing Season Typescript with corrections, including reviews of earlier works and an autobiographical sketch
  • A Changing Season Incomplete typescript with revisions
  • A Changing Season, poems that never appeared in the published version
  • A Changing Season, correspondence with the publisher (Branden Press) - 1970-1984
  • A Changing Season advertising
  • College class notes - 1925-1926
  • Commencement program from the State University of Iowa - 1926
  • Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Sub-Series: Family
  • Box 2:
  • 1965-1968
  • 1969-1976
  • "Parameters of Our Continued Relationship"
  • Sub-Series: General
  • Box 2:
  • 1921-1926. Including letters from: Witter Bynner, John T. Frederick, Ruth Suckow, Paul Corey, and Frank Luther Mott.
  • 1927-1929. Including letters from: Paul Corey and Irita Van Doren.
  • 1930-1936. Including letters from: Witter Bynner, Edward Davison, Malcolm Cowley, Horace Gregory, Henry S. Canby, Paul Corey, Isidor Schneider, Willard Maas, Irita Van Doren, William Carlos Williams, Petrie Townsend, Bruce Bliven, Philip Rahv, Marianne Moore, Hendrik Willem Van Loon, and Jerre Mangione.
  • Box 3:
  • 1937. Including letters from: Alfred Kreymborg, Willard Maas, Jay Latimer, David Schubert, David DeJong, Peter Jack, Irita Van Doren, Marianne Moore, Paul Corey, Malcolm Cowley, Lewis Mumford, John M. Brinnin, Archibald MacLeish, Louis Ginsberg, Robin Lampson, Granville Hicks, Witter Bynner, Bruce Bliven, James Laughlin, Robert Hillyer, Iduna Field, Frederic Prokosch, and Hendrik Willem Van Loon.
  • 1938-1939. Including letters from: Willard Maas, Ben Belit, David DeJong, Marianne Moore, Paul Corey, Lewis Mumford, Louis Ginsberg, Witter Bynner, James Laughlin, George Dillon, Melvin H. Cane, Kenneth Porter, Amy Bonner, and Hendrik Willem Van Loon.
  • 1940-1941. Including letters from: Isidore Schneider, Willard Maas, Irita Van Doren, Kenneth Rexroth, Theodore Roethke, Kimball Flaccus, Lewis Mumford, Winfield T. Scott, Selden Rodman, George Dillon, and Norman Rosten.
  • 1942-1944. Including letters from: Isidore Schneider, Willard Maas, David DeJong, Irita Van Doren, Jerre Mangione, Winfield T. Scott, Paul Corey, Joy Davidman, Norman Rosten, and Kenneth Slade Alling.
  • 1945-1946. Including letters from: Alfred Kreymborg, David DeJong, Irita Van Doren, Jerre Mangione, Kenneth Rexroth, Blanche Shoemaker Wagstaff, Leo Kennedy, Paul Corey, Lee Anderson, Kenneth Porter, and Norman Rosten.
  • 1947-1959. Including letters from: David DeJong, Irita Van Doren, Edward Weismiller, Leo Kennedy, Kenneth Rexroth, Kenneth Patchen, Merrill Moore, Peter DeVries, Jerre Mangione, Mark Van Doren, Marianne Moore, John Holmes, Paul Corey, and Henry Rago.
  • 1962-1964. Including letters from: Norman Corwin, Irita Van Doren, David DeJong, S.I. Hayakawa, Paul Corey, Malcolm Cowley, Kenneth Rexroth, and James Laughlin.
  • 1965-1966. Including letters from: Archibald MacLeish, Jerre Mangione, Lewis Mumford, Erling Larsen, Alan Swallow, David DeJong, John Ciardi, Henry Rago, and Judy Van der Veer.
  • Box 4:
  • January-April 1967. Including letters from: Jerre Mangione, David DeJong, John Barth, Erling Larsen, and Norman Corwin.
  • May-December 1967. Including letters from: E.L. Doctorow, Jerre Mangione, John Ciardi, Robert Bly, Reed Whittemore, and Paul Corey.
  • 1968. Including letters from: Jerre Mangione, John Ciardi, Erling Larsen, George Abbe, Howard Moss, and Millen Brand.
  • 1969-1970. Including letters from: Mona Van Duyn, John Ciardi, Paul Corey, Howard Moss, Judson Jerome, Erling Larsen, Jerre Mangione, and Charles Angoff.
  • 1971. Including letters from: John Ciardi, Erling Larsen, Howard Moss, Charles Angoff, Carroll Coleman, Harry Smith, Jerre Mangione, Paul Corey,Lawrence Thompson, and Hildegarde Flanner.
  • January -July 1972. Including letters from: Howard M. Corning, Reed Whittemore, John Ciardi, and James Radcliffe Squires.
  • August-December 1972. Including letters from: Howard M. Corning, Jerre Mangione, and Carroll Coleman.
  • Box 5:
  • January-May 1973. Including letters from Carroll Coleman and Jerre Mangione.
  • June-December 1973. Including letters from Archibald MacLeish.
  • 1974-1975. Including letters from: Carroll Coleman, Erling Larsen, Lewis Mumford, and Howard Moss.
  • 1976. Including a letter from Carroll Coleman.
  • 1977. Including letters from: Carroll Coleman, Archibald MacLeish, Charlton Laird, and Jerre Mangione.
  • 1978-1979. Including letters from: Archibald MacLeish, Charlton Laird, Jerre Mangione, Iduna Field, Carroll Coleman, Ray Bradbury, Howard Moss, John Frederick Nims, and John Ciardi.
  • 1980-1982. Including letters from: Charlton Laird, Jerre Mangione, John Ciardi, Iduna Field, Ray Bradbury, Carroll Coleman, Paul Corey, and John Frederick Nims.
  • Box 6:
  • 1983-1988. Including letters from Jerre Mangione and Carroll Coleman.
  • Undated: Last names A -- K. Including letters from: George Abbe, Laura Benét, Stephen Vincent Benét, Cyril Clemens, Carroll Coleman, Paul Corey, Howard M. Corning, David DeJong, Iduna Field, Granville Hicks, Henry Holt, and Peter M. Jack.
  • Undated: Last names L -- M. Including letters from: Jay Latimer, Willard Maas, Archibald MacLeish, Jerre Mangione, and Wright Morris.
  • Undated: Last names N -- Z. Including letters from: John Nerber, Frederic Prokosch, Henry Rago, Ronald Reagan, Kenneth Rexroth, Norman Rosten, Isidor Schneider, David Schubert, Mona Van Duyn, Hendrik Willem Van Loon, and Reed Whittemore.
  • Undated: Incomplete names. (2 folders)
  • Box 7:
  • Geismer, Max - 1965-1977
  • Lentz, Bud - 1969-1970
  • Lentz, Bud - 1971-1974
  • Lentz, Bud - Undated with miscellaneous enclosures
  • Meyn, Barbara - 1978-1981
  • Children's poetry anthology compiled by Lechlitner and Stephen Dunning - 1965-1968
    Including a letter from Ray Bradbury
  • Series 3: GENERAL C-P
  • Box 7:
  • "Cycling through Central France" Typescript draft of an article. (Working title: "Cycling from Paris to the Riviera")
  • Essays written by Lechlitner while in school.
  • “The First Paragraph” Typescript draft of a short story.
  • Free speech movment, Berkeley, California - 1964-1965
  • “Friends for Jerry and Ann” Typescript draft of a short story.
  • Frost, Robert. Correspondence and essays regarding Frost - 1963-1965
  • “George and the s-bomb” Typescript drafts of a short story. (Later published by Paul Corey)
  • Box 8:
  • Golden Quill Press - 1967-1969
  • “Government -Going, Going, Gone!” Typescript draft of a short story, with correspondence.
  • “The Green Candelabrum” Typescript draft of a short story - 1921-1922
    Written at the University of Michigan
  • “Happy Endings” typescript draft of a short story
  • High school class notes
  • High school scrapbook - “The Girl Graduate”
  • "The Historic Pageant of St. Joseph County" Oct. 3-5, - 1916
    South Bend, Indiana
  • Identification cards - 1930-1969
    Including passports, Social Security card, Medicare card, train pass, etc.
  • Junior high school students' reactions to Lechlitner's poetry - 1964
  • Last Will and Testament - 1951
  • Later Poems of Endings and Beginnings Poems for daughter Anne's birthday, May 26 - 1941
  • Lists of published poetry
  • Maas, Willard - 1938-1955
    Including poetry
  • McChesney, Robert - 1961-1974
    Including articles and brochures
  • Mangione, Jerre and Patricia - 1971-1984
    Including articles and brochures
  • Miscellaneous materials - 1970-1972
    Including brochures, voting lists, clippings, etc.
  • “Mother Rachel” Typescript draft of a short story
  • Murray, Michele. Poetry
  • Only the Years (Selected Poems: 1938-1944) by Ruth Letchlitner, typescript draft with corrections
  • "Other Writers of the Thirties" by Ruth Lechlitner. Various drafts of an article for The Carleton Miscellany with correspondence - 1964
    Including letters from Erling Larsen and Norman Cousins
  • Box 9:
  • Photographs
    Three folders
  • Play Readers Group - 1956-1957
  • Series 4: POETRY
  • Sub-Series: General
  • Box 9:
  • Poems: 1916-1923 by Ruth Lechlitner, typescript of an unpublished collection
  • Poetry by children
  • Sub-Series: Poetry collected by Ruth Lechlitner for use with children
  • Box 9:
  • Kindergarten-2nd grade
  • 3rd-5th grade
  • 4th-6th grade
    Three folders
  • 5th-6th- grade
  • 7th-8th grade
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous Readings
  • Box 10:
  • Poetry used at a New York public reading - n.d.
  • Poets of the Vineyard. Poetry reading - 1976
  • Poetry reading at San Francisco State College - 1958
  • Sub-Series: Poetry by Ruth Lechlitner, published in:
  • Box 10:
  • Blue Unicorn vol. 2, no. 2. p. 29 - 1979
  • Blue Unicorn vol. 5, no. 2, p.17, February - 1982
  • The Carleton Miscellany vol. 7, no. 4, p. 57-59 (Fall) - 1966
  • The Carleton Miscellany vol. 15, no. 2. p. 122 (Spring-Summer) - 1975-1976
  • Challenge no. 19, p. 13-14 (Spring) - 1965
  • The Christian Century vol. 81, no. 19, p. 606, May 6th - 1964
  • Commonweal vol. 82, no. 12, p. 379, June 11th - 1965
  • Cthulhu Calis vol. 4, no. 1, p. 36-37, July - 1976
  • Discourse vol. 10, no. 4, p. 383-384 (Autumn) - 1967
  • Discourse vol. 13, no. 1, p. 110-111 (Winter) - 1970
  • Epos vol. 18, no. 1, p. 20 (Fall) - 1966
  • Green Fuse vol. 1, no. 1, p. 29-30, October - 1984
  • Green Fuse vol. 1, no. 2, p. 1-2, April - 1985
  • Green Fuse vol. 3, p.5 - 1985
  • Holding Your Eight Hands. An Anthology of Science Fiction Verse ed. By Edward Lucie-Smith, p. 56
  • The Hollins Critic vol. 16, no. 1, p. 12-13, February - 1979
  • The Hollins Critic vol. 20, no. 4, p. 19, October - 1983
  • The Hollins Critic vol. 21, no. 4, p. 20, October - 1984
  • Iowa Literary Magazine vol. 2, no. 2, p. 30, January - 1925
  • The Literary Review vol. 8, no. 2, p. 228-229 (Winter) - 1964-1965
  • Box 11:
  • Michigan Quarterly Review vol. 12, no. 4, p. 324 (Fall) - 1973
  • The Midland, vol. 11, no. 14, August - 1925
    Reprint
  • The Minority of One vol. 9, no. 3, p. 24, March - 1967
  • The Minority of One vol. 10, no. 4, p. 23, April - 1968
  • Owlflight no. 4, p. 16 - 1983
  • Partisan Review, vol. 2, no. 7, p. 50-51, April-May - 1935
  • Perspective, vol. 15, no. 2, p. 107-108 (Autumn) - 1967
  • Perspective, vol. 16, no. 2, p. 106-107 (Autumn) - 1969
  • Poetry vol. 68. no. 5, p. 258-259, August - 1946
  • Poetry vol. 73, no. 2, p. 72-73, 93, November - 1948
  • Prairie Schooner vol. 39, no. 1, p. 58 (Spring) - 1965
  • Praxis vol. 1, no. 1, p. 37 (Spring) - 1975
  • Reflections on a Gift of Watermelon Pickle...and Other Modern Verse, compiled by Dunning, Lueders, and Smith, p. 50
  • Saturday Review vol. 52, no. 10, p. 23, March - 1969
  • Saturday Review vol. 52, no. 38, p. 54, September 20th - 1969
  • Sierra Journal p. 70-71 - 1978
  • Southwest Review vol. 63, no. 1, p. 55 (Winter) - 1978
  • Southwest Review vol. 68, no. 3, p. 251-252 (Summer) - 1983
  • Box 12:
  • Spree vol. 13, no. 3, p. 53 (Fall) - 1979
  • Touchstone vol. 3, no. 3, p. 22-23
  • University of Tampa Poetry Review no. 10 - 1967
  • The Virgina Quarterly Review vol. 42, no. 4, p. 548-549 (Autumn) - 1966
  • Whimsies vol. 2, no. 2, p. 20-22, January - 1922
  • The White Elephant no. 2, p. 6 - 1972
  • Woman Spirit vol. 6, no. 21, p. 25, September - 1979
  • Woman Spirit vol. 9, no. 35, p. 49, March - 1983
  • Box 10:
  • Accent, vol.6, no. 4 (Summer), p. 244 - 1946
  • Sub-Series: Poetry by Ruth Lechlitner, various drafts arranged by title
  • Box 12:
  • A - Af
  • Ai - Au
  • B
  • Ca
  • Ce - Cy
  • Box 13:
  • D
  • E
  • F
  • G - H
  • I - K
  • L
  • M
  • N
  • O
  • Box 14:
  • P - Pe
  • Pi - Pu
  • Q - R
  • Sa - Sm
  • Sn - Sw
  • Ta - To
  • Tol - U
  • Va - View
  • Box 15:
  • Vin - Vo
  • W - Z
  • Unfinished and incomplete drafts with notes
  • Poetry publishers and markets - 1928-1980
  • Series 5: GENERAL P-T
  • Box 15:
  • "Prologue for Harry Stevenson's Birthday" by Ruth Lechlitner - 1926
  • Prose by Ruth Lechlitner
  • Prose written by Ruth Lechlitner while in school - 1922
  • Research notes on various topics
  • "The Rising Wing" Typescript of a radio play by Ruth Lechlitner - 1938
  • Selected and New Poems: 1928-1968, typescript draft of an unpublished collection by Ruth Lechlitner
  • “Seventh Birthday” Typescript draft of a short story
  • The Shadow on the Hour by Ruth Lechlitner, typescript corrections
  • The Shadow on the Hour by Ruth Lechlitner, typescript with holograph revisions
  • The Shadow on the Hour by Ruth Lechlitner, correspondence, publicity, reviews, etc. - 1951-1958
    Including letters from Carroll Coleman and Kennetg Rexroth
  • Box 16:
  • "Tale of a World's End" Typescript drafts of a radio play by Ruth Lechlitner. Including related correspondence - 1957-1963
  • Talking Book Topics, May and August - 1982
  • Teaching credentials and course work - 1919-1966
  • Series 6: THROUGH A GLASS DARKLY: STATE HOSPITAL FOR THE MENTALLY RETARDED (ALTERNATELY TITLED: ZERO TO NINETY), BY RUTH LECHLITNER
  • Box 16:
  • Research notes
  • Research notes including brochures, clippings, etc. - 1963-1976
  • Research notes including journals - 1974-1975
  • Research notes and brain behavior research with correspondence - 1960-1975
  • Correspondence - 1975-1978
    Including letters from James Laughlin, Charles Scribner III and John Ciardi
  • Box 17:
  • First draft typescript with corrections and revisions
  • Typescript with revisions
  • Typescript with revisions continued
  • Typescript with revisions. Photocopy
  • Typescript with corrections
  • Typescript
  • Typescript carbon
  • Incomplete typescript
  • Incomplete typescript. Photocopy
  • Miscellaneous typescript pages with corrections and revisions
    Two copies
  • Box 18:
  • Miscellaneous typescript pages (primarily from "The Wards" section)
  • Series 7: GENERAL P-W
  • Box 18:
  • Tomorrow's Phoenix by Ruth Lechlitner, typescript with corrections and revisions
  • Tomorrow's Phoenix by Ruth Lechlitner, page proofs
  • “The Tree of Life" (Working titles: "Death and Resurrection" and “That They May Have Life”) Various typescripts of a play by Ruth Lechlitner - 1958
  • Tyler, Dorothy. Including published articles
  • Van Doren, Irita. Biographical sketch by Ruth Lechlitner
  • “We are in Rising Wing” Typescript drafts of a radio play, with correspondence. Published in New Directions, 1938 and broadcast over station WOSU - 1938
  • “The Wishing Room” Typescript draft of a short story
  • Series 8: OVERSIZED MATERIALS
  • Box 18:
  • Scrapbook. Clippings of book reviews written by Ruth Lechlitner
  • Box 19:
  • Scrapbook. Clippings of book reviews written by Ruth Lechlitner
  • Scrapbook. Clippings of book reviews of Ruth Lechlitner's books
  • Series 9: JANUARY 2004 ADDENDUM
  • Box 19:
  • Scrapbook, University of Michigan
  • Various certificates, including her Masters Degree from the State University of Iowa
  • Box 20:
  • Address book. Includes personal information
  • Biographical materials
  • Correspondence
  • Davis, Maxine. The Sexual Responsibility of Woman. With marginalia by Ruth Lechlitner
  • The death of Ruth Lechlitner Corey
  • Financial matters
  • Lechlitner genealogy
  • Photographs
  • Poetry - "Nativity." Earth's Daughter 10/11.Buffalo, New York - 1979
  • Poetry - "Trees Before Storm" and "Gift For a Small Granddaughter." The Poet Peu a Peu, Mishawaka, Indiana: Fine Arts Society, Autumn - 1977
  • Poetry - TMs and Ams of various poems
  • Reviews of poetry 
  • Series 10: INDEX OF CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Abbe, George: 5-22-68, 6-3-68, 6-29-68, 11-2-68, 1 undated.
  • Alling, Kenneth Slade: 9-17-44.
  • Anderson, Lee: 4-19-46.
  • Angoff, Charles: 2-18-70, 2-4-71.
  • Barth, John: 4-8-67.
  • Belit, Ben: 11-5-38.
  • Benet, Laura: 1 undated.
  • Benet, Stephen Vincent: 1 undated.
  • Bliven, Bruce: 1-17-36, 9-15-37.
  • Bly, Robert: 1967.
  • Bonner, Amy: 2-11-39.
  • Bradbury, Ray: 7-10-79, 7-22-79, 6-7-80.
  • Brand, Millen: 6-4-68, 7-9-68, 7-11-68, 7-28-68, 8-18-68, 8-28-68, 10-4-68.
  • Brinnin, John M.: 5-23-37.
  • Bynner, Witter: 9-21-23, 3-16-26, 9-11-33, 9-7-37, 4-21-38, 9-3-38.
  • Canby, Henry S.: 5-14-34.
  • Cane, Melvin H.: 9-30-38.
  • Ciardi, John: 6-28-65, 10-4-66, 12-8-66, 7-24-67, 2-22-68, 3-22-68, 4-2-68, 5-28-68, 9-23-68, 11-12-68, 1-3-69, 1-15-69, 1-16-69, 1-27-69, 4-27-69, 6-2-69, 4-26-71, 6-10-71, 7-13-71, 12-6-71, 4-3-72, 5-16-79, 2-5-81.
  • Clemens, Cyril: 2 undated.
  • Coleman, Carroll: 5-17-71, 1971, 12-19-72, 1-21-73, 1-31-73, 2-21-73, 3-4-73, 5-27-73, 9-12-74, 11-6-74, 4-28-75, 7-10-76, 9-23-77, 4-4-78, 1-22-81, 11-7-84, 2 undated.
  • Corey, Paul: 4-27-26, 11-10-26, 5-23-27, 6-2-27, 6-28-27, 6-29-27, 7-22-28, 7-25-28, 7-28-28, 8-1-28, 6-7-29, 5-1-30, 5-5-30, 4-9-31, 4-12-31, 4-14-31, 11-10-35, 11-30-35, 1-31-36, 1-2-37, 2-13-37, 3-18-37, 11-21-37, 11-27-37, 12-21-37, 10-12-38, 1-24-39, 8-25-39, 10-19-42, 10-21-42, 10-24-42, 9-21-43, 1-25-46, 4-24-46, 4-25-46, 4-27-46, 4-28-46, 5-1-46, 5-3-46, 5-6-46, 5-7-46, 5-8-46, 5-10-46, 5-11-46, 5-12-46, 5-15-46, 5-16-46, 5-17-46, 5-18-46, 5-20-46, 5-21-46, 5-22-46, 5-24-46, 5-30-46, 6-1-46, 9-21-50, 9-23-50, 5-6-64, 5-12-64, 5-22-64, 5-23-64, 6-30-67, 7-7-67, 3-28-69, 4-22-71, 4-23-71, 4-24-71, 4-27-71, 4-29-71, 2-9-81, 19 undated.
  • Corning, Howard M.: 3-31-72, 4-13-72, 4-22-72, 6-26-72, 8-1-72, 8-25-72, 11-9-72, 12-21-72, 1 undated.
  • Corwin, Norman: 9-30-63, 4-28-64, 5-20-64, 4-5-67, 4-11-67.
  • Cowley, Malcolm: 11-21-35, 4-2-37, 5-6-64.
  • Davidman, Joy: 10-28-42.
  • Davison, Edward: 6-12-32, 7-22-32.
  • DeJong, David: 1-12-37, 2-3-37, 4-7-37, 4-20-37, 4-16-38, 12-15-43, 6-8-44, 6-29-45, 10-9-45, 12-16-47, 1-21-48, 1-20-58, 3-8-64, 3-18-64, 12-14-66, 1-15-67, 2-13-67, 8 undated.
  • DeVries, Peter: 5-10-48.
  • Dillon, George: 1-28-38, 2-10-38, 4-6-38, 4-20-38, 4-28-38, 12-7-38, 5-24-41, 6-2-41, 7-2-41.
  • Doctorow, E.L.: 11-30-67.
  • Field, Iduna: 11-13-37, 11-17-78, 12-25-81, 1 undated.
  • Flaccus, Kimball: 6-29-40.
  • Flanner, Hildegarde: 8-23-71, 10-24-71, 11-14-71.
  • Frederick, John T.: 5-13-25, 7-30-26.
  • Ginsberg, Louis: 8-16-37, 8-25-37, 1-19-39.
  • Gregory, Horace: 3-25-35, 4-22-35.
  • Hayakawa, S.I.: 3-18-64.
  • Hicks, Granville: 9-2-37, 1 undated.
  • Hillyer, Robert: 11-1-37.
  • Holmes, John: 1-19-50.
  • Holt, Henry: 1 undated.
  • Jack, Peter: 1-23-37, 4 undated.
  • Jerome, Judson: 1-24-69, 4-23-69.
  • Kennedy, Leo: 11-22-45, 12-2-45, 6-27-46, 4-9-48.
  • Kreymborg, Alfred: 6-28-37, 8-23-37, 10-15-37, 4-12-45.
  • Laird, Charlton: 10-20-77, 6-5-79, 12-25-81.
  • Lampson, Robin: 8-23-37.
  • Larsen, Erling: 12-29-65, 4-5-66, 1-23-67, 2-3-67, 2-23-68, 3-28-69, 4-9-69, 1-5-70, 1-12-70, 7-8-71, 11-18-75.
  • Latimer, Jay: 5-5-37, 11-22-37, 19 undated.
  • Laughlin, James: 9-27-37, 10-11-37, 10-25-37, 3-19-38, 10-21-64.
  • Maas, Willard: 1-18-34, 12-20-34, 1-6-35, 11-24-35, 12-1-35, 1-7-36, 3-8-36, 1-3-37, 4-26-37, 11-29-37, 2-4-38, 3-6-38, 6-5-38, 10-18-38, 1-3-39, 10-1-39, 12-30-40, 4-30-42, 3-26-43, 25 undated.
  • MacLeish, Archibald: 6-28-37, 9-12-37, 10-26-37, 4-8-65, 10-15-65, 7-1-73, 11-19-73, 10-9-77, 2-18-78, 2-28-78, 2 undated.
  • Mangione, Jerre: 8-28-31, 12-18-35, 2-2-43, 4-14-43, 1-23-46, 1-31-51, 6-5-52, 4-8-65, 10-15-65, 1-14-67, 6-9-67, 8-15-67, 4-16-68, 5-10-68, 5-19-68, 7-18-68, 9-24-68, 11-15-68, 5-7-69, 7-17-70, 1-19-71, 9-5-71, 11-25-72, 3-1-73, 12-10-77, 8-23-78, 7-5-79, 6-28-80, 10-3-80, 12-20-80, 5-1-83, 6-3-83, 5-28-84, 7 undated.
  • Moore, Marianne: 6-5-35, 12-11-36, 12-20-36, 7-5-37, 7-8-37, 9-6-37, 1-10-39, 12-25-57.
  • Moore, Merrill: 1949, 2-27-51.
  • Morris, Wright: 1 undated.
  • Moss, Howard: 6-21-68, 11-26-68, 2-25-69, 5-20-71, 10-26-71, 11-24-71, 4-26-74, 12-12-78.
  • Mott, Frank Luther: 7-14-26.
  • Mumford, Lewis: 4-9-37, 9-19-37, 10-22-38, 4-27-39, 5-31-39, 12-22-40, 12-31-40, 3-17-65, 3-27-75.
  • Nerber, John: 1 undated.
  • Nims, John Frederick: 11-20-78, 12-13-82.
  • Patchen, Kenneth: 4-29-48.
  • Porter, Kenneth: 1-30-39, 5-26-46.
  • Prokosch, Frederic: 1937, 7 undated.
  • Rago, Henry: 2-1-57, 12-15-66, 1 undated.
  • Rahv, Philip: 3-25-35.
  • Reagan, Ronald: 1 undated.
  • Rexroth, Kenneth: 3-30-41, 4-25-41, 1-31-45, 4-21-48, 6-5-48, 5-12-64, 1 undated.
  • Rodman, Selden: 5-1-41.
  • Roethke, Theodore: 6-11-40, 3-9-41.
  • Rosten, Norman: 1941, 1-2-43, 6-12-46, 6 undated.
  • Schneider, Isidor: 10-3-35, 11-11-35, 10-29-41, 6-2-42, 12-23-42, 8-19-44, undated.
  • Schubert, David: 7-23-37, 1 undated.
  • Scott, Winfield T.: 4-14-41, 4-29-41, 12-8-41, 2-2-42, 5-6-42.
  • Smith, Harry: 5-14-71.
  • Squires, James Radcliffe: 5-9-72.
  • Suckow, Ruth: 11-15-25.
  • Swallow, Alan: 11-17-66.
  • Thompson, Lawrence: 6-11-71.
  • Townsend, Petrie: 5-13-36.
  • Van der Veer, Judy: 6-30-66.
  • Van Doren, Irita: 1-23-29, 5-31-33, 11-20-35, 3-13-36, 4-22-37, 12-27-40, 5-15-41, 8-1-41, 1-15-42, 2-16-45, 1-5-48, 11-14-56, 9-30-63.
  • Van Doren, Mark: 3-3-57.
  • Van Duyn, Mona: 1969, 3 undated.
  • Van Loon, Hendrik Willem: 7-26-34, 8-13-34, 8-17-34, 8-28-34, 12-7-34, 1-29-36, 7-12-36, 3-16-37, 4-23-37, 7-10-37, 9-19-37, 10-15-37, 3-29-38, 7 undated.
  • Wagstaff, Blanche Shoemaker: 9-13-45.
  • Weismiller, Edward: 2-17-47, 5-3-47.
  • Whittemore, Reed: 9-7-67, 2-28-72, 3-29-72, 1 undated.
  • Williams, William Carlos: 5-5-36, 7-22-36.