Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the John P. Vander Maas Railroadiana Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1850-1990
Creator: Vander Maas, John P.
Extent: 512.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0468
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Collector. Time tables, train registers, train orders, menus, tickets, etc.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs and ephemera throughout.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by John P. Vander Mass beginning in 1985.

Preferred Citation: John P. Vander Maas Railroadiana Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

John Vander Maas grew up loving railroads. The tracks for the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy (CB&Q) railroad ran behind the cottage on the Mississippi River at Sandusky, Iowa, where he spent his summers, and he had fond memories of receiving items and gifts sent by rail freight. Though he worked as a special agent for the CB&Q during World War II, Vander Maas spent most of his adult life working in agribusiness. He nourished his love of trains by collecting railroad memorabilia. Beginning in 1985 he gave his extensive collection to the University of Iowa Libraries. (See his experiences in his own words at Early Reminiscences of Railroads).

This collection is comprised of scrapbooks, nearly 19,000 photographs, postcards, timetables, railway forms, tickets, and other railroad-related items.
See our subject guide on Railroadiana

See Iowa Depots at the Iowa Heritage Digital Project

Grant, H. Roger. The Railroad Timetable: A Neglected Research Source

Hofsommer, Don L. Of Buffs and Professionals: Iowa's Expanded Transportation Archives.

Vander Maas, John P. Early Reminiscences of Railroads

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Railroads

Genre/Form of Materials:
Ephemera
Photographs
Postcards
Scrapbooks
Tickets
Timetables