Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Wayne Biklen Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1932-1981
Creator: Biklen, Wayne
Extent: 2.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0467
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Engineer. Speeches, subject files, correspondence, photos, other papers.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs Box 5; Ephemera Box 1, 3

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Wayne Biklen Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Browse by Series:
Series 1: AMERICAN MANAGEMENT ASSOCIATION
Series 2: AMERICAN SAFETY RAZOR CORPORATION
Series 3: AMERICAN SOCIETY FOR QUALITY CONTROL
Series 4: GENERAL

  • Series 1: AMERICAN MANAGEMENT ASSOCIATION
  • Box 1:
  • Speeches, n.d.
  • Manufacturing Series pamphlets #218 and #222
  • Reducing Manufacturing Costs Conference Handbook - 1956
  • Seminars and Courses - 1954-1968
  • Series 2: AMERICAN SAFETY RAZOR CORPORATION
  • Box 1:
  • Accident Prevention Program, n.d.
  • Advertisements, n.d.
  • Annual Report - 1953; 1957
  • Blade Hardening, n.d.
  • Budget Analysis - 1956; 1958; 1961
  • Budget Printouts, April - 1961
  • Clarification of Union Contract Clauses - 1953-1954
  • Correspondence, some n.d. - 1954-1961
  • Customer Service Correspondence, some n.d. - 1956-1957
  • Executive Lists, some n.d. - 1954
  • Facilities Brochure - 1957
  • Historical Report of Kingsbury Division - 1953
  • Box 2:
  • ASR Job Descriptions - 1955
  • ASR Material Specification Sheets - 1956-1964
  • Multi-Slide Gem Cover -- Quality Control Data, n.d.
  • Observations and Suggestions for Improving the Effectiveness of the Production Planning and Control Department, May - 1959
  • ASR Organizational Charts - 1954-1955; 1957-1958; 1960
  • Proposed Blade Development Program - 1960
  • ASR Quality Control Division -- Salary Administration Manual - 1957
  • Quality Control Job Rating - 1954
  • ASR Quality Control Materials, some n.d. - 1954-1955; 1958
  • Quality Control Procedures - 1952
  • ASR Report on Visit to Stauton, Virginia Plant, by Dr. D. Johnston, September - 1959
  • ASR Stockholders Report - 1954
  • AFL-CIO Union Agreements - 1955; 1959; 1961
  • Local 173 Union Bargaining Proposals - 1959
  • Document, Union Negotiations - 1961
  • Steri-Sharp Surgical Blade Procedures Manual - 1957
  • Surgical Blade Tang Length, Quality Control Charts and illustration for blade number 10, n.d.
  • Series 3: AMERICAN SOCIETY FOR QUALITY CONTROL
  • Box 2:
  • American Society for Quality Control, correspondence - 1947-1955
  • Box 3:
  • American Society for Quality Control, correspondence, clippings, newsletters, some n.d. - 1956-1961
  • Speech, Are Your Foremen Selling Quality Control for You?, n.d.
  • Series 4: GENERAL
  • Box 3:
  • American Safety Razor Products Corporation monthly calendar - 1958
  • ASR speech, Can Incentives and Quality Control Live Together?, n.d.
  • Quality control conferences - 1945-1955
  • Quality control conferences - 1956-1971
  • Correspondence, some n.d. - 1945-1971; 1973; 1981
  • Paper, Durham Enders--Past, Present, and Future, n.d.
  • Durham Enders Corporation, Blueprint for surgical razor, June 6 - 1966
  • Durham Enders Corporation, business objectives, n.d.
  • Durham Enders Corporation, Quality Control Procedures, August 1 - 1965
  • Durham Enders Corporation, photographs of equipment for a brochure, June 5 - 1968
    3 folders
  • Durham Enders Corporation, photographs of equipment for a brochure, June 5 - 1968
    3 folders
  • Durham Enders Corporation, photographs of equipment for a brochure, June 5 - 1968
    3 folders
  • Box 4:
  • Paper, Engineering -- As Distinguished from Development and Research, n.d.
  • Groton, Connecticut, Industrial Development Commission, brochure - 1967
  • Inspection and Quality Control Costs as Compared to Standard Direct Labor, oversized sheets of data, April 18-March 28 - 1949-1952
  • Burlington Junior College Diploma, June 2 - 1932
  • Speech, Maintaining Statistical Quality Control in a Wage Incentive System, by Wayne Biklen, director of Quality Control, Sheaffer Pen Company, Ft. Madison, Iowa - 1951
  • Paper, Management and Quality Control, by Chubb, Howard and Frank I. Reynolds, Jr. - 1953
  • Chart, Manufacturing Relationships, n.d.
  • The Materials Management Concept: Elements Involved in its Philosophy. Syllabus for a course offered by Harvard Graduate School
  • Series of speeches, The Materials Management Function -- A Primer - 1970
  • Methods-Time Measurement, graduate course outline, University of Southern California, May 15-June 16 - 1956
  • Miscellaneous Newsletters and Publications - 1947-1974
  • Miscellaneous Speech Outlines, some n.d. - 1957; 1961; 1964; 1966; 1968
  • Motion Time Analysis Instruction Course, Lessons 11-13 - 1941-1944
  • Motion Time Analysis Instruction Course, Lessons 14-17 - 1941-1944
  • Motion Time Analysis Instruction Course, Lessons 18-19 - 1941-1945
  • Motion Time Analysis Instruction Course, Reference Manual - 1944
  • Newspaper Clippings, some n.d. - 1947-1971
  • Organizational Charts, examples, some n.d. - 1955; 1962
  • Durham Enders Razor Company patent applications - 1966-1967
  • Personal correspondence - 1955-1959
  • Box 5:
  • Photographs, American Safety Razor, Sheaffer Pen Company, some n.d. - 1948-1963
  • Poetry, The Guinea Pig; The Engineer's Lament, n.d.
  • Position descriptions as director of Engineering and as director of Quality Control - 1957; 1960-1961
  • Press Releases - 1956-1971
  • Proceedings of First Semi-Annual Industrial Management Institute, Monticello, Illinois - 1949
    Includes speech by Biklen
  • Proposal for the Youth of Fort Madison, Iowa, Recreation Committee of the Fort Madison Chamber of Commerce, March 1 - 1951
  • Quality Control Assures Better Products, paper delivered at conference in Michigan; clipping, September 11 - 1951
  • Quality Control Charts, some n.d. - 1954-1955
  • Quality control speeches, some n.d. - 1947-1953
  • Quality Control - 1949; 1966
  • Department duties, July 22 - 1949
    Includes machining specifications
  • Poster design of highway illustration for Quality Control, Sheaffer Pen Company
  • Management Makes Money with Modern Quality Methods, January 13 - 1966
  • Teaching outline - 1942
  • Biklen paper while director of Quality Control at American Safety Razor Corporation, n.d.
  • Training manuals for Quality Control Techniques and Razor Blade Manufacture, September - 1955
  • Quality Control training, highway illustration, n.d.
  • Quality Control Training Manual, prepared and edited by the Quint-City Group of the State University of Iowa Section, American Society for Quality Control, February - 1953
  • Vita for Wayne Milo Biklen - 1953; 1961; 1968
  • Sheaffer Pen Company, Annual Report - 1947
  • Sheaffer Pen Company, Gold Nib Quality Control - 1947-1949
  • Sheaffer Pen Company, Job Evaluation, Motion Time Analysis Study, Quality Control Division - 1951-1953
  • Sheaffer Pen Company, Quality Control correspondence and charts - 1947-1953
  • Box 6:
  • Sheaffer Pen Company, Radite II Quality Control Charts, April - 1947
  • Sheaffer Pen Company, Responsibilities & Duties of Quality Control Department - 1949
  • Sheaffer Tool & Die, description, n.d.
  • Summary of Visit to Ever-Ready Razor Products, Ltd. - 1958
  • Technical Papers -- 9th Midwest Quality Control Conference - 1954
  • Training Manual, SUI section of American Society for Quality Control - 1952
  • Watts Fluid Power Corp., Policy Changes - 1970-1971
  • The Watts Regulator Company, Correspondence - 1970-1971
  • The Watts Regulator Company, Biklen Joins Massachusetts Firm, in The New London Day, August 29 - 1969
  • What Top Management Expects from Quality Control - 1947

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Biklen, Wayne M.

Occupations:
Engineers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Archives
Correspondence
Personal papers
Photographs
Speeches

Browse:
Businessmen and Businesses