Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Robert Donald Blue Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1934-1976
Creator: Blue, Robert Donald (1898-1989)
Extent: 42.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0466
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Governor of Iowa . Correspondence, subject files, photographs, scrapbooks, etc. relating to his political career.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photos Box 74; Audio material Box 74

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Robert D. Blue in 1979 and 1980.

Preferred Citation: Robert Donald Blue Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Robert D. Blue was born in Eagle Grove, Iowa, on September 24, 1898. He attended Capital City Commercial College and Iowa State College. After serving in the Army during WWI, he returned to Iowa and received a law degree from Drake University in 1922. Blue married Cathleen Beale in 1926 and they had two children, Barbara and Donald.

Elected to the Iowa House of Representatives, Blue served from 1934 to 1943. He was Speaker of the House from 1937 to 1941. In 1943, he was elected Lieutenant Governor and the following year he defeated R.F. Mitchell to become Governor. He served two terms, during which he supported the standardization of property tax, improved the highways, extended the state hospital program, and encouraged the creation of a retirement program for public employees. Robert D. Blue died in 1989.

The papers of Robert D. Blue date from 1934 to 1976 and consist of approximately 42 linear feet of papers, scrapbooks, and sound recordings documenting his political career as governor of Iowa and beyond. It is arranged in six series: 1) Correspondence 2) Election and campaign material; 3) Iowa state departments; 4) General subject files; 5) Later career, and; 6) Memorabilia.

The correspondence series contains letters from Paul H. Cunningham, J.N. Darling, Thomas E. Dewey, Bourke B. Hickenlooper, Charles B. Hoeven, Herschel C. Loveless, Fred Schwengel, Henry O. Talle, Earl Warren, and George A. Wilson. The election and campaign section includes material relating to the Republican parties and specific campaigns. Some of the state departments and commissions that are documented include the Department of Public Safety, the Highway Commission, the Liquor Control Commission, and the Iowa Commission on the Aging.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: ELECTION AND CAMPAIGN MATERIAL
Series 3: IOWA STATE DEPARTMENTS
Series 4: GENERAL SUBJECT FILE
Series 5: LATER CAREER
Series 6: MEMORABILIA
Series 7: 1980 ADDENDUM
Series 8: 2002 ADDENDUM
Series 9: SCRAPBOOKS

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Sub-Series: General Correspondence
  • Box 1:
  • A-Bonus Board - 1945-1946
  • A - 1947-1948
    Includes letters to Ed Black from Henry O. Talle, July 11, 1946, and George A. Wilson, May 28, 1946
  • Box 2:
  • Bookkeeping-Chase - 1945-1946
  • B - 1947-1948
  • Box 3:
  • Cherney-Coffman - 1945-1946
  • C - 1947-1948
    Includes letter from Paul Cunningham, June 18, 1946
  • Box 4:
  • D-Flynn - 1945-1946
  • D-E - 1947-1948
    Includes letters from Thomas E. Dewey, February 16, 1945, December 16, 1945, July 2, 1948, July 30, 1948; and James I.Dolliver, September 22, 1945, July 8, 1946
  • Box 5:
  • Food-G - 1945-1946
  • F - 1947-1948
    Includes letters from John Gunther, March 28, 1945, January 30, 1946; and John Gwynne, November 30, 1945
  • Box 6:
  • H - 1945-1946
  • Gable-Hogue - 1947-1948
    Includes letters from B. B. Hickenlooper, March 1, 1945, April 20, 1945, May 1, 1945, November 23, 1946, March 25, 1947; and C. B. Hoeven, May 10, 1948
  • Box 7:
  • I-Keyser - 1945-1946
  • Holbrook-J - 1947-1948
  • Box 8:
  • Kidd-L - 1945-1946
  • K-La - 1947-1948
    Includes letters from Karl M. LeCompte, October 19, 1945, January 30, 1946, April 8, 1946
  • Box 9:
  • M - 1945-1946
  • Le-Mitchell - 1947-1948
  • Box 10:
  • N-Postwar - 1945-1946
  • Moehm-O - 1947-1948
  • Box 11:
  • Potter-R - 1945-1946
  • P - 1947-1948
  • Box 12:
  • Sachet-Smith, D. - 1945-1948
  • R - 1947-1948
  • Box 13:
  • Smith, E.-Trass - 1945-1948
  • Box 14:
  • Travis-W - 1945-1946
  • Travis-Wanglie - 1947-1948
    Including letters from Henry A. Wallace, August 30, 1946; Earl Warren, January 28, 1946, November 26, 1946; George Wilson, January 26, 1945, February 5, 1946, July 6, 1946
  • Box 15:
  • Y-Z - 1945-1946
  • War Assets-Z - 1947-1948
    Including letters from Earl Warren, January 30, 1948, July 12, 1948, October 22, 1948
  • Sub-Series: Invitations, Congratulations, Christmas
  • Box 15:
  • Invitations - 1945
    3 folders
  • Box 16:
  • Invitations from Gov. Blue to State Representatives - 1945
  • Invitations: Des Moines - 1945
  • California Picnic Invitations - 1946
  • Personal Appearance Invitations, January-July - 1946
    7 folders
  • Box 17:
  • Personal Appearance Invitations, August-May - 1946-1947
    7 folders
  • Box 18:
  • Personal Appearance Invitations, June-April - 1947-1948
    9 folders
  • Box 19:
  • Personal Appearance Invitations, May-December - 1948
    4 folders
  • Christmas Card List - 1945-1946
  • Letters to governors with Christmas hams, December 20 - 1946
  • Christmas gifts to be acknowledged - 1946
  • Christmas - 1948
  • Christmas List - 1948
  • Thank you letters - 1945
  • Thank yous to Campaign Workers - 1946
  • Box 20:
  • Thank yous, general election, November - 1946
    2 folders
  • Thank yous from elected republicans, November - 1946
    Includes letters from Fred Schwengel and Henry 0. Talle, November 15, 1946
  • Thank yous, March-October - 1948
  • Thank yous to campaign supporters - 1948
  • Final letter of thanks as governor - 1949
  • Complimentary letters - 1944
  • Complimentary letters - 1942-1953
    Includes letters from William S. Beardsley, November 17, 1950; J. N. Darling, July 23, 1942; Thomas E. Dewey, January 10, 1949 and November 11, 1950; Leo Elthon, December 6, 1954; Earl Warren, January 18, 1949
  • Box 21:
  • Complimentary letters - 1954-1961
  • Congratulatory letters - 1944
    4 folders
  • Congratulatory letters, June - 1946
    2 folders
  • Box 22:
  • Congratulatory letters, June - 1946
  • Congratulatory letters to elected Republicans, September - 1946
  • Congratulatory letters - 1947
  • Autograph requests - 1945-1948
    2 folders
  • Requests (general), January-July - 1947
  • Baby Files - 1947-1948
  • Anonymous File, June-October - 1947-1948
  • Odd Letters File (mostly foreign) - 1947-1948
  • Miscellaneous - 1942-1961
    2 folders
  • Illegible - 1945-1948
    2 folders
  • Letters of Introduction - 1945-1947
  • Complaints, March-June - 1947
  • Personal Correspondence - 1944-1945
    3 folders
  • Box 23:
  • Personal Correspondence - 1946-1947
    7 folders, includes letters from Paul Cunningham, January 4, 1949; Charles B. Hoeven, January 10, 1949; and Thomas E. Martin, January 8, 1949
  • Sub-Series: Legislative Correspondence
  • Box 23:
  • Legislative Correspondence - 1935
    3 folders
  • Box 24:
  • Legislative Bills - 1937
  • Committee Reports - 1937
  • Old Age Pension Correspondence, January-April - 1937
    2 folders
  • Resolutions - 1937
  • Tax Legislation - 1937
  • Miscellaneous Legislation (centennial-Sanitary) - 1937
  • Amendments Filed - 1937
  • Legislative Correspondence, A-K - 1937
    2 folders
  • Box 25:
  • Legislative Correspondence, L-Z - 1937
    2 folders
  • Legislative Correspondence, A-O - 1941
    5 folders
  • Box 26:
  • Legislative Correspondence, P-Z - 1941
  • Legislative Correspondence - 1943
    2 folders, includes letters from B.B. Hickenlooper, March 31, 1943; and George Wilson, April 8, 1943
  • Miscellaneous - 1943
    Miscellaneous, 1943
  • Various forms in use - 1945
  • Historical progress of Bills - 1945
  • Senate Sifting Committee - 1945
  • "Bowling Alley" legislation - 1945
  • Miscellaneous government reports - 1946-1949
  • Property Legislation - 1946
  • Box 27:
  • Property Legislation - 1946
  • Miscellaneous Legislation - 1946
  • Legislation - 1946-1947
  • Correspondence on labor bill - 1947
    3 folders
  • Senate Sifting Committee - 1947
  • Assignment of House Bills to Committees - 1947
  • Assignment of Senate Bills to Committees - 1947
  • Historical Progress of House Bills - 1947
  • Historical Progress of Senate Bills in the House - 1947
  • Correspondence Concerning Special Session of General Assembly - 1947
  • Box 28:
  • Special file legislation - 1948
  • Speech to 53rd general assembly, January 10 - 1949
    also cassette
  • Series 2: ELECTION AND CAMPAIGN MATERIAL
  • Box 28:
  • Election material by county, undated
    2 folders
  • Lists of Nomination Papers by county, undated
  • Meeting Places and dates at Kiwanis Clubs in Iowa, undated
  • Voting Lists: Eagle Grove , undated
  • Iowa Election Statistics - 1930-1939
  • Miscellaneous Voting Lists - 1934, 1938, 1942, 1944
  • Campaign Literature - 1934
  • Box 29:
  • Political File, July - 1934
    2 folders
  • Election Results by county - 1935-1943
    2 folders
  • Miscellaneous Campaign Materials - 1936-1940
  • Campaigns - 1936, 1941
  • Republican Voting Lists - 1938-1943
  • Campaign Literature - 1938
  • Campaign Statistics - 1938
  • Box 30:
  • Political File - 1939-1941
  • Official programs of Republican State Conventions - 1940-1948
  • Campaign Material - 1941-1945
  • Campaign Newsprint - 1942, 1944
  • Primary Election Statistics - 1942
  • Election Lists of Individuals - 1942
  • Election Voting Records - 1942
  • Political File, January-October - 1942
  • Political File, November - 1942
  • Political File, December - 1942
  • Miscellaneous Political Correspondence - 1943
  • Political File, January - 1943
  • Box 31:
  • Republican Organization List: 1st-8th districts - 1944-1945
    2 folders
  • Campaign Letters - 1944
  • Campaign Literature - 1941
  • Political File, letters returned with nomination papers, February-March - 1944
    2 folders
  • Voting List: Davenport, Iowa, April 1 - 1944
  • Box 32:
  • Political File, May-November - 4 folders, includes letters from George Wilson, November 9, 1944; B. Hickenlooper, December 6, 1944
  • Henry O. Talle, December 28 - 1944
  • Inaugural File - 1945
  • Democratic File - 1945
  • Political File - 1945-1946
    Includes letter from B. Hickenlooper, July 16, 1945
  • Iowa Republican Central Committee Clip Sheets - 1946
  • Record of 51st General Assembly - 1946
  • Campaign Speeches - 1946-1948
  • Box 33:
  • Miscellaneous and Clippings - 1946, 1948
  • Canceled Campaign Checks - 1946, 1948
  • Campaign Literature - 1946
  • Campaign Letters: Rough Drafts - 1946
  • Political File: Blue for Governor Club - 1946
  • County Campaign File - 1946
  • Iowa Republican Central Committee Clip Sheet - 1946
  • Record of 51st General Assembly - 1946
  • Box 34:
  • Political File, May - 1946-1948
    6 folders
  • Miscellaneous Scrapbook items campaign-related - 1947-1948
  • Political File, January - 1947
  • Re-election letters, October-November - 1948
  • Campaign Literature - 1948
  • Box 35:
  • Political Correspondence, post-primary - 1948
  • Central National Bank of Des Moines: circulation of nomination papers - 1948
  • Beardsley Campaign Literature - 1948
  • Republican National Convention, June - 1948
  • Political File - 1948
  • Humor/"Twice Told Tales" (Aetna) - 1941
  • Governor Blue's Speeches - 1944
  • Governor Blue's Speeches - 1945-1947
  • Speech Material - 1945-1946
  • Speech Material - 1945
  • Box 36:
  • Governor Blue's Speeches - 1946-1947
  • Speeches and Speech Material - 1946
  • Governor Blue's Speeches - 1946
  • "Chicago Speech" file - 1946
  • Speech Material - 1946-1947
  • Inaugural Comments - 1947
  • Governor Blue's Speeches - 1947-1948
    2 folders
  • Box 37:
  • Governor Blue's Speeches - 1942-1948
    3 folders
  • Supreme Court Speech - 1948
  • Biennial Message - 1948
  • Biennial Message, January 11 - 1949
    also on cassette
  • Series 3: IOWA STATE DEPARTMENTS
  • Sub-Series: State Highway Commission
  • Box 37:
  • State Highway Commission - 1938-1947
  • Highway Local Projects - 1939
  • Highways #14-59 (not inclusive) - 1939-1949
  • Box 38:
  • Highways #60-261 (not inclusive) - 1939-1940
  • State Highway Commission - 1939-1942
    2 folders
  • State Highway Commission Recommendations - 1943
    4 folders
  • State Highway Commission, Miscellaneous - 1943-1947
  • Box 39:
  • Highway Reports - 1945-1946
  • State Highway Commission - 1945-1947
    6 folders
  • Box 40:
  • State Highway Commission Interior Highway Study Committee Reports - 1947
  • State Highway Commission Appointments, January-May - 1947
  • Road Study Committee, April-November - 1947-1948
  • Highway Detour Reports, September-September - 1947-1948
  • Highway Commission - 1948
  • Highway Commission Allocations Study - 1948
  • Highway Investigation Committee: Road Inspection Trip through Eastern States - 1948
  • Complaints about Roads - 1948
  • Sub-Series: Various State Departments
  • Box 41:
  • American Legion File - 1945-1946
  • Boy Scout File - 1945-1946
  • Chamber of Commerce file - 1945-1946
  • Child welfare file - 1939, 1947
  • Coal file - 1944-1946
  • Correspondence concerning reorganization of Conservation Commission - 1947
  • Conference on State Defense - 1945
  • Dog Racing File - 1946
  • Housing File - 1945
  • Housing File - 1946
  • Housing File - 1947-1948
  • Housing File, newspaper clippings
  • Liquor Control Commission file, January-February - 1945
  • Box 42:
  • Liquor Control Commission file, March-April - 1945
  • Liquor Control Commission file, May-June - 1945
  • Liquor Control Commission file, July-December - 1945
  • Liquor Control Commission file - 1946
  • Old Age Assistance Commission, January-March - 1947-1948
  • Real Estate - 1945-1946
  • Red Cross file - 1944-1948
  • Selective Service Commission - 1947, 1948
  • Department of Public Safety: Bureau of Criminal Investigation, miscellaneous reports - 1945
  • Box 43:
  • Department of Public Safety: Bureau of Criminal Investigation, miscellaneous reports - 1946-1948
    3 folders
  • Department of Public Safety: Buchanan Co. investigation - 1945
  • Department of Public Safety: Applications for Superintendency of Eldora Training School - 1945
  • Department of Public Safety: Investigation of reported homosexual rape at Eldora - 1945
  • Department of Public Safety: Investigation of accidental shooting of inmate at Eldora - 1945
  • Department of Public Safety: Investigation of staff's alleged mistreatment of inmates at Eldora - 1945
  • Box 44:
  • Department of Public Safety: Investigation of staff's alleged mistreatment of inmates at Eldora - 1945
    3 folders
  • Department of Public Safety: Investigation of staff's alleged mistreatment at Woodward State Hospital - 1945
  • Department of Public Safety file - 1946-1948
    2 folders
  • Department of Public Safety, miscellaneous - 1939-1944
  • Annual Audit, Iowa State Guard - 1944
  • Proceedings of National Guard Association convention - 1945
  • Iowa State Guard - 1945-1946
    2 folders
  • Statement upon demobilization of State guard, September 17 - 1947
  • State Pharmaceutical Board - 1945
  • Veterans' file - 1944
  • Veterans' literature - 1944-1945
  • Veterans' file, January-June - 1945
  • Box 45:
  • Veterans' file - 1945-1946
    3 folders
  • Women's Army Corps file - 1945
  • Budget file - 1946
  • Detail Budgets - 1946-1947
  • Federal material - 1945
  • Income Tax file
  • New Salary file - 1945
  • State Employees' Salaries - 1947
  • State Abstract of Assessment - 1946-1948
    3 folders
  • State appropriations and expenditures - 1944
  • Box 46:
  • State appropriations and expenditures - 1946-1948
    2 folders
  • Miscellaneous State appropriations - 1945-1948
  • State Auditor's Report: Iowa Soldiers' Home, Davenport - 1936-1939
  • State Budget notes - 1949
  • State Expenditures - 1946-1947
  • State Revenue file - 1944-1949
  • State Collectible Tax and Valuation report - 1945-1947
    2 folders
  • State Tax Commission - 1946-1948
    4 folders
  • Box 47:
  • Tax Revision file - 1945-1948
  • Statements on Federal funds received in 1947
  • Telegrams supporting salary increase for welfare employees - 1945
  • Council of State Governments - 1944-1946
    3 folders
  • Box 48:
  • Council of State Governments' Study of Education in the States - 1948
  • Governor's Conference file - 1945-1946
  • Governor's Conference, May - 1946
  • Governor's Conference Reports - 1948
  • Midwestern Governor's Conference - 1948
  • Governor's Trip to Hawaii, U.S.S. Iowa - 1944
  • Sub-Series: State Board of Control
  • Box 48:
  • Senate Committee on Board of Control: transcript of meetings - 1939
  • State Board of Control investigation of state institutions: general - 1939
  • Box 49:
  • State Board of Control investigation of state institutions: general brief and recommendations - 1939
  • Investigation of Glenwood State hospital - 1939
  • Investigation of Independence State hospital - 1939
  • Investigation of State Juvenile home at Toledo - 1939
  • State Board of Control - 1946-1948
    2 folders
  • Box 50:
  • Appointment to the Board of Control - 1948
  • Suggested appropriation for Oakdale - 1949-1951
  • State Board of Control diet - 1946-1947
  • State Board of Control investigations - 1947-1948
    3 folders
  • State Board of Control Eldora Training School miscellaneous - 1945
  • State Board of Control miscellaneous - 1938, 1945-1948
  • Sub-Series: Appointment file
  • Box 50:
  • Appointments made - 1945
  • Box 51:
  • Building Code appointment - 1947
  • Committees to be appointed - 1945-1946
  • Appointments to Judicial Districts - 1945
  • 13th Judicial District appointment - 1945
  • Rockwell Women's reformatory superintendent - 1945
  • State Board of Accountancy appointment: letters - 1945
  • State Banking board appointment: letters - 1945
    3 folders
  • State Board of Barber Examiners appointment: letters - 1945
  • Box 52:
  • State Board of Control appointment: letters - 1945
  • State Board of Cosmetology appointment: letters - 1945
  • State Board of Education appointment: letters - 1945
  • State Board of Social Welfare appointment - 1945
  • State Comptroller appointment: letters - 1945
  • State Fire Marshal appointment: letters - 1944
  • State Highway Commission appointment: letters - 1945
    2 folders
  • Iowa State Labor Commission appointment - 1945
  • State Liquor Control Commission appointment - 1945
    2 folders
  • Box 53:
  • Public Safety Commission appointment letters - 1945
  • State Real Estate Board appointment - 1945
  • State Tax Commission - 1945
  • State Tax Study Committee - 1945
  • State War Surplus Commodities Board appointment - 1945
  • State Watchmaker's Board appointment - 1945
  • Woodward State School Business manager appointment - 1945
  • Miscellaneous appointments
  • Miscellaneous appointments: letters - 1945
  • Sub-Series: Social Services
  • Box 54:
  • Social Welfare Board, December - 1944-1948
    4 folders
  • Department of Social Welfare: correspondence
    2 folders
  • State Institutions file - 1946-1948
  • State Institutions payroll - 1939
  • Correspondent concerning State Institutions funding - 1947
  • State Institutions file: Cherokee State hospital - 1936-1938
  • State Institutions file: Cherokee State hospital: testimony taken at hearing - 1938
  • State Institutions file: Cherokee State hospital: transcript of testimony - 1938
  • Box 55:
  • State Institutions file: Cherokee State hospital, miscellaneous
  • Records of Mary Griffin, patient, Clarinda - 1936-1938
  • Iowa State Training School for Boys, Eldora, miscellaneous - 1939
  • Iowa State Penitentiary, Fort Madison: miscellaneous, 1939 - 1939
  • Iowa State Penitentiary, Fort Madison: miscellaneous - 1947-1948
  • Illinois State Training School for Boys: operation and policies - 1945
  • Independence State hospital file - 1947-1948
  • Mount Pleasant State hospital: miscellaneous - 1933, 1935, 1939
  • Mount Pleasant State hospital - 1946-1948
  • Sub-Series: Conservation
  • Box 56:
  • National Park Service: Work Program Outline - 1939-1940
  • National Rivers and Harbors Congress - 1940, 1944
  • State Conservation Commission - 1945
  • State Conservation Commission - 1945-1946
    Includes letters from J. N. Darling, November 1, 1945; July 10, 1946; September 27, 1946
  • Conservation Notes - 1945-1947
  • Conservation Commission Members and salaries, February-March - 1945-1947
  • Jay N. Darling - 1946
    Includes letters from J. N. Darling, August 22, 1946; October 3, 1946
  • Recommendations for Pheasant and Hungarian Partridge Season - 1946
  • Recommendations for Pheasant, Furbearer, and Quail Seasons - 1947
  • State Conservation Commission: Work Program, April 18 - 1946
  • State Conservation Commission, July-June - 1946-1947
  • Box 57:
  • Committee to Study Natural Resources, August-April - 1946-1947
  • Conservation Study Committee Report - 1947
  • State Conservation Commission, July-October - 1947
  • Conservation Study Commission, September-December - 1947
  • State Conservation Commission - 1947-1948
    4 folders
  • Soil Conservation - 1947-1948
  • Series 4: GENERAL SUBJECT FILE
  • Box 58:
  • State Archives: Governors' files - 1902-1944
  • Biographical Material: Blue
  • Birthday Drivers' License Act, July 11 - 1948
    Includes letter from Earl Warren, July 16, 1948
  • Bonus Board - 1948
  • Comptroller Appointment, June - 1947
  • Executive Council at Iowa - 1948
  • Expenses incurred by State Departments on out-of-state travels, July 1-July 1 - 1946-1947
  • Federal (largely civil defense) - 1948
  • Fire Marshall - 1944-1947
  • Fire Prevention - 1947-1948
  • Governors of the American States and Territories - 1948
    Booklet: includes Blue
  • Governors' Conference, Salt Lake City: book, July - 1947
  • Governors' Conference - 1947-1948
    2 folders
  • Box 59:
  • Governors' Conference: proceedings (book) - 1948
  • Governor's House - 1947-1948
  • U.S. Governors' Incomes: Comparative Study - 1946
  • Governor's Notebook: Bills, Committee Notes, etc.
    3 folders
  • Historical and Memorial Department - 1944-1948
  • State Income Tax File - 1947
  • Box 60:
  • Income Tax: form letters - 1947
  • Iowa Poll: Surveys - 1945-1946
  • Iowa Republican News - 1943-1948
  • Iowa and Greetings to Iowa Soldiers - 1943-1944
  • Iowa State Guard - 1947
  • Judge Appointment - 1947-1948
  • Department of Justice and related materials, December-September - 1946-1948
  • Labor - 1947
  • Labor Disputes and Arbitration - 1939
  • Commission of Uniform State Laws - 1948
  • Libraries - 1946-1948
  • Liquor - 1947
  • Man Shortage, February-April - 1945
  • Box 61:
  • Mine Inspector Appointment, May-May - 1946-1948
  • Name List
  • News Releases - 1945
  • Newspaper Publicity and Campaign miscellaneous - 1944
  • Newspaper Clippings, January - 1949
  • Office of Price Administration - 1945
  • Packing House Strikes, May-June - 1948
    Cassette available
  • Parole Board, January-December - 1947-1948
  • Peace - 1945
  • Personal, miscellaneous - 1948
  • Political, Finance, etc.: miscellaneous - 1938-1948
    Includes letters from B. Hickenlooper, April 23, 1940, and Thomas E. Dewey, June 6, 1940
  • Box 62:
  • Population Statistics, Iowa - 1910-1947
  • Changes in Iowa Population: Ray E. Wakeley - 1946
  • State Printing Board
  • Issued Proclamations
  • Requests for Proclamations
    2 folders
  • Republican Information - 1945-1946
  • Republican National Campaign, June-September - 1948
  • Republican National Convention - 1948
  • Republican State Central Committee: Negro Division Bulletins - 1943-1945
  • Republican State Central Committee - 1945-1948
    2 folders
  • Box 63:
  • Resolutions - 1946-1948
  • Roosevelt, F. D.: January-October - 1946
  • Safety Commission - 1947-1948
  • Sioux City Strike - 1939
  • Special Session - 1947
  • State Tax Commission - 1947-1948
  • State Revenues by county - 1947-1951
    3 folders
  • Supreme Court Appointment, March-June - 1947
  • Tax Booklet for 1947
  • Treaties - 1945
  • US Treasury Department - 1945-1948
  • Wilson, Dr. Charles L. (Chiropractor) - 1947-1948
  • Series 5: LATER CAREER
  • Sub-Series: Aging
  • Box 64:
  • Iowa Study Committee on Care of Aging - 1956-1958
    Includes letter from Herschell C. Loveless, July 17, 1957
  • Iowa Care for the Aged - 1956-1961
    Includes letter from Herschell C. Loveless, March 20, 1959
  • State Commission Bulletin - 1960-1962
    Not inclusive
  • Iowa Plan for Implementation of Title III - 1965
  • Title III Task Force - 1971
  • Iowa Commission on the Aging - 1966-1971
    5 folders. Includes letters from Walter Mondale, April 21, 1967, May 31, 1967, November 29, 1967; Jack Miller, May 15, 1967; John Culver; H. R. Gross; B. Hickenlooper, January 24, 1968; Fred Schwengel, January 25, 1968
  • Box 65:
  • Iowa Commission on the Aging, August - 1971-1972
    2 folders
  • Iowa Commission on the Aging, Agency Programs, miscellaneous - 1960-1972
  • Agency Programs - 1973-1974
  • Area XIII Agency Review - 1975
  • Cedar Rapids Appeal - 1969-1970
  • Des Moines Appeal - 1970-1971
  • Assessment Material - 1974
  • Auditor's report, June 30 - 1972
  • Bylaws, Procedures, etc.
  • Aging Correspondence - 1966-1972
    2 folders
  • Box 66:
  • Draft rules - 1976
  • Hawkeye Valley Title VII Nutrition Project - 1975
    2 folders
  • Meeting, July 30 - 1975
  • Meeting, January 8 - 1976
  • Meeting minutes - 1969-1976
    5 folders
  • Box 67:
  • Personnel
  • Proposal for Area X program - 1973
  • Proposals for Area XV program - 1973
  • Proposals for various senior citizens programs - 1972
  • Report on county and area agency elderly and total populations - 1976
  • Rotary-Ann home fund raising campaign - 1960
  • Title VII Nutrition proposal - 1975
  • Title VII Nutrition proposal, areas I, VI, IX - 1975
    3 folders
  • Box 68:
  • Title VII Nutrition proposal, areas X, XI, XIII, XIV
    5 folders
  • Title VII Nutrition proposal, Pioneer Trail Area - 1975
  • Box 69:
  • Title VII Nutrition proposal, Wooden Moccasin area - 1975
  • Governor's Commission on Aging, literature - 1962-1963
  • US Department of Health, Education and Welfare, (HEW), Aging - 1970
  • HEW memorandums on aging - 1972-1973
  • Materials pertaining to HRI - 1972
  • NCOA Conference of National Voluntary Organizations - 1972
  • Office of Economic Opportunity: Aging - 1970-1972
  • Old Age Economics, miscellaneous
  • Older Americans act amendments - 1972
  • Policy and procedure manual for national nutrition program for the elderly - 1972
  • Box 70:
  • President's Council on Aging Conference: transcript - 1971
  • History of the Scott county commission on aging - 1972
  • US Senate hearing, Des Moines, May 18 - 1970
  • Blue statement before the US House of Representatives' Committee to amend the older Americans act of 1965 - 1972
  • White House Conference on Aging - 1959-1973
    4 folders
  • Considerations regarding collection of information for the White House Conference - 1971
  • White House Conference on Aging: background information - 1971
  • White House Conference on Aging: post-conference information - 1971
  • Sub-Series: Rent Advisory Board 1972
  • Box 71:
  • Rent Advisory Board: Tabs 10-28 - 1972
  • Box 72:
  • Rent Advisory Board: Tabs 30-33, 35 - 1972
  • Testimony Before Rent Advisory Board
  • Box 73:
  • Rent Advisory Board: Tabs 1-9 - 1972
  • Series 6: MEMORABILIA
  • Box 74:
  • Photographs
  • Campaign Items
  • Sound Recordings
  • Cassette 1: sides 1-2
    Iowa Taxpayers' Association
  • Cassette 2: side 1
    Iowa War Production; Tribute to F.D.R.; Statehouse steps speech to labor; Second Inaugural Speech
  • Cassette 2: side 2
    Second Inaugural Speech (cont.)
  • Cassette 3: side 1
    Second Inaugural Speech (cont.); 53rd General Assembly
  • Cassette 3: side 2
    53rd General Assembly (cont.)
  • Cassette 4: side 1
    Highway Safety; Congressman X
  • Cassette 4: side 2
    P.A.C. Campaign for Governor; KBUR
  • Cassette 5: side 1
    Dan Dancer; Ralph Arnold
  • Cassette 5: side 2
    Mrs. Talboy; Greater Iowa: Blue
  • Cassette 6: side 1
    Elmer Corwin; Grantham Tax Commission; Marie Carter
  • Cassette 6: side 2
    Lee Ladd; Cedar Rapids Speech
  • Cassette 7: side 1
    Grinnell Country Club
  • Cassette 7: side 2
    Packing Industry Strike
  • 74b:
  • Display Items of memorabilia
  • Series 7: 1980 ADDENDUM
  • Box 75:
  • Correspondence - 1941, 1944, 1969-1970
  • Memorandum on Conditions in Iowa's Mental Institutions, March 17 - 1947
  • Miscellaneous - 1942-1957
  • Newspaper Clippings - 1942, 1948. 1969
  • Scrapbook - 1941-1942
  • Scrapbook - 1948
  • Speeches - 1944-1949
  • Series 8: 2002 ADDENDUM
  • Box 75:
  • Clippings
  • Raffensperger, Gene. "Eagle Grove Honors Former Iowa Governor." Des Moines Register, Iowa News Section, September 24 - 1988
  • Raffensperger, Gene. "Former Gov. Blue Fights For Elderly's Cause at Age of 88." Des Moines Register, Today Section, January 27 - 1987
  • Yepsen, David. ""Old Man Blue' Has Heard It All Before." Des Moines Register, September 19 - 1980
  • Series 9: SCRAPBOOKS
    Located on shelf at end of collection
  • Box 76:
  • Scrapbooks: 19 volumes - 1938-1965
    Located on shelf at end of collection