Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Loren L. Hickerson Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1940-1983
Creator: Hickerson, Loren L. (1918-1989)
Extent: 12.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0464
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Director of Alumni Programs and Director of Community Relations for the University of Iowa and mayor of Iowa City. Subject files, correspondence, speeches, etc.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Boxes 6, 16, 18, and 24.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Loren Hickerson and his wife began donating these papers to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1985. Several additions have been received over the years.

Preferred Citation: Loren L. Hickerson Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Loren L. Hickerson was born near Mount Ayr, Iowa, August 7, 1918. He graduated from Mount Ayr High School in 1936 and from the University of Iowa in 1940 with a bachelors's degree in Journalism. On August 23, 1941 he married Ellen Christensen and they had two children, Karl and Sally. Loren Hickerson was assistant director of publications and editor of The Daily Iowan until 1942. During World War II, he served for two years on the aircraft carrier USS Langley in the Pacific theater of operations.

After the war, he returned to the University of Iowa as an instructor in the school of Journalism. From 1947 to 1966 he was Director of Alumni Records for the University of Iowa, and Executive Director of the Alumni Association. From 1966 to 1972 he served as Director of Community Relations for the University and from 1972 to 1980 he was Director of Community and Media Relations for the University of Iowa Center for the Arts.

Loren Hickerson also served on the City Council of Iowa City from 1966 to 1974, including two terms as mayor from 1968 to 1972. During this time he was involved in the controversies surrounding urban renewal in Iowa City. He provided strong leadership for Iowa City during the student protests against the Vietnam War. He was a highly sought after speaker and a productive writer who promoted pride in the state of Iowa and his community. He belonged to an extensive list of organizations, including the American Alumni Council, the Iowa City Chamber of Commerce, the Governor's Commission on Social and Economic Trends in Iowa, Sigma Delta Chi professional journalism fraternity, and the State Municipal Laws Review Committee. Loren Hickerson died on August 24, 1989.

The collection consists of approximately 12 linear feet of shelf space. These records cover the years 1940 --1983 and are arranged chronologically within an alphabetical sequence; the periodic additions are arranged in the same manner.

The collection contains material on many subjects including university affairs, city government, urban renewal, and promotion of the state of Iowa. The papers also contain an extensive collection of speeches given by Mr. Hickerson throughout his career and correspondence files with letters from such notables as: Howard R. Bowen, Willard L. Boyd, Virgil M. Hancher, Jack Miller, and Fred Schwengel.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: SPEECHES
Series 3: MISCELLANEOUS
Series 4: OCTOBER 1988 ADDENDUM
Series 5: SEPTEMBER 1989 ADDENDUM
Series 6: OCTOBER 1989 ADDENDUM
Series 7: JUNE 1990 ADDENDUM
Series 8: 1995 ADDENDUM

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Alumni Work (some undated) - 1949-1959
  • American Alumni Council. Historical materials - 1954-1965
  • "American Youth in the Fall of 1941", Living Magazine. Fall - 1941
  • Art Gallery Fundraising: G.A. Brakeley - 1962-1966
  • Art Gallery Fundraising: General - 1964-1966
  • Art Gallery Fundraising: Gifts and Pledges - 1963-1966
  • Art Gallery Fundraising: Iowa City Campaign - 1964-1966
  • Art Gallery Fundraising: Steering Committee Reports - 1964-1966
  • Art Gallery Fundraising: University Campaign - 1964-1966
  • Box 2:
  • "The Best Advice I Ever Received", The Des Moines Register. August 8 - 1971
  • Biography - 1980
  • Building Names Committee, including a letter from James Freedman - 1983
  • Campus Correspondent, including a letter from Willard Boyd - 1971-1979
  • Campus Unrest at the University of Iowa - 1970-1971
  • Citizens' Committee for a Constitutional Convention: Background materials - 1955-1960
  • Citizens' Committee for a Constitutional Convention: correspondence, some undated. Includes letters from Minnette Doderer, Frank Nye, and Duane Dewel (2 folders) - 1959-1960
  • Citizens' Committee for a Constitutional Convention: Financial Reports - 1959-1960
  • Citizens' Committee for a Constitutional Convention: Minutes of Meetings - 1959-1960
  • Box 3:
  • Citizens' Committee for a Constitutional Convention: Newspaper clippings - 1959-1960
  • Citizens' Committee for a Constitutional Convention: Printed Materials
  • Citizens' Committee for a Constitutional Convention: Speech Materials - 1960
  • City Council Affairs - 1972-1973
  • City Council Election Campaigns - 1965-1971
  • Columbia University Award, including letters from Howard Bowen and Virgil Hancher. December 30 - 1964
  • The Communist Mind - 1957-1958
  • Community Relations: Appointment, including letters from Howard Bowen. - 1966-1967
  • Community Relations: New York City Trips, including letters from Merle Miller - 1966-1968
  • Congratulations to the Mayor, including letters from Howard Bowen and Fred Schwengel - 1967-1970
  • Correspondence (2 folders) - 1943, 1965-1969
  • Box 4:
  • Correspondence, including letters from Meredith Willson (3 folders) - 1970-1980
  • Correspondence, as Mayor (some undated) - 1968, 1970-1971
  • Correspondence: Offbeat letters to the Mayor - 1970-1971
  • "Fraternities and the Quality of Freedom" - 1967
  • Fred Pownall Fund, including letters from Merle Miller - 1968-1977
  • Friends of Educational Broadcasting - 1970-1978
  • "Front and Center in the Revolution", College and University Journal - 1969
  • The Future of the State of Iowa, including letters from Virgil Hancher - 1956-1960, 1980
  • Greater Iowa Corporation, including letters from Virgil Hancher - 1961-1965
  • Box 5:
  • Heidrick and Struggles, Inc. (Management Counsel-Executive Searches) - 1963, 1967
  • Home File. Text of Speeches - 1967-1968
  • Home Rule Bill - 1971-1972
  • Iowa City Data of talks - 1959-1974
  • The Iowa Dad, including a letter from Willard Boyd - 1970-1971
  • Iowans for Better Government - 1968
  • Kent State Alumni Relationships and Programs Report - 1963-1964, 1966
  • Memorabilia
  • Miscellaneous Articles. Personal copies
  • Municipal Law Review Committee - 1970-1971
  • Newspaper Clippings (some undated) - 1966-1972; 1978-1979; 1985; 1987
  • Ohio State University Alumni Association - 1947-1980
  • Box 6:
  • Old Capitol Restoration Project - 1971-1976
  • Photographs
  • "The Places We May Be Goin", American Alumni Council News. September - 1960
  • Private Support of the State University of Iowa by Alumni and Other Sources--for the Board of Regents - 1963
  • Proclamations and Statements as Mayor - 1968-1971
  • Reactions to "Future of the State of Iowa" speeches and articles, including letters from Fred Schwengel - 1956-1960
  • Report of Governor's Commission on Economic and Social Trends in Iowa - 1958
  • Republican Party - 1961-1966
  • "Restoration of Public Confidence in Higher Education", College and University Journal. January - 1972
  • Ringgold County Extension Program Projection - 1958
  • Rose Bowl - 1957
  • Box 7:
  • The Spectator: Miscellaneous - 1967-1971
  • The Spectator: Planning reports - 1967
  • Series 2: SPEECHES
  • Box 7:
  • Address to Fairfield Community Schools Pre-School Workshop. August 26 - 1970
  • Address to Iowa Chapter, American Public Works Association. August 27 - 1970
  • Address to the 1970 Conference, North Central Regional Council, National Association of Housing and Redevelopment Officials. June 11 - 1970
  • "Alumni at Mid-Century", General Conference of American Alumni Council. June 28 - 1962
  • "Alumni Relations and Alumni Programs at State Colleges and Universities", State University College, Geneseo, New York. June 17 - 1967
  • "Alumni Sentiment and Public Universities", Alumni Leadership Day. SUNY at Buffalo, New York. May 27 - 1967
  • As Mayor of Iowa City, including a letter from Harold Hughes (2 folders); some items undated - 1968-1970
  • "Attitudes of Iowans and the Future of Iowa", Iowa State College Extension Service. December 10 - 1957
  • Campaign Speech to Kiwanis Club. October 28 - 1969
  • "Change in Iowa: Risk and Opportunity", WSUI Broadcast. June 23 - 1967
  • "The Changeless University", May 4 - 1968
  • Box 8:
  • "The City Today vs. Tomorrow", Unitarian Church. February 5 - 1967
  • "Community Responsibility for Community Development", Public Affairs Workshop. March - 1967
  • Commencement Addresses, including outlines, correspondence, texts, and memorabilia (2 folders) - 1947-1974
  • "Criticism of the University", Waterloo Rotary Club. April 7 - 1969
  • "Developing the Alumni Resources at Public Colleges and Universities", State University of New York; including a letter from Willard Boyd. October 21 - 1966
  • "Dissent and the Humane Society", Finkbine Dinner; including a letter from Howard Bowen. April 1 - 1967
  • "Elements in Community Greatness", Community Campaign Kickoff Dinner. October 3 - 1966
  • "Erosion of Confidence in Authority", Iowa-Illinois Public Relations Council. April 21 - 1972
  • "The Family and the University", Annual Parents Luncheon. April 27 - 1974
  • "The First Responsibility of the College Graduate", Bretton Woods Presidential Address. June 29 - 1955
  • "Freedom, Law, and the University", Cedar Rapids Kiwanis Club; including letters from Howard Bowen and Willard Boyd. January 31 - 1968
  • "The Future of Alumni Work", American Alumni Council Conference for Public Institutions. March 15 - 1971
  • "The Future of Iowa", September - 1957
  • "Great Mistakes We May Be Making", Sun Valley General Conference. July 14 - 1952
  • "The Growth of this University-City", Iowa City Women's Club. January 20 - 1967
  • "Iowa City Government Today", Iowa City Rotary Club. July 29 - 1971
  • "Iowa in 1967 - A Grass Roots View", Cedar Rapids Rotary Club. November 2 - 1971
  • "Iowa in the '60s: Remodeling the Old Home Place", Iowa Association of Southern California; including letters from Fred Schwengel. March 25 - 1967
  • "The Iowa State of Mind", Conference of the Governor's Commission on Economic and Social Trends in Iowa. March 21-22 - 1958
  • "A Layman Looks at Schooling", Marycrest College. March 6 - 1969
  • "Local Enterprise in Iowa", Rotary Club of Des Moines. December 7 - 1967
  • Mayor Bob Johnson's Inaugural Dinner. January 2 - 1962
  • Miscellaneous Articles. Personal copies
  • Mother's Day Banquet. May 5 - 1974
  • "Municipal Home Rule for Iowa" - 1972
  • Box 9:
  • "A New Birth of Freedom", Des Moines Junior Chamber of Commerce. January 25 - 1968
  • "A New Generation", Waterloo Lions Club. October 6 - 1969
  • "A New Look for the Future of the State of Iowa" - 1967
  • "The New Look in Iowa", Cedar Falls Rotary Club. November 25 - 1969
  • "The New Majesty of America", Iowa Department of the American Legion. August 4 - 1969
  • "1970, The Governing Role in Iowa", Iowa Association of Municipal Utilities. February 23 - 1970
  • "Old Neighbors, New Frontiers", University High School. June 5 - 1968
  • Outlines, Correspondence and Background Materials, some undated (3 folders) - 1962, 1965-1973
  • "Outlook for Municipalities in Iowa", Iowa-Des Moines National Bank. December 6 - 1971
  • "Our University Alumni: A Still Largely Undeveloped Resource", Presidents' Seminar of Finance. January 21-24 - 1961
  • "Patriotism: A New Appraisal", Iowa Federation of Women's Clubs. October 8 - 1968
  • Box 10:
  • Phi Beta Kappa Awards - 1954-1955
  • "Philosophy vs. Economics: The Struggle in Iowa", Iowa Business and Professional Women's Clubs. May 18 - 1957
  • "Problems Behind the Problems of Iowa's Cities and Towns', Waterloo Kiwanis Club; including letters from Frank Nye and Fred Schwengel. April 1 - 1969
  • "The Psychology of Iowa and the Future of the State", Iowa Mortgage Bankers Association. April 22 - 1957
  • "Public Relations for a New Age", Iowa Hospital Public Relations Directors. May 14 - 1969
  • "Qualities of Life in Iowa", November 4 - 1974
  • Remarks at Dubuque Town Clock Plaza Dedication. August 13 - 1971
  • Remarks for Charles City-City Hall Dedication. October 17 - 1971
  • Remarks for Museum of Art Groundbreaking Luncheon. October 17 - 1966
  • "Renewing the State of Iowa", Iowa Housing and Redevelopment Association. November 14 - 1968
  • "Restoration of Public Confidence in Higher Education", MidAmerica Conference of the American Alumni Council. November 22 - 1971
  • "The Revolution on the Campus", Sons of the American Revolution. May 4 - 1969
  • "Seasons of Our Discontent", 50th General Council of the American Alumni Council. July 10 - 1963
  • "Selling Iowa Municipal Government", League of Iowa Municipalities. September 17 - 1970
  • "The So-Called Crisis in Education" Presidential Address to the American Alumni Council; including a letter from Frank Nye - 1954-1955
  • State University of Iowa Alumni Meetings (Texts and Outlines); some undated - 1952-1964
  • Talk to First Christian Church Service. September 21 - 1969
  • Talk to Housing and Redevelopment Officials. June 11 - 1970
  • Talk to Stockholders of the Greater Iowa Corporation. November 8 - 1961
  • Text and Outline on the Future of the State of Iowa; some undated items. (2 folders) - 1956-1965
  • "This I Believe", American Alumni Council Conference. December - 1965
  • "Trends in Iowa Government"; In-Service Training Workshop. August 29 - 1969
  • "The University-1969"; including a letter from Howard Bowen. March 15 - 1969
  • "Updating Democracy's Progress", Consulting Engineers of Iowa. January 15 - 1971
  • "Urban Renewal Questions That Haven't Been Asked", Iowa City Rotary Club. December 8 - 1966
  • "What Alumni Associations Are For and What The7 Do; The Mistakes They Can Make and the Biggest Problems They Face", Big Ten Winter Meeting with Volunteers. February - 1963
  • "What Iowa City Is", Iowa City Chamber of Commerce. January 29 - 1969
  • "Women's Role in Today's World", District 12: Pilots Club International. April 20 - 1974
  • Series 3: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 11:
  • State Board of Regents. Historical material
  • "Take Us to Solid Ground", Daily Iowan Editorial. January 1 - 1941
  • Today at Iowa - 1964-1966
  • University of Iowa. Alumni Program: Fundraising History - 1949-1966
  • Alumni Program: History - 1949-1960
  • Alumni Program: Program Goals (some undated) - 1959-1963
  • University of Iowa. Building Products: Historical Materials - 1966-1970
  • University of Iowa. Building Products: Seminar on Urbanization (4 folders). Some items undated - 1957, 1959-1960
  • Virgil Hancher Memorial - 1966-1967
  • "Who Lobbies for the City of the Future", article for Iowa League of Municipalities - 1967
  • Series 4: OCTOBER 1988 ADDENDUM
  • Box 12:
  • Alumni Staff Programs, some undated - 1957, 1965
  • Clippings from Scrapbook: Daily Iowan articles; some undated; January to May - 1940-1942
  • Clippings from Scrapbook: "Listening Post". January 6 - May 31 - 1942
  • Daily Iowan Centennial: Photos and news clippings - 1940, 1968
  • Daily Iowa Centennial: Program and correspondence, including letters from Merle Miller, Howard Bowen and Murray Seeger - 1940, 1968
  • Date Books - 1958-1959
  • Dottie Ray Show Information - 1980-1984
  • Hancher Auditorium Enrichment Fund Campaign - 1983-1985
  • Hancher Portrait; some undated - 1966-1972
  • Box 13:
  • Library File: Correspondence, Clipping and Photos, including a letter from Governor Robert Ray. Some undated - 1969-1972
  • Memorabilia - 1938-1940
  • Miscellaneous from Speeches: Programs, Article Reprints, Correspondence - 1958-1960
  • Newspaper Clippings (2 folders); some undated - 1956-1960
  • North Side Lighting - 1980-1982
  • "Remembering Nile Kinnick", Correspondence, Photos, Clippings, some undated - 1941, 1943, 1987
  • Speech: Articles for Reference; some undated - 1901-, 1940, 1960, 1965-1985
  • Speech: At Big Ten Meetings; some undated - 1953, 1959, 1961, 1965
  • Speech: "The First Decade of Alumni Giving to eh university of Iowa"; undated
  • Speech: Fraternities - 1957, 1965
  • Box 14:
  • Speech: Major Talks at Other Universities - 1956, 1960
  • Speech: On Leadership - 1953, 1956, 1960-1962
  • Speech: Teacher's Institutes - 1960-1965
  • Speech: To University of Iowa Student Groups - 1956-1957, 1984
  • Series 5: SEPTEMBER 1989 ADDENDUM
  • Box 15:
  • Building Names Committee - 1982-1983
  • Cartoons, some undated - 1953-1955
  • Certificates - 1955-1957, 1979
  • Correspondence, including letters from Merle Miller, Carl Seashore, Thomas E. Martin, A. Craig Baird, Virgil M. Hancher, Eddie Anderson, Harvey Ingham, and M. Willard Lampe - 1940-1941
  • Correspondence, including letters from Thomas E. Martin, Carl Seashore, and Merle Miller - 1942-1945
  • Correspondence, including letters from Earl Hall, Bertha Shambaugh, Robert D. Ray, Merle Miller, Virgil M. Hancher, Willard Boyd, James O. Freedman, and James Gannon - 1949-1987
  • Correspondence regarding publication of journal - 1984-1986
  • Hawkeye Rose Bowl Special: Blue Train - 1957
  • Miscellaneous Writings - 1956-1970
  • Negatives from Kent Studios - 1948-1961
  • Newspaper Clippings - 1922-1923, 1960, 1977-1984
  • "Outlooks." Articles for Cedar Rapids Gazette - 1978-1980
  • "Pacific Diary." Series of articles for Cedar Rapids Gazette - 1985
  • Photographs: portraits
  • Remembrance: The Aircraft Carrier USS Langley (CVL 27) and the War in Pacific; undated
  • "Speech: Hancher Auditorium: Long, Long Journey to Reality" - 1982
  • Box 16:
  • "Speech: Iowa in 1967: A Grass-Roots View" - 1967
  • Speech: Iowa Professional Developers - 1978
  • Speech: "The New Look in Iowa" - 1965
  • Speech: SUI Leadership Banquet - 1960
  • Speech: "The University and the New Countryside" - 1966
  • 2 Urban Renewal - 1963-1965
  • USS Langley: Correspondence with former shipmates - 1947-1987
  • USS Langley: Memorabilia, some undated - 1942-1945
  • USS Langley: Negatives
  • USS Langley: Photographs (3 folders)
  • Series 6: OCTOBER 1989 ADDENDUM
  • Box 17:
  • "America's Finest University Daily" by John J. Mueller. Articles and Photographs about the Daily Iowan - 1941
  • "Charlie Victor Love Group." Typescript
  • Certificates
  • Correspondence, including letters from Virgil M. Hancher and A. Craig Baird; some undated - 1941-1945, 1986
  • Newspaper Clippings, some undated - 1940-1942
  • Programs (3 folders); some undated - 1957-1959
  • Resignation as Alumni Director, including a letter from Virgil M. Hancher - 1963
  • Series 7: JUNE 1990 ADDENDUM
  • Box 18:
  • Appointment Calendars - 1963-1968
  • Audio Tape: Hancher Dinner. April 20 - 1960
  • Audio Tape: "Iowa's Psychology and the Future of the State" - 1956
  • Correspondence: General, including letters from William F. Buckley, Jr., Meredith Willson, Robert D. Ray, Ed Mezvinsky, Daniel P. Moynihan - 1964-1973
  • Correspondence: Regarding Re-election to the City Council, including letters from Willard Boyd and Fred Schwengel - 1969
  • Newspaper Clippings, some undated - 1962-1973
  • Photographs, unidentified (2 folders)
  • Series 8: 1995 ADDENDUM
  • Box 19:
  • Appointment Calendar, including business cards - 1970
  • Articles written by Loren Hickerson - 1958-1969
  • Governor's Commission for the Study of Social and Economic Trends in Iowa: Conference Material, including minutes, correspondence, membership lists, etc. and a letter from Howard Bowen - 1957-1958
  • Governor's Commission: Published Report - 1958
  • Home Rule Seminar, University of Iowa College of Law - 1972
  • Iowa City - Coralville: Annexation of Coralville sewer system - 1968
  • Iowa City - City Council: Correspondence, including letters from Harold E. Hughes - 1968
  • Iowa City - City Council: Correspondence, including letters from Jack Miller and Fred Schwengel - 1969
  • Iowa City - City Council: Correspondence, including letters from Willard L. Boyd, Robert R. Rigler, and Fred Schwengel. January - March - 1970
  • Box 20:
  • Iowa City - City Council: Correspondence including letters from Willard L. Boyd, Jack Miller and Fred Schwengel. April - June - 1970
  • Iowa City - City Council: Correspondence. July - September - 1970
  • Iowa City - City Council: Correspondence, including a letter from John Camp. October - December - 1970
  • Iowa City - City Council: Correspondence, January - April - 1971
  • Iowa City - City Council: Correspondence, including letters from Willard L. Boyd and Harold E. Hughes. May - July - 1971
  • Iowa City - City Council: Correspondence, July - August - 1971
  • Iowa City - City Council: Correspondence, including a letter from Fred Schwengel. September - December - 1971
  • Iowa City - City Council: Correspondence, including letters from Jack Miller and Fred Schwengel - 1972-1973
  • Iowa City - City Council: Correspondence: Judge Marion Neely, Resignation - 1969-1970
  • Box 21:
  • Iowa City - City Council Minutes - 1968
  • Iowa City - City Council Minutes - 1969
  • Iowa City - City Council Minutes - 1970
  • Iowa City - City Council Minutes - 1971
  • Iowa City - City Council Minutes, January - June - 1972
  • Iowa City - City Council Minutes, July - December - 1972
  • Iowa City - City Council Minutes, January - April - 1973
  • Box 22:
  • Iowa City - City Council Minutes, May - August - 1973
  • Iowa City - City Council Minutes, September - December - 1973
  • Iowa City - City Council: Monday Work Session - 1970-1972
  • Iowa City - City Council: Northside Study - 1968
  • Iowa City - City Council: RailPAX - 1970-1971
  • Iowa High School Music Festival: Programs - 1937-1938
  • Municipal Laws Review Study Committee, including City Code, correspondence, research material, and rules (3 folders)
  • Box 23:
  • Municipal Laws Civic Study Committee. Minutes. September - December - 1969-1970
  • The Palimpsest; Iowa City history issue. February - 1967
  • University of Iowa Alumni Association: Correspondence, including letters from Virgil M. Hancher and Harold E. Hughes - 1951-1963
  • University of Iowa Alumni Association: Correspondence, including a letter from Howard R. Bowen - 1964-1976
  • University of Iowa Alumni Association: Speeches by Loren Hickerson - 1973-1979
  • University of Iowa Alumni Association: Speeches and writings by Loren Hickerson
  • Urban Renewal - 1958-1966
  • Urban Renewal - 1966-1967
  • Box 24:
  • Urban Renewal - 1968
  • Urban Renewal, including a letter from Willard L. Boyd - 1969
  • Urban Renewal, including a letter from Fred Schwengel - 1970
  • Urban Renewal, including a letter from Willard L. Boyd - 1971
  • Urban Renewal - 1974
  • Urban Renewal Board - 1971
  • Urban Renewal: Letters in support of, including a letter from Willard L. Boyd. September 16-26 - 1969
  • Newspaper clippings - 1966-1974
  • Photographs

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
University of Iowa

Topics:
Municipal government
Urban renewal

Occupations:
Mayors

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Iowa City