Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Arthur A. Neu Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1965-1979
Creator: Neu, Arthur A. (1933-)
Extent: 33.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0460
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Iowa State senator, 1967-1972 and Lieutenant Governor of Iowa, 1973-1978. Subject files, correspondence, speeches, etc.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 37.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was given to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1985 by Arthur A. Neu.

Preferred Citation: Arthur A. Neu Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Arthur Alan Neu was born in Carroll, Iowa, on February 9, 1933. He earned a B.S. from Northwestern University in 1955 and a law degree in 1958. He received a LL.M. in 1960 from Georgetown University School of Law. Neu was admitted to the Iowa Bar and began a law practice in Carroll, Iowa in 1962. He married Mary Bedwell in 1964 and they have three children. In 1967 Neu was elected to the Iowa State Senate. Considered by many to be a liberal republican, he served there until he was elected Lieutenant Governor of Iowa, 1973 - 1978. Neu was a member of the Iowa State Board of Regents for the following five years and served for a time as mayor of Carroll, before returning to his law practice.

The papers of Arthur A. Neu document his political career as an Iowa State Senator and Lieutenant Governor. Arranged alphabetically, this collection dates from 1965 to 1979 and consists of approximately thirty-three linear feet of manuscript material. It is comprised of subject files on such issues as appropriations, civil rights, and the legislative process. As well as campaign materials including financial disclosures, advertising, and county organizations. There are also clippings, speeches, invitations, and appointment calendars. The major subjects include: Education (primary, secondary and higher); Finance, with special emphasis on the state budgets; Judiciary issues including criminal trespass, judicial reform and corrections; Politics and the Republican Party; and Transportation. There are approximately nine boxes of correspondence. Included are county files, alphabetical files, recommendations, etc. Some of the more notable correspondents include: Gerald Bogan, Dick Clark, Charlene Conklin, Lucas J. DeKoster, Minnette Doderer, Charles E. Grassley, Philip B. Hill, Harold E. Hughes, Roger W. Jepsen, John C. McDonald, Edward Mezvinsky, Jack Miller, Joann Orr, Robert D. Ray, William J. Scherle, Neal Smith, David M. Stanley, Melvin D. Synhorst, Richard C. Turner, and Earl M. Willits.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ALPHABETICAL, A-C
Series 2: ALPHABETIAL, D-K
Series 3: ALPHABETICAL, L-Y
Series 4: JUNE 1995 ADDENDUM

  • Series 1: ALPHABETICAL, A-C
  • Sub-Series: Accountants-Budget
  • Box 1:
  • Accountants - 1967
  • Aging - 1972-1977
  • Agriculture - 1966-1978
    Including correspondence from:Wiley Mayne
  • Meat Inspection - 1971
  • "The Ames Group" - 1971
  • Appointments and Applications - 1969-1978
    Including correspondence from Jack Miller and William J. Scherle
  • Appropriations - 1967-1977
  • Appropriations: Renal Dialysis - 1971
  • Attorney General - 1973-1978
    Including correspondence from Richard T. Turner
  • Attorney General: John Scott Issue - 1976-1977
  • Banks - 1969
  • Bar Association - 1967
  • Bill Drafting Requests - 1971-1972
  • Blackhawk Lake - 1977-1978
  • Blind - 1973-1978
  • Budget: Fiscal Year - 1972-1977
  • Box 2:
  • Budget: Lieutenant governor - 1976-1981
  • Budget: Political, undated
  • Sub-Series: Campaign
  • Box 2:
  • Campaign Handbook: The Record: Iowa Republican Party - 1975-1976
    2 folders
  • Correspondence - 1973-1976
  • Correspondence - 1977-1978
    Including correspondence from Terry Branstad
  • Financial Disclosures - 1973-1975
  • Legislative - 1973-1974
  • Box 3:
  • Legislative, August-December - 1974
  • Legislative - 1975
  • Legislative, January-October - 1976
  • Legislative, November-December - 1976
  • Legislative - 1977-1978
  • Legislative: Presidential - 1974-1976
  • Sub-Series: Campaign: Citizens for Neu
  • Box 3:
  • Absentee Ballots - 1971-1972
  • Advertising - 1973-1976
  • Contributors/Contributions - 1972-1974
  • Box 4:
  • County Chairman: Lists, undated
  • County Coordinators: Lists - 1974-1974
  • County Organization - 1972
  • Financial Disclosures - 1976-1978
  • Fund Raising: Breakfasts - 1972-1974
  • Fundraising: Dinners - 1972-1974
    Including correspondence from: Mary Louise Smith, Richard C. Turner, William J. Scherle, Robert D. Ray, Forrest V. Schwengels, and R.H. Lounsberry
  • General - 1972-1977
  • Lists - 1974-1976
    2 folders
  • Box 5:
  • Nomination Papers - 1974
  • Publicity - 1966-1968
  • Schedules - 1971-1976
  • Students - 1973-1974
  • Workers - 1968
  • Sub-Series: Capitol-Credit
  • Box 5:
  • Capitol Complex - 1972-1976
  • Capitol Space Study - 1975-1977
  • Chiropractic - 1972-1975
  • Cities and Towns - 1971-1977
  • Citizen's Conference on State Legislatures - 1971
  • Civil Rights - 1973-1978
  • Clippings - 1967-1971
  • Clippings - 1972-1973
  • Box 6:
  • Clippings - 1974
  • Clippings - 1975
  • Clippings - 1976
  • Cochran, Dale - 1975-1977
  • Collective Bargaining - 1977-1978
  • Commerce: Correspondence - 1971-1978
    Including correspondence from Gerald Bogan
  • Correspondence: Interest Rates - 1969-1972
  • Correspondence: Utilites - 1969-1971
  • Commerce Commission - 1971-1977
  • Committee Assignments: 67th General Assembly - 1976
  • Communications System - 1967
  • Box 7:
  • Computer - 1976
  • Computer - 1977-1978
  • Confimation Committees - 1971
    Including correspondence from Robert D. Ray
  • Conflict of Interest - 1967-1969
  • Congress, 95th - 1977
  • Congressional Delegation: Joint Session - 1974
  • Conservation - 1966-1977
  • Conservation: Blue Lake - 1971
  • Conservation: Conservation Coalition of Iowa - 1975-1976
  • Conservation: Racoon River Dam - 1970-1971
  • Constitutional Amendments - 1967-1972
  • Conventions, State - 1974
  • County Clerks: "Vital Statistics" Bill - 1967
  • County Extension Council - 1967
  • County Government - 1971-1978
  • County Government: Drainage Districts - 1970
  • County Officials - 1969
  • Credit - 1974
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 8:
  • Chronological - 1965-1967
    Including correspondence from: Harold Hughes, Tom Riley, Jack Miller, and Robert D. Fulton
  • January-April - 1968
    Including correspondence from: Robert D. Ray, Harold E. Hughes, William J. Scherle, Melvin D. Synhorst, Roger W. Jespen, and Jack Miller
  • May-December - 1968
    Including correspondence from: David M. Stanley, Frank T. Nye, William J. Scherle and Jack Miller
  • January-June - 1969
    Including correspondence from: Robert D. Fulton and Jack Miller
  • July-September - 1969
    Including correspondence from: Lucas J. DeKoster, Robert D. Ray, Harold E. Hughes, and Robert D. Fulton
  • October-December - 1969
    Including correspondence from: Robert D. Ray amd William J. Scherle
  • January-April - 1970
    Including correspondence from: Robert D. Ray and Jack Miller
  • Box 9:
  • May-July - 1970
    Including correspondence from: Frank T. Nye, William J. Scherle and Roger W. Jepsen
  • August-October - 1970
    Including correspondence from: Roger W. Jepsen, Lucas J. DeKoster, John C. McDonald, S.L. Brownlee and William J. Scherle
  • November-December - 1970
    Including correspondence from: Robert D. Ray, Lucas J. DeKoster, William J. Scherle, Roger W. Jepsen and Jack Miller
  • January-April - 1971
    Including correspondence from: Robert D. Ray and John H. Henry
  • May-December - 1971
  • Chronological - 1972
  • Box 10:
  • Chronological - 1973-1976
    Including correspondence from Dick Clark
  • Chronological - 1977
    Including correspondence from Leland L. Sage, Robert D. Ray and George C. Wallace
  • Chronological - 1978
    Including correspondence from Gerald Bogan, Philip B. Hill and Robert D. Ray
  • A-G - 1969-1972
    7 folders
  • Box 11:
  • H-Z - 1969-1972
    16 folders
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence: County Files
  • Box 11:
  • Adair - 1971-1974
  • Adams - 1972-1974
  • Allamakee - 1972-1975
  • Appanoose - 1970-1976
  • Audubon - 1972-1975
  • Benton - 1972-1975
  • Black Hawk - 1971-1977
  • Box 12:
  • Boone - 1971-1975
  • Bremer - 1972-1975
  • Buchanan - 1972-1975
  • Buena Vista - 1971-1975
  • Butler - 1972-1974
  • Calhoun - 1971-1975
  • Carroll - 1971-1976
  • Cass - 1971-1975
  • Cedar - 1971-1974
  • Cerro Gordo - 1971-1975
  • Cherokee - 1972-1975
  • Chickasaw - 1971-1974
  • Clarke - 1972-1974
  • Clay - 1971-1975
  • Clayton - 1971-1974
  • Clinton - 1971-1975
  • Crawford - 1971-1975
  • Dallas - 1972-1975
  • Davis - 1972-1974
  • Decatur - 1971-1975
  • Delaware - 1972-1975
  • Des Moines - 1971-1974
  • Dickinson - 1971-1975
  • Dubuque - 1971-1975
  • Emmett - 1971-1974
  • Box 13:
  • Fayette - 1972-1975
  • Floyd - 1971-1975
  • Franklin - 1972-1975
  • Fremont - 1972-1975
  • Greene - 1972-1977
  • Grundy - 1972-1974
  • Guthrie - 1971-1975
  • Hamilton - 1972-1976
  • Hancock - 1972-1975
  • Hardin - 1971-1975
  • Harrison - 1972-1976
  • Henry - 1971-1976
  • Howard - 1972-1974
  • Humboldt - 1971-1975
  • Ida - 1972-1975
  • Iowa - 1972-1975
  • Jackson - 1971-1974
  • Jasper - 1971-1976
  • Jefferson - 1971-1975
  • Johnson - 1970-1975
  • Jones - 1972-1975
  • Keokuk - 1971-1975
  • Kossuth - 1971-1975
  • Lee - 1971-1975
  • Linn - 1971-1977
  • Box 14:
  • Louisa - 1972-1975
  • Lucas - 1972-1974
  • Lyon - 1972-1974
  • Madison - 1972-1974
  • Mahaska - 1971-1976
  • Marion - 1972-1974
  • Marshall - 1972-1974
  • Mills - 1972-1974
  • Mitchell - 1972-1975
  • Monona - 1971-1975
  • Monroe - 1972-1974
  • Montgomery - 1972-1975
  • Muscatine - 1971-1976
    Including correspondence from Roy J. Carver and David M. Stanley
  • O'Brien - 1972-1975
  • Osceola - 1972-1975
  • Page - 1971-1975
  • Palo Alto - 1971-1975
  • Plymouth - 1972-1975
  • Pocahontas - 1972-1975
  • Polk - 1971-1972
    Including correspondence from Mary Louise Smith
  • Polk - 1973-1975
  • Pottawattamie - 1971-1975
  • Box 15:
  • Poweshiek - 1971-1976
  • Ringgold - 1971-1975
  • Sac - 1972-1975
  • Scott - 1970-1975
  • Shelby - 1971-1975
  • Sioux - 1971-1975
    Including correspondence from Lucas J. DeKoster
  • Story - 1971-1976
  • Tama - 1972-1976
  • Taylor - 1972-1974
  • Union - 1972-1974
  • Van Buren - 1972-1975
  • Wapello - 1971-1975
  • Warren - 1972-1975
  • Washington - 1971-1975
  • Wayne - 1972-1974
  • Webster - 1971-1975
  • Winnebago - 1971-1975
  • Winneshiek - 1972-1975
  • Woodbury - 1971-1976
  • Worth - 1972-1974
  • Wright - 1972-1974
  • Out of State - 1972-1973
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence: Subject Files
  • Box 16:
  • Christmas Cards, undated
  • Commendation and Recommendation - 1976-1979
  • Form Letters - 1969-1973
  • "Nice" Letters - 1969-1973
    Including correspondence from: Robert D. Ray and Roger W. Jepsen
  • Thank you and Congratulations - 1971-1978
    Including letters from: Charles E. Grassley, Gerald Bogan and Lucas J. DeKoster
  • Sub-Series: Crabb, Frank
  • Box 16:
  • General - 1967-1971
  • Series 2: ALPHABETIAL, D-K
  • Sub-Series: Daylight-Editorials
  • Box 16:
  • Daylight-Standard Time - 1966-1967
  • Democratic Party - 1976-1978
  • Democrats: House - 1975-1978
  • Democrats: Senate - 1975-1977
  • Dirksen Amendment - 1967
    Including correspondence from Everett M. Dirksen
  • Doderer, Minnette F. - 1974
  • Drainage Districts - 1967-1969
  • Drug Abuse - 1977
  • Box 17:
  • Eagleton Institute of Politics - 1968
    2 folders
  • Economics - 1974-1976
  • Editorials - 1997
  • Sub-Series: Education
  • Box 17:
  • General - 1966-1970
  • General - 1971-1972
  • Undated
  • Aid to Education - 1971
  • Aid to Private Schools - 1970-1971
  • All Star Games - 1967
  • Box 18:
  • Area Schools - 1966-1967
    Including correspondence from Roger W. Jepsen
  • Buses - 1967
  • Department of Public Instruction - 1970-1971
  • Elementary and Secondary Schools: Private - 1964-1978
    2 folders
  • Elementary and Secondary Schools: Public - 1971-1978
  • Proportionate Sharing - 1967
  • Reapportionment: School Boards and Supervisors - 1966-1967
  • School Lunch Program - 1971
  • Box 19:
  • Special Education - 1972-1978
  • Television - 1970-1972
  • Sub-Series: Education, Higher
  • Box 19:
  • General - 1970-1972
  • Area Community Schools - 1970-1971
  • Area Vocational Schools - 1967-1976
  • Bill Information - 1970-1972
  • College Bonding Bill - 1967
  • Committee Work Files - 1970-1971
  • Box 20:
  • Community Colleges - 1969-1978
  • Day Care Centers - 1970-1977
    Including correspondence from Philip B. Hill
  • Dormatories and Student Housing - 1967-1971
  • Facts on the Location of Iowa Medical Graduates - 1970
  • Faculty - 1969-1970
  • Housing Code - 1970
  • Marijuana and Drugs - 1970
  • Medical School - 1971-1972
  • Midwestern College - 1969
  • North Central Accreditation - 1971
  • Private Colleges - 1968-1977
  • Public Colleges - 1975-1978
  • Box 21:
  • Regents, Board of - 1970-1971
    2 folders
  • Regents, Board of: Appropriations - 1971
  • Regents, Board of: Institutions - 1969-1970
  • Student Communication and Behavior - 1970
  • Student Liaison Committee - 1970-1971
  • Student Rights - 1970
  • Teachers Insurance and Annuity Association - 1970-1971
  • Television - 1972-1974
    Including correspondence from Roger W. Jepsen
  • Tenure - 1971
  • Tuition and Student Fees - 1969-1971
  • Tuition Grants - 1969-1971
  • Box 22:
  • University of Iowa: Budget - 1969
  • University of Northern Iowa - 1969
  • Western Iowa College - 1968-1970
  • Sub-Series: Election-Investigative
  • Box 22:
  • Election Contest: MaCarty vs. Davis - 1969-1970
  • Election Contests - 1973-1975
    Including correspondence from Melvin D. Synhorst
  • Election Law Revision - 1973-1977
    Including correspondence from Dick Clark
  • Elections, Special - 1977
  • Energy - 1977-1978
  • Energy: Coal - 1974-1976
  • Energy: Nuclear - 1974-1978
  • Energy Policy Council - 1974-1975
  • Environmental Control - 1970
  • Environmental Preservation - 1968-1971
  • Box 23:
  • Expense Vouchers: Paid - 1977-1978
  • "Fall of the Gravel": First Session - 1971-1975
  • "Fall of the Gravel": Second Session - 1974
  • Farm Bureau - 1966-1977
  • Foreign Relations - 1973-1974
    Including correspondence from H.R. Gross, Neal Smith and Edward Mezvinsky
  • Forst, William H. - 1968-1969
    Including correspondence from David M. Stanley
  • Funeral Homes - 1966-1969
  • Galetich, Lou - 1968
  • Gallagher, James V. - 1974-1975
  • Gambling - 1972-1976
  • General Senate Procedure - 1975
  • Glenn, Gene W. - 1974
  • Gluba, William E. - 1974
  • "Golden Dome" - 1974-1977
    Including correspondence from: Robert D. Ray, Maurice E. Rawlings, John C. Culver, William J. Scherle and Charlene Conklin
  • Governmental Reorganization - 1967
  • Governor's Appointments - 1976-1978
  • Governor's Budget Message: Joint Session - 1971-1976
  • Governor's Coalition on Issues - 1977
    Including correspondence from Robert D. Ray
  • Governor's Energy Message - 1974
  • Governor's Office - 1976-1978
    Including correspondence from Robert D. Ray
  • Governor's Remarks: End of Session - 1975
  • Governor's State of the State Address - 1975-1977
  • Box 24:
  • Governor's Youth Opportunity Council - 1971
    Including correspondence from Robert D. Ray
  • Great Plains Report - 1969
  • Gubernatorial Election - 1977-1978
  • Guest Editorials - 1972-1978
  • Heying, Hilarius L. - 1974-1975
  • Hill, Eugene M. - 1974-1975
  • Housing Finance Authority - 1977-1978
  • Hughes, Harold E. - 1967
  • Human and Industrial Relations: Public Employees Negotiation - 1971-1972
  • Human Resources Committee - 1975-1976
  • Human Resources Committee - 1977-1978
    Including correspondence from Philip B. Hill
  • Inauguration: Afternoon Session - 1971-1973
  • Industrial Commissioner: Workmen's Compensation - 1967
  • Insurance - 1969-1977
  • Insurance: Automobile No-Fault - 1976
  • Insurance: Blue Cross and Blue Shield - 1969
  • Insurance: Cancellation, S.F. 110 - 1967
  • Insurance: Malpractice - 1975-1977
  • Insurance: Products Liability - 1976-1978
  • Interim - 1976-1977
  • Interstate Cooperation - 1977
  • Box 25:
  • Investigative Committee: Assignments - 1977-1978
  • Sub-Series: Invitations
  • Box 25:
  • General - 1969
  • General - 1970-1972
    Including correspondence from Lucas J. DeKoster
  • January-March - 1973
    Including correspondence from: Robert D. Ray and Earl W. Willits
  • April-June - 1973
    Including correspondence from: John McDonald and Robert D. Ray
  • July-September - 1973
    Including corresponcence from: John McDonald and Maragret McDonald
  • October - 1973
  • January-March - 1974
  • April-June - 1974
  • Box 26:
  • July-September - 1974
  • October-December - 1974
  • January-March - 1975
  • April-June - 1975
  • July-September - 1975
  • October-December - 1975
  • January-March - 1976
  • April-June - 1976
    Including correspondence from Nelson A. Rockefeller and Robert D. Ray
  • July-September - 1976
  • Box 27:
  • October-December - 1976
  • January-March - 1977
  • April-June - 1977
  • July-September - 1977
    Including correspondence from Charles E. Grassley
  • October-December - 1977
    Including correspondence from Robert D. Ray and Jim Leach
  • January-March - 1978
    Including correspondence from Robert D. Ray
  • April-June - 1978
  • July-December - 1978
    Including correspondence from Charles E. Grassley
  • Sub-Series: Iowa Legislative-Jokes
  • Box 28:
  • Iowa Legislative Council - 1971
    2 folders
  • Iowa Liquor Control Commission: Rev. Carl Sinning - 1967
  • Iowa Public Employees Retirement Systems - 1975-1978
  • Iowa Student Public Interest Research Group - 1975-1977
  • Iowa 2000 - 1974
  • Irradiation - 1965-1967
  • Job Services - 1978
  • Jochims, Jeffrey Neil - 1976
  • Jogging - 1978
    Including correspondence from Philip B. Hill
  • Jokes, undated
  • Sub-Series: Judiciary
  • Box 28:
  • General - 1966-1977
    Including correspondence from Robert D. Ray
  • Anti-Trust - 1976-1976
  • Capital Punishment - 1977
  • Box 29:
  • Congressional Redistricting - 1971
  • Corrections - 1976-1978
  • Corrections: Community - 1976-1978
  • Corrections: Master Plan - 1977-1978
  • Box 30:
  • Corrections: Master Plan, undated
  • Court Reform and Judicial Retirement - 1967-1969
    Including correspondence from Richard C. Turner
  • Crime Commision - 1976-1978
  • Criminal Code - 1975-1978
  • Criminal Trespass - 1971
  • Family Court - 1967-1970
  • Governmental Reorganization - 1970-1971
  • Iowa Corrections and Manpower Development Council - 1966
  • Judicial Redistricting - 1966-1971
    2 folders
  • Unified Court - 1967
  • Sub-Series: Junkins-Knoblauch
  • Box 30:
  • Junkins, Lowell L. - 1974-1975
  • Kinley, George R. - 1974-1976
  • Kirsh, Allan - 1978
  • Knoblauch, Charles E. - 1968-1970
  • Series 3: ALPHABETICAL, L-Y
  • Box 31:
  • Labor: Unemployment Compensation - 1969-1978
  • Land Use - 1973-1975
  • Law Enforcement - 1971-1972
  • Law Enforcement: Drug Abuse - 1971-1972
  • Law Enforcement: Pornography - 1971-1972
  • Law Enforcement: Traffic Records and Criminal Information Systems - 1973
  • Law Enforcement: Wiretap - 1970
  • Legis 50 - 1973-1977
  • Legislative Council - 1975-1976
  • Legislative Council - 1976
    3 folders
  • Box 32:
  • Interim Studies - 1976
    5 folders
  • Minutes - 1976
  • Legislative Council - 1977
  • Box 33:
  • Legislative Council - 1977
    2 folders
  • Legislative Council: Interim Studies - 1977
    5 folders
  • Box 34:
  • Legislative Council: Interim Studies - 1977
    5 folders
  • Legislative Fiscal Director - 1976-1978
  • Legislative Leaders: National Conference - 1977
  • Legislative Orientation - 1973
  • Legislative Process and Research - 1965-1966
  • Legislative Service Bureau - 1976-1978
  • Legislative Statistics - 1969-1971
  • Legislator's Endorsements - 1972
  • Box 35:
  • Legislature - 1970
  • Legislature, Citizen - 1975-1976
  • Licensing - 1973-1976
  • Lieutenant Governor - 1977-1978
  • Lieutenant Governor: History - 1975-1978
  • Lieutenant Governor's Conference - 1977
  • Lincoln's Birthday: Joint Session - 1973-1975
  • Lists - 1970-1971
  • Lists: Neu - 1972
  • Lobbyists - 1975-1978
  • Lobbyists: Neu Reports - 1973-1978
  • Box 36:
  • Local Government Task Force - 1976
    4 folders, including correspondence from Robert D. Ray and Melvin D. Synhorst
  • Local Government Task Force: Report to the Governor - 1976
  • Local Government Task Force - 1977
    Including correspondence from Robert D. Ray
  • Low Rent Housing - 1969-1970
  • Meat Inspection - 1969
  • Medicine: Public Health Chiropractors - 1968-1970
  • Memorial Service: President Lyndon B. Johnson - 1973
  • Mental Health - 1965-1977
  • Merit System - 1969-1977
  • Miller, Charles P. - 1974-1975
  • National Guard - 1977-1978
  • Natural Resources - 1977-1978
  • Box 37:
  • Neu, Arthur A.: Appointment Calendars - 1973-1976
    6 books
  • Neu, Arthur A.: Biographical Information, undated
  • Neu, Arthur A.: Neu's Bulletin - 1971-1972
  • Neu, Arthur A.: Photographs, undated
  • Box 38:
  • News Media - 1973-1975
  • News Releases - 1966-1978
    5 folders
  • Nolin, Karl - 1967-1974
  • Nolting, Fred W. - 1975
  • Norpel, Richard J. - 1975
  • Nursing Homes - 1969-1970
  • Oakley, Brice - 1977
  • Box 39:
  • Ombudsman - 1976-1978
  • Optometrists - 1969
  • Orr, Joan - 1974-1975
  • Palmer, William D. - 1974-1975
  • Pioneer Lawmakers: Joint Session - 1971-1975
  • Planning and Programming - 1971-1978
  • Pledge to the Flag - 1973
  • Polls - 1970-1972
  • Poverty Program - 1967
  • Power Utilities - 1967
  • Priebe, Berl E. - 1974-1977
  • Probate Code - 1973-1975
  • Procedure for Reconsideration of a Bill, undated
  • Program Auditing - 1972-1975
  • Public Safety - 1966-1978
  • Box 40:
  • Questionnaires - 1974-1978
  • Reapportionment - 1969-1972
  • Recycled Containers: Bottle Bill - 1976-1978
  • Redmond, James M. - 1976
  • Representatives - 1972-1977
    Including correspondence from Terry E. Branstad
  • Republican Party - 1974-1976
    Including correspondence from Tom Stoner and John C. McDonald
  • Republican Party, June - 1976-1978
    Including correspondence from Terry E. Branstad and Tom Stoner
  • Republican Party: Caucus - 1969-1974
  • Republican Party: Critics - 1972-1976
  • Box 41:
  • Republican Party: Party Platforms - 1968
  • Republican Party: Primary: Crawford County - 1968
  • Republican Party: Primary: Monona County - 1968
  • Republican Party: Senate Newsletter - 1977-1978
    2 folders
  • Republican Party: State Platform - 1965-1966
  • Republican Party: Task Force - 1975
  • Requests - 1976-1978
    Including correspondence from Arthur Kudart
  • Requests: Student - 1975-1978
  • Box 42:
  • Research - 1968
    Including correspondence from Richard C. Turner
  • Research Papers - 1972
  • Revenue Sharing - 1973-1975
    Including correspondence from Dick Clark and Edward Mezvinsky
  • Right to Work - 1967
  • Road Use Tax - 1967
  • Robinson, Cloyd E. - 1974-1975
  • Rodgers, Norman G. - 1974-1975
  • Rule 29 Committee - 1975-1975
    Including correspondence from Mary Louise Smith
  • Rules - 1969-1977
    2 folders
  • Rules: Ethics - 1967-1971
  • Box 43:
  • Saylorville Dam - 1973-1975
  • Scott, Kenneth D. - 1974
  • Senate: Administration - 1975-1978
    3 folders
  • Senate: Calendar - 1972
  • Senate: Staff - 1972-1978
    2 folders
  • Box 44:
  • Senate/House Rules - 1977
  • Senators - 1969-1976
    Including correspondence from Phillip B. Hill, James V. Gallagher, Lucas J. DeKoster and Elizabeth Shaw
  • Senators - 1977-1978
  • Senators: Appointments to Statutory Committees - 1973-1975
  • Senators: Travel - 1973-1978
    2 folders
  • Session - 1974-1975
  • Box 45:
  • Session - 1976
    Including correspondence from Melvin D. Synhorst, Robert D. Ray and Richard C. Turner
  • Session: Clippings - 1976
  • Session - 1977
  • Session: Special Session - 1977
  • Session - 1977-1978
    Including correspondence from Jerome D. Fitzgerald, Philip B. Hill and Robert D. Ray
  • Session: Opening Day Morning Session - 1971-1978
  • Session: Opening Day Afternoon Session - 1971-1975
  • Box 46:
  • Sex Offenses Bill: S.F. 692 - 1969
  • Social Services - 1969-1971
  • Social Services: Abortion - 1968-1978
    2 folders
  • Social Services: Alcohol - 1969-1977
  • Social Services: Bills - 1972
  • Social Services: Health Department - 1967-1978
    2 folders
  • Sorvern, Steve - 1975
  • Box 47:
  • Speeches - 1972-1976
    8 folders
  • Box 48:
  • Speeches - 1977-1978
    2 folders
  • State Government - 1971-1978
  • State Government: Council - 1973-1977
    Including correspondence from Philip B. Hill
  • State Government: Majority Rights - 1972
  • State Government: 65th General Assembly - 1974
  • State Government: State Employees - 1974
  • State Legislatures: National Conference - 1974-1978
  • State of the State Messages - 1970-1977
  • Statistics - 1964-1975
  • Box 49:
  • Sub-Committee Bills - 1971
  • Substance Abuse - 1978
  • Television: Cable - 1971-1973
  • Terrace Hill - 1972-1977
    Including correspondence from Charlene Conklin
  • Transportation - 1971-1978
    3 folders
  • Transportation: Highways - 1967-1971
  • Transportation: Highways - 1973-1975
  • Transportation: Highways - 1976-1977
    Including correspondence from James V. Gallagher
  • Transportation: Highways: Tire Studs - 1965-1969
  • Transportation: Rails and Rivers - 1973-1978
  • Box 50:
  • Transportation: Trucking - 1966-1977
    3 folders
  • Transportation: Urban - 1978
  • Unemployment - 1976-1978
  • Uniform State Laws - 1978
  • Urban Renewal - 1968-1969
  • Van Gilst, Bass - 1974-1975
  • Veterans Bonus - 1973-1975
  • Voting - 1966-1967
  • Voting: Age - 1969-1970
  • Voting: Record: General Assembly - 1965
  • Voting: Record - 1975-1977
  • Ways and Means - 1969-1977
    2 folders
  • Box 51:
  • Ways and Means - 1977-1978
  • Ways and Means: Pari-Mutual Betting - 1965-1971
  • Ways and Means: Taxation - 1968-1977
    2 folders
  • Ways and Means: Income Tax - 1969-1975
  • Ways and Means: Inheritance Tax - 1973-1977
  • Ways and Means: Local Sales Tax, undated
  • Ways and Means: Property Tax - 1966-1972
  • Box 52:
  • Ways and Means: Property Tax - 1973-1978
    3 folders
  • Ways and Means: Property Tax Assessments - 1967-1969
  • Ways and Means: Sales Tax - 1971-1977
  • Ways and Means: Tax Reform - 1965-1967
  • Weiss, Albert - 1967
  • Box 53:
  • Whitney, Tom - 1977
  • Willits, Earl M. - 1974
  • WOI-TV: Sale - 1967-1971
  • Women - 1971-1978
  • Youth - 1971-1973
  • Series 4: JUNE 1995 ADDENDUM
  • Box 54:
  • Abortion - 1973-1976
  • Agriculture-Corporate Farming - 1972-1975
  • Alcohol - 1973-1976
  • Appropriations - 1973-1975
    Includes correspondence from Leland L. Sage
  • Bicentennial - 1975
  • Budget: Federal - 1975-1975
  • Budget: Lieutenant Governor - 1972-1977
  • Box 55:
  • Budget: State - 1973-1975
  • Campaign Schedules - 1971-1974
    2 folders
  • Candidates - 1971-1974
    Includes correspondence from Roger Jepsen
  • Code Review Task Force - 1975-1976
    Includes correspondence from Melvin D. Synhorst
  • Collective Bargaining - 1972-1975
    Includes correspondence from Gerald Bogan
  • Box 56:
  • Committee Assignments: 65th GA - 1972-1974
  • Committee Assignments: 66th GA - 1974
  • Community Corrections: Correspondence and Memoranda - 1972-1976
  • Community Corrections: General - 1971-1976
  • Community Corrections: Status - 1973-1976
  • Congress: 93rd - 1972-1975
    Includes correspondence from John Culver, Wiley Mayne, Edward Mezvinsky, and Neal Smith
  • Congress: 94th - 1975-1976
    Includes correspondence from Berkley Bedel, Michael Blouin, Dick Clark, and Neal Smith
  • Conservation Commission - 1971-1976
  • Box 57:
  • Corrections - 1976
  • Correspondence: General - 1972-1975
    3 folders, Includes ccorrespondence from Frank T. Nye, Robert D. Ray, and Theodore H. White
  • County Government - 1972-1976
  • Credit - 1972-1976
    Includes correspondence from Richard C. Turner
  • Crime Commission - 1969-1975
  • Box 58:
  • Criminal Code - 1973-1976
  • Day Care Centers - 1972-1973
    Includes correspondence from H.R. Gross, Edward Mezvinsky, and Neal Smith
  • Democratic Party - 1970-1975
  • Drug Abuse - 1974-1975
  • Education: Community College - 1975-1976
  • Education: Elementary and Secondary (Public) - 1973-1975
  • Education: Higher (Private) - 1972-1976
  • Box 59:
  • Education: Higher (Public) - 1970-1976
  • Energy - 1973-1977
    Includes speeches by Robert D. Ray
  • Energy: Nuclear - 1973-1975
    Includes correspondence from Wiley Mayne
  • Expense Vouchers: Paid - 1972-1976
  • Governor's Appointments (Recommendations) - 1973-1975
  • Box 60:
  • Health - 1972-1975
  • Human Resources - 1973-1977
  • Inauguration - 1972-1975
    2 folders
  • Insurance: Auto No Fault - 1972-1974
  • Insurance: General - 1973-1975
  • Box 61:
  • Interim Studies - 1973-1975
  • IPERS - 1973-1975
    Includes correspondence from Robert D. Ray
  • ISPERG - 1972-1975
  • Judiciary - 1972-1975
  • Judiciary: Anti-trust - 1975
  • Box 62:
  • Labor - 1973-1976
  • Ladybug - 1973
  • Legislative: Council - 1973-1975
  • Legislative: Fiscal Director - 1972-1975
  • Legislative: Leaders (National Conference of) - 1972-1973
  • Legislative: Reform - 1973-1975
  • Legislative: Service Bureau - 1972-1975
  • Box 63:
  • Lieutenant Governors Conference - 1972-1977
    2 folders, Includes correspondence from Nelson A. Rockefeller
  • Lobbyists: General - 1972-1975
  • Mental Health - 1973-1975
  • Merit Employment - 1973-1975
  • Box 64:
  • Natural Resources - 1972-1976
  • Ombudsman - 1973-1976
  • Republican Party - 1972-1975
  • Box 65:
  • Requests - 1972-1975
    3 folders, Includes correspondence from Charles E. Grassley
  • Senate Administration - 1972-1976
  • Session - 1971-1972
    2 folders
  • Box 66:
  • Session - 1973-1975
    3 folders