Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the National Citizens Committee for Broadcasting Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1967-1976
Creator:
Extent: 25.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0459
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Subject files, correspondence, photographs, clippings and other records.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Boxes 37 and 38.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Acquisition: This collection was given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Nicholas Johnson in 1976 and 1977.

Preferred Citation: National Citizens Committee for Broadcasting Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: 1977 ADDENDUM

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • A - Miscellaneous
  • AAF (American Advertising Federation)
  • ABC
  • ACT (Action for Children's Television) Correspondence
  • AFL-CIO
    Including a letter from George Meany
  • AT&T: Hoving / Stanton Correspondence
  • AT&T: Release Hoving / Stanton Correspondence
  • AWRT (American Women in Radio and TV N.Y. Chapter)
  • Abortion Referral Ads
  • Absent Opinion
  • Action for Children's Television
  • Action Groups
  • Action Groups Citizens Communications Center
  • Action Political Pressures
  • Ad Agency Standards
  • Advertising - AT&T: Articles News
  • Advertising - AT&T: Deceptive
  • Advertising - AT&T: Network Reruns
  • Advertising - AT&T: OEO Testimony, November - 1971
  • Advertising - AT&T: Race Tracks
  • Advertising - AT&T: Self Regulation: News clips and articles
  • Advertising - AT&T: Truth in advertising
  • Advertising - AT&T: Warren Braren Statements truth in advertising
  • Agnew, Spiro
  • Aileen Adams' Correspondence
  • Alaska
  • Alexander, Shana - 1968, 1970
  • American Broadcasting Corp. (ABC) PR
  • American Cancer Society
  • American Civil Liberties Union
  • American Council for Better Broadcasts
  • American Educational Theatre Association
  • American Jewish Committee
  • American Jewish Congress
  • American Mothers Committee
  • American Nurses' Association
  • Annual Board Meeting, June 3 - 1971
    File copy
  • Box 2:
  • Annual Meeting, New Orleans - 1968
  • Annual Meeting, June 3 - 1971
  • April Organization support luncheon
  • Apter, David - 1972
  • Ascertainment clips and articles - 1971
  • Aspen Institute
  • Associated Council of the Arts
  • Association of American Colleges
  • Association of the Junior Leagues
  • B Letters
  • B - Miscellaneous
  • B.E.S.T. (Black Efforts for Soul in Television)
  • Background Information - 1969-1971
    2 folders
  • Background and Purpose (various statements)
  • Banker's Trust Payroll - 1969-1970
  • Banker's Trust Payroll Service
  • BAR (Broadcast Advertiser's Reports)
  • Bass, Hilton - 1967-1970
  • Belafonte, Harry - 1968-1970
  • Benton, William - 1968-1971
  • Better Business Bureau
  • Box 3:
  • Biographies/Photos/Members A-K
  • Biographies/Photos/Members L-Z
  • Black Congressional Caucus
  • B'nai B'rith Women
  • Black Press
  • Board - Warren Braren: Ralph Ellison
  • Board - Warren Braren: James Farmer
  • Board - Warren Braren: Philip Gainsley - 1967-1971
  • Board - Warren Braren: Hoving Bios and clippings
  • Board - Warren Braren: Hoving correspondence
  • Board - Warren Braren: Correspondence - 1967, 1969, 1971
    3 folders
  • Box 4:
  • Board - Warren Braren: Invitations for membership
  • Board - Warren Braren: mailings
  • Board - Warren Braren: meetings - 1967-1973
    10 folders
  • Board - Warren Braren: Charles Benton
  • Box 5:
  • Board - Warren Braren: Nominating Committee - 1973
  • Board - Warren Braren: prospects - 1969, 1971, 1972
    2 folders
  • Board - Warren Braren: resignations
    Including a letter from John Kenneth Galbraith
  • Board - Warren Braren: Walter Sandbach
  • Boston, Massachussetts. WGBH
  • Branch, William - 1968-1970
  • Braren Discretionary Fund
  • Braren, Warren. Income Tax - 1971
  • Broadcast Licensing (Squier Report)
  • Bunce, Richard - 1972
  • Burelle's - 1969
  • By laws and Amendments - 1967-1972
  • CATA (Community Antenna Television Association)
    2 folders
  • CATA (Community Antenna Television Association): clips
  • CATA (Community Antenna Television Association): FCC Releases
  • Box 6:
  • CATA (Community Antenna Television Association): Filings Miscellaneous Organ
  • CATA (Community Antenna Television Association): Correspondence
    2 folders
  • CATA (Community Antenna Television Association): Sloan Commission
  • CATA (Community Antenna Television Association): Studies (miscellaneous)
  • CATA (Community Antenna Television Association): Study, New York State
  • CBS
    2 folders
  • CBS Selling of the Pentagon
  • CPB (Corporation for Public Broadcasting) an address by John Macy, Jr., "Channeling Education's Challenge" - 1971
  • CPB clips and articles, 1967 -- 1968, - 1967-1968, 1971
    2 folders
  • Box 7:
  • CPB Correspondence - 1967-1969
  • CPB Statements, speeches, articles
  • CPR Report on FCC
  • Cable Book Distributions - 1972
  • Cable general information
  • Cable Information National Council Churches of Christ
  • Cable Methodists TRAFCA
  • Cable - Public Cable
  • Cable Reconsideration and Opinions
  • Cable Report to board
  • Cable rules
  • Cable TV
    2 folders
  • Cable TV Panelists: Bibliography
    Including a letter from Thomas P. F. Hoving
  • Cable TV Panelists: Center for Policy Research Study
  • Cable TV Panelists: Copyright
  • Cable TV Panelists: Current attention
  • Cable TV Panelists: pole attachment
  • Box 8:
  • Cable Television
  • Cable Television Information from NCTA (National Cable Television Association)
  • California
  • Cantril, Albert - 1972
  • Capital Cities Broadcasting
  • Cater, Douglass - 1972-1973
  • Center for Law and Social Change
  • Center for the Study of Responsive Law
  • Charren, Peggy
  • Child Study Association of America
  • Children news clips and articles
  • Children - S. 683 Senator Pell Emergency School Aid Act - 1971
    Including material from Claiborne Pell and Thomas P. F. Hoving
  • Children's Council
  • Children's Educational Workshop
  • Children's Petition - College President: Correspondence, miscellaneous special
  • Children's Petition - College President: Organization added to file
  • Children's Petition - College President: Requests for more copies
  • Children's Petition - College President: Special comments
  • Children's Programming
  • Children's TV
  • Box 9:
  • Children's TV international comparison: Jennings Report - 1970
  • Children's TV international comparison: NCCB Filings to FCC
  • Children's Television Panelists
    Including material from Ramsey Clark and Thomas P. F. Hoving
  • Children's Television Workshop
  • Chicago Convention - 1968
  • Christian Science Monitor
  • Chronological files: June-September - 1970
    4 folders
  • Box 10:
  • Chronological files: October - 1970
  • Chronological files: August 18-February 4 - 1971-1972
  • Citizens Communications Center (Kramer)
    Including a letter from Nicholas Johnson
  • Citizens Groups contacts
  • Citizens Network: Comments
  • Citizen Participation
  • Clergy and Laymen Concerned
  • Clippings - 1960, 1957, 1968
    3 folders
  • Box 11:
  • Clippings - 1968-1969
    6 folders
  • Box 12:
  • Clippings: March-September - 1969
    7 folders
  • Box 13:
  • Clippings: October-August - 1969-1970
    11 folders
  • Box 14:
  • Clippings: September-November - 1970
    4 folders
  • Coe, Robert L.
  • Commercial Broadcasters' Generosity to ETV
  • Committee Members
  • Common Carrier FCC Release
  • Concentration of Control Panelists
  • Conference: Bills miscellaneous - 1970
    3 folders
  • Conference: Hotel Arrangements - 1970
  • Conference: Invitation Mailing Work Folder - 1970
  • Conference: October - 1970
  • Conference: Dinner Response - 1970
    Including material from Thomas P. F. Hoving
  • Conference: Participant Bios - 1970
    Includes photos
  • Conference: Panel Participants and Speakers Schedule, March - 1970
    Including material from Elie Abel, Dean Burch, Warren E. Burger, Julian Bond, William F. Buckley, Jr., Ramsey Clark, Milton S. Eisenhower, Katharine Graham, Nancy Hanks, Mark O. Hatfield, Hubert H. Humphrey, Coretta Scott King, Newton N. Minow, John O. Pastore, Frank Stanton, Robert Taft, Jr., Thomas P. F. Hoving, Philip A. Hart, John Kenneth Galbraith, and Nicholas Johnson
  • Conference: Panels - 1970, 1971
  • Conference: Pictures Photographer Mac Brewer - 1970
  • Conference: Planning Subcommittee - 1970
  • Conference: Schedules - 1970
  • Box 15:
  • Conference: Working Folder - 1969
  • Congressional Record
  • Consensus Agreement - 1972
  • Constituency Theory and Practice
  • Constitutionality of Recess Appointment
  • Consumers Union
  • Contacts Supporting Council
  • Convocation, Bills, Correspondence - 1970, 1972
    First folder including material from Harry S. Ashmore. 4 folders
  • Co-sponsoring Organizations
  • Council for Better Business Bureaus
  • Council of Supporting Organizations (master list): Negative Responses
  • Council on Children, Media, and Merchandising
  • Counter Ads
  • Counter Advertising
  • D - miscellaneous
  • "A Day in the Life" mailing lists
  • Deception articles
  • Box 16:
  • Deception (legal scientific)
  • Degnan, June Oppen (California Citizens Committee for Broadcasting) - 1969-1970
  • Deposit slips, bank by mail envelops
  • Deutsch, Howard - 1972-1973
  • Diamond, Ted. Director of Development
  • District of Columbia
  • Dr. Henry Lennard
  • Drinan, Rev. Robert - 1967-1971
  • Drug Abuse Plan for Volunteer Org
  • Drug Lyrics (FCC statement)
  • Drug Study
    4 folders
  • Drugs: Analgesics
    2 folders
  • Drugs: Food and Drug Administration
  • Drugs: Antacids. Drugs Articles
    2 folders
  • Drugs: Calmatives, sleeping pills, stimulants
  • Box 17:
  • Drugs: Cold and Cough Remedies
  • Drugs: Drugs FDA Risk List
  • Drugs: Feminine Hygiene
  • Drugs: Illicit Drug Abuse
  • Drugs: Incoming Correspondence
  • Drugs: Laxatives
  • Drugs: Miscellaneous: Skin Products
  • Drugs: Mouthwashes
  • Drugs: Outgoing Correspondence
  • Drugs: Radio Scripts
  • Drugs: Study of Teenage Drug Behavior
  • Drugs: Vitamins
  • Drugs: "Why Now" Aspen, Colorado Dynamic Strategy Research Foundation
  • ERIC
  • ETV, Honolulu, Hawaii
  • ETV Stations. Eastern Educational Network
  • Educational Broadcasting
  • Educational Broadcasting Corporation
  • Educational TV H.R. 6736 - 1967
  • Eells, Richard - 1967-1971
  • Eisenhower, Milton S.
    Including one TLS
  • Employee Ledger Sheets - 1971
  • Enable
  • England
  • Entenza, John D. - 1968-1970
  • Equal Employment, Donna Kanter Report
  • Essential Background Material
  • Executive Committee Meeting, July 21 - 1971
  • Expenses NCCB Staff
  • EURNAC
  • Box 18:
  • FCC
    4 folders
  • FCC: Articles and misc. Speeches
  • FCC: Bartley, Robert T.
  • FCC: Broadcast Assess
  • FCC: Budget. FCC CATV: Rev. Everett Parker Statement on Proposed CATV Rules of FCC
  • FCC: CBS Selling of the Pentagon
    2 folders
  • FCC: CPB (Corporation for Public Broadcasting) Statement (John Macy)
  • FCC: Children: Ecumedia Filing
  • FCC: Children's Hearings, January - 1973
  • Box 19:
  • FCC: Children: FCC Notice of Inquiry and Proposed Rule Making
  • FCC: Children's Petition
    5 folders
  • FCC: Children's Petitions
  • FCC: Children's Programs and Advertising
  • FCC: Children's TV
    3 folders
  • FCC Commissioners: Dean Burch, Chairman
  • Box 20:
  • FCC Commissioners: Burch/Wells Nominations
  • FCC Commissioners: Thomas J. Houser
  • FCC Commissioners: Nicholas Johnson
    3 folders
  • FCC Community Ascertainment
  • FCC Domestic Satellites, January-May - 1970, 1971, 1972
    4 folders
  • Box 21:
  • FCC Domestic Satellites, April-December - 1972
    5 folders
  • Box 22:
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Personal Attack
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Red Lion Decision
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Fairness Inquiry, March - 1972
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Financial Disclosure - 1972
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: A.C.T. Petition
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Financial Record articles and news clips
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: CPB (Corporation for Public Broadcasting) Financial Statistics - 1971
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Filing Dates
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Correspondence
    2 folders
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Replies to letters registering support
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Sally Fly article for NY Times
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: General NCCB Petition to maintain records of news broadcasts
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Government Pressure
    5 folders. Second folder includes material from Robert F. Drinan
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Lee, Robert E.
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Letters of Complaint
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: License Renewals
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Materials
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Miscellaneous
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Network Control
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Network Programming Inquiry
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Proceedings
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Program Logs
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Public Broadcasting
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Public Reference Requirement
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Publications on Fairness
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Renewal Policies and Rules. New February - 1971
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Satellites
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Speech and Article
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Staff Personnel
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Wells, Robert
    Including material from Thomas P. F. Hoving
  • Box 23:
  • FCC Fairness Doctrine: Commissioner Mary Jones
  • Fair Campaign Practices Committee Materials and Spot
  • Fairness
    2 folders
  • Fairness: Fairness Doctrine
    2 folders
  • Fairness: General
    2 folders
  • Fairness: Product Advertising (Thornton)
  • Fairness: Fairness Social Issue Advertising
  • Federal Tax Returns 1990 A&T - 1967-1973
  • Federal Trade Commission
    2 folders
  • Federation of Rocky Mountain States
  • File National Citizen's Committee for Educational Television
  • Financial Record, NCCB Comments
  • First Amendment Government and Press - Denial to NCCB's Petition
  • First Year Report
  • Foreign TV
  • Foreign TV Regulations
  • Form for Satellite Applications
  • Box 24:
  • Form Letter: Original NCCET (National Citizen's Committee for Educational Television) Organizations
  • Form 1023 (Tax exemption) - 1967
  • Former Board members (miscellaneous) - 1968-1971
  • Forum Communications, Inc.
    2 folders
  • The French Chef with Julia Child
  • Friends of the Earth
  • Freyd, Bill
  • Fund Raising Firms
  • Fund Raising Letter - 1972
    2 folders
  • Fund Raising Letters - 1979, 1980
  • Fund Raising Mailing List
  • Gailbraith, John Kenneth - 1967-1970
  • General Counsel (Morton I. Hamburg)
  • General - Nixon/Humphrey Letters
  • Georgia Educational Television Network
  • Box 25:
  • Germany Material
  • Gill, Brendan - 1967-1970
  • Glazer, Nathan - 1968-1969
  • Goldberg, Arthur J.
  • Goodman, Robert - 1968-1969
  • Government Pressure
    3 folders
  • Grants by NCCB - 1969-1970
  • Grassroots Action Inc.
  • Group "W"
  • Guides Audience Buying to Cough & Cold
  • H - Miscellaneous
  • Hanisch, Stuart
  • Head, Barry
  • Headache Healey
  • Hearings - Moss
  • History clippings
  • History statement
  • Hofmeier, Henry Clay II - 1968-1970
  • Holleb, Marshall
  • Box 26:
  • Hotel Pierre Dinner, October 25 - 1970
  • Hoving, Thomas P. F.
    5 folders
  • Howard, Jack - 1972-1973
  • Humane Society
  • IRS
  • IRTS
  • Illinois Telecommunications Commission
    2 folders
  • IMAGE
  • Information Sheets - NCCET (National Citizen's Committee for Educational Television) Member
  • Organizations
  • Inner Core University of Wisconsin - 1968
  • Insurance - 1969-1971
  • Insurance: Liberty Mutual - 1972
  • Insurance Policies
  • Box 27:
  • International Children's Study - 1977
    Including material from Robert F. Drinan
  • An International Comparison of Children's Television Programming
    2 folders
  • Inventory - 1972
  • Invitations to dias guests including material from Thomas P. F. Hoving
  • Japan
  • Job Applicants
    3 folders
  • Box 28:
  • Johnson, Lyndon
  • Johnson, Nicholas
    Including 10 TLS
  • Johnson Proposal
  • KBYU-TV Provo, Utah
  • KCET Los Angeles, California
  • KCTS-TV Seattle, Washington
  • KEBS San Diego, California
  • KETC St. Louis, Missouri
  • KETS Conway, Arkansas
  • KIRN Southwest Texas Educational Television Council
  • KOAC Corvallis, Oregon
  • KOAP-TV Portland, Oregon
  • KNME-TV Albuquerque, New Mexico
  • KQED San Francisco, California
  • KRON-TV
    2 folders
  • KSPS-TV Spokane, Washington
  • KTCA, Channel 2 St. Paul, Minnesota
  • KUED Salt Lake City, Utah
  • Box 29:
  • Kanter Report
  • Kubasik, Ben
  • Ledger; check stubs; bank statements - 1972-1973
  • Legal: Activities Summary, January-April - 1972
  • Legal: Commercial Statements RM (Rule Making) 2326
  • Legal: Cross ownership of CATV Newspaper Docket. 18891
  • Legal: Public Inspection of Cable Files Docket 19948
  • Legal: Resources
  • Legal: Cross Ownership of Broadcast Newspaper Docket 18110
  • Legislation: Appropriation for CPB Correspondence - 1969
    Including material from Brock Adams, Thomas H. Kuchel, Donald Rumsfeld, Robert McClory, and Fred R. Harris
  • Legislation: CATV: Tiernan Bill
  • Legislation: Children Mondale Amendment - 1970
    Including one Mondale TLS, December 21
  • Legislation: misc.: letters from Congress and Senate
    Including material from Edward M. Kennedy and John O. Pastore
  • Legislation
  • Mondale Amendment Ed. TV for Minority Children - 1970
  • Legislation Moss-McGovern S. 1461 - 1971
  • Legislation: Nelson Committee
  • Box 30:
  • Legislation: Pastore Bill
    2 folders
  • Legislation: S. 12112 Appropriation for CPB
  • Legislation: Self Regulation of Advertising - 1971
  • Legislation: Sen. Spongs Bill Adv. and the environment - 1971
  • Legislation: Voting Record Public Broadcasting Legislation - 1968
  • Letters from Negative Co Sponsoring Org: in Answer to Inquiries - 1971
  • Letters from Negative Co Sponsoring Org: of Acceptance to Membership Invitations
    Including material from Thomas P. F. Roving, Conrad Aiken, Saul Bellow, Robert McAfee Brown, John Cogley, Jules Feiffer, Arthur J. Goldberg, Joseph Wood Krutch, Archibald MacLeish, and A. Philip Randolph
  • Letters from Negative Co Sponsoring Org: re Agnew Statement
  • Letters from Negative Co Sponsoring Org: Letters sent to Co Sponsoring
  • License Renewals, Expiration Periods: Tower Bill S. 2664
  • License Renewals, Expiration Periods: B.E.S.T. Critique
  • Box 31:
  • License Renewals, Expiration Periods: Citizen Action
  • License Renewals, Expiration Periods: clips
  • License Renewals, Expiration Periods: Contests Strike applications
  • License Renewals, Expiration Periods: FCC General Rulings
  • License Renewals, Expiration Periods: FCC Public Service Responsibility Report
  • License Renewals, Expiration Periods: FCC Response to Oliver R. Grace
  • License Renewals, Expiration Periods: Forms. License Renewals General disclosure of financial data
  • License Renewals, Expiration Periods: NABB (Orme) Statement
  • License Renewals, Expiration Periods: NCCB Correspondence
  • License Renewals, Expiration Periods: S. 2004 articles news clips
  • License Renewals, Expiration Periods: S. 2004 Braren's Testimony
  • License Renewals, Expiration Periods: S. 2004 NCCB filing
  • License Renewals, Expiration Periods: Specific Renewals
  • License Renewals, Expiration Periods: U.S. Court of Appeals Decision
  • Licensing - Sally Fly Article
  • Long Range Financing of Public Broadcasting.
    2 folders. Second folder including material from Thomas P. F. Hoving and McGeorge Bundy
  • Logs of Program Records (NCCB pet.)
  • Ludgin, Earle - 1971
  • McGraw Hill Book Do Not Throw Out - 1968-1973
  • Mailing Lists - Coded Mailings: NCCB Filings, etc.
  • Mannes, Marya - 1968-1970
  • March Conference, miscellaneous - 1970
  • Box 32:
  • Maine ETV Network Orono, Maine
  • Maryland and Virginia Withholding
  • Maryland Public Television
  • Morgan, Edward
  • Media Commondiaire
  • Meat and Poultry Inspection Regulations
  • Member Resignations
    Includes Photos. Also including materials from Thomas P. F. Hoving, Lee A. DuBridge, and Newton N. Minow
  • Members Committee Invitations - Thomas P. F. Hoving
  • Membership Meeting, New Orleans, February 11-12 - 1968
    2 folders
  • Memos and letters to membership
  • Metropolitan Indianapolis Television Association
  • Box 33:
  • Minority Inclusion and Programming Diversity
  • Miscellaneous
  • Miscellaneous Organizations
  • Miscellaneous TV and Radio Stations
  • Mississippi
  • MIT Group (Pharr)
  • MODE (Modern Organization for Dance Evolvement, Inc)
  • Modern Adv., News clips and articles: Outgoing Correspondence
  • Monopoly
  • Montgomery, Robert - 1967-1972
  • Moore, Earle
    2 folders
  • NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, Inc
  • NAB (National Association of Broadcasters) and Political Broadcasting
  • NAEB (National Association. of Educational Broadcasters) and ETS Division
    Including material from Thomas P. F. Hoving
  • NBC-CBS Press information and releases
  • Box 34:
  • NCCB
  • NCCB Considerations for CATV
  • NCCET (National Citizen's Committee for Educational Television). NCCPTV Journal (National Citizen's Committee for Public Television). NCTA (National Cable Television Association, Inc.), material from NCTA Convention
  • NET Affiliates (speeches, meetings, general affiliate information): Correspondence
    Including material from Thomas P. F. Hoving
  • NET Affiliates: Felix Green
  • NET Affiliates: Fritz Jauch "A Brief History of ETV in the United States"
  • NET Affiliates: Releases
  • NOW (National Organization of Women)
  • Nathanson, Don
  • National Association for Better Broadcasting
  • National Association of Broadcasters
  • National Association of Educational Broadcasters
  • National Audience Board
  • National Cable Television Association
  • Box 35:
  • National Citizen's Committee for Public Broadcasting
  • National Committee for an Effective Congress
  • National Conf. Budget
  • National Conference on Citizen's Rights: Mail tab correspondence
  • National Conference on Citizen's Rights: Political panel
    Including material from Nicholas Johnson and Thomas P. F. Hoving
  • National Conference on Citizen's Rights: Speakers and honorarium
  • National Council of Jewish Women
  • National Council of Negro Women
  • National Council of Women
  • National Education Association
  • National Educational Radio and Public Radio
  • National Endowment for the Arts
  • National Friends of Public Broadcasting
  • National Information Bureau
  • National Mexican American Anti Defamation Committee, Inc.
  • National Public Radio
    Includes photos
  • Natrona School District, Casper, Wyoming (Dr. Maurice F. Griffith)
  • Negative Responses to Membership Invitations
    Including material from Thomas P. F. Hoving
  • Negative Speaker Answered
    Including material from Thomas P. F. Hoving
  • Box 36:
  • Nebraska Citizen's Committee for Public Television, Inc.
  • Nebraska ETV Network
  • Network News Cutback
  • Network Pg. Antitrust Suit
  • Network Project - 1972
  • Network Schedules
  • New Jersey Commission on Public Broadcasting
  • New Jersey Governor's Commission on Public Broadcasting
  • New York Network
  • New York State Registration as a Tax Exempt Organ - 1972
  • New York Stations (and group owned)
  • New York Times Ad, November 20 - 1969
  • News
  • Newsletter
    5 folders
  • Newspapers and magazines
  • Netzer Long Range Financing of P.B. Original
  • Nixon, Richard
  • Nominating Committee - 1971, 1973
    2 folders
  • Northern Michigan University (Marquette)
  • Notes
  • Notes on Films on Ads (legal)
  • Notes on Prime Time Access
  • Office of Consumer Affairs
  • Box 37:
  • On Being Black
    Includes photos
  • Opening of Congressional Mail Caper
  • Oregon Educational Broadcasting Division of Continuing Education
  • Org. CATV Ad Hoc Coalition
  • Organizations - Boston Community Media Committee: Academy for Educational Development
  • Organizations - Boston Community Media Committee: Action, for Smoking and Health (ASH)
  • Other Broadcasting Groups
  • P - Miscellaneous
  • PBL (Public Broadcast Laboratory)
  • PBL Clips First Season
  • PBS (Public Broadcasting Service), Articles - 1971
  • PTV Pennsylvania
  • Pace, Frank, Jr.
  • Palmer, Arthur
  • Parenteau, Zoel J.
  • Parker, Everett, Rev.
  • Box 38:
  • Pastore Bill (S. 2004)
  • Pauley, Robert A.
  • Pay Television
  • Pennsylvania Governor's Advisory Committee
  • Pentagon Papers
  • Photos Kubasik/More/Ellison
  • Pictures Hoving, Johnson, Drinan, et al., undated
  • Piel, Gerard
  • Pitney Bowes
  • Political
  • Political Action Kit Reprints
  • Political Action Project Voter Viewer Opinion Form
  • Political Advertising: Bunce/Fishman
  • Political Advertising: Correspondence
  • Box 39:
  • Political Advertising: Correspondence Files
  • Political Advertising: Foote, Cone, & Belding
  • Political Advertising: Fund Raising Letter
  • Political Advertising: Kit 1
  • Political Advertising: Kit 2
  • Political Advertising: Kit Press Release
  • Political Advertising: Past History
  • Political Advertising: Project Committee
  • Political Advertising: Political Advertising Project Porter
  • Political Air Pollution
  • Political Broadcasting: FCC - 1972
  • Political Broadcasting: Background material
  • Political Broadcasting: Campaign Finances Inc., legislation - 1971
  • Political Broadcasting: Foote, Cone, & Belding
  • Box 40:
  • Political Broadcasting: General
    2 folders
  • Political Broadcasting: Harvey Jassem Studies
  • Political Broadcasting: Other Groups
  • Political Broadcasting: Project letters on kit
  • Political Broadcasting: Project
  • Political Broadcasting: Project Design
  • Political Broadcasting: Project Final Report
  • Political Broadcasting: Questionnaires
  • Political Broadcasting: Racist Spots Stoner, Atlanta
  • Postmaster N.Y. (mailing permit)
  • Poverty
  • Praeger Press Proposed book (Conference on Citizen's Rights)
  • Press: Conference
  • Press: Contacts
  • Press: Correspondence re Members
  • Press: File
  • Press: Lists
  • Press: Releases
  • Box 41:
  • Press: Releases - 1968, 1972
    2 folders
  • Prime Time Access Rule
    3 folders
  • Printed News
  • Probst, George
  • Probst Conference, October - 1970
  • Product Safety
  • Program Length Commercials
  • Public Broadcasting: Act - 1967
  • Public Broadcasting: correspondence - 1971
  • Public Broadcasting: long Range Financing - 1969
  • Public Finance Hearings Spring - 1969
  • Public Interest Law Firms
  • Public Responses (& Replies) to AT&T Blast, September 29 - 1969
  • Public Service
  • Public Television Advertising Proposal (Ben Kubasik): and AT&T Diamond
  • Public Television Advertising Proposal (Ben Kubasik): Community Involvement - 1968
  • Public Television Advertising Proposal (Ben Kubasik): General - 1968
  • Public Television Advertising Proposal (Ben Kubasik): Information
  • Public Television Advertising Proposal (Ben Kubasik): News and Articles - 1968
  • Public Television Advertising Proposal (Ben Kubasik): Programming - 1968
  • Publishers
  • Box 42:
  • Quarterly Meetings: February, January - 1968, 1969
    2 folders
  • RKO File
  • Race - 1968
  • Racism
  • Radio
  • Radio Free Europe
  • Ratings
  • Red Lion Supreme Court
  • Redwood Empire Educ. Television
  • Refunds Received - 1972
  • Refusals to Join Committee
  • Regents of the University of the State of New York
  • Religious Broadcasts
  • Requests for Conference Proceedings
  • Requests for "The State of Public Broadcasting"
  • Revenues
  • Riverton, Wyoming
  • Box 43:
  • S - Miscellaneous
  • SECA (Southern Education Communications Association)
  • SETA
  • St. Regis, Reception, September 23 - 1970
  • St. Regis Sheraton
  • Satellite Articles and Clippings - 1967
    4 folders
  • Satellites, N. Johnson Statement - 1967
  • Satellites: mailing list
  • Satellites: NCCB Correspondence
  • Satellites: NCCB Filing, May 12 - 1971
  • Satellites: NCCB Reply Comments to FCC, July 12 - 1971
  • Satellites: Various proposals
  • Scofield., Carleton F.
  • Seaboard Systems
  • Segelman, Marvin. Senator Pastore Bill - S. 2004
  • Shayon, Robert
  • Siepmann, Charles
  • Skin Products
  • Skinner, Mrs. David E.
  • Box 44:
  • Social Problems and Change
  • Sorenson, Philip
  • Speaker Briefing
  • Speeches Referring to OTC Problem
  • Sports
  • Squier, Robert
  • Staff
  • Staff - Warren Braren
  • Staff Handbook
  • Staff - Ben Kubasik. State of Public Broadcasting Drafts
  • Statement Following FCC Luncheon, March 12 - 1969
  • Statement of Purpose Conference, Stationery
  • Stations WPIX
  • Stern Community Law Firm
    2 folders
  • Box 45:
  • Students, Exchange
  • Subcommittee for the Council of Supporting Organizations
  • Suggested New Members
  • Summer Interns
  • Summer Newsletter, 1470
  • Superior
  • Synagogue Council of America
  • Syracuse University - Newhouse School
  • T - Miscellaneous
  • TV Ad Scripts
  • TV International - 1968
  • TV Magazines TVBE - 1973
  • TV Movies
  • TV Network Showsheets
  • TV Sponsors
  • TV Statistics
  • TV Violence - 1969
  • TVB News
  • TVBE Magazine (Madison, Wisconsin Group) - 1972
  • TV's role in Ghetto Areas
  • Tacoma, Washington
  • Talk Shows
  • Tax Exempt Certificate (determination letters) - 1967, 1973
  • Tax Exemption - Challenge to Status: Forms - 1967-1973
    3 folders
  • Tax Exemption - Challenge to Status: Foundation Status - 1970-1973
  • Box 46:
  • Tax Problems General - 1971-1973
  • Tax Related: New York Dept. Social Services - 1967-1971
  • Taxes and Tax Status: D.C. - 1971-1973
    2 folders
  • Taxes and Tax Status: Employer Registration Report
  • Taxes and Tax Status: Federal Unemployment Compensation - 1972
  • Taxes and Tax Status: Form 4506 - 1972
  • Taxes and Tax Status: IRS Harassment - 1971
  • Taxes and Tax Status: Jeopardy Assessment - 1972
  • Taxes and Tax Status: New York State Education Dept. - 1971
  • Taxes and Tax Status: 990 Problems - 1971-1973
  • Taxes and Tax Status: Source Material/Exemptions - 1970-1972
  • Television Academy
  • Television and Education
  • Television: General Articles of Interest
  • Television Information Office
  • Television Problems
  • Ticket Sales for Conference
  • Topeka, Kansas KTWU, Ch. 11
  • Toys: clips and articles: FDA Filing
  • Transcript Requests
  • Transcripts
  • Trustees
  • Box 47:
  • U - Miscellaneous
  • UHER Recorder and Mike
  • Unanswered Membership Invitation
  • United Church of Christ
  • United States Committee for UNICEF
  • U.S. Government Printing Office
  • United States Senate
  • University Groups and Individuals
  • Urban Law Institute
  • Urban Problems
  • Urrows, Henry Magazines
  • V - Miscellaneous
  • Variety
  • Vegetables, Oils, and Margarines
  • Violence
    4 folders
  • Volunteers - 1970-1973
  • W - Miscellaneous
  • WABC
  • WCET Cincinnati, Ohio
    3 folders
  • Box 48:
  • WDSE-TV, Ch. 8, Duluth, Minnesota
  • WENH-TV Durham, New Hampshire
  • WETA Washington, D.C.
  • WFMT Radio
    2 folders
  • WGBH Boston
  • WHEC-TV Rochester Metro Act of Rochester
  • WHRO Norfolk, Virginia
  • WHYY Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • WITF-TV Hersey, Pennsylvania
  • WJCT Jacksonville, Florida
  • WKNO-TV Memphis, Tennessee
  • WMVS Milwaukee, Wisconsin
  • WNBC
  • WNDT New York, New York
  • WNED Buffalo, New York
  • WNET
  • WNYC
  • WOUB-TV Athens, Ohio
  • WPIX
    2 folders
  • Box 49:
  • WPSX TV University Park, Pennsylvania
  • WQED Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
  • WQLN Erie, Pennsylvania
  • WTOP
  • WTTW Chicago, Illinois
  • WTVI Charlotte, North Carolina
  • WVIA TV, Channel 44, Scranton, Pennsylvania
  • WWVU TV Morgantown, West Virginia
  • WXXI TV Rochester, New York
  • WYES TV New Orleans, Louisiana
  • Wagner Photoprint
  • Walter Sign Corporation
  • Watson, Phil
  • Wayne, June
  • Western Union. Westinghouse
  • Westinghouse Broadcast Co.
  • White House - 1967-1969
  • White House Telephone Taping
  • Wichita, Kansas (Cultural Arts Comm. And ETV)
  • Wilmington Coalition
  • "Winding Down the War" Commercials
  • Wiretapping
  • Women Sex Discrimination
  • Woodstock Folk Festival (News Coverage)
  • Workshop
  • World Without War
  • Xerox
  • YWCA
  • York Stationery
  • Zenith
  • Series 2: 1977 ADDENDUM
  • Box 50:
  • ACT meeting, February April - 1974
  • access II
  • Brainpicking luncheons, January, July - 1974
  • Children's special report, original, June - 1974
  • Citizens energy conference, February 15 - 1974
  • FCC regional meeting, Atlanta, Georgia, May - 1974
  • Free Speech Messages manual
  • Gehring, Craig study: Equal Employment Opportunity, November 6 - 1975
  • Holcomb, Luther. Consumer Federation of America letter, April - 1974
    Justice Department/Media
  • Ownership - 1974
  • Letter to area colleges requesting interns - 1974-1975
  • Logs NCCB, January-May - 1974
    2 folders
  • National Student League conference, February 23 - 1974
  • Oversight hearings, March - 1974
  • PSA (Public Service Announcements) Project, Robert B. Choate, November, May - 1973, 1974
  • Quello, James H., January-April - 1974
    1 TLS Russell Long
  • Quello, James H., statements concerning - 1973-1974
  • Quello, James H., September-January - 1973-1974
  • Questionnaire, April 1 - 1974
    Letters March 26 and June 24. 2 folders
  • Box 51:
  • Responses to Nicholas Johnson's letter to reporters re Tornille case, April-May - 1974
    1 TLS James J. Kilpatrick
  • Responses to November 7 letter, November-January - 1973-1974
  • Sex and violence - 1974-1975
    1 TLS Richard E. Wiley
  • Tornillo, Pat L. - 1973-1974
  • Violence - 1969-1975
  • Wells, Robert, July-August - 1975
  • Williams, M., P.O. Box 25, Oakridge, Oregon 97463, July 16 - 1976