Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Charlotte M. Smith Papers, Including the Records of the Tamazunchale Press

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1970-2001
Creator: Smith, Charlotte M. (1919-2002)
Extent: 4.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0457
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Publisher of miniature books in Newton, Iowa, founded by Charlotte and Thomas Smith. Correspondence, typescripts, proofs, advertising, contracts, etc., have been combined with Charlotte M. Smith's personal papers.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Series I, Box 1; Series II, Box 3; Series III, Boxes 4, 5; Slides: Series I, Box 1; Series II, Boxes 2, 3; CD: Series I, Box 1.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Donated by Charlotte M. Smith, 1980-2002; Charlotte A. Smith, 2002-2007.

Preferred Citation: Charlotte M. Smith Papers, Including The Records of the Tamazunchale Press, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Charlotte Messenger Smith was born on January 27, 1919, to Charlotte (Strochl) and Orville Messenger, in Downey, Iowa. While she was still an infant, her family moved to Newton, Iowa, where she lived the rest of her life. She married Thomas R. Smith on January 27, 1939. The Smiths had two children, Charlotte Ann Smith Adams and Thomas Smith, Jr. Tom had a long and highly successful career as research engineer for the Maytag Company; he died in March 2001. Charlotte died on January 25, 2002 from complications in the course of routine surgery.Both Tom and Charlotte were avid readers, and Charlotte became a collector of rare books until they threatened to overload their home, at which point Tom told Charlotte that he didn't care how many books she collected as long as they fit into one room. A short while before this, Charlotte had become aware of miniature books, and so began the Charlotte M. Smith Collection of Miniature Books. In 1983, the Smiths started their own press, the Tamazunchale Press, Inc., of Newton, Iowa, the first press in the state to publish miniature books. Charlotte described her collecting and documented details of the Press' output in two articles published in Books at Iowa, The Joys of Miniature Books (1984) and The Tamazunchale Press: A Bibliographic Checklist (1990).

The papers of Charlotte Smith, including the records of the Tamazunchale Press, occupy about eight linear feet and date from 1961 to 2002. Series I includes a variety of personal memorabilia including grade and high school reports, records of a 1972 recipe book she assembled by contacting notable women, letters from many prominent writers, and some of her own attempts at narrative and fiction. In addition, Series I includes a large group of travel diaries: Charlotte developed a habit of thoroughly documenting each of many trips, both within the United States and abroad. Many of the trips included visits to book- and print-related sources as well as meetings with collectors, publishers, printers, marblers, and others in the world of books. Lastly, it includes Charlotte Smith's personal diaries, dated from 1981-2002.The diaries include not only Smith's record of her daily life, but also obituaries, correspondence, and various newspaper clippings. Recorded on the last pages of each diary are the impressive lists of books that Smith read.

Series II documents her passion for miniature books. The papers include dealers' catalogs, correspondence (including letters exchanged with members of the Libraries' staff over many years), advertising, and articles. Also included is the Norman Forgue Award presented to Charlotte Smith by the Miniature Book Society in 1993.

Records of the Tamazunchale Press, Inc. are organized in Series III. The Press was founded by the Smiths in 1983, with publishing a natural progression for Charlotte who had by then been collecting miniature books for a number of years. The press name, which suggests their own first names, comes from a small Mexican village in which the Smiths honeymooned in 1939. Tamazunchale Press published twenty books between 1983 and 1988, issuing books by both old and new authors hitherto unpublished in miniature book form. The first Tamazunchale book was written by Charlotte herself and titled Book Interlude. It was quickly followed by The Manuscriptby Isaac Bashevis Singer, Confessions of a Wild Boar by John Updike, The Model E by Tom Smith, and My Chinese Childhood by Pearl S. Buck. The last book published by Tamazunchale was Antonin Dvorak by Janet Savin. The records of Tamazunchale Press, Inc., document the making of each book, with typescripts, galleys, contracts, advertising, etc. The files include correspondence with other collectors, publishers, bookbinders, and booksellers, and with some of the authors who permitted their work to be used. Perhaps the most important item in this last category is a letter from Eudora Welty.

Box 1 contains electronic materials.
Further information about Charlotte Smith and a partial inventory of our miniature book collection can be viewed here.

"The Joys of Miniature Books" by Charlotte Smith, from Books at Iowa 41 (November 1984).

"The Tamazunchale Press: A Bibliographic Checklist" from Books at Iowa 50 (April 1990).

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PERSONAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 2: CMS AS BOOK COLLECTOR
Series 3: TAMAZUNCHALE PRESS RECORDS

  • Series 1: PERSONAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • 1. Obituaries for Charlotte Messenger Smith (CMS)
  • 2. Newspaper and magazine articles about CMS - 1929-2002
  • 3. Photographs of CMS and Tom Smith
    Including a pencil portrait scanned to CD at 600dpi
  • 4. Newton High School
  • Peer Evaluations, Grades 11 and 12 - 1935, 1936
  • Iowa Quester State Day Program, article and correspondence - 1983
  • Schedule for Workers for State Day - 1983
  • Newton High School Alumni News,article on CMS and Tom Smith - 1996
    Pages 12-13
  • Slide photograph of CMS and Tom Smith
  • Trace Arounds and handmade books
  • Trace Arounds used by CMS at Lincoln School, kindergarten - 1924
  • Handmade book for Sunday School, undated
  • Handmade book - 1929
  • 6. Philanthropic Educational Organization (P.E.O.) Election Year Luncheon and Recipe Book
  • Decorated Election Year Recipe Book, April 14 - 1972
  • Menu and handwritten notes and lecture by CMS
  • Correspondence: Agnew, Mrs. Spiro Theodore. Recipe and ALS. February 1 - 1972
  • Correspondence: Chisholm, Shirley. Campaign materials, pin
  • Correspondence: Humphrey, Mrs. Hubert H. 2 recipes, photo card and recipe, and TL. March 7 - 1972
  • Correspondence: Jackson, Henry M. (Washington Senator). Recipe and ALS. February 17 - 1972
  • Correspondence: Johnson, Mrs. Lyndon B. Johnson. 2 recipes and TLS. February 15 - 1972
  • Correspondence: McGovern, George. Recipe
  • Correspondence: Percy, Mrs. Charles H. (wife of Charles Percy, Illinois Senator). Recipe and TL. March 2 - 1972
  • Correspondence: Ray, Billie (wife of Iowa Governor Robert D. Ray). Recipe and ALS. February 12 - 1972
  • Correspondence: Reagan, Mrs. Ronald. Recipe and TL. February 15 - 1972
  • Correspondence: Rockefeller, Mrs. Nelson A. Recipe and TL
  • Correspondence: Smith, Margaret Chase. Recipe and ALS
  • Correspondence: Wallace, Mrs. George (wife of Alabama Governor). Recipe and ALS, February 23 - 1972
  • Correspondence: White House (Mrs. Richard Nixon). Recipe card
  • 7. Patent Disclosure for Hair Dryer Control, August 19 - 1964
  • 8. Correspondence, letters to CMS, 1951-1977
  • Addams, Charles. Signed New Yorker cover, January 21 - 1985
  • Beard, James. TL. February 3 - 1975
  • Bellamy, Ralph. TLS - 1959
  • Booth, George W. ALS. June 24 - 1974
  • Bree, Germaine. ALS. January 8 - 1960
  • Cheever, John. TLS - 1969-1973
    Including signed photograph
  • Cullinan, Elizabeth. TLS and article clipping, September 16 - 1973
  • Hayes, Helen. TLS. January 12, 1959, ALS November 24 - 1959, 1968
  • Hope, Bob. TLS. March 8 - 1951
  • Maclean, Sir Fitzroy. TLS, November 29 - 1965
  • McConkey, James. TLS. August 4 - 1977
  • Miller, Mary Frances S. (editorial assistant of Holiday). TLS. October 6 - 1960
  • Preston, Mrs. Robert. TLS. February 12 - 1958
  • Price, Vincent. ALS, undated
  • Ruggle, P.E. MD. TLS. August 27 - 1996
  • Spark, Muriel. TLS. October 31 - 1993
  • Wilder, Thornton. 7 ALS and postcards - 1965-1971
    Includes photograph and transcript of award presentation
  • Wilson, Edward (The New Yorker). TLS. June 29 - 1971
  • Correspondence regarding the International Reading Project, including CMS letters and information sheets - 2000
  • Holiday cards
  • 9. Holiday cards, pictures, postcards, and personal correspondence between CMS and Tom Smith and Frank and Jeannette Anderson, including a numbered holiday greeting from the Tamazunchale Press.
  • 9.5 Holiday cards sent to Charlotte Smith from George Bixby of the Ampersand Books, mostly printed by the Albondocani Press. Printed especially for him; none were for sale
  • "A Flock of Guinea Hens Seen From a Car" by Eudora Welty, artwork by Robert Dunn - 1970
  • "Travel: A Window" by Howard Moss, artwork by Robert Dunn - 1973
  • Artwork by Edward Gorey (Gertrude Stein as a child) - 1975
  • Artwork by Robert Dunn - 1976
  • Artwork by Edward Gorey (A Future Unremembered Poet of the Seventeenth Century accepts a Christmas Cooked from the Great Veiled Bear) - 1977
  • "Christ Child's Song at the End of the Night" by Reynolds Price, artwork by Robert Dunn - 1978
  • Artwork by Edward Gorey (Hertha Strugg's fifth Christmas) - 1979
  • Recipe for white fruitcake by Eudora Welty, artwork by Robert Dunn - 1980
  • Artwork by Edward Gorey (Ettie Lou Stooper does a tinsel dance at a tree trimming party in Gumsville, Nebraska, Christmas Eve, 1923) - 1981
  • "Hamlen Brook" by Richard Wilbur, artwork by Robert Dunn - 1982
  • Artwork by Edward Gorey (Un cadeau ennuyeux) - 1983
  • Navidad, "St. Nicholas Ave." by Alfred Corn, artwork by Robert Dunn - 1984
  • Artwork by Edward Gorey (Noel chez les volants des Alpes Dolomites) - 1985
  • "Noon Rest, Best Day" by reynolds Price, artwork by Robert Dunn - 1986
  • Artwork by Edward Gorey (In Stubville, Nebraska on December 23, 1911 Christmas tree ornaments fell from a cloudless sky) - 1987
  • Artwork by Edward Gorey (Christmas in the Eggplant Hills) - 1989
  • 10. CMS creative writing and personal narratives. TMs
  • "The Ice Man," undated
  • "The List," undated
  • "Maybaskets," undated
  • "Pink Square," undated
  • "Sunday Afternoon," undated
  • "Three Sisters," undated, unfinished
  • 2 unfinished excerpts, undated
  • 11. CMS creative writing and personal narratives, TMs except as noted
  • "Early Days", December 21 - 1976
  • "How Old Are You?" [Script], August - 1976
  • "Mother" [Diary] - 1976
  • "Mrs. Hill", September 8 - 1976
  • "Our Courtship", November - 1976
  • "The Secretary", February - 1983
    CAS note - includes pseudonyms, "Margaret" refers to CMS
  • "Tales of a Grandmother", August - 1976
  • "The Vacation", September 21 - 1978
  • Untitled works [Travel Diaries] - 1957-1975
  • 12. Notes, quotes, and fragments, undated
  • 13. Correspondence and material pertaining to Tom Smith and the American Mount Everest Expedition
  • 6 newspaper clippings about Maytag's development of the oxygen mask to be used on the Expedition - 1962-1963
  • Tom Horbein (climber), TLS and photocopies from Mount Everest climb, February-April - 1963
  • American Mount Everest Expedition, 1963; Newsletters #1-4: February - 1963
  • 14. Flyer advertising the opening of the Iowa Center for the Book. CMS on Iowa Center for the Book Steering Committee.
  • Box 2:
  • 1. CMS Five Year Diary, "Hard Hitters Players and Batting Order" card - 1932-1936
  • 2. CMS Five Year Diary, January 1-May 31 - 1932-1936
    Excerpts, typed in folder, notes by CAS
  • 3. CMS Diaries I
  • CMS Diary, November 26-April 5 - 1940-1941
  • CMS Diary, April 5-November 12 - 1941
    Newspaper clipping
  • 4.CMS Diaries II
  • CMS Diary, January 1-December 31 - 1942
  • CMS Diary, January 1-May 29 - 1943
  • 5. CMS Diary excerpts - 1940-1942
    Typed in folder, notes by CAS
  • 6. CMS Diary, January 1-November 26 - 1951
    Includes newspaper clippings and typed excerpts by CAS
  • Box 3:
  • 1. CMS Journals
  • CMS Journal, September 4-February 27 - 1952-1956
    Spiral notebook, teeth taped to cover
  • CMS Journal, November 1-April 27 - 1970-1971
    Spiral notebook
  • CMS Journal, "The Anything Book." May 11-January 11 - 1971-1972
  • CMS Journal, November 23-December - 1973
    Spiral notebook entitled "Disturbing Times"
  • 4 duplicate diary pages in folder from - 1952
  • 2. CMS Diary and Journal
  • CMS Diary - 1974-1978
  • CMS Journal, January 1-June 4 - 1979-1981
    Leather bound volume, includes typed transcripts of correspondence regarding Tom Smith's 1979 Iowa Inventor of the Year award, and book list
  • 3. CMS Travel Diaries
  • Europe Vol. I: March 20-May 21 - 1952
    Green leather book with gold tooling
  • Europe Vol. II: May 22-June 11 - 1952
    Red leather book with embossed name, gift from Ellen Maytag
  • Europe Vol. III: June 12-August 18 - 1952
    Brown leather book, includes news clippings regarding the Smith's return
  • 4. CMS Travel Diaries
  • France, Italy, Majorca: April 27-May 28 - 1955
    Orange leather book with gold tooling, includes typed itinerary
  • New York: June - 1957
    Brown notebook
  • New York, Lake Placid, Puerto Rico, Sun Valley: December, October, January - 1958, 1959, 1960
    Cloth bound hard pocket notebook with globe cover
  • France, Spain: April 19-May 18 - 1959
    Steno notebook, includes typed itinerary and souvenir gift list
  • Box 4:
  • 1. CMS Travel Diaries
  • France, Switzerland, Liechtenstein Vol. I: September 17-September 26 - 1961
    Blue bound travel log with carbon copy of itinerary
  • France, Switzerland, Liechtenstein Vol. II: September 26-October 7 - 1961
    Steno notebook
  • Brussels, Meersberg, Greece: April 20-May 25 - 1963
    Steno notebook, includes typed itinerary, Greek alphabet practice, gift list
  • London, Paris, Austria, Liechtenstein, Switzerland: April 22-May 15 - 1964
    Steno notebook with typed itinerary
  • 2. CMS Travel Diaries
  • Portugal: April and May - 1966
    Steno notebook, includes typed itinerary and travel map
  • Yugoslavia: May 8-May 30 - 1967
    Steno notebook, includes typed itinerary
  • Mexico: January 18,-January 27 - 1967
    Steno notebook, includes typed itinerary
  • England: May 1-May 22 - 1969
    Steno notebook, includes typed itinerary
  • Paris, Vienna, Athens, Copenhagen, London: May 7-May 2 - 1970
    Steno notebook, includes typed itinerary
  • Various short trips: "The Anything Book": Guadalajara, January; Disney World, September; Grand Haven, Michigan, November; Butler, Pennsylvania, November; Minneapolis, Minnesota, August; Butler, July; Minneapolis, Minnesota, August; Paris, London, Cotswolds, September - 1972, 1973
  • 3. CMS Travel Diaries
  • France, Gourmet Trip: April 29-May 27 - 1972
    Steno notebook, includes typed itinerary
  • Smokey Mountains, Butler: May 19-September 3 - 1973
    Steno notebook, includes typed itineraries for several short trips from 1972-1974
  • Paris, London, Cotswolds: September 20-October 4 - 1973
    Steno notebook, includes typed itinerary and address notes
  • Various trips: London Theater, February; France, Cooking School, April; Spaulding Inn Club, June; Broadmoor, Vancouver, Jasper Park, August; Butler, September; Disney World, October; Butler, April; France, Barge Trip, May - 1975, 1976
    Blue paisley cloth bound book, includes notes and itinerary
  • 4. CMS Travel Diaries
  • Various Trips: Rhinelander, Appleton, June; Phoenix, Grand Canyon, Denver, August; Butler, Sudbury, Spaulding Inn Club, September; New Orleans, October; Michigan, Butler, Stamford, April; England, May, includes typed itinerary; Nova Scotia, August; Denver, Santa Fe, September; Scottsdale, Palm Springs, Denver, January; Butler, Charleston, Savannah, March, Chicago, May - 1976, 1977, 1978
    Tan floral cloth bound book
  • Various Trips: Colorado, C. Lazy U., July; Butler, Sudbury, Whitefield, September; Phoenix, Palm Springs, Denver, January; Washington D.C. (with granddaughters), April; England, May; Salishan Lodge, August; Pennsylvania, October; Norman Forgue, April; Innisbrook, Florida, May; Sudbury, Essex, Sturbridge, June - 1978, 1979, 1980
    Blue paisley cloth bound book, includes typed itineraries
  • Box 5:
  • 1. CMS Travel Diaries
  • Various Trips: San Francisco, St. Helena, September; La Francais, Wheeling, Illinois, November; The Cloister, Florida, January; La Francais, April; St. Louis (Gayle's wedding), May; Maine, Spaulding Inn Club, June; England, September; Red Apple Inn, Herber Springs, Arkansas, October; Bastrop, Texas (CA's wedding), Austin, December; Carefree, Sedona, Arizona, April; MIT, June; Royal Viking Baltic Cruise, July - 1980, 1981, 1982
    Blue cloth bound book, includes typed itineraries
  • Various Trips: New Mexico, September; Texas (CA's), November; Carefree, March; Pennsylvania, April; Rhine Cruise, Zurich, May; Spaulding Inn Club, Pittsburgh, June; Greek Islands Cruise, September - 1982, 1983
    Hard bound book, labeled "Gnome Gnotebook", includes typed itineraries
  • Various Trips: Danube Cruise, May; Whitefield, Chicago, June/July; Burbank (MBS Conclave), October; Jenny Lake Lodge, July; Carson City, August - 1984, 1985, 1986
    Embossed leather and tapestry bound book, includes typed itineraries, book list, and list of previous trips abroad
  • 2. CMS Travel Diaries
  • Various Trips: Iowa City, Solon, undated; Washington, D.C. (MBS Conclave), August; Chicago, October, April, October, October, March; Scottsdale, March; Butler, April; Burgundy Cruise, Lausanne, Lucerne, July; Martha's Vineyard, May; Clipper, Washington, D.C., Boston, June; Carson City, July; Maine, Rhine-Moselle Cruise, August; Greensboro, October; Clipper, Florida, North Carolina, March; Shelburne, June - 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989
    Blue floral cloth bound book, includes typed itineraries; CAS notes that many dates are illegible or potentially inaccurate
  • Various Trips: Chicago, September, May, October, April, March, April, January, October, May, September; New York, October; San Francisco, August; Carefree, February; Texas, March; Boston (Monet exhibit), April; Door County, Wisconsin, April; Marshalltown, January; Wheeling, May, October, September; Iowa City, May - 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995
    Rose marbled notebook
  • Various Trips: England, July; France, September - 2001
    Green leather bound notebook with gold stamp monogram
  • Box 6:
  • 1. Personal Diaries
  • Personal Diary. June 5-December 1 - 1981-1983
    Dark brown leather bound book, gold stamped "Charlotte M. Smith, Volume II." Includes a recognition certificate to Thomas Smith; a newspaper clipping from The Newton Daily News titled "Pyramid celebrates"
  • Personal Diary. December 2-October 2 - 1983-1984
    Red hard cover, gold stamped "Record Book"
  • Personal Diary. October 3-February 28 - 1984-1985
    Cloth bound book with floral design
  • Personal Diary. March 1-March 24 - 1985-1986
    Cloth bound book with Asian design, gold stamped "Diary" on spine. Includes travel itineraries: La Crosse, Wisconsin March 2-5, 1986; Chicago, Illinois March 14-16, 1986.
  • 2. Personal Diaries
  • Personal Diary. March 25-March 31 - 1986-1987
    Tan, leather bound book with metal corners, gold stamped "Charlotte Smith." Includes travel itineraries: La Crosse, Wisconsin March 30-31, 1986; Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania April 11-14, 1986
  • Personal Diary. April 1-March 15 - 1987-1988
    Tan, leather bound book, gold stamped "Charlotte Smith"
  • Box 7:
  • 1. Personal Diaries
  • Personal Diary. March 16-May 8 - 1988-1989
    Tan, leather bound book, gold stamped "Charlotte Smith." Includes an obituary from The Register's Iowa News Service
  • Personal Diary. May 9-April 27 - 1989-1990
    Cloth bound book with tulip decoration, titled "The Diarist's Journal." Includes a photo of the members (including CMS) of the Thursday Club; CMS transcript of a 30 second radio segment titled "My Roots"; newspaper clippings of funeral announcements; prayer cards; a "Merry Christmas" card from a floral arrangement from CMS husband; speech transcript; an invitation to the Franciscan String Quartet.;
  • Personal Diary. April 28-July 18 - 1990-1991
    Red, leather bound book, "Charlotte Smith" embossed in lower right corner of cover. 8 3/4" x 11 1/2". Includes informational pamphlets on arthritis; a newspaper clipping about CMS with photograph; newspaper clipping about John Pappajohn's donations to the University of Iowa and Hospitals; obituaries; photograph of CMS after emergency surgery; "thinking of you" notes addressed to CMS regarding the surgery and arthritis diagnosis; typed letter from CMS granddaughter; chant/song lyrics created by CMS; seating place cards with Halloween decoration for CMS and husband; thank-you cards addressed to CMS; letter in envelope from Helen Heeyes to CMS about miniature books; notecard about Christmas Ale from Anchor Brewing Co., San Francisco; Merry Christmas note from CMS granddaughter; photocopies of newspaper articles about Maytag Corp.; newspaper articles about Iraq (Gulf War); letter to CMS from her son, Tommy; picture of a family "rolling cigarettes in a dirty tenement"; The Embassy Report - photograph of CMS and husband inside; newspaper article that includes mention of CMS and Tamazunchafic Press.
  • 2. Personal Diaries
  • Personal Diary. July 19-November 4 - 1991
    Blue cloth bound book with Asian design. 5 3/8" x 8 1/8". Includes various newspaper clippings; notification of a birth; wedding invitation; thank-you notes addressed to CMS.
  • Personal Diary. November 5-April 16 - 1991-1992
    Blue marbled paper overlay book with a black leather spine. 8 1/2" x 5 1/2". Includes a thank-you note addressed to CMS; a small gold napkin embossed with the names "Jane and Russell."
  • Box 8:
  • 1. Personal Diaries
  • Personal Diary. April 17-November 5 - 1992
    Green leather bound book, "Charlotte Smith" embossed on lower right front cover. 8 7/8" x 6". Includes a to-do list on a lined notecard from June 2-July 15
  • Personal Diary. November 5-September 26 - 1992-1993
    Embossed maroon leather book, bound with silk Asian landscape scene, gold embossed design and "Diary" on spine, and a red ribbon marker. 7" x 5". Note: Entry for Thursday, September 9, 1993, visit by Bob and Eloise Massman and Fr. Joe Curran describing when Massman and Curran presented CMS with the Norman Forgue Award from the Miniature Book Society.
  • Personal Diary. September 27-January 22 - 1993-1994
    Book with green cloth and green marble paper over boards. 8 1/4" x 5 5/8"
  • 2. Personal Diaries
  • Personal Diary. January 23-May 28 - 1994
    Book covered with green patterned paper decorated with a reproduction of Peppercricket Farms by Charles Wysocki. 8 3/4" x 5 8/16".
  • Personal Diary. May 29-November 1 - 1994
    Book covered with a paper reproduction from Tiffany studios. 8 1/2" x 5 1/2".
  • Personal Diary. November 2-March 24 - 1994-1995
    Brown, gold embossed design book. 8 1/4" x 5 5/8".
  • Personal Diary. March 25-December 10 - 1995
    Sewn green leather book cover with embossed floral design, pewter clasp with Celtic design, leather thong tie over black paper boards, 8 1/4" x 5 5/8". Note: Contains the giving of her miniature book collection of the University of Iowa.
  • Box 9:
  • 1. Personal Diaries
  • Personal Diary. December 11-June 6 - 1995-1996
    Book covered with blue marbled paper, black spine and corners. 8 1/2" x 5 5/8". Note: 6/9/96, description of the opening of the special exhibit of her collection at the University of Iowa Libraries.
  • Personal Diary. June 7-January 16 - 1996-1997
    Book covered in pink marbled paper with black spine and corners. 8 1/2" x 5 5/8". Note: 8/16/96, description of taking bus load of people from Newton to see CMS miniature book exhibition and two subsequent trips to see exhibition.
  • Personal Diary. January 16-November 3 - 1997
    Book bound in pink marbled paper with black spine and corners. 8 3/4" x 5 3/4".
  • Personal Diary. November 4-September 25 - 1997
    Book bound in blue marbled paper with black spine and corners. 8 1/2" x 5 5/8".
  • 2. Personal Diaries
  • Personal Diary. September 26-July 22 - 1998-1999
    Book bound in blue marbled paper with black spine and corners. 8 1/2" x 5 5/8".
  • Personal Diary. July 23-December 6 - 1999
    Book bound in paper decorated with musical instruments. 8 1/4" x 5 1/4".
  • Personal Diary. December 7-March 14 - 1999-2000
    Book bound in paper decorated with bird houses. 8 1/4" x 5 1/4".
  • Box 10:
  • 1. Personal Diaries
  • Personal Diary. March 15-November 10 - 2000
    Book bound in blue and green marbled paper with black spine and corners. 8 1/2" x 5 5/8".
  • Personal Diary. November 11-May 26 - 2000-2001
    Book bound in blue marbled paper with black spine and corners. 8 1/2" x 5 1/2".
  • Personal Diary. May 27-January 20 - 2001-2002
    Book bound in blue and green marbled paper with black spine and corners. 8 7/8" x 5 13/16".
  • Personal Diary. "Birthday Poems & Other Nonsense." November 3-September 4 - 1976-1994
    Book bound in flowered cloth. 8 1/2" x 5 1/2".
  • 2. Personal Diary. "Quotations I Like" August - 1978
    Book bound in black leather with gold filligree. 8 1/2" x 5 1/1".
  • Series 2: CMS AS BOOK COLLECTOR
  • Box 1:
  • 1. Correspondence with staff of the University of Iowa - 1970-1982
    Note: CMS letters and carbon copies of letters to CMS from Special Collections staff have been interfiled in this sequence
  • 2. Correspondence with staff of the University of Iowa - 1984-1986
  • 3. Correspondence with staff of the University of Iowa - 1987-1988
  • 4. Correspondence with staff of the University of Iowa - 1988-1990
  • 5. Correspondence with staff of the University of Iowa - 1991-1994
  • 6. Correspondence with staff of the University of Iowa - 1995-1996
  • 7. Correspondence with staff of the University of Iowa - 1997-1998
  • 8. Correspondence with staff of the University of Iowa - 1999-2002
    Includes CMS review of Mel Kavin's "35 Miniature Designer Bindings of 'You Can Judge a Book by Its Cover'" in the Guild of Book Workers Newsletter 125, August 1999
  • 9. Accessions book, January-April - 1968-1984
    Photocopy
  • 10. Various records and notes
  • "List of Book and Book Mark Acquisitions." Book entries are numbered 68 to 3152 but not dated.
    Spiral bound pad
  • Accession and price record. Photocopy of card file
  • Notes on special bindings commissioned, mainly from Peter Geraty, for Tamazunchale Press books
  • 11. "The Joy of Miniature Books." Drafts of 1984 Books at Iowa article; related correspondence. "The Joys of Publishing Miniature Books," an article in the Miniature Book Society, Inc. Newsletter, January; "Tamazunchale Press Books," text of a speech to the Newton Public Library, June 13 - 1984, 1990, 1996
  • 12. "WEES by TAMAZUNCHALE"; poem by CMS dated July 4; "A Few Favorites [miniature books]", CMS list dated March - 1988, 1996
  • 13. Miniature Book Society 1993 Norman Forgue Award; Miniature Book Society photocopy of verbal presentation of the Norman Forgue Award to CMS (two copies); 1996 Miniature Book Society Certificate of Appreciation; 1998 Miniature Book Society Certificate of Honor - 1993, 1996, 1998
  • Box 2:
  • 1. Articles
  • Miniature Book News, no.91. December - 1996
    Includes article about CMS
  • Miniature Book News, no.92. March - 1997
    Includes excerpts from a talk CMS gave at the Newton Public Library in June, 1996
  • 15 TLSs from Ann Bahar of Hobbies to CMS regarding articles, January 27-March 4 - 1986-1991
  • 2 annotated TLSs from CMS to Ann Bahar regarding "Adventures of a Microbibliophile" February 18 and March 6 - 1986
  • Doll Reader, March - 1987
    Includes "Miniature Books: Taking a Second Look" by Ann Bahar, pages 198-202
  • Antiques and Collecting, June - 1988
    Includes "Adventures of a Microbibliophile! Part I" by Ann Bahar, pages 38- 41, 1 duplicate article, 2 photocopies
  • Antiques and Collecting, August - 1988
    Includes "Adventures of a Microbibliophile! Part II" by Ann Bahar, pages 38-41, 1 duplicate article, 2 photocopies
  • Miniature Book Society Newsletter, January - 1999
  • Central College Bulletin Summer - 1992
    Includes "The Book as Art"
  • 2. Correspondence with Jane Conneen (Little Farm Press)
    Includes catalogs, postcards, ALSs and TLSs to CMS and University of Iowa staff
  • 3. Correspondence with Carol Cunningham (Sunflower Press)
    Includes ALSs and TLS to CMS, examples of miniatures
  • 4. Correspondence with Dawson's Book Shop (Los Angeles), TLSs and invoices to CMS regarding purchases and sales; Julian Edison (St. Louis), correspondence regarding University of Iowa gift
  • 5. "Fan Mail"
    3 letters in a folder so marked and two envelopes of letters from Woodrow Wilson Elementary School in Newton, Iowa
  • 6. Correspondence with Peter Geraty (bookbinder) - 1988-1993
    TLSs and invoices
  • 7. Correspondence with Gleniffer Press, invoice and specs for Old King Cole; certificate from Guinness Superlatives LTD certifying Old King Cole as the smallest book in the world
  • 8. Correspondence with Robert Massman - 1978-1996
    ALS and TLS including catalogs, advertising, and book marks
  • 9. Correspondence with Gordon Murray - 1982-1987
    TLS and ALS including postcards
  • 10. Correspondence with Wallace and Corry Nethery - 1987-1993
    ALS and TLS, including print ephemera
  • 11. Correspondence with and regarding Olivia Nichols (editor of Literary Sketches)
    3 printed newsletters and ALS
  • 12. Correspondence with Sangorski and Sutcliffe (bookbinders) - 1977-1983
    TLS and ALS, including paper samples and photocopied article
  • 13. Correspondence with and regarding Tasha Tudor (illustrator) - 1970-1971
    ALS, TLS, catalog of Tudor's works
  • 14. Correspondence with various other MBS collectors - 1986-1997
    TLS and ALS
  • 15. Correspondence with and regarding Joan Adams Wickham (collector and printmaker, Lyttle Press) - 1977-1978
    TLS, news article, receipts, mockup graphics sheet, set of 16 original bookmarks
  • 16. Correspondence with and regarding Larry Yerkes (bookbinder) - 1995-2000
    ALS, including article from The Iowan (March/April 2000) and miniature book cover
  • 17. Approximately 70 slides of miniature almanacs, January - 1983
  • 18. TLS correspondence file for the miniature book Yesterdays published by Black Cat Press - 1982
  • Box 3:
  • 1. Charlotte M. Smith Collection of Miniature Books included in gift of March - 1996
    160 typed pages
  • 2. Photocopy of CMS Collection gift list with each item valued by appraiser, receipts for the total collection's appraisal, March - 1996
  • 3. Correspondence with The Legacy Company (appraiser), including several drafts of the CMS collection appraisal - 1988-1991
  • 4. CMS Collection of Miniature Books
  • Periodicals in the CMS Collection of Miniature Books, June 11 - 1996
    Typed list
  • Miniature books made by CMS in one or a few copies. Photocopy of CMS notes
  • Miniature books made by Helen Van Dyke in one or a few copies. Photocopy of CMS notes
  • List of books by J.R. Levien Miniature, published in Enkhuizen, Holland - 1970-1972
  • Bradbury, Robert C. "Miniature Books Published by Achille J. St. Onge: The Charlotte M. Smith Collection" - 1995
    Photocopy
  • Checklist of Miniature Books published by Achille J. St. Onge with CMS notes
  • 4 leaves of CMS notes from her visit with Margaret St. Onge after her husband's death in September - 1978
  • The Miniature Book Collector Vol. II No. 1, June - 1961
    Photocopy
  • The Miniature Book Collector Vol. II No. 4, March - 1962
    Photocopy
  • 5. "Tiny Tomes: The Charlotte M. Smith Collection of Miniature Books," an exhibition in Main Library, The University of Iowa, June-August - 1996
    Exhibition planning, descriptive catalog, correspondence, press release
  • 6. "Tiny Tomes" materials
    Includes bound and unbound mini-book descriptions, website access information, photographs, articles, and correspondence with University of Iowa staff
  • 7. Research materials used for the "Tiny Tomes" exhibit
    Collecting miniature books, miniature book publication, the art of miniature bookmaking, genres of miniature books, MBS activities, trade in miniature books, Tamazunchale Press catalogs, miniature book definitions and standards
  • 8. Thank you notes sent to Richard Kolbet following presentations to elementary school students in September and December - 1996
  • 9. Miniature Books, an exhibition at the Herbert Hoover Library February - 1998
    Exhibition script, captions for CMS Collection items on loan from the University of Iowa collection, TLS from Maureen Harding (museum curator) to CMS regarding the exhibit
  • 10. Photographs from Goddard exhibit at Clark University Libraries - 1998
  • 11. Approximately 120 slides - 1980, 1981, 1986
    Including CMS with Norman Forge; Helene Sherman, calligrapher; CMS with variety of miniature books, (perhaps taken to document the collection for insurance purposes)
  • 12. CMS calligraphy and miniature book covers
    Seven items: two monograms; illumination of a squirrel; monogram embroidered on silk; marbled foil; etc.
  • Series 3: TAMAZUNCHALE PRESS RECORDS
  • Box 1:
  • 1. General Advertising, blank stationery and envelopes, and a plastic letter opener with magnifying glass produced for distribution at the Miniature Book Society Conclave - 1984
  • 2. Booklet of sample sheets of Fabriano Ingres antik papers; Relma Papiers Reliure [an extensive line of printed marbled papers], sample book; specimen book for the Trinitie 1, 2, 3 typeface
  • 3. Leather samples
  • 4. Cockerell Papers (5 sample books); Faith Harrison Decorative Papers (sample book)
  • 5. Corporate Records for the Tamazunchale Press from date of incorporation through dissolution October 1-January 16 - 1983-1991
    In a Jackson Loose Leaf Iowa Corporation Record post binder
  • Box 2:
  • Editorial and Sale Records Arranged by Date of Publication
    For full bibliographical descriptions of the publications see CMS, "The Tamazunchale Press: A Bibliographic Checklist" (1990). The sale records are rich in personal letters from members of the Miniature Book Society and other miniature book collectors.
  • 1. Book Interlude by CMS, October - 1983
    Printer's typescript; galley proof; card announcing the completion of Book Interlude (two copies)
  • 2. Correspondence with Joh. Enschede (printer) - 1983
    TLSs and invoices
  • 3. Advertising, purchase orders and correspondence - 1983-1986
    Includes catalogs, TLSs, ALSs, and invoices
  • 4. Autographs of Miniature Book Publishers, December - 1983
    Correspondence with contributors. Card announcing the completion of Autographs of Miniature Book Publishers
  • 5. Orders, invoices - 1983-1988
  • 6. David Swan A Fantasy by Nathaniel Hawthorne, February - 1984
    Printer's typescript. Galley proof; card announcing the completion of David Swan
  • 7. Correspondence with printer and orders - 1983-1988
  • 8. The Model E by Thomas R. Smith, May - 1984
    Background materials; galley proof; leather and typeface samples
  • 9. Advertising, bibliography of Tamazunchale Press Books, orders, invoices, etc. - 1983-1989
  • 10. My Favorite Miniature Book, August - 1984
    Original typescripts with correspondence, including TLSs from the authors Kalman L. Levitan, Stanley Marcus, Robert E. Massmann, Virginia Schoonover, Francis J. Weber, Ruth E. Adomeit, and James DeLancey
  • 11. Printer's typescripts with notes. Galley proofs for My Favorite Miniature Book
  • 12. Advertising, correspondence regarding My Favorite Miniature Book - 1983-1989
    Including letters from the authors
  • Box 3:
  • 1. Confessions of a Wild Bore by John Updike, November - 1984
    Printer's copy; galley proof
  • 2. Correspondence regarding Confessions of a Wild Bore, with Alfred A. Knopf (Updike's publisher), printer, orders, etc. Correspondence - 1984-1985, 1985-1993
    Includes ALS from John Updike
  • 3. A Hollander Garland by John Hollander, February - 1984-1985
    Typescript with letters to the printer; galley proof; page proofs; leather and endpaper samples. Advertising
  • 4. Correspondence regarding A Hollander Garland - 1984-1988
  • 5. The Geese by E.B. White, May - 1985
    Printer's typescript; galley proof; leather sample; advertising; Judith Pascoe article "Tiny Tomes," American Scholar 2006, includes transcription of letter to CMS from E.B. White
  • 6. Correspondence regarding The Geese - 1984-1989
  • 7. The Little Store by Eudora Welty, July - 1985
    Printer's proofs; galley proof
  • 8. Correspondence regarding The Little Store - 1984-1987
    Including ALS from Eudora Welty. Dealers' catalogues
  • 9. A Literary Antiquary by Washington Irving, November - 1985
    Printer's typescript; galley proof; advertising sheet
  • 10. Correspondence regarding A Literary Antiquary - 1983-1987
  • 11. The Manuscript by Isaac Bashevis Singer, February - 1986
    Printer's typescript; galley proof; advertising piece
  • 12. Correspondence regarding The Manuscript - 1984-1989
  • 13. My Chinese Childhood by Pearl S. Buck, May - 1986
    Printer's typescript; galley proof; advertising
  • 14. Correspondence regarding My Chinese Childhood - 1983-1989
  • Box 4:
  • 1. Poems and Meditations by Anne Bradstreet; with introduction and illustrations by Polly Kemp, July - 1986
    Typescript; galley proof; copy of finished book in a trial binding (covered in beige leather, title stamped black)
  • 2. ALS from Polly Kemp - 1985-1989
  • 3. Photographs used to produce illustrations; sample case; advertising for Anne Bradstreet
  • 4. Correspondence, orders regarding Anne Bradstreet - 1985-1989
  • 5. Claude Monet by Janet Savin, November - 1986
    Typescript, 1985. Printer's typescript. Galley proof. Advertising
  • 6. Correspondence with Janet Savin - 1985-1990
  • 7. Correspondence, orders regarding Claude Monet - 1985-1988
  • 8. The Aristocrat by Maya Angelou, March - 1987
    Printer's typescript; galley proof (2 sets); advertising
  • 9. Correspondence, ALS and TLS regarding The Aristocrat - 1985-1989
  • 10. The White Rose by Truman Capote, July - 1987
    Photocopy of story; printer's typescript; galley proof; page from magazine showing Capote with paperweights; photograph of paperweight used as an illustration
  • 11. Correspondence regarding The White Rose - 1986-1989
    Photograph and clipping. Publisher's contract, 1986. Advertising
  • 12. Six Poems by Robert Penn Warren, November - 1987
    Printer's typescript; galley proof; leather samples; advertising
  • 13. Correspondence regarding Six Poems - 1986-1989
  • 14. The Russian Icon by Ann Bahar, March - 1988
    Printer's typescript, galley proof with corrections; photo used for illustration; advertising
  • 15. Correspondence with Ann Bahar - 1986-1988
  • 16. Correspondence regarding The Russian Icon - 1987-1989
  • Box 5:
  • 1. Publisher's Favorite, July - 1988
    Original typescripts with correspondence. Including letters from Frank Anderson, Carol Cunningham, Mary Helen and Glen Dawson, Eleanor Irwin, Miriam Irwin, and Ward Schori
  • 2. Printer's typescript; galley proof, advertising piece for Publisher's Favorite - 1988
  • 3. Correspondence, ALS and TLS - 1987-1989
    Including letters from Frank Anderson, Carol Cunningham, Mary Helen and Glen Dawson, Eleanor Irwin, Miriam Irwin, and Ward Schori
  • 4. Antonin Dvorak by Janet Savin, November - 1988
    Printer's typescript; galley proof
  • 5. Correspondence with Janet Savin - 1986
  • 6. Correspondence, orders, regarding Antonin Dvorak - 1986-1989
  • 7. For Conclave V: A Good Book by Anatole Broyard - 1987
    A portion of a book review in the New York Times Book Review (February 22, 1987) titled "Recoiling, Rereading, Retelling," reprinted as a miniature pamphlet in 150 copies. Correspondence, copyrights, and clipping with copies #1, #30 and #96
  • 8. For Conclave VI: Tamazunchale Jabberwocky - 1988
    #21, #24 and #58 of 100 copies printed
  • 9. Miniature holiday greeting cards - 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988
    2 copies of 1985, 1986, and 1987
  • 10. "A Bibliographical Check List of Tamazunchale Press Books" - 1990
    Typescript and final copy. Published April 1990 in Books at Iowa as "The Tamazunchale Press: A Bibliographic Checklist"
  • Box 6:
  • 1. Receipts, bank statements, sales, and tax information - 1983
  • 2. Receipts, bank statements, sales, and tax information - 1984
  • 3. Receipts, bank statements, sales, and tax information - 1985
  • 4. Receipts, bank statements, sales, and tax information - 1986
  • 5. Receipts, bank statements, sales, and tax information - 1987
  • 6. Receipts, bank statements, sales, and tax information - 1988
  • 7. Receipts, bank statements, sales, and tax information - 1989
  • 8. Receipts, bank statements, sales, and tax information - 1990
  • 9. Receipts, bank statements, sales, and tax information - 1991
  • 10. Receipts, bank statements, sales, and tax information - post dissolution - 1991
  • 11. Sales information, including graphs of title sales and totals for the duration of the company's existence
  • 12. Income analysis ledger - 1983-1991