Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Hiram Price Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1867-1899
Creator: Price, Hiram (1814-1901)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0455
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Congressman and banker from Davenport, Iowa. Correspondence, newspaper clippings, and a notebook relating to banking issues and temperance.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The papers of Hiram Price were purchased by the University of Iowa Libraries in May 1986.

Preferred Citation: Hiram Price Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Born in Pennsylvania on January 10, 1814, Hiram Price moved to Davenport, Iowa, in 1844 to pursue a career in business. He served as collector, treasurer, and recorder of Scott County, Iowa. He was president of the State Bank of Iowa (1859--1866) and became president of the First National Bank of Davenport in 1873. During the Civil War, Governor Samuel Kirkwood appointed Price paymaster general of the Iowa troops. Price was elected as a Republican to the U.S. Congress (1863--1869, 1877--1881). He was also the president of the Davenport & St. Paul Railroad Company. From 1881 to 1885 he served as the United States Commissioner of Indian Affairs. Price died in Washington, D.C., on May 30, 1901.

The papers of Hiram Price consist of folders of correspondence, newspaper clippings, and a notebook. These papers contain records of loans and payments, general accounting records, lists of bank deposits and withdrawals, lists of constituents and clergymen relating to the temperance issue, and records of the bills introduced and/or referred by Price while in Congress.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS
Series 3: NOTEBOOK

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondents include Leslis Moore, William E. Dodge, G.N. [Linccocks?] Chas. T. Hansen, J. Fred Heisse. This file also contains lists of ministers and priests in Washington. 17 pieces - 1894-1898
  • Series 2: NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS
  • Box 1:
  • Photocopies. 41 pieces - 1897-1899
  • Series 3: NOTEBOOK
  • Box 1:
  • Includes checks drawn and general cash flow information, other notes, more lists of pastors. 216 pages (some blank) - 1867-1899

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Topics:
Banks and banking
Liquor laws
Temperance

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Davenport
United States -- Iowa