Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Paisley Family Diaries Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1864-1918
Creator: Paisley Family
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0450
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Diaries of John and Chloe Paisley. John served in the 10th Ohio Volunteer Cavalry in the Civil War, and later lived in Burlington, Iowa. Also includes diaries kept by Mabel Paisley and Susan Swan Lippitt.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1985 by Clara Swan Dunlavy.

Preferred Citation: Paisley Family Diaries Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

John Paisley (1831-1909) was born in Londonderry, Guernsey County, Ohio. He graduated from Muskingum College of New Concord, Ohio, in 1858 and was elected professor of mathematics the following year. At the outbreak of the Civil War he enlisted in the 85th Ohio Volunteer Infantry. After serving three months he helped raise a company of cavalry. Paisley was appointed captain of the 10th Ohio Volunteer Cavalry and was with General Sherman on his march to the sea. At Burlington, Iowa, on October 4, 1865, John Paisley married Chloe Ann Lippitt. They were to live in Burlington for many years. He taught school and they owned a small fruit farm. When nearing his sixties, Paisley became a clerk in the Government Pension Office at Washington, D.C. In 1907, they moved to Syracuse, Kansas where they homesteaded. John Paisley died on April 29, 1909.

Chloe Lippitt Paisley (1839-1925) was born in Zanesville, Ohio. She was a graduate of the Seminary in Spring Mountain, Ohio. The Paisley's had seven children, four of whom were living at the time of their parents' passing. Mrs. Paisley died at the home of her son Charles in Farmington, Iowa, on February 2, 1925.

The majority of the diaries in this collection were kept by John and Chloe Paisley during their years in Iowa. There are also diaries written by Mabel Paisley and Susan Lippitt Swan.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: DIARIES
Series 2: INDEX OF DIARIES

  • Series 1: DIARIES
  • Box 1:
  • John Paisley - 1864-1907
    31 diaries
  • Chloe Lippitt Paisley - 1866-1867; 1911-1918
    5 diaries
  • Mabel Paisley - 1892
    1 diary
  • Susan G. Lippitt Swan - 1891; 1901
    2 diaries
  • Ephemera, includes undated diary fragments, recipes, and newspaper clippings - 1930
  • Genealogical charts
  • Paisley Family History, a written genealogical history from 1765 through the 1940's
  • Series 2: INDEX OF DIARIES
  • Box 1:
  • John Paisley - 1864
  • Chloe Lippitt Paisley - 1866-1867
  • John Paisley - 1866
  • John Paisley - 1867
  • John Paisley - 1868
  • John Paisley - 1869
  • John Paisley - 1870
  • John Paisley - 1871
  • John Paisley - 1873
  • John Paisley - 1874
  • John Paisley - 1875
  • John Paisley - 1880
  • John Paisley - 1882
  • John Paisley - 1883
  • John Paisley - 1884
  • John Paisley - 1885
  • John Paisley - 1887
  • John Paisley - 1888
  • John Paisley - 1889
  • John Paisley - 1890
  • S.G. Lippitt (Susan Swan) - 1891
  • John Paisley - 1891
  • John Paisley - 1892
  • Mabel Paisley - 1892
  • John Paisley - 1893
  • John Paisley - 1894
  • John Paisley - 1895
  • John Paisley - 1896
  • John Paisley - 1897
  • John Paisley - 1898
  • John Paisley - 1899
  • John Paisley - 1900
  • Susan Swan - 1901
  • John Paisley - 1906
  • John Paisley - 1907
  • Chloe Paisley - 1911
  • Chloe Paisley - 1915
  • Chloe Paisley - 1916
  • Chloe Paisley - 1917
  • Chloe Paisley - 1918