Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Dave Morice Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1970-2013
Creator: Morice, Dave (1946-)
Extent: 36.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0445
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Poet, co-founder of the Actualist Movement, and perpetrator of many poetry marathons.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use:

Acquisition: This collection has been given by Dave Morice over the years.

Preferred Citation: Dave Morice Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Dave Morice was born on September 10, 1946 in St Louis, Missouri. He received a B.A. in English at St. Louis University in 1969. That same year, he moved to Iowa City to attend the University of Iowa Writer's Workop, for which he wrote the shortest thesis in the history of the workshop (81 words). He received his MFA from the Writers Workshop in 1972 and an MA in Library and Inforation Science from the University of Iowa in 1986.

He began writing at a very early age and has never stopped. A cofounder of the Actualist Movement in the 1970s, he has conducted various events such as his poetry marathons. These include wrapping a city block with poetry, writing a poem at half-time at a Lone Tree high school football game that stretched the length of the field and, most recently, the City of Literature marathon in which he wrote one hundred poems for one hundred days. This last he did to celebrate Iowa CIty's being named a UNESCO City of Literature and resulted in a book that has been submitted to the Guiness Book of World Records for consideration as the thickest bound book.

He has taught at the college level, appeared in schools and recreation centers teaching children about poetry, as well as hosting classes for senior citizens.

In 1985 he married Milagros Quijada with whom he had a son. They were divorced in 1991.

This collection contains correspondene to Morice and his alter ego, Joyce Holland, items from the Matchbook poetry initiative, realia poetry, class notes and student work, publications in which Morice has work published or which he collected or was sent, scrolls from poetry marathons. In general, the physical accumulation of the life of an active poet.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.