Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Harold John Gallagher Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1910-1981
Creator: Gallagher, Harold John (1894-1981)
Extent: 28.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0443
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Attorney and President of the American Bar Association. Subjectfiles, speeches, and correspondence.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Boxes 9, 24, 26

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The Harold J. Gallagher papers were a gift of Alicia E. Gallagher in 1987.

Preferred Citation: Harold John Gallagher Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Harold John Gallagher was born in Clinton, Iowa, on December 28, 1894, to James A. Gallagher and Ella Walsh Gallagher. When he was two years old, his parents died, and he was raised by Mr. and Mrs. Anthony Walsh, his maternal grandparents. Gallagher graduated from Clinton High School in 1913 and received his Law degree from the University of Iowa in 1916. He attended Harvard Law School for one year. In the fall of 1917, Gallagher entered as an associate in the law firm of Hornblower Miller & Garrison and in 1925 became a member of that firm.
 
In 1940 he was actively engaged in the Wendell L. Willkie campaign and, subsequently, Willkie accepted an invitation to become the senior member of the firm, which changed its name to Willkie Owen Farr Gallagher and Walton.
 
Mr. Gallagher was very involved with the American Bar Association, serving on many committees and as president during the association year 1949-1950. He helped to organize the American Bar Endowment and was active in the creation of the American Bar Foundation, the research branch of the American Bar Association. He was also a member of the New York State Bar Association and the Association of the Bar of the City of New York.
 
In 1959 Mr. Gallagher was appointed a member of the Permanent Administrative Committee of the Greater New York Hospital Association to review and make recommendations with respect to personnel policies. In 1968 the University of Iowa awarded him a Distinguished Service Award, with a citation.
 
On September 26, 1917, he married the former Alicia Schnoebelen. They had four children: Alicia E., a lawyer; Harold John died in infancy; Katherine E. (Mrs. William Voelker) died in 1950; and Mary L. (Mrs. James Cremins) died in 1981. Harold Gallagher died in 1981.

The collection is arranged in two series: the American Bar Association and Personal Papers. Items within each series are arranged alphabetically and contain material on various subjects including the American Bar Association, American Bar Endowment, American Bar Foundation, Permanent Administrative Council of the Greater New York Hospital Association, the University of Iowa Alumni Association, the Harvard Centurions, the Walsh family of Dubuque and Clinton, Iowa, and the Wendell Willkie campaign. Major correspondents include Howard P. Bowen, Willard L. Boyd, Warren E. Burger, Virgil M. Hancher, Alf Landon, Alfred E. Smith, Francis Cardinal Spellman, and Wendell L. Willkie.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: AMERICAN BAR ASSOCIATION
Series 2: PERSONAL PAPERS
Series 3: SEPTEMBER 1987 ADDENDUM

  • Series 1: AMERICAN BAR ASSOCIATION
  • Sub-Series: Bar Association General
  • Box 1:
  • General - 1936-1978
    3 folders
  • Administrative Procedure Act - 1951-1953
  • Advisory Committee to Special Judicial Committee on Selection - 1944-1952
  • Alameda, California, County Bar Association - 1950
  • American Law Students Association - 1949-1955
  • Annual Meetings: 72nd, St. Louis, Missouri - 1949
  • Annual Meetings: 73rd, Washington, D.C.: Correspondence - 1949-1953
    3 folders
  • Annual Meetings: 73rd, Washington, D.C.: Newspaper Clippings - 1950
  • Annual Meetings: 73rd, Washington, D.C.: Speeches - 1950
  • Annual Meetings: 75th, San Francisco, California - 1952
  • Annual Meetings: 76th, Boston, Massachussetts - 1954
  • Annual Meetings: 77th, Chicago, Illinois - 1956
  • Annual Meetings: 80th, New York, New York and London, England - 1957
  • Annual Meetings: 81st, Los Angeles, California - 1958
  • Box 2:
  • Annual Meetings: 85th, San Francisco, California - 1962
  • Annual Meetings: 86th, Chicago, Illinois - 1963
  • Annual Meetings: 87th, New York, New York - 1964
  • Annual Meetings: 89th, Montreal, Canada - 1966
  • Annual Meetings: 90th, Honolulu, Hawaii - 1967
  • Annual Meetings: 91st, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania - 1968
  • Annual Meetings: 92nd, Dallas, Texas - 1968-1969
  • Annual Meetings: 93rd, St. Louis, Missouri - 1969-1970
  • Annual Meetings: 95th, San Francisco, California - 1971-1972
  • Annual Meetings: 96th, Washington, D.C. - 1973
  • Annual Meetings: 97th, Honolulu, Hawaii - 1974
  • Annual Meetings: 98th, Montreal, Canada - 1974-1975
  • Annual Meetings: 99th, Atlanta, Georgia - 1976
  • Annual Meetings: 100th, Chicago, Illinois - 1976-1977
  • Annual Meetings: 101st, New York, New York - 1977-1978
  • Antitrust Symposium - 1950
  • Antitrust Law Section - 1951-1968
  • Arizona State Bar Association - 1949-1950
  • Bill of Rights Committee: General - 1949-1961
  • Bill of Rights Committee: Bill of Grievances, Sons of the American Revolution - 1950
  • Bill of Rights Memorial, Special Committee: Correspondence - 1960-1963
    3 folders
  • Bill of Rights Memorial, Special Committee: Audio Scripts, proposed - 1963-1964
  • Bill of Rights Memorial, Special Committee: Contributions, General - 1963-1964
    2 folders
  • Bill of Rights Memorial, Special Committee: Contributions: Correspondence, May-July - 1963
    Including letters from Thomas Dewey and Leon Jaworski. 3 folders
  • Box 3:
  • Bill of Rights Memorial, Special Committee: Contributions: Correspondence - 1963-1965
    Including letters from: Dwight D. Eisenhower. 2 folders
  • Bill of Rights Memorial, Special Committee: Contributions: Sections - 1963
  • Board of Governors: General, 1956 - 1956-1964
  • Board of Governors: Dinner - 1960
  • Board of Governors: Meetings - 1949-1951
    6 folders
  • Brooklyn Bar Association - 1949-1952
  • Budget Committee - 1949-1951
  • California State Bar Association - 1949-1951
  • Canadian Bar Association: Correspondence - 1949-1950
  • Canadian Bar Association: Dinner: Awards and Speeches - 1950
  • Canadian Bar Association: Dinner: Presidents of Canadian Bar Association - 1950
  • Caravan Report - 1974-1975
  • Centennial Commission - 1968
  • Civil Service Committee - 1949-1950
  • Cleveland Bar Association - 1940-1950
  • Code of Professional Responsibility - 1968-1969
  • Committee For Effective Use of International Court - 1960-1962
  • Committee on Commerce - 1935-1947
    4 folders
  • Box 4:
  • Committee on Commerce - 1948-1953
    3 folders
  • Committee on Judicial Selection, Tenure, and Compensation - 1969
  • Committee on Jurisprudence and Law Reform - 1949-1954
  • Committee on Legislation Prohibiting Picketing of Courts - 1949
  • Committee on Peace and Law through the United Nations (UN) - 1953-1961
  • Committee on the Propriety of Judges Testifying - 1949-1950
  • Committee to Consider Participation in the 1964 World's Fair - 1961-1962
  • Communications Standing Committee - 1949-1950
  • Conference of Chief Justices - 1949-1950
  • Congress Law Library Committee - 1949
  • Connecticut State Bar Association - 1949-1953
  • Constitution and By-Laws - 1950-1970
  • Continuing Legal Education Programs - 1972-1973
  • Coordination Committee: General - 1949-1950
  • Coordination Committee: Correspondence - 1949-1950
    2 folders
  • Correspondence - 1966-1977
    2 folders
  • Court of Claims - 1949-1950
  • Criminal Law Section: General - 1963-1969
  • Criminal Law Section: Newspaper Clippings - 1950
  • Customs Law Committee - 1949-1950
  • Delaware Bar Association - 1949
  • Director of Activities - 1950-1953
  • Family life Special Committee - 1949-1950
  • Federal Judiciary - 1950
  • Federation of Bar Associations of Western New York - 1949
  • First National Bank of New Rochelle Seminar. Address - 1949
  • Box 5:
  • Florida State Bar Association - 1949-1950
  • Food Law Institute Meeting - 1949
  • Fort Wayne (Indiana) Bar Association - 1950
  • Fowler, Cody - 1949-1955
  • Fund for Legal Education - 1964-1968
    2 folders
  • Fund for Public Education: Correspondence - 1973-1975
  • Fund for Public Education: Fiscal Year 1978 Report - 1979
  • Future of Law Practice in America - 1970-1973
  • Gold Medal Award: General - 1967-1972
  • Gold Medal Award: Congratulatory Correspondence - 1972-1973
    Including letters from Leon Jaworski, Willard L. Boyd, and Wiley Mayne
  • Group Insurance Plan. Correspondence - 1954-1958
  • Harvard Law School. 1917 Class Reunion - 1949-1952
  • Harvard Law School Forum. Speech - 1949
  • House of Delegates: General - 1950-1953
  • House of Delegates: Assembly Delegate Candidacies - 1959-1975
    2 folders
  • House of Delegates: Chairman Candidacy of Sylvester Smith - 1957
  • House of Delegates: Correspondence - 1956-1976
    2 folders
  • House of Delegates: Mid-Winter Meeting - 1956
  • House of Delegates: State Delegate Candidacies - 1959-1975
    2 folders
  • Illinois State Bar Association - 1950-1953
  • Indiana State Bar Association - 1949-1953
  • International and Comparative Law Section: General - 1954-1955
  • International and Comparative Law Section: Committee on International Trade Regulation - 1943-1944
  • International Trade Organization - 1950
  • Iowa Alumni Association of Southern California - 1950
  • Iowa State Bar Association - 1949-1950
  • Iowa State University. Speech - 1950
  • Jackson and Hinds Counties (Mississippi) Bar Association Meeting. Address - 1949
  • Jacksonville, Florida, Bar Association - 1952-1953
  • Journal - 1949-1958
    2 folders
  • Box 6:
  • Judiciary Committee: General - 1949-1961
    2 folders
  • Judiciary Committee: Newspaper Clippings - 1950
  • Kansas City, Missouri, Bar Association - 1949-1950
  • Kentucky State Bar Association - 1950
  • Law Club of Chicago Meeting. Speech - 1950
  • Lawyer Placement Service - 1968-1969
  • Lawyers Club of Atlanta, Georgia - 1949-1950
  • Legal Aid Committee - 1949-1950
  • Linn County, Iowa, Bar Association - 1950
  • Local Advisory Committee - 1977
  • Local Bar Association Presidents - 1950-1951
  • Los Angeles, California, Bar Association - 1949-1950
  • Louisiana State Bar Association Meeting - 1950
  • Bar Association Meeting, 1950.;
  • Meetings: Chicago, Illinois - 1964
  • Meetings: London, England - 1957
  • Meetings: New Orleans, Louisiana - 1963
  • Meetings: Washington, D.C. - 1950
    Including letters from Herbert Hoover, Dwight D. Eisenhower, Dean C. Acheson, Richard E. Byrd, Louis Johnson, J. Howard McGrath, Robert H. Jackson, and Harold H. Burton
  • Memorial. Allan H.W. Higgins - 1959-1960
  • Michigan State Bar Association - 1949-1953
  • Miscellaneous - 1949-1951
  • Montana Bar Association - 1950
  • National Association of State Attorneys General Meeting - 1949
  • National Conference of Bar Examiners - 1971-1973
  • Nebraska State Bar Association: General
  • Nebraska State Bar Association: Attendance at Meeting - 1949
  • New Jersey State Bar Association - 1949-1951
  • New Orleans, Louisiana, Bar Association - 1950
  • New York State Bar Association. Committee to Cooperate - 1949
  • New York University Dinner - 1950
  • North Carolina Bar Association - 1950
  • North Dakota Bar Association. Speech - 1950
  • Notre Dame School of Law. Address - 1949-1951
  • Box 7:
  • Pennsylvania Bar Association - 1950-1958
  • Pension Plan - 1972
  • Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Bar Association - 1949-1950
  • Pittsburgh University Law School. Speech - 1950
  • Presidency: Candidacy: General - 1932-1976
  • Presidency: Candidacy: Correspondence - 1955-1977
  • Presidency: Gallagher, Harold J.: Candidacy - 1949
  • Presidency: Gallagher, Harold J.: Congratulatory Correspondence, August - 1949-1950
    Including letters from Virgil M. Hancher and Warren E. Burger. 3 folders
  • Presidency: Gallagher, Harold J.: Correspondence - 1949-1952
    3 folders
  • Presidency: Gallagher, Harold J.: Itinerary - 1949-1950
  • Presidency: Gallagher, Harold J.: Newspaper Clippings - 1950
  • Presidency: Hogan, Frank - 1937-1938
  • Presidency: Lashly, John - 1972
  • Presidency: Marsden, Orison - 1963-1965
    2 folders
  • Presidency: Ransom, William A. - 1935
    Including a letter from Eugene A. Gilmore
  • Presidency: Seymour, Whitney North, Jr. - 1956-1959
    2 folders
  • Presidency: Shepherd, James L., Jr. - 1956-1958
  • Box 8:
  • Presidency: Smith, Sylvester C. - 1959-1960
  • Presidency: Wickser, Philip J. - 1948-1949
    2 folders
  • Presidency: Willy, Roy E. - 1954-1955
  • Pre-Trial Committee, - 1950-1951
  • Public Relations Committee - 1949-1952
    4 folders
  • Public Utilities - 1938-1939
  • Public Utility Law Section - 1938-1939, 1977
    2 folders
  • Queens County, New York, Bar Association - 1950
  • Regional Meetings - 1950-1964
    2 folders
  • Resolutions Committee - 1949-1950
  • Retirement Benefits for Lawyers Committee - 1950-1959
  • Rhode Island State Bar Association - 1949-1953
  • Rochelle, New York, Bar Association - 1949
  • Sacramento County, California, Bar Association - 1950
  • Saint Louis, Missouri, Bar Association - 1949-1950
  • San Bernadino County, California, Bar Association - 1950
  • San Francisco, California, Bar Association - 1950
  • Santa Clara County, California, Bar Association - 1950
  • South Dakota Bar Association - 1949-1950
  • Special Committee on Availability of Legal Services - 1968-1969
  • Box 9:
  • Special Committee on Continuing Legal Education - 1973-1977
  • Special Committee on Environmental Law - 1972
  • Special Committee on Evaluation of Ethical Standards - 1968-1969
  • Special Committee on Improving the Administration of Justice - 1945-1947
  • Special Committee on Revision of Constitution and Bylaws - 1960-1963
    2 folders
  • Special Committee on Specialization - 1968-1970
  • Special Committee on the Non-Partisan Selection of the Federal Judiciary - 1950-1969
  • Folder 9
  • Specialization in Law - 1960-1963
  • Specialization in Law, Speeches - 1949-1950
  • Standards. Chapter 23, "Legal Status of Prisoners" - 1979
  • Standing Committee on American Citizenship - 1962-1973
  • Standing Committee on Professional Ethics - 1951-1960
  • State Bar of Texas - 1949-1952
  • State Delegates - 1948-1956
    2 folders
  • Study of Legal Problems of American Business in Occupied and Economic Cooperation Administration (E.C.A) Countries, Committee - 1949-1950
  • Subcommittee on Economy of Operations - 1969-1970
  • Task Force on Lawyer Advertising - 1977
  • Vermont Bar Association - 1949
  • Ways and Means Committee - 1937-1949
    2 folders
  • West Palm Beach, Florida, Bar Association - 1950-1951
  • Western Conference of Railway Council - 1949
  • White Plains, New York, Bar Association - 1950
  • Wisconsin Bar Association - 1949-1950
  • World Peace Through Law - 1963-1965
  • Wyoming State Bar Association - 1950-1951
  • American Bar Association and American Law Institute - 1925-1975
    Including photo of Richard M. Nixon
  • Sub-Series: American Bar Endowment
  • Box 10:
  • General - 1959-1980
    7 folders
  • Administrative Committee - 1965-1972
  • Application for Funding - 1978-1980
    3 folders
  • Articles of Incorporation - 1966
  • Audit of Financial Affairs - 1975-1977
  • Award - 1971
  • Board of Directors: Meetings - 1951-1969
    4 folders
  • Board of Directors: American Bar Foundation Dispute - 1955-1975
  • Budget - 1965-1971
    2 folders
  • Correspondence - 1953-1966
    2 folders
  • Box 11:
  • Correspondence - 1967-1977
    8 folders
  • Endowment Report - 1977
  • Grants: General - 1969-1973
    2 folders
  • Grants: Applications: General - 1968-1969
  • Grants: Applications: American Bar Foundation - 1968-1969
  • Grants: Applications: Committee on Education Against Communism - 1965-1969
  • Grants: Applications: Los Angeles County Bar Association - 1969
  • Grants: Applications: National Council of Juvenile Court Judges - 1966-1969
  • Grants: Committee. Correspondence - 1964-1969
  • Grants: History - 1970-1971
  • Grants: Proposals: American Bar Foundation - 1962-1967
  • Grants: Proposals: University of New York-Buffalo - 1965
  • Box 12:
  • Grants: Requests: General - 1970-1971
  • Grants: Requests: Correspondence - 1965-1966
  • Insurance: General - 1961-1969
  • Insurance: Life Insurance: General - 1955-1976
  • Insurance: Life Insurance: Correspondence - 1968-1971
  • Insurance: Life Insurance: Dividend Statements - 1964-1971
  • Insurance: Investment Committee. Option Account Reports - 1979
  • Investment
  • Insurance: Investment of Funds. Correspondence - 1963-1971
  • Insurance: Joint Committee for Effective Administration of Justice - 1963-1968
  • Law in American
  • Insurance: Law in American Society Foundation. Grant Request - 1971
  • Insurance: Meetings - 1962-1977
    4 folders
  • New York Life
  • Insurance: New York Life Insurance Company. Financial Report - 1977
  • Insurance: Policy Committee - 1971
  • Insurance: Public Education: Grant Requests - 1969-1971
    3 folders
  • Insurance: Public Education: Correspondence - 1968-1971
    2 folders
  • Insurance: Tax Exemption Ruling - 1972-1973
  • Insurance: Taxes - 1976
  • Sub-Series: American Bar Foundation
  • Box 13:
  • General - 1951-1953, 1962
    2 folders
  • Agreements with University of Chicago - 1952-1968
  • Application for Grants. Re: Indigent Persons - 1962-1963
  • Board of Directors: General - 1958-1968
  • Board of Directors: Meetings - 1963-1970
    17 folders
  • Box 14:
  • Budget and Finance Committee - 1955-1962
  • Corporate Debt Financing Project - 1964-1968
  • Correspondence - 1957-1978
    Including letters from Dean Rusk. 4 folders
  • Executive Committee: General - 1962-1968
  • Executive Committee: Meetings - 1961-1968
    9 folders
  • Federal Income Tax Law Revision. Study - 1964-1968
  • Box 15:
  • Federal Tax Procedure Project - 1959-1961
  • Fellows: General - 1955-1965
    2 folders
  • Fellows: Correspondence - 1972-1977
  • Fellows: Nominating Committee - 1958-1965
  • Fifty Year Awards - 1974-1977
  • Financial Assistance - 1961-1970
  • Fringe Benefits - 1962-1963
  • Grant Applications: National College of State Trial Judges - 1965-1969
  • Public Education - 1957-1967
  • Institute on Agrarian Planning - 1962-1963
  • Interview - 1976
  • Mortgage Bond Indenture Form - 1976
  • Oral History Program - 1974-1975
  • Recruiting Negro College Students to Law School - 1965
  • Research Award - 1975
  • Research Committee - 1970-1971
  • Ways and Means Committee - 1961-1962
  • Series 2: PERSONAL PAPERS
  • Sub-Series: General
  • Box 15:
  • American College of Trial Lawyers - 1973-1977
  • American Law Institute - 1958-1977
  • American Legion. Bill of Rights Defense Gold Medal Awards - 1965-1975
  • American Yacht Club - 1972-1977
  • Americans for Effective Law Enforcement - 1973
  • Appointment: Calendars - 1964, 1969-1970
    2 folders
  • Box 16:
  • Appointment Calendars - 1971-1972
  • Arthritis Foundation - 1977-1978
  • Articles - 1939, 1952-1953
    3 folders
  • Association of the Bar of the City of New York: General - 1972-1975
  • Association of the Bar of the City of New York: American Fund for Free Jurists, Inc. - 1953
  • Association of the Bar of the City of New York: Coordination Committee - 1949-1962
  • Association of the Bar of the City of New York: Correspondence - 1963-1969
  • Automobile Accident Reports - 1969, 1974
  • Awards - 1955-1974
    Including a letter from Leon Jaworski
  • Biographical Material - 1917-1981
  • Blind Brook Club and Poningoe Land Company - 1941-1966
  • Book Reviews - 1954
  • Bradcoe Oil and Gas Company: Invoices and Revenues - 1970-1976
  • Bradcoe Oil and Gas Company: Participation Agreement - 1962-1963
  • Bricker Amendment. Speeches - 1952-1957
  • Carrington, Paul. Correspondence - 1974-1975
    Including excerpts from book entitled The Future of the Legal Profession by Paul Carrington
  • Correspondence, 1974-1975.
  • Catholic Organizations, undated
  • Certificates, Diplomas, and other Official Papers - 1929-1969
  • Conference of State Bar Presidents - 1949-1954
  • Congressional Record. Addresses by Harold Gallagher - 1950
  • Constitutional Amendments - 1953
  • Contributions: General - 1953-1967
    Including letters from William F. Halsey, Herbert Hoover, and Francis Cardinal Spellman
  • Contributions: Campaign - 1964
  • Copyright Application for Positive Reinforcement - 1970
  • Correspondence - 1913-1933
    Including letters from Eugene A. Gilmore and Louis Murphy. 3 folders
  • Box 17:
  • Correspondence - 1934-1953
    Including letters from Eugene A. Gilmore, Alf M. Landon, Emanuel Celler, Alfred E. Smith, Wendell L. Willkie, Virgil M. Hancher, Francis Cardinal Spellman, and Warren E. Burger. 13 folders
  • Box 18:
  • Correspondence, January-July - 1954-1965
    Including letters from Wiley Mayne, Emanuel Celler, Francis Cardinal Spellman, Thomas E. Dewey, and a telegram from John F. Kennedy
  • Box 19:
  • Correspondence, August-December - 1965-1985
    Including letters from Robert F. Kennedy, Jacob Javits, Ramsay Clark, Warren E. Burger, Francis Cardinal Spellman, Richard M. Nixon, Thomas E. Dewey, Howard R. Bowen, Willard L. Boyd, John N. Mitchell, Nelson A. Rockefeller, Leon Jaworski, and Gerald R. Ford. 16 folders
  • Credit Card Service Bureau of America - 1978
  • Crusade for Freedom - 1951
  • Documents written by Harold J. Gallagher, undated
  • Duplan Materials - 1968
  • Eisenhower/Nixon Campaign and Nixon/Agnew Campaign - 1952, 1972
  • Forum Committee on Commodities Regulation - 1975-1976
  • Box 20:
  • Gallagher, Alicia: Automobile Accident - 1978-1979
  • Gallagher, Alicia: Real Estate Transaction - 1957-1960
  • Gallagher, Harold J.: Bill Listing - 1975-1978
  • Gallagher, Harold J.: Genealogical Material - 1912-1981
  • Gallagher, Harold J.: Retirement - 1964-1969
  • Gallagher, Harold J.: Will - 1960-1965
  • Gallagher, James A. - 1939
  • Harvard Law School. Centurions - 1958-1967
  • Hornblower Miller & Garrison (Law Firm) - 1928
  • International Bar Association - 1967
  • Investments - 1924-1967
  • Jackson, Robert H., Memorial Committee - 1955
    Including a letter from: Simon E. Sobeloff
  • Judicial Appointments. Recommendations - 1954-1964
  • KCH Properties - 1972-1973
  • Ladd, Mason. Nomination for American Bar Foundation Research Fellow - 1976
  • Law Day. New York World's Fair - 1964
  • Lawyers Committee for Civil Rights Under Law - 1963-1968
    3 folders
  • Lawyers for Nixon - 1960
  • Memoranda - 1966-1970
  • Memorials: Miller, Nathan L. - 1953
  • Memorials: Owen, Carl M. - 1954
  • Memorials: Smith, Willis - 1953
  • National Conference of Bar Presidents - 1950-1978
    3 folders
  • National Conference of Judicial Councils - 1973
  • National Jeffersonian Democrats - 1936
  • National Lawyers Club, Inc. - 1961-1965
  • National Lawyers Committee of American Liberty League, undated
    2 folders
  • New York Bar Foundation - 1975
  • New York Chamber of Commerce - 1967, 1972-1974
    2 folders
  • New York County Lawyers Association: Committee on Aeronautical Law - 1936-1937
  • New York County Lawyers Association: International Law Committee - 1952-1962
  • Box 21:
  • New York Lawyers for Buckley Committee - 1976
  • New York State Bar Association: General - 1949-1958
  • New York State Bar Association: Committee on Federal Legislation - 1969
  • New York State Bar Association: Committee on Ways and Means - 1954-1958
  • New York State Bar Association: Committee to Cooperate with Other Bar Associations - 1953-1958
  • New York State Bar Association: Correspondence - 1972-1974
  • New York State Bar Association: Membership Campaign - 1969-1971
    3 folders
  • New York State Bar Association: Membership Committee: General - 1969-1970
    2 folders
  • New York State Bar Association: Membership Committee: Endorsements - 1970
  • New York State Coordination - 1949-1952
  • New York Supreme Court Disciplinary Proceedings: O'Melia - 1951-1953
  • New York Supreme Court Disciplinary Proceedings: Sabbatino and Baghar - 1954-1956
  • Owen, Carl B. Trust - 1976-1980
  • Sub-Series: Permanent Administrative Committee of the Greater New York Hospital Association (PAC)
  • Box 21:
  • Acknowledgments of Acceptances to - 1961
  • Recommendations, September - 1961
  • Agenda for Meetings, December-May - 1956-1963
  • Annual Report - 1961
  • Annual Review - 1960-1962
    3 folders
  • Box 22:
  • Annual Review - 1962-1963
    3 folders
  • Arbitration Awards - 1961-1963
  • Arbitration Cases - 1961-1963
  • Arbitration Hearings Re: dismissal of Martha Robles by St. Clare's Hospital - 1962
  • Arbitration Hearings Re: dismissal of Viola Pate by Lebanon Hospital - 1961
  • Arbitration Meeting - 1961
  • Budget - 1960-1963
    2 folders
  • Correspondence - 1951-1963
    2 folders
  • Hospitals: Beekman-Downtown Hospital - 1960-1962
  • Hospitals: Beth El Hospital - 1962-1963
  • Hospitals: Beth Israel Hospital: General - 1960-1963
  • Hospitals: Beth Israel Hospital: Arbitration - 1961-1962
  • Hospitals: Bronx Hospital - 1960-1961
  • Hospitals: Brooklyn Hospital - 1960-1962
  • Hospitals: Caledonian Hospital - 1961-1962
  • Hospitals: Columbus Hospital - 1960-1961
  • Hospitals: Evangelical Deaconess Hospital - 1962
  • Hospitals: Flushing Hospital and Dispensary - 1962-1963
  • Hospitals: Grand Central Hospital - 1960-1963
  • Hospitals: Hebrew Home and Hospital for Chronic Sick - 1960-1961
  • Hospitals: Hillside Hospital - 1960
  • Hospitals: Home for Aged and Infirm Hebrews of New York - 1961-1963
  • Hospitals: Hospital of the Holy Family (Brooklyn Diocese) - 1961-1962
  • Hospitals: House of Calvary - 1960-1963
  • Hospitals: House of Holy Comforter - 1960-1963
  • Hospitals: Jewish Chronic Disease Hospital - 1960
  • Box 23:
  • Hospitals: Jewish Hospital of Brooklyn - 1960-1963
  • Hospitals: Jewish Memorial Hospital - 1962
  • Hospitals: Knickerbocker Hospital - 1962-1963
  • Hospitals: Lebanon Hospital: General - 1961-1962
  • Hospitals: Lebanon Hospital: Arbitration - 1961-1962
  • Hospitals: Lenox Hill Hospital - 1960-1963
  • Hospitals: Long Island Jewish Hospital - 1960-1962
  • Hospitals: Lutheran Hospital - 1962
  • Hospitals: Manhattan Eye, Ear, and Throat Hospital - 1962-1963
  • Hospitals: Mary Immaculate Hospital - 1961-1962
  • Hospitals: Memorial Hospital for Cancer and Allied Diseases - 1962-1963
  • Hospitals: Misericordia Hospital - 1960-1962
  • Hospitals: Mother Cabrini Memorial Hospital - 1960-1962
  • Hospitals: Mount Morris Park - 1960-1963
  • Hospitals: Mount Sinai Hospital - 1960-1963
  • Hospitals: New York Medical College Flower and Fifth Avenue Hospitals: General - 1961-1963
  • Hospitals: New York Medical College Flower and Fifth Avenue Hospitals: Acceptance of 1961 Recommendations - 1960-1962
  • Hospitals: New York Polyclinic Hospital - 1961-1962
  • Hospitals: Peninsula General Hospital - 1962
  • Hospitals: St. Anthony's Hospital (Brooklyn Diocese) - 1961-1962
  • Hospitals: St. Catherine's Hospital (Brooklyn Diocese) - 1961-1962
  • Hospitals: St. Charles Hospital (Brooklyn Diocese) - 1961-1962
  • Hospitals: St. Elizabeth's Hospital - 1960-1962
  • Hospitals: St. Francis Hospital - 1960-1962
  • Hospitals: St. John's Episcopal Church Charity Foundation of Long Island - 1960-1963
  • Hospitals: St. John's Queen Hospital (Brooklyn Diocese) - 1961-1962
  • Hospitals: St. Joseph's Hospital (Far Rockaway) - 1961-1962
  • Hospitals: St. Joseph's Hospital for Chest Diseases - 1961
  • Hospitals: St. Luke's Hospital - 1962-1963
  • Hospitals: St. Mary's Hospital (Brooklyn Diocese) - 1961-1962
  • Hospitals: St. Peter's Hospital (Brooklyn Diocese) - 1961-1962
  • Hospitals: St. Vincent's Hospital (New York) - 1960-1963
  • Hospitals: St. Vincent's Hospital of the Borough of Richmond (Staten Island) - 1960-1963
  • Hospitals: The Staten Island Hospital - 1962
  • Hospitals: The Swedish Hospital in Brooklyn - 1962
  • Hospitals: Unity Hospital - 1960-1962
  • Hospitals: Wyckoff Heights Hospital - 1960-1962
  • Mediation and/or Arbitration Cases of Subscribing Hospitals - 1961
  • Meetings - 1960-1961
    8 folders
  • Memoranda - 1959-1961
  • Minutes of Meetings - 1959-1963
    2 folders
  • News Releases and Clippings - 1960-1963
  • Procedures and Recommendations - 1960-1961
    2 folders
  • Box 24:
  • Progress Reports - 1962-1963
    Including a letter from Nelson A. Rockefeller
  • Public Hearing: General - 1960
  • Public Hearing: Statements - 1960
  • Public Hearing: Statement of Policy and Amendments - 1959-1960
  • Public Hearing: Status of Subscribing Hospitals. Re. 1960 Report - 1959-1961
  • Public Hearing: Testimonial Dinner - 1963
  • Public Hearing: Wage Adjustments in Beth El Hospital and Manhattan Eye, Ear, and Throat Hospital - 1962
  • Sub-Series: Other personal papers I
  • Box 24:
  • Photographs - 1934-1957
  • Ploscowe, Morris. Reappointment as Magistrate - 1953
  • Programs and Menus - 1917-1976
  • Ranson Estate vs. Dejay Stores - 1974-1977
  • Folder 12
  • Real Estate Transactions - 1963-1978
  • Reimbursement Memoranda - 1966-1977
  • Republican National Convention - 1940-1948, 1952
  • Rock Island Southern Corporation: General - 1906-1954
    2 folders
  • Rock Island Southern Corporation: Closure - 1920-1954
  • Rock Island Southern Corporation: Meetings of Stockholders and Directors - 1921-1954
  • Seaboard Airline Railroad Company - 1964-1965
  • Second Circuit Judicial Conference - 1973-1977
  • Speeches - 1948-1975
    Including letters from Lowell B. Mason, Dean Dinwoodey, Henry J. Fuller, and Ireree Du Pont. 4 folders
  • Supreme Court Historical Society - 1975-1979
  • U.S. Court of Appeals: U.S.A. vs. Kevin L. Montgomery, Appellant - 1977
  • Sub-Series: University of Iowa
  • Box 24:
  • Alumni - 1947-1968
    Including a letter from Howard R. Bowen
  • Awards and Honors - 1916-1968
    Including a letter from Virgil M. Hancher
  • College of Law: General - 1962-1966
  • College of Law: Alumni Foundation Gift - 1968-1980
    Including letters from Willard L. Boyd
  • Box 25:
  • Distinguished Service Award - 1968
  • Sub-Series: Other personal papers II
  • Box 25:
  • Walsh, Thomas J. and Walsh, James W. - 1958-1963
  • Willkie, Wendell L.: General - 1939-1960
  • Willkie, Wendell L.: Nomination - 1940
  • Willkie Farr and Gallagher - 1969-1980
  • Willkie Farr Occasional Tax Memoranda - 1968-1970
  • Willkie Owen Farr Gallagher and Walton Bar Association Memberships - 1955-1956
  • Young Americans for Responsible Action (YARA) - 1973-1974
  • Series 3: SEPTEMBER 1987 ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: General
  • Box 25:
  • Correspondence - 1913-1967
    9 folders
  • Gallagher, Harold J.: Check Stubs - 1914-1916
  • Gallagher, Harold J.: Obituary. Newspaper Clippings - 1981
  • Box 26:
  • Maher, Elmer. Bank Statement - 1914
  • Partnership Congratulatory Letters - 1942
  • Photographs: General - 1938-1959
  • Photographs: Willkie, Wendell - 1944
  • Programs and Menus - 1910-1967
  • Railroad Passes and other Membership Cards - 1906-1942
  • Sub-Series: Research Notes
  • Box 26:
  • General - 1913-1917
    7 folders
  • Criminal Law, undated
  • Interstate Commerce - 1917
  • Interstate Commerce Act, undated
  • Property, undated
  • Public Utility Companies, undated
  • Roman Law - 1916
  • Torts, Outlines, undated
  • Sub-Series: Research Notes (Bound)
  • Box 26:
  • Bill and Notes, Suretyship and Mortgages, undated
  • Contracts, Bankruptcy and Corporations, undated
  • Box 27:
  • Corporation Partnership Agency, undated
  • Equity Trusts, undated
  • Evidence, Common Law and Code Reading, undated
  • Federal Jurisdiction, Constitutional Law, and Conflict of Laws, undated
  • Wills Future Interest, undated
  • Sub-Series: Seaboard Airline Railroad Company
  • Box 28:
  • Seaboard Airline Railroad. Inspection Trip - 1946