Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Edward Kennedy Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1921-1983
Creator: Kennedy, Edward (1894-)
Extent: 1.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0442
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Judge, economist, statistician, and union official. Papers relating primarily to Kennedy's activities with the National Farmers' Union in the 1930s. Also contains subject files relating to his work as a probate judge and with the United Mine Workers of America.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 3.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Judge Kennedy in 1984.

Preferred Citation: Edward Kennedy Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Edward Eugene Kennedy was born in Grand Junction, Iowa, on April 12, 1894. He began his career as a livestock and grain farmer in Iowa and Minnesota. From 1931 to 1937, he was secretary/treasurer of the National Farmers Union. He also worked as a lobbyist in Washington, D.C. Kennedy founded the National Farmers Guild in 1939. In 1942, he became associated with John L. Lewis' attempt to organize dairy farmers into a union. After that failed, Kennedy stayed with District 50 of the United Mine Workers of America as a research director and economist from 1942 to 1970. He became the Chief Judge of Orphan's Court in Howard County, Maryland, in 1971. He served as president of the Maryland Association of Probate Judges. Kennedy was active in many other civic and political organizations, including member of the county council for Howard County and member of Maryland's Democratic Central Committee.

The papers of Edward E. Kennedy date from 1921 to 1983 and consist of manuscripts relating chiefly to his activities with the National Farmers Union in the 1930s. There are correspondence files with letters from Milo Reno, Henry A. Wallace, and Guy M. Gillette, speeches given by Kennedy, and newspaper clippings. There is also material relating to his career as a probate judge, specifically subject folders concerning Orphan's Court and judicial reform issues. His work with the United Mine Workers of America is also documented.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Addresses and Speeches by Edward E. Kennedy - 1936-1966
  • Audit Report: Special Examination of Greene County - 1921
  • Back to Benedict
  • Correspondence - 1931-1931
    Including letters from Milo Reno, John A. Simpson, Chester C. Davis, Henry A. Wallace, Guy M. Gillette, and Henry Cabot Lodge, Jr.
  • Correspondence - 1938-1945
    Including letters from Guy M. Gillette.
  • Correspondence - 1957-1983
  • Cost of Production Issue - 1931-1945
  • Everson, E.H., "Money Monopoly and Farm Relief" - 1940
  • Family Life Education Handbook; Teachers Curriculum Guide - 1980
  • Farmers' Educational and Co-operative Union of America - 1932-1934
  • Box 2:
  • The Fed and the Farmer by Edward E. Kennedy: Correspondence with publisher - 1982-1983
  • Judicial Reform Issue - 1974
  • Kohlbecker Estate - 1960-1976
  • Mast, Charles Anthony, "Farm factionalism over federal agricultural policy: the National Farmers Union, 1926-1937" - 1967
    M.A. Thesis, University of Maryland
  • National Farmers Guild - 1941
  • Newspaper Clippings - 1923-1983
  • Orphan's Court - 1971-1975
  • Orphan's Court - 1976-1982
  • Box 3:
  • Photographs of Edward E. Kennedy
  • Puncke, Mary: Writings - 1931-1941
  • Radio Addresses by Edward E. Kennedy - 1935-1939
  • Refund of Hog Processing Tax Legislation - 1941
  • Report of the Committee to Prepare Remedial Legislation Necessary to Correct Some Marketing Evils - 1931
  • The Union Farmer - 1931-1941
  • United Mine Workers of America, District 50 - 1964-1967
  • United Mine Workers of America, District 50: Printed material - 1965
  • Wallace, Henry A.: Address before the Farmers Union Convention, September 19 - 1928
  • Ward, Louis B.: Publications
  • Wheat/Corn Production Penalty: Lawsuits - 1941-1942
  • Wheat/Corn Production Penalty: Legislation - 1941
  • Writings by Edward E. Kennedy - 1926-1939