Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the James Bromwell Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1959 -1969
Creator: Bromwell, James (1920-2009)
Extent: 23.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0441
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Lawyer and U.S. Congressman, 1961-1965. Political and campaign related papers.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 33; film reels in Box 34

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: James E. Bromwell donated his papers to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1983.

Preferred Citation: James Bromwell Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

James Edward Bromwell was born in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, on March 26, 1920. He graduated from the University of Iowa in 1942. After serving in the Army during World War II, he attended the Harvard University School of Business. Receiving his degree in 1947, he returned to the University of Iowa to attend law school. Graduating in 1950, he began practice in his hometown of Cedar Rapids. He was elected to the U.S. Congress in 1961 as a Republican, and he served until 1965. Failing to win re-election to the House in 1964, he tried for the Republican nomination to the U.S. Senate in 1968. When his bid proved unsuccessful, he resumed his law practice.

The papers of James Edward Bromwell date from 1959 to 1969 and consist of 52.5 linear feet of manuscripts. Organized in two series, the Bromwell papers begin with general subject folders and correspondence. Arranged alphabetically, there are subject folders concerning agriculture, civil rights, education, politics, postal service, Republican Party, and taxation. Correspondents include Robert K. Beck, Gerald Bogan, Norman Erbe, John Henry, Bourke B. Hickenlooper, Robert D. Ray, and Fred Schwengel.

Included among these materials were press releases from the Kennedy White House. These are available in Government Documents in The Public Papers of the Presidents. Also included in this collection were copies of House Rules, reports, Supreme Court decisions and other items that were removed from the collection in the interest of reducing its size. A list of items removed from the collection and can be found in Government Documents.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL SUBJECTS AND CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: CAMPAIGNS
Series 3: PHOTOGRAPHY AND FILM

  • Series 1: GENERAL SUBJECTS AND CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical sketches of Bromwell
  • 88th Congress: Calendars of the United States House of Representatives and History of Legislation, Legislative Day 148, Calendar Day 148, Sunday October 3 - 1964
  • 88th Congress: Digest of Public General Bills and Selected Resolutions with Index, 1st Session, Final Issue - 1963
  • 88th Congress: Digest of Public General Bills and Selected Resolutions with Index, 2nd Session, Cumulative issue No. 2 - 1964
  • 88th Congress: Major Legislative Actions, Final Edition (Revised)
  • "A" - General topics beginning with A - 1961-1963
  • "A" - Correspondence - 1960-1964
  • "A" - Carbon copies of A correspondence - 1962-1964
    2 folders
  • Addresses by Bromwell
  • Administrative procedures - 1960-1961
  • Adoption - 1961-1962
  • Atomic Energy Commission - 1961-1962
  • AFL-CIO - 1960-1964
  • Agriculture: General - 1960-1964
    6 folders
  • Agriculture: Compensatory Payments - 1964
  • Agriculture: Feed Grain Legislation - 1961-1963
  • Agriculture: Printed Material - 1962
  • Agriculture: Secretary Freeman's Trip to Monticello - 1963
  • Agriculture: Soybeans - 1964
  • Box 2:
  • Agriculture: U.S. Department - News Bulletin - 1961-1964
  • Agriculture: Wheat
  • Agriculture: Yearbook
  • Agency for International Development - 1961-1962
  • Alcohol - 1961-1963
  • Allis-Chalmers - 1961-1964
  • American Legion - 1961-1964
  • Animals - 1962-1963
  • Anti-Trust - 1961-1963
    4 folders
  • Applications - Washington office - 1960-1964
  • Apportionment - 1964
  • Appropriations - 1960-1963
  • Area Redevelopment Act - 1961-1963
  • Army - 1961-1964
  • Ashbrook, John M. - 1961-1963
  • Assassination of John F. Kennedy - 1963
  • Automobile Financing - 1961
  • Aviation - 1961-1964
  • "B" - General topics beginning with B - 1961-1964
  • "B" - Correspondence - 1960-1964
    Includes letters from Fred Schwengel
  • "B" - Carbon copies of all B correspondence - 1962-1964
    2 folders
  • Box 3:
  • Banking - 1961-1964
  • Bankruptcy - 1961-1963
  • Berlin - 1961
  • Birch Society (John) - 1961-1962
  • Blood Banks - 1964
  • Borg-Warner Newsletter, October - 1963
  • Bradley, Amy - 1961-1962
  • Bromwell: Personal - 1964
  • Bromwell: Photos, undated
  • Bromwell: Press Releases - 1961-1962
  • Bromwell: Weekly Column - 1961-1962
  • Budget - 1961-1965
    2 folders
  • "C" - General topics beginning with C - 1961-1964
  • "C" - Correspondence - 1960-1964
    2 folders
  • "C" - Carbon copies of all C correspondence - 1962-1964
    2 folders
  • Calendar - 1962
  • Capital Punishment - 1962-1963
  • Capitol Historical Society - 1963
    Includes a letter from Fred Schwengel
  • Carson, Mrs. Marion C. - 1962-1964
  • Cases - By name - 1961-1964
    3 folders
  • Box 4:
  • Cases - By name - 1961-1964
    11 folders
  • Cedar Rapids Urban Renewal - 1961-1963
  • Chamber of Commerce - 1961
  • China - 1960-1964
  • Christmas - 1962, 1964, 1965
  • Civil Defense - 1961-1964
  • Civil Rights, January-October - 1963
    Includes letters from Robert F. Kennedy. 5 folders
  • Box 5:
  • Civil Rights, November - 1963-1964
    15 folders
  • Box 6:
  • Civil Rights Act
    2 folders
  • Civil Rights Information
  • Civil Service Commission - 1961-1964
  • Clay Depletion - 1961
  • Clinton - 1961-1963
    2 folders
  • Coins - 1963-1964
  • Colleges - 1961-1964
  • Collins Radio: General - 1961-1964
    3 folders
  • Collins Radio: Department of Defense - AN/PRC Radio - 1963-1964
    5 folders
  • Box 7:
  • Collins Radio: Department of Defense - AN/PRC Radio - 1963-1964
    2 folders
  • Common Market - 1961-1963
  • Communications - 1961-1963
  • Communism - 1960-1964
  • Condolences - 1961-1964
    Includes letter from Bourke B. Hickenlooper
  • Conference on Aging - 1960-1961
  • Congratulations From Bromwell - 1961-1962
    Includes letters from Dwight D. Eisenhower and Norman A. Erbe
  • Congratulations On Re-election - 1962
    Includes letters from Bourke B. Hickenlooper, John Kyl, Jack Miller, and Nelson A. Rockefeller
  • Congressional: Committee - 1962
  • Congressional: Matters - General - 1964
  • Congressional: Record - 1964
    Selected issues, selected pages with marks by Bromwell or his staff
  • Congressional Quarterly Publications
  • Conservation - 1961-1964
  • Copyright - 1961-1964
  • Corps of Engineers - U.S. Army - 1961-1964
  • County Chairmen - Visitors - 1961
  • Crahan, Clem - 1963-1964
  • Criminal Law - 1964
  • Cuba - 1961-1962
    2 folders
  • Box 8:
  • Cuba - 1961-1964
  • Cyprus - 1964
  • "D" - General topics that begin with D - 1961-1964
  • "D" - Correspondence - 1961-1964
  • "D" - Carbon copies of all D correspondence - 1962-1964
    2 folders
  • Dairy - 1963
  • Data Processing Center - 1962
  • Davis-Bacon - H.R. 9590 - 1963-1964
  • Daylight Savings Time - 1963-1964
  • Debt - National, State, and Local - 1962-1963
  • Defense - 1962-1963
  • Disarmament - 1961-1964
    Includes letter from Hubert H. Humphrey
  • District - 1961-1962
  • Domestic Peace Corps - 1961-1963
  • Drafts - 1961-1964
  • Drugs - 1961-1964
  • Dutch Elm Disease
  • "E" - General topics beginning with E - 1961-1964
  • "E" - Correspondence - 1960-1964
  • "E" - Carbon copies of all E correspondence - 1962-1964
    2 folders
  • Economy - 1961-1963
  • Education - 1961-1964
    9 folders
  • Box 9:
  • Education - 1961-1964
    2 folders
  • Effigy Mounds - 1961
  • Employment - Government Agencies - 1961-1964
  • Equal Pay for Equal Work - 1963
  • Erbe, Norman - 1961-1962
  • Extension of Remarks - Bromwell - 1961-1964
  • "F" - General Topics beginning with F - 1961-1964
  • "F" - Correspondence - 1961-1964
  • "F" - Carbon Copies of all F correspondence - 1962-1964
  • "The facts of life regarding postmaster assignments"
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) - 1962-1963
  • Federal Communications Commission (FCC) - 1961-1964
  • 4-H - 1963
  • Farm: Bill - 1962
  • Farm: Bureau - 1960-1964
  • Farm: Legislation - 1962-1963
  • Federal: General - 1961-1962
  • Federal: Employees - 1960-1964
  • Firearms - 1961-1964
  • Flood Control Projects - By Name
    3 folders
  • Box 10:
  • Flood Control Projects - By Name
  • Fluoridation - 1961-1963
  • Folding Room - 1963-1964
  • Food - 1961-1964
  • Food and Drug Act - 1962
    2 folders
  • Football - 1961-1962
  • Foreign: Aid - 1961-1964
    Including telegram from Nelson A. Rockefeller. 3 folders
  • Foreign: Aid - Printed materials
  • Foreign: Hearings Before the Committee on Foreign Affairs
  • Foreign: Policy, 1960 -- 1964 (2 folders); - 1960-1964
    2 folders
  • Foreign: Trade , 1960 -- 1962; - 1960-1962
  • Forms, US House of Representatives
  • "G" and "H" - General topics beginning with G and H - 1961-1963
  • "G"- Correspondence - 1960-1964
  • "G" - Carbon Copies of all G correspondence - 1962-1964
    2 folders
  • Gold - 1961-1963
  • Great River Road Project - 1962-1964
  • "H" - Correspondence - 1960-1964
  • "H" - Carbon copies of all H correspondence - 1962-1964
    2 folders
  • H.R. 468 - 1961
  • H.R. 4466 - 1961
  • H.R. 5390 - 1961
  • Box 11:
  • Hanford Reactor - 1961-1962
  • Health, Education and Welfare (HEW) - 1962-1964
    2 folders
  • Hickenlooper Testimonial Dinner - 1961
  • Highway Tax - 1961
  • Highways - 1961-1964
  • Home Building Project - 1989
  • Hoover Memorial Library - 1961
  • Housing - 1961-1964
  • "I" and "J" and "K" - General topics beginning with I, J, K - 1961-1964
  • "I" - Correspondence - 1961-1963
  • "I" and "J" - Carbon copies of all I and J correspondence - 1962-1964
    2 folders
  • "I Read Something About You" - Newspaper clippings - 1963-1964
  • Immigration - 1961-1964
  • Imports and Exports - 1961-1964
  • Income Tax Trial - 1973-1974
  • Indian Tribe Legislation - 1961-1964
  • Insurance - 1963-1964
  • Invitations - 1960-1964
    4 folders
  • Iowa: General - 1961-1964
    3 folders
  • Box 12:
  • Iowa: General - 1961-1964
  • Iowa: Civil War Centennial - 1961
  • Iowa: Delegations - 1961
  • Iowa: Republican Committee - 1962-1964
  • Income Tax Trial - 1973-1974
  • "J" - Correspondence - 1961-1964
  • James E. Bromwell - Congressional Record - 1964
  • Joint Committee - Republican Principles - 1962
    Including letters from Fred Schwengel
  • Joint Senate-House Republican Leadership
  • Judiciary Committee - 1960-1964
    6 folders
  • "K" - Correspondence - 1960-1964
    Including letters from John F. Kennedy, Robert F. Kennedy and John Kyl
  • "K" - Carbon copies of all K correspondence - 1962-1964
    2 folders
  • Kennedy Administration - 1961-1962
  • The Kennedy Log
  • Knights of Pythias Coin - 1964
  • Box 13:
  • Kohl, Otto - 1964
  • "L" - General topics beginning with L - 1962-1964
  • "L" - Correspondence - 1961-1964
  • "L" - Carbon copies of all L correspondence - 1962-1964
    2 folders
  • Labor - 1960-1964
    2 folders
  • Latin America - 1961-1962
  • Laubach Literacy Fund - 1961
  • Leif Erickson Day - 1963-1964
  • The Liberal Papers
  • Library of Congress - 1960-1964
  • Livestock: Legislation - 1963
  • Livestock: Prices - 1961
  • "M" - General topics beginning with M - 1961-1964
  • "M" - Correspondence - 1960-1964
    2 folders
  • "M" - Carbon copies of all Mc correspondence - 1962-1964
    2 folders
  • "M" - Carbon copies of all M correspondence - 1962-1964
    2 folders
  • Mailing List
  • Mailing List for Republican Congressional Committee Publications - 1962-1964
  • Meat Imports
    3 folders
  • Box 14:
  • Meat Imports
    6 folders
  • Meat Petition (rolled)
  • Medical Care - Aged - 1961-1964
    Includes a letter from Lyndon B. Johnson. 6 folders
  • Box 15:
  • Medical Care - Aged - 1961-1964
  • Medicare - 1962-1964
    2 folders
  • Mental Health - 1961-1963
  • Mexican Farm Labor - 1961-1964
  • Military: General - 1961-1964
  • Military: Pay Increase - 1962-1963
  • Military: Printed material - 1962
  • Military: Miller, Frederick - 1961-1962
  • Military: Minimum Wage - 1960-1964
  • Miscellaneous
  • Missouri River States Commission - 1962
  • Monroe Doctrine - 1963
  • Mosnat, H. Roy - 1961-1962
  • Music Week - 1961-1962
  • "N" - General topics beginning with N - 1961-1963
  • "N" - Correspondence - 1960-1964
  • "N" - Carbon copies of all N correspondence - 1962-1964
    2 folders
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) - 1961-1964
    3 folders
  • National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) - 1961-1963
  • Nash, Russell - 1963-1964
  • National: Defense Language Institute - 1962
  • National: Federation of Independent Business Ballots - 1960-1963
  • National: Federation of Republican Women - 1963
  • National: Guard - 1961-1963
  • National: Oats - 1961
  • National: Republican Committee - 1961-1963
  • National: Rivers and Harbors Congress - 1961
  • National: Science Foundation - 1961
  • Box 16:
  • Naturalized Citizens - 1963-1964
  • Navy - 1961-1963
  • Nazette, Richard, undated
  • Newcomers - 1961-1962
  • Newsletter - 1962-1963
    2 folders
  • Newspapers - 1960-1963
  • Nixon, Richard M. - 1961
  • Norwegian-American Museum Board - 1964
  • Nuclear Testing - 1961-1962
  • "O" - General topics beginning with O - 1961-1964
  • "O" - Correspondence - 1961-1964
  • "O" - Carbon copies of all O correspondence - 1962-1964
    2 folders
  • Office: Employees - 1961-1964
  • Office: Of Civil and Defense Mobilization - 1963
  • Office: Second District - 1960-1962
  • Operation: Employment, April-August - 1961
  • Operation: Survival - 1961-1963
  • Out of State: Correspondence - 1962
    2 folders
  • "P" - General topics beginning with P - 1961-1963
  • "P" - Correspondence - 1961-1964
  • "P" and "Q" - Carbon copies of all P and Q correspondence - 1962-1964
    2 folders
  • Pages - 1961-1964
    Includes a letter from Bourke B. Hickenlooper
  • Paintings - 2nd district - 1961-1964
  • Panama Canal Crisis - 1964
  • Park, Zoe Pearl - 1961
  • Patents - 1961-1963
  • Paul Revere Panel: New Jersey - 1962
  • Paul Revere Panel: Second district - 1961
  • Paul Revere Panel: Southern States - 1961-1962
  • Pay Increase - Federal - 1964
  • Peace Corps - 1961-1964
  • Personnel - 1961
  • Pesticides - 1961-1964
  • Philippine War Damage - 1962
  • Politics - State - 1961-1962
  • Population - 1961
  • Post Office: Appropriations
  • Post Office: Building Facilities - 1962-1964
  • Post Office: City Delivery - 1959-1962
  • Box 17:
  • Post Office: Department - 1960-1964
  • Post Office: Rural Delivery - 1961-1962
    2 folders
  • Post Office: Belle Plaine - 1959-1961
  • Post Office: Cedar Rapids - 1961
  • Post Office: Central City - 1961
  • Post Office: Clinton - 1961-1962
  • Post Office: Decorah - 1961-1963
  • Post Office: Dubuque - 1960-1963
  • Post Office: Dundee - 1960-1963
  • Post Office: Dyersville - 1962-1963
  • Post Office: Eldorado - 1962-1963
  • Post Office: Epworth - 1961
  • Post Office: Froelich - 1963
  • Post Office: Guttenberg - 1963-1964
  • Post Office: Hale - 1962
  • Post Office: Lisbon - 1961-1962
  • Post Office: Marion - 1961-1962
  • Post Office: McGregor - 1961-1963
  • Post Office: Monona - 1961
  • Post Office: Olin - 1963
  • Post Office: Ossian - 1961
  • Post Office: Postville - 1959-1963
  • Post Office: Prairieburg - 1961
  • Post Office: Waterville - 1961-1962
  • Post Office: Waucoma - 1961
  • Post Office: Welton - 1961
  • Postal: Appointments - 1963-1964
  • Postal: Employees - 1961-1962
  • Postal: Matter - Communist Propaganda - 1961-1962
  • Postal: February-March - 1962
    2 folders
  • Postal: April-December - 1962-1964
    2 folders
  • Postal: Rate - 1960-1964
    3 folders
  • Poverty - 1964
  • Power - Public and Private - 1961-1964
  • Prayer - 1962-1964
  • Box 18:
  • Prayer - 1962-1964
  • President's Messages
  • Press Releases - 1962
  • Primary Opposition - 1962
  • Public: Libraries, undated
  • Public: Schools - 1963
  • Public: Works - 1961-1962
  • Punte de Este - 1961
  • "Q" - General topics beginning with Q - 1963
  • Quality Stabilization Act - 1962-1964
  • "R" - General topics beginning with R - 1962-1964
  • "R" - Correspondence - 1961-1964
  • "R" - Carbon copies of all R correspondence - 1962-1964
    2 folders
  • Rural Electrification Administration (REA) - 1961-1964
  • Radio and Television Shows - 1963-1964
    2 folders
  • Railroads - 1961-1964
    5 folders
  • Realignment of Reserves - 1962
  • Research on bills
  • Redistricting - 1961
  • Republican: Citizens Committee - 1963
  • Republican: Conference
  • Box 19:
  • Republican: Congressional Committee Newsletter - 1964
  • Republican: 87th Club - 1961-1962
  • Republican: Mayors - 1962
  • Republican: National Committee - 1960-1964
    3 folders
  • Requests - 1961-1964
    3 folders
  • Reserve Units: General - 1961-1962
  • Reserve Units: Active cases - 1961-1962
  • Reserve Units: Inactive cases - 1961-1962
    2 folders
  • Reserve Units: Second District - 1960-1962
  • Retirement - 1961-1963
  • Rockefeller
  • Rules Committee - 1961-1963
  • "S" - General topics beginning with S - 1961-1964
  • "S" - Correspondence - 1960-1964
    2 folders
  • "S" - Carbon copies of all S correspondence - 1962-1964
    2 folders
  • Sabula Sewer Project - 1959-1961
  • Salary Reform Plan - 1962
  • School: Bus Issue - 1963
  • School: Lunch Program - 1961-1962
  • Box 20:
  • Schroeder, Katherine W. Spaulding - 1961-1962
  • Secretary of Agriculture
  • Shipe, William T. - 1961-1964
  • Second District meetings - 1961
  • Service Bands - 1962
  • Service Star Legion Charter - 1961
  • Small Boat Harbors - 1961
  • Small Business Administration - 1961-1964
  • Smith, Neal, undated
  • Social Security: General - 1960-1964
  • Social Security: Religious Exemption - 1961
  • Soil Conservation Districts - 1961
  • Soil Tilth Laboratory - 1962
  • Spain - 1962
  • State: Appointments - 1960-1962
  • State: Department - 1963-1964
  • Statement of Account - 1961-1962
  • Steel Controversy - 1962
  • Sugar - 1961-1962
  • Supreme Court - 1961-1964
  • "T" - General topics beginning with T - 1963-1964
  • "T" - Correspondence - 1961-1964
  • "T" - Carbon copies of all T correspondence - 1962-1964
    2 folders
  • TV and Radio Scripts - 1961-1962
  • Tariff - 1961-1964
  • Tax: Bill - 1961-1962
  • Tax: Credit - 1964
  • Tax: Cut - 1962-1964
    5 folders
  • Taxes: General - 1960-1964
  • Box 21:
  • Taxes: General - 1960-1964
    3 folders
  • Taxes: DuPont - 1961-1962
  • Taxes: H.R. 10 - 1962
  • Taxes: Interstate Commerce - 1964
  • Taxes: Interim Report of New York State Tax Structure Study Committee
  • Taxes: Savings and Loan - 1961-1962
  • Taxes: Withholding - 1961-1962
    2 folders
  • Taylor, Richard W. - 1963
  • Telegrams - 1961-1963
    2 folders
  • Test Ban - 1961-1964
  • Thank You's - 1961-1962
    2 folders
  • "To the Point" - Newsletter ideas - 1963
  • Trade - 1961-1964
  • Transportation - 1961-1964
  • Box 22:
  • Treaties - 1962
  • Trucking - 1962
  • Truth-In-Lending - 1961-1964
  • Tuesday Group - 1961
  • "U" - General Topics beginning with U - 1961-1964
  • "U" and "V" - Carbon copies of all U and V correspondence - 1962-1964
    2 folders
  • Un-American Activities Committee - 1960-1963
  • Unanswered Letters - 1961-1964
    2 folders
  • Unemployment - 1961-1963
  • United Nations: General - 1961-1963
  • United Nations: Bonds - 1961-1962
  • University of Hawaii - 1961-1962
  • Urban - 1961-1964
  • "V" - General topics beginning with V - 1961-1964
  • "V" - Correspondence - 1961-1964
  • Vavra, John - 1961-1962
  • Veterans: General - 1961-1964
  • Veterans: Affairs - 1962-1964
    5 folders
  • Veterans: H.R. 4514. A bill to authorize wartime benefits under certain circumstances for peacetime veterans and their dependents - 4514. A bill to authorize wartime benefits under certain circumstances for peacetime veterans and their dependents
  • Veterans: Housing
  • Veterans: In hospitals - 1963
  • Veterans: Insurance - 1961
  • Veterans: Pensions - 1961-1964
    2 folders
  • Box 23:
  • Veterans: Pensions - 1961-1964
    6 folders
  • Visitors - 1961-1964
    5 folders
  • Vivisection - 1961
  • "W" - General topics beginning with W - 1961-1964
  • "W" - Correspondence - 1961-1964
  • "W" - Carbon copies of all W correspondence - 1962-1964
    2 folders
  • WWI - Pension - 1961-1962
  • Warren, Earl - Impeachment - 1961
  • Box 24:
  • Washington Office - 1961-1962
  • Water Pollution - 1961-1964
    Includes a letter from Harold E. Hughes
  • Wheat and feed grain acto of - 1963
  • Whip Notices - 1961-1962
  • Wiretapping - 1961-1962
  • Wolf, Leonard - 1961-1962
  • "Y" and "Z" - Correspondence - 1961-1964
  • "Y" and "Z" - Carbon copies of all Y and Z correspondence - 1962-1964
    2 folders
  • Yaw, Robert - 1961-1963
  • Young, Ross - 1961-1962
  • Young Republican: Convention - 1959
  • Young Republican: National Federation - 1961-1964
  • Young Republican: National Leadership - 1961
  • Youth Appreciation Week - 1961-1962
  • Series 2: CAMPAIGNS
  • Sub-Series: 1960 Campaign
  • Box 24:
  • Bromwell - A Plan for the Republic - 1960
  • Campaign - 1960: General
  • Campaign - 1960: Newspaper clippings
  • Campaign - 1960: Polls - Frank N. Magid Associates, July - 1960
  • Campaign - 1960: Republican Roundup and Refresher Workshop
  • Primary Campaign
  • Promotional
  • Republican Campaign - Printed Material
  • Wolf, Leonard
  • Sub-Series: 1962 Campaign
  • Box 24:
  • Completed Petitions - 1962
    11 folders
  • Correspondence and Promotional
  • Box 25:
  • Election - Newspaper clippings
  • First Voters Lists
  • "How to" - manuscript draft - 1962
  • Less, Frank - Newspaper clippings and correspondence
  • Polls - Frank Magid Assoc., October - 1962
  • Primaries - Newspaper clippings and correspondence
  • TV Time
  • Ward Lists
  • Contributions - 1962-1963
  • Election: Statistics - 1960-1962
  • Election: Summary - 1962
  • Linn County - Correspondence - 1962
  • Nomination General Data - 1962
  • Registered Voters
    Rolled-continued in Box 26
  • Second District: General - 1962
  • Second District: Precincts - 1962
  • Speeches
  • Sub-Series: 1964 Campaign: Campaign
  • Box 25:
  • Americans for Constitutional Action (ACA)
  • Absentee Ballots
  • Advertising - Rates
  • Allamakee County
  • Attorney Letters
  • Benton County
  • Billboards
  • Bills Introduced - 88th Congress
  • Bonfire Rally
  • Bromwell: "Big Fat Ideas"
  • Bromwell: Pictures and Negatives
  • Bromwell: Voting Record
  • Buchanan County
  • Car top Parade
  • Congressional Vote Statistics
  • Correspondence
    2 folders
  • Demographics
  • Box 26:
  • Demographics
  • Educators
  • Farmers for Bromwell
  • Finances
    3 folders
  • Iowa Rural Electric News
  • Nomination - General
  • Notes
  • One Shot Project Notes
  • Polls - Frank Magid Association, July, August, October - 1964
    2 folders
  • Publicity Photos
    2 folders
  • Roll Call Votes
    2 folders
  • Speeches and Advertising
  • Ward Lists
  • Sub-Series: 1964 Campaign: General
  • Box 26:
  • Cartops
  • Cedar Rapids: Mailing List
  • Cedar Rapids: Teachers List
  • Chamber of Commerce
  • Citizens for Bromwell Mailing List
  • Clayton County
  • Box 27:
  • Clinton County: General
  • Clinton County: Mailing List
  • Coffees for Bromwell
  • Committee Men and Women
  • Condolences
    2 folders
  • Contribution Correspondence
  • County Chairmen Correspondence
  • Culver - Summary - 1965
  • Delaware County
  • District: Contacts
  • District: Mailing List
  • Doctors for Bromwell
  • Dubuque County: General
  • Dubuque County: Mailing List
  • Fairs
  • Fayette County
  • Goldwater - 1961-1964
  • High School
    2 folders
  • Iowa: Center for Education in Politics
  • Iowa: Farmers Union Sheet
  • Iowa: Maps
  • Iowa: Republican County Handbook
  • James E. Bromwell - General
  • Jackson County
  • Joint Appearances - Bromwell and Culver
  • Jones County
  • Key Issues
  • Labor Committee
  • Less, Frank - Withdrawal clippings
  • Box 28:
  • Linn County
  • MM List
  • Manpower - Cedar Rapids
  • Meetings
  • National Right to Work Committee
  • Neighbors for Bromwell
  • New Voters
  • Newspapers: General
  • Newspapers: Advertising
  • Newspapers: Bellevue
  • Outside Speakers
  • Parent Teachers Association
  • Petitions: General
  • Petitions: General
    2 folders
  • Petitions: Allamakee
  • Petitions: Buchanan
  • Petitions: Clayton
  • Petitions: Clinton
  • Petitions: Delaware
  • Petitions: Dubuque
  • Petitions: Fayette
  • Petitions: Jackson
  • Petitions: Jones
  • Petitions: Linn
  • Petitions: Winneshiek
  • Policy letters - 1960-1964
  • Poll Watchers
  • Post Election - Statistics - 1965
  • Postal Services
  • Precinct Organization
  • Press Releases
  • Box 29:
  • Project: General - 1965
  • Project: Policy letters - 1963-1964
  • Promotional Materials
  • Publications
  • Questionnaires
  • Radio - TV Shows - 1963-1964
  • Rating by Vote Record - 1961-1964
  • Reference Materials
    2 folders
  • Religious Survey
  • Republican Women
  • Second District Young Republicans
  • State Central Committee
  • S.U.I. Alumni List
  • Supplies
  • Thank Yous - 1964-1966
  • Undecideds
  • Volunteer Workers
  • Voting Record
  • Voting Statistics - Iowa - 1960-1962
  • West Side Civic Club
  • "Why not Victory in Iowa?" - manuscript
  • Winneshiek County
  • Winnett, Dolores (Nee Klumpp) - 1965-1967
  • Work - Bromwell - 1965
  • Sub-Series: Robert Beck Campaign, 1966
  • Box 29:
  • Campaign Literature and Newspaper clippings
  • Correspondence: General
  • Correspondence: Bogan, Gerald
  • Correspondence: Munsell, Bill
  • Demographics
  • Miscellaneous
  • Box 30:
  • Mrs. Robert (Charlotte)
  • Newspaper clippings
  • Nomination Papers - By county
    11 folders
  • Post Campaign correspondence
  • Press Releases
  • Schedules
  • Speeches
  • Sub-Series: Interim Years
  • Box 30:
  • Academy Appointments - 1965-1968
  • Bromwell: Correspondence - Personal - 1964-1965
  • Bromwell: Not a Candidate - 1966
  • Bromwell: Politics - 1966-1967
  • Chamber of Commerce: Cedar Rapids - 1965
  • Chamber of Commerce: United States - 1965
  • Committee on Political Education Newsletter - 1961-1965
  • Congressional Committee - Correspondence - 1964-1965
  • Congratulations - from Bromwell - 1965-1966
  • Foreign Trade Bureau - 1965
  • Gross, H.R. & Case, Robert - 1965
  • Henry, John M. - 1965
    Includes letters from Robert D. Ray
  • "How to Keep Records" - manuscript draft - 1966
  • Ideas for a Better Iowa - 1965
  • Iowa: Central Committee - 1965-1966
    Includes letters from Robert D. Ray
  • Iowa: Committee Men and Women - 1966
  • Iowa: Swine Producers Association - 1966
  • Jaycee Convention - 1964
  • Johnson, Bob - 1966
  • Jordon, Cliff - 1965
  • Linn County Republican Women - 1965-1966
  • Marty Ribble Group - 1964-1965
  • Newsletters - 1965
  • "P" - General - 1963-1964
  • Plans and Suggestions - 1964-1965
  • Poop for Future Use - 1965
  • Republican: Bulletin - 1965
  • Republican: National Committee - 1961-1966
    2 folders
  • Republican: Party - Linn County - 1964-1966
  • Box 31:
  • Speeches - Bromwell - 1965
  • Yaw, Robert - 1962, 1964
  • Young Americans for Freedom - 1966
  • Sub-Series: Bromwell for Senate - 1968
  • Box 31:
  • All Iowa Fair
  • Beck, Robert
  • Bogan, Gerald - 1967-1968
  • Bromwell: Biography
  • Bromwell: Report
  • Calendar of Events
  • Campaign Helpers
  • Campaign Promotion
  • Cartops
  • Colleges and Universities
  • Condolences
  • Counties
    8 folders
  • County Chairmen - 1967-1968
  • Congressional Record - 87th and 88th Congresses
  • Creswell, Munsell, Schubert, & Zirbel, Inc. - 1968
  • Elderkin, David M. - 1962, 1968
  • Finances - 1966-1968
    2 folders
  • Henry, John M. - 1967-1968
  • Horse Speech - 1966
  • Houston, Bea Ann - 1968
  • Hughes, Harold - 1967-1968
  • Iowa: Farm Bureau
  • Iowa: Press
  • Jensen, Ben - 1963-1968
  • KCRG-TV - 1967-1968
  • Lamb, Willis - 1968
  • Linn County - Thank you letters
  • Lists
  • Mailings
  • Miller, Jack - 1969
  • Newspaper clippings - 1967-1968
  • Organizations
  • Otepka Case
  • Box 32:
  • Political - 1968
  • Politics - 1969
  • Polls - 1968
  • Press Releases - 1968
  • Ray, Robert D. - 1968-1969
  • Reed, Cecil
  • Republican State Central Committee
  • Riley, Tom - 1968-1969
  • Schedules
  • Speech Material - 1962-1968
    2 folders
  • Stanley: Editorials - 1967
  • Stanley: File Cards - 1967-1968
  • Stanley: General - 1968
  • Vietnam War - Against - 1967-1968
  • Votes - 90th Congress
  • WMT Stations
  • Wilson, George
  • Winnett, Dolores - 1966-1969
  • Yaw, Robert - 1962-1968
  • Series 3: PHOTOGRAPHY AND FILM
  • Box 33:
  • Photographs of James Bromwell with Visitors, headshots, and speeches.
  • Box 34:
  • Contains five film reels, with four more film reels located on the shelf.