Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Stewart Stern Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1931-1983
Creator: Stern, Stewart (1922-)
Extent: 10.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0440
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: American motion picture and television screenwriter. Primarily material documenting his career, with research notebooks, rough dra s and final versions of many of his screen and teleplays, along with photographs from the productions. Also personal material including correspondence and his education and military records.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Boxes 4 - 13, 16, 17, 19 and Oversized Box

Access: Most of this collection is open for research. It may only be used in Special Collections. Copyright does not belong to the University of Iowa. Other restrictions apply. For details, see below.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection is on deposit by Stewart Stern.

Preferred Citation: Stewart Stern Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Stewart Henry Stern was born in New York City in 1922. As the son of a physician and former film actress, he was introduced to the inner circle of the motion picture industry as a child. His uncle was the movie mogul Adolph Zukor and Stern spent summers on the Zukor estate with the likes of Charles Chaplin, Mary Pickford, and Douglas Fairbanks. In 1941, Stern left New York for Iowa. He came to the University of Iowa as an art major, later switching to speech and dramatic arts. He graduated in three years, magna cum laude. Serving in the 106th Infantry Division during WWII, Stern saw combat during the Battle of the Bulge. Listed as missing in action, he was hospitalized with frostbite. After the war, Stern worked briefly as an actor on Broadway before making his way west. His first job in Hollywood was that of dialogue director at the Eagle Lion Studios. Through his cousin, Arthur Loew, Jr., Stern met film director Fred Zinnemann. Zinnemann was to give Stern his first job as a screenwriter. Their first film together, Teresa, won an Academy Award nomination for Stern and co-writer Alfred Hayes. Another Zinnemann collaboration led to the writing of Benjy which won an Oscar as best short. These early successes led to such films as: Rebel Without a Cause; The Ugly American; Rachel, Rachel, and; Summer, Wishes, Winter Dreams and such television dramas as: And Crown Thy Good; Thunder of Silence, and; Sybil. Stern has repeatedly been nominated by the Motion Picture Academy, has won many awards issued by the Writers Guild of America, and in 1977 won an Emmy for his screenplay, Sybil.

The papers of Stewart Stern consist of approximately ten linear feet and date from 1931-1983. The material is arranged chronologically within two major alphabetical groupings. The first division is related primarily to Stern's youth and private life. Included here are his academic records, memorabilia and correspondence from his military service during WWII, appointment calendars, photographs, interviews, articles he has written and correspondence from many important people in the film industry. The second category contains Stern's work as a screenwriter. Arranged by title, this section includes workbooks, various holograph and typescript drafts, photographs, publicity, reviews and correspondence relating to each film project. This collection is partially under seal.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PERSONAL PAPERS
Series 2: PROFESSIONAL PAPERS
Series 3: OVERSIZED BOX
Series 4: 1998 ADDENDUM
Series 5: MATERIAL UNDER SEAL

  • Series 1: PERSONAL PAPERS
  • Box 1:
  • Academic Records - 1935-1942
    High school through university
  • Appointment Calendars - 1964-1974
    6 folders
  • Box 2:
  • Appointment Calendars - 1975-1977
    2 folders
  • Biographical Material - 1963-1983
  • Camp Kennebec - 1936
    Annual
  • Compositions - 1935-1947
  • Contracts and Legal Papers - 1962-1965
  • Correspondence - 1931-1965
    Including letters from: Joan Crawford, Fred Zinnemann, Robert Alan Aurthur, Hank Ketcham, Dickie Moore, Paul Newman, George Cukor, Allan Nevins, Adolph Zukor, Margaret Sanger, George Englund, Johnny Green, Herbert Berghof, T. Edward Hambleton, Leslie Bricusse, Frank A. Corsaro, Howard W. Koch, Arthur M. Loew, Jr. and J.R. Vogel
  • Correspondence - 1967-1970
    Including letters from: Allen Rivkin, Arthur M. Loew, Jr., Kenneth Hyman, Jerome Moross, Stephen Fleischman, Guy Green, Pandro S. Berman, Frank McCarthy, Margaret Laurence, Ernest Lehman, Mel Ferrer, Dennis Hopper, Franklin F. Schaffner, Richard Zanuck, Ralph David Abernathy and Adolph Zukor
  • Correspondence - 1971-1982
    Including letters from: Ned Tanen, Alan Jay Pakula, Fred Zinnemann, Robert Alan Aurthur, Ray Stark, Daniel Petrie, Paul Newman, Merv Adelson, Lee Rich, Mark Rydell, Horst Buchholz, Lawrence Turman, Martin Manulis, and Anthony Page
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence, undated
    Including letters from: Ross Hunter, Arthur Penn, Tony Bill, Leslie Caron, Gladys Cooper, Brian Aherne, Paul Newman, Joanne Woodward, Richard Chamberlain, Don Murray, Merv Griffin, Dickie Moore, Robert Wagner, Robert Alan Aurthur, and Frank A. Cosaro
  • Design. Vol. 46: no.1, September - 1944
  • "Dialogue on Film: Stewart Stern," American Film, vol. 9: no.1, October - 1983
    pages 20-22
  • Godfather Certificates and Correspondence - 1959-1965
    Including letters from Paul Newman and Joanne Woodward
  • Health Insurance - 1952
  • High School Annuals - 1935-1941
    Fieldston School, New York City (4 folders)
  • Box 4:
  • The New Inklings - 1938-1940
  • 1/3 of 40. Form I-A - 1935
  • Paris Blues - 1960
    Story notes, one scene. (Written at Paul Newman's request.)
  • Photographs
  • Refocus, University of Iowa - 1971
    Schedule and program
  • Scrapbook - 1941-1943
    Early theatre roles
  • Sketch Book - 1938-1940
  • Sketches. High school and university
  • The Student Looks at War - 1934
  • University of Iowa. Class notes: Modern Drama - 1942-1943
  • University of Iowa. Class notes: Oriental Drama - 1942-1943
  • University of Iowa and Broadway Theatres. Photographs
  • Box 5:
  • University of Iowa and Broadway Theatres. Photographs
  • World War II: Scrapbook
    Includes memorabilia, clippings, correspondence, sketches, photographs, etc., relating to Stewart Stern's military service and the Battle of the Bulge. (3 folders)
  • World War II: Writings: War on West Harrison Street
    Typescript with corrections and revisions
  • World War II: Writings: The Notes and Impressions of an Infantryman - 1951
    Typescript
  • World War II: Writings: Bulge!
    Typescript
  • Zaleski, John, Jr. "In the Shadows of the Past," North Dakota Horizons, vol. 8: no. 2: Spring - 1978
    pages 6-8
  • Zinnemann, Fred. Directors Guild of America - 1966-1967
  • Box 6:
  • World War II Scrapbook - 1943-1946
    Includes memorabilia, clippings, correspondence, photographs, etc., relating to Stewart Stern's military service
  • Series 2: PROFESSIONAL PAPERS
  • Sub-Series: And Crown Thy Good
  • Box 7:
  • Original holograph draft, with research material - 1951-1953
  • Typescript of screenplay, May 16 - 1954
    2 copies
  • Photographs
  • Sub-Series: Benjy
  • Box 7:
  • Typescript of screenplay, May 31 - 1951
  • Photographs
  • Reviews
  • Sub-Series: A Christmas to Remember
  • Box 7:
  • Workbook
  • Original holograph draft, with corrections and revisions (The Melodeon)
  • Typescript of teleplay, June 30 - 1978
  • Typescript of teleplay, September 28 - 1978
    Revised
  • Writers Guild of America, Annual Awards - 1979
    Program
  • Sub-Series: Hanks Kid
  • Box 8:
  • Outline, typescript of play, and questionaire - 1946
  • Sub-Series: Heart of Darkness
  • Box 8:
  • Playhouse 90, photographs
  • Sub-Series: The James Dean Story
  • Box 8:
  • Typescript of screenplay
  • Sub-Series: John Brown's Body
  • Box 8:
  • Workbook - 1968
    Including outline and producer's notes
  • First draft typescript of screenplay
  • Sub-Series: The Last Frontier
  • Box 8:
  • Research and discussion notebook
  • Sub-Series: The Outsider
  • Box 8:
  • First draft. Holograph with corrections and revisions
  • First rewrite. Holograph with corrections and revisions
  • Box 9:
  • Second draft typescript of screenplay
    Revised
  • Photographs
  • Sub-Series: Rachel, Rachel
  • Box 9:
  • Workbook. Breakdown and notes
  • Box 10:
  • Workbook, part one. Breakdown and notes
    Photocopy
  • Original holograph draft - 1967
    A Jest of God
  • First draft of screenplay. (photocopy) (A Jest of God)"
    Photocopy. A Jest of God
  • Typescript of screenplay, June 28 - 1967
    A Jest of God
  • Photographs
  • Box 11:
  • Photographs
  • Reviews - 1967
  • Academy Awards - 1969
    Program, correspondence, clippings, etc.
  • Sub-Series: The Rack
  • Box 11:
  • Workbook - 1955-1956
    Including correspondence from Dory Schary and Paul Newman
  • Holograph draft with corrections and revisions
  • Typescript of screenplay, September 28 - 1955
  • Typescript of screenplay, October 25 - 1955
  • Photographs
  • Sub-Series: Rebel Without a Cause
  • Box 11:
  • Workbook - 1955
    Including material concerning James Dean. (photocopy)
  • Box 12:
  • Screenplay, March 25 - 1955
  • Photographs
  • Sub-Series: Sabra
  • Box 12:
  • Contracts, correspondence and outline - 1948-1949
  • Sub-Series: Summer Wishes, Winter Dreams
  • Box 12:
  • Outline - 1970
    Xerox. The Snow Queen
  • Original holograph draft
    The Snow Queen
  • Typescript of screenplay
    The Snow Queen
  • Typescript of screenplay
    The Snow Queen
  • Production material - 1972-1973
    Including on-set notes, rewrites, production schedules, publicity, etc.
  • Clapper Board - 1972
    Death of a Snow Queen
  • Box 13:
  • Photographs
  • Reviews and clippings - 1972-1973
  • San Francisco International Film Festival - 1973
    Program
  • Sub-Series: Sybil
  • Box 13:
  • Sybil by Flora Rheta Schreiber
  • Workbook Volume One - 1975
    3 folders
  • Box 14:
  • Workbook Volume One - 1975
  • Workbook Volume Two - 1975-1977
  • Workbook Volume Three - 1976
    Typescript of screenplay
  • Box 15:
  • Workbook Volume Four
  • Story treatment, typescript
  • Holograph draft of manuscript with corrections and revisions
  • Typescript of screenplay, August 28 - 1975
    First draft
  • Typescript of screenplay, October 23 - 1975
    Second draft
  • Box 16:
  • Reviews - 1976
  • Writers Guild of America, Annual Awards, March 24 - 1977
    Program
  • Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, September 10 - 1977
    Program
  • Sub-Series: T-Men
  • Box 16:
  • Synopsis. (Stern was the dialogue director)
  • Sub-Series: Teresa
  • Box 16:
  • Workbook
  • Original Transcript - 1949
  • Casting lists - 1950
  • Correspondence - 1949-1950
    Including letters from Arthur M. Loew and Fred Zinnemann
  • Notes and comments
  • First draft typescript of screenplay - 1950
  • The trailer, January 13 - 1951
  • Photographs
  • Box 17:
  • Photographs
    2 folders
  • Playbill - 1954
    Stage Manager's Club
  • Reviews - 1951
  • Academy Awards, March 20 - 1952
    Program
  • "My First Screenplay" by Stewart Stern. Typescript article for the New York Sunday Times
  • Sub-Series: Thunder of Silence
  • Box 17:
  • Photographs
  • Sub-Series: Tiger on a Kite
  • Box 17:
  • Study notes and partial typescript
  • Photographs from location-scout
  • Sub-Series: Time and Again
  • Box 17:
  • Reference materials
  • Card outline
  • Notes
    Photocopy
  • Box 18:
  • Holograph draft - 1980
    With corrections and revisions. 2 folders
  • First draft typescript of screenplay
    2 folders
  • Second draft typescript of screenplay
  • Sub-Series: The Ugly American
  • Box 18:
  • Workbook. Original research for Tiger on a Kite
    2 folders
  • Box 19:
  • Original holograph draft, with corrections and revisions
  • Second holograph draft, with corrections and revisions
  • First draft typescript of screenplay, May 21 - 1959
  • Revised final typescript of screenplay, February 22 - 1962
  • .Typescript of a scene written by Marlon Brando, March 14 - 1962
    With holograph notes by Brando
  • Photographs
    2 folders
  • Reviews - 1963-1964
  • Program
  • Writers Guild of America, Annual Awards, March 9 - 1964
    Programs
  • Sub-Series: The Valdez Horses
  • Box 19:
  • Research notebook, A-L
  • Box 20:
  • Research notebook, M-O
  • First draft typescript
  • Sub-Series: No tricks in my Pocket Paul Newman Directs
  • Box 20:
  • Stern, Stewart. No tricks in my Pocket Paul Newman Directs
  • Series 3: OVERSIZED BOX
  • Photographs from Rachel, Rachel
  • Posters from The James Dean Story
  • Posters from Rachel, Rachel
  • Posters from The Rack
  • Posters from Rebel Without a Cause
  • Posters from Summer Wishes, Winter Dreams
  • Posters from Teresa
  • Posters from The Three Faces of Eve
  • Posters from The Ugly American
  • Series 4: 1998 ADDENDUM
  • Box 21:
  • Infinity of Mirrors: Guy Green's work as Stern's collaborator
  • Infinity of Mirrors: Notes
  • The James Dean Story.Story. Contracts - 1957
  • Jessica. Holograph draft of screenplay with corrections and revisions
    2 folders
  • Mary and Joseph A Love Story (an abandoned television project): Photocopy of teleplay
  • Mary and Joseph A Love Story: Conference notes
  • Personal items. Including Stern's birth announcement, early correspondence, poetry, and a New York Times clipping - 1922-1945
  • Rachel, Rachel. Contracts, etc. - 1967-1974
  • Rachel, Rachel Part II. Contracts - 1983
  • Special Occasions. Contracts, etc. - 1981-1982
  • Summer Wishes, Winter Dreams. Contracts - 1970-1976
  • Sybil. Contracts - 1974-1979
  • The Valdez Horses. Contracts, etc. - 1971
  • Series 5: MATERIAL UNDER SEAL
  • Box 22:
  • The Last Movie.
    Under seal until after the deaths of both Dennis Hopper and Stewart Stern
  • Dennis Hopper died May 29. Obituary, Sunday Des Moines Register, May 30 - 2010