Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Frank Nye Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1942-1983
Creator: Nye, Frank (1912-1983)
Extent: 18.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0437
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Reporter and editor for The Cedar Rapids Gazette. Correspondence, subject files, and photographs relating to Nye's career with the Gazette. Includes information on Iowa politics and legislature, reapportionment, Herbert Hoover, and copies of articles written by Nye.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Boxes 4, 8, and 13.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Frank Nye's family donated his papers to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1983.

Preferred Citation: Frank Nye Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Frank Nye was born in Clarinda, Iowa, on November 27, 1912. He graduated from high school in Shenandoah, Iowa, and earned his BA, in journalism, from the University of Iowa in 1936. A newspaperman, Nye's career began in 1930 with a job as a reporter for the Shenandoah Evening Sentinel. He subsequently worked for the Clinton Herald, Look magazine, the Des Moines Register, International News Service, and the Iowa City Press Citizen. Nye joined the staff of the Cedar Rapids Gazette in 1943, as the associate editor and political writer, after serving four years as news director of the Iowa Daily Press Association. He retired from the Gazette in 1980. Nye covered Iowa's political scene for the newspaper and played a key role in achieving fair reapportionment in Iowa. He was chairman of the Governor's Reapportionment Action Committee from 1957 -- 1961. Among Nye's many professional honors was the Iowa Press Association's Master Editor-Publisher Award in 1977, and the Distinguished Service Award from the Iowa Daily Press Association in 1982. Nye's two great passions have been recognized with awards bearing his name. The Cedar Rapids Gazette sponsors the annual Frank Nye Junior Tennis Tournament, while the Iowa Newspaper Association sponsors the Frank Nye Writing Award.

Nye was active in civic affairs. He was a past president of the Cedar Rapids Junior Chamber of Commerce and the Cedar Rapids Lions Club as well as the Buchanan School PTA and the Cedar Rapids Tennis Association. He was active with the University of Iowa Alumni Association and the Herbert Hoover Presidential Library.

Frank Nye died suddenly on March 26, 1983, at the age of seventy.

The papers of Frank T. Nye consist of 18.5 linear feet of manuscripts dating from 1942 to 1983. The collection, which relates primarily to Nye's career in journalism, is organized in five separate series: 1) Correspondence and Photographs; 2) Individuals and Subjects; 3) Iowa; 4) Professional Writings, and; 5) Personal. There is also an addendum containing material on a variety of subjects which was given at a later date. Each series is arranged chronologically within an alphabetical sequence.

Series one consists of three boxes of correspondence and one box of photographs. Included are letters from: James E. Bromwell, John C. Culver, Jay N. Darling, John M. Henry, Bourke B. Hickenlooper, Harold E. Hughes, Herschel C. Loveless, Jack Miller, Robert D. Ray, Tom Riley, Fred Schwengel, David O. Schaff, and Harrison Weber. The individual and subject series is made up of folders relating to specific people and topics. The individuals include Dick Clark and John Culver to H.R. Gross and James Leach or Harold E. Hughes and Robert D. Ray to Herbert Hoover and Ronald Reagan. Subjects range from education and busing to alcohol abuse and highways.

The third series "Iowa" consists of eight and a half boxes of subject files relating to reapportionment, Iowa politics, the legislature, the University of Iowa, the Herbert Hoover Presidential Library Association, and Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Nye's professional writings are found in the next section. There are thirteen and a half boxes documenting his work in print. Included are stories he did for the New York Times, Newsweek, Fortune, Sports Illustrated, and other major national publications. There is also manuscript material pertaining to his Herbert Hoover book. His personal papers include appointment books and certificates. The 1988 addendum primarily consist of newspapers clippings relating to the 63rd through the 67th Iowa General Assemblies.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE AND PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 2: INDIVIDUALS AND SUBJECTS
Series 3: IOWA
Series 4: PROFESSIONAL WRITINGS
Series 5: PERSONAL
Series 6: 1988 ADDENDUM

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE AND PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 1:
  • A - 1946-1932
    Including letters from David E. Archie
  • B - 1943-1983
    Including letters from: Robert D. Blue, George W. Ball, William S. Beardsley, Ezra Taft Benson, Gerald Bogan, David W. Belin, James E. Bromwell, Alan Baron, David Broder, and Terry E. Branstad
  • C - 1943-1982
    Including letters from: John Culver and Dick Clark
  • D - 1943-1983
    Including letters from: Jay N. Darling and Minnette Doderer
  • E - 1948-1983
    Including letters from: Leo Elthon, Norman A. Erbe, Paul Engle and Rowland Evans, Jr.
  • F - 1943-1982
    Including letters from: Robert D. Fulton and James Flansburg
  • G - 1943-1983
    Including letters from: Charles E. Grassley and Gary G. Gerlach
  • H - 1943-1983
    Including letters from: Earl W. Hall, Clyde L. Herring, Burke B. Hickenlooper, Leo A. Hoegh and John M. Henry
  • Box 2:
  • J - 1946-1983
    Including letters from Roger W. Jepsen
  • K - 1943-1983
    Including letters from: Nelson G. Kraschel and Arthur Kudart
  • L - 1943-1982
    Including letters from: Herschel C. Loveless and Jim Leach
  • M - 1941-1983
    Including letters from: Jake More, Jack Miller, Thomas E. Martin and Clark R. Mollenhoff
  • N - 1941-1983
  • O - 1942-1982
    Including letters from George Olmstead
  • P - 1943-1982
    Including letters from: Drew Pearson, Ernest Palmer, Jr. and Don C. Pierson
  • Q-R - 1943-1983
    Including letters from Tom Riley
  • Box 3:
  • S - 1943-1983
    Including letters from: Harrison Spangler, Lauren K. Soth, Fred Schwengel and William Safire
  • T - 1947-1983
    Including letters from: Norman Thomas and Tom Tauke
  • V-Z - 1947-1983
    Including letters from: George A. Wilson, J.C. Wright and Harrison Weber
  • Sub-Series: Photographs
  • Box 4:
  • Photographs
    Including photographs of: Spiro T. Agnew, William Hansen, Leo A. Hoegh, Bourke B. Hickenlooper, George McGovern, Arthur Neu, Frank T. Nye, Robert D. Ray and Arthur Small
  • Series 2: INDIVIDUALS AND SUBJECTS
  • Sub-Series: Individuals
  • Box 5:
  • Adams, C.J. - 1973
  • Agnew, Spiro T. - 1970
  • Albrecht, William P., Jr. - 1970
  • Beck, Robert K. - 1966-1968
  • Bergeson, Rollo H. - 1960
  • Blobaum, Roger - 1970
  • Blouin, Michael - 1973-1978
  • Bromwell, James E. - 1961-1968
  • Brown, Hazel - 1975
  • Bush, George - 1979-1980
  • Carson, Robert B. - 1960
  • Clark, Dick - 1972-1978
  • Countryman, Dayton - 1960
  • Culver, John - 1964-1980
  • Dilley, Robert D. - 1964
  • Ellsworth, Ted - 1972
  • Engle, Paul - 1970
  • Erbe, Norman A. - 1960-1966
  • Feld, Mike - 1973-1974
  • Fisher, Howard - 1976-1978
  • Flatt, Joseph B. - 1966
  • Franzenburg, Paul - 1966
  • Fulton, Robert - 1970-1971
  • Box 6:
  • Gannon, William - 1970-1971
  • Grassley, Charles - 1979
  • Gross, H.R. - 1963
  • Harbor, William H. - 1971
  • Harris, Fred - 1975-1976
  • Havlena - 1975-1977
  • Hickenlooper, Bourke B. - 1959-1971
  • Hoover, Herbert - 1962
  • Hughes, Harold E. - 1967-1980
  • Hultman, Evan L. - 1962
  • Jensen, Martin - 1961
  • Jepsen, Roger W. - 1970-1980
  • Johnson, Donald E. - 1969
  • Johnson, Robert M.L. - 1966
  • Knudson, John - 1960
  • Kyl, John - 1967-1969
  • Leach, James A.S. - 1976
  • Less, Frank W. - 1962
  • Loveless, Hershcel C. - 1956-1967
  • McDermott, Edward A. - 1961-1965
  • McManus, Edward J. - 1960
  • McMartin, Cole - 1970
  • Martin, Thomas E. - 1969-1970
  • Mezvinsky, Edward - 1973
  • Miller, Earl G. - 1942
  • Miller, Jack - 1959-1978
  • Milligan, George - 1973
  • Murray, John - 1973-1974
  • Murray, William G. - 1958-1966
  • Box 7:
  • Neu, Arthur - 1971-1974
  • Nicholas, William H. - 1960
  • Peters, Jack L. - 1966
  • Plymat, William N. - 1968
  • Rapp, Steve - 1974
  • Rasmussen, Clark - 1973-1974
  • Ray, Robert D. - 1968-1979
  • Reagan, Ronald - 1975-1980
  • Riley, Tom - 1977
  • Rush, Bob - 1977
  • Schaben, Jim - 1974
  • Scherle, William J. - 1970-1971
  • Schmidhauser, John R. - 1965-1970
  • Schroeder, Jack - 1960
  • Schwengel, Fred - 1961-1970
  • Seeman, Ernest J. - 1960-1962
  • Smith, Elbert B. - 1966
  • Stanley, David M. - 1974
  • Stoner, Tom - 1978-1979
  • Stringer, Kenneth - 1960
  • Tauke, Tom - 1978-1979
  • Turner, Richard C. - 1967-1974
  • Walsh, John M. - 1971-1972
  • Wolf, Leonard G. - 1958-1960
  • Worthington, Lorne - 1971
  • Sub-Series: Subjects
  • Box 8:
  • Alcohol Abuse - 1977-1978
  • Busing - 1974
  • Constitutional Amendments
  • Constitutional Conventions in Iowa - 1960
  • Democratic Income Tax Plan - 1973
  • Democratic National Mini - Convention - 1974
  • Des Moines Apartment - 1970-1971
  • Education: Iowa State Education Association - 1963
    Including correspondence with Fred Schwengel
  • Education: National Committee for Support of Public Schools - 1962-1964
  • for Support of Public Schools, 1962 -- 1964.
  • First Presbyterian Church of Iowa City - 1969-1970
    Prof. Joseph Baker
  • Highways: I-380 and 549 - 1971
  • Highways: Intersection photographs
  • Iowa Commission for the Blind - 1977-1978
  • Iowa Cooperative Study Committee - 1965-1966
    Post High School Education
  • Iowa Daily Press Association - 1968
    News Committee
  • Iowa Educational Broadcasting Network - 1972-1975
  • Iowa Election Laws - 1969-1970
    Citizen's Committee
  • Iowa Farm Bureau Federation - 1959-1964
  • Iowa Freedom of Information Council - 1977
  • Iowa League of Municipalities - 1961-1964
  • Iowa Manufacturers Association - 1960-1965
  • Iowa State Jaycee President's Report - 1948-1967
  • Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa - 1962
    Midwest Correctional Conference
  • Iowa Tax Commission - 1961-1980
    Including correspondence from Harrison Weber
  • Box 9:
  • KCRG - TV - 1972-1974
  • KNDI - Iowa Press Program - 1965-1974
  • Law Library Reserve Legislative Workshop - 1977
  • Minimum Legal Drinking Age - 1979
  • National Endowment for the Humanities - 1977
  • National Governors' Conference, Louisiana - 1975
  • Red Cross Fund Committee - 1963-1965
    2 folders
  • Rutgers University - 1970-1974
    Eagleton Institute of Politics
  • Speeches - 1959-1980
  • State Historical Department - 1974
  • U.S. Senate Chamber Desks - 1979
  • United Community Service - 1963-1975
  • Series 3: IOWA
  • Sub-Series: Reapportionment
  • Box 9:
  • Commission Created by the 1969 Legislature - 1969
  • Constitutional Amendments - 1968
  • Correspondence - 1964-1965
    Including letters from: Fred Schwengel and Jack Miller
  • Box 10:
  • Dodie Hamblin's Story - 1964
  • Dirksen Apportionment Amendment: Correspondence - 1964-1966
    Including letters from: Fred Schwengel, Robert F. Kennedy, Hubert H. Hunphrey, John Culver, Bert Bandstra, Bourke B. Hickenlooper, Jack Miller, John R. Schmidhauser and Harold E. Hughes
  • Dirksen Apportionment Amendment: Convention Route - 1968
  • Dirksen Apportionment Amendment: Dirksen Amendment and Other Apportionment Material - 1962-1964
    Including letters from: James E. Bromwell, Robert D. Ray, John Culver and Jack Miller
  • Farm Bureau Questionnare - 1959
  • Governor's Action Committee - 1958-1962
    Iowa State Editor's Seminar
  • Hearings - 1981
    2 folders
  • Iowa Legislative Subdistricting Commission - 1967
  • Judicial Reorganization Amendment - 1960-1964
  • Legislative Districting of the General Assembly - 1972
  • Legislative Redistricting - 1972
  • Materials - 1958-1960
    Including letters from Herschel C. Loveless
  • Box 11:
  • Materials - 1958-1960
  • Materials - 1958-1966
    Including a letter from John C. Culver
  • Materials - 1965-1967
  • Materials - 1971
  • Materials - 1981
  • Reprecincting Bill SF111 - 1970
  • Scrapbooks - 1965-1970
  • Shaff Plan - 1965-1970
    Citizens for Reapportionment
  • Box 12:
  • Shaff Plan: Debates - 1963
    Including a letter from John R. Schmidhauser
  • Shaff Plan: Debates and Informational Material - 1963
  • Shaff Plan: Iowans Against the Shaff Plan, May-September - 1963
    Including letters from David O. Shaff, Harold E. Huges, Robert K. Beck, David M. Stanley and John R. Schmidhauser
  • Shaff Plan: Iowans Against the Shaff Plan, August-September - 1963
  • Shaff Plan: Iowans Against the Shaff Plan, October-February - 1963-1969
  • Sub-Series: Iowa Politics
  • Box 12:
  • Budget Massage - 1967
    62nd General Assembly
  • Citizens Conference on State Legislatures
  • Constitutional Amendment to Reduce Public Services - 1980
  • Draft of the 6th Edition of the Model State Constitution - 1961
  • Box 13:
  • Elections - 1958-1972
  • Elections - 1974
    Including letters from Michael Gartner
  • Elections - 1976
  • Governor's Economy Committee Report - 1979
  • Governor's Race - 1960
    Photographs. Including a photograph of Norman Erbe
  • Inauguration - 1975
  • Iowa Federation of Republican Women - 1974
  • Iowa League of Women Voters - 1968
  • Iowa Primary Election Results - 1960
  • Property Tax Replacement - 1967
  • Democratic National Conventions: Los Angeles - 1960
  • Democratic National Conventions: Atlantic City - 1964
  • Democratic National Conventions: Chicago - 1968
    3 folders
  • Democratic National Conventions: Miami - 1972
  • Box 14:
  • Democratic National Conventions: Miami - 1972
  • Democratic National Conventions: Kansas City - 1974
    Mini-convention
  • Democratic National Conventions: New York City - 1976
  • Republican National Conventions: Chicago - 1960
  • Republican National Conventions: San Francisco - 1964
  • Republican National Conventions: Miami - 1968
    3 folders
  • Republican National Conventions: Miami - 1972
  • Republican National Conventions: Kansas City - 1976
  • Sub-Series: Legislative
  • Box 14:
  • Iowa Legislative Research Bureau - 1961-1968
  • Box 15:
  • Iowa Legislator Biographical Surveys
  • Legislative Process Workshop - 1977
  • Legislative Processes Advisory Committee - 1967-1968
  • Legislative Research Committee - 1968
  • Legislative Stories - 1976
  • Legislature - 1955
    Including a letter from David O. Shaff
  • Legislature - 1959
    Including letters from Jack R. Miller
  • Legislature - 1961-1962
    Including a letter from Fred Schwengel
  • Legislature - 1963
  • Legislature - 1965
  • Legislature - 1966
    Interim Study Committee, 62nd General Assembly
  • Legislature - 1967
  • Legislature - 1969-1970
    Including a letter from Robert D. Ray
  • Legislature - 1971
  • Legislature - 1973-1974
  • Legislature - 1975-1978
  • Priority Issues - 1975-1976
  • Unicameral Legislature - 1961-1965
  • Sub-Series: University of Iowa
  • Box 16:
  • Alumni Association - 1963-1975
  • Old Capitol Restoration: Correspondence - 1969-1977
    3 folders
  • Old Capitol Restoration: Minutes of Meeting - 1970-1976
  • Old Capitol Restoration: Printed Material - 1970-1976
  • Peach Bowl - 1982
  • Sub-Series: Herbert Hoover Presidential Library Association
  • Box 16:
  • Birthday and Dedication - 1962-1971
    Including letters from Herbert Hoover
  • Birthplace Foundation - 1970-1972
  • Birthplace Society - 1927-1982
    Including letters from Jay N. Darling
  • Box 17:
  • Centennial - 1974
    West Branch, Iowa. Including letters from Tom Riley and John M. Henry
  • Dedication - 1962
    Including letters from John M. Henry
  • Master Plan - 1977
  • Metropolition Library Foundation - 1981-1982
  • Tennis Association - 1970-1978
  • Sub-Series: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
  • Series 4: PROFESSIONAL WRITINGS
  • Sub-Series: Time-Life, Inc.; New York Times; Newsweek
  • Box 18:
  • Time - 1953-1960
    9 folders
  • Box 19:
  • Time - 1961-1965
    7 folders
  • Box 20:
  • Time - 1966-1970
    6 folders
  • Box 21:
  • Time - 1971-1980
    6 folders
  • Time and Life, January-March - 1951-1956
    4 folders
  • Box 22:
  • Time and Life, April-December - 1956-1957
    6 folders
  • Box 23:
  • Time and Life - 1958-1959
    6 folders
  • Life - 1953
  • Box 24:
  • Life - 1954-1964
    8 folders
  • Box 25:
  • Life - 1965-1971
    4 folders
  • Time, Life and Fortune - 1943-1950
    3 folders
  • Box 26:
  • Time, Life and Fortune - 1951-1954
    8 folders
  • Box 27:
  • Fortune - 1951-1972
    4 folders
  • Sports Illustrated - 1954-1962
    3 folders
  • Box 28:
  • Sports Illustrated - 1963-1975
    2 folders
  • New York Times - 1967-1972
    4 folders
  • Box 29:
  • New York Times - 1973-1980
    2 folders
  • Newsweek - 1960-1964
  • Sub-Series: Palimpsest
  • Box 29:
  • Correspondence - 1952-1973
    Including letters from: Leland Sage and John M. Henry
  • Drafts of Articles - 1959-1973
    4 folders
  • Notes - 1965-1967
  • Proofs - 1966
    Legislative Issue
  • "Reapportionment in Iowa." 45:6 - 1964
  • Sub-Series: Herbert Hoover Book
  • Box 30:
  • Birthplace Foundation Book Drafts
  • Correspondence - 1973-1981
    Including letters from John M. Henry
  • Development of the Herbert Hoover Presidential Library. Manuscript draft
    2 folders
  • Hoover Presidential Library Association News - 1973-1974
  • Box 30:
  • Miscellany - 1960-1974
  • Notes
  • Oregon - Stanford - Lou Henry and Tad Hoover
  • Sub-Series: Cedar Rapids Gazette
  • Box 30:
  • American Press Institute - 1965-1974
  • Business-Education Day - 1959
  • Carter, Jimmy - 1977
    Interview
  • Conference via Speaker-Phone with Ronald Reagan - 1979
  • County by County Political Survey - 1964
  • County by County Political Survey - 1966
  • Box 31:
  • County by County Political Survey - 1968
  • County by County Political Survey - 1972
  • County by County Political Survey - 1974
  • Editorial Board - 1971-1980
    2 folders
  • Set - 1980-1983
  • Iowa Associated Press - 1978
  • Journallism Tidbits - 1961
  • Miscellaneous forms, newsletters, etc. - 1980
  • Miscellaneous notes
  • Political Tidbits - 1960-1969
  • White House Briefing for Regional Columnists - 1977
  • Series 5: PERSONAL
  • Box 31:
  • Appointment Calendar - 1982
  • Certificates - 1963-1981
  • Newspaper Clippings - 1949, 1976
  • Obituaries and eulogies for Georgia Nye and Frank Nye - 1982, 1983
  • Sketches and Cartoons
  • Series 6: 1988 ADDENDUM
  • Box 32:
  • Citizens Conference on State Legislatures. Report on an Evaluation of the Fifty State Legislatures - 1971
  • Legislature Processes Study Committee: Authorization, Budget, and Membership - 1967
  • Legislature Processes Study Committee: Draft Final Report - 1968
  • Legislature Processes Study Committee: Minutes, October-July - 1967-1968
  • Legislature Processes Study Committee: Subcommittee Minutes, January-June - 1968
    3 folders
  • Newspaper Clippings: 63rd General Assembly, November-May - 1968-1969
  • Box 33:
  • Newspaper Clippings: 63rd General Assembly, January-April - 1970
  • Newspaper Clippings: 64th General Assembly, November-June and January-April - 1970-1971, 1972
    3 folders
  • Box 34:
  • Newspaper Clippings: 65th General Assembly, November-July and January-May - 1972-1973, 1974
    4 folders
  • Newspaper Clippings: 66th General Assembly, November-June - 1974-1975
    2 folders
  • Box 35:
  • Newspaper Clippings: 67th General Assembly, April-May - 1977
  • Newspaper Clippings: Legislative Notes - 1969-1975
    2 folders
  • Newspaper Clippings: Political Notes - 1967-1971
  • Box 36:
  • Newspaper Clippings: Political Notes, June-March and June-December - 1971-1975, 1976-1978
    4 folders
  • Box 37:
  • Questionaires: Former Legislators, undated
  • Questionaires: Members of the House of Representatives - 1973
  • Questionaires: Senate Members - 1973
  • "Reappointment in the 1970's; the Problems of Compliance," Council of State Governments - 1971
  • Report and Recommendations of the Iowa Commision on Compansation, Expenses, and Salaries for Elected State Officials - 1973