Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Samuel O. Dunn Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1917-1929
Creator: Dunn, Samuel O.
Extent: 25.00 items.
Collection Number: MSC0435
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Editor and writer on railroads. Speeches and articles.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Papers of Samuel O. Dunn, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ADDRESSES BY S.O. DUNN
Series 2: PUBLICATIONS OF S.O. DUNN

  • Series 1: ADDRESSES BY S.O. DUNN
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical Sketch of S.O. Dunn; Memorandum to Albert N. Harbert, undated
  • "Can the Railroad Problem Be Solved?" St. Louis Railway Club, October 10 - 1919
  • "Constructive Action Needed to Solve the Railway Problem," American Iron, Steel and Heavy Hardware Association, St. Louis, May 21 - 1919
  • "Government Ownership of Railroads," Rivers and Harbors Conference, February 6 - 1919
  • "Government Ownership: Some Claims and the Actual Results," Economics Club, Portland, Maine, April 15 - 1919
  • "Increasing and Improving the Intensive Service Rendered by Business Papers to Their Clientele," October 11 - 1917
  • "The Pending Railway Problem," Chicago Railway Equipment Co. Annual Dinner, February 4 - 1919
  • "The Present Railway Situation," Union League Club Luncheon, February 11 - 1919
  • "The Railroad Problem,"City Club, Chicago, November 7 - 1919
  • "The Railroad Problem,"American Mining Congress, St. Louis, November 17 - 1919
  • "Recent New Items State," Illinois Grain Dealers Association, Chicago, May 15 - 1923
  • "Reform of Regulation Needed to Solve Railroad Problem," Texas Industrial Traffic League, Galveston, Texas, June 2 - 1919
  • "Significance of the Plumb Plan," Convention of Associated Business Papers, Inc., Chicago, September 18 - 1919
  • "There Must Be Invested," Chicago, November 7 (no year)
  • "The War and the Problems of Reconstruction," Traffic Club of Chicago, January 13 - 1919
  • Series 2: PUBLICATIONS OF S.O. DUNN
  • Box 1:
  • "Government Operation of Railways in the United States," Star, Montreal, Canada, undated - Montreal
  • "Government Ownership of New Zealand and Australian Railways," Financial Post of Canada, March 31 - 1917
  • "The Old System of Railroad Regulation," Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science, August - 1919
  • "The 'Practical' Socialist," Nation's Business, November - 1928
  • "Production Waits on Railroad Legislation," Review of Reviews, December - 1919
  • "Railroads," Encyclopedia Americana, September - 1919
  • "The Railway After the War," Bankers' Journal, Toronto, Canada - 1918
  • "Return of the Railroads," Business, October 29 - 1919
  • "Solving the Railroad Problem," Colliers, July 5 - 1919
  • "Some Facts About Railroad 'Exploitation,'" Magazine of Wall Street, August 21 - 1919
  • "What the O'Fallon Decision Means," Nation's Business, September - 1929

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Dunn, Samuel O. (Samuel Orace), 1877-1958

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Railroads
Railroads and state

Occupations:
Journalists

Genre/Form of Materials:
Speeches
Archives
Articles
Sources