Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Albert N. Harbert Railroadiana Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1867-1937
Creator: Harbert, Albert N. (1868-)
Extent: 1.00 linear foot.
Collection Number: MSC0434
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Correspondence and printed documents such as timetables, train orders, and rate sheets relating primarily to the Burlington, Cedar Rapids, and Northern Railway Company of Iowa.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was purchased by the University of Iowa in 1984.

Preferred Citation: Albert N. Harbert Railroadiana Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Albert N. Harbert was born in 1868 to Perry and Hannah Harbert of Shellsburg, Benton County, Iowa. His parents farmed one of the largest and most prosperous farms in Benton County. Harbert was for a time an assistant cashier for a bank in Shellsburg. He lived at one time or another in each of these Iowa cities: Shellsburg, Cedar Rapids, and Iowa City. Albert Harbert is the author of a number of journal articles concerning railroading and Iowa history.

This gathering of railroadiana primarily concerns the Burlington, Cedar Rapids, and Northern Railway Company of Iowa, a railroad which became part of the Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific Railway Company in 1903. This road is documented with items such as timetables, circulars, rate sheets, tariff agreements, train orders, and miscellaneous printed material. There is also correspondence dating from 1867 to 1918, including letters from William B. Allison, John I. Blair, Joseph W. Blythe, Ransom R. Cable, Samuel M. Clark, Robert G. Cousins, Jonathan P. Dolliver, Francis M. Drake, Albert G. Greene, David B. Henderson, Marvin Hughitt, Charles J. Ives, Charles R. Keyes, John Fletcher Lacey, Roswell Miller, Charles E. Perkins and Leslie M. Shaw.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BURLINGTON, CEDAR RAPIDS AND NORTHERN RAILWAY
Series 2: OTHER RAILROADS AND RELATED MATERIAL

  • Series 1: BURLINGTON, CEDAR RAPIDS AND NORTHERN RAILWAY
  • Box 1:
  • Baggage rules - 1901
  • Basing rates from junction points in Iowa - 1894-1900
  • Billing instructions - 1893; 1902
  • Burlington, Cedar Rapids and Minnesota Railway Company circulars - 1875-1876
  • Burlington, Cedar Rapids and Northern and Chicago and Northwestern Railway. Joint rules and regulations - 1893
  • Cedar Rapids, Garner and Northwestern Railway circular - 1898
  • Charter and by-laws - 1880; 1884
  • Clippings
  • Correspondence - 1867-1876
    Including correspondence from George Greene
  • Correspondence - 1882-1894
    Including correspondence from Joshua Tracy, Charles J. Ives, Close Brothers & Co., H.H. Hollister, and E.S. Ellsworth
  • Correspondence - 1885
    Including correspondence from Roswell Miller, H.H. Hollister, Charles J. Ives, David B. Henderson, E.S. Ormsby, Frank D. Jackson, E.S. Ellsworth, John I. Blair, J.W. Blythe, E.E. Carpenter, and John W. Midgley
  • Correspondence - 1896-1897
    Including correspondence from Roswell Miller, M.J. Carpenter, Charles J. Ives, H.H. Hollister, EE Carpenter, William B. Allison, H.F. White, John H. Gear, Marvin Hughitt, Russell Sage, Jonathan P. Dolliver, Samuel M. Clark, David B. Henderson, John F. Lacey, S.L. Dows, Robert G. Cousins, F.C. Hubbell, F.M. Drake, and Charles E. Perkins
  • Correspondence - 1898-1899
    Including correspondence from H.H. Hollister, EE Carpenter, Robert G. Cousins, SL Dows, Leslie M. Shaw, W.C. Toomey, Charles J. Ives, A.C. Ripley, Marvin Hughitt, Ransom R. Cable, and Charles E. Perkins
  • Correspondence, January-June - 1900
    Including correspondence from AC Ripley, Charles J. Ives, A.J. Earling, H.H. Hollister, R.J. Kimball and Charles E. Perkins, R.R. Cable
  • Correspondence, July-December - 1900
    Including correspondence from Charles J. Ives, William B. Allison, David B. Henderson, J.C. Peasley, C.E. Perkins, M.A. Hanna, EE Carpenter, and RR Cable
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence, January-March - 1901
    Including correspondence from H.H. Hollister, Charles J. Ives, and A.J. Earling
  • Correspondence, April - 1901
    Including correspondence from Charles J. Ives, Lyman J. Gage, and Edwin Hawley
  • Correspondence, May-December - 1901
    Including correspondence from Charles J. Ives, A.J. Earling, H.H. Hollister, J.W. Colt, and E.S. Ellsworth
  • Correspondence - 1902-1922
    Including correspondence from E.S. Ellsworth, H.H. Hollister, J.W. Blythe, RR Cable, Stuyvesant Fish, and Charles J. Ives
  • Correspondence, n.d.
    Including correspondence from H.H. Hollister and Robert G. Cousins
  • Employee time tables - 1883-1899
  • Freight department circulars and receipt - 1898-1902
  • Indenture agreement - 1903
    Missing?
  • Ives, C.J. Arguments before the Railroad Committee of the House - 1888
  • Lining up the Railroad Employees Against the Farmer. Circular - free silver vs. gold standard, n.d. -- ca. 1896
  • Miscellaneous printed material, including circulars, adjustments, vouchers, broadsides - 1876-1900
  • Mortgage - 1876
  • Rate sheets - 1893-1896
  • Reunion program - 1915
  • Tariff agreements - 1891-1915
  • Train orders - 1889-1902
  • Series 2: OTHER RAILROADS AND RELATED MATERIAL
  • Box 2:
  • Atchison, Topeka and Sante Fe Railway circular - 1898
  • Baltimore and Ohio Railroad. Broadside - Laying the First Stone of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad
  • Burlington Association of Operating Officers. Second annual dinner program - 1908
  • Chicago, Anamosa and Northern Railway. Property list, n. d.
  • Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad Company annual report - 1937
  • Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad Company circular - 1895-1902
  • Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad Company special rules and regulations affecting rates and classifications - 1895
    Missing?
  • Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad Company straight bill of lading - 1915
  • Chicago Great Western Railway circular - 1901
  • Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul Railroad circulars - 1897
  • Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific Railway Company pass circular - 1909
  • Hannibal, St. Joseph Railroad Company circular - 1893
  • Interstate Commerce Commission. Safety Act - 1893
  • Minneapolis and St. Louis Railroad Company circular - 1894
  • Minnesota Transfer Railway Company circular, n.d.
  • Pacific Electric Railway. Advertising
  • Sample ballot. Ordinance no. 655, re: Iowa City - Davenport Traction Company
  • Snyder, H.C., Bigger and Better, Erie Railroad Magazine, page 17
  • Western Passenger Association rules - 1893
  • Albert N. Harbert correspondence - 1894-1937
    Including letters from Benjamin F. Shambaugh, Charles Aldrich, Edgar R. Harlan, Charles R. Keyes, and Frank Luther Mott