Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the John M. Lindly Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1828-1946
Creator: Lindly, John M. (1864-)
Extent: 3.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0433
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Pharmacist and banker from Winfield, Iowa. Diaries, scrapbook, and subject files documenting Lindly's career and family. Also includes historical materials relating to Winfield, Iowa.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs Box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: John M. Lindly Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

John Milton Lindly was born near Lindly's Mills, Pennsylvania, on November 17, 1864. In April 1866, his parents moved their family to Winfield, Iowa. It was there that Lindly attended public schools before becoming a student at Iowa Wesleyan University. Lindly received his diploma from the University of Iowa's department of pharmacy in 1889. He graduated from the National Institute of Pharmacy in Chicago on August 1, 1892. Lindly passed the Iowa Board of Pharmacy examinations in 1888 and was also registered in Arkansas in 1904.

He was an active member of the Iowa State Pharmaceutical Association, chairing many committees and delegations. Lindly was also a charter member of the Alumni Association Pharmaceutical Department at the University of Iowa, in 1897, and served as president from 1899 to 1900. He was very involved in state and local affairs. He was the cashier and later president of the Bank of Winfield, which was established by his father, and he owned Lindly's Drug Store. He was elected mayor of Winfield in an unopposed election in 1900, but declined the office. Lindly did however serve on the local school board and he was the town clerk for two years. He was also a Democratic state senator early in the century, and was a delegate to many state and national political conventions.

Arranged chronologically within an alphabetical sequence, the papers of John M. Lindly consist of three linear feet of manuscripts documenting his life and career as a pharmacist and banker in Winfield, Iowa. Diaries and correspondence combined with subject files on topics ranging from bank business to funeral service programs or invoices from Lindly's Drug Store to the Winfield Presbyterian Church make up the collection. These papers, which span over 100 years, provide information not only about Lindly, his family and business, but also about the community of Winfield, Iowa.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Bank Business - 1899-1908
  • Baptist Church, Glenwood, Iowa - 1945
  • Biographical Material
  • Broadsides, Advertisements, and Programs: Miscellaneous locations - 1893-1091
  • Broadsides, Advertisements, and Programs: Winfield, Iowa - 1895-1909
  • Correspondence - 1895-1900
    Including letters from Thomas H. Macbride
  • Correspondence - 1901-1946
  • Deaths: Chronological list of local deaths - 1896-1904
  • Diaries - 1895
  • Diaries - 1898
  • Diaries - 1898-1900
  • Diaries - 1900
  • Diaries - 1901
  • Diaries - 1943-1945
  • Essays and Speeches - 1898-1906
  • Funeral Service Programs - 1900-1919
    Programs from the funerals of local friends and relations
  • Invoices from Lindly's Drug Store - 1906-1909
  • Invoices, Advertisements, and Receipts from Lindly's Drug Store - 1899-1943
  • Iowa Pharmaceutical Association correspondence - 1906-1909
  • Ledger-Accounts from Lindly's Drug Store - 1891
  • Legal Ledger detailing legal cases - 1828-1831
    Many pages torn or missing
  • Miscellaneous - 1897-1945
  • Newspaper clippings - 1898-1945
  • Photographs
  • Presbyterian Church, Winfield, Iowa - 1897-1956
  • Some of the Flowering Plants of Calcasieu Parish, Louisiana, by J.M. Lindly, Iowa Academy of Sciences - 1907
  • State and Local Government: Printed material - 1895-1906
  • Box 2:
  • Diaries - 1905-1906
  • Diaries - 1906-1908
  • Box 3:
  • Diaries - 1908
  • Diaries - 1909
  • Box 4:
  • Scrapbook - 1911-1912

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Topics:
Banks and banking
Business enterprises
Pharmacy

Occupations:
Bankers
Pharmacists

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa -- Winfield

Genre/Form of Materials:
Diaries
Scrapbooks