Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Edward Francis Winslow Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1862-1917
Creator: Winslow, Edward Francis (1837-1914)
Extent: 300.00 items.
Collection Number: MSC0424
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Civil War soldier and railroad builder. Memoirs, correspondence, clippings, and reports relating to his service with the 4th Iowa Cavalry during the Civil War. Also includes reports and papers about the Battle of Brice's Crossroads.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Edward Francis Winslow Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Edward Francis Winslow was born on September 28, 1837, in Augusta, Maine. He moved to Mount Pleasant, Iowa, when he was nineteen years old. There he became involved in railroad construction, helping to build the St. Louis, Vandalia, & Terre Haute Railroad.

Winslow volunteered for service at the outbreak of the Civil War. He was recruited in August 1861 and mustered into Co. F, 4th Iowa Cavalry in November 1861, as a captain. The 4th Iowa saw much action during the war, including the siege of Vicksburg, the taking of Jackson, Mississippi, and the battle of Brice's Cross Roads. Winslow was promoted to the rank of colonel on July 4, 1863, and given command of the cavalry forces of the XV Corps. In December of 1964, he was brevetted brigadier-general for gallantry in action. After the hostilities ceased, Winslow was put in command of the Atlanta military district. He was discharged from the Army on August 10, 1865.

After the war, Edward F. Winslow returned to railroading. He resumed his construction work of the St. Louis, Vandalia, & Terre Haute Railroad. He then joined forces with General James Wilson to build the St. Louis and South-Eastern Railway. Winslow was appointed by President Grant to serve as an expert inspector of the Union Pacific Railroad upon its completion. He was vice-president and general manager of the Burlington, Cedar Rapids, and Northern from 1874 to 1880, and then became president of the New York, Ontario and Western. In November 1879, he became vice-president and general manager of the Manhattan Elevated Railroad in New York City. Finally, he served as president of the St. Louis and San Francisco Railroad Company and vice-president of the Atlanta and Pacific Railroad Company. Under this double responsibility his health began to fail and he was forced to retire. Edward F. Winslow died of heart failure on October 22, 1914.

The papers of Edward F. Winslow are made up of 300 items, arranged alphabetically within a chronological sequence, and relate primarily to his military career during the Civil War. There are nine folders of correspondence, including letters from Lot Abraham, F.W. Benteen, and Emory Upton. A typescript draft of Winslow's memoirs, along with clippings and reports, describe his wartime experiences. There are a number of items relating to the Battle of Brice's Crossroads, General Samuel Davis Sturgis, and the 4th Iowa Cavalry.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: GENERAL SAMUEL DAVID STURGIS -- RELATED ITEMS

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Address of General Oscar H. Lagrange. "A Hero to Heroes"
    (1 item)
  • Correspondence and reports - 1862-1864
    (8 items)
  • Correspondence and reports - 1865
    including letters from Emory Upton and F. W. Benteen (9 items)
  • Correspondence and reports - 1879-1882
    (10 items)
  • Correspondence and reports - 1884
    including letters from Lot Abraham (45 items)
  • Correspondence and reports, January-July - 1885
    (22 items)
  • Correspondence and reports, August-December - 1885
    (35 items)
  • Correspondence and reports - 1886-1887
    (44 items)
  • Correspondence and reports - 1888
    (53 items)
  • Correspondence and reports - 1889-1917
    (27 items)
  • Manuscript by General Winslow. Memoirs of the Civil War -- typescript draft with copies of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies
    2 folders
  • Box 2:
  • Newspaper clippings - 1885-1886
    (16 items)
  • Newspaper clippings - 1885-1886
    (erox copies) (10 items)
  • Series 2: GENERAL SAMUEL DAVID STURGIS -- RELATED ITEMS
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence - 1882
    (5 items)
  • "A Dastardly Attempt to Fix the Responsibility for the Guntown Disaster upon the Brave and Loyal Gen. Grierson and His Gallant Cavalry Command," statement of Lt. Col. E.M. Lowe. Reprint - 1879
    (1 item)
  • "General Sturgis at Guntown, Miss." - 1864, 1879
    Reprint (1 item)
  • Newspaper clippings - 1882
    (6 items)
  • "The Other Side," by S.D. Sturgis - 1882
  • Printed circulars concerning the conduct of Gen. Sturgis at the Battle of Guntown (Brice's Cross Road) - 1882
    (5 items)