Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Jackson L. Hyde Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1915-1976
Creator: Hyde, Jackson L. (1915-1945)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0422
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: World War II soldier. Correspondence, medals, scrapbook, and photographs primarily related to his service in the 210th Armored Infantry Battalion, 10th Armored (Tiger) Division, U.S. Army.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Boxes 1 and 2; Gasoline ration stamps in Box 1.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The papers of Jackson L. Hyde were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Thelma C. Chrissman.

Preferred Citation: Jackson L. Hyde Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Jackson Lester Hyde was born September 17, 1915, in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, the son of Claude M. (1891 -- 1938) and Catherine Pearl Hudnutt Hyde (1893 -- ). Hyde was married to Stella Irene Hyde (Sallie), who had a daughter (Nancy) from a previous marriage. Upon entering military service in 1942, Jackson Hyde, was stationed at Fort Custer, Fort Knox, Fort Benning, and Camp Gordon. A technician fourth grade, he was trained as a radio operator in the 210th Armored Infantry Battalion, 10th Armored (Tiger) Division, U.S. Army. After being shipped overseas in late May or early June of 1944, Jackson L. Hyde, served in France, Belgium, and Germany. He was killed in action, March 2, 1945, presumably at Trier, Germany. Hyde was posthumously awarded the Bronze Star "for heroic achievement in connection with military operations...at Noville, Belgium during the period 19 - 20 December 1944," and the Purple Heart for the wounds resulting in his death.

This collections consists of one hundred eighty four items arranged chronologically within larger alphabetical divisions. Included in the collection are items of correspondence, greeting cards, military medals, a scrapbook, photographs, and similar items dating from 1915 to 1976.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Baby book - 1915
  • Continuous Discharge Book - 1938-1941
    issued by U.S. Dept. of Commerce. Bureau of Marine Inspection and Navigation
  • Correspondence - 1930-1976
  • Gasoline ration stamps and record book - 1934-1944
  • Greeting cards -- From Hyde to his mother, Catherine Pearl Hudnutt Hyde
  • Insignias -- From Hyde's uniform
  • Medals -- Bronze star and purple heart - 1945
  • Military ID -- dogtags
  • Miscellaneous - 1944-1945
  • National Service Life Insurance -- application - 1942
  • Newspaper clippings - 1945
  • Paperweight, containing a photograph of Hyde
  • Photographs
  • Box 2:
  • Photographs
  • Presidential certificate - 1945
  • Scrapbook - 1944-1948