Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Allin Dakin Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1940-1981
Creator: Dakin, Allin (1905-1992)
Extent: 24.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0418
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Administrative dean at the University of Iowa (1944-1974). Correspondence, notebooks, and speeches relating to Dakin's many civic interests and activities. Topics included are Rotary International, Boy Scouts of America, and U of I.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs Box 17

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were donated to the University in 1982.

Preferred Citation: Papers of Allin Dakin, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Allin Winston Dakin was born on June 2, 1905, in Mason City, Iowa. He attended Mason City High School and received a B.A. in 1926 and a M.A. in 1927 from the University of Iowa, where he was President of the student government of the College of Liberal Arts in 1926. In 1931, he earned a M.B.A. from Harvard University's business school, and in 1961 awarded a doctorate of laws by Westmar College. From 1944 to 1953, Dakin was an administrative dean and the assistant to the President of the University of Iowa. He was an administrative dean, working with finances, from 1953 until his retirement from the University of Iowa.
 
Active in community and service organizations, Allin Dakin was twice a director of Iowa City's Chamber of Commerce (1949-1951 and 1958-1961). He was also a past chairman of the Iowa City Airport Commission. Allin Dakin was chairman of every position involving Rotary International. He was a 32nd degree Mason and a member of the National Council of Boy Scouts of America. At the age of 87, Mr. Dakin died in Coralville, Iowa, on September 17, 1992.

The papers of Allin Dakin consist of 18 boxes of manuscripts measuring 24 linear feet that date from 1940 to 1981. Eleven of these boxes contain notebooks concerning Rotary International. There are two more boxes relating to the Boy Scouts of America and the United Nations Association. Included here are correspondence folders and speeches. Other notebooks deal with such topics as University of Iowa Rose Bowl trips and campus planning committee reports.

Box 17 and 18 contain addendum from 2006. Box 17 specifically has materials donated by the Rotary Archives, which can be contated at www.rotary.org.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ROTARY MATERIALS
Series 2: BOY SCOUTS OF AMERICA MATERIALS
Series 3: UNITED NATIONS ASSOCIATION MATERIALS
Series 4: UNIVERSITY OF IOWA MATERIALS
Series 5: NOTEBOOKS OF MISCELLANEOUS
Series 6: 2006 ADDENDUM

  • Series 1: ROTARY MATERIALS
  • Box 1:
  • 13 notebooks - 1951
  • Box 2:
  • 12 notebooks - 1956-1959
  • Box 3:
  • 10 notebooks - 1958-1961
  • Box 4:
  • 9 notebooks - 1958-1965
  • Box 5:
  • 7 notebooks - 1963-1966
  • Box 6:
  • 8 notebooks - 1855-1857
  • Box 7:
  • 8 notebooks - 1967-1969
  • Box 8:
  • 8 notebooks - 1970-1974
  • Box 9:
  • 5 notebooks - 1973-1976
  • Box 10:
  • 6 notebooks - 1976-1980
  • Box 11:
  • 1 notebook - 1980-1981
  • Our Magazine - 1953
    Sent to Dakin as Governor-Nominee
  • District Assembly: Dakin's notes - 1953
  • Handbook for District Governor for District Assembly - 1954
  • Handbook of District Assembly at Iowa City, Iowa, on May 6 - 1954
  • Rotary Miscellaneous - 1954-1957
    2 folders
  • Rotary Miscellaneous - 1955-1958
  • Group leaders manual, International Assembly - 1956
  • Handbook for District Governor for District Assembly - 1956
  • Rotary Miscellaneous - 1957
  • Leader's Guide to the District Governor's Handbook, International Assembly - 1957
  • Rotary Miscellaneous - 1957-1958
  • Rotary District 600 Conference - 1959
  • Correspondence - 1960-1962
  • Rotary Oskaloosa Conference - 1961
  • Rotary Keokuk Conference - 1963
  • Rotary Miscellaneous - 1969-1979
  • Rotary Miscellaneous - 1970
  • Certificates and awards
  • Membership card and application to elect another person for membership
  • Miscellaneous and memorabilia
  • Photographs
  • The Rotarian: Information on distribution, contents, etc.
  • Speech: Rotary and the World View
  • Speech: Rotary Tomorrow
    Program from the Clear Lake County Club Rotary meeting at which Dakin gave this speech; the text of the speech itself is not here
  • Series 2: BOY SCOUTS OF AMERICA MATERIALS
  • Box 12:
  • 5 notebooks - 1953-1975
  • Box 13:
  • 2 notebooks - 1975, 1978-1980
  • Hawkeye Area Council - 1961
  • Miscellaneous folder
  • Series 3: UNITED NATIONS ASSOCIATION MATERIALS
  • Box 13:
  • Correspondence and Monthly Reports
  • Miscellaneous
    2 folders
  • Speech to Iowa Consistory, Easter - 1963
  • Series 4: UNIVERSITY OF IOWA MATERIALS
  • Sub-Series: Notebooks
  • Box 14:
  • University and Miscellaneous - 1954-1958
  • University - 1958-1959
  • University - 1973-1974
  • Rose Bowl Trip - 1956-1957
  • Report of the Campus Planning Committee, June - 1964
  • Sub-Series: Folders
  • Box 14:
  • Correspondence - 1920-1929
  • Correspondence - 1961
  • Dillon Lecture, The Commerce Clause and a Common Market, by Virgil M. Hancher
  • Materials from the time of Dakin's matriculation at the University of Iowa
  • Miscellaneous University materials
  • Series 5: NOTEBOOKS OF MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 15:
  • Dakin Speeches - 1940-1957
  • Republican Party Precinct 7 and Johnson County
  • Chronological file - 1944-1970, 1959
  • Chronological file - 1964-1965
    2 notebooks
  • Chronological file - 1965
  • Box 16:
  • Chronological file - 1966-1967
  • Chronological file - 1967-1968
  • Chronological file - 1969
  • Chronological file - 1971-1972
  • Chronological file - 1975
    2 notebooks
  • Chronological file - 1976
    2 notebooks
  • Chronological file - 1977
  • Chronological file - 1977-1978
  • Chronological file - 1977-1979
  • Chronological file - 1978-1979
  • Chronological file - 1979-1980
  • Chronological file - 1980-1981
  • Series 6: 2006 ADDENDUM
  • Box 17:
  • Appointment book
  • One foot of materials, mostly publications, relating to Rotary which did not pertain directly to Dakin.
    These materials were donated to the Rotary Archives.
  • Box 18:
  • Awards and Certificates
  • Arkansas Traveler
  • Artus, March 10 - 1926
  • Beta Mu, No.300, May 20 - 1923
  • Distinguised son of Mason City, June 11 - 1953
  • Greater Iowa City Area Chamber of Commerce: Service to Youth Award
  • Harvard Club of New York City: Distinguished Senior Member (with cover letter)
  • Hawkeye Caltropper, February 9 - 1961
  • Honorary Texas Citizen, June18 - 1958
  • Master in Business Administration, Harvard University - 1931
  • Phi Delta Gamma: Membership certificate, February 21 - 1925
  • Republican Party of Iowa: Certificate of appreciation
  • Scabbard and Blade membership, February 1 - 1925
  • Tau Kappa Alpha, May 1 - 1935
  • The National Geographic Society Membership, April 7 - 1941
  • The National Register of Prominent Americans and International Notables - 1978-1979
  • University of Iowa: Membership, the President Club of the University of Iowa
  • Westmar College, Honorary degree of Doctor of Law, June 5 - 1961
  • Awards and Certificates in Oversized Folder 1
  • Bachelor of Arts, The State University of Iowa - 1926
  • Certificate of Service (2nd lieutenant of Infantry) - 1931
  • Certificate of Service (2nd lieutenant) - 1924
  • Certificate of Service (Colonel) - 1925
  • Delta Sigma Rho
  • Italia Flotte Riunite (Italian Language)
  • Mason City High School. Diploma - 1922
  • Master of Arts, The State University of Iowa - 1927
  • N.Y.K. Lines (Longevity Guarantee) - 1939
  • Pi Gamma Mu - 1926
  • United Nations Association, Iowa Division, Scroll of Honor, April 11 - 1970
  • Awards and certificates mounted on wood
  • Paul Harris Fellow
  • Rotary International Appreciation, District 644 - 1956
  • Beta Mu Hall of Fame - 1956
  • Rotary International Appreciation, District 181 - 1961
  • Rotary Club of Iowa City - 1976
  • The University of Iowa Alumni Association - 1977
  • Rotary International Symbol
  • Clippings
    4 folders
  • Correspondence: March 28-December - 1937
  • Correspondence: September 15- March 23 - 1934-1937
  • Correspondence: January 2-December 23 - 1938
  • Correspondence: January 7-March 18 - 1939-1940
  • Correspondence: Undated
  • Miscellaneous
  • Military Documents: Miscellaneous, including photographs of Reserve Training at Fort Snelling, Minnesota
  • Military Documents: Blue Torch - 1923
    Yearbookof Fort Snelling
  • Blue Torch - 1925
  • Photographs
  • Publications in which Dakin is pictured or mentioned
  • The Jonathan, p. 7, January - 1957
  • Modern Brotherhood, Vol. 30:No. 1, p.2
  • Group Leaders, 1956 International, p. 1
    Rotary International publication
  • International Assembly Program - 1956
    Rotary International publication, annotated by Dakin
  • List of those present at some and/or all sessions of the 1959 Institute for present and past officers of Rotary International, p. 2
  • Our Magazine, p.3 of the index to Vol.86-87 of The Rotarian
  • The Rotarian: pp. 32-33, July - 1953
  • The Rotarian: pp. 5, 16-17, October - 1955
  • The Rotarian: p. 31, July - 1956
  • The Rotarian: p. 49, September - 1956
  • The Rotarian: pp. 26-28, May - 1960
    Written by Dakin
  • The Rotarian: pp. 26, 56, July - 1960
  • The University of Iowa: On Iowa, back cover
  • Travel diary
    4 folders
  • Travel mementoes