Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the William O. Weaver Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1951-1954
Creator: Weaver, William O. (1908-1991)
Extent: 1.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0416
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Iowa attorney. Correspondence, campaign literature, clippings, and photographs relating to the Eisenhower presidential campaign of 1952.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: William O. Weaver donated his papers to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1983.

Preferred Citation: William O. Weaver Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

William O. Weaver was born in Wapello, Iowa, on December 1, 1908. He graduated from Wapello High School in 1926. Weaver attended the University of Iowa, receiving his bachelor's degree in 1930 and his J.D. in 1932. He established a law practice in his hometown. During World War II, Weaver served as a major in the United States Army. Active in Republican politics, Weaver was the National Committeeman of the Republican Veterans League of Iowa. He was a member of the delegation that went to Abilene, Kansas, to urge General Eisenhower to run for the presidency. An active campaigner for Eisenhower, Weaver was a delegate to the national convention that nominated Ike. Weaver died in 1991.

The papers of William O. Weaver reflect his association with the Eisenhower campaign and include campaign literature, realia, photographs, and clippings. There are letters from William S. Beardsley, Whitney Gillilland, Robert K. Goodwin, E.R. Hicklin, L.L. Jurgemeyer, Leo A. Hoegh, H.C. Lodge, Jr., Frank Nye, Jo Strong, and Helen Virden.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: EISENHOWER CAMPAIGN

  • Series 1: EISENHOWER CAMPAIGN
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence and papers, September 5-December 30 - 1951-1952
    Correspondents include William S. Bearsley, Whitney Gillilland, Robert K. Goodwin, E.R. Hicklin, L.L. Jurgemeyer, Leo A. Hoegh, H.C. Lodge, Jr., Frank Nye, Jo Strong, and Helen Virden
  • Clippings: June 15-March 11 - 1952-1954
    Also includes 1991 obituary
  • Photographs
  • Box 2:
  • Papers from the 25th Republican National Convention, July 7-10 - 1952
  • Campaign literature, October 20-July - 1951-1952
  • Realia from Republican National Convention, July 7-10 - 1952

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Dwight David), 1890-1969

Corporate Names:
Republican Party (Iowa)
Republican Party (U.S. : 1854- )

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Elections
Elections

Occupations:
Lawyers
Presidents

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Clippings (Information artifacts)
Photographs