Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Sidney G. Winter Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1929-1961
Creator: Winter, Sidney Graham (1896-unknown)
Extent: 1.00 linear foot.
Collection Number: MSC0415
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Accountant. Correspondence, court documents, and clippings.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Sidney G. Winter Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Sidney G. Winter was born in Indianapolis on May 25, 1896. He got his BA at Colorado College in 1921 and an MS at University of Illinois in 1923. He became a certified public accountant in Iowa and Illinois in 1925. In 1924, Winter joined the faculty of the University of Iowa's Accounting Program. He was the author of several articles and texts on accounting texts.

One linear foot of materials having to do with Winter's work as a Certified Public Accountant.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE AND PAPERS

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE AND PAPERS
  • Box 1:
  • Concerning Iowa Association of Certified Public Accountants, December 28-October 20 - 1929-1945
    2 folders
  • Concerning Governor's Commission to investigate the collection of Iowa fuel tax, created pursuant to Chapter 67, Code of Iowa - 1958-1959
    3 folders: Correspondents include Governor Herschel Loveless, Sen. Guy Butler, Rep. A. L. Mensing, and Lt. Gov. Edward L. McManus
  • Box 2:
  • Concerning the Iowa Society of Certified Public Accountants' special committee regarding the case of John Bemis, November 17-October 16 - 1943-1944
  • Concerning committees of the Iowa Society of Certified Public Accountants, April 14-March - 1947-1961
  • L.J. Muehle vs. S.G. Winter: Correspondence, court documents, and clippings, July 23-December 23 - 1947-1948
  • Concerning the Iowa Society of Certified Public Accountants' legislative initiatives, March 3-March 1 - 1941-1961
  • Income Tax School controversy between the Iowa Association of Certified Public Accountants and the Iowa State Bar Association, July 18-November 30 - 1955

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.