Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Dick Clark papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1973 - 1988
Creator: Clark, Dick (-1929)
Extent: 216.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0414
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: U.S. Senator from Iowa , and educator. Arranged in 9 series, the papers consist of subject files, casework files, issue statements, clippings, audio, visual, film and photographs during his term in office. Subjects of special concern to Clark range from Africa and international relations to agriculture and conservation, Democratic Party politics to the aged, and education to transportation.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs Boxes 128-130, 142; Film Box 127, Video Boxes 123-127; Audiocassettes Boxes 122-123; Audio reels Box 12

Access: This collection is open for research. The written permission of the donor shall be required for publication of all or parts of said papers.

Use: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Senator Clark in 1979. Guide posted to Internet: 1998. Addenda: 1986, 1994, undated.

Preferred Citation: Dick Clark Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Dick Clark was born September 14, 1929, on a farm in Linn County and grew up in the town of Lamont, in nearby Buchanan County, where his father operated a general store. Clark served with the army in Germany from 1950 to 1952, and then received a Bachelor's Degree from Upper Iowa University at Fayette in 1953. He received a Master's degree in history from the University of Iowa in 1956. From 1959 to 1964, Clark was an assistant professor of history and political science at Upper Iowa University and from 1965 to 1972 he was the administrative assistant to Iowa Second District Congressman John Culver. In 1972 he was elected as a Democrat to the U.S. Senate after a 1300 mile campaign walk across the state. He served in the Senate until January 1979.

Clark was a member of the Senate Agriculture Committee, the Foreign Relations Committee, the Rules Committee, and the Democratic Steering Committee. He chaired Subcommittees on Rural Development and African Affairs. After leaving the Senate, Clark served as U.S. Ambassador for refugee affairs and then, in 1980, he worked in Senator Edward Kennedy's unsuccessful campaign for the Democratic nomination for the Presidency. He is now Senior Fellow at the Aspen Institute for Humanistic Studies in Washington, D.C.

The Dick Clark papers are arranged in nine series and three addenda. Series I is comprised of Alphabetical files of correspondence. Series II is comprised of subject files, broken down chronologically from the years 1973 to 1978. The subject files include materials from his Washington, Des Moines, and Cedar Rapids offices. Series III is made up of casework files, which includes items from his Cedar Rapids, Des Moines, and Council Bluffs offices as well as educational casework and correspondence. Culver files make up Series IV, which include memos, office files, robos, and schedules. Series VI is composed of issues statements, Series VI of clippings, and series VII of audio, visual, and film materials. Photographs and slides are found in Series VIII. Finally, Series XI contains miscellaneous materials. Most of these series are divided into subseries.

There are also three addenda and an index. The 1986 addendum is arranged into three groups: subject files, arranged alphabetically, followed by clippings and speeches. The 1994 addendum consists of appointment books, photographs, and speeches. The undated addendum consists of 1982 campaign materials, speeches, materials relating to U.S. Soviet Bank, and clippings. The index pertains to the main body of the collection, and does not reflect materials in the addenda.

Areas and subjects of special concern to Clark range from Africa and international relations to agriculture and conservation, Democratic Party politics to the aged, and education to transportation.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.