Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the L.L. Jurgemeyer Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1943-1960
Creator: Jurgemeyer, L.L. (1918-1980)
Extent: 1.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0411
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: State Chairman of Republican Party in IA, 1957-1959. Subject files, correspondence, and newspaper clippings.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated by Paul E. Pfeffer in 1982.

Preferred Citation: L.L. Jurgemeyer Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Louis LeRoy Jurgemeyer was born in Iowa City, Iowa, on May 11, 1918. Educated at the University of Iowa, he was an attorney and held the position of the president of the state Republican committee. Jurgemeyer died in December of 1980.

The L. L. Jurgemeyer collection contains subject files, correspondence, and newspaper clippings primarily concerning Jurgemeyer's activity in the Republican Party.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: REPUBLICAN PARTY

  • Series 1: REPUBLICAN PARTY
  • Box 1:
  • "Blue Print for Victory" -- a training course for Republican leadership
  • Certificates - 1952, 1960
  • Clinton, Iowa: Chamber of Commerce - 1949-1957
    2 folders
  • Computer print-out of state election returns by county precinct - 1950-1956
  • Correspondence - 1950-1952
    Including letters from William S. Beardsley
  • Correspondence - 1953-1954
    Including letters from Henry O. Talle, Bourke B. Hickenlooper, James Schramm, and William S. Beardsley
  • Correspondence - 1956-1957
    Including letters from Thomas E. Martin, Bourke B. Hickenlooper, H. R. Gross, William H. Nicholas, Whitney Gillilland, Wiley E. Mayne, Jack R. Miller, James Schramm, and David M. Stanley
  • Box 2:
  • Counter-intelligence advanced training school - 1943
    3 folders
  • Iowa C.I.O.-P.A.C. Manual
  • Iowa Republican county handbook - 1957-1958
  • Miscellaneous Republican items - 1956
  • Newspaper clippings - 1954-1957
  • Opinion survey of Iowa voters, March-April - 1958
  • Republican appointments - 1951-1954
  • Box 3:
  • Republican National Committee's Campaign School, June 18-20 - 1958
    2 folders
  • Republican state conventions - 1954, 1956

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.