Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Norman Dubie Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1970-1993
Creator: Dubie, Norman (1945-)
Extent: 8.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0409
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Poet: numerous books from Alehouse Sonnets (1971) to Funeral (1998). Manuscripts, correspondence, other papers.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs Box 7; Audio tapes Boxes 1, 14; Floppy disk Box 14

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Papers of Norman Dubie, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Quoting from the bookseller who offered this collection:

"An archive of correspondence, typescript drafts and annotated photocopies of poems and galley proofs from Norman Dubie to David St. John; circa mid-1970s to 2002.

"Included are several drafts of typed poems on which Dubie has written short notes to St. John; he also indicates revisions, marks when the poem is in its "Final Draft," or asks St. John's opinion. The unbound leaves that make up "The Springhouse," for example, feature 15 leaves with notes from Dubie to St. John; evidently, Dubie would send his friend several pages of poetry at a time, indicating a poem's intended placement in the book or providing his own opinion of it. According to St. John, the bulk of Dubie's draft poems included here - he estimates between 100 and 150, at least - were never published in his books.

"The bulk of the contents of the letters is purely poetry business; Dubie talks extensively about changes he made and why; discusses the poems' arrangement and placement in his books; and asks St. John's opinion. Dubie clearly trusted and valued St. John's input on his poetry; this correspondence is evidence that the pair had a vibrant working relationship. Dubie talks less frequently about personal matters, but it is also obvious that he and St. John had a warm friendship.

"Most of Dubie's correspondence was written on Arizona State University letterhead; Dubie has worked in various capacities at ASU - as the writer-in-residence (1975-1976); a lecturer (1976-1983); director of the graduate writing program (since 1976) and a professor of English (since 1983).

"Dubie was teaching at the Writers Workshop in Iowa in 1972 when St. John went there. This sparked a relationship - both personal and professional - that has endured to this day. Dubie and St. John sent nearly every poem they wrote to each other for encouragement and criticism; some poems in this collection include Dubie's thoughts on St. John's poems; for example: "Thanks for the two poems - their formal properties are their greatest secret - very enchanting" (July 18, 1983).

"In a series of five letters from the spring and summer of 1984, Dubie keeps St. John abreast of a new book he's writing; this would become The Springhouse (1986). He begins, "Thought you would like to see how the book has advanced, formed...The third section will be love poems after a fashion. As poems come to you just place them in the 3rd section in the order of their arrival - that's how this book grows, of time!" (May 16th); the next letter informs, "I've decided to slow down this book - I'm junking two poems... I'm also emptying the third section of the book this means an increase for the 2nd section - this means 10 poems in each section and a greater mood range through the 2nd section" (June 11, 1984). On the verso of this letter Dubie proposes a draft Table of Contents. The next letter further develops their arrangement, "I've decided to title the sections in The Springhouse. So in caps and italic after the roman numerals in the Contents page put: I. THE DIAMOND PERSONA II. SANCTUARY III. LAMENTATIONS" (July 2); In a letter dated August 12 his plans have changed again:

'Help. I am preparing for a purge of the third section of the book & everything stands for us save THE FRENCH AND INDIAN WARS? It doesn't work for Jeannine and yet the little boy in me who loved that period in history thinks it does work. WHAT DO YOU THINK. ...In CURRIER & IVES it is now a sinkhole rather than the sinkhole. Also in LAMENTATIONS I brought the last word of the poem - 'farewell' up to the end of the previous line; fuck/the couplet!'

"He adds afterward, by hand, "I love this poem.

"This collection of correspondence - and the corresponding poems - that Dubie had with St. John provides invaluable insight into the process of poetic production; Dubie's explanations of his work and the choices he makes reveal a poet dedicated to his craft and the effort of the editing and arranging process. They also illustrate a flourishing friendship and a nourishing professional relationship between two poets.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ARTICLES ABOUT DUBIE
Series 2: AUDIO TAPES
Series 3: MARVIN BELL
Series 4: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 5: BOOK MANUSCRIPTS
Series 6: SHORT STORIES BY DUBIE
Series 7: GENERAL SUBJECT FILES I
Series 8: POETRY BY NORMAN DUBIE NOT FOUND IN HIS PUBLISHED COLLECTIONS
Series 9: GENERAL SUBJECT FILES II
Series 10: SELECTED AND NEW POEMS
Series 11: MAY 1985 ADDITIONS
Series 12: 1986 ADDITION
Series 13: FEBRUARY 1987 ADDITION
Series 14: NOVEMBER 1987 ADDITION
Series 15: 1989 ADDITION
Series 16: FEBRUARY 1991 ADDITION
Series 17: 1993 ADDITION
Series 18: 2001 ADDENDUM
Series 19: 2007 ST. JOHN ADDENDUM
Series 20: INDEX TO CORRESPONDENCE

  • Series 1: ARTICLES ABOUT DUBIE
  • Box 1:
  • Fenza, David. "Nobility and the Mask: The Lyrical Storytelling of Norman Dubie," Telescope, Spring - 1981
  • Goldensohn, Lorrie. "Not in the Browing Shade," Parnassus
    Various drafts
  • Simon, Greg. "We Live for Cries: On Norman Dubie," Sonoran Review
  • Stitt, Peter. "The Sincere, the Mythic, the Playful - Forms of Voice in Current Poetry," Georgia Review
  • White, Mary Jane. "Characteristic Practices and Larger Structures," September 5 - 1978
  • Series 2: AUDIO TAPES
  • Box 1:
  • Poetry readings: Dubie and Stewart
  • Series 3: MARVIN BELL
  • Box 1:
  • Bell, Marvin. Poetry
  • Series 4: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical material
  • Series 5: BOOK MANUSCRIPTS
  • Sub-Series: Alehouse Sonnets, 1971
  • Box 1:
  • "Address to the Populous Winter Youths"
  • "Harvest"
  • "Noli Me Tangere"
  • "A Self-Portrait"
  • Typescript, with corrections, revisions, and copies
  • Typescript, final draft with corrections and revisions
  • First proof (copy)
  • Publication agreement - 1970
  • Reviews
  • Miscellaneous materials
  • Sub-Series: In the Dead of the Night, 1975
  • Box 1:
  • "About Infinity, and the Lenesdorf Pools"
  • "Anima Poeta. A Christmas Entry for the Suicide, Mayakovsky"
  • "Balalaika"
    Early draft
  • "El Greco"
  • "Elegy Asking That It Be the Last"
  • "For David St. John Who's Written a Poem"
    Early draft
  • "For My Brother and Sister"
  • "In the Dead of the Night"
  • "Indian Summer"
  • "Monologue of Two Moons, Nudes with Crests"
    Typescripts and galley proofs
  • "New England, 1868"
  • "The New Year: First Heart: Old Rope"
  • "The Obscure"
  • "October"
  • "Pastoral"
    Holograph draft with corrections and revisions
  • "Paul Klee. The New Yea"
  • "The Pennacesse Leper Colony for Women. Cape Cod. 1922"
  • "Popham of the New Song"
  • "The Renunciation of Poetry: Duino 1912. Muzot 1922"
  • "Seurat"
  • "The Suicide of Hedda Gabler"
  • "Thomas Traherne's Meditation for Love"
  • "Trakl"
    Two drafts with corrections and revisions
  • "Wales"
    Various drafts
  • "Wartime Letters. Paul Eluard"
  • Typescript, incomplete with corrections and revisions
  • Typescript, incomplete (photocopy)
  • Notes and back cover material
  • Page proof (photocopy)
  • Sub-Series: The Prayers of the North American Martyrs, 1975
  • Box 1:
  • Credit page, revised
  • Sub-Series: The Illustrations, 1977
  • Box 2:
  • "The Czar's Last Christmas Letter. A Barn in the Urals"
  • "Elegies for the Ochre Deer on the Walls at Lascaux"
  • "February: The Boy Breugel"
  • "The First Sentence Is for the Dead Eider Duck"
    Holograph draft with corrections and revisions
  • "The Great American Novel: Winter, 1927"
  • "Ibis"
  • "Jacob Boehme's Triptych of Winter Hours: 1620"
  • "The Moths"
    Various drafts
  • "The Negress: Her Monologue of Dark Crepe with Edges of Light"
  • "Nineteen Forty"
  • "The Piano"
  • "The Red Padrona for Jose Cuevas"
    Various drafts
  • "Sun and Moon Flowers: Paul Klee, 1879-1940"
    Various drafts
  • "These Untitled, Little Verses in Which, at Dawn, Two Dutch Peasants Struggled with an Auburn Horse"
  • "The Tub. 1934. Halifax, Mississippi"
  • "The Ugly Poem that Reluctantly Accepts Itself as its Only Title"
  • Original draft, with corrections and revisions
  • Second draft typescript, with corrections and revisions. Final typescript (photocopy)
  • Typescript, carbon
  • The Illustrations and Elegies for the Ochre Deer on the Walls of Lascaux
    Typescript (including letter explaining the combination)
  • Elegies for the Ochre Deer on the Walls of Lascaux
    Typescript, with corrections and revisions. Typescript (photocopy)
  • Credit page, revised
  • Publisher's agreement - 1975
  • Review
  • Sub-Series: Odalisque in White, 1978
  • Box 2:
  • "After the Murals and Bottles of Dina Yellen"
  • "The Duchess After the Burial"
  • "The Duchess' Red Shoes"
  • "For My Grandfather Who Loved Paintings"
    Incomplete typescript with revisions
  • "For Weingarten"
  • "Little Foxes, Little Foxes"
  • "A Painting by Odilon Redon"
  • Typescript, with corrections and revisions
  • Publication announcement
  • Sub-Series: A Thousand Little Things, 1978
  • Box 2:
  • "Abigail Adams. Pepper-Dulse Seaweed and Fever-Talk: 1786"
  • "The Black Cloth of the Birdcage Covers the Mirrors of Avignon"
  • "Descent into the Hours of the Peregrine"
  • "The Dream of the Islanders of Thomas Mann"
  • "In Last Year's Nests There Are No Birds"
    Typescript
  • "A Village Priest"
  • Typescript
  • Credit page, revised
  • Sub-Series: The City of the Olesha Fruit, 1979
  • Box 3:
  • "After Three Photographs of Brassai"
  • "The Ambassador Diaries of Jean de Bosschere and Edgar Poe"
    Various drafts
  • "The Ars Poetica of Soren Kierkegaard"
  • "Aubade of the Singer and Saboteur, Marie Triste: 1941"
  • "The City of the Olesha Fruit"
    Various drafts
  • "The Dun Cow and the Hag"
  • "Elegy to the Pulley of Superior Oblique"
  • "Elegy to the Sioux"
    Various drafts
  • "Elizabeth's War with the Christmas Bear: 1601"
  • "A Grandfather's Last Letter"
  • "The Great Wall of China"
  • "The Hours"
  • "The Infant"
  • "A Lamb, a Woolen Lamb"
  • "Norway"
  • "The Old Asylum of the Narragansetts"
  • "The Red Fiddle in the Moon Parlor"
  • "Sacrifice of a Virgin in the Mayan Ball Court"
  • "The Seagull"
  • "The Siblings' Woodcut: Dementia Praecox"
  • "Thomas Hardy"
  • "The Towpath"
    Various drafts
  • "The Widow Speaks to the Auroras of a December Night"
  • "Winter Mangers"
  • Typescript, with corrections and revisions
  • Typescript (photocopy)
  • Printer's typescript, with corrections
  • Galley proofs
  • Credit page, revised
  • Publisher's agreement and production schedule - 1978
  • Sub-Series: Winter Diary - Became: The City of the Olesha Fruit
  • Box 3:
  • "Armageddon"
  • "Cooper's Photograph of Civil War Dead"
  • "Destruction of Madame Wehyer's Chant Royal"
  • "An Infinity of Landscape. Popham Beach, Maine, 1953"
  • "A Poem Written at Dawn for Frank Paluka"
  • "To Lou Andreas-Salome"
  • "Winter Landscape"
  • Typescript, with corrections and revisions (includes photocopy and carbon pages)
  • Typescript
  • Box 4:
  • Typescript of additions and revisions, with corrections
  • Sub-Series: The Everlastings, 1980
  • Box 4:
  • "After the Spring Snow, What They Saw"
    Various drafts
  • "Against the Wishbone"
  • "The Circus Ringmaster's Apology to God"
  • "Coleridge Crossing the Plain of Jars: 1833"
  • "The Composer's Winter Dream"
    Various drafts
  • "Empiricists of Crimson"
  • "The Fox Who Watched for the Midnight Sun"
  • "Grand Illusion"
  • "The Land of Cockaigne"
  • "Lord Myth"
  • "The Night Before Thanksgiving"
    Various drafts
  • "Not the Cuckold's Dream"
  • "Ode to The Spectral Thief, Alpha"
    Various drafts
  • "The Parallax Monograph for Rodin"
  • "Principia Mathematica: Einstein's Exile in an Old Dutch Winter"
    Various drafts
  • "The Scrivener's Rose"
  • "The Sketchbook Ashes of Jehoshaphat"
  • "Telemachos who Believes Ulysses is the Night"
  • "There is a Dream Dreaming Us"
  • "The World Isn't a Wedding of the Artists of Yesterday"
  • Typescript, with corrections and revisions
  • Printer's typescript, with corrections
  • Galley proofs
  • Proposed table of contents, revised
  • Publisher's agreement - 1978
  • Reviews
  • Sub-Series: Comes Winter, the Sea Hunting, (unpublished)
  • Box 4:
  • "Audubon: From the Depression in Autumn"
    Various drafts
  • "Chemin de Fer"
    Typescript
  • "The Cottage"
    Various drafts
  • "The Dusty Purple Flower, Nostalgia"
  • "French Pilgrims and a Motorcycle with Sidecar: 1953"
  • "Gold Detail in a 19th Century Silhouette of the Old French Hospital for Sailors"
  • "Grandfather"
  • "An Idyll of Government"
  • "Peninsula Light"
  • "These Obituaries of Caryatids"
  • "The Three-Cornered Hat"
    Typescript
  • "Upon a Romantic and Broken Theme"
  • "The Verb, to Kill"
  • Early typescript, with corrections and revisions
  • Proposed table of contents
  • Sub-Series: Halcyon Days, (unpublished)
  • Box 5:
  • "Antigone"
  • "The Corpse of Rainer Marie Rilke"
  • "The Everlastings"
    Various drafts
  • "The Late Halcyon Days Between Wars: 1932"
  • "Nebraska: '39"
  • "Penelope, the Ghosts"
  • "Wolf's Point"
  • Proposed table of contents
  • Sub-Series: Selected and New Poems
  • Box 5:
  • "Randall Jarrell. 1914-1965"
  • Proposed table of contents
  • Reviews
  • Sub-Series: Selected Poems 1973-1983, (unpublished)
  • Box 5:
  • "Revelations"
  • "The Sacred Heart, 1812"
  • Proposed table of contents
  • Sub-Series: Ten Poems, (unpublished)
  • Box 5:
  • "At Midsummer"
    Typescript
  • "Elsinore in the Late Ancient Autumn"
  • "Grandmother"
  • "Nine Black Poppies for Chac"
  • "Parish"
    Various drafts
  • "Pictures at an Exhibition"
  • "Several Measures for the Little Lost"
    Various drafts
  • "To a Young Woman Dying at Weir"
  • photocopy copies of poems
  • Typescript
  • Proposed table of contents
  • Sub-Series: The Window in the Field, (unpublished)
  • Box 5:
  • "Duchamp's Nuptial Milkweed in the West, November Woods"
  • "The Penninsula"
  • "The School of Night"
  • Proposed table of contents
  • Review
  • Series 6: SHORT STORIES BY DUBIE
  • Box 5:
  • "The Red Skirt of Taces"
    Various drafts
  • "Red Sky at Morning"
  • "The Three-Legged Donkey of Kassel Mountain"
  • Series 7: GENERAL SUBJECT FILES I
  • Box 5:
  • Cervantes, James V. Poetry
  • Cooper Union Forum. Poetry Reading Schedules - 1977-1978
  • Correspondence - 1970-1974
  • Correspondence - 1975
  • Correspondence - 1976
  • Correspondence, January-June - 1977
  • Box 6:
  • Correspondence, July-September - 1977
  • Correspondence, October-December - 1977
  • Correspondence, January-April - 1978
  • Correspondence, May-June - 1978
  • Correspondence, July - 1978
  • Correspondence, August-October - 1978
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence, November-December - 1978
  • Correspondence, January-May - 1979
  • Correspondence, June-December - 1979
  • Correspondence - 1980-1983
  • Correspondence, undated
  • Cut Bank, no. 7: Fall - 1976
    Includes "Poem written at Dawn for Frank Paluka" and "My Triptych of Lyrebirds and Great Auks"
  • Fenza, David. "Nobility and the Mask: The Lyrical Storytelling of Norman Dubie," Telescope, Spring - 1981
    pages 27-41
  • Gordon, Kirpal Singh. Poetry
  • Miscellaneous
  • Miscellaneous material related to Dubie's teaching
  • Miscellaneous poetry and poetry fragments by Dubie
  • Miscellaneous poetry sent to Dubie (authors unknown)
  • Nayer, Louise. Poetry
  • Nemet-Nejat, Murat. Poetry
  • Photographs
  • Poetry, vol. 129, no. 2: November - 1976
    Notice of Bess Hokin Prize won by Dubie
  • Series 8: POETRY BY NORMAN DUBIE NOT FOUND IN HIS PUBLISHED COLLECTIONS
  • Box 7:
  • "Allegory in the New York Times
    Typescript (photocopy)
  • "Autumn"
    Typescripts
  • "The Bones of Quail"
  • "Burial at Sebasio Estates Lodge"
    Holograph draft
  • "The Burnt Vision of an Ornate Peruvian Woman"
    Various drafts
  • "Caring"
  • "Charlie Chaplin: 1889-1977"
    Various drafts
  • "The Cloud of Unknowing"
  • "The Cuban Shrew"
  • "Dark Markings: 1974"
  • "Dark Song to an Icefisher"
    Typescript (photocopy)
  • "The Death of an Epoch"
    Typescripts with corrections
  • "A Decastich"
  • Box 8:
  • "Dejection: an Ode"
  • "The Desert Wax Museum in July"
  • "The Dragons of Chinese Fire and Rain"
  • "Dream"
  • "Elegy"
    Various drafts
  • "Elegy for Wright and Hugo"
    Various drafts
  • "Epithalmion"
  • "Etchings in Plaster"
    Typescript (photocopy)
  • "The False Inspiration"
    Typescript (photocopy)
  • "February 13, 1821"
    Typescript (photocopy)
  • "The Fen Country"
  • "The Foliated Mayan Cross"
  • "For Henri Gaudier-Breszka's Bird Swallowing Fish"
  • "For the Mummer's New Year"
  • "Franz Marc's Lithuanian Gypsy Nude"
  • "A Gallery of Burnt Masks"
    Typescript (photocopy)
  • "The Ghost of a Flea"
    (later retitled: "The Widow of the Beast of Ingolstadt")
  • "The Ghosts of Czeslaw Miloz"
  • "The Gold Watch"
  • "Guidwife, Dover, Kallinge"
    Various drafts
  • "Heart Attack"
  • "Hotel Sierra"
    Typescript (photocopy)
  • "Hummingbirds"
  • "I Do"
    Holograph draft
  • "I Was Out"
    Holograph draft
  • "I Was Not Your Mother, I Was Not a Fool"
  • "Ibant Obscuri"
  • "In a Ghetto by the Sea. Wartime Letter: 1942"
  • "Instructions, Again, at Blossom"
  • "Intolerance"
    Typescripts (photocopy)
  • "Inverse Chinese Characters Above Cleator, Arizona"
  • "Lamentations, La Pampa"
    Various drafts
  • "Leda and the Swan"
    Various drafts
  • "The Little Apocalypse of Millet's Autumn"
    Various drafts
  • "L'Oiseau"
  • "Ludwig Wittgenstein Motoring with a Companion"
  • "A Lyric of Winter Light"
  • "The Magi"
    Holograph with corrections and revisions
  • "Meister Eckhart"
    Various drafts
  • "Musee des Beaux Arts"
  • "The Music Box"
    Holograph with corrections and revisions
  • "The Mystery of Six Empty Places: Confucious and the Raven Haired Daughter"
    Various drafts
  • "The Nacreous Celebrants of March"
  • "New England, Springtime"
  • "The New Year Prophecy of Emmanuel Inca de la Vega: 4 Olin"
    Various drafts
  • "A Night-Porter's Vignette"
  • "Night-Signals"
  • "A North American Anecdote"
  • "An Old Woman's Vision"
  • "On My Father's Steamships the Young of Badgers"
  • "The Outcast and Freakish Form of a Dog"
  • "Painted Desert"
  • "The Parable of the Spire"
    Typescript (photocopy)
  • "The Passion of Charles Ives"
  • "Pont des Invalides"
    Holograph draft
  • "Pontius Pilate, the Morning"
    Typescript (carbon)
  • "Popham Beach"
  • "The Prologue of a Picture"
    Holograph draft with corrections and revisions
  • "Rebel Harp"
    Typescript (photocopy)
  • "A Red Locust Tree, in Springtime"
  • "September"
  • "A Solitary Window"
  • "Songs on the Death of Childhood"
    Holograph draft with corrections and revisions
  • "Spectacle Bear"
  • "The Spicebush"
  • "Spirit Pond"
    Various drafts
  • "The Stone Curlew"
  • "Storied is the World, Plotted is the Ground"
    Various drafts
  • "Sunday Afternoon"
    Typescript (photocopy)
  • "Tantrum!"
    Page proof with notes
  • "These Sketches of Secret, Hanging Gardens"
  • "A Thirst for the Hemlock"
    Holograph draft (photocopy)
  • "Three Short Poems"
  • "To and Fro"
    Typescript (photocopy)
  • "To Sun Islands"
    Holograph draft
  • "The Tower"
    Typescript (photocopy)
  • "Until the Sea Is Dead"
    Typescript (photocopy)
  • "The Water Spider"
  • "White and Black Intaglio of March"
  • "A Winter Trailer in Vermont"
  • "The Wish"
  • "Woman Combing Her Hair - by Edgar Degas"
    Typescript (photocopy)
  • "The World Means Only Itself"
  • "You Can't"
  • Series 9: GENERAL SUBJECT FILES II
  • Box 8:
  • Poetry written by Dubie's students in English 411
  • Reviews by Dubie
  • Rickel, Boyer. Poetry
  • Santos, Bienvenido. Poetry
  • Smith, Dave. Poetry
  • Vogelsang, Arthur. Poetry
  • Weingarten, ?. Poetry
  • Series 10: SELECTED AND NEW POEMS
  • Box 9:
  • Typescript. Printer's copy with notations
  • Galley proof. With corrections
  • Page proofs. With corrections
  • Printer's page proofs
  • Series 11: MAY 1985 ADDITIONS
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence and subject files
  • Box 10:
  • Correspondence - 1982-1985
  • Engman, John. Poetry ms, . Keeping Still, Mountain (with cover letter)
  • Fedullo, Mick. Poetry ms, . The Maze, The Maze - 1985
  • Halperin, Mark. Poetry ms, . (with cover letter) - 1982
  • Sub-Series: Poetry by Norman Dubie (not found in his published collections)
  • Box 10:
  • "The Book of Job"
  • "Currier and Ives"
    3 drafts with corrections
  • "Field Music" - 1984
  • "French and Indian Wars"
  • "How Faunus Found a Young Wife"
    2 drafts, handwritten and typed
  • "In the Weather of an Aging Sylph" - 1984
  • "Lamentations"
    with revisions and note
  • "Legend of the Golden Fleece"
  • "Marc Chagall, 1887-1985"
    3 drafts, handwritten and with notes
  • "A Painting by Odilon Redon"
  • "Plymouth"
    Drafts
  • "Sea Change"
    2 holograph drafts
  • "Some Notes: Into the Sere and Yellow"
    essay on Pound's Canto XLIX
  • "Watercolor"
    3 drafts. Handwritten, photocopied and typed
  • "With my wife in Lake Country" - 1984
    3 drafts. Handwritten and typed
  • "The Williamstown Gulf"
  • Sub-Series: Reviews
  • Box 10:
  • Reviews - 1983-1984
  • Sub-Series: A Valentine for our World
  • Box 10:
  • A Valentine for our World
  • Sub-Series: The Springhouse, 1985
  • Box 10:
  • "An Annual of the Dark Physics" - 1984
    3 drafts. Handwritten, photocopy, typed
  • "Archangelsk"
    3 drafts
  • "The Assassins of Joe Christmas"
  • "Danse Macabre"
    2 drafts. Handwritten and typed
  • "Diamond Persona" - 1983
    2 drafts. Handwritten and typed
  • "The Duchess' Red Shoes"
    Typed with notes
  • "Elegy for Integral Domains"
    2 drafts
  • "The Funeral"
    3 drafts
  • "Homage to Jean Follain"
    Typed with note
  • "The Huts at Esquimaux"
    2 drafts, typed with revisions and notes
  • "Lamentations"
    3 drafts. Handwritten and typed with revisions
  • "Letter to Rue Robert de Flers"
    3 drafts
  • "The Lion Grotto"
  • "New England, Autumn"
    2 drafts
  • "Orations: Half Moon in Vermont"
    3 drafts with note
  • "Provence"
    2 drafts
  • "Solomon's Seal"
    3 drafts
  • "Summer, Late Bath"
    2 drafts
  • "Through a Glass Darkly"
    2 drafts
  • "A Trolley from Xochimilco"
  • "Wintery Night, Its Reticule"
    3 drafts. Handwritten, photocopy, and typed
  • Ms. Typed draft. December - 1984
  • Ms. Typed final draft. January - 1985
  • Tables of Contents.Typed - 1984-1985
  • Series 12: 1986 ADDITION
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 11:
  • Correspondence - 1984-1986
    Including letters from Charles Wright, Dave Smith
  • Sub-Series: The Springhouse, 1986
  • Box 11:
  • Table of contents. Typed with correction
  • "Old Night and Sleep"
    Typed draft with note to Frank Paluka
  • "Sanctuary"
    Handwritten draft; 4 typed drafts with revisions
  • "Train"
    2 drafts
  • Sub-Series: Groom Falconer (unpublished)
  • Box 11:
  • Table of contents
  • "Ars Poetica"
    Handwritten draft; 2 typed drafts with revisions
  • "Babtismal"
    2 drafts
  • "Coyote Creek"
    2 drafts
  • "The Death of a Race Car Driver"
    Handwritten draft; 3 drafts
  • "Groom Falconer"
    Handwritten draft; 3 drafts
  • "Jeremiad"
    Handwritten draft; 2 drafts
  • "The Peace of Lodi"
    Handwritten draft; 2 drafts
  • "Poem"
    3 handwritten drafts
  • "Trakl"
    Handwritten draft; 2 typed drafts with revisions; photocopy
  • "Anecdote"
    3 drafts
  • "For the Birth of Joaquin Alvaro Jesus Rios"
    Photocopy
  • "Large Property Under Pines"
  • "Man and Woman"
    Carbon copy
  • "The Night Before Thanksgiving"
    different poem same title in The Everlastings; retitled "Thanksgiving Eve." 5 drafts
  • "To a Young Woman Dying at Weir": in Selected and New Poems
  • Series 13: FEBRUARY 1987 ADDITION
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 11:
  • Correspondence - 1982-1987
  • Sub-Series: The Springhouse, 1986
  • Box 11:
  • Page proofs
  • Page proofs (blues)
  • Printer's proofs
  • Sub-Series: Groom Falconer (unpublished)
  • Box 11:
  • "Accident"
    (revision of "In the Next Parish"). Two drafts
  • "Babtismal"
    Handwritten drafts; typed draft with revisions
  • "The Canon of Frauenburg Accepts the Confession of Sister Else Von Oberrit: March 12, 1532"
    2 drafts
  • "Chagall"
  • "Elegy"
    5 drafts
  • "In the Next Parish"
    (draft of "Accident"). Handwritten draft; three typed drafts with revisions
  • Series 14: NOVEMBER 1987 ADDITION
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 12:
  • Correspondence, August - 1987
  • Sub-Series: Groom Falconer (unpublished)
  • Box 12:
  • A clean typescript version of a work in progress; dated June 30 - 1987
  • A clean typescript version of a work in progress; no date
  • Contents pages
  • "Amen"
  • "An American Scene"
    Three typescript drafts with holograph revisions, two typescript drafts
  • "The Apocrypha of Jacques Derrida"
    Three typescript drafts with holograph revisions, typescript draft
  • "At the Opening to the Underground Cemetery at Colchis"
    Two typescript drafts with holograph revisions, three typescript drafts
  • "Buffalo Clouds over the Maestro Hoon"Two typescript drafts "
    Two typescript drafts with holograph revisions, typescript draft
  • "The Clergyman's Daughter"
  • "Easter Night, Paris"
  • "Encanto's Ferry"
    Three typescript drafts with holograph revisions, typescript draft
  • "Fever"
  • "First Wednesday at Heater Lawns"
  • "The Garden Asylum of Saint-Paul-De-Mousole"
  • "Near the Bridge of Saint-Cloud"
    Two typescript drafts with holograph corrections (one with note on back)
  • "New Age at Airport Mesa"
    Two typescript drafts with holograph revisions, typescript draft
  • "Northwind Escarpment"
  • "A Painting by Odilon Redon"
  • "Poem"
  • "Safe Conduct"
    Two typescript drafts with holograph revisions, typescript draft
  • "The Saints of Negativity"
    2 drafts
  • "Shipwreck"
    Two typescript drafts with holograph revisions, two typescript drafts
  • "Shrine"
  • "Sonata, Circa 1936"
    aft
  • "They Are the Queens of the Bird's Body"
    2 drafts
  • "Union Ushers at the Norcross Farm"
    Holograph draft, typescript draft with holograph revision, typescript draft
  • "Victory"
    Holograph draft, three typescript drafts with holograph revision
  • "The Wine Bowl"
    Typescript draft with holograph revisions, typescript draft
  • "Women with Children"
    Holograph draft, two typescript drafts with holograph revisions, three typescript drafts
  • Thirteen poems by Norman Dubie from the tentatively titled Groom Falconer published in The American Poetry Review, September/October, Vol. 16, no.5, including: "Ars Poetica," "Babtismal," "Chagall," "Poem," "Jeremiad," "Trakl," "The Death of a Race Car Driver," "Women with Children," "Victory," "Coyote Creek," "The Peace of Lodi," "Accident," and "The Wine Bowl"
  • Box 12:
  • published in The
  • Sub-Series: More writing
  • Box 12:
  • Unpublished Miscellaneous Poems
  • "Elegy in a Desert Landscape"
    Photocopy of a holograph draft, two typescript drafts
  • "The Fitting"
  • "The Great Polar Expedition"
    2 drafts
  • Series 15: 1989 ADDITION
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 13:
  • Correspondence, April - 1989
  • Sub-Series: Groom Falconer, 1989
  • Box 13:
  • Bound manuscript (incomplete) with notes and corrections, including a letter from John Benedict, of W.W. Norton Co. referring to the publishing of Groom Falconer
  • Printer's galley proof
  • Page proof with corrections and revisions
  • Page proof
  • Book reviews, April - 1989
  • Sub-Series: Interview
  • Box 13:
  • Interview conducted by James Green. To be published in The American Poetry Review, November/December or January/February - 1989-1990
    Final draft and page revisions
  • Sub-Series: Radio Sky (unpublished)
  • Box 13:
  • Contents page
  • Epigraph ideas
  • "Anagram Born of Madness at Czernowitz, 12 November 1920"
    Three transcript drafts, two with revisions
  • "The Ghosts, Saratoga Springs"
    3 drafts
  • "Looking Up From Two Renaissance Paintings to the Massacre at Tiananmen Square"
  • "The Open Happens in the Midst of the Beginning"
  • "Philip Larkin Left 'The Dance' Unfinished"
    2 drafts
  • "Radio Sky"
    3 drafts
  • "Thomas Merton and the Winter Marsh"
    Typescript draft with addition
  • "Tomb Pond"
  • "Synchronous Isolations: Norman Dubie's 'Eligies for the Ochre Deer on the Walls of Lascaux' by Kevin Clark. From American Poetry, Vol. 5, No. 2, Winter - 1988
  • Sub-Series: Unpublished Miscellaneous Poems
  • Box 13:
  • "Angela"
    2 drafts
  • "An Apocalypse of Monkeys With a Bear King"
  • "A Depth of Field"
  • "The Diatribe of the Kite"
  • "Electrical Storm"
  • "The Evening of the Pyramids"
  • "The Ferry Near Ausable Forks"
  • "Hieros Games"
  • "In the Land of Nod"
  • "Margaret"
  • "Outlander Coming In at a Distance"
  • "Winter Marsh"
    Holograph draft, three s, two with revisions
  • Series 16: FEBRUARY 1991 ADDITION
  • Sub-Series: The American Poetry Review
  • Box 13:
  • Galleys with corrections. Poems from Radio Sky and an interview with Norman Dubie
  • Sub-Series: The Clouds of Magellan (unpublished)
  • Box 13:
  • Section 1. Photocopy (earlier title: Nuages)
  • Section 1. Final draft. Photocopy
  • Sections 1 and 2. Final draft. Photocopy
  • Sections 1 - 6. Photocopy
  • Various substitute pages. Typescript drafts with corrections and revisions
  • Typescript, incomplete with corrections and revisions
  • Box 14:
  • Typescript, incomplete
  • Typescript
  • Correspondence - 1991
  • Sub-Series: Radio Sky (unpublished)
  • Box 14:
  • "The Aztec Lord of the Near and Close"
  • "Bellvue Exchange"
    2 drafts
  • "A Blue Hog"
  • "The Bus Stopped in Fields of Cinnabar"
    (Not included in final draft of Radio Sky
  • "The Bus Stopped in Fields Of Misdemeanor"
    Typescript draft with corrections, handwritten draft with corrections and revisions (earlier title: "For Brittany")
  • "The Cloud of Unknowing"
    Typescript draft with corrections and typescript draft (not included in final draft of Radio Sky)
  • "A Common Field in Winter"
    (Not included in final draft of Radio Sky)
  • "Confession"
  • "Cosmological"
  • "A Dream of Three Sisters"
  • "Earth"
  • "Homage to Philip K. Dick" (Earlier title: "In a Time Out of Joint")
  • "Inside the City Walls"
  • "Jacob Boehme Walking Outside Gorlitz"
  • "November 23, 1989"
  • "A Physical Moon Beyond Patterson"
    Two drafts. (Earlier title: "The Stone to Water Spirit"). Not included in final draft of Radio Sky
  • "Psalm XXIII"
  • "A Renunciation of the Desert Primrose"
  • "Revelation 20:11-15"
  • "Simple Philo of Alexandria"
  • "A True Story of God"
  • "Two Women on the Potamac Parkway"
  • "The White River Road"
  • Final typescript draft
  • Audio Tape
  • Credit Page
  • Publisher's Agreement - 1990
  • Tables of Contents with corrections and revisions
  • Typescript
  • Floppy Disk
  • Sub-Series: Unpublished Miscellaneous Poems
  • Box 14:
  • "A Navajo Gunnery Sergeant to His Wife"
  • "The Parable of the Talents"
  • "Riddle"
    2 drafts
  • "The Siege of Leningrad"
  • "Twentieth Century Detail"
  • Unpublished work. Tentative title: La Nativite.
    Section one. Photocopy
  • The Voice of Youth. 19.X1, 1989. Estonia
  • Series 17: 1993 ADDITION
  • Sub-Series: The Clouds of Magellan (unpublished)
  • Box 15:
  • Interview with Dubie. University Planet - 1993
    Page proofs with corrections
  • Sub-Series: Radio Sky
  • Box 15:
  • "Master Pages"
    Proof with corrections
  • Printer's proof with corrections
  • "Repro dupe" proof
  • Sub-Series: Autobiographical material
  • Box 15:
  • Transcription of a tape containing autobiographical material - 1991
  • Sub-Series: Unpublished poems
  • Box 15:
  • "At the Death of Peasants"
  • "Elegy for My Brother"
  • "The Mercy Seat"
  • "The Siege of Leningrad"
  • Sub-Series: Videotape
  • Box 15:
  • Norman Dubie reading, April 26, and Regents' Service, April 30 - 1992
  • Series 18: 2001 ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: Audiocassettes
  • Box 16:
  • Audiocassettes
  • Sub-Series: Bibliography
  • Box 16:
  • Bibliography up to Springhouse
  • Sub-Series: Books. Photocopy typescripts
  • Box 16:
  • The Mercy Seat
  • Ordinary Mornings of a Colliseum
  • The Spirit Tablets at Goa Lake
  • Throat of Cygnus (The Spirit Tablets of Stele Lake)
  • Sub-Series: Poems
  • Box 16:
  • "After Sky"
  • The American Poetry Review, 25th Anniversary Edition
    Contains four poems by Dubie: "The Amulet," "A Skeleton for Mr. Paul in Paradise," "On the Chinese Abduction of Tibet's Child Panchen Lama," and "The Caste Wife Speaks to the Enigmatic Parabolas"
  • "A Genesis Text for Larry Levis Who Died Alone"
  • "Gently Bent to Ease Us"
  • "Last Poem, Snow Tree"
  • "The Mercy Seat"
  • "The Reader of the Sentences"
  • "The Siege of Leningrad"
  • Series 19: 2007 ST. JOHN ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: Quotes
  • Box 17:
  • Quotes from the bookseller who offered this collection
  • Sub-Series: Clouds of Magellan
  • Box 17:
  • Photocopy, clean clopy, inscribed
  • Photocopies sent piecemeal to St. John
  • Sub-Series: Comes the Winter, Sea Hunting
  • Box 17:
  • Photocopy, bound typescript
    58 leaves; inscribed: "David, here you go! Toots! Norman."
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 17:
  • Correspondence
  • Sub-Series: Poem drafts
  • Box 17:
  • Drafts of poems from the mid-nineteen seventies. Marked "Dubie First Drafts/mid-70s"
    60 leaves; 7 pages with handwritten annotations or notes to St. John
  • Sub-Series: Elegies
  • Box 17:
  • First draft. Marked, "Dubie/Elegies: First Drafts"
    40 leaves of typed photocopied poems by Dubie; 2 pages of typed Xerox poems signed, "Pamela Stewart" (Dubie's second wife). Six leaves with Dubie's notes to DSJ
  • Sub-Series: Groom Falconer
  • Box 17:
  • Draft poems. 2 folders marked, "Drafts of Poems for Dubie's 'Groom Falconer'''
    Containing 105 leaves of typed, Xerox poems for Groom Falconer. Dubie sent these in parts to DSJ; there are envelopes addressed to him, as well as notes on some pages indicating "Final Draft," or "Revised." Dubie also marks changes; for example, on bottom of page 27 featuring the poem "The Fitting" - he writes, "Switch this with Chagall; then one move before "Two Sentences." And, for "Trakl," Dubie has crossed out the last two lines of the typed poem and written in a 3-line stanza: "Like smoke from some lonely howitzer/Blossoming out over the bubbling bare pits of lye, over/The large sunken eyes of horticulture." On the page containing the title poem of the book "Groom Falconer," Dubie has written, "a country doctor monologue. Strange beginning for a new book, title poem maybe." He also queries DSJ on his thoughts on the poems and updates him on his life and his family. Together with 4 Autograph Letters Signed "Norman" that he enclosed along with the copies of the poems, and updating him on his progress, asking DSJ's opinion, or explaining changes and choices he made
  • Last version before the final draft
    55 leaves; photocopy typescript with seven leaves containing handwritten annotations in red ink
  • Sub-Series: In the Dead of the Night
  • Box 17:
  • Draft poems and arrangement
  • Sub-Series: The Mercy Seat
  • Box 17:
  • Paperbound volume marked for publication
  • Sub-Series: Ordinary Mornings of a Coliseum
  • Box 17:
  • Draft poems marked, "Drafts of Dubie poems for book 'Ordinary Mornings of a Coliseum'." September 6 - 2002
    3 leaves with handwritten annotations
  • Bound photocopied typescript with short TLS "Norman," bound-in; August 30 - 2002
    No textual annotations
  • Sub-Series: Poetry, prose, fiction
  • Box 17:
  • Poetry sent - 1990, 1991
    Marked "1991"; containing 15 leaves; typescript leaves with handwritten emendations, and five handwritten introductory leaves for "The Stone at the Water Spout," dedicated to St. John
  • Prose, fiction, and miscellaneous poems
  • Sub-Series: Radio Sky
  • Box 17:
  • Final draft
    Typescript, 51 leaves; with autograph notes on the title page indicating that Norton accepted the manuscript in March of 1999; also inscribed "For David/with love/Norman"
  • Sub-Series: Selected and New Poems
  • Box 17:
  • Draft poems
  • Page proofs
    Two sets of galley proofs for "Selected and New Poems"; 147; 24 emendations
  • Sub-Series: "Sidonie Collette"
  • Box 17:
  • "Sidonie Collette"
  • Sub-Series: The Spirit Tablet at Goa Lake
  • Box 17:
  • Bound typescript "The Spirit Tablets at Goa Lake"
    183 leaves; with two loosely inserted autograph notes
  • Sub-Series: The Springhouse
  • Box 17:
  • Folder marked, "Dear David:/The Springhouse/Norman Dubie/Final Draft:" December 18 - 1984
    Two Xerox typescript drafts 90 leaves; with two leaves marked "Revised pages!" and "Final Draft" in Dubie's hand
  • Unbound final draft typescript for "The Springhouse"
    15 pages with notes to DSJ
  • Series 20: INDEX TO CORRESPONDENCE
  • Sub-Series: 1970 - 1974
  • Bouson, Kelly
  • Brennan, Ursula
  • Brunner, Ed
  • [Burkard?]
  • Carroll, Paul
  • Cooley, Peter
  • Craft, Louise
  • Father
  • Goldensoh, Lorrie
  • Graber, John
  • Griffith, E.V.
  • Halpern, Daniel
  • Hertzel, Frederick
  • [Herz?], [Barry?]
  • Lacy, John
  • Moss, Harold
  • No last name, Barry
  • No last name, Deborah
  • No last name, Larry
  • No last name, Roger
  • No last name, Stewart
  • O'Connel, Bonnie
  • Parker, Stephen
  • Ramke, Bin
  • Richard Howard
  • Sadoff, Ira
  • Siegel, Sharon
  • Solotaroff, Theodore
  • Starbuck, George
  • Walatuch, Michael
  • Walker, Scott
  • Weingarten, Roger
  • Weissman, Daniel
  • Zimmer, Paul
  • Sub-Series: 1975
  • Anderson, {Jay}
  • Bell, Marvin
  • Bixler, Paul
  • Burkard, Michael
  • Craft,Louise
  • Galvin.Ja,es
  • Goldbarth, Albert
  • Goldensohn, Lorrie
  • Halpern, Daniel
  • Herz, Barry
  • Herz, Robert
  • Hine, Daryl
  • Howard, Richard
  • Howard, Richard
  • Kiernan, Frances
  • Levis,Larry and Marcia
  • Lynch, Michael
  • Moss,Howard
  • No last name, Bonnie
  • No last name, Brenda
  • No last name, David
  • No last name, Linda
  • O'Connel, Bonnie
  • Paluka, Frank
  • Pierce, Nancy
  • Rabbitt
  • Ramke, Bin
  • Raplan, Beanie
  • Sandy, Stephen
  • Sauret, Thomas
  • Serotkin,Nora
  • Shore, Jane
  • Stanton, Maura
  • Stewart, Pamela
  • True, Ben
  • Turner, Alberta
  • Turner, Katharine
  • Vogelsang, Arthur
  • Walker, George
  • Walker, Scott
  • Weisman, David and Cindy
  • Zimmer, Paul
  • Sub-Series: 1976
  • Anderson, Gordon T.R.
  • Anderson, Jon
  • Aschner, Naomi
  • Bell, Marvin
  • Bert, Steve
  • Burkard, Michael
  • Collier,Michael
  • Dabney
  • Duncan, Harry
  • Fedullo, Mick
  • Forche, Carolyn
  • Graziano, Frank
  • Ives, Richard
  • Lynch, Michael
  • MacArthur, Mary L.
  • Mapel, David
  • Moss, Howard
  • Nathan, Terry
  • O'Connel, Bonnie
  • Orlen, Steve
  • Paluka, Frank
  • Ruescher, Scott
  • Senjotz-Christensen, H.
  • Shelton, Lois
  • Shore, Jane
  • Simic, Charles
  • Smith, Jim
  • Smith, Marcel
  • Snow, Don
  • St. John, David
  • St. John, David
  • Vogelsang, Arthur
  • Walker, Scott
  • Waters, Michael
  • Weigl, Bruce
  • Wells-Power, Jeffrey
  • Yablonsky, Francine
  • Sub-Series: 1977
  • [Bourjaily?], Vance
  • [Walker?], Scott
  • Burkand, Michael
  • Cervantes,James V.
  • di Capul, Michael
  • Erhardt, Stefan
  • Gimelson, Debbie
  • Herz, Bob
  • Keens,Bill
  • Lerventsi, Jim
  • Levis, Larry and Marcia
  • No last name, Barry
  • No last name, Bill
  • No last name, Bob
  • No last name, Fran
  • Oliver, Merrill
  • Pierce,Nancy
  • Ray, Godron N.
  • Ruescher, Scott
  • Sadoff
  • Schlesinger, Stephen L.
  • Schwada, John W.
  • Simic, Charles
  • St. Joh, David
  • St. John, David
  • Strand, Julia
  • Vogelsang, Arthur

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Novelists, Story Writers, & Poets